Narrow Leaf Woodworks, a division of Narrow Leaf Inc specializes in hand crafted custom wood gates, cabinets and furniture. Our professional crafters and builders have over 30 years of experience in Albuquerque area homes and businesses and have the knowledge, skills, and expertise necessary to provide creative product designs and quality outdoor shade structures. Narrow Leaf Woodworks is fully licensed and insured and we will listen to your concerns and goals for all your woodworking needs. Appointments and bids are a free service but design work is billable. Cost of projects is determined by the job. No travel charges. No service fees.
The Narrow Leaf bid included the removal and replacement of existing bushes to reach tree stump; Baca was able to come into the area from a different angle, thus eliminating the need to dig out and replace bushes.
Description of Work: Bid to remove two small tree stumps was $609.90. The same bid with Baca's Trees was $260.00.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
value
1.0
Response from Narrow Leaf Inc
Sorry we couldn't help you on this project. We included the rental fee for a stump grinder and shrub work. We are not a dedicated tree company though we perform a lot of tree removals. Baca's Trees is a dedicated tree company and friends of our firm. They own stump grinders and are set up to do small jobs like this. We tried to meet your needs but we are set up for larger projects than yours. We wish you the best.
Jill T.
04/2011
5.0
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems
+ 1 more
When I phoned Narrow leaf to schedule the repair, Tom (the owner) was willing to verbally walk me through a do-it-yourself solution in an attempt to save me a service call, which I appreciated. I was unable to loosen the valve so a technician was scheduled for the next day at a time that was best for my schedule. The technician, Leroy, was personable, arrived at the agreed time, conducted the repair while I observed, and completed the job in less than 30 minutes. I was charged $60 (including tax) which I felt was a reasonable fee for the trip to and from my house and for the repair. Leroy showed me what the problem was and how to repair it if it should occur again in the future, thus saving me another service call which is very much appreciated.
Description of Work: Replacement of the outdoor check valve to the drip system.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$60
Noelle R B.
04/2011
5.0
landscaping, irrigation systems
+ 0 more
They?ve done good work. I?ll continue using them in the future.
Description of Work: They did some landscaping for us last year. This included a lot of work on the property such as grading. Recently, they repaired our sprinkler system.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$600
Donal K.
04/2011
5.0
landscaping, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel
+ 1 more
We always get excellent work from Narrow Leaf. They assist with a full range of landscaping services, such as planting and irrigation. They've also widened our gravel driveway.
Description of Work: Narrow Leaf has helped us plan our yard. We’ve worked with them on three different projects so far.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
susan B.
04/2011
5.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
I highly recommend them! I was very impressed with their honesty. They let me know upfront that there would be a three month waiting period before they could begin work. The owner promised to call me a week before our start date, and he did. A few plants died, and they were replaced right away, no questions asked. Narrow Leaf did everything they said they were going to do. Also, they quoted a fair, reasonable price and stuck to it.
Description of Work: Narrow Leaf did a large landscaping project for us.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$10,000
Michelle D.
04/2011
2.0
ceramic tile, drywall, house painters
+ 1 more
We had to come every single day to check the work because we always had to correct them. They still have not sealed one of the stone tiles on the steps. We have a palm ceiling fan and they placed it outside on the back patio, which is cement. This caused it to get scratched. They tossed all their cigarette buds in our yard and never picked them up. They did all the cutting of the tile on our grass, which killed the grass so we have to reseed. They continued to walk through the same two parts in our yard to get to their car and to the house instead of using our driveway, which killed the grass. We also had to reseed this section of the yard. One thing that was very unprofessional was Cameron Driggers brought his fianc? to help do a painting job in my home and they got into a huge argument and they used a lot of profanity. They did not leave, but they just kept fighting. This made us feel very uncomfortable in our own home. They asked me to do a report but instead of sending it in they had me give it to them to send in. I felt pressured that I had to give them a good report.
Description of Work: They were completely taking down the ceiling in half of the house. They also were taking down the drywall, one of our big walls that is the length of the house. They were replacing the drywall and painting it. They had to re-frame and replace one of the eye beams in the ceiling. They also took up the tile and the lament flooring and replaced it with stone tile.
We could not have asked for a better experience. Leroy helped us develop a design and he personally supervised every step of the process. We found everyone who worked on our project to be extremely professional. I would give this company the highest recommendation for landscaping projects large or small. A big thanks to Leroy for a a great, stress free job.
Description of Work: We contracted to do the following: Remove existing sidewalk from front of house, remove turf, sprinklers, current landscape and brick wall. The area was graded for landscape. Convert existing irrigation system to automated drip system Install colored concrete walk and pavers Install one berm plant material install crusher rock.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$7,500
julia H.
03/2011
1.0
concrete repair, decks, house painters, gutter repair, landscaping, lawn service
+ 4 more
Pictures speak louder than words, there is one for each issue in this rating. Tom Brasby collected 50% up front, cashed the check, did not start for five weeks. From the date I gave Brasby that first $8,700.00 in August, it took them almost 11 weeks to finish in November. He told me it would take ?approximately? two weeks. He?s been paid in full, and still has not provided product color/information that I requested for future maintenance of the gate and wall....not even an empty can. He billed me for ?synthetic stucco? but used latex paint. I requested the cost difference in the two materials, which he would not provide. An excerpt from his response to my request?."Also, elastomeric paint costs about the same per gallon, but coverage per gallon is much lower, resulting in a higher cost per square foot. Our bid price will not go up since it is latex paint, not elastomeric." Since two walls were demolished as part of the project, all bidders were offered opportunity to take wall samples before submitting proposals. Brasby declined to take a sample, but spent a month telling me "he didn't know what the wall consisted of, so it took longer." Professionals take samples, and give an accurate bid. Brasby charged for work he didn't do, and never once provided unit cost differentials. By December the entire new wall was covered in efflorescence and started cracking, inside and out. In the spirit of cooperation, I allowed Brasby to wash the efflorescence. Five power and brush washes later, he left vinegar stains on the new concrete, chipped the stucco, and refused to show any respect for my privacy or my property, I had to call.Sandia Heights Security. He tested product on the outside of my wall when he didn?t even have permission to be here, AND brought a stranger onto my property. It is March of the following year, and I'd like to use my patio, so I?ve consulted with five other concrete/stucco contractors. Internet research supports the other five contractors? opinions that the concrete was not properly cured, and paint should not be applied to a concrete wall without primer. Further, you do not prime and paint without repairing cracks and chipping. I?ll pay the $1,650.00 cost to have this done right?not by Narrow Leaf. Brasby refuses to do it the right way. A bough in the wall is also shown in the pictures. I believe this contractor is making up for the $2,000.00 Comcast charge at my expense. His crew started the project by cutting through underground cable, right under the red flag that says ?Comcast? on it. Tom Brasby is a man of many excuses?.used the rain as an excuse, yet never once covered the wall to protect it from the rain. I've had granite installed, tile flooring, and new cabinets built since buying this house. Not one problem. Professionally, I've dealt with contractors for 25+ years....I can honestly say this is the worst contractor experience I've ever had, hands down. In response to the contractor's comments, Angie's List only provides for 10 pictures to be uploaded to the site. There was absolutely NO efflorescence on the existing walls and, yes, the back wall is in one of the pictures displayed (no efflorescence...the wall is 28 yrs. old). Every part of my rating is 100% accurate and this is a dishonest contractor. He did NOT "touch up" the stucco....he clearly tested product on the wall (it isn't even the same color), and the picture clearly shows that. No, I never met the perfect stranger that Tow Brasby allowed on my property. That is an outright lie. Tom Brasby refused to repair or touchup the stucco damage, which is the reason I hired someone else to properly finish the wall in the first place. Tom Brasby did NOT use latex paint to match the existing wall, he used latex paint and charged for synthetic stucco (I have a written invoice). Further, the contractor is absolutely incorrect that elastomeric paint or synthetic stucco would not match the existing walls. I've hired a competent contractor to re-finish the wall, which matches better than the latex paint used by Narrow Leaf. Yes, elastomeric paint and synthetic stucco are more expensive than latex paint. I got the price difference myself when Tom Brasby refused to provide the cost difference. Half of what this contractor states in his response to my rating is just straight up dishonest. I live in the house and the wall was never covered ONCE during the rain storms. In addition to being dishonest, Tom Brasby is the worst Project Manager I've ever worked with. It took him three trips to my house to fix one bubble drip. He can't manage his time or projects in the professional manner that other contractors I've worked with for years did with ease. Finally, I think members need to pay attention to his statement that "removal of the efflorescence was not covered under his warranty." He doesn't give written warranties unless you request it, so request it in writing. If that mess wasn't covered under his warranty....that must mean that he thinks the job he did is fine and he did me a favor when he came back to power wash the efflorescence (and damaged the wall in the process). That isn't a good guy....that is someone that is a poor manager and can't bid projects correctly.
Description of Work: Concrete patio expansion, removal of three trees and two small bushes, paint gate (by agreement, in exchange for the cost of existing wood fence removal/disposal by my neighbor and boulder relocation…Tom Brasby asked for the boulders), one-time yard cleanup, three new plants, bubble drip adjustments, wall demolition (2 walls), construction of a new wall, and finishing. I had bids from other contractors for tree removal, work on the bubble drip, and painting the gate. Brasby told me he would do all of it cheaper, so I went with that.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$17,710
Response from Narrow Leaf Inc
I’m very sorry you feel you had a bad experience with my firm, but your perspective of the project is quite different than mine. We sell jobs weeks in advance of the start date, we started your project the day the contract stated. We cash all half down check to buy materials for the job, this is customary. I provided the name of the stain used on your gate and I explained to use the product in the red can and where to obtain it. I left you with a can with paint still in it. We needed that can months later to reorder paint for your project and you retrieved it from your garage, remember? Rain is not an excuse but rather an uncontrollable element of working outside on concrete patios and masonry work. It poured and poured during this job. It held up the project for days waiting for good weather. We did indeed cover the wall with concrete blankets, and the concrete patio too. You complained that my men were running across your patio, implying they were up to no good, they were running to prevent a gust of wind from blowing the tarps away, you know well that we used tarps. We bid synthetic stucco for your project. During demolition it was determined that your existing stucco was painted over with latex paint. We needed to do the same to make the appearance match. You thought there should be a discount on the bill and state I didn’t give you a cost difference. I explained in person and then later in an email “we provided a bid to stucco your wall, not paint it. I changed this procedure so I could match the color better. Stucco doesn’t come in the color of your house. This added an extra expense to our organization and should have been billed for.” I however did not charge for the extra step. Elastomeric paint was not bid or used and has nothing to do with your job, you simply wanted to know if it cost more or less than latex. We do not take samples of walls and deface property to provide bids, none of the other contractors did either, this is not industry standard practice. We provide our bids and stand by them, you paid the original price, you were not wronged. You were never charged for any “work he didn’t do”. That is a dishonest statement. The effervescence on your wall months later was severe and unacceptable; it was not however warranty work or permanent. Your existing wall that we had nothing to do with also had it, we washed that off too. I notice you didn’t include those pictures. There was nothing wrong with our wall. I was glad to wash it off, the wall only looked bad for four days, I notice you include no picture after it was washed off, the wall looked great and you admitted it too. I’m a good contractor and offered to prime and paint the wall again at my cost. In an email I stated “I have constantly said I will take care of it and I will, I am committed to you and this wall and will see it through to completion.” I notified you in writing that “the Dunn Edwards rep has agreed to look at the wall with me”. You were notified and he was not a “stranger”. We did not “test” product on your wall, we made a few small stucco touch ups at your request that were not even necessary. You emailed and complained that “you applied several tan spots to the outside of my patio wall, just another level of disrespect”. In person you said “I defaced your property.” It is this same thinking that has led you to conclude that your stucco is “going to chip and fall off”. On Friday the 11th of Feb, I notified you in writing “I plan to apply the primer on Tuesday, weather permitting.” The day before I went to your house and notified you in person that we would be there the next day. I purchased the primer and paint (thank you for the paint can back). In the morning you had an email that stated “If you step foot on my property I’ll call the police and security, you didn’t let me know you were coming.” You are going to hire someone to fix a problem that does not exist, a preemptive move that is unfounded. All stucco develops minor hairline cracks, this is normal and not contractor error, or even a problem, your house has many more cracks, and wider too. The spots or stains on your concrete will just wash off, we both know this. The Comcast cable was not under the flag, but several feet to the side and only two inches under the ground. It was our responsibility and our insurance covered it. It has nothing to do with your wall, only mean spiritedness can make such a connection. When a client’s judgment is repeatedly all “F” and everyone else says all “A”, it makes you wonder about the report.
Tim F.
01/2011
5.0
landscaping, lawn service, tree service
+ 1 more
This is a really good company. The man who owns the company is really an expert; he is great with plants and trees. He did a good job with removing trees for us and he is really in to helping the customers so he?ll bring books to help you figure out what plants you want. We went to the wholesale area and picked out plants with him. He has come to replace items within the landscape and to add on. He isn?t cheap but I wasn?t looking for cheap.
Description of Work: Narrow Leaf did landscaping in both our front and back yard.
Tom met with us to plan the project and provided invaluable input. Once the job started, Tom was invariably prompt and responsive to inquiries and changes we made as the work progressed. His crew was professional and kept the work site neat and clean. Prompt follow-up was provided for minor call-backs. We are extremely pleased with both the service and the results.
Description of Work: irrigation, turf, paving, gravel, raised beds (stuccoed)
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$7,000
Bart D.
08/2010
5.0
landscaping, pavers, gravel
+ 0 more
We chose Narrow Leaf because of the reviews here on Angie's List and because we liked their proposed design best. Their design gave us a lot more for our budget than we would have received with a competing company's proposal. Communication before the job started was a bit spotty and there was some initial confusion about some small changes that we had requested long before work began, but Tom sat down with us and got it straightened out without any fuss. I had a couple of long conversations with a worker apart from any supervisor. This company doesn't seem to stoop to practices like paying their guys "under the table", as is fairly common in the landscaping industry. Their workers are relatively long-term hires, not day laborers that they picked up for the job earlier that morning. We found all of their workers to be very professional and friendly. They came in right on budget. We're very happy with the results, and plan to use them again for future landscaping projects.
Description of Work: New backyard: removal of existing concrete, new plants and beds (including a very well-built raised bed), gravel path.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$6,000
David H.
07/2010
1.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
I called and spoke to Thomas the owner. He asked me to take a picture of the wall and email it to him. He said he would get back to me with an estimate. I emailed the picture. I never heard back. I called him back to see if he received the email. Again, I never heard back. Not a professional way to handle a potential customer.
Description of Work: I was inquiring about prices for a very minor cinder block wall repair.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
Response from Narrow Leaf Inc
Sir, your project consisted of replacing seven cinder blocks. This is not a good match for our company, it is smaller than what we do. I did however overlook getting back with you to let you know and for this I apologize, my bad.
Martha B.
07/2010
5.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
I had a landscaping plan from an independent consultant. Of the three landscape contractors I interviewed to implement the plan, Tom Brasby of Narrow Leaf stood out. All three estimates were in same price range, but only Tom made suggestions to improve the existing plan. His idea to make the new patio free-form rather than rectangular and to echo that free form shape in three smaller flower beds transformed my "nice" plan into a truly "exciting" one. Tom was responsive to my calls and questions throughout the project. The Narrow Leaf crews were courteous, competent, and always cleaned up when they were done for the day. In sum, working with Narrow Leaf was a very positive experience. I am thrilled with the results and would highly recommend the company.
Description of Work: Complete landscaping of dirt back yard included: demolition of old patio and installation of new one (colored stamped concrete); framing raised vegetable garden (two tiers with path between); installation of trellises on cinder block wall; creating perennial flower garden area bordered by large rocks; creating three smaller free-form flower beds; plant installation. Rock work included: swale next to house; landscape gravel in some areas; crusher fines in some areas; two stepping stone paths. Irrigation work included: installing two irrigation zones; installing water main line from front to back yard
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$17,000
Ada P.
06/2010
5.0
fountains
+ -1 more
Tom and the Narrow Leaf crew are top notch. They arrived as scheduled and worked their tails off to complete this job in about 2 days. The result is a beautiful water feature that adds incredible ambiance and peace to my backyard. The crew was very neat and meticulous in their work. No doubt I will have Narrow Leaf back for additional projects in the future.
Description of Work: Removal of old pond and installation of a new water feature.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$5,000
Thomas P.
06/2010
5.0
landscaping, irrigation systems
+ 0 more
Went very well. Plan was followed precisely and was pleased with end result. Proprietor of the business (Tom Brasby) was very straight forward, honest, and easy to communicate with. Very professional.
Description of Work: Xeriscaped side and back of patio home, leveled back yard, installed new irrigation plumbing (valves, pipe, etc.)
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$8,000
Marie D.
06/2010
2.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
Not well as he never completed the paperwork.
Description of Work: He was way past due for the estimate and when he finally gave us one, it was a verbal estimate and have never received the paperwork to go along with the estimate. Very nice man and considerate but he seems to be overwhelmed with orders.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
5.0
Response from Narrow Leaf Inc
Hi, my name is Tom and I’m the owner of Narrow Leaf Inc. I take great pride in my customer care and responsiveness to my clients as is evident by our reports. As a service to my customers I provide FREE estimates and designs, many of our competitors charge for this service. You called and set up an appointment with me for landscaping. Upon meeting I discovered it was not for landscaping at all but for carpentry work. The project entailed building a low partition wall with a counter top under a carport, installing a doggy door, hanging some decorative lattice work, build and install two gates, painting and staining, enclosing another carport and turning it into a garage. It also involved installing windows, a garage door, roof vent etc... We are happy to take on this type of work, we have carpenters as well as landscapers, and you and your husband were very nice, and we are able to do the work and are also licensed for it so I said yes to bid on the project, it was a nice job. A project like this takes some time and effort to research and provide an accurate bid. It was a little more involved since you are in a wheel chair. You called several times irritated that I had not submitted the bid yet and I assured you that I was working on it.........and I was. I explained that it takes some time to get it done and I’d notify you when it was ready. I was never “way past due” for my submission, some clients require a week or more to be able to present if the job is involved. After all your phone calls you missed your presentation appointment with me!!! I did meet and present with your husband at the house and submitted a bid IN WRITING, NOT VERBAL, that he read completely. He stated that it looked reasonable but that there were no funds for the project, he needed to sell a home first. At this point I realized you were just curious what a job like this would cost and that I was being used. I cannot understand your impatience with me when you were not in a position to contract the job anyway. I returned your calls, met with you for an hour and a half and suggested valuable ideas and design elements, drove around the neighborhood with your husband looking at similar projects, spent hours researching and bidding the job, submitted my detailed and FREE bid .....and you have the gall to submit here and rate me with an “F"..........are you kidding me!!!!! And you didn’t even have funds set aside for the job.......you’ve got to be kidding! I spent hours on your behalf in good faith in your intentions. This is why some of my competitors charge for bids to weed out this type of project that just wastes our time. You have not rated our organization accurately or fairly. Everything I did for you I did for FREE and your “ F” rating should stand for ” free.” I'm hopping mad because your assessment is not deserved. I'm sorry, but a lack of reasonable patience on your part does not constitute incompetence on my part. I wish the both of you the best on your endeavor, but I’m very disappointed that you have tried to hurt my company in response to my efforts on your behalf. I operate a very respected business and have many customers who are appreciative of my labors......I will work for them! Good Day!
samuel K.
05/2010
5.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
They did a great job! They did everything they said they would do and kept on time and on budget. I had several bids, and their price was more than competitive.
Description of Work: They designed a whole landscaping project for me.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$30,000
Michael S.
04/2010
5.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
He was punctual, respectful, instructive, and quite pleasant. Narrow Leaf was one of the companies we called out for an estimate. Since our landscaping had several different pieces to the overall job, he provided a very detailed line item bid so it was clear where the estimates were being applied. We went with another company because price was our largest criteria, however I would call Narrow Leaf again for estimates on future jobs.
Description of Work: Estimate provided: retaining wall, soil prep/grading, sod install, edging, sprinkler and drip installation. 50'x70' area coverage. Estimated ~$10K after tax.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Michael D.
03/2010
5.0
landscaping, tree service
+ 0 more
Showed up on time, performed all work to specification for what I consider a very fair price. I didn't know anybody took their trade this seriously anymore. Pleasant surprise!
Description of Work: General yard cleanup and trimming, shrub removal.
Tom was very easy to work with...prompt for appointments, responsive to my desires, and good at coming up with alternative ways of doing things. Oscar, our foreman, was a great person and capable worker. When something wasn't done quite right, they cheerfully re-did it. All in all, very pleased with the company and would use them again.
Description of Work: Re-did irrigation systems in backyard, raised cinder-block fence, created flagstone patio,
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
4.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$4,700
Jim L.
11/2009
5.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
I was working with many of their people including their co-owner, Tom. I was impressed with his professionalism, his punctuality and his overall professional demeanor, that also goes for his crews that he had come out on this job. They were all very competent, courteous, reliable and hardworking.
Description of Work: I used Narrow Leaf Inc for landscaping.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Paul H.
10/2009
5.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
Tom was very responsive to our desires. A good listener and very creative about how to do things. When we agreed upon some work his crew was very polite, hard-working, and prompt. We are very pleased with the outcome of their work and look forward to having them out again in the Spring for some more work.
Description of Work: We needed a pond pump repaired and wanted to explore some ideas about small landscaping projects in our back yard.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,000
Sidney K.
10/2009
5.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
They were great. I will use them again. Everything was great about them. They were professional. I have called them to do some other work again.
Description of Work: Narrow Leaf Inc did a bunch of drip irrigation for us. They also re-landscaped our patio.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$2,000
Stephanie N.
09/2009
5.0
landscaping, hardscaping
+ 0 more
We started from plans for our landscaping from a landscape architect. Tom worked with us to help realize the plans, and in the process he made many valuable suggestions on improvements and on cost saving measures (by having us do manual labor when appropriate). We actually had to leave town for a month before the work got started, but it was no problem. We paid half up front before we left and the work started two days after we returned. The crews that were sent over were helpful, proficient, and courteous. We plan to do the back yard next summer, and we plan to hire Narrow Leaf again.
Description of Work: Narrow Leaf xeriscaped the front yard, did the plants and irrigation system, put in a patio of paver stones, and built a pergola in the back yard.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$8,000
Bruce B.
10/2008
5.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
We highly recommend Narrow Leaf. We could not be more pleased with our landscaping. Tom B. developed a very nice plan for our yard. He listened to our requests and suggestions and explained the reasons why, if he recommended something different. Tom kept to his schedule and Oscar and his crew kept the yard clean and neat at all times. When work was underway, the few small issues I had were resolved promptly. When we started this project, we interviewed a number of contractors, from very small to large. Our experiences (one guy showed up 10 hours late for an estimate and others told us they couldn't t do the job after stringing us along for months), made us wary of any contractor. Contrary to these, every single person at Narrow Leaf, from start to finish, was professional, knowledgeable and courteous. Our job was large and complicated. It included a drip irrigation system, low voltage lighting, a water feature, flagstone, concrete, tons of gravel and decorative rock, landscaping boulders, bancos (built-in seating), sod, a perennial bed, garden area with rock border, extension of standard voltage to a shed, crusher fine paths, plus numerous plants and trees. The prices were fair, especially given the quality of the work; our other estimates were comparable. Even after our final payment, Tom has remained available for advice and minor consultation. In short, we could not be more pleased with the high quality and conscientious attention to detail shown by Tom and the Narrow Leaf crew.
Description of Work: Our job was large and complicated. It included a drip irrigation system, low voltage lighting, a water feature, flagstone, concrete, tons of gravel and decorative rock, landscaping boulders, bancos (built-in seating), sod, a perennial bed, garden area with rock border, extension of standard voltage to a shed, crusher fine paths, plus numerous plants and trees.
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.
*Contact business to see additional licenses.
Service Categories
Decks and Porches,
Fencing,
Finished Carpentry and Woodworking,
Patios,
Exterior Painting,
Unfinished Carpentry,
Interior Painting,
Handyman Services,
Fencing Driveway Gates,
Doors,
Cabinet Refacing and Refinishing,
Furniture - Custom Made
FAQ
Narrow Leaf Inc is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.
Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Narrow Leaf Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check,Discover,MasterCard,Visa