After two times of them rescheduling, they did not show due to a personal reason. While we are sorry they didn't perform the service, it didn't make sense for us to hire them for a plan in the middle of summer.
Description of Work: After two scheduled appointments with no shows, we got a refund from Angie's List "Big Deal."
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
1.0
Char R.
08/2012
5.0
decks, landscaping, mulch
+ 1 more
Sean and the crew arrived on time and were very hard working. They left each day with their items stacked neatly.The work was completed on time and we are very happy with the results. Sean is very good about returning phonecalls and is very pleasant to work with. We would definitely use them again.
Description of Work: Sean removed the old deck and replaced it completely redid our landscaping adding sod and flowers. He also painted ourconcrete porch and painted the covering. He is very good about returning phone calls and is very pleasant to work with. The crew was prompt and hard working. The job was completed on time and we would definitely use them again.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Brenda W.
08/2012
2.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
His work really sucked overall. Our yard has gone from low maintance to trying to recover. This started because we answered an AD on Angies list. For $100 he was going to provide us with a rendering of what he could do in the back yard. He just complained because all he was getting out of the deal was $30 and that Angie's list had him going out side of the area he wanted to work in. We could have had him finish some of the things he supposed to do but we were afraid that things would only get worse and after a month we had to put an end to everything. I would suggest being careful about companies on Angies List that has no reviews. If there are no reviews on Angie's List it is because there sales team is out there working and they have no idea of the quality of work that they preform.
Description of Work: In the front yard he was to mulch the beds , replace the shrubs along the house and bring the front bed out from the house in curve. Also add plants and three landscape lights. He raised the beds with mulch only, and did not remove the grass from under the mulch, nor did he remove the shrubs in front. The brought the bed out in a curve but he moved it to close to the driveway where we are planning to put a pathway. He cover up sprinkler heads in the front and back. Oh and he installed only two lights. In the back he was to add a water feature, a trellis and some plants. The trellis literally fell apart before he finished. The water feature still has electrical problems and you can see the liner in several different places. He did not remove the grass from under the mulch. His solution was for me to use weed be gone. He was to install 3 landscape lights in the, he added 4 which does workEvery time I mention what he was suppose to do, after he had done it differently, he said he changed his mind. He said the work would take three days and it was over a month before he was finished. He use an extension cord for the power to the pump and put it in PVC and buried it, but you can see it in several places.The mulch is only 1/2" deep instead of the 3" you need. He to add concrete in an old flower bed, he said for free. Well i would have rather paid for it. The finish was to match the original slab but instead they dumped sack of sak crete and water it down. it is not level and holds little pools of water. In all my years i have never seen anything like it. I did tell him to leave and I will have to have stone put over it. The only form they had to put up for this was insided the edge of the patio instead of flush with the edge.Two extras where add to the job. He had planned to run an extension cord to an outlet on the patio to power the pump but I hired an electrician to drop a new outlet. His wiring has burned to 2 20 amp GFI outlets so far. He was hired to add a french drain to move water from a down away from the area. He used flex pipe instead drain pipe and he did not put any type of rip rap at the end of the drain which will wash out eventually.He was to add sod over fill he used for french drain instead he threw down some grass seed. I still do not have the literature and warranty papers on the pump, liner, low voltage transformer, and the other timer for the pond.Now I must bring in more mulch and rock to finish the project along with hiring an electrican. over all the front yard looks OK and the back yard looks like it needs to be finished.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
4.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
1.0
$7,000
Chris F.
07/2012
1.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
We purchased his landscape design deal on Angie's list and scheduled a time for him to come out an meet with us. He rescheduled the first appointment because his other job was running over. Then he did not show for the second appointment. We were patient and scheduled a third appointment, he was late. Then he told us his plan and bid would be back to us in 3 weeks, 5 weeks later, nothing. We called and e-mailed, nothing. He finally agreed to refund our money.Save yourself some frustration, go with a different service.
Description of Work: We purchased his landscape design deal on Angie's list.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$100
David H.
07/2012
1.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
They were busy and said they had lots of responses for this deal. We purchased the deal on March 18th. They never set an appointment, they kept saying they'd have us set up next week or next month and nothing ever happened. Finally, in the middle of June, they said we'd give you a refund and that they would contact Angie's List but they never did.
Description of Work: We purchased a deal from Angie's List for $99.00 for landscaping consultation and design.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
Kevin W.
06/2012
1.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
After purchasing the $99 big deal in March for a consultation and landscaping design plan, I've yet to get my plan. Met with Sean on April 21. Really knows landscaping. I was impressed with his ideas. Unfortunately, anything positive about Sean and his company has long since faded away. He promised to have me a plan in three - four weeks. Said he was swamped due to the promotional. I agreed that three - four weeks would be fine. It has now been over nine weeks since I met Sean. I've sent emails with no response. This guy is clueless when comes to customer service and following through with what was agreed upon. Doesn't matter how will you know the business if you can't provide even the most basic customer service. He deserves to be put out of business. Avoid. I am seeking a refund and will sue him if necessary to make my point.
Description of Work: Came to the house for a lanscaping consultation with the promise of a plan within three to four weeks.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$99
Response from Summerlin Landscaping
Dear Member, We apologize for our mistakes. Please forgive us for our errors. Thanks Sean
Dale R.
06/2012
1.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
Two months rolled by after I bought the Big Deal. I finally got in touch with them and set up a time. They then canceled and after they rescheduled. They then canceled again and again. The gentleman finally showed up and didn't really have much to say about the landscaping. I haven't heard from them since. The individual who came stated they would get back with me.
Description of Work: Initially, I bought a Big Deal to have a landscape consultation and design.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
Response from Summerlin Landscaping
Dear Member, Please forgive us for our errors. We were overwhelmed with the response and did not know how to handle it. We will handle matters different in the future. Respectfully, Sean
Pat C.
06/2012
1.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
We attempted to call him 3/29/12 and two times after that. The message always said he was busy and would get back to us. He never did. He eventually emailed us, saying that he was over booked and the he would get back to us as soon as possible. We attempted another call on 6/15/12 in which he was very disrespectful. Claimed that he hadn't been paid, that he didn't have to talk to us. We were surprised at how such a highly recommended provider could be so rude.
Description of Work: He was suppose to provide landscaping consultation.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$99
Response from Summerlin Landscaping
Dear Member, These statements are not true. We make mistakes, but we are never disrespectful to anyone. We respect everyone. Respectfully, Sean
Shawn G.
06/2012
1.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
They arranged the appointment by email and because their schedule was busy, it had to be at least a month out. That was fine with me. They seemed to want to work with my schedule and agreed to a slightly earlier time. When the date of the appointment came, they did not show up. I contacted them by phone-- no response. I contacted them by email -- no response. It has been well over a week and still no response. I contacted Angie's List and got my refund within 12 hours. Very unprofessional behavior by Summerlin.
Description of Work: I purchased the landscaping design Big Deal offered by Summerlin Landscaping. It was for a landscaping design consultation.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
value
2.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$99
Response from Summerlin Landscaping
Dear Member, Please request a refund. Thanks for your input. Sean
Karen M.
06/2012
1.0
decks, landscaping
+ 0 more
He was supposed to give us a plan for our backyard. We have not heard back from him since. He was going to give us an estimate for building our deck in our backyard and for the design of our flowerbeds.
Description of Work: We hired Summerlin Landscaping came out to look at our front flowerbeds.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
5.0
Response from Summerlin Landscaping
Dear Member, We were overwhelmed with the amount of responses we recieved. Please request a refund from Angies List. Respectfully, Sean
Linda M.
06/2012
2.0
decks, landscaping
+ 0 more
I bought both the landscaping design and the patio/deck design Angie's List Big Deals on March 20th. In early April I scheduled an appointment for May 16th, which was their soonest appointment. Sean came to my house at the appointed day and time. He looked at the lay of the land, made some suggestions, took measurements, and told me he'd get back to me in a couple of weeks with design drawings and costs. It was a little bit difficult to talk to him while he was here because his cell phone rings constantly and he takes the calls. Still, he was polite, professional, and told me he would quote me with a couple of different deck materials so I could plan the project budget. I didn't hear back from him, so I emailed him on June 12th. He emailed back with this reply - Hello! It was great meeting with you. The Big Deal went too well, if you know what I mean. I am so swamped, that I cannot think. If you want a refund I totally understand, you would need to contact Angie's List directly as I cannot issue any refunds. I did look over everything and your project would be around $14,000 for normal deck Installation (2 level) for area we talked about (wood deck). If you did want us to install the deck, we would not be available until August, at which time I could provide you a design and a detailed estimate.. So sorry, but we cannot take on any more work of any sort currently. I was disappointed with this reply. Since he already came to my house, I didn't feel that my job falls into the category of "new work." In any case, his reply caused me to check his current Angie's List reviews, which are not good. Now I've lost the advantage of cooler weather, I didn't get what I paid for, and I won't be able to within a reasonable time frame from purchase. Also, it's really hard to remember what we discussed in May by the time August rolls around, so we'd have to start over. As a result, I'm going to take Sean's suggestions and request a refund for both of these Big Deals. This is the second time I've purchased a Big Deal that overwhelmed the service provider. I guess you get what you pay for, so no more Big Deals for me. I want good work and timely service more than I want a bargain. As for Sean, he was punctual and polite at the appointment - except for the incessant cell phone. But he's young and I don't think he has the business experience to anticipate the problems that "over marketing" can bring. I'm sure he was just trying to get his name out there. He replied to my email very quickly, and he was very honest that he's swamped. It's not what I wanted to hear, but I think it just might be the nature of the beast for Angie's List Big Deals. I hope Sean gets caught up, and I wish him well. He might want to make future offers more limited - to the first 25 or 50 customers, for example. That would protect what was his very good rating before the Big Deal feeding frenzy. I'll chalk the whole experience up as disappointing - both with Sean and Angie's List.
Description of Work: I bought both the landscaping and the patio/deck Angie's List Big Deals. Sean came to my house to take measurements for the patio and landscaping upgrades I'd like to do.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0
$200
Response from Summerlin Landscaping
Dear Member, You brought out some really good points. Thanks for your input. Sean
ULRIKE P.
06/2012
2.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
I called to schedule an appointment, and they told me that it would be at least 3 months until they could help me. They actually suggested that I get a refund for my big deal, and I felt that they were aggressive when telling me to do so. I will not be using their business.
Description of Work: I purchased a big deal to get an hour of landscaping advice.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
2.0
Response from Summerlin Landscaping
Dear Member, Suggesting that you request a refund is a very noble thing to do. Maybe one day you will understand. Respectfully, Sean
Lillian H.
06/2012
1.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
I made an appointment. He never showed up. I made three phone calls to the office that were never returned. On the fourth call, I talked to the owner. He appeared to be surprised by the whole thing. He said he would call me back, but never did.
Description of Work: I purchased a Big Deal for a landscape design.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
value
3.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
$99
Response from Summerlin Landscaping
Dear Member, Please request a refund. Thanks for your time. Sean
Darrell R.
05/2012
1.0
landscaping, hardscaping
+ 0 more
The story is too big too tell.All comments can be supported by photographs and site visits. Here are areas of work Incomplete, poor quality work and reflecting NO experience. Fencing - Poor and Incomplete, No planning for cost, detail on gates like high school work. Partially Capped only. Fences pulled up in an anger fit on last day. Sean was caught removing items he put in place, deconstructing fences and gardens. Decking- Had to call in another company to complete. ZERO EXPERIENCE iN STAIN Or PRESSURE WASHING Landscaping - Clueless about design, never turned soil laying new plants with added soil and mulch. Did not raise new gardens used plants client advised not to use. Did not complete work in any sense. Under tooled, poorly planned and no experience.Removed items from garden when wanting more money. Sprinkler Systems - Sprinkler System never installed per contract. Several broken during work, never repaired. Just say no my friends. Honestly, this man is inexperienced, has character issues, anger management and financial problems. Run the other way..Angie's list has better providers. Sean Summerlin using ANY Alias...is bad news. All comments can be supported by photographs and site visits. Update May 24th relates to two concurrent company names of same providerSummerlin Landscaping & HLE Services both of Humble Texas
Description of Work: This situation is where Angie;s List Matters. Read the entire sorted history of Providers on Angie's List. Sort D and F scoresand read them. Then Ask Is this a "Pattern of Behavior" or a pattern of something else more concerning? UPDATE This is the same provider using two concurrent company names, all grades should be considered. "Summerlin Landscaping" Humble, Texas..............and "HLE Services" Humble Texas ................................................................................... both Sean Joseph Summerlin Principal Owner. All comments can be supported by photographs and site visits. UpdateCaveat Preemptor - Sean Summerlin was discovered removing items from the project already completed because he was angry and wanted more money. He was paid beyond payment schedule already. He was loud in his reaction to being caught and was escorted off the property. You do not want this at your home. Family currently consulting with legal counsel on all issues related to his services. I assisted my sister with her home update projects. Intermittently I attended there to assist her as did other family members. She selected Sean Joseph Summerlin, aka,Summerlin Lanscaping, aka, Summerlin-Steer Enterprises (Bankrupt),aka HLE Services. The details of this work would require a tome to describe and oddly details was and is something that Sean Summerlin was particularly NOT GOOD at. You will note that this review is not under Summerlin Landscaping vs HLE Services. My belief is that he uses that name to attract business and the other to process payments and field complaints.On his website, note the wide range of services where expertise is offered. Further note how it appears to imply other contractors are used, but unclear which or whom. http://www.landscapinghoustontx.com/about-us.html This project ended up a DISASTER.The elements of these problems are the ones you do not want to bring to your home. If you want to do some improvements in your home and have the resources to do so, Do NOT Choose Sean Summerlin. In this case our family invested over $10,000. and have an incomplete mess. BE AWARE Sean will pressure you before completion to add positive reviews to Angie's List saying he needs it very badly. The end result will not match positive reviews. DO YOUR HOMEWORK. The below are probably the important criteria you should employ, before allowing someone in your home, on your property and in your pocket book. It is what we should all hope for... though we wish we had better research. .Experience - Sean absolutely DOES NOT possess the experience he promotes Integrity - Sean displayed characteristics of deception and dishonesty Reliability - Sean absolutely could not be relied on Attention to Detail - Not one single aspect of Sean's work and work list was complete Communications - This failure is also a tool that Sean uses to evade follow through, Quality Work - Sean's absolutely poor work should be avoided. If enough people are educated about him he will take his act to another state. Project Management - Sean has a total lack of training in managing resources, people, funds,work priority and completion.Sean's lack of business acumen and planning is revealed in two meeting. From the time he shows up with a drawing that could be bested by a high school drafting student, it should be a warning. All comments can be supported by photographs and site visits.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$12,000
Response from Summerlin Landscaping
Dear Member, We respect the comments you have posted, but do not agree with them. As with any situation there are two sides to every story. Respectfully, Sean Summerlin
Nancy P.
05/2012
1.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
SIGNED CONTRACT APRIL 2 FOR APRIL 9 START DATE. LETS LEAVE IT AT THAT AND TOUR THE YARD
Description of Work: OPEN HOUSE (YARD) THE WEEKEND OF MAY 26 & 27 AT MY HOUSE TO TOUR SUMMERLIN LANDSCAPING AKA HLE SERVICES. CALL NANCY AT 713 501 1452 FOR DIRECTIONS
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
Response from Summerlin Landscaping
We respect all members comments, but at times do not agree with them I can be reached at 713-392-8259. Thanks Sean Summerlin
MaryBeth M.
05/2012
3.0
decks, landscaping, hardscaping
+ 1 more
He was really nice, but as the start date came closer I still hadn't see any drawings - although he'd taken 1/3 of the total estimate ($1500) upfront. I spoke with him again just before the 15th & he said he'd have to postpone the work by two weeks. I'd set my schedule to be around for the service & an event around my new patio & landscaping. The postponing was obviously inconvenient. I asked for my deposit back & it doesn't sound like it'll be a problem to get it. I think he's just way too busy. I really wish he would just told me that up front. He always responded right away when I called - it just wasn't with the best of news.
Description of Work: I needed a lot of work done - deck & patio as well as landscape design. We scheduled the work to start May 15th.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Response from Summerlin Landscaping
Hello Member. We will be happy to resolve this ASAP. Sometimes, because of attention to detail our jobs take longer than anticipated. We apologize for any delays. Thanks, Sean
Faye R.
05/2012
2.0
fencing, landscaping
+ 0 more
He came to my house and did an evaluation of what we wanted. I wanted plans for some landscaping and putting up some fence. While he was there he talked about the work and told me that he would get back with me in two weeks. It has been almost a month and I have not heard back from him.
Description of Work: Complete landscape design and consultation.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
2.0
$99
Response from Summerlin Landscaping
Dear Member, We are sorry for the delay.We will be in contact with you shortly. Thanks Sean
Gabriel T.
05/2012
1.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
He came out in early April and I took off work for the appointment. He did not show up and I called and he forgot he had an appointment. He tried to reschedule. He apologized and said he was overwhelmed. I told him it would of been nice to call, so he apologized numerous times. Said he would get the design to me by the end of April. I called him yesterday at 8am to make sure we were still good to go, and he said yes. Called back and said he just got back from vacation and wanted to reschedule. Never called me back yesterday to reschedule. Called him this morning and he said he was going to get me scheduled and wanted to email me this design and estimate. I said ok and when would he email it and he said by Thursday. I gave him 3 extra weeks to get the design.
Description of Work: Big Deal.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
Response from Summerlin Landscaping
Dear Member, Once again, We apologize. We have hired new personnel, which has freed up time for the designs. Thanks, Sean
Gail B.
04/2012
1.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
UPDATE: I originally sent the above report before the work had been completed because he seemed like a very nice young man. I did not receive the cedar mulch he promised me. He told that the cedar mulch was not available and instead used a lower grade mulch. He did pull up almost all of the dead plants but he failed to plant all new plants in their place. He did not put the oriental tree back into the square shape it was originally in. Several of the plants that he planted have died and they are watered all but two days per week. I do not believe that all the mulch was put down by hand so that it could be interworked into the soil to encourage earth worms as promised. I believe I overpaid for a job that didn't live up to the original agreement.
Description of Work: Mulched all of our flowerbeds and trees. This was no ordinary mulching job. The highest quality mulch was inter-worked by hand so that it could really benefit the plants by encouraging earth worms, etc. - Replaced shrubs that were dead or dying and filled in empty spots with new plants. - Replaced all of our Azaleas that only bloomed twice per year and mostly looked like sticks when they were not in bloom. They were replaced with Azaleas that bloom year 'round in the color I specified. - Created a lovely, three-tiered flower garden in an appropriate spot in our back yard as close as possible to our water fountain. I don't know the names of the plants, However, I know that they will have layers of flowers in celedon, then blue, then topped off with a bright yellow. - Replaced sod in a spot where a tree had died and had been removed. - Trimmed two wax myrtles into flat-topped,square shapes. The trees had previously been trimmed in that design, but had grown out of shape. -Will repot two patio pots with healthy & attractive plants appropriate for that area. - At no request, cleaned our water fountain and replaced the dirty water with new water. Please refer to the extensive review above. I did not understand your "Do's and Don't's" directions. I do not want to re-type all of the painstaking information. However, I can tell you that from start to finish, this company did excellent, hard and time-consuming work. The owner and his crew were very polite and removed all debris. I have already discussed replacing the small, over-worn wooden fence with the owner of the company so that my yard will be more attractive from all views.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$1,650
JORDAN C.
04/2012
1.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
See the above description - I can't get Sean to even show up for appointments he sets and confirms the day before.
Description of Work: I bought the Angie's List Big Deal for Landscaping and gave it do my son and daughter in law for an anniversary gift March 20th with the idea of giving additional gifts of landscaping and using Sean. Sean has cancelled three appointments and then not shown up another two times and now just says he doesn't want to come. I have already given the gift and just need a time to meet him - I have until April 30th at which time I will be out of this area for an extended period and also it wanted landscaping done in the spring - not the heat of the summer. I have bought many Angie's Big Deals and this is the only bad service I have ever had. The most aggrevating part is this coupon is currently still being sold however he won't honor the ones already purchased because he is too busy.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
value
5.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$100
Will F.
04/2012
2.0
lawn service
+ -1 more
I had an appointment with them last week and they were half an hour late, I called and they said they could come out in 2 hours after the scheduled appointment, I told them rescheduling would be better. They rescheduled for yesterday, they called and canceled and told me that it be about 5 more weeks before they could get me in. They seem overbooked for the amount of Big Deals that were purchased. I called Angie's List for a refund.
Description of Work: I bought a Big Deal with them.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
2.0
Response from Summerlin Landscaping
Dear Member, The Truth is the truth. We tried to schedule a date to see you and could not make it. We did not want to keep delaying, so in all fairness to you we recommended a refund. Because of the time of the year and our workmanship, we cannot get to as many as we would like. We apologize for this inconvenience. We ask that you forgive us for our mistakes. Please have a Safe and Productive Year. Thanks, Sean
John C.
04/2012
1.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
We got the Angie's List special and scheduled April 14th for him to come out. 30 mins. after our scheduled meeting time, I called him to discover he had entirely forgotten about us. He apologized, and we rescheduled for the following Wed. (4/18). I asked multiple times for confirmation that he would be able to make the appointment, because myself and my wife work and we had to make arrangements in order to be there. He game me his assurances. The day of the appointment, I called him multiple times during the day to confirm. Each time, I left a voice mail. Twenty mins before our scheduled appointment time, he had his secretary call us to reschedule. How long does it take to make 30 to 60 second phone call? I do not recommend using these people and frankly cannot believe Angie's List allowed them to issue a special. These people are unreliable, unprofessional, and uncourteous.
Description of Work: Unable to comment on. He was a no-show on two scheduled meetings.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$99
Response from Summerlin Landscaping
Dear Member, Just because someone is not able to make an appointment, does not make them a bad person or company. We did call to say we could not come. We apologize for this inconvenience. Thanks, Sean
James W.
04/2012
1.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
We took advantage of a Angie List special this provider offered for a landscape plan. He agreed to an appointment at our home and then did not show up. He never called or returned calls to try to see what happened or reschedule. I reached him today, 4/11/12 and his excuse was that the ad did much better than anticipated and suggested I ask for a refund. He never apologized for missing the appointment and offered to come sometime in June at the earliest. My advice is call someone else since this company is unreliable.
Description of Work: Cannot comment on his service since he never showed up for the appointment.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$99
Response from Summerlin Landscaping
Dear Member, We apologize we could not make the appointment. Because of our reputation and quality of work, we have experienced many delays. We wish you the best with your yard and thank you for your time to post your comments. Thanks, Sean
We are really, really, really disappointed in the quality of the work performed and feel completely taken. I called and spoke with Sean and he seemed very nice and professional on the phone so I asked him over for an estimate. He came over the next day, and again seemed professional and very knowledgeable about the work we needed performed. We discussed installing a drain line, weeding and mulching a large garden bed, pruning established plants, clearing two separate areas of brush and some unwanted ornamental trees, installing a 20x20 fence, staining a deck, and extending an existing front patio. We settled on a price and paid half up front as requested. He began work on February 22nd. The work was expected to be completed in less than a week but, due primarily to rain, it was heavily delayed. He completed his first day of work and was already asking for more money although he clearly had not completed half of the work. A day later i lamented and gave him the additional funds requested. At a later date he again asked for half of the balance owed although we had already agreed the full balance would be paid upon completion. He left messes throughout the duration of the project, leaving trash all in our yard. He used my garden hose, which I don't necessarily have a problem with, but he didn't once put it up, got concrete all over it, and at some point it was slashed so i had to trash it and get a new one. The Tuesday he claimed to be complete with the work, we came home to a disappointing mess. The first obvious disaster was the concrete patio. It was clumped, un-level, and looked like someone had run a rake through it. He termed this a "brush" finish. It's already cracking and it's less than a month old. The mulch that was laid is a complete waste since he didn't kill/pull the weeds, and only weedeated them. They are already strongly coming through the mulch. The drain he installed doesn't work very well, and he didn't completely bury the pipe so it juts above the ground. He didn't fully clear the brush, or prune existing plants as per our agreement. I had mentioned to him that the doors to the fence were a little flimsy and asked if he could sturdy them. I was concerned my dogs might get out since they had blown open a fews times. He said, sure no problem, that he would take care of it. I didn't think anything of it after that...I thought he would handle it. I saw him Tuesday, the last day he worked before "completion", and he even said he had brought the materials to correct the problem. Again, I though nothing more of it as i believed it would be handled. We got home late Tuesday evening so we couldn't review the work until the next day. There was still a mess, he didn't put anything back as he found it. Nothing had been done to the entryways of the fence as promised, there is still some brush to clear, and my plants had not been pruned. He texted me asking for the remaining funds ($350.00), and I asked him to call me. I asked him if he was done when he did, and he was immediately defensive. I questioned why he had not done anything to the fence entryways as we had discussed and as he said he would. He said he didn't think there way anything wrong with them so he didn't need to do anything. When I brought up my concerns regarding the patio, his response was "I don't know what you want me to do." He did finally lament and said he would be back in 6-8 weeks to address my concerns about the patio and would "knock the other stuff out" at that time. I don't have any expectation that he will keep his word, but we probably wouldn't have him back if he did. We'll have to have someone else who knows what they're doing fix the concrete mess. To sum up a pretty unpleasant experience, this is a company that stops caring about their customers (if they ever did) when they have the majority of their money. Typical contractor in the negative sense and we would recommend this company to absolutely no one. Throughout the project, he stated several times how he likes to give his customers solutions. This is complete lip service. Actions speak louder than words and we received no solutions...only more problems. This was proved to us through the quality of the work we received. We feel completely taken and it's not a good feeling...
Description of Work: Installing a drain line Clearing beds and laying mulch Pruning existing plants Staining a deck Clearing brush and removal of ornamental trees Installing 20x20 Fenced Area Pouring Concrete Patio
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
2.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
3.0
$2,300
Response from Summerlin Landscaping
Dear Member, We are very sorry to hear about your unhappiness with our services. First of all the many positive things that were done to customers property were not mentioned and I do not agree with many of the comments or appreciate them. When heavy rain and persistent rain keep coming day after day, there is only so much any contractor can do. I offered to come at a later date because the entire property had drainage problems that prevented me and my crew from doing our work. The drain line I installed was to only fix one of the problems, not all of them. If we would have tried to finish the job under those circumstances we would have made a mess. Please call us and we will be happy to help resolve these issues now that the weather has dried out to a reasonable degree. Thanks, Sean
Amy M.
03/2012
5.0
decks, landscaping, mulch, pressure washing
+ 2 more
Sean has been great. He came out to meet with my husband and I to discuss all of the projects we would like to accomplish around the house. He made reasonable suggestions that will work within our budget and helped us determine some solutions for upcoming projects down the road. He is very professional and punctual. Our yard looks so much better! He has really gone above and beyond what we had originally asked him to do (he even hooked up my rain barrel for me and has thrown in some extras as he saw fit during the project). He understood our needs regarding our landscape (we have no real ability with plants) and worked with us to create a landscape that will suit our needs. His prices were very reasonable and I could not be happier with the work. We intend to keep working with him on those upcoming projects.
Description of Work: Sean and his crew built a trellis in our front yard, removed trees and shrubs, cleaned out overgrown flower beds, and reconfigured the flower beds in the front yard, pressure washed and re-stained deck in the back yard.
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.
*Contact business to see additional licenses.
Service Categories
Landscaping,
Lawn Irrigation,
Lawn and Yard Work,
Handyman Services,
Decks and Porches,
Pavers and Hardscaping,
Mulch and Topsoil,
Fencing,
Finished Carpentry and Woodworking,
Exterior Painting,
Drain Pipe Installation,
Pressure Washing
FAQ
Summerlin Landscaping is currently rated 3.1 overall out of 5.
Sunday: Closed
Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday: Closed
Summerlin Landscaping accepts the following forms of payment: American Express,Check,Discover,MasterCard,Visa
No, Summerlin Landscaping does not offer warranties.
Summerlin Landscaping offers the following services: Landscape and Hardscape Services including: Custom Wood Fences, Decks and Patios, Landscape Design, Gazebos, Concrete Installation, and much more...