Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Ace Wood Flooring

Hardwood Flooring Sales and Installation, Flooring Sales and Installation, Ceramic Tile,

About us

At Ace Wood Flooring, our motto is, “We answer the phone.” We’re always here for you to answer your questions and respond to your flooring needs. Even after the bill is paid, we won’t disappear on you. We’ve been bringing quality products and services to our clients in Rhode Island, Southeastern Massachusetts, and Connecticut since 1967. You can count on Ace for all of your flooring needs. 2010, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2016, 2017 and 2018 Super Service Award Winner

Business highlights

58 years of trusted experience

Services we offer

Installation, sanding, refinishing, repairs & sales.

Services we don't offer

Ask for Details.

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Senior Discount

5%



Accepted payment methods

Check
Discover
Financing Available
MasterCard
Visa

Photos of past projects

Reviews

4.5166 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
73%
4
11%
3
4%
2
1%
1
10%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.6
value
4.7
professionalism
4.5
responsiveness
4.6
punctuality
4.7
Showing 26-50 of 166 reviews

Linda T.
05/2017
5.0
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
  + 0 more
Everything went well. The weather didn't cooperate which led to and extra day for the floors to dry. But we were informed that it was 1 factor they could not control! The workers were great. They were upbeat , willing to answer questions and professional.
Description of Work: We have wide pine floor boards that needed refinishing badly! They sanded them down and applied 3 coats of poly. They came out beautiful! Pine is soft and hard to sand but they did a great job with no damage. We are very pleased with the work. The job was done on time. We had 2 rooms , 2 hallways and the stairs done.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,700

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
Thanks. So glad you understood the uncontrollable forces of mother nature. Ace

Sandra D.
04/2017
4.0
hardwood floor
  + -1 more
Please know that these are young men that do that work for this company. The initial installer was professional in his work ethics. Sadly he did not return the 2nd day to finish the job. 4 young men came and the small area left to finish was not-butted closely enough to the next room. The floors were sanded and plastic put up to keep the dust contained but when ripped from the walls the blue tape removed paint and plaster in several locations. I contacted the owner who said it was the painters fault but he would cover the repair. Overall the job was satisfactory but there are sections that have a couple of bubbles from the poly/ hair/ paw prints from my cat who was supposed to locked up when I was not there and what appears to be a small spill in front of one the bedrooms. The baseboard covers were also damaged in spots from the use of the sanding machine which they took them off and placed them backwards against the wall so you couldn't see them. The use of young employees is not a bad thing but a company who wants to have a reputation of an A rating should at least send a professional Adult to make sure the job is being completed to the highest standard. The communication with the owner is over the phone, email and text. I never received an actual invoice number for the job before it started or even after completion. I received a callas to whom to make the check out to and the invoice would be mailed which I still have not received.
Description of Work: Hardwood installation /refinish of hallway and bedroom

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
4.0

$2,700

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
Sorry about your less than A-rated experience. You mention a few issues. I will try to respond accordingly. Not sure what age is appropriate to call someone a professional. But the men you referenced as young are all over the age of 25. You stated they put plastic up to protect your home. But when they removed the easy release painters tape the paint and plaster came off. This is usually the painters fault for not priming or prepping the area as best as possible, Nevertheless Ace Reimbursed the homeowner for the damages. As far as your cat walking on the floors after Ace left not sure how to respond. We will try to improve on our communication in the future. As noted we text, emailed and spoke directly to this homeowner.

Stephen R.
03/2017
5.0
hardwood floor
  + -1 more
They were absolute pros from start to finish. From the initial estimate to the team that sanded to the team that finished. They were always exactly on time, everything was left extremely clean, and every associate that we met was personable and professional. Helpful, honest, lovely company.
Description of Work: We had our hardwood floors stained.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
Ace would like to thank you for taking the time to write such kind words. Ace(Troy)

Jay L.
12/2016
4.0
hardwood floor
  + -1 more
Overall, we were happy with the job. Overall, we were satisfied with the job. The problem was every time we called for an update, the owner was always very busy and in a rush. He didn't have time to call to us. They did good work for a good price but we didn't enjoy the interaction with the owner. I might try to deal with somebody else than who I dealt with.
Description of Work: I did use them for wood floors in master bedroom.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$4,150

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
So happy you are satisfied with the quality of work and price. Our advertisement does say "WE ANSWER THE PHONE" so not sure what happened? Thanks Ace(Troy)

Bill K.
10/2016
5.0
hardwood floor
  + -1 more
They were very responsive, answered the phone every time I called and performed the work as described on time, on the date scheduled and for a reasonable price. Can't ask for much more than that. I would hire them again and/or recommend Ace.
Description of Work: Refinished Hardwood Floors

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
Thanks for such kind words. It was a pleasure to do business with you.

Kim E.
09/2016
1.0
hardwood floor
  + -1 more
First off, I would suggest that Ace improves their communication, that is, once the job is sold. When I first called, they were quick to respond, visit, quote and start the job. The quote included 2 new floors and a carpeted room and repairing and sanding two rooms. When I said the price was too high for anything but the repair and sanding, the job was scheduled for 2 days from then which I thought was great. No further contact was made by Ace to let me know when they would be there until I called nor when the 2nd day work would begin. As for the work performed, I had the 2 rooms done in a rental property that I own in Warwick, one with repairs and one without. When Tom (the owners brother) came to price the job, we discussed 2 areas of wood rot and holes from old steam pipes. The cost was quoted as $200 for both areas which I thought was fair. With the repair and sanding done the first day, I went to the house the 2nd day to wait for them to return for final coat of poly (no call as to what time). When I got to the house this morning to check out the job, I found that the one room was good and one was unacceptable. It was apparent that they had not sanded to the wall as paint still remained and the repairs had been done but not very well. The young men who were doing the final coat started to scrap the paint off and tried sanding in the spots that they did not sand the day before. They took pictures of the work from yesterday and sent to them the owner, Troy who said that Tom would be stopping by to discuss. When Tom arrived, I showed him what I was talking about regarding the repairs and I was told that he didn't quote the rotted board next to the hole that was repaired in either area and that if I wanted that done I should have said so. Any reasonable person doing a floor repair would have known to move one board over to the rotted board and replace that one too, as I had thought that this was a part of the repair. Tom said that the employees are not paid to think or make decisions and that he had told them to do just the actual hole. I've had wood floors redone in many of my houses and honestly, when you pay $100 per small repair and the boards is rotted next to repair, it always been considered to be part of the deal especially when I showed Tom the areas to be fixed. When I said that it was , Tom said they could leave right now if I wasn't going to pay. Not only did I not mention NOT PAYING EVER as I would never not hold up to my end of a bargain but that if I wanted to have the boards fixed, then it was a whole new job that I'd have to pay for, even the whole floor having to be resanded. Needless to say, I was stuck and had them have to finish what they started as I have a tenant moving in this weekend. When I called the owner, Troy to discuss, he was rude, backed up his brother with information that was inaccurate and really didn’t care about the quality of the work. Tom called me back 4 times to get my credit card number which was the most contact that I received the entire job. I did not want to give the card number over the phone because if their work is so shoddy, then one would assume their PCI compliance is just as shoddy so I stopped into the store and with great regrets, paid for the job. No I’m sorry, I’ll make it right, nothing. With the $100 Angies list coupon, I paid $735. Never will I let these folks near any of my properties nor would I recommend them to anyone. Let the pictures do the talking. Shame on both Tom and Troy for being so unprofessional. I'm just thankful I didn't let them do the whole $4000 job they recommended as I got it all done elsewhere for just under $800. Update, 12/1/16: Since one can't reply to the response, I'm having to repost again. Not only do I think that they are unprofessional, their response is as rude as they were in working with them and totally inacurrate. 09/30/2016 First off, I would suggest that Ace improves their communication, that is, once the job is sold. When I first called, they were quick to respond, visit, quote and start the job. The quote included 2 new floors and a carpeted room and repairing and sanding two rooms. When I said the price was too high for anything but the repair and sanding, the job was scheduled for 2 days from then which I thought was great. No further contact was made by Ace to let me know when they would be there until I called nor when the 2nd day work would begin. As for the work performed, I had the 2 rooms done in a rental property that I own in Warwick, one with repairs and one without. When Tom (the owners brother) came to price the job, we discussed 2 areas of wood rot and holes from old steam pipes. The cost for repair only was quoted as $200 for both areas which I thought was fair. With the repair and sanding done the first day, I went to the house the 2nd day to wait for them to return for final coat of poly (no call as to what time). When I got to the house this morning to check out the job, I found that the one room was good and one was unacceptable. It was apparent that they had not sanded to the wall as paint still remained and the repairs had been done but poorly . The young men who were doing the final coat started to scrap the paint off and tried sanding in the spots that they did not sand the day before. They took pictures of the work from yesterday and sent to them the owner, Troy who said that Tom would be stopping by to discuss. When Tom arrived, I showed him what I was talking about regarding the repairs and I was told that he didn't quote the rotted board next to the hole that was repaired in either area and that if I wanted that done I should have said so. Any reasonable person doing a floor repair would have known to move one board over to the rotted board and replace that one too, as I had thought that this was a part of the repair. Tom said that the employees are not paid to think or make decisions and that he had told them to do just the actual hole. I've had wood floors redone in many of my houses and honestly, when you pay $100 per small repair and the boards is rotted next to repair, it always been considered to be part of the deal especially when I showed Tom the areas to be fixed. When I said that it was , Tom said they could leave right now if I wasn't going to pay. Not only did I not mention NOT PAYING EVER as I would never not hold up to my end of a bargain but that if I wanted to have the boards fixed, then it was a whole new job that I'd have to pay for, even the whole floor having to be resanded. Needless to say, I was stuck and had them have to finish what they started as I have a tenant moving in this weekend. When I called the owner, Troy to discuss, he was rude, backed up his brother with information that was inaccurate and really didn’t care about the quality of the work. Tom called me back 4 times to get my credit card number which was the most contact that I received the entire job. I did not want to give the card number over the phone because if their work is so shoddy, then one would assume their PCI compliance is just as shoddy so I stopped into the store and with great regrets, paid for the job. No I’m sorry, I’ll make it right, nothing. With the $100 Angies list coupon, I paid $735. Never will I let these folks near any of my properties nor would I recommend them to anyone. Let the pictures do the talking. And as far as my saying the property is a crack house, it was when i bought it years ago, and definitely NOT after the $75k of complete renovations that were done. Shame on both Tom and Troy for being so unprofessional and slanderous. I'm just thankful I didn't let them do the whole $4000 job they recommended as I got it all done elsewhere for just under $800. Description of work: repair, sand and poly hardwoods OverallF PriceB QualityF ResponsivenessF PunctualityB ProfessionalismF Category: Hardwood Flooring Sales/Installation/Refinishing Services Performed: Yes Cost: $835 Work Completed Date: 10/04/2016 Hire Again: No Service Provider Response: The beauty of Angie's List reviews is we have the opportunity to respond to all reviews. The facts as we see them very greatly and are supported by the photos you submitted. Upon the original estimate you self described your house as a "crack house" therefore you wanted "cheap, cheap, cheap" We were well aware of your position and gave our estimate as you directed. Upon starting of this job we were very cautious about the work (repairs) requested. Experience has taught us that people like yourself always want something for nothing. Therefore we sent the general manager of the company to personally do the repairs with this warning. Upon his arrival your adult son pointed out exactly which boards were to be replaced. To which we had agreed to in the beginning. You stated we should have removed "one board over" to better our repairs. Your pictures reflect quite a bit of flooring in need of replacement. As was pointed out in the beginning. This was explained to you at the original estimate. But you wanted "cheap, cheap" Ace will not do work they are not originally authorized to do. Thanks Ace(Troy)
Description of Work: repair, sand and poly hardwoods

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
4.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
4.0

$835

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
The beauty of Angie's List reviews is we have the opportunity to respond to all reviews. The facts as we see them very greatly and are supported by the photos you submitted. Upon the original estimate you self described your house as a "crack house" therefore you wanted "cheap, cheap, cheap" We were well aware of your position and gave our estimate as you directed. Upon starting of this job we were very cautious about the work (repairs) requested. Experience has taught us that people like yourself always want something for nothing. Therefore we sent the general manager of the company to personally do the repairs with this warning. Upon his arrival your adult son pointed out exactly which boards were to be replaced. To which we had agreed to in the beginning. You stated we should have removed "one board over" to better our repairs. Your pictures reflect quite a bit of flooring in need of replacement. As was pointed out in the beginning. This was explained to you at the original estimate. But you wanted "cheap, cheap" Ace will not do work they are not originally authorized to do. Thanks Ace(Troy)

JOE P.
09/2016
5.0
hardwood floor
  + -1 more
Ace workers arrived on time the first day and sanded the floor and sealed it. They arrived the second day on time and applied the finish. The process went smoothly and the floor look great.
Description of Work: The 200 sf living room floor needed to be refinished after removing the carpeting which was not glued down but the rubber backing had adhered to to the hard pine over time. We removed as much as we could but the floor was still black.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$400

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
Thanks for the opportunity. Best of luck. Thanks Troy

Rick G.
07/2016
5.0
flooring contractor
  + -1 more
excellent craftsmanship and quality work.? when we experienced a manufacturing defect, they worked very hard to correct the problem and installed a replacement floor that was a higher quality and price without charging us any additional cost.? Awesome customer service.? Highly recommend them.
Description of Work: replace kitchen and family room floors with luxury vinyl flooring

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$5,000

Leanne A L.
07/2016
5.0
hardwood floor
  + -1 more
I am so happy that I found Ace Wood Flooring on Angie's List. They were professional, on time, and installed/refinsihed beautiful floors at a fair price. I LOVE my new floors!! I would definitely recommend Ace and will be using them again in the future.
Description of Work: Refinishing of existing hardwood floor and installation of new hardwood flooring

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$2,340

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
So happy you are pleased with the work. Thanks Ace(Troy)

Shayna K.
06/2016
5.0
hardwood floor
  + -1 more
For tile, wood, and granite, I will only call Ace from now on. They refinished the old, stained, neglected wood floors throughout my entire house right after I moved in. The floors look new! There was no hard selling at all, and all of the costs were transparent and given up front. The whole job was done in 4 days. They showed up early, came by when they said they would, and promptly returned calls/texts. When I noticed a couple of missed spots, they came back same-day (on a Saturday) and went back over the whole house to make adjustments. The commitment to quality, service, and doing the job right is phenomenal. The cost was also extremely reasonable. I am all about Ace now!
Description of Work: Ace refinished the floors in my entire house.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,225

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
Thank You for the opportunity. Best of luck with your new home. Ace(Troy)

Geraldine R.
04/2016
1.0
flooring contractor
  + -1 more
Came late. Was rude. Wouldn't listen to what I was trying to tell him .Left in a huff!
Description of Work: Nothing. He didn't even look around.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0


Response from Ace Wood Flooring
When an expert is trying to educate a customer and the customer does not listen then we leave. There are some things even an expert can't do. Thanks Ace(Troy)

allen H.
03/2016
5.0
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
  + 0 more
On Monday Troy called to come give us a quote on do 3 bedrooms hallway living room asked when it could be done made a call said Friday 8:30 am so on Friday we got to the house at 8 am the workers showed up ten minutes later they started the job after 6 hours later they had finished day one job. Was then told that they would return on Saturday 8:30 am to polish and put the final coat of poly when I got to the house at 8 am they showed up on time said it would take an hour and half to finish I left and went to do other things got a call later it was finished. From what the floors looked like to what I saw when I returned on Saturday I was blown away ... I would say if you need any of there services please use them as they are professional as they come ..
Description of Work: Refinished hard wood floors in house we purchased

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,450

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
AWESOME NEWS!! Our pleasure. Best of luck in your new home. Thanks Ace(Troy)

Lisa V.
03/2016
5.0
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
  + 0 more
Ace came out very promptly and gave me a quote which I felt was very reasonable. They were able to fit me into their schedule within a week. They showed up EXACTLY on time and were courteous and professional. They completed the job in the time they said the would, absolutely no issues. The bedroom floors look great. I had to push out the completion of the other 2 floors and they had no issues with me changing the date. They will be back the first week in April to finish the final 2 floors. I would recommend them and would use them again.
Description of Work: Ace Wood Flooring gave a quote for refinishing my hardwood floors in 2 small Bedrooms and the Dining Room and Living Room. They completed the 2 bedrooms - they are scheduled to complete the other 2 rooms the first week in April which was at my request.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,350

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
Thank you for your review [Member Name Removed]! We will see you soon to finish our work and am so happy you are happy with your floors. Ace

Linda R.
03/2016
5.0
hardwood floor
  + -1 more
They did a great job. They were so nice and punctual. We were shocked at how good it looked after. They brought it back to what it should look like. I?m glad we used them.
Description of Work: They cleaned and refinished our hardwood floor.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$400

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
Thank You! Our Pleasure. Ace(Troy)

John G.
12/2015
5.0
hardwood floor
  + -1 more
The two employees who did the work were very polite, very considerate of my property, and very attentive to details. The entrance and hallways in my house look brand new and the beauty of the wood is definitely visible. Thank you.
Description of Work: Prep, sand and seal the floors in my entrance, hallway and closets.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$249

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
Phase 1 complete. Look forward to phase 2 Thanks Ace(Troy)

Florence D.
11/2015
1.0
flooring contractor
  + -1 more
We went away for vacation which we figured was a good time to get our floors done. When we came back, there was an inch of dust in the whole of our house. They claimed they cleaned it, but that was obviously not the case. I had to externally hire out in order to get this done. Some of the work itself wasn't good, either. It was spotty. The owner was nice, he came out and wanted to make it better, so he knocked a few hundred off, which certainly was nice, but it was still a complete nightmare experience.
Description of Work: Floor in kitchen and half of the floor in the living room.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$600

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
Sorry we do not work in Florida. Not sure who this could be. Also the very idea that we would discount ourselves by 50% for "dust" seems strange? Maybe you have a different company? Thanks Ace(Troy)

Russ M.
10/2015
1.0
carpet installation, flooring contractor, hardwood floor
  + 1 more
After getting a estimate and a time to do the job ,we scheduled to be away and left a key for ace to enter the home and do the job as contracted, they called the day before we left asked if they could work on saterday because of there work load. which we did not find a problem. When we returned from our mini vacation hoping to find our floors complete as requested. (SURPRISE!!!!!!!!!!!) We were horrified with the results steps and floors were hardly sanded. nails were bent over pounded into the floor. carpet pad staples were still sticking out of the floor others were sanded flush. stains were still visible in all areas,some areas still had the old polyurethane still on them .other areas had deep grooves from rough sanding. Then a single layer of poly was laid down , we were told 3 layers of poly was applied, but there was areas with no poly at all. How do you miss the same area 3 times???. we called Troy with our disgust, and right away he said he would return our check minus carpet removal . and walked away leaving us with a mess.we called another contractor (m.s. out of new bedford Ma.) 3days later beautiful floors) lessons learned be home to see the work done.
Description of Work: the estimate was to remove old carpeting and pad , Remove carpet strips sand rock maple flooring in the dining room hall and master bedroom plus sand six steps, also appy 3 coats of polyurethane.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
4.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0

$1,600

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
Am I to understand Ace was not paid for for any work done on this property other than the removal and disposal of carpet. Once again it appears that a customer on Angie's list decides to write a negative review when Ace refuses to do the job.(ACE WILL NOT DO ANY JOB WE ARE NOT COMFORTABLE WITH THE EXPECTATIONS OF THE JOB OR THE DEMEANOR OF THE CUSTOMER) After Ace Was contracted by this customer in [Removed member information] R.I. the customer went on vacation. Ace began the removal and disposal of pet stained carpet. Upon the completion of this. Ace determined the job would not meet the expectations of the customer as the floor was SOAKED with pet urine stains. Since the customer was away with no contact available Ace stopped working. Upon there return after reviewing the options with the customer Ace returned the customers money.

Vivian J.
10/2015
5.0
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
  + 0 more
Excellent. Ace refinished my dining room two years ago and I found the same professional, consistent process.
Description of Work: Refinished living room floor.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$400

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
Thank You. Ace(Troy)

Shirley S.
09/2015
5.0
ceramic tile, flooring contractor, hardwood floor
  + 1 more
Placed the order 6/29/15. After about 5 weeks installed what turned out to be the wrong tile. Ordered correct tile and tile was not installed until 9/5/15 for a total of over 2 months.
Description of Work: Furnish and install floor tile in a 6" x 4" area.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0

$475

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
Glad we were able to work this out. Especially since after install of the initial tile you selected you decided you did not like the color. "All's well that ends well" Thanks Ace(Troy)

Linda H.
08/2015
5.0
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
  + 0 more
Troy the owner answered my call. This job was time sensitive due to moving dates, and he had a crew right over to the house within that same week to get the job done. The floors came out fantastic. All was professionally completed, and the price was on target. The owner communicates with you on any questions you have. I will definitely recommend this company to friends and family.
Description of Work: Several floors were sanded and refinished in a house.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$2,000

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
Thank You! Congratulations on your new home. Ace(Troy)

Laurie H.
08/2015
5.0
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
  + 0 more
He did a great job. They came when they were supposed to and completed the job quickly. The only issue was that there were several spots that my 16yo dog had peed on. Those spots came out darker than the rest of the floor. If I had known that would happen I would have asked if there was any way to make that look better (darker stain color?). I'm actually looking into doing the rest of the house and will call again.
Description of Work: Sanded and refinished living room and dining room floors.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$550

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
Thanks again. look forward to finishing the project. Ace(Troy)

Patricia B.
07/2015
5.0
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
  + 0 more
They worked well. They were good. They did everything I needed.
Description of Work: For hardwood floors, I used Ace.
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
Thank You. Ace(Troy)

marina G.
07/2015
5.0
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
  + 0 more
EXCELLENT JOB! They did a great job - my floors look gorgeous! They came on time, took as long as they said they would, and I was billed exactly what the estimate was. Also, they fixed a few sections of the wood floors, which was challenging due to the age of the wood. The owner created a custom mix to repair the floors and did a fantastic job. Also, they are very good about answering the phone. Overall, very professional and easy to work with.
Description of Work: Re-finish floors, fix the floors in a few spots.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,000

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
Thank You!! Was a challenge and a pleasure!! Ace(Troy)

Victoria U.
07/2015
4.0
hardwood floor
  + -1 more
I was looking to talk to someone about maybe having my floors done so I stopped in their office and the very nice lady I spoke with took down my name and number and said Troy would be calling me- this was on a Saturday. She mentioned the cost would be around $1.50 - $2 per square foot depending on how bad the floors were. Troy called me first thing Sunday morning, gave me a quote and said they could start work Tuesday morning! The quote was a little higher than I anticipated- two bedrooms and a small hallway I figured would be about $500 and the quote was $850- but ultimately I decided to go for it because there was also a $100 discount for Angie's List members! The team was right on time Tuesday and Wednesday mornings! They had to move my stove to get to the 220 amp outlet needed to do their work, and I wasn't too happy to see that the stove wasn't put back in place when the work was done. On the last day, I did ask two of the men to move the stove and they did, so that was great! I was a little frustrated because I didn't realize the whole house was going to smell of urethane and I wouldn't be able to be inside for the first 24 hours- luckily I have a breezeway I was able to sleep on. After the boys left on day 2, they left my kitchen door wide open- which was very upsetting to come home to in general but to top things off one of my cats had gone in and walked on the floors. I called Troy and told him about the kitty paw prints and he sent guys back the very next morning to touch up the work. That morning, in preparation of the boys coming over I walked through the rooms and noticed a spot that was missed in one of the closets. I left the boys a note asking them to touch up that and the paw prints and they did! Any issues I had were addressed. I think I had different expectations with how some of this would turn out- being a new homeowner and all. Overall, I am happy with the work that was done and would use Ace again.
Description of Work: Refinished the floors in two bedrooms and a small hallway.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
3.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$750

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
Thank you> We look forward to working with you on your next phase. Thanks Ace(Troy)

Colleen D.
06/2015
5.0
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
  + 0 more
Two more rooms done! Very happy with the results. Every person that I have dealt with have been very nice and professional. I have already been recommending them to friends and family.
Description of Work: The living room and dining room.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$970

Response from Ace Wood Flooring
3 phases later. We are finished. Thanks for the opportunity. Ace(Troy)

Contact information

375 Putnam Pike, Smithfield, RI 02917

http://www.woodfloorsbyace.com

Service hours

Monday:
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday:
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday:
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday:
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday:
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday:
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Licensing

Insured

No License Required for Trade

Trade License Number
25742
Trade License Locale
Rhode Island
Trade License Expiration
12/01/2020
State Contractor License Requirements

All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

*Contact business to see additional licenses.


Service Categories

Hardwood Flooring Sales and Installation,
Flooring Sales and Installation,
Ceramic Tile,
Carpet Sales and Installation

FAQ

Ace Wood Flooring is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Ace Wood Flooring accepts the following forms of payment: Check,Discover,Financing Available,MasterCard,Visa
Yes, Ace Wood Flooring offers free project estimates.
No, Ace Wood Flooring does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
Yes, Ace Wood Flooring offers a 5% senior discount.
No, Ace Wood Flooring does not offer emergency services.
No, Ace Wood Flooring does not offer warranties.
Ace Wood Flooring offers the following services: Installation, sanding, refinishing, repairs & sales.
Ask for Details.

Contact information

375 Putnam Pike, Smithfield, RI 02917

http://www.woodfloorsbyace.com

Service hours

Monday:
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday:
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday:
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday:
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday:
7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday:
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM