We are selective in hiring our installers, technicians and office staff to ensure that every member of our team is qualified to serve customers in need of our unparalleled service. We are proud members of Northville, Plymouth and Livonia, Michigan Chambers of Commerce for many years. Also, very proud to have partnered with Trane and Lowes to provide service and installation to their customers. This commitment to our customers has led to Colonial Heating and Cooling winning the 2011 Trane Top Dealer Award! The Trane SOAR award is a prestigious award given to only one Trane dealership each year. The S.O.A.R stands for Success Over All Resistance. Trane believes Colonial Heating and Cooling soars above the rest when it comes to providing exceptional customer service and dedication to the community.
Business highlights
52 years of trusted experience
Family Owned & Operated
Emergency Services Offered
Eco Friendly
Services we offer
Furnaces, Boilers, Air Conditioners, Humidifier, Air Cleaner, Hot Water Tank replacement/installation
.Buyer Beware!!!! This company is a total scam. I purchased the special furnace tuneup/cleaning deal for $59. All he did was attached a CO meter to the furnace and he opened the furnace front and looked inside. He went out to his truck and brought in his camera. Told me what I was seeing was the furnace deteriating. Did not offically clean it, except to take my vacuum and clean a few particles laying in the front. He did not clean it, because he said it was too old and needed to be replaced right away. He gave me his 20 minute message on a new furnace and what it would cost. He scared me so badly, I went out and bought another CO Monitor. Called another company (who is on Angie's list) and he said that he did not see anything that Colonial was reporting. He said that the furnace really needed to be cleaned and also that I did not have any CO in the air. The other company said that there was no immediate danger to purchase a new furnace. But because my furnace is aging and my furnace is rated a 60/40, I may want to consider a newer furnace because of the lost heat going up my chimney. Angie's list customers, avoid Colonial Heating and Cooling!
Description of Work: He came in took one look at the furnace and told me that it looked like it would have to be replaced. Used a CO detector and showed that it had a reading of a 4. Went out to his truck and got a camera and showed me that what I was seeing was the furnace was deteriating and that the furnace was in such bad condition that it needed to be replaced instead of cleaned. I said to him, "so you are not going to clean my furnac?." He said for me to get my vacuum and he would vacuum the particles that were laying in the front of the furnace. I could have done that! Then he gave me a 20 minute message on a new furnace and the deal he would give me. I am a women living by myself and he totally SCAMMED ME!!!!! I went out and bought another CO Detector which did not show anything, then proceeded to call another company on Angie's List. The other company said that they did not see or detect what the other company was seeing or detecting. He said that his CO Detector is used by the fire departments and Consumers Power. He also told me that the CO Detector should be turned on outside first BEFORE entering the house to get an accurate reading. This guy that scammed me did not do that.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$59
Response from Colonial Heating & Cooling
I am very sorry for the situation you have encountered with our company. We also have terminated the position of the service technician that was at your home. Thank you for bringing this to our attention because we pride ourselves on being an honest and thorough company as we have been in business for over 20 years with thousands of loyal customers. We are usually the company that people call out for the 2nd opinion, although the new technician that was at your home did not portray our company as we would have liked. If we can help you in any way in the future please feel free to contact us
Bobbie F.
02/2012
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Dan, the service man, was on time (within the window). He focused on what he saw on the camera and the carbon monoxide reading. He did nothing else. When asked to clean the furnace he argued stating, "you can't tell me what to do." Twice he argued the same and made the same statement...you can't tell me what to do. Bad serviceman.
Description of Work: Should have done 18 point check on the furnace but did on 2-3 checks. Should have done cleaning but did not bring anything (hand vac, cloth, etc) with which to clean. Dan, the service man, asked me for my vacuum, rags, etc.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0
$59
Response from Colonial Heating & Cooling
I am very sorry for the situation you have encountered with our company. We also have terminated the position of the service technician that was at your home. Thank you for bringing this to our attention because we pride ourselves on being an honest and thorough company as we have been in business for over 20 years with thousands of loyal customers. We are usually the company that people call out for the 2nd opinion, although the new technician that was at your home did not portray our company as we would have liked. If we can help you in any way in the future please feel free to contact us. Also, a refund was issued by Angies List for you.
Amy R.
01/2012
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
The contractor came in, didnt introduce himself, didn't put shoe booties on. He went straight to the basement. He looked only at the furnace because he didn't clean it, like he was supposed to or do a tune-up. He didnt have a vaccum or even a flashlight with him. OVERALL- He did nothing what so ever. All he did was looked at the furnace and wrote notes. This was a total waste of my money and time. I contacted the company later and they were extremely rude and said I was lying about no work being done. They hang up the phone on you and make false app times. They don't do anything for you except wanting to get that scamming tech out to your house again. They said, he was fired but I'm sure he wasn't as I had just talked to him on the phone. I called angie to get my money back and file with the BBB. It should be known about this crap company that doesn't have a concern when you contact them to get things straight.
Description of Work: nothing
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$59
Response from Colonial Heating & Cooling
I am very sorry for the situation you have encountered with our company. We also have terminated the position of the service technician that was at your home. Thank you for bringing this to our attention because we pride ourselves on being an honest and thorough company as we have been in business for over 20 years with thousands of loyal customers. We are usually the company that people call out for the 2nd opinion, although the new technician that was at your home did not portray our company as we would have liked. If we can help you in any way in the future please feel free to contact us.
Patricia W.
01/2012
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
I purchased the special furnace tuneup/cleaning deal for $59. The technician wrote on his paperwork that he performed an 18 point check but all he did was attach a CO meter to the furnace and he opened the furnace front and looked inside. Then he spent 30 minutes telling me I needed a new furnace and air conditioner and he would give me a great deal on both. When he got up to leave I asked him if he was going to clean the furnace and he looked at me surprised. Then he asked me if I have an old rag he could borrow and he brushed some dust from the front and gave me back the rag. Then he wrote up his paperwork and took my check and left (still talking about giving me a great deal on a new furnace and air conditioner). And he even wrote a message on the paperwork about the great deal he was offering me. Obviously the special deal offered Angie's List members on a furnace tuneup/cleaning for $59 was a scam. It was just a way to get into my home and make me pay for a 30 minute sales pitch for a new furnace and air conditioner. My advice to other Angies List members is to avoid this company!!
Description of Work: I purchased the special furnace tuneup/cleaning deal for $59. The technician wrote on his paperwork that he performed an 18 point check but all he did was attach a CO meter to the furnace and he opened the furnace front and looked inside. Then he spent 30 minutes telling me I needed a new furnace and air conditioner and he would give me a great deal on both. When he got up to leave I asked him if he was going to clean the furnace and he looked at me surprised. Then he asked me if I have an old rag he could borrow and he brushed some dust from the front and gave me back the rag. Then he wrote up his paperwork and took my check and left (still talking about giving me a great deal on a new furnace and air conditioner). And he even wrote a message on the paperwork about the great deal he was offering me. Obviously the special deal offered Angie's List members on a furnace tuneup/cleaning for $59 was a scam. It was just a way to get into my home and make me pay for a 30 minute sales pitch for a new furnace and air conditioner. My advice to other Angies List members is to avoid this company!!
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$59
Response from Colonial Heating & Cooling
I am very sorry for the situation you have encountered with our company. We also have terminated the position of the service technician that was at your home. Thank you for bringing this to our attention because we pride ourselves on being an honest and thorough company as we have been in business for over 20 years with thousands of loyal customers. We are usually the company that people call out for the 2nd opinion, although the new technician that was at your home did not portray our company as we would have liked. If we can help you in any way in the future please feel free to contact us.
Sandra-Lee P.
01/2012
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
As I said before, there was no tuning or cleaning done. It was a scam to do work that wasn't needed.
Description of Work: I purchased the cleaning/tuning for $59.00. The service man was on-time and I watched him the entire time he was there. He did not do any tune-up and he did not do any cleaning. He didn't even pull the air filters to see if they were dirty. He told me I needed duct cleaning, new blower motor and a new humidifer for over $1000. What I needed was the 2nd filter replaced because it was in the hall behind a grate in the hallway and I didn't even know one was there, so it was all clogged. I also need a new selonoid on the humidifier. I feel I was taken advantage of because I'm a woman, and got nothing for the $59.00 In a follow-up phone call I told them this, and all they said was they were sorry. AVOID this Company!
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0
$59
Response from Colonial Heating & Cooling
I am very sorry for the situation you have encountered with our company. We also have terminated the position of the service technician that was at your home. Thank you for bringing this to our attention because we pride ourselves on being an honest and thorough company as we have been in business for over 20 years with thousands of loyal customers. We are usually the company that people call out for the 2nd opinion, although the new technician that was at your home did not portray our company as we would have liked. If we can help you in any way in the future please feel free to contact us.
Barbara A. S.
01/2012
2.0
air duct cleaning, heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ 0 more
When they looked at my furnace, they told me about a kinds of repairs and work that needed to be done with it and that the cost would be almost ten times more than what the original Big Deal was. I felt pressured to give them the okay to do the job, but I said and quot;noand quot; and the next day, I had another company come out and take a look, and they told me that none of the work Colonial described needed to be done. I didn't appreciate being lied to and pressured into hiring this company to do work that wasn't necessary and would have cost me a lot of money.
Description of Work: I bought a Big Deal and they came out to fulfil it.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
2.0
$59
Response from Colonial Heating & Cooling
We here at Colonial are truly sorry for your experience. We have performed over 100 tune ups for Angie's List customers and 90% of them only needed a tune-up which allows your equipment to perform at its peak, although, in some instances repairs are also necessary to achieve this peak performance. Repairs are not required although it would be doing you a disservice if we didn't tell you about them. If you have any further questions feel free to contact us.
ann H.
01/2012
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Timely, professional, and courteous.
Description of Work: The representative checked and cleaned my furnace. I sometimes have a clapping noise in the furnace but it didn't sound while the representative was here, approximately 45 minutes,
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$99
Randall H.
01/2012
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
The visit went well. We were given an arrival time of between 9-1, and he arrived before 10. He got to work right away, and he was finished with the tune up within an hour. He was very professional, and was very nice to our new puppy as well.
Description of Work: I used one of Angie's List's "Big Deals" to have a technician come out and perform a furnace tune-up. The technician had me turn the heat up, and we went down in to the basement, where he proceeded to set up his CO monitor, and test a variety of things within the furnace unit. He noted that there was a large amount of dust, which he vacuumed when I provided him with my shop-vac. Essentially, through all his testing he determined that the furnace was in good shape, but that the air ducts needed to be cleaned.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$59
Jeffrey C.
01/2012
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
After changing the air filter the technician tried to sell us repairs that were not required. The technician told us that the humidifier was broken and needed replacement and that the furnace needed additional repairs not covered by the cleaning and tune-up. We contacted another HVAC professional and he that indicated that a tune-up was not provided, the furnace was not properly cleaned and a humidifier and additional repair was not necessary. Beware of this organization.
Description of Work: Colonial Heating was to perform a tune-up and cleaning of the furnace. The tune-up and cleaning consisted of changing the air filters, the technician did not clean the furnace igniters or perform a carbon monoxide test or any other "tune-up". Paying $59 to change a filter seems very expensive.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
2.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0
$59
Response from Colonial Heating & Cooling
I am very sorry about the situation regarding your tune-up. The employee that performed your furnace tune up has gotten many referrals and compliments on his honesty and work, which makes it hard to understand that all he did was change the filter(a new filter changing is actually not included in our tune-up). We have talked with him and he has stated that he performed an 18 point tune up which includes, cleaning the ignitor, lubricating belts, etc..... All I can say is that I am truly sorry for what you have experienced and we will continue to try and do our best to please all of our customers.
Daniel T.
01/2012
4.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Did not arrive as scheduled. He came the next day.
Description of Work: furnace tuneup
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$60
Eric S.
12/2011
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning
+ 0 more
They arrived on time and were clearly knowledgeable in what needed to occur in order to clean the air ducts. High degree of professionalism and i would recommend using the company in the future.
Description of Work: Air Duct cleaning.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$300
Marilou R.
12/2011
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
I called twice and left messages. They never called me back. I finally got ahold of someone and made an appointment for the 13th and they did not show up. I called them back and told them what happened, we made another appointment, and they said they would be here sometime between 1 and 5. I called them around 4 and they said someone would be out, but no one ever showed up. I got a refund for the deal.
Description of Work: I purchased a Big Deal from this company.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
Response from Colonial Heating & Cooling
We have a full staff of receptionists and appointment setters that work 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, therefore I am not sure why you would have left a message to schedule an appointment. Also, I am sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced. With that being said we are very sorry that you had this experience and will continue to work hard to please all of our customers. If you have any other concerns feel free to contact us.
Edward S.
11/2011
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Well. Install was delayed due to a later than planned arrival, but the work was finished on the same day with little disruption. The only real issue is that, because of the late start, they did not have enough time to clean the air vents as planned. They adjusted the invoice accordingly and left it up to us reschedule, which was fair.
Description of Work: New high-efficiency Trane furnace, air cleaner, humidifier replacement of air-dryer vents
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$5,800
C B.
05/2011
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
After an estimate was made, two furnace repairmen came that same afternoon and finished the project in less than 2 hours.
Description of Work: The furnace/AC pump was coming on every 5 seconds and making a lot of noise. Repairman determined that the pump was installed incorrectly by original installers in 2006-7. He devised a way of correcting the problem with a new, bigger pump at an angle that would drain properly. He changed the a/c pipe to drain from the bottom, out through the crawl space to the outside wall.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$389
Timothy F.
04/2011
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
I waited for over a week for an estimate while my family and I had no heat. I didn't go with the company because of these unprofessionalism and lack of concern for my business. Additionally, there price was triple that of my other two quotes for the same work and equipment.
Description of Work: My boiler stopped working so I ad no heat in my home. I requested a quote for a new boiler and duct work to be put in for A/C.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
Response from Colonial Heating & Cooling
When we visited this customer their heat was still functional, there was a water leak but the home was still being heated by the existing boiler. If it went out subsequent and during the interim period between our visit and when we submitted the quote that was never conveyed to us by this customer. We have a proven track record of customer service particularly emergency service that is exemplary. In regards to the cost of the quote, I find it very difficult to believe that our quote was 300% more than a competitor. It is possible of course that it was not the least expensive quote if the customer had several however, if our quote for the boiler was 300% more than this person had their boiler installed for barely over $1000.00 a remarkably low figure.
Gregory J.
04/2011
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
It went very well. Steve was precisely on time. He took his time and did a thorough job. I watched him out of curiosity and he explained everything he did. He also took the time to explain to me how the furnace worked and how to diagnose common breakdowns if they occur. We have never had the furnace serviced in the 3 winters years we have lived in the house. I think it was about time. The next month our bill was over $40 cheaper. Thanks Colonial.
Description of Work: Steve, one of their techs, came and cleaned and inspected my furnace.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$70
John D.
02/2011
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
My experience with Colonial Heating and Cooling was great. I had bought the Angie's List "Big Deal" from them a day prior. The "Big Deal" was half off a furnace tune-up. Oddly enough the furnace stopped working the same day I bought that. After trying to fix it myself, I called another company. I wasn't thinking, probably should have called Colonial first, but the other company was open late and also had a high rating on Angie's List. The next day, while waiting for the second company, Colonial called to schedule my tune-up appointment. On the call I mentioned that I was waiting for another company, but losing hope that they would show in the morning. Colonial said to call them if the other company did not show. Sure enough the second company gave me the run around on when their technician would be there so I told them to forget it and called Colonial. Colonial was happy to take my call, called back in 5 minutes to say they would have a technician there within the hour. They also mentioned that I could use my "Big Deal" credit towards this service call if I wanted to. I ended up choosing to save the credit for a full tune-up, but it was refreshing to hear a company suggest paying them less overall, instead of more. Mitch showed up on time, found the problem, replaced the part, cleaned the flame sensor, and was great about answering my questions concerning the furnace. He also recommended that the draft fan be replaced, and said he would call the next day with when they could get the part, the cost, and to schedule an appointment to come back out to replace the draft fan. The two people I talked to on the phone, and Mitch the technician were very courtesy, friendly, and helped answer my questions.
Description of Work: Furnance would not light so they checked it out, found a bad ignitor and replaced that. Determined the flame sensor was dirty and cleaned it. This got the furnace working. They also identified that the draft fan needs replacing, but did not replace at during this visit.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$169
LYNN R.
01/2011
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
I spoke with a person on 12-31-10 by the name of "Chad" who called me at 10:30 p.m. Chad indicated he would be at my house on Sunday, January 2, 2011 at 2 p.m. for an estimate on a new furnace. Chad NOR anyone from Colonial Heating and Cooling showed up OR called as a courtesy to cancel the appointment. They inconvenienced me and my family. Chad and I spoke on Monday, January 3, 2011 (I called him, they did not even call me!) and Chad convinced me to let his company come out that evening, Monday, January 3, 2011 at 6 p.m. NOBODY showed up again! That's TWICE this company stood up a potential customer. I spoke with Chad and his attitude had a LOT to be desired. He could have cared less that his company inconvenienced a customer two times now, causing her to lose money from her pocket. Chad was argumentative, sarcastic and demeaning on the phone after standing up a customer TWICE now. I would STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY.
Description of Work: I spoke with a person on 12-31-10 by the name of "Chad" who called me at 10:30 p.m. Chad indicated he would be at my house on Sunday, January 2, 2011 at 2 p.m. for an estimate on a new furnace. Chad NOR anyone from Colonial Heating and Cooling showed up OR called as a courtesy to cancel the appointment. They inconvenienced me and my family. Chad and I spoke on Monday, January 3, 2011 (I called him, they did not even call me!) and Chad convinced me to let his company come out that evening, Monday, January 3, 2011 at 6 p.m. NOBODY showed up again! That's TWICE this company stood up a potential customer. I spoke with Chad and his attitude had a LOT to be desired. He could have cared less that his company inconvenienced a customer two times now, causing her to lose money from her pocket. Chad was argumentative, sarcastic and demeaning on the phone after standing up a customer TWICE now. I would STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
Response from Colonial Heating & Cooling
The first time speaking to the member she did not specify that she wanted us to come out. She was questioning wether we could beat somebody elses unreal amount. So we assumed she did not want us to come due to the fact that we could not beat the price she was questioning. When she called back we set her up for an estimate the next day, that unfortunately we had to cancel due to an emergency no heat job that had come in. When explained to the member she did not care of the situation. We apologized for the inconvenience and tried to continue with quoting the job but were unable to do so. The last thing we want to do is lose a potential customer but certain situations are unavoidable.
Brian B.
12/2010
4.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Were professional and did the work in a timely manner. Their phone responsiveness needs some work. I waited 6 hours for a tech to call and then I had to call back again . It still ended up being another hour and a half before someone called me back, to let me know when the repair person would be coming.
Description of Work: replace the gas control valve on furnace
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
4.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$400
Inessa F.
11/2010
3.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
The sales person was professional and seem to be trust worthy and this was one of the reasons why I went with this company besides the good reviews on google. The installation was performed on time and initially there seems to be no major issues. Only one small one (Insulation for cables of thermostat was damaged). After 2 months the pipes of the AC started to make a whooshing noise. Since then it become cold before the service technician hat time to come, the issue could not be reproduced and I will have to wait until next year to have this issue addressed. From looking at the installation, the technician agreed that the refrigerant supply and return pipes should have been tight together and not just loosely placed inside the ceiling. After it become colder and the heating was used more often, it became more apparent that the whole house humidifier which was also installed is not working correctly. From looking at the installation manual and seeing how they have installed the outside thermostat, it looks like it is not at the required position (Outside or not more then 3 feet from the outside wall, mine is direct at the furnace, about 16 feet from outside wall) and therefore does not control the humidity correctly. One other installation issue is that there is no thigh seal around the exhaust and intake PVC pipe, which means I have could air coming in there. The service call for both issues is pending. Over all just minor but very annoying things which should not happen.
Description of Work: New Trane high efficiency furnace and AC installed.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
4.0
$6,000
Response from Colonial Heating & Cooling
11/11/10 We have moved the sensor wire, the sealant has also been done and the whooshing noise is not able to be duplicated or tested on the AC until the summer months. We will give you a call in the spring so we can work on the whooshing sound coming from the A.C. We here at Colonial Heating and Cooling want you to be satisfied with our job and if anything else arises please give us a call so we can take care of it in a timely manner. Thank you
Michele G.
08/2010
3.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
We initially contacted Colonial when our 2 A/C units had both failed during the heat of the summer. They came out about 1 week after the initial call. One of the units had frozen up, and repairs on that unit were deferred until the next day. Repairs included recharging the units. A couple of weeks later, the larger unit was again freezing up. The unit was turned off to defrost, and the call resulted in same day service. This time, we were told that the blower motor on the furnace was not working effectively and needed to be replaced. The parts had to be ordered, so the repair was done the next day. About 1 week later, we discovered water on the basement floor in the furnace area and traced it to the furnace unit that had just been repaired. The call request received next day attention, but the individual on the phone was dubious that the problem could be related to previous service. I stated that it seemed too much of a coincidence that three separate things could fail on the same A/C unit within a few weeks. The service call found gel within the condensate system that was causing backpressure and the overflow of the condensate. Each service call includes a $69 "travel fee" to cover the initial service. Instead of investigating the system as a whole and insuring that everything that was causing an issue was taken care of, it appears that the most evident problem was addressed on each visit -- therefore allowing the next issue to surface later. In addition the Angie's List site indicates that there is $25 coupon/discount for appointments made through Angie's List. This discount was mentioned at the time of the appointment. However, though it was requested on the first visit, it was never applied. A partial payment was requested at visit 1A, and I asked that the service rep confirm the discount before returning the next day to repair the second unit. I had to leave my daughter in charge for visit 1B, and the discount was not applied to the 2nd day's charges. All in all, I am disappointed with the service from Colonial. Instead of making sure all issues were taken care of and taken care of properly, things were done in a piecemeal fashion -- requiring 3 visits and additional fees. In addition, the discount advertised on Angie's List has never been applied.
Description of Work: Three separate service visits for initially an inoperable A/C unit and finally a condensate system that was leaking water all over the basement. 1. Replacement of Freon 2. Replacement of Blower Motor 3. Unclogging of condensate system to prevent pressure build-up and overflow
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
4.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
2.0
$800
Response from Colonial Heating & Cooling
We have looked over the comment and reviewed our records. The initial call to our company was on 7/16 and the technician stated one of the units was frozen and had to be looked at on another date when the unit was thawed out. The 2nd unit had a burnt and the technician replaced it. System was working at peak performance when checked. Technician returned on 7/20 to check on the frozen unit and it was low on freon so freon was added. On 8/20 (one month later) the second call was placed and the technician found a bad furnace blower motor. On 8/20 the new blower motor was installed. On 8/26 the third call was placed and the technician found water on the floor. The technician stated the secondary drain line was plugged due to lack of yearly maintenance on the equipment. The technician removed the water and cleaned out the drain lines. The equipment was running in good order upon leaving home. The last charge was for $109.00 and the customer never paid for the service call. I have looked over the billing history and the customer is right that the Angies list discount wasn't deducted and we are truly sorry for the inconvenience although at this point the customer hasn't paid for the last visit anyway, so the end result is that the Angies list discount was deducted because the bill was never paid. The calls placed were 30 days from eachother and the problems were different from initial calls placed and we know this can be frustrating to have to be home on 3 different occasions for seemingly the same problems although they were all different. If there is anything we can do to explain this better feel free to contact us @734-455-6500. We have tried to contact the customer 2 times and were told they were too busy to talk and they would call us back. Colonial is open 365 days a year and we would be happy to answer any questions regarding this report.
DAVID T.
04/2010
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
I was very happy with them in all regards. I didn't put it online yet because I was giving the furnace time to see how it worked through the winter. The installation was a work of art. They were quick. They cleaned up everything as advertised. They had a great crew and a great owner that came to the house. They weren't the cheapest. I think the guy's name was Jeremy or Jason. They were very professional and very concise. The price was fair. It was higher than everybody else's, but I was willing to spend it. The quality was very high.
Description of Work: Colonial Heating & Cooling installed a new furnace in October 2009.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$7,000
Barbara M.
09/2009
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
I was impressed with the heating and A/C company when they came out and gave an estimate. They were quite thorough and noticed a few things that the other people who came out didn't notice. They did a really nice job when they did the installation. They lay down drop cloths that they walked onto to get to the basement and wore booties. They cleaned up after themselves. They were on the ball park where the price was concerned. I got three bids and they were all pretty much the same.
Description of Work: Colonial Heating & Cooling put in a new furnace and air-conditioner in June.
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.
*Contact business to see additional licenses.
Service Categories
Heating and Air Conditioning
FAQ
Colonial Heating & Cooling is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.
Sunday: 7:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday: 7:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday: 7:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday: 7:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday: 7:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Colonial Heating & Cooling accepts the following forms of payment: American Express,Check,Discover,MasterCard,Visa
Colonial Heating & Cooling offers the following services: Furnaces, Boilers, Air Conditioners, Humidifier, Air Cleaner, Hot Water Tank replacement/installation