Offering residential service, repair, replacement and installation of gas, electric and propane heating and air conditioning systems. We service, repair and replace all manufacturers including Goodman, Amana, York, Lennox, Carrier, Bryant, Trane, Heil, Weil McLain, Peerless, American Standard, Buderus, Rheem, Comfortmaker, Nordyne. Misubushi, LG, Unico and many more.
Business highlights
25 years of trusted experience
Emergency Services Offered
Services we offer
Heating, Hot Water Heater & Air Conditioning Installation, Repair & Replacement. Boilers, Heat Pumps, Furnances, Plumbing Repairs, Service &Installation.
Services we don't offer
Clearing of Main Drains
Water Service Replacement
Service or maintenance on oil heating units
I had some difficulty getting a response from the company. It took 2 months after purchasing the deal...it was worth the wait. Tim did an excellent job and was very efficient and professional. I would use them again
Description of Work: 20 point AC tune up
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$49
Susan M.
06/2015
1.0
plumbing
+ -1 more
Never performed but took my money.
Description of Work: $59 Plumbing Service Call With 1 Hour Of Labor, order number: 2023623, MGT Service Heating & Air was requested and paid for. They never contacted me to set up service. I called them and left a message and they never responded. At this point I just want my money back!
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
responsiveness
1.0
$59
Response from MGT Service Heating & Air
We do apologize for the recent delays in responding, lack of communication and overall loss of customer service that you have experienced from our company. We have been experiencing serious health issues causing sudden hospitalizations and loss of our office staff. It has been a situation that is beyond our control and has escalated very quickly. Despite being unforeseen and uncontrollable, these issues should never affect our customers and the service we are to provide. Our top priority is our customers and we want to thank you for your patience with us. We are working diligently to return MGT Service to its full capabilities and earn back your trust.
Jeannette G.
06/2015
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing
+ 0 more
nice quick job....was a little concerned it was too much work for the time provided by the deal.
Description of Work: Cleaned drains and installed new shower head/faucet
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$59.99
Douglas D.
06/2015
2.0
plumbing
+ -1 more
Bought deal on Tue 5/26, wrote details of project and asked provider to call me to schedule. Waited a week for contact, got no call. Called on Tue 6/2, someone apologized, took message and said they'd have Gretchen call me "right away" to schedule. No call. Called again on morning of Thursday 6/4, left another message. Asked if this was an answering service or actually the company. They said it was an answering service. Asked for direct number to company, was told there wasn't one. Asked to have someone call me that day, was told they would call back "within an hour or two". Waited til afternoon, then found a text number on their website. Texted and later got a response. Was told by responder (not sure who it was, maybe the actual plumber?) that they were recently in the hospital and thus out of contact. (I don't know why the other people I talked to didn't tell me this before.) I responded with "Sorry to hear about that, hope all is well. Do you have time to briefly discuss what I need done?" That was Thursday, it's now mid-day Monday and no response by text or phone. After four attempts, I'm done. Called Angie's list and initiated refund. Scratching this provider off my list -- I ended up spending a couple hours of my time and pushing out the start date on my project for two weeks... for nothing.
Description of Work: Bought a deal for 1 hour of labor for a project (new outdoor faucet). Provider failed to contact for scheduling over two weeks, despite three attempts by me.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
1.0
$59
Response from MGT Service Heating & Air
We do apologize for the recent delays in responding, lack of communication and overall loss of customer service that you have experienced from our company. We have been experiencing serious health issues causing sudden hospitalizations and loss of our office staff. It has been a situation that is beyond our control and has escalated very quickly. Despite being unforeseen and uncontrollable, these issues should never affect our customers and the service we are to provide. Our top priority is our customers and we want to thank you for your patience with us. We are working diligently to return MGT Service to its full capabilities and earn back your trust.
Frances L.
06/2015
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
This was the worst experience I have had with Angiie's list. I paid $149 for the service that was never provided. Multiple phone calls and email messages were left unanswered. And even more disappointing was the response from Angiie's list. I have kept them informed throughout the entire process that began in April. Their plan was to attempt to reach out for me.However, they did not follow up. The last 2 of 3 messages to Angie's list were to request a refund after I finally gave up- but unfortunately no answers from Angie's list. I finally submitted my final request for refund this week and was finally answered- only to tell me I was beyond the 30 day period, which I was no longer elligible for. Really? as far as I am concerned, I am more disappointed in how Angie's list handled this than I am with the plumbing provider.
Description of Work: Provider never returned calls to schedule appointment
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$149
Response from MGT Service Heating & Air
We do apologize for the recent delays in responding, lack of communication and overall loss of customer service that you have experienced from our company. We have been experiencing serious health issues causing sudden hospitalizations and loss of our office staff. It has been a situation that is beyond our control and has escalated very quickly. Despite being unforeseen and uncontrollable, these issues should never affect our customers and the service we are to provide. Our top priority is our customers and we want to thank you for your patience with us. We are working diligently to return MGT Service to its full capabilities and earn back your trust.
Anthony G.
05/2015
3.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
He was on time and went right to work. He asked what we wanted and I explained it to him and he understood everything. He was very professional and knew what he was doing. The biggest problem was finally getting him to my house. It took many tries to get him to agree to a date ONCE they called me back. Very professional but I would not use them again due to the lack of communication from them
Description of Work: Changed out 2 faucets.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
5.0
$99
ROBERT W.
05/2015
2.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
It went badly. See above comments. This plumbing company displayed a lack of responsibility by failing to keep two appointments. I will not attempt to use them in the future. Fortunately, Angie's list refunded my payment.
Description of Work: This provider twice canceled appointments. The first time he was delayed by another job and showed up several hours late. After making a second appointment, I was dumbfounded to receive an email telling me he would have to cancel because several other jobs had priority due to the bad weather. The provider did nothing.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
2.0
$59
katrina M.
05/2015
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
After my scheduled appointment window was nearing an end, I called the company asking if someone would soon be coming to my house because I had yet to receive a call. The operator took my name and number and told me that she would have the serviceman contact me as to when he would be arriving. I called back over an hour later stating that I still had not received any phone call. She confirmed my phone number and said she was would have someone contact me. No one called. No one showed up at my house for the service. Very disappointing considering I waited at my house during the 2 hour window and also had to arrange for someone else to pick up my daughter from school.
Description of Work: Nothing because they never showed up for my scheduled appointment.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$49
Ida L.
05/2015
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
This is one of the most unprofessional businesses I delt with thus far. I had an appointment confirmed, no one showed up and no call back with any explanation . I called the number on their website 3 times, the shared call center people couldn't do anything but told me they will forward my message to the business. It was a complete waste of my time. I had to take a day off to wait for them and this is the "service" I received.
Description of Work: Nothing. No show
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Natalie M.
05/2015
4.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Working with Tim and his team was great. They arrived on time, completed everything efficiently and I know my tenant will be very happy with the new HVAC system. Scheduling wasn't an issue and Tim and his team were very professional. However, when I wrote a check for my deposit, I had asked that they wait 2 days to process because it takes my bank 2 business days for a transfer to take place, and I never keep that much money in my checking account. I watched Tim make a note on my invoice, but the very next day, the check had been processed and my account was in the negatives. I got in touch with them right away about this and they agreed to refund me the amount that had been over drafted in my account, which I really appreciated. When I paid the balance due after the project had been completed, I AGAIN requested that they wait 2 days to do anything with the check. They AGAIN processed it the very next day, and my account went back into the negatives. Thankfully this time around I talked to my bank and was able to work it out since they could see the deposit on hold, but to say I'm angry is an understatement. I even forward-dated the check to try and make it additionally clear. Tim and the rest of the service guys were absolutely wonderful... service for my new units is included for the first year so I'll be working with them again, but should I need any work done past that time, I'd probably consider a different business.
Description of Work: Removed all old units (furnace, condenser, coil) and replaced with new units, tested everything.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
5.0
$6,300
Jessica P.
05/2015
3.0
plumbing
+ -1 more
Person who came out was helpful and apologetic but office staff was not accommodating to fixing the issue caused by the provider.
Description of Work: .
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro
$49
David C.
05/2015
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing
+ 0 more
Came in, figured out what was needed, got what he needed, fixed the problem, cleaned up and left.
Description of Work: Fixed toilet
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$37
Response from MGT Service Heating & Air
Thank you [Member Info Removed] for your time in writing your review and your business. thank you
Joseph R.
05/2015
2.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
No show to both appointments made with them. I had them before and they did a great job. I am disappointed that they won't show.
Description of Work: $49 for a 20-Point Air-Conditioning Tune-Up
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
$49
Response from MGT Service Heating & Air
Thank you (removed member name). I do apologize for these issues. Due to illness we did not keep our scheduled appointments and this is something that should never happen.
Jocelyn C.
05/2015
2.0
plumbing
+ -1 more
I purchased a two hour deal and it was exceedingly difficult to schedule. many days would go between their responses. I had emailed to set a specific date 3 weeks ahead of time, then they cancelled me at last minute for another job that was apparently more important than my leaking faucet. Then there was an attempt to set appointment but I never got the angie's list email. When I got the call the night before, I was sick with something contagious and unable to keep this appointment that I didn't even know that I had. Then it was again going to be weeks before they could schedule. It seems the deals are filler for them and everything else seems to be more important. When they guy showed up, he did the work competently, but left the house many times to get a cigarette and talk on the phone..which led to him needing to run to take another more important job and possibly not finish the work that I had needed done. We got everything but one little thing done...but through their behavior it was made really clear that my work was not important to them. Also during the very lengthy time it took to get this scheduled, the same deal went on sale for $50 cheaper and I asked that they honor that lower price, which they never responded to. I could easily have returned the deal at $149 because of their lack of responsiveness then repurchased at 99, which is what I should have done. Still hoping that they do the right thing. They should run fewer deals and treat the customers they have better. I was suprised by this because of the good service record they appeared to have.
Description of Work: minor plumbing repairs to three sinks, replacing basement laundry faucet/sink.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
3.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
2.0
$149
Response from MGT Service Heating & Air
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately a leaking faucet is not as urgent as customers that are without heat, hot water or air conditioning. Originally you were scheduled for a Saturday appointment, due to your own schedule demands, and you rescheduled to being ill when we contacted you to confirm your appointment the night before. You were well aware of the appointment I assume due to your own responses confirming the appointment! When you finally contacted us to reschedule you stated a need for someone to come out ASAP so we put you in front of customers that had more urgent service issues. The owner came to your home and spent over 2 hours there doing your work and getting you taken care of. Yes he had to take calls while there and for that we apologize. All of your work was completed, which took over the 2 hours, and you were not charged for any additional time. I never once have received any communication from you regarding a lower price because I will always honor deal pricing sometimes months after they have expired. I have never ever denied a request to honor deal pricing. Saturday appointments are extremely difficult to get unless it is an ER. I am sorry that you were not happy and it took some time to get you scheduled.
Patricia R.
05/2015
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Tim (the owner of MGT Service) serviced my AC unit. He was courteous, professional, and informative. He did a thorough in;pection and checkup. He told me to contact him if I needed any additional work on the unit. Overall, the experience was one of consumate professionalism. I intend to use MGt Service to inspect my gas furnace in the fall.
Description of Work: My central air conditioning unit was given an 18-point checkup in preparation for summer usagage.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$49
Response from MGT Service Heating & Air
thank you for your time and your review. we look forward to working with you again.
Tim R.
05/2015
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing
+ 0 more
I will just publish the emails that have gone back and forth. Please not that this does not include the multiple phone calls I have placed. This company doesn't answer the phone, ever. They have an answering service that say they will pass messages along, but nothing ever happens. 4/16/2015 Me: Hi there, and sorry about the late reply...can we schedule this?MGT Service Heating & Air4/17/2015yes we can. we have availability starting the week of 4/27/15. 4/17/2015 Me: Ok, the earlier the better..need a faucet and a garbage disposal installed. Thanks. 4/22/2015 Me: Have you been able to schedule this? 4/22/2015 Me: it is actually kind of an urgent situation now, so the sooner the better... 4/22/2015 Me: Not quite sure why I am not getting any response from you??? 4/29/2015 Me: I had made an appointment for last Monday, the 27th, at 4 PM. I cut a client meeting early and rushed home from New York City to be there on time, but nobody showed up. No call, no show. What is going on?!? Should I even bother moving forward with your company? 4/30/2015 Me: And now my emails are being ignored...again. This is ridiculous. MGT Service Heating & Air4/30/2015Mr. Regan I have been out of the office due to illness. You are correct and this is not acceptable. when can I get out to you? today, tomorrow, Saturday? 4/30/15 Me: Tomorrow would be fine. Afternoon. 5/1/2015 (after noshow) Me: Can you come on Monday? Also, I have a question on the garbage disposal. The current one (the one that needs replacing) has a power cord that plugs into an outlet. The one I ordered does not have a power cord. Can this be wired and installed? If not, I will send it back and get a new one. MGT Service Heating & Air5/3/2015 Let me see what I can swing tomorrow. I believe that you can use the new one. I will ask the service manager. 5/3/2015 Ok, great. I ordered a power cord kit just in case. Should arrive tomorrow. 5/4/2015 Me: Have you been able to schedule for today? 5/4/2015 Me: Same old story...no response. When can you come? 5/4/2015 Me: Would you like me to post this series of messages on Angies' List? I mean, seriously, this is ridiculous. MGT Service Heating & Air5/5/2015 Mr.... - I left a voice-mail for you that today wasn't going to work due to emergencies that came in. It was at 1015am this morning. Unfortunately the guys were out until after 10pm this evening. I have the following availability - Saturday 5/9 or Monday 5/11. I can let you know if anything opens up sooner. can you please verify your contact phone number. thank you 5/5/2015 Me: my phone number is xxx-xxx-xxxx. No message was left there. We have been communicating through email the entire time. Why would you suddenly choose a different method? And, even if you left the message, why would you not return my emails??? This has been a complete nightmare. And even now, with all the inconvenience you have cause me, you cant get a plumber here until next week? 5/5/2015 Me: Plus, I have left several messages with your answering service, leaving my phone number each time. You should know it by now. Left another one today. 5/6/2015 Me: OK, another day of chasing you people down. Can you fill me in on what's happening? MGT Service Heating & Air5/7/2015 I do not have availability this week until Saturday or possibly tomorrow. I have communicated with you the same way, I have not suddenly chosen another method. I physically do not have someone. You called and asked to be called so I called. So you are aware I am in and out of the hospital right now sometimes on a daily basis and these are not scheduled trips. I have lost staff due to being deployed and am making every effort to get everyone taking care of as quickly as possible. I have no intention of letting anyone fall to the wayside. If you feel you are chasing please stop. I am doing the best I can. Now would you like to have someone out Saturday? 5/7/15 Me: What time on Saturday? 5/7/2015 Me: Actually, in the time it took for you to respond, our Saturday filled up. Monday will be fine. 5/8/2015 Me: So? What's the story? Are you people coming on Saturday or Monday or never or what? 5/10/15 Me: OK, another two days have gone by with no response. Should I be surprised? Are you coming tomorrow as promised? If you can't make it tomorrow, please just refund my money. I am tired of chasing your company down. I ned to deal with a trustworthy plumber.
Description of Work: Nothing
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$59
Response from MGT Service Heating & Air
(removed member name) - You and I have corresponded via text message from the beginning of our communications. I am sick. Beyond sick and have been hospitalized several times over the last few months. I have tried to communicate with you in every way that you have asked and still I keep getting absolutely no where with you. Several times you have rescheduled your appointment. We have offered to come out on Saturdays. I am not sure exactly what you would like for me to do. I need for you to stop attacking me and realize that I am doing my best to get you scheduled and be honest with you.
Robert P.
05/2015
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Horrible. Absolutely horrible. This company is like some fly by night company that takes your money and runs. I'm filing a complain with Angie's list.
Description of Work: These guys have NO professionalism AT ALL. I got an Angie's list deal for an A/C inspection on 4/21. They emailed me that day saying they'd contact me to set up an appt. They NEVER DID. I emailed them 2 weeks later. NO RESPONSE. I emailed them EVERY DAY for a week. NO response. I called their phone number. They have an ANSWERING service that emails the company. I did this for a week. NO RESPONSE I texted their number. Got a cryptic message saying their receptionist had been in the hospital and they'd call me. NO follow up. I called for several days after. NO RESPONSE What business ignores its telephone line? They're COMPLETELY UNREACHABLE! NO FOLLOW UP!
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$25
Marvin O.
05/2015
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
I called them yesterday and the day before to schedule. I've only received one email asking what type of air conditioning unit I had. I answered via email but never heard anything from them.
Description of Work: I purchased a Big Deal for $49 for a 20-Point Air-Conditioning Tune-Up.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
$49
linda C.
05/2015
5.0
plumbing
+ -1 more
Very nice person who was very personable and knowledgeable. He came in and sat to chat a while to go through the list of things. He went through step by step and helped me understand each issue. He fixed everything he could and told me what was needed to fix the leaking shower. It was a pleasure to work with him.
Description of Work: Fixed leaking sink, diagnosed leaking shower, inspected toilet rings, diagnosed low flow in kitchen sink.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$149
Michael R.
05/2015
5.0
plumbing
+ -1 more
I ended up requested a refund from Angie's List because the could not do the job I wanted under the deal I purchased.
Description of Work: I purchaseda Big Deal for $99 for 2 Hours of Plumbing Labor
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Robert S.
04/2015
1.0
plumbing
+ -1 more
All started off well. I had difficulties with scheduling. They were very accommodating in the beginning. We finally settled on a date on 4/6/15 for 4/24/15 in the afternoon and they never showed up.I called the day before and the day of and there was no correspondence. I lost time at work. I cleaned out under my sink while I waited and now I have to put it all back because nothing was done. I still have a broke kitchen sink and two broken toliets.
Description of Work: I bought a big deal for $99 for 2 Hours of Plumbing Labor.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
1.0
$99
Response from MGT Service Heating & Air
(removed member name) - We are very sorry for your inconvenience. There was a medical emergency beyond our control that unfortunately kept us from your service call. We called the night before, the day of, emailed and messaged thru Angie's List. The difficulties with scheduling are completely unacceptable and I can understand your frustration. I will contact you directly today. again I do apologize.
Mike A.
04/2015
2.0
plumbing
+ -1 more
I needed to change the sump pump battery. I paid 200 dollars for a new one, but the battery is not working. I have called several times and they stated that they would come out and replace it. I have sent several emails and called several times, but nobody is responding.
Description of Work: $99 for 2 Hours of Plumbing Labor
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
4.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$200
Response from MGT Service Heating & Air
Although there are some parts of customers complaint that are not completely accurate we feel that we should have been more timely and persistent w/ contact. 1. Homeowner requested a service call to have the battery for sump pump replaced. This is a normal request as it is recommended the be replaced every 2-3 years. 2. Service manager called manufacturer to verify a gel battery would be viable option since the existing battery was not gel. The manuf. called watchodog and manuf. of charger. Advised by manuf. to send charger to them and they would test and repair charger. Homeowner not accepting of this recommendation as he still believed it was the battery. Researched to see if only charger could be purchased because the only other option was to replace complete system which customer declined/refused. Located a charging system through another customer. Offered to replace and supply at no charge. Only, then was he ok w/ replacing charging system. We were to hear from him that following Saturday. Didn’t hear from him and we did not actively pursue contact with customer.
Bill I.
04/2015
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
They came out twice. They were fine, we didn't have any problems with them. They were quick, and they came on time. They were very responsive.
Description of Work: They did maintenance, and made sure everything was working fine.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
NANCY N.
04/2015
5.0
plumbing
+ -1 more
In case you don't want to read all the details I would say I waited a long time for my appointment but I am very glad I did. The results were well worth the wait. When I initially purchased the Big Deal, I did not have an immediate need but thought I would use it at some point to check out the toilets and maybe have the sump pumps evaluated. I was not using my computer everyday then so within a few days of the purchase I was surprised to see a message saying the plumber was coming that day. It was certainly a fast response time but they had evidently sent me a message that I hadn't gotten so they thought I knew of the appointment. I had to cancel and we agreed I would get in touch when I was ready. Within several months the bathtub started leaking from the 2nd floor onto the ceiling of the kitchen. I had to empty a bedroom closet in order to get to the access door behind the tub and I could see that a pipe was corroded/broken so as long as no water went down the tub drain there was no leaking--but I couldn't take a shower since that was our only one in the house. Before I could call for an appointment the bathroom toilet looked like it was going to overflow so I turned off the shut off valve for the water to the tank. It didn't overflow so when I turned the shut off back on, it started leaking. The only way to prevent the leaking was to leave the shut off turned off making the toilet unusable unless I filled a bucket from the bathtub (making sure no water went down the broken drain) to use to flush the toilet. In the meantime I was waiting for a replacement kitchen faucet from Moen that was coming by mail to replace one of theirs that was leaking. I figured I might as well wait to make the appointment until after it arrived and get everything done at once. While waiting for the faucet, I discovered water in the basement and traced it to the condensate pump. The water was coming out as fast as I could shop vac it up. I finally figured out that I could stop it by turning the humidity level to zero on the furnace. Needless to say, I WAS READY TO SEE THE PLUMBER! I believe I called on Good Friday afternoon and didn't get a response. I did think that was not unusual since it might have been a holiday. I believe I then sent an email trying to arrange an appointment for the next week. I did get a response that the next week was totally booked and would the following week be oK. I was not available MTW, of the following week so we settled on the following Friday. I think this was two weeks after I called. I point this out only to show how available they were one time and not so available the other so I may have picked a particularly busy period. I felt quite desperate by the time for my appointment arrived since I had been imposing on friends to take showers. I was notified by email that the plumber was expected to arrive between 3 & 5 on Friday. Around 4pm on Friday I got an email saying he was running very late due to an emergency and might not be able to get there until 7pm. I said that was ok and that the tub was the priority and even if he could only do that, I'd be willing to reschedule the other things. At the time I wasn't sure who was sending the emails. I later found out it was probably the owner's wife, Gretchen. When I said I was really desperate for the shower to work since I had already waited 2 weeks for the appointment, she was very nice and sent another email saying he was still on the last job, would I be available on Sat morning and she could at least send someone by to take care of the drain and he could survey the other jobs to see what was needed in terms of supplies. This was a little inconvenient since I had some other plans but I know that emergencies happen and I was appreciative that she kept me informed of the situation. Saturday morning I got an email saying the plumber was on his way. Tim, the owner, arrived maybe 15 minutes later. I thought he was only going to do the tub, but he said no he would take care of everything on my list even though it was Saturday. He looked at everything, determined what supplies he needed, and said he was going to the plumbing supply and my 2 hours would start when he got back. He was very pleasant, very energetic and was willing to answer questions. When he returned he worked really hard for over 2 1/2 hours in a small closet access space to get all the piping done behind the tub. He also showed me that the leaking shut off valve on the toilet only required a tightening of a nut. He could have milked that for more and I may not have found out. He made quick work of replacing the faucet in the kitchen, the 2 drains under the double sink and the condensate pump in the basement. He pointed out that the tubing from the pump to sink had gotten very brittle, so I asked him to replace that too. Altogether he was here for 3 3/4 hours. He didn't waste time and could not have been nicer. He charged me for the extra 1 3/4 hours of labor and for the parts he had supplied. I do believe that what he charged was more than reasonable for the amount of work he did. I had already paid Angie's List the $99 and he charged me an additional $540 for labor and parts.
Description of Work: I had purchased the Big Deal of 2 hours of labor for $99 so that time was used along with additional time to complete the following: Replace the old-style 1960's overflow trap for the bathtub drain along with the pipes leading to it with ones he supplied. Fixed the leaking shut off valve to the toilet by tightening a nut Replaced a leaking kitchen faucet with a new one I supplied along with replacing two corroded S pipes under the double kitchen sink (he supplied). Replaced a leaking condensate pump in the basement along with flexible tubing between pump and sink (his supplies).
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$640
Response from MGT Service Heating & Air
Thank you (removed member name) for taking the time to write your honest opinion of your service call with our company. We do appreciate your candor and are looking to resolve the matter which if affecting all of our customers. Time is our most valuable resource and one which cannot be refunded or ever given back. We do sincerely apologize for taking time from you and having you wait so long. If I can be of any assistance or there is something I can do for you to help this matter please contact me directly by phone or email. Gretchen 215-361-7460
Kim M.
04/2015
5.0
plumbing, water heater repair
+ 0 more
They did a great job. They came when they said they would come and they also did another service call for us. So they are our go-to plumber now.
Description of Work: They serviced our toilet and water heater and put in a point.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$149
Response from MGT Service Heating & Air
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time and thank you for the kind words. We look forward to hopefully working again with you in the future. Gretchen Marinacci
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.
*Contact business to see additional licenses.
Service Categories
Heating and Air Conditioning,
Plumbing,
Water Heaters,
Wells and Pumps,
Ceiling Fans
FAQ
MGT Service Heating & Air is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.
Sunday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Monday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
MGT Service Heating & Air accepts the following forms of payment: Check,MasterCard,PayPal,Visa
No, MGT Service Heating & Air does not offer free project estimates.
Yes, MGT Service Heating & Air offers eco-friendly accreditations.
No, MGT Service Heating & Air does not offer a senior discount.
Yes, MGT Service Heating & Air offers emergency services.
No, MGT Service Heating & Air does not offer warranties.
MGT Service Heating & Air offers the following services: Heating, Hot Water Heater & Air Conditioning Installation, Repair & Replacement. Boilers, Heat Pumps, Furnances, Plumbing Repairs, Service &Installation.
Clearing of Main Drains
Water Service Replacement
Service or maintenance on oil heating units