Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A Sound Alternative Inc DBA Wain Security

Stereo and Home Theater Systems, Home Security Systems, Home Automation,

About us

8 employees. Cost is determined by the job. Travel charges may apply. Service charges apply. Additional phone number 888-546-1622 Additional email - mwain@wainsecurity.com

Business highlights

25 years of trusted experience
Emergency Services Offered

Services we offer

Alarm security. Alarm Monitoring, Burglar Alarms, Fire Alarms, Video Surveillance (CCTV), Access Control

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Senior Discount

10%

Emergency Services
Yes


Accepted payment methods

Check
MasterCard
Visa

Reviews

4.6151 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
68%
4
9%
3
8%
2
6%
1
9%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.8
value
4.7
professionalism
4.7
responsiveness
4.6
punctuality
4.7
Showing 126-150 of 151 reviews

Marie R.
10/2014
5.0
home theater design
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: Installed a Flat Panel TV Mount, Mounting and A/V configuration. The service was excellent. Technicians showed up on time and started work immediately. They finished in an hour and everything worked properly. Both men showed professionalism and excellent knowledge of their job. I would definitely call this company again.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$129

Judy G.
10/2014
5.0
home theater design
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: Wall mount 50 in. flat-screen television

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$70

Thomas B.
10/2014
5.0
home theater design
  + -1 more
unknown

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Bob G.
10/2014
5.0
home theater design
  + -1 more
unknown

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
3.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,000

Gary H.
06/2014
3.0
home theater design
  + -1 more
unknown

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
4.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

$129

Harry F.
05/2014
5.0
home theater design
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: Install wall mounted TV, everything went well.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Sandra D.
04/2014
5.0
home theater design
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: Put up a wall bracket for our large tv. Very personable gentlemen. Couldn't ask for more

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$99

Response from A Sound Alternative Inc DBA Wain Security
Thanks again for the business. please let me know if i can be of any more help. matt

Robert J.
04/2014
2.0
home theater design
  + -1 more
unknown

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
3.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0


HAROLD W.
02/2014
5.0
home security systems
  + -1 more
.
Description of Work: .

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$150

Response from A Sound Alternative Inc DBA Wain Security
(removed member name), i am glad we could help with your security. my email is mwain@wainsecurity.com if you ever need anything. you can also call the office number 216-475-6565 or my cellular at 216-701-2144. thanks for the good review. i take great pride in the work that both myself and my employees do. Matt

Kim B.
01/2014
5.0
home theater design
  + -1 more
.
Description of Work: I used Sound Alternative Inc DBA Wain Security

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$129

Brenda B.
12/2013
5.0
home theater design
  + -1 more
.
Description of Work: They installed a full tv rotating mount on the wall in my granddaughters bedroom for a 27" tv. they did a wonderful job

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Mark F.
11/2013
5.0
home theater design
  + -1 more
Hang a tv.
Description of Work: I used A Sound Alternative Inc DBA Wain Security.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$100

betsy F.
10/2013
1.0
home theater design
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: I was sick last year and forgot about my purchase I wanted them to honor it now since I bought it and needed the service. Whether they did it now or last year they still offered it. After many weeks of asking they denied honoring |Matt was responsive and nice but the powers to be obviously refused. To me that is not honorable owners
Rating CategoryRating out of 5

Response from A Sound Alternative Inc DBA Wain Security
[member name removed] we spoke via email about this quite a bit. i did inform you that after discussing with angies list and the coupon being expired we could do 2 things. you could just get a refund or we could apply the amount you paid toward work you wanted to do. both options are very reasonable. i don't understand why you gave me a failing grade on a coupon that you purchased 2 years ago and has been expired for over a year. please rethink your grade to us. Matt

RON W.
10/2013
1.0
home theater design
  + -1 more
No show. No communication.
Description of Work: No show. Agreed to install two flat panels on walls of private office. Time set for 8 am Monday morning. Never showed, never called.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$300

Response from A Sound Alternative Inc DBA Wain Security
this was a commercial install request using a residential coupon. you state no communication we communicated to schedule and then we spoke on the phone and thats how i found out that this was a commercial office space. we did speak about doing still doing the install for a commercial rate. the angies list coupon was clearly stated to be a residential coupon.

Eric F.
08/2013
1.0
home theater design
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: I contacted the provider even before I purchased the big deal. I explained that the project would involve mounting the television on paneling over concrete. I understood that I may have to pay extra. The day of our appointment, the individuals who showed up first said that they couldn't do anything, then one of them explained a different alternative. They didn't have the equipment with them needed to do the alternative, so they said their boss would get back to me with an estimate. I provided some information about the project and what we were looking for. I was sent an estimate that was $700 in addition to what I had already paid. I then requested some additional changes to help lower the cost, and I haven't heard back. Essentially I'm still waiting on an estimate for work that I expected to be completed three weeks ago.
Rating CategoryRating out of 5

Response from A Sound Alternative Inc DBA Wain Security
The issue with the install was not the paneling over concrete, it was running the wire through a wall back into another room then back into the main room. my guys did not bring any concrete drilling equipment that was large enough for that task. when we spoke about your job you informed me that the equipment was going right below the tv and that was not the case. it was going off to the side of the fireplace. we only charge a labor fee of 100 dollars for that. all of the rest of the charge was for wire(needed based on the length of the run), and the custom programmable remote that you asked for because one of your friends talked you into it. i have the email with your request for that specific gear. the quotes were sent to you within 2 days. i also have the email from you stating that you were having email troubles. i really do apologize for any trouble and if you need any help in the future i am more than happy to tackle an install for you.

John C.
08/2013
5.0
home theater design
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: Not a bad experience, just could not use the deal provided once I read the small print. They reached out to me to set up an appointment.
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro

Robin H.
07/2013
5.0
home theater design
  + -1 more
ok
Description of Work: trun cable wires in wall

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
3.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$129

Rachel T.
03/2013
3.0
home theater design
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: We purchased a tv for wall mount and we called the provider to come out for A/V and mount. They told us they could not mount the TV because of the walls/configuration of the house. Subsequently, Best Buy did a great job. The gentleman was nice enough, but could not do the job we purchased. By the way, the abovementioned date is incorrect - I do not recall the date we were told he could not perform. Dr. Rachel Talton
Rating CategoryRating out of 5

Judith B.
01/2013
4.0
home theater design
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: The cost above was for a Big Deal and we had to pay additional fee's as well. They mounted a TV. The mounting has worked well.
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro

JOSEPH D.
12/2012
3.0
home security systems
  + -1 more
Explained above.
Description of Work: There was not enough detail in the offer to cover the fact that Wain Security will put the equipment in my house but I found out, only after I asked, that the equipment remains the property of Wain Security. I don't know what the standard is in the industry, but I wasn't up for that. Later, I was quoted a really good price for monitoring with my own equipment, but that price changed when I made an additional inquiry of Wain. That price hike might be due to a price increase, but that was not shared with me as the reason for the difference in the two price quotes. the lack of communication on details and the change in pricing without explanation, leaves me with the strong feeling that I don't want to deal with this outfit.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0


Response from A Sound Alternative Inc DBA Wain Security
Member, The coupon that you purchased was a 2 hour labor coupon. all equipment needed would have been on top of the coupon. i know the coupon clearly stated that it was for 2 hours of labor on an audio video or security system. we needed different parts to get your self installed security system up and running. i would still be happy to help you. Call me or email me if you want me to help you out. Matt

Pat F.
06/2012
5.0
home theater design
  + -1 more
Good
Description of Work: They were wonderful could not do enough to help me and really understood the hookups I needed.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$99

Isolyn C.
03/2012
1.0
home security systems
  + -1 more
see above.
Description of Work: I called him and he said he was on a job and that he would call you back to set up an appointment. I waited a little while and he never called me back.
Rating CategoryRating out of 5

Response from A Sound Alternative Inc DBA Wain Security
I called that same day when I returned to the office. I never heard back about getting together. I would love to help you if you want. An F report when the last call was to you is a little extreme. Please call my cellular at 2167012144 to schedule if you want.

Janice T.
03/2012
5.0
home security systems
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: We purchased a Big Deal for a home alarm protection service.
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro

Susan C.
02/2012
1.0
home theater design, home security systems
  + 0 more
unknown
Description of Work: I called Matthew Wain of "A Sound Alternative" to ask for a price quote to mount and wire a 60" flat screen tv. Matthew said he would come to my home on Friday, Feb. 3 at 5:30 p.m. to take a look and give me a quote, with the work to be done the following Monday. Like most moms of school-age children, I have an extremely busy after-school life, so making the time to meet with him took some effort and planning. At 5:15, 15 minutes before our appointment, Matthew called to say he was in Toledo and could not make the appointment and he would come on Monday to give an estimate and to hang the t.v. I asked him why he hadnt called earlier to notify me of his cancellation and he said he hadn't had time to do so. On Monday, a tech named Patrick called to say he was coming instead of the owner Matthew. He arrived to see the spot and the tv and said it was an easy job and he would get me an estimate and return to do the job on Friday. He nor Matthew never called to give an estimate, nor did they arrive on Friday to do the job. I called "A Sound Alternative" on Friday morning to ask for a service window, and never even received a phone call back! I had planned to use A Sound Alternative based on Angie's List recommendation, and since I am brand new to the service I was extremely disappointed and disillusioned that I had paid an annual fee to subscribe to a service where a highly recommended service provider didn't even have the decency to return a phone call. I would give A Sound Alternative an "F" in every category applicable

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0


Response from A Sound Alternative Inc DBA Wain Security
After receiving a call for a quote we set an appointment. even though the Angie's List coupons we offer say that service and appointments need to be during business hours we set a 5.30 meeting. I was running late on that Friday evening. I called the customer prior to the meeting to let her know I could not make the meeting. We setup a walk through for the following week. The customer called back and said that I was very rude for not showing up and proceeded to tell me that mom's don't have time for this stuff. I understand that customers schedules are very busy just as ours are. That is why I called as soon as i knew I could not get someone there to do a walk through. One of the installers from our office did a walk through with the customer and we emailed her a quote. I never heard back from her after this. Most of the time that this happens it is because customers feel that we are charging to much. I don't know if the emailed quote went into spam or what has happened. I am more than happy to do work for this customer. We have billed nothing and did not charge for the audio/video advice given during the walk through. The customer did not even have the required equipment, furniture, or wires at the time of the walk through even though she informed my installer that it was install ready at the time of the walk through.

Margo B.
12/2011
5.0
home theater design
  + -1 more
Very well.
Description of Work: I purchased this offer to have a new TV set up from Angie's list for $99. Matthew Wain from A Sound Alternative answered my message promptly and courtesly. He made two trips to my daughter's home. The first to assess the job and the second time to do the installation. Both times he was prompt and helpful. I would definately use his services again.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$99

Contact information

8803 brecksville rd Suite 7-196, Brecksville, OH 44141

www.wainsecurity.com

Service hours

Sunday:
Closed
Monday:
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday:
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday:
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday:
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday:
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday:
Closed

Licensing

Bonded

Insured
State Contractor License Requirements

All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

*Contact business to see additional licenses.


Service Categories

Stereo and Home Theater Systems,
Home Security Systems,
Home Automation,
Phone Sales,
TV Sales,
Phone Wiring

FAQ

A Sound Alternative Inc DBA Wain Security is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

A Sound Alternative Inc DBA Wain Security accepts the following forms of payment: Check,MasterCard,Visa
Yes, A Sound Alternative Inc DBA Wain Security offers free project estimates.
No, A Sound Alternative Inc DBA Wain Security does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
No, A Sound Alternative Inc DBA Wain Security does not offer a senior discount.
Yes, A Sound Alternative Inc DBA Wain Security offers emergency services.
No, A Sound Alternative Inc DBA Wain Security does not offer warranties.
A Sound Alternative Inc DBA Wain Security offers the following services: Alarm security. Alarm Monitoring, Burglar Alarms, Fire Alarms, Video Surveillance (CCTV), Access Control

Contact information

8803 brecksville rd Suite 7-196, Brecksville, OH 44141

www.wainsecurity.com

Service hours

Sunday:
Closed
Monday:
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday:
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday:
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday:
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday:
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday:
Closed