City Renovations & Remodeling LLC

Handyman Services, Electrical, Drywall,

About us

City Renovations & Remodeling, LLC, a Professional Design Build company, with one simple concept in mind, “We Create Your Thoughts”. Michael Wiggs, founder and CEO, believes in providing customers with a one of a kind design and remodeling experience. This approach gives our customers the opportunity to custom design their own masterpiece and watch as CITY makes their dreams a reality. City Renovations & Remodeling, LLC is a licensed, bonded, and insured company serving the DC metropolitan area for over 18 years. We offer kitchen renovations and remodeling, bathroom renovations and remodeling, additions, decks, finished basements, driveways and much more. CITY offers quality home improvement projects using quality materials backed by a five-year warranty in most cases. Call us today at 1-888-630-CITY (2489) to see what we can do for you. Or Email us at city@cityrenovations.net

Business highlights

38 years of trusted experience
Veteran Owned & Operated

Services we offer

Renovations - Kitchen, Bathroom, & Whole House. Additions. Roof Raises. Handyman. Mold Remediation. Infrared Camera Inspection.

Services we don't offer

Medical Services.

Amenities

Senior Discount

5%



Accepted payment methods

American Express
Check
Discover
MasterCard
Visa


Photos of past projects

Reviews

4.5304 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
61%
4
13%
3
8%
2
6%
1
12%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.7
value
4.4
professionalism
4.7
responsiveness
4.6
punctuality
4.6

Filter reviews by category

Showing 276-300 of 304 reviews

Neeraj G.
04/2015
5.0
home remodeling
  + -1 more
.
Description of Work: .
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro

Timothy W.
04/2015
3.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: Feel neutral about it ... just don't like that there are extra charges - $89 per part, plus a charge for an hour worth labor
Rating CategoryRating out of 5

Response from City Renovations & Remodeling LLC
I'm sorry our verbal quote could not meet your needs I sincerely hope you get the job you want at the price you want it. If you want us to reconsider, please call us again

Angela L.
03/2015
3.0
electrician
  + -1 more
no comment.
Description of Work: removed old ceiling in bedroom and replaced with new drywall and insulation, installed ceiling fan, rerouted and enclosed ductwork, painted bedroom and hallway.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
1.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0

$8,000

Response from City Renovations & Remodeling LLC
We did all that was requested. I have no idea why the review score is so low, but we will reach out to see what we could have done better. This was great customer.

Cherry W.
03/2015
5.0
handyman service, electrician
  + 0 more
It went very well!
Description of Work: I bought a Big Deal for electrical service.
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro
$139

Anthony W.
02/2015
1.0
drain cleaning, electrician, handyman service, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing
  + 3 more
unknown
Description of Work: They made a lot of promises and in the end had to fire the company. The discussions of how they were to proceed and how the contract was written were totally different. They came into the home and did more damage to the walls and ceilling that they said that they would. The promised that they could complete the job in five days and then later admitted that the needed more days (6) to complete the project. They did not respect the home owner's property. Nothing was actually covered and the entire hous was covered with dust from the top floor to the basement and from the back porch to the front entrance. There was atleast 2 inches of dust that had accumulated and the furnace (brand new) was so clogged with dust that the service man that came in to check out a differeny problem acknowledged that if we had continued to run the furnace that we may have had to replace the A coild which was the most expensive part of the furnace. The Owner of the company denied that there were any problems and that he had to bring in extra personnel to complete rhe work that they had done so far on time (???). He had promised us that there would be a person that would clean up behand the electrician and his helper. That person did nothing but sit, take breaks, and create chaos the whole time she was there. The helper was MIA one of the five days on the job. The owner promised that he would look in on the project everyday and only finally came to check out the work area |on the third day and only after I called to complain. And on and on and on. We had to hire a lawyer because the owner did not want to cooperate with our demands that we be compensated for all of the unwanted damages that was caused. I would not recommend this company if you lived in your home and need major electrical work

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
punctuality
3.0

$7,800

Response from City Renovations & Remodeling LLC
I found this review to be false scope, intent and conclusion. There are certain fact that do exist in the whole review. Here is the scope of the job directly from the contract. " Job(s) To Be Performed Electrical Upgrades. Because of the unknown extent of this project, the terms will be cost plus. The scope electrical upgrades. He Minimum time billed into this contract is 5 days at 1333.00 to receive one electrician and one helper. • Remove old wiring as needed • Upgrade circuitry in electrical panel (splitting room, appliances and services) Total @5day Plus material 6,665.00 Total _6,665.00 Payments Will Be Made As Follows: 1. The customer will pay City Renovations & Remodeling, LLC 10% $800.00 at the acceptance of this contract, Plus permit runner fee of 1000. 2. The customer will pay City Renovations & Remodeling, LLC 20% or $1,239.65. when project begins and at the beginning of each day until completed or stopped Each day beyond his contract period will be billed at a rate of 1,333.00 peer day to be paid in advance of the work. THIS IS WHY THERE ARE CONTRACTS Things that I do admit. Was dusty but the customer was made aware that there would be dust mainly because the house had plast3er walls and ceilings. We had to bring wire from the basement to the third level into every room. the customer had many many years of THINGS in there home. I call it things but is was overly cluttered and hard to work around, When we got started a day later I did assign more people to the job because of the amount of walls and ceiling that had to be opened to get wire through them. I created teams, two on electric and two on repairs. In my absence the true owner of the house was quietly entertaining the female worker I had placed on the home to make sure that the house was cleaned as the work progressed. I found out that the owner and worker was preparing each other breakfast and actually siting down to eat. Th writer of this comment is not who I dealt with. The writer of this comment forgot to mention that we gave two extra days in the home at a rate of 1333.00 per day at no cost to try and complete the job. the writer of this review forgot to mention that the owner of the house didn't mention that in my absence she had my workers doing other electrical chores that were not part of the job. fore instance. our job was to break up the circuitry throughout the home and rewire the panel. she had the workers rehanging chandeliers that had come loose from the ceiling, correcting polarity on plugs not in the scope, Rewiring the kitchen that was not part of the scope because they already had a contractor to remodel it. As far as trying to keep the home clean, the customer did nothing to assist us in effort. I got complaints from my guys that when working in her bedroom, they had to move soiled cloths, trash and boxes to get plugs into the walls. this was evident in all the bedrooms. We were supposed to charge additionally for the material totaling 2200 in wire, plugs, boxes and breakers, but we didn't. We were not fired, we could have worked there for weeks and years if we did it for free. The customer expectations were beyond the scope and nature of the contract. They expected to get a whole 4 level house rewired, repaired painted for 78 There are no complaints with DCRA, BBB or any other agency. There is no suite. This customer like others that wrote impartial reviews, write from a point if higher than conventional expectations and an incomplete understanding of the contract or frustrations at not being able to achieve their goals. We continued to assist this customer when they asked me to send them in writing what needed to be done to complete the project a week later. There was no hint of hostility. Here is what Ii sent them. Look at the date of the memo (June) and the date of the job is April. We are still in communications inquiring about the job. Completion Summary Date: June 19, 2014 Customer: Removed Name Address: Removed Address Home: N/A Cell: Work: N/A Email: Project Name: Electrical Upgrades Project Location: Same This is a list of things that need to be done to complete your electrical upgrades. 1. Need to people to work on testing the old breakers to identify where they are going 2. Need two people to physically go into the rooms and split the circuits (wall cutting may be necessary) 3. Need two guys to bury remaining raceway wired on first level. 4. Need up two guys to repair all holes throughout the home. 5. Electrician to label the panel and install blanks as needed. If you only heard one side, you would think I was the worse contractor on the planet. The truth is we deal with a lot of customers that are more that challenging once the project begins. This is one of those instances, I can say with a smile. I can proudly say that my demeanor and character was not assassinated this time. LOL! I wish the few members write write bad fictitious ans slanderous reviews because, We were late to an appointment, forgot an appointment delayed sending in an estimate forgot an estimate, made a mistake didn't clean exactly like you wanted to name a few would sit back and put yourself in our shoes. We want your business. Do you really think a cannon is needed to kill a mosquito. Some of these review I have to answer to is ridiculous. The problem could have been resolved with a phone call, an email or just a little patience. The spirit and concept of Angie's list is great! Most of the customers we encounter are the best people on earth with good spirit and morals. Then there are the few, with misguided intentions, ambitions and assumptions. I challenge all of the few to spend a day in my shoes and me in theirs and see how much they would tolerate. We will continue to beg customers that we give estimates to, complete work for with no problem to write, but we wont force them. Only the sad few will walk through fire, fight tigers bare handed, swim the Atlantic, (i think you get what im saying) to get to their computer to spend countless minutes fabricating a testimonial that is not totally true to show that contractor who is boss, instead of taking a moment picking up the phone and asking the question, "I jut wanted to follow up with you on our _______" did you forget or did something come up" And hearing the response. if you don't want to continue with that contractor because you are of the non forgiving nature, rate them on the point of contention. If they gave you a great price, a they responded to your calls, they were professional, Give the appropriate scores, and rate them accordingly on the fault. This will become to tool by which we learn moving forward and the reader will will have a clearer picture of the contractor. That's my two cents. Like a said Cannon to kill a mosquito. thanx for reading, if you got this far. Mike

Alfred B.
02/2015
5.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
unknown

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

$7,700

Sandra H.
10/2014
2.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: My front porch was broken on the right side - level |off right side if porch | |2. Back door was cut to size. | |3. 6' fencing in back yard, 4' in front (right side of driveway. I was not satified with the lengh of time to get the fencing deliver (almost a month for deliver).Over price on the job. Get. A Second and Third quote. | |

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
1.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
2.0

$11,000

Response from City Renovations & Remodeling LLC
This is amazing. This is a prime example of doing a little extra does not pay off. When customers complain about pricing and how they could have gotten a better price, it irritates me a little. This job was replacement of around 6 fence panels, repair of a rotted out doorway and the opening of a area under the house where someone closed of plumbing under the home in an area where the pipes could freeze and the repair of the front porch and railing. We did all of that and more. I have no control over material. We found the stockade fence in a Home Depot in Annandale VA. but I recommended she don't use it because it was weathered. So we had to wait for another delivery, No Home Depot had enough fence for her job and we communicated that to her. By the way, I didn't say she increased the job and we added 30 feet of fence work for free. We repaired the interior of the home but could not repair the door because the wall that the door was attached to was literally rotted out and she couldn't afford to replace the wall. The bottom of trhe wall was literally detached from the base. You could kick the bottom of the wall and it would move. We installed over 150 feet the contractual fence with new post and additional lattes fence and a custom gate at no additional charge. We also repaired the porch to our best ability when we recommended the whole porch be torn down. The break down came when she kept asking for more work for free. We give work away on a regular basis, but enough is enough. She wanted us to rake her back yard, clean up all the debris from under her rear deck porch that had been accumulating for years. If anyone inquires, I can send you the pics of the beautiful fence we constructed for her that she is allegedly unhappy with. The truthful side of this response is that we didn't charge her what the total job was worth, but we gave her a quality job anyway with the limitations we had to over come. The construction that we tried to remedy was a horrible mix of home neglect and inexperienced subcontractors piecing her home together. Lastly, this job concluded in April 2014. If we were so bad, why wait so long?

Cristiane C.
10/2014
5.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
unknown

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Janet M.
09/2014
4.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: I purchased the coupon under category called "Plastering." The actual coupon, however, is for handyman work. Company said they would honor coupon, but I would likely need to buy additional time for work to be completed. I decided this would not work for me. Company was very prompt in responding to calls and questions. I would consider contacting them in future for other work.
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from City Renovations & Remodeling LLC
This is a very nice lady. I wish that some of the coupons were a little clearer. I really wanted to help her.

Channie B.
08/2014
5.0
handyman service, landscaping
  + 0 more
unknown
Description of Work: A friend did the work for me.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$700

Justin C.
06/2014
4.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
.
Description of Work: .

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

$100

John S.
06/2014
5.0
lighting
  + -1 more
.
Description of Work: .

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$120

Justin C.
06/2014
4.0
handyman service, plumbing
  + 0 more
.
Description of Work: They inspected my toilet and told me to get a new one. It went fine.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
5.0

$200

Response from City Renovations & Remodeling LLC
We only did and inspection no work in December 2013.

Katherine C.
02/2014
4.0
replacement windows
  + -1 more
They were fine.
Description of Work: I bought window weatherization and sealing.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

$149

Horace C.
01/2014
5.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
.
Description of Work: .

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$200

Claire C.
01/2014
5.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
.
Description of Work: I used City Renovations & Remodeling LLC.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Anneliese B.
01/2014
4.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
The work that was done was fine.
Description of Work: I purchased a Big Deal from City Renovations and Remodeling LLC.
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro
$229

Vinnie H.
09/2013
5.0
handyman service, landscaping
  + 0 more
Well as can be expected.
Description of Work: Not much

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1

Joshua E.
08/2013
4.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
All went well
Description of Work: Provider did some electrical work.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

$100

Lisa K.
07/2013
1.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: Applied for 3 hour handy man service for painting 1 room and moving a table on 6/17/13. Mr Wiggs called immediately after the order was placed.On 6/19/13, Mr Wiggs came to our house want to look at the room before painting. Stated the paint was not properly mixed by Home Depot and that the room needed be re-painted. He also stated he would be out of town next week. I, Bernard Litkett had talked to him. I am Lisa's husband. It was my credit card used to make the purchase. Mr Wiggs was to send an email to confirm the work was supposed to start on 6/28/13. Never got an email from him. I, Bernard Litkett was also out of town. Lisa called on 6/27/13 that nothing was sent to us from Mr Wiggs. Lisa contacted Mr. Wiggs who stated the price would be $590 to paint the room with 2 coats of paint and that painting was not included with the coupon and that the work had not been scheduled yet. We declined his offer due to the high price. Mr Wigg should had stated this to us when he came over on 6/19/13, when he saw the room. We feel that he was not honest and although he writes orders down, he does not provide timely communicatins
Rating CategoryRating out of 5

Response from City Renovations & Remodeling LLC
I will start with a big WOW! For this gentleman to write this comment, filled with falsehoods is amazing. Everything he said was true up to the visit to his home. We did discuss the poor paint job and I told him what was done wrong. Then I went on vacation. I was supposed to give him as estimate on doing the job. I never agreed to do the work on a three hour handiman. I also told him that I don't have a painting coupon. It was my understanding that he was waiting on me to give him an estimate. After my vacations I talked to his wife and explained the confusion. (I really don;t think they talk to each other) She understood the confusion and how the price of 590.00 came in even though the purchased a 3 hour handiman coupon. WE (wife) even discussed other home improvement projects around the house. I told her what we would charge to paint the room and that they could apply the coupon towards the cost. I was really trying to accomodate them. She said she would discuss it with her husband. Instead of a discussion he wrote this long list of falsehoods. In the little time I spoke to both of them I really feel the the wife wrote this review. In a way I feel sorry for this customer and sad that he mustered this malicious assault against me for his lack of understanding and inability to communicate or understand what he purchased and a further inability to reason with the facts. I wish them the best of luck in there pursuit to repaint their room.

Janice K.
06/2013
1.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: I sent two requests to the provider to schedule a time for the service, with no acknowledgement or response
Rating CategoryRating out of 5

Response from City Renovations & Remodeling LLC
(deleted member name), The time and effort it took you to write this review, you could have dialed my phone number. Everyone else does and get favorable responses and for the mast part a same day appointment if I'm in your area. Good luck in your search for a service provider. If you are still unsuccessful in getting an email response from the other service providers, you can call me and set up an appointment. We will gladly assist you in your service request.

kahlil G.
04/2013
1.0
plumbing
  + -1 more
see above
Description of Work: First I made arrangents and took time off work to be here for the plumbers arrival. Then he calls thirty minutes before the time window ends and says he is not comming. They say they will come out and look at the job no charge on saturday. The guy comes and say he can't do the work. Then tonight he calls telling me a tall tale about I got a refund from angies list in march. In fact I had bought two of the deals and one was refunded per his request. He calls me at 9:30 pm and rudely demands 89.00. These guys are the worst. They are disorganized, they lie. and they are rude. Think long and hard before you use them. If you are able to check my reviews take a look. I am the king of the easy reviewer. These guys are awful!!!!!

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0


Response from City Renovations & Remodeling LLC
I never try to say anything about anyone that is negative but this customer has made me break that rule. After that I will go back to being diplomatic. Thus customer is beyond cheap. He needs a gas connection adjusted to move his stove back against the wall. I didn't have time to go out to his home. I sent the plumber to estimate and do the job. Unfortunately, he ran into a problem with his family and had to reschedule. So we scheduled the job for Saturday to make it convenient for him this time. The plumber showed up and estimated the job, he didn't want to do what was necessary to move the gas line. No let me put it bluntly. He was cheap!!! There was nothing we could do to this person. He asked if there was a fee for the plumber coming out on a Saturday. I told him I would take care of it. While doing my billing I saw a that he purchased the plumbing coupon and then it was returned. I call him about it and he said sue him and hung up. Then this comment came. I revisited my books and was sending him an apology for the mistake and a dinner coupon at Ruth Chris. Now......... I'm glad it didn't go into the mail. I'm glad we didn't do the work. Now he is thoughtlessly complaining to ruin my reputation

Susan S.
03/2013
1.0
drywall
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: I knew I needed a drywall repair and logged onto Angieslist, I saw a daily/big deal that was 3 hours of drywall work for 139. I saw that the proprietor was rated well by other Angieslist members. I bought the deal and immediately called the number provided to set up my appointment. The owner told me to email him my contact information(name, number, address) along with the coupon code to verify my purchase. He stated, at which point he'd schedule the drywall work and email me back with the date/time of appointment. I never received a response to my initial email.
Rating CategoryRating out of 5

Response from City Renovations & Remodeling LLC
My personal apologies go out to this customer. We receive so many emails that we do miss one here and there. This message goes out to all potential customers. I prefer telephone calls instead of emails or text over both. If I do ask you to email me, please, please follow-up with a call and/or text. We try hard to keep customer s happy. Even those seeking our services.

janet E.
03/2013
4.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
see above
Description of Work: I purchased a Big Deal and cannot remember the amount. They changed some light fixtures and electrical outlets. They were very friendly and professional. I gave them a C on punctuality because they missed their appointment but they were responsive when I called to schedule the appointment and when I called and asked where they were at. They admitted my appointment had fallen through the crack and they arrived within 5-10 minutes of me calling them. Despite the appointment mishap, I would use them again.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
3.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Craig G.
03/2013
5.0
electrician
  + -1 more
Very well.
Description of Work: Did the jobs as discussed, on time, and as expected.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$400

Contact information

938 E Swann Creek Rd Ste 311, Fort Washington, MD 20744

http://www.cityrenovations.net

Service hours

Sunday:
Closed
Monday:
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday:
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday:
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday:
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday:
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday:
Closed


Licensing

Bonded

Insured

Licensed*

Trade License Number
126114

Eco-friendly Accreditations

LEED Accredited Professional
No
Energy Star Partner
No
EPA Lead-Safe Certified
Yes
Use Green Products or Work Practices
Yes
State Contractor License Requirements

All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

*Contact business to see additional licenses.


Service Categories

Handyman Services,
Electrical,
Drywall,
General Remodeling,
Kitchen and Bath Remodeling,
Plumbing,
Lighting,
Interior Painting,
Windows,
Basement Remodeling,
Finished Carpentry and Woodworking,
Heating and Air Conditioning

FAQ

City Renovations & Remodeling LLC is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

City Renovations & Remodeling LLC accepts the following forms of payment: American Express,Check,Discover,MasterCard,Visa
No, City Renovations & Remodeling LLC does not offer free project estimates.
Yes, City Renovations & Remodeling LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.
No, City Renovations & Remodeling LLC does not offer a senior discount.
No, City Renovations & Remodeling LLC does not offer emergency services.
No, City Renovations & Remodeling LLC does not offer warranties.
City Renovations & Remodeling LLC offers the following services: Renovations - Kitchen, Bathroom, & Whole House. Additions. Roof Raises. Handyman. Mold Remediation. Infrared Camera Inspection.
Medical Services.

Contact information

938 E Swann Creek Rd Ste 311, Fort Washington, MD 20744

http://www.cityrenovations.net

Service hours

Sunday:
Closed
Monday:
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday:
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday:
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday:
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday:
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday:
Closed