Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ShelfGenie

Home and Garage Organization, Finished Carpentry and Woodworking, Cabinet Making,

About us

• 2016 Super Service Award Winner - 3rd Consecutive Year! • A+ BBB Rating • ShelfGenie specializes in Custom Designs, Builds, & Installations of Glide-Out Shelving Systems in any existing cabinet or pantry giving more space and easier access! • With Our System, cabinets are organized, storage is accessible, efficiently and clutter-free • Beautiful & Highly Durable, Glide-Out Shelving works in almost every cabinet or closet in the home - from the kitchen to the bathroom and even the garage! • We can even add Glide-Outs to free standing furniture and create unique storage solutions designed to achieve your organizational objectives! • Call (203) 644-2052 to Schedule a FREE Estimate or Appointment

Business highlights

16 years of trusted experience

Services we offer

• Kitchen & Bathroom Remodeling • Cabinet Retrofitting • Closets • Sink Designs •

Services we don't offer

Call for Details

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount

10%



Accepted payment methods

American Express
Check
MasterCard
Visa

Photos of past projects

Reviews

4.849 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
88%
4
8%
3
2%
2
2%
1
0%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
3.8
professionalism
4.9
responsiveness
4.8
punctuality
4.9
Showing 26-49 of 49 reviews

Diane R.
01/2016
5.0
woodworking
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: Put the pull out shelves in my entire kitchen. Did my hall linen closet as well.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$10,000

Response from ShelfGenie
We thank you for your business. We never take positive reviews for granted. Thanks for taking time to leave a review and giving us such high marks. We are glad you are happy and would like you to know how much you've helped us with your feedback.

Edward F.
01/2016
5.0
woodworking
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: Installed 4 rollout shelves in kitchen cabinets.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$500

Response from ShelfGenie
We hope you enjoy your ShelfGenie installation. Your review helps us to know we are achieving the customer satisfaction we strive for. Thanks for taking time out of your busy day to review your experience.

William P C.
01/2016
5.0
home & garage organization
  + -1 more
unknown

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

C C.
01/2016
5.0
home & garage organization
  + -1 more
.
Description of Work: .

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from ShelfGenie
Thank you for your great ratings. We do all we can to make our customers happy, and when they take time to review our products and service we really do appreciate it. We hope you enjoy your installation for years to come.

David B.
12/2015
5.0
home & garage organization, woodworking
  + 0 more
unknown
Description of Work: Installed roll-out shelves into existing cupboards. Work was fine, people were pleasant. No complaints.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,000

JENNA & MICHAEL L.
10/2015
5.0
home & garage organization
  + -1 more
.
Description of Work: .
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,500

Response from ShelfGenie
We are so glad your ShelfGenie experience was a good one. We hope you will enjoy your storage solutions for years to come. Thank your for sharing your good review with us.

Lawrence B.
10/2015
5.0
custom cabinets
  + -1 more
.
Description of Work: .
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro
$4,000

Response from ShelfGenie
Your "A" rating means a lot to us. It's good to know we lived up to our goals of providing great products installed with professional skill and service. Thanks!

SHEILA C.
10/2015
5.0
custom cabinets
  + -1 more
.
Description of Work: .
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from ShelfGenie
Thank YOU! It's so gratifying to see that you rated us with "A". It doesn't get any better than that. We love our customers.

C C.
10/2015
5.0
home & garage organization
  + -1 more
It was very good.
Description of Work: They did a lot of drawers.
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from ShelfGenie
Thank you so much taking time to give our products and services a review. I am delighted that you are so satisfied. We appreciate your "A" rating. We hope you enjoy your new organizational solutions. It was a pleasure to serve you.

Evelyn W.
10/2015
5.0
home & garage organization
  + -1 more
.
Description of Work: .
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from ShelfGenie
Thank you! It' so nice when customers take time to review us. The high marks are appreciated. It's how we know that we are living up to delivering products and services that make our customers both organized and happy. It means a lot to us.

Barbara M.
08/2015
2.0
home & garage organization
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: Installed two, 2 inch glide out shelves | My first contact with Alex Modica was in mid-March. I only wanted the two shelves and I let him talk me into four shelves for a total cost of $1349. After thinking about it I decided I really only did want to two. Alex was quite rude when I called to change the order , I have an email from him where he apologize for being so curt. Regardless he put in the order and I never heard anything back until I finally called May 28. The two little shelves conveniently had just been received though I had never received any follow-up calls whatsoever. The install was scheduled approximately June 16 The installer Jeff was an hour and a half late . when I called him after waiting an hour he said he did not have my phone number though we had spoken on the phone twice before that. He wasn't very apologetic at all and when he finally did show up I just couldn't wait till he was done and the whole experience would be over with . I like my two little glide out shelves but even with the discount the price was outrageous and the service was terrible . |

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
1.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$634

Response from ShelfGenie
[removed member name], I am sorry you felt your experience with my company was not favorable. I take customer service and these reviews seriously, and this is the first of its kind for me. As you mentioned, I did email you after we spoke about the change order because, when I reflected on the conversation, I became concerned that I may have sounded curt. As I explained on the phone, changing the order was not a problem at all, rather I was concerned that you felt I had “talked you into” purchasing more than two glide-outs. All I did was make you aware of other possibilities for organizing your space, which you seemed to like at the time. Despite our best efforts, delays happen both with products and installs. What I can say is that we could have done a better job in communicating both, and from this experience we’ve made some changes so that doesn’t happen again. Thanks for taking time to give us a review. While your low marks aren’t what we are used to, they’ve helped us identify what we can do even better. We’re glad you are enjoying the glide-outs.

Liz B.
08/2015
5.0
woodworking
  + -1 more
Excellent.
Description of Work: Residential kitchen, cabinet, shelving.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,000

Response from ShelfGenie
It's so gratifying to get good reviews. While we always pay close attention to providing design and installation of products that really help homeowners get and keep organized with ease, we never get tired of hearing great feedback from customers. Thank you! We value your business and are delighted that we made you happy!

Marisa T.
05/2015
5.0
woodworking
  + -1 more
.
Description of Work: I really love the shelving and the quality is super. My only issue is the cost. I do believe in that fact that you get what you pay for so if these are in your budget, I'd say go for it. The installation, sales person and delivery all went very well. These will last forever and I am certain they can take a lot of abuse.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
3.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

$2,600

Response from ShelfGenie
We are so pleased that you are enjoying your ShelfGenie installation. Thanks for mentioning that you clearly see the value of the quality of our products. It’s true that you get what you pay for with ShelfGenie. We believe that our thoughtful, custom designs, along with the convenience, ease and joy our customer’s experience on a daily basis, put ShelfGenie installations over the top in value for the price. Thanks for taking time to share your experience!

Estelle F.
04/2015
5.0
home & garage organization
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: Salesman, Alex was very nice and thorough. As far as installer, okay but not as nice. more in a rush

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$750

Response from ShelfGenie
Thanks for your review. It is so important for us to know what our customers think. We pride ourselves on attention to excellent service and getting the job done properly in one day if possible. To do that, the installer's job is to concentrate on the details of installation, and may not be as able to engage in conversation as the designer whose job it is to learn about your needs. Our installers are friendly people, but when on site their goals are to get the install done with excellence. We hope you enjoy your new ShelfGenie cabinet organization. Thank you!

Joseph D.
04/2015
5.0
home & garage organization, woodworking
  + 0 more
.
Description of Work: Put shelves in the pantry closet giving us more room.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from ShelfGenie
We are delighted to receive an all "A" rating from you. It tells us that we're living up to our goals, which is that every customer should have the organization and added space they need, along with the customer experience they deserve. We believe that our product and service go hand-in-hand in making your day just a bit easier. Thank you so much for taking time to give us this wonderful review. We really appreciate it.

Carmella V.
04/2015
5.0
custom cabinets, home & garage organization, woodworking
  + 1 more
.
Description of Work: Installed roll out shelves in 5 cabinets, 1 lazy Susan and 1 6 shelf pantry cabinet.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$6,000

Response from ShelfGenie
Congratulations on your new ShelfGenie installation. We are glad to hear you are enjoying your newly organized kitchen cabinets. Thank you so much for the good review, it means a lot to know we have another happy customer. Thanks for taking out of your busy day to review our performance and products.

Malvin K.
02/2015
5.0
custom cabinets
  + -1 more
.
Description of Work: Fitted existing cabinetry with pull-out shelves. As expected when one is paying top-dollar for a quality job with good materials.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$2,000

Response from ShelfGenie
We appreciate that you took time to write good review about your ShelfGenie experience. Also, we are delighted that you appreciate the value and ease of our glide-outs. It is the extreme compliment to know that you would not hesitate to hire us again. Thank you for your business. We are always here for you.

Kyle H.
12/2014
5.0
home & garage organization
  + -1 more
.
Description of Work: .

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Jennifer S.
09/2014
5.0
home & garage organization, woodworking
  + 0 more
.
Description of Work: The provider came to our home to provide an estimate. He was professional, thorough, and attentive, and his product appears to be a high quality one. However, the estimate came in much higher than we expected and much higher than our budget (we based our expectations on the advertisement which stated that a "typical" kitchen would cost $2,500; all we wanted to do was a very small pantry - 1.5" wide - and the total price, not including the Angie's List discount, was $2,250), so we are unable to move forward at this time.
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from ShelfGenie
Thanks for taking time to share your ShelfGenie experience in this review. We especially appreciate your “A” rating, even though you didn’t become a customer. Every solution we provide is truly customized for the customer, their space and their needs. Sometimes, the size, shape and type of cabinet can make a solution more specialized and more costly than might be expected, especially when trying to compare it to something “typical”. That is why we always come out to the home to work with you on defining the solution that is right for you. We do thank you for the opportunity to quote your project, and if, in the future, we can help, we would be pleased to do so.

Sonjoy J.
09/2014
4.0
home & garage organization
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: Well. The solution was just too expensive.
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from ShelfGenie
We appreciate that you offered us a favorable review despite the fact that you didn’t choose us. We are pleased that you indicated that you would “hire” us again, because it verifies that we are succeeding in providing a satisfying customer experience right from the beginning. We also strive to provide the most value for the money in terms of quality, organizational solutions, time-saving and lasting value. We do thank you for the opportunity to quote your project and hope you will remember us for future needs.

Tom P.
08/2014
5.0
home & garage organization, woodworking
  + 0 more
.
Description of Work: This is an A+ company in our opinion. They did customized pull out drawers in our kitchen and also customized the shelving in our kitchen & hall pantry. Just a wonderful, honorable company. Very nice to deal with. |A company that still believes in good old customer service!

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1

Malvin K.
08/2014
5.0
home & garage organization, woodworking
  + 0 more
.
Description of Work: .

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,500

Carol S.
08/2014
5.0
home & garage organization, woodworking
  + 0 more
.
Description of Work: .

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Lynn H.
06/2014
5.0
home & garage organization, woodworking
  + 0 more
unknown
Description of Work: Very customer service oriented. Great service!

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$199
    • 1
    • 2(current)

Contact information

7 Lookout Road, Norwalk, CT 06850

http://www.shelfgenie.com/nyct

Service hours

Monday:
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday:
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday:
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday:
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday:
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Licensing

Insured
State Contractor License Requirements

All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

*Contact business to see additional licenses.

All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to: https://www.elicense.ct.gov/

Service Categories

Home and Garage Organization,
Finished Carpentry and Woodworking,
Cabinet Making,
Kitchen and Bath Remodeling,
Closets,
Cabinet Refacing and Refinishing,
Handyman Services

FAQ

ShelfGenie is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

ShelfGenie accepts the following forms of payment: American Express,Check,MasterCard,Visa
Yes, ShelfGenie offers free project estimates.
No, ShelfGenie does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
Yes, ShelfGenie offers a 10% senior discount.
No, ShelfGenie does not offer emergency services.
Yes, ShelfGenie offers warranties.
ShelfGenie offers the following services: • Kitchen & Bathroom Remodeling • Cabinet Retrofitting • Closets • Sink Designs •
Call for Details

Contact information

7 Lookout Road, Norwalk, CT 06850

http://www.shelfgenie.com/nyct

Service hours

Monday:
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday:
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday:
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday:
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday:
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM