Speed Dry is a full-service company specializing in residential and commercial water and fire damage restoration, professional cleaning and disaster remediation. We install carpet, tile, hardwood floors, and offer household maintenance such as duct cleaning, roofing, attic insulation, as well as complete construction and remodeling services in the Greater Houston area.
We are committed to customer service. We’ll do your job right, and we will do it right away! Let’s go! Speed is of the essence!
Business highlights
16 years of trusted experience
Emergency Services Offered
Services we offer
Carpet cleaning, air ducts cleaning, water damage restoration, fire damage restoration, mold removal, oder removal, tile cleaning, roofing, roof repair, new roof leak repair, room additions & paint demolition.
This job went good. We set up a date, they were on time, and they were quick. However, the quality was hard to gauge. In some rooms the carpet was wet, but I couldn't tell how clean it was. There were a few areas that were stained that I went back later and cleaned. These stains came up, but it was hard to tell if it was a quality issue or not.
Description of Work: We purchased a Big Deal offer for Carpet Cleaning Four Areas and a Hallway for $75. The workers came in and completed the job without charging any additional money or trying to upsell additional services.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$75
Veronica S.
12/2013
5.0
carpet cleaners
+ -1 more
The provider was very quick to respond to my request showing up the day before Thanksgiving. They were going to be earlier than our agreed upon time, so they called and asked if we could change the time which was great. The majority of the stains were removed, however, a few of them did come right back up.
Description of Work: Steam cleaned my carpets.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
$79
Trish Z.
11/2013
4.0
carpet cleaners
+ -1 more
Fair job for a fair price with one exception: The furthest room away from their machine did not get all the carpeting cleaned because the hoses did not reach far enough to get to the other side of the room. So the carpeting in that room did not get cleaned. They should have been up front and offered to do a different area because of the lack of cleaning in that room.
Description of Work: Steam clean carpeting.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
3.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0
$110
Susan S.
11/2013
4.0
air duct cleaning
+ -1 more
So far it's okay, I figured I will pay more and a little bit longer. They came out, they did a good job, they cleaned the duct in there and cleaned the stuff. Unfortunately they found mold in there so they turned around and treated it and caused me a lot more extra but I'm satisfied with the work. I paid Angie's List $100 and I had to pay $300 more so the total is $400. They came fairly soon from when I purchased it, they called me that day and I think they were out about a week later. They were good workers, they came in, they cleaned everything what they said they were going to do and then they actually were willing to show me, let me see what they were doing especially when they were up in the attic cleaning the parts of the air system. They pulled me up there and that's where we saw the mold, they were very thorough. I ended up spending so much money, a lot more than I would have planned.
Description of Work: I used Speed Dry USA Cleaning and Restoration.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$99
barbara P.
11/2013
5.0
air duct cleaning
+ -1 more
My experience was good. Yeah, they were good. They were nice and friendly, did the job quickly and didn't try to too hard to sell me other stuff. They were friendly, we had some scheduling issues, but it was partly my fault because I had the wrong address on file with Angie's list.
Description of Work: I had used Speed Dry USA Cleaning and Restoration for air duct cleaning.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$149
Solar S.
11/2013
3.0
air duct cleaning
+ -1 more
. I purchased the $144 duct cleaning coupon. The lead service technician was easy to deal was helpful with my questions. They cleaned the ducts and didn't leave a mess behind the process went smoothly. During the process the technician showed smartphone photos of the soiled insulation in the air conditioner plenum/distribution box as well as pointed out dark spots in the receiver boxes in the bathrooms. He proposed an additional service to sanitize those elements and spray a sealent on them and then also seal the ducts and colors coming out of the distribution box which were very loosely connected. The proposed price of this extra service was $399. It seemed a bit steep for the amount of work they were proposing and he was very understanding that I might need to consider the proposal abit. I then checked the internet and found an article that indicated that their proposal was not a proven method for dealing with mold in a air conditioning system or that it would provide any benefit to the air quality in the home. In my research it seems there is quite a bit of skepticism as to whether there is any benefit to air duct cleaning. And the companies that offer half price or even cheaper coupons such as this one are typically primarily in the business of trying to convince you that you need to purchase their more expensive services. That seems to be the case with this company although I didn't have any problem with the service representative, he was very pleasant to deal with and not particularly pushy. I then contacted a local air conditioning company, Stans, and asked how they would deal with the issue and a ball park for the cost. Their suggestion was to replace the plenum and distribution box. That was in line with the suggestions I read online. I had a representative come out and the quote to replace the main box and the two bathroom receiver boxes was $475. A little more for a better quality repair sounded like a better deal to me.
Description of Work: I purchased the $144 coupon for duct cleaning.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
3.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0
$144
Response from Speed Dry USA Cleaning and Restoration
[member name removed], I understand your skepticism referring to the information you may have found online. I am sure you have already the matter resolved, but i would still like to take the time to inform you of a few things regarding mold for future reference. The reason the technician had not suggested the replacement of the items that you stated stans did, was due to the fact that if mold is found in or around the plenum box or for that matter, anywhere you are able to see with the naked eye, then you most definitely have mold flowing throughout your air ducts which means the replacement of the plenum and so on would not do any good to you what so over without having replacing your entire duct work unless you would have had the mold treated. The mold spores and contaminates travel through out your duct work when your unit is turned on due to the air flow. In turn, the air flow send the mold and contaminates through out your home via your air supply vents. This is a number 1 cause of sickness from the home, also called Sick Home Syndrome which can later lead to more serious illness. Our technicians are obligated to inform you of such contaminates in your home weather or not you prefer them to treat it, since it is such a major health concern. This is also why it is very important for you or anyone, to have their ducts cleaned regularly. It is recommended to have them cleaned at least once a year, especially here in TX due to the humidity which makes for an extremely habitable place for mold to grow and infect your home. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the work with the exception of finding out that you have contaminates in your system, and hope to have your business in the future.
ALEX G.
11/2013
5.0
carpet cleaners
+ -1 more
The crew showed up on time and was very courteous. They did a great job cleaning and provided us with some great tips. Definitely will use them again.
Description of Work: Carpet cleaning
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$79
Don M.
11/2013
4.0
carpet cleaners
+ -1 more
The service was contracted as a discounted offer through Angie's List for $75. Their email response was not recognizable to me and I ended up calling them to arrange a date. They were very prompt and arrived on time. I told them that we had pet odors and stains on the carpets of several of the rooms and they agreed to treat this for an extra $70. The treatment consisted of a cursory spray of some liquid on the carpets before steam cleaning. The cleaning was acceptable but some odors remained. While the service was OK for the (discounted) price, I doubt I will use them again.
Description of Work: Cleaned accessible carpet in four bedrooms and a hall
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
5.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0
$145
Response from Speed Dry USA Cleaning and Restoration
[Member name removed], Im so happy that you wrote that review, that should not have happened, due to your explanation of what happened, we realize that the technician put the enzyme on the carpeting first, it should have gone on the carpeting after the steam cleaning was completed, it needs to set in the carpets to remove the odors. Plesae forgive us as he was a new technician. We will be more than happy to send him back to the home to treat again with the enzyme solution in order to remove the odors for no charge. Please contact us to set up a good time to schedule.
Sandy G.
11/2013
1.0
carpet cleaners
+ -1 more
I have 3 major problems with this company. 1) My vacating tenant purchased a "deal" on Angie's List to clean the 4 rooms for $79. Upon arrival, there was an immediate bate and switch, telling me that did not include any application of solution for stains or for heavy traffic stains and it would cost $30/room more for that, but they would give me a deal to use solution on all rooms for $90. I agreed stupidly. 2) I don't know what they did or didn't do, but the next day it was obvious that they did not take out a major stain and that the "high traffic" areas were still bad. When the guys left, it looked ok, not great, but later the next day it was obvious that I could not re-lease the townhome with these stains. 3) My tenant, who originally hired this company called to ask for them to return, but they refused, saying they could do no better. I also stupidly rated the crew highly on their paperwork, being asked to as they were leaving. They were nice enough, showed up on time, and went over some spots a second time, but the bottom line is that they are not effective, definitely are bate and switchers and do not stand behind their work.
Description of Work: Cleaned a vacant townhome's carpet after tenant moved out
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
2.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
4.0
$169
Response from Speed Dry USA Cleaning and Restoration
[member name removed], I am a little uncertain as to why we are hearing of this now, Upon the technicians arrival, and initial assessment of the carpeting, it was determined and explained to you that the tenant had left the carpeting in very horrible condition in which you were there to see. Before beginning any work, the technician explained to you that there would definitely be the need for a pre-treatment as they were in such horrible condition and the voucher your tenant purchased before moving was only for a basic steam clean that included no treatments or products. You happily agreed and stated you would just take the difference out of her security deposit. One the technician had completed, and the two of you came to the conclusion that that would simply not work, you asked him to go over the carpets again and so he did, he went back over the carpets a additional 3 times with a pre treatment which is not procedure and also got down on his hands and knees to scrub vigorously the areas that were irreparable. The carpeting was in such bad condition that it was on the verge of needing to be completely torn up and replaced. We did do all that we could to do in attempts of removing the heavily soiled areas, our technician even removed a GREASE STAIN which is typically non-removable. You had given the technician a 5 out of 5 on the survey and expressed to him how pleased you were that he was able to get the carpets as clean as he did, that you didn't think it was possible. Your tenant Claire called us and we explained to her exactly what happened and that we were unable to remove a few stains due to the negligence of care taking of the carpets, one being the high traffic area. It unfortunate that you are displeased with our company and we regret to hear it, but we did more than we could to help you get the carpets cleaned. We would have been more than happy to send a technician back there but after explaining to your tenant that we did beyond what was paid for and what we normally do, that it simply would not come clean, she said ok not to go back. The voucher she initially paid for was in fact a deal but for a basic steam cleaning. It does not include the products needed for a deep clean or to repair carpeting in such horrible condition. Its unfortunate that you have to deal with the mess a tenant left behind and were sorry that we could not do more. It might be wise to deduct from the security deposit for new carpeting due to the condition. If there was anything more that we could have done we definately have done so, as stated, we even had the technician on his hands and knees scrubbing and still did not work. The carpeting did look 80% better upon completion though.
Teresa B.
10/2013
1.0
air duct cleaning
+ -1 more
We have a semi-annual ac check up with AJ Warren and they were just here in May. They did not report any mold. I also showed the pictures that were taken by the Speed Dry technician and showed them to the AJ Warren company technician who reported that the ac unit looked exactly the same as the pictures. In other words, there was no change from May; even after their treatment. I contaced Speed Dry and requested a refund. They refused.
Description of Work: We hired this company to clean out our air conditioning (ac) vents for $99. While they were here, told us that mold exhisted and needed to be treated and showed us pictures of the attic portion of the ac unit. It really frightened us so we agreed to the additioinal $524 mold control trreatment.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0
$524
Response from Speed Dry USA Cleaning and Restoration
[Member name removed] ordered the Angies list $99.00 Air duct cleaning deal on 9/3 /2013. Our company completed the service on 9/18/2013. Upon working in the home, the technician who is IICRC certified to inspect, contain, treat, and determine mold, found that [Member name removed] unfortunately had mold in her unit. He took a few pictures of the mold and sent them to her to view for herself. [Member name removed] called us over a month later on 10/21/2013 stating that her A/C guy came out to do their annual A/C check up. A/C Technician told her there was not mold (we had done the treatment already so there obviously wouldnt be) and that her attic looked the same exact way as it did in the pictures that our technician showed. [Member name removed] called the office and explained the situation. The pictures were then sent to the owners of the company to determine the fungi in them and it was determined it was in fact mold. [Member name removed] was informed that all of our technicians are IICRC certified and are 100% qualified to determine such fungi. She was informed that we would be happy to send another technician out to the home ( the owner of the company if preferred) to take a second look and treat again if needed at no additional charge since the A/C technicians are not usually IICRC certified or trained in these particular situations. She declined stating "why would i trust you". I explained to her that as of now, that would be the first step. We havnt heard from her since. It is now January 2nd 2014, 3 1/2 months after the service was completed & she is again requesting a refund. Unfortunately, our policy requires there be a second visit to the home to re-inspect as our products are 100% guaranteed to fix the issue, with a two year warranty if something should arise. In the even that something should arise, a technician will go to the home at no charge and inspect what the client is stating the issue is and take matters from there. Without first doing this, we would be unable to issue a refund to [Member name removed] as we cannot simply take her word that the mold was not removed, Nor can we take "here say" from the A/C technician. As [Member name removed] was previously informed, we would be more than happy to send a different technician to the home to inspect the unit and take it from there.
Valente G.
10/2013
5.0
air duct cleaning
+ -1 more
After I purchased the deal, they contacted me within 2 days to schedule the work. They did excellent work. They were very quick and prompt for the appointment. They also contacted me after wards to make sure I was satisfied. The technican, Adam, was really informative. He educated me on how the system works and how to prevent mold for the future. He explained everything very well.
Description of Work: I purchased the big deal for $129 for Air Duct Cleaning. I have a two story home. The coupon was only for one system, but they were able to do the other 4 after they quoted me an additional price.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$229
Terry B.
10/2013
3.0
air duct cleaning
+ -1 more
I would grade them on a midway scale. The deal was only for 1 air conditioning unit and we have 2. So they didn't do all the ducting systems in the house; they did half of them. And they also found some mold and stuff which would be about $300 or $400 to fix it. So it didn't feel quite right. They came out within a couple weeks of me purchasing the deal and I spent above the deal amount.
Description of Work: I purchased a big deal service from Speed Dry USA Cleaning and Restoration to do air duct cleaning.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
value
3.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
$449
Response from Speed Dry USA Cleaning and Restoration
[remove member name], Were always happy to hear feedback from our customers. It is unfortunate that you were not compeltely satisfied with the services. The voucher you had purchased was for one unit unlimited vents. If more than one unit exists in the home, it is an additional charge. The technician gave you an estimate for what the 2nd unit would cost and you declined, this is why only half your ducts were cleaned, because you opted to have only half of them cleaned. As for the mold, i assure you that the price given for the mold is quite reasonable and usually is around $399 per unit, Its imperative that the technicians inform the customers if they had found mold and leave an estimate for them to consider since it does cause such major health issues and concerns, Especially here in TX where the humidity is so horrible and makes for a perfect habitat for mold to accumulate. I assure you that all of our technicians are IICRC certified and know exactly how to handle these situations to improve your air quality and take preventative measures to ensure that you are not harmed by the contaminates growing in your home. We look forward to servicing you again in the future should you need it. As always, if you have any questions, please feel free to call the office.
Linda M.
10/2013
5.0
air duct cleaning
+ -1 more
It went very well. Service provided was excellent. Only reason I downgraded this service to a B grade was that the serviceman pointed out that we needed additional work to make our air conditioning unit more efficient, which we were aware of. He told us what needed to be done and said we would hear back from the company to schedule a follow up appointment but we have not heard back from anyone regarding this.
Description of Work: Cleaned a/c vents
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$99
Stella L N.
10/2013
4.0
carpet cleaners
+ -1 more
The men were professional and timely. When I purchased the cleaning service, it included 5 rooms. I have only 2 rooms of carpet and the stairs. Since I paid for 5 rooms, he included the stairs @ no cost. When I asked him about pre-spotting, he said what I purchased was the "BASIC" service, and this was not included. Relatively, my carpet wasn't really dirty, but I had a couple of coffee spots and I wanted it cleaned because I haven't done it in awhile. After the carpet dried, I vacuumed the carpet, which I was previously told to always do, to get up up any excess detergent & residue. Even after I completed this task, it still felt like residue on the carpet. I don't know if they used "cheap" cleaning detergent, but I won't use them again.
Description of Work: Cleaned the carpet.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
$75
Response from Speed Dry USA Cleaning and Restoration
[member name removed], Im Sorry to hear your frustration about the cleaning. Upon looking at your work order, i noticed the deal you purchased was for 4 rooms and a hallway rather than 5 rooms you stated. Stairs are not included which states in the fine print and the regular pricing for that is $45 for up to 15 steps. I am happy to hear the technician helped you out since you only had 2 rooms carpet needing cleaning and gave you the stairs for free. Unfortunately, the voucher you purchased states that any pre treatments are also not included. A coffee stain is a tough one to get out with just the basic steam clean and would need a pre treatment in order to remove it. As for the residue, im not sure why there was residue left as this was a steam clean only and no products or chemicals were used in the process. We hope to have you a customer in the future and would like to provide you with a 20% discount on your next service. Please call the office if this is something you would like to use and we will be glad to schedule you.
James W.
10/2013
3.0
air duct cleaning
+ -1 more
I have lived in my house for almost 30 years. Because of popular concerns about mold, some dark edges I noticed on the louvers of my registers and an Angie's Deal for $149, I made an appointment to get the duct work cleaned. The guy was on time, explained the process, then went right to work with his vacuum-brush. I had to move my furniture out of his way, though, to set up his ladder. The total length of ducts in my house is less than 20 feet, so the sweeping/vacuuming part went pretty fast. I have 10 registers that were washed, and they certainly look cleaner now. When he started talking about mold is when I started feeling manipulated. I didn't know, and I am still not sure what mold growing in my ducts looks like. The guy showed me several spots he claimed was mold growing in the pink insulation, then told me how their mold killing chemical works. He claimed he was giving me a "deal" by using 2 vials of poison instead of one vial for an additional $700. Infusing the poison through my duct work certainly did not entail $700 of work. He just sat by the cold-air return for 10 minutes letting the poison mist get sucked into the furnace, then blown through the ducts. I have no idea what 1 or 2 vials of fungicide costs, but I am sure it is nowhere near $700. If you are thinking about getting ducts cleaned, shop around and ask about the cost of their fungicide in case they find some mold. The guy kept saying I should be grateful my "problem" doesn't require mold-remediation, which apparently is far more expensive. Angie's List lead me to believe I was getting a bargain, but now I feel like it was a rip-off. I can't be sure what I got for $950, but if I notice a problem in the next 6 months, Speed Dry will come back to my house for free. I guess that might be a "guarantee." The awful smell lasted for nearly 2 days.
Description of Work: The contractor snaked a vacuum and a spinning brush through the AC ducts. He cleaned the registers, and introduced a fungicide/growth-inhibitor chemical mist through all the ducts.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
2.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
4.0
$950
Response from Speed Dry USA Cleaning and Restoration
(Member name removed), I am sorry to hear your frustration with the mold treatment completed on your home. I can assure you though, that is a standard price for the mold treatment product, It can range from home to home and depending on the number of units can sometimes be more costly. And yes, if the problem persists, we will gladly send another tech to the home to re evaluate the situation and treat again at no cost of necessary. If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact us.
Keely A.
10/2013
5.0
air duct cleaning, heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ 0 more
Terrific - they were marvelous! The tech also discovered a drainage issue with one of the units (thank goodness) and his discovery of that prevented costly damage. So friendly, professional, and did an all around great job. The tech who was supposed to come was unavailable so they brought in someone from Houston and he was on time and did an absolutely amazing job. His recommendations were solid and I felt very honest and he showed before and after photos for inspection before asking me to sign the receipt. It was pricey; however, the AC tech who came out later to service the issue that the duct cleaners found commented that I would not have anything to worry about for several years.
Description of Work: Serviced ducts for two units, treated for beginnings of mold around one unit, installed UV light to prevent any further growth of mold.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,100
Elizabeth R.
10/2013
5.0
carpet cleaners
+ -1 more
loors. Only half of my living room has carpet. However they did clean my carpets Everything went very well. I was told they would clean four rooms. They did not tell me until the employee arrived that they count the square foot for each room. He said my living room was counted as two rooms. Only half of my living room has carpet. I think when someone advertizes "four rooms they should indicate that they will only clean ---square feet. Then a buyer knows exactly what rooms will be cleaned.
Description of Work: Cleaned my carpets
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
LINDA M.
10/2013
5.0
air duct cleaning, dryer vent cleaning
+ 0 more
It went fine. The dryer vent and the inside air conditioning vents are all clean now.
Description of Work: This provider cleaned all the air ducts in the house and the dryer vent right outside the garage.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$99
Danielle H.
10/2013
1.0
I HAVE SUPPORTING DOCS AND RECORDINGS: They submitted invoices with multiple prices/invoices for the same work that they DID NOT DO. They breached the contract on multiple accounts; broken items at home, failed to pay for the item they broke; refused to leave home when I asked multiple times; misrepresented owners of the company as a policy. Additionally, they wanted to send out their agents vs. unbiased company to fix the problem they created in the broken pipe, but did not want to follow state law on the type of person required to fix that type of problem (they wanted to send a journeyman vs. Master). They were overpaid by the insurance company because of all of the multiple and misleading invoices sent and represented verbally by SpeedDry. The insurance company, SpeedDry and I agreed to a resolution payment amount to resolve all matters. As a result, they were to send me a check for the overpayment and the amount to fix the broken pipe. Once again, they reneged on the agreement to submit a check to me. They are coming after me for more money because I did not let them continue to work for me as a penalty. They still felt I should let them continue to work on my home. At this point, we are headed to court.
Description of Work: I HAVE SUPPORTING DOCS FOR STATEMENTS. Contracted to repair water damage and ended up creating a larger problem with breach of contract/bad service/unprofessionalism and damaging a part of home that was not a part of the repair work for which they were called to fix (broke another water pipe, left without notifying me of the problem and I had to discover the problem, they agreed to pay and reneged multiple times). Deceptive practices. Admit they charge client insurance companies one price, but will accept a different amount from clients.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$2,400
Response from Speed Dry USA Cleaning and Restoration
[member name removed], I would like to start this off by informing you and the rest of the members that this reply will be in full defense of our of our company as this is a very misleading review in which you left. Estimate given on 6/26/2013, Work began on 6/28/2013. Point 1. Our company was not in breach of contract, but you in fact were in breach of contract. Upon arriving to the home to provide you with an estimate, we came to the conclusion that the cost of repairs would be 2391.56. This work was completed and in the process a water hose connector (which you are referring to as a pipe) would not shut off due to the rust and age of the spigot. Our team came back out to the home that same Friday soon after they left ready to fix the issue for you at no additional charge. We were prepared with one of our staffed plumbers to fix the problem. You denied us using our own plumber which is contracted under our company and defers us and you from paying any additional charges. You insisted on hiring your own plumber, we agreed and asked for the final invoice from the plumber. You provided us with an "estimate" from the plumber in which, out of 3 plumbers, you chose the highest bid since we were paying for the problem, but you did not provide us with the final invoice from him. Yet we still agreed to pay once we collected the payment for the work already completed. You denied us payment for quite some time. The contract you signed the first day, before work began, was for our company to begin work on the dry-out, immediately followed by the re-build and repairs. In the contract it is stated that if you later decide not to use our company for the re-build as well, there will be a 20% fee of the amount the re-build was quoted added to your final invoice of the work already completed. You read, understood, and signed the contract.The reason we charge this 20% fee is due to the work involved in compiling the estimate, it takes a few days and costs us to make it by using xactimate which is the program used by the insurance companies so we can come to the closest possible amuont they would. Upon completion of the job, you tried refusing payment due to the spigot that was damaged, and fixed, during the work. Never once did any representative of our company deny you the payment for the spigot to be fixed. We simply explained that we would rather use our staffed plumber to complete the work rather than an unknown who will charge double. This was to save both you and us time and money. As far as being asked to leave and refusing to do so.... no such thing happened. When the work for the dry-out was completed, you "fired" our company and asked the technician to leave, which he immediately did so and later in the week you were sent your final invoice for the work completed that included the 20% fee for the re-build services that you asked us NOT to do. As stated above, it was in the contract you signed that if you chose not to go with our company after we began then there would be a 20% fee. Therefore, we deducted the 445.00 that was owed by our company to the plumber of your choice for the repair of the spigot from the final amount you owed us. (Which we still have not seen a final invoice for) As far as mis-representation of the owners of our company, We sent a technician to your home, who is also the owner of the company. No, we do not refer to the owners as the owners when they are working as technicians on a job. They are there to do work, the work they are certified in, and should not be referred to anything else other than a technician when on a job to defer from customers trying to finagle even more with them once they realize this is not simply a hired hand, but in fact the decision maker. We were NEVER overpaid by the insurance company for any work what so ever. We were paid the initial $2391.00 for the Dry-out that was initially quoted in writing to you in the contract and not a penny more. The insurance company actually called us to verify the work as they noted there were some discrepencies with you and they wanted to make sure we were and did in fact complete the work on the home as they stated they would rather pay us directly because they were worried there would be some sort of issue given the amount of times you had called them trying to make sure payment was sent to you and not to us. They wanted to defer from any insurance fraud as they were under the impression would happen. As far as you statement related to coming after you for more money, this is untrue, we have sent you a final invoice which is for the amount of the 20% fee of the total that was to be for the re-build that you refused us to do, this final invoice also has a credit of 445.00 which is what the plumber was to be paid for the spigot and was deducted from your final invoice amount. We were informed by you that we would be hearing from your lawyer and we gave you our lawyers information for you to provide your lawyer with. Neither of us were ever contacted, and you were sent to collections on Friday 10/4/2013 for the amount owed and i assume that is was resulted in this mostly false review. We are not and have not been informed of a "court" appearance or anything remotely close to such as stated in your review.
Claudia H.
10/2013
5.0
air duct cleaning, dryer vent cleaning, heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ 1 more
The technicians were on time and professional. No complaints.
Description of Work: Using a coupon, the crew cleaned the air ducts of one unit and also the dryer vent. They showed my some unexpected mold inside the air conditioning unit and I paid additional to have that scrubbed and disinfected.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$99
Calvin S.
09/2013
5.0
air duct cleaning
+ -1 more
the service was excellent thank a lot
Description of Work: clean duct
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$200
Bobbi R.
09/2013
5.0
carpet cleaners
+ -1 more
Went well. Asked if he could clean 2 small closets, 1 hallway, and a couple of swipes in the dining area, and somehow or another this equaled the amount limited on the coupon. Also, had to use OUR WATER!
Description of Work: clean carpet
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
5.0
$79
Sue B.
09/2013
5.0
drywall
+ -1 more
Highly professional every step of the way, from the first contact to the last inspection of completed work. Speed-Dry president, representatives and office personnel provided excellent communication. They were available to answer questions, even outside of normal business hours. The dry-out process was completed promptly. The workers who came to our home were respectful and skilled in repair, drywall replacement, finishing and painting. It was obvious they took pride in their work. They were very careful to protect or move furniture, draperies, wall hangings, ceiling fans, cabinets and appliances (including the refrigerator) so these would not get construction dust or paint on them. They matched our paint color perfectly. They cleaned up after their work. We were surprised at how quickly the work was completed and are very satisfied with the whole experience. Representatives including estimator also understood exactly what was required by our insurance company and because of their thoroughness our claim was processed smoothly.
Description of Work: Dry-out following water damage; repair work involving replacement of insulation and drywall, resurfacing and painting.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$10,000
Jan G.
09/2013
2.0
carpet cleaners
+ -1 more
About a third of the way through the first bedroom, the gentleman announced that the man who had the equipment before him was new and didn't do something right. The machine was only putting water on the carpet; no cleaning solution. He added that "this is really not our thing", referring to cleaning carpets. They do mostly restoration and flood work. He stated that "they were trying it out in Austin". He made a few calls and attempted to fix the shampooer twice and said he was successful after the second time. The house smelled great when he left, but we soon realized it was because of the deodorizer he used, not clean carpet. It was not dirty carpet, as we have it cleaned about twice a year, but they did not remove any stains. We don't think the machine was fixed. Also, we have always had two men clean carpet. They move the furniture, then put pads underneath and move it back. This man only shampooed around the furniture in the bedrooms, and moved the family room furniture only because my husband asked him too. He left all of that furniture in the main hallway of our home when he left. This is the first time we used someone from Angie's list and we were extremely disappointed. Not your fault, of course, but had higher hopes since they were referred as a special deal.
Description of Work: They were supposed to clean our carpet.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
$79
Response from Speed Dry USA Cleaning and Restoration
[member name removed], We are very sorry for your experience. Just to start off id like to say that technician who came to your home has been let go from the company. He was fairly new and not familiar to much. Secondly, please forgive the miscommunication between you and the technician, we are "familiar" with cleaning carpets and do this on a regular basis, we have been in business for 5 years in Houston and just opened our Austin office, so I assume that is what he meant. As far as furniture goes, unfortunately, we do not move furniture which is stated in the fine print before you purchase the voucher, this is due to liability. It also states that any chemical treatments such as stain remover and pre spot treatments are an additional cost which is why the stains did not come out of the carpets if you had not added the pre spot treatment with the technician. As for the minor issue with the carpet wand, the technician called our office while on site to explain the issue and we came to the conclusion it was a pressure issue that was fixed onsite. Since then, we have had all machines serviced to ensure we do not encounter this again. Again, we are horribly sorry for this experience for you and would be glad to send another technician out to redo the job for you if you wish. Please call the office and let us know.
Richard C.
09/2013
5.0
carpet cleaners
+ -1 more
Showed up on time and did professional job. Carpet cleaned up better than had in past with dry clean.
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.
*Contact business to see additional licenses.
Service Categories
Carpet Cleaning,
Air Duct Cleaning,
Heating and Air Conditioning,
Dryer Vent Cleaning,
Floor Cleaning and Waxing,
Upholstery Cleaning,
Drywall,
Unfinished Carpentry,
Remodeling - Modular & Mobile Home,
Biohazard Remediation,
Mold Testing & Remediation,
Asbestos Removal
FAQ
Speed Dry USA Cleaning and Restoration is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.
Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Speed Dry USA Cleaning and Restoration accepts the following forms of payment: American Express,Check,Discover,MasterCard,Visa
Yes, Speed Dry USA Cleaning and Restoration offers free project estimates.
No, Speed Dry USA Cleaning and Restoration does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
No, Speed Dry USA Cleaning and Restoration does not offer a senior discount.
Yes, Speed Dry USA Cleaning and Restoration offers emergency services.
Yes, Speed Dry USA Cleaning and Restoration offers warranties.
Speed Dry USA Cleaning and Restoration offers the following services: Carpet cleaning, air ducts cleaning, water damage restoration, fire damage restoration, mold removal, oder removal, tile cleaning, roofing, roof repair, new roof leak repair, room additions & paint demolition.