Description of Work: they never showed for their appointment
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
Russell G.
07/2013
1.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
See above
Description of Work: Promised an estimate for landscaping the backyard and then never did. Would not respond to calls
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
Freda B.
03/2013
1.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
Not Good
Description of Work: 99.00 paid there was not a product delivered. called said they would did not and todate did not receive a diagram or a proposal
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
5.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$99
Forrest G.
12/2012
2.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
See above.
Description of Work: Contacted the co promptly after your ad came out in the March (or April) issue. They then said that because of the large number of response to Angie's list, it would be approximately June before they could get to my yard, and sat a date. A couple of days before they were to come & perform the service, they called & said that they would not be able to do the job because they were overloaded. I missed a full planting season because of their not contacting me earlier so I could contact someone else. When I contacted Angie's list, the contact person was very helpful & offered to provide other names. Because of the lateness of the season, I declined and Angie refunded my $. Your person did a great job.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
value
4.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
Carol M.
10/2012
1.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
Description of Work: After I paid for their service through Angie's list I called Summerlin Landscaping to make an appointment for them to come out to my house. When they did not respond within a week's time I called again and waited another week. When I hadn't received a response by the end of the second week I gave up and requested Angie's List refund my money, which they did. After I received my refund I received a phone call from Summerlin Landscaping with an apology for not having returned my calls. The lady I spoke to explained it was their busy season and they just hadn't had time to get back to me. I can't rate their work as none was performed. I was very disappointed as I really did want and need their help upgrading the landscaping in my yard.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
value
5.0
responsiveness
1.0
Laura Lynn M.
10/2012
1.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
nothing to cover
Description of Work: Cannot review as I was never able to set an appt with company.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
responsiveness
1.0
Sophia M.
07/2012
1.0
fencing, landscaping, remodeling, woodworking, house painters
+ 3 more
plan"it
Description of Work: Sean called himself a people pleaser. He was that, but only verbally. Lots of promises but very little result. I never intended to complain because I feel it was my own responsibility to have had better judgement. But if I can alert some other sucker to make sure they watch out and get EVERYTHING he promises in writing, and hover over him. I will feel better. If you would like to see a copy of the so called "landscaping plan" I paid 99 bucks for I'll be happy to send it. The whole experience has left a sour taste. The joke around here when something needs doing now is :Call Angie's list, followed by derisive laughter. Sophia Moore
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
2.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
2.0
$2,000
Helen K.
05/2012
1.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
Never showed up
Description of Work: As with many other reviewers, I purchase his BIG DEAL coupon. I actually bought 2 for gifts. He repeatedly rescheduled and canceled until he finally said he was not coming and for me to just call Angie's List for a refund. If I could score him lower for Responsiveness, Punctuality and Professionalism I would. Save your self great aggravation by not calling Summerlin Landscaping.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$198
Response from Summerlin Landscaping
Dear Member, We work in all parts of houston and at times this creates scheduling conflicts. After realizing we would not be able to take care of this member, we recommended the member get a refund. Recommending a refund was the right thing to do. Thanks Sean
Elizabeth M.
08/2010
5.0
handyman service, landscaping, irrigation systems
+ 1 more
I've used Summerlin Landscaping in the past to update my backyard. I was very happy with the results, so, I didn't hesitate to use them again to inspect the sprinkler system for any potential problems. Fortunately, I didn't have any issues. Sean is great to work with.
Description of Work: Inspected lawn sprinkler system for any problems.
Sean is great to work with. Job took a little longer then expected but this was due to the constant rains we had in Houston. The work was better then I had expected.
Description of Work: Replaced wood deck, clean up garden, mulched, stained fence.
The crew was here on time and worked diligently for about a week. Sean Summerlin consulted with me daily as to their progress and any changes he wanted to make or that I thought were needed. They cleaned out the flower beds around a 4200 square foot (single story) house. They trimmed shrubs that were totally out of control; put in hardscape in areas where the trees had become to big to let grass grow and generally brought the landscaping under control. I was especially pleased when Sean admitted that he could not revamp the sprinkler system but recommended someone who could (this was before we started the job). We did hire the sprinkler repair service and are extremely please with his work also. I will definitely use Summerlin Landscaping again and plan to have him do regular maintenance work on this yard.
Description of Work: Summerlin Landscaping was hired to clean up the landscaping on a one acre plus lot in Kingwood. Although the yard was extensively landscaped, little had been done to maintain it during the last 10 years. It was very over grown with "trash" plants and weeds. Sean and his crew were able to distinguish between weeds, trash and the original landscaping. They cleaned, cleared and trimmed. In some areas, they had to completely rework the existing landscaping. They did a fantastic job. The yard has not looked this good in over 15 years.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$2,300
John N.
06/2010
5.0
decks, fencing, handyman service, hauling services, landscaping, lawn service, remodeling, tree service, woodworking, house painters, interior painters, doors, hardscaping
+ 11 more
I was pleased with the work and the price.
Description of Work: Sean came to prepare my yard for a deck construction. I needed decades of shrubs, railroad ties, concrete from long ago forgotten projects removed. This also included the removal of a Loquat tree. I also had an old Garden shed that needed new doors and a paint job. Sean was quick to make some cost saving suggestions and I had him do this as well. I plan to bring Sean back after the deck is completed to complete an extensive backyard makeover.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$900
Dan K.
05/2010
5.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
Sean was very professional and helpful from the start. I called to inquire about a job on Thursday afternoon and he came by at 6 that evening to look at it. He made many helpful suggestions and brought samples of various plants to choose from. He moved several existing plants from the front flower beds to other beds in order to keep the cost down. Sean made sure that we were pleased with every aspect of the job and made adjustments when needed. I found him very easy to work with and very focused on customer satisfaction.
Description of Work: Completely re-did front flower beds, added landscaping to two large and two small flower beds that previously had only trees, added two new flower beds and vegetable garden. Installed lighting in front flower beds.
Overall, I was very pleased with the service and don't have any complaints. My home is fairly new and still had the standard builder's landscaping. Sean returned my call right away and scheduled a time to stop by and give an estimate. He came up with a plan and sketch based on what I wanted and incorporated some of my ideas with his designs. For the amount of work I wanted, I felt the quote was reasonable. The landscaping was scheduled for the next week and they were prompt, wasting no time finishing the project. The work is beautiful and they did an excellent job, including cleaning up everything at the end of each work day. Sean has stood behind his work and addressed any issues and I will definately use him again in the future.
Description of Work: Enlarged and edged all existing beds around home with stone including beds around 3 trees in front yard. Built new bed along back of home and edged with stone. Added mulch, planting mix, shrubs and flowering plants to all beds. Dug up dead plants that froze last winter and pruned existing trees / shrubs. Filled various planters with flowers along back porch. Installed trellis and bench to backyard beds. Reinstalled an existing drain pipe and adjusted existing sprinkler heads.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$4,000
AURELIA A.
04/2010
2.0
landscaping, lawn service, lakefront landscaping
+ 1 more
Sean Summerlin was extremely eager to please. He has a great respect for Angie's List and worked hard to meet the standards of excellence that he felt would get him a good report. When he learned that I had expected the "ecofriendly" mark beside his listing to indicate that he used native plants, he turned around and learned everything he could about native plants.(Sean is from Mississippi, and was less familiar with Texas native plants than he is now.) Fortunately, I am just blocks away from the best native plant nursery in Houston, so Sean began by studying there and then continued on the computer that night. We agreed that since I had some very clear ideas about what I wanted to see in my garden, I would accompany him to the wholesaler. (I'm pretty sure that was Sean's idea -- and a good one.) The result is a lovely garden. I think both Sean and I had some surprises along the way. I would suggest that when a wife has a flat tire, perhaps it would still be possible to work on that day. Other than that, I believe that Sean is well on his way to having a successfully business. I certainly believe I got more than my money's worth. And I have a beautiful garden to enjoy. 11/23/10 Unfortunately, by the end of the summer half of the plants Sean put in were dead. I had asked for an irrigation system that would keep my plants alive during a three week period that I was out of town. At first, while I was still in town, I called Sean and told him that the plants were dying. He came to my house and discovered that he had set the irrigation timer incorrectly. He replaced the plants that had died. Then when I returned from my vacation and found so many plants dead, I called him and invited him to see the results in my garden. He let me know that he was too busy and asked me to take pictures and send them to him. I have not done that. Instead I have found a local landscaper (Ravenscourt Landscaping) who knows the Heights and lives here. I will be using her next time. 6/21/2011 I had blamed last summer's garden's failure to thrive on Sean's choice of plants, However, I have been out of town for a month, happy in the knowledge that having a timer connected to my irrigation system would keep my current garden healthy. I am now dealing with only a limited number of plants -- the survivors. However, when I returned in the midst of a serious drought, I noticed that the plants in the portion of the garden that faced the harsh afternoon sun looked as if they were not getting watered. I checked the garden after the times when the irrigation had run, and I discovered that while you could see dark wet spots in the beds where two soaker hoses went, the crucial bed showed no evidence of being watered. I dug up the hose and found it was not the round soaker hose used in all other beds,, but a flat hose that apparently gave out little or no water. I replaced it with a round soaker hose from the hardware store. I ran it for several hours and could see the wet spots that showed me that my problem was solved. I have no idea why Sean decided to use a different soaker hose for that bed, but it did not work well at all. So, having given some thought to my problem, solved it myself, and seeing improvement in those plants that have survived being without water during this long period, I can only conclude that I've lost a lot of money because of this faulty irrigation system. I had wondered why so many of my plants had died during the year after Sean had corrected his first mistake setting up the irrigation timer. (He had set the timer incorrectly and they were not getting enough water.) I now have a functioning system. But, I don't have a very nice looking garden. I had already begun making plans to work with Ravenscourt Landscaping in the Heights. I've seen several gardens by Ravenscourt, and I know that I can get the garden that I want. My conversations with Laurin Lindsey and Shawn Schlacter (owners of Ravenscourt Landscaping) have indicated that they are very talented and experienced, and I can trust them to do the work correctly.
Description of Work: This involved reviving and restoring a garden that had become over-run with weeds and had many plants that did not survive this winter's hard freeze. The work including removing dead plants and weeds, turning and enriching the soil, and mulching. Additionally an irrigation system was installed with a timer. New plants were planted and a structure for a climbing rose was built. And to top it off, my lawn was mowed for free.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
5.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
3.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,300
John M.
03/2010
5.0
handyman service, landscaping, mulch
+ 1 more
Showed up promptly to offer several scenarios with cost. After agreement on services to be performed work was completed within a couple of days after initial visit at price agreed upon and skillfully done. The new name for the company has recently changed to HLE Services. Sean Summerlin is the owner.
Description of Work: Mulch Application on all beds, all shrubs trimmed, and beds cleaned prior to mulching.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$942
Jennifer N.
03/2010
5.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
I thought the price was very competitive and he was very responsive. We plan on calling him out to do more work because we were very happy with him.
Description of Work: Summerlin Landscaping helped get the grass in our front yard green again because we had a big brown patch.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$150
Jhana P.
11/2009
5.0
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment
+ 1 more
Great. I posted a want ad on Craigslist. Sean responded promptly by email, and after the initial contact, promptly by phone. Sean came to my house, and I explained to him my issues: brown patches, lack of color, etc. He offered suggestions, including the removal of the kalmia. I was shocked and excited, I never thought that was an option. The tree has been a headache, dropping leaves that kill the grass below. He also asked my budget and we were in agreement. I am looking forward to him transforming to my back yard too!
Description of Work: * mow & blow front and back yard * treatment of back yard for weed growth * removal of a kalmia tree in front yard * addition of flower bed in place of removed kalmia (flowers, mulch, etc.) * removal of old landscaping supplies in front yard (borders, mulch, etc.) * addition of rye seed to brown patches in front yard * enlargement of existing flower beds (including flowers, shrubs and cedar mulch) * addition of flowers and flower pots to the porch.
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.
*Contact business to see additional licenses.
Service Categories
Landscaping,
Lawn Irrigation,
Lawn and Yard Work,
Handyman Services,
Decks and Porches,
Pavers and Hardscaping,
Mulch and Topsoil,
Fencing,
Finished Carpentry and Woodworking,
Exterior Painting,
Drain Pipe Installation,
Pressure Washing
FAQ
Summerlin Landscaping is currently rated 3.1 overall out of 5.
Sunday: Closed
Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday: Closed
Summerlin Landscaping accepts the following forms of payment: American Express,Check,Discover,MasterCard,Visa
No, Summerlin Landscaping does not offer warranties.
Summerlin Landscaping offers the following services: Landscape and Hardscape Services including: Custom Wood Fences, Decks and Patios, Landscape Design, Gazebos, Concrete Installation, and much more...