Mr Handyman of Richmond

Handyman Services, Doors, Plumbing,

About us

Serving Richmond since 2001, Mr. Handyman of Richmond is a locally owned and operated Class A Contractor. 100% woman owned. A+ BBB rating. The company has served over 15,000 residential and commercial clients in Richmond. Properly licensed, bonded, and insured. Additional services: painting, gutter repairs and maintenance, insulation, dryer vent, switches & outlets, downspouts, toilets, faucets, awnings, garages, molding. Additionally, Mr. Handyman has Certified Aging in Place Specialists on staff who can assess a home and suggest modifications to make it safer and more comfortable for those with challenges due to aging or health. WHAT MAKES THEM DIFFERENT? All technicians are highly experienced professionals with at least 15 years experience and excellent communication skills. They are company employees, not sub-contractors. The technicians are multi-skilled, so one tech can do a variety of things for you. All employees go through drug testing and background checks for your safety and arrive in uniform and in a marked vehicle. For your convenience, billing is done on a time and materials basis with just a one hour minimum for service. Recent awards include recognition from Richmond publications in categories of Best Handyman, Best Class A Contractor, Best Wood Working/Trim, Best Gutter Service and Best Drywall Contractor, as well as the Angie’s List Super Service Award. Call Mr. Handyman Client Concierge at 804-270-7272 to learn more and to schedule an appointment. Check them out on Youtube: http://youtu.be/bYWYDn8TQEQ

Business highlights

29 years of trusted experience
Veteran Owned & Operated
Family Owned & Operated

Services we offer

Handyman, carpentry, windows, doors, wood rot, plumbing repairs & replacements, light fixture replacement, deck repairs, drywall, tile floor & backsplash, caulking, bathroom remodeling, masonry repairs, assembly, picture hanging, window treatment, fascia & soffit, flooring, cabinetry.

Services we don't offer

****IMPORTANT: Please contact by calling 804-270-7272 or by emailing Richmond@mrhandyman.com. Please do not attempt to contact through Angie's List messaging, as those emails sometimes do not actually arrive. If you do not hear from us within one business day, it is possible that your message was not received. In that event, please call us at 804-270-7272.

Amenities

Warranties
Yes


Accepted payment methods

Check
Discover
MasterCard
Visa

Photos of past projects

Reviews

4.7236 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
81%
4
9%
3
3%
2
1%
1
6%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.8
value
4.2
professionalism
4.8
responsiveness
4.8
punctuality
4.9

Filter reviews by category

Showing 126-150 of 236 reviews

Michael P.
09/2013
3.0
lighting
  + -1 more
We bought a plug in kit at Lowe's (that is all you can find) and a direct wire conversion box. We asked Mr. Handyman to install it. He indicated that he needed a different conversion box to "truly" hardwire it. All I wanted was for the lights to turn on and off with the light switch, which the parts we had purchased would have accomplished if installed. He spent 2 - 3 hours going to all the home supply stores in the area to find the part. He never found what he was looking for. He did hang the lights, and they look OK, but obviously do not work. After negotiating, we settled on paying for one hour of service versus the 3 spent looking for the part.
Description of Work: Replace under cabinet lights and hardwire them to replace existing hardwired lights
Rating CategoryRating out of 5

Response from Mr Handyman of Richmond
As the member says, they provided the lights for our technician to install. Unfortunately, instead of purchasing the correct kit which included a necessary transformer, the member purchased a kit meant to be used as an “add-on” to the main kit, and a separate transformer. The transformer they purchased was not the correct one. The member wanted our technician to use the purchased lights and then try to find the correct transformer. The member only wanted us to check the stores closest to their home, but those stores did not carry the correct transformer. The member decided that they would prefer to get the part themselves, rather than have us get it for them at the more distant supplier. The member said they would call us back once they obtained the part. Our total time was only 2.5 hours, and we were nice enough to credit the member for some time because they claimed our office staff had told them they wouldn’t be charged for shopping time if the part was not available nearby. (Our office staff said no such thing.) Afterwards, we followed up with the member several times via phone and email to see if they had obtained the part or needed our help doing so, but the member did not respond. We’re not sure why the member would give us a low grade, as: - we promptly answered their call and scheduled their appointment, - our uniformed and experienced technician arrived on time in our marked vehicle, - our technician advised them of the issues and then at their request did the best he could with what they supplied and what restrictions they placed on him, - we discounted their bill even though a discount wasn’t really justified, and - we communicated with them throughout the job and after. This is certainly a job that our technician could have quickly and efficiently completed, had the correct parts been supplied by either the member or us.

Cache S.
08/2013
5.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
The technician was multi-talented. I was impressed with the range of skills. In addition, he cared about the quality. Hanging pictures or the cabinet, he took to make sure these were straight and secure. I have called before and will do so again in the future.
Description of Work: Hung a cabinet on the wall, mounted a keyboard on a wood desk, fixed a shower leak. A month ago, they helped hang pictures that had to be straight, moved a shelf and repaired a wall,

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$300

Response from Mr Handyman of Richmond
Thanks so much for the feedback! We're happy you were pleased.

Angella B.
08/2013
5.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
Very professional. He did high quality work. We will definitely use the service again.
Description of Work: We were updating one of our bathrooms and hired Mr. Handyman of Richmond to do some work we were unable to do ourselves. The gentleman who came put up crown molding, installed a new light fixture, and did some caulking.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$536

Response from Mr Handyman of Richmond
We so appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others and are thrilled that you were so pleased. Thank you!

Everett B.
07/2013
5.0
electrician, handyman service, lighting
  + 1 more
The worker arrived promptly and performed the job well, albeit having some difficulty installing the large tv on the masonry wall. His assistant used a small shop vac to vacuum up sawdust as counter surfaces were drilled to allow access to electrical outlets. Office called to be sure we were satisfied with the work.
Description of Work: Moved a garage door opener from one house to another, removed a stained-glass light fixture, installed a 65 inch flat screen tv onto a brick wall and moved a 47 inch tv from one wall to another.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
3.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,048

Response from Mr Handyman of Richmond
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are happy you were pleased with the variety of jobs we did for you and look forward to hearing from you again.

JENNY B.
07/2013
5.0
fencing, handyman service, replacement windows
  + 1 more
I went well. They did the job really well. Their quality has always been really good.
Description of Work: I used Mr Handyman to do some caulking around the window and fixing a gate that had sag a little bit.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from Mr Handyman of Richmond
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review. We've been to your house over 20 times in the last 8 years and truly appreciate you trusting us with your home maintenance!

Susan V.
07/2013
5.0
decks, handyman service, woodworking
  + 1 more
Very easy and stress free experience from scheduling an appointment to the repair, replacement, and painting of rotted wood trim on my screen porch. Telephone scheduler was fast and efficient and thoroughly explained the company's services and fees. Wesley, the handyman, arrived on time and immediately began working. He did an awesome job and I would not hesitate to have him back if I need any further work.
Description of Work: Replaced rotted wood trim on second story screen porch.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$600

Response from Mr Handyman of Richmond
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your great Mr. Handyman experience with others! We really appreciate it and are glad to hear you were pleased! We look forward to helping you again.

Jay B.
07/2013
5.0
gutter repair, handyman service, plumbing
  + 1 more
Their service has been perfect. Even though they are a big franchise I can request the same person each time. He knows my home, remembers what work he did, and it makes it a more personable experience. Their service is great!
Description of Work: They have done everything from cleaning my gutters to installing a toilet. Sometimes he comes for a whole day do address my to do list.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from Mr Handyman of Richmond
We are so happy to hear you have been pleased with Mr. Handyman services! We do aim to please! While we are part of an international franchise (and thus required to maintain a very high level of service), we are actually LOCALLY OWNED here in Richmond. Our company president lives right in Glen Allen with her family! We look forward to assisting you with your next project!

Colleen M.
06/2013
5.0
gutter cleaning, handyman service
  + 0 more
They came out promptly and did the work quickly. Cleaned up well, with an accurate estimate. And did good work.
Description of Work: Gutter Cleaning

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from Mr Handyman of Richmond
Thanks for the kind words and for being a valued client! We've been helping you since 2002 and look forward to assisting you again with your next project!

Bobby T.
06/2013
4.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
This was a tougher job than a standard dining room due to a 20ft ceiling, and requiring to modify the power cord for the length. The guy who showed up was very professional and cleaned up afterwards. Only complaint is the price. Too much per hour, especially when factoring the high show-up fee.
Description of Work: Removal of old and installation of new chandelier.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
3.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$400

Response from Mr Handyman of Richmond
We are thrilled that the member was pleased with our service and has given us A in 4 out of 5 categories! Our friendly office staff answered his call and dispatched an experienced technician (a company employee who had been through drug-testing and background checks) within two hours! This was a tricky job, but our expert technician was able to complete the job well and to the member’s satisfaction, while maintaining communication with the member throughout the job. High levels of quality and services are not typically associated with dirt-cheap prices. However, our prices are market competitive and reflect our stringent standards. Plus, we only have a one hour minimum for service that is almost always far less than what specialty plumbing and/or electrical companies charge. Check and you will see that our “show-up fee” or minimum charge is actually far LESS than other companies! If price is all that matters, there is always somebody willing to cut corners and/or hire less qualified help, so as to deliver cheap services. That is not us. Mr. Handyman prefers to do quality work correctly for our discerning clients who demand the best. We look forward to helping this member with his next project!

Karen W.
06/2013
5.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
This Handyman/General Repair Company is outstanding! Friendly professional folks on the phone (Gina, Jennifer) and Chris,who came to do the work, was excellent! Would and will, use this business again.
Description of Work: Variety of repair services and installation of ceiling fan, towel bar, light etc.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$185

Response from Mr Handyman of Richmond
So glad we could help! Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience with others. We certainly do appreciate the kind words and look forward to helping you again in the future.

Barbara E.
05/2013
4.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
The gentleman was nice, but did not bring a measuring tape or any tools to repair one of the bed frames. This was a big mistake and resulted in a return visit, as the frame could not be tightened adequately by hand. A measuring tape would have made the work more accurate and faster. The company sent him back to fix the bed frame again at no cost to me. The rest of his work was fine, and was completed within a reasonable period of time. I had a coupon sent by the company which reduced my costs.
Description of Work: I had a long list of tasks that needed to performed, including changing light bulbs in a cathedral ceiling, repairing several bed frames, and building shelving in a shed. I had purchased all of the materials in advance.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$385

Response from Mr Handyman of Richmond
We’re so happy that the member was pleased with our professional service! Both times she called, we were able to quickly respond with a skilled technician to her house in less than 18 hours. Lest other members get the impression that our technicians don’t have tools, we want to clarify that, of course the technician had tools and a tape measure! Our vans are chock full of tools and commonly used supplies. In this case, one bed frame had bowtie-like fasteners that are meant to be turned by hand. The other bed frame was discovered to have mismatched rails, which required unusual adjustments. But that was not a problem for our resourceful technician! You can tell a lot about a company by the way you are treated AFTER you have paid, and in this case, as usual, we stood behind our work and later made a return visit to tighten one bed further at no charge, even though the problem was really due to the design of the antique bedframe and even though the bed had been used for some time. We are very focused on providing superb service to our clients and look forward to helping the member with her next project.

Roger C.
05/2013
5.0
ceramic tile, doors, drywall, electrician, remodeling, handyman service, interior painters, contractors, wallpaper removal, woodworking
  + 8 more
An overall wonderful experience. The whole staff of Mr. Handyman of Richmond is very orgranized, efficient, and polite. The policies are well-drafted and executed to make sure that customer satisfaction and quality of work are both high priorities. We would use Mr. Handyman of Richmond again and again for all sorts of jobs around our aging house.
Description of Work: The technician arrived on-time, was very courteous and polite, and built us a shelf in our garage. He did the drywall in our unfinished garage and he also trimmed the bushes outside. We have used Mr. Handyman of Richmond many times and we have been very pleased with the service every time. We would highly recommend Mr. Handyman of Richmond.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$525

Response from Mr Handyman of Richmond
Aww, thanks. You're making us blush.

EDDIE R.
04/2013
4.0
handyman service, plumbing
  + 0 more
Plumber spent two hours trouble shooting the system and finally decided we should replace the faucet kit completely. Initially there was a bit of confusion about what was and wasn't done, but the "Boss" was very professional and offered a partial return for the misuderstanding. The return came within the week and I am quite happy with the results.
Description of Work: Trouble with water pressure and spray noozle in kitchen sink. Water would s*** off after using spray hose. Water pressure seemed too low.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$400

Response from Mr Handyman of Richmond
We’re so glad that the member was happy with his service and has rated us A in 5 out of 5 categories. We do aim to please! Our technician was there 2 hours and 45 minutes and the bill was only $270. That included actually 45 minutes of troubleshooting (not 2 hours), at which time the member was advised that a new faucet would be his best option. The member then decided to go to the store with the technician to select a new faucet and then they both returned and the new faucet was installed to the member’s satisfaction. (Another option would have been to replace the cartridges within the faucet and our technician did not think this was the best option. However, because the member did not fully understand that replacing cartridges was an option, he was given a partial refund as a customer service gesture.) We are thrilled that the member is now enjoying his new faucet and that his problem is solved! We look forward to assisting him again in the future.

Charles W. C.
04/2013
5.0
remodeling
  + -1 more
They were prompt, courteous and on-time. They provided the service they said they would.
Description of Work: He caulked a door, added hardware to the door and added sealing elements.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$100

Response from Mr Handyman of Richmond
We're glad that you were pleased with Mr. Handyman and look forward to serving you again!

Carter H.
04/2013
5.0
drywall, handyman service
  + 0 more
The representative was friendly, professional and skilled. He repaired the holes quickly and the job has held up despite the need to re-hang curtain rod brackets directly on top of the repair.
Description of Work: I used Mr. Handyman for repair of holes to a plaster wall and hang curtain rod brackets.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$100

Response from Mr Handyman of Richmond
We're glad that you were pleased with Mr. Handyman and look forward to serving you again!

Georgienne N.
04/2013
1.0
electrician
  + -1 more
He appeared to be a very nice young man. I did tell him that I had a broken arm and that I wanted to get these lights fixed for my safety. I decided I couldn't put off the work any longer. They told me when they went to buy the parts, they would be on the clock. He seemed to be very diligent. He was here from 8-12 and that included his time purchasing parts. I didn't appreciate him leaving all of his equipment in my foyer while he went to purchase parts. He didn't provide a receipt after purchasing the parts, and when I asked for itemized copy he told me it was against company policy to share prices of parts. I find this to be a problem and didn't like this. They recommended that I needed to have my GFI repaired, and I didn't have that planned at the time. I was taken aback because I hadn't mentioned this since last October. I went ahead had him repair it. The GFI box is crooked and I'm unable to lift the cover up. I shouldn't have this problem. I want someone else to come out to check the GFI box to make sure properly. They charged me $115 for outdoor coach lights, and I searched the internet and found the exact item on Amazon.com for $66. I believe their prices were too high. Also, I had left my key on the mantle if he needed it, because he needed to get to my outdoor storage area. When I looked at the mantle after he left my key was gone. I searched my purse and I didn't have it. I called them to see if he had my key. They confirmed he did and he returned it. I never received an apology from them in the letter they sent me for the employee walking off with my key. In the meantime, I had decided to have my locks rekeyed the same day for my safety. It cost me an additional $105 that I didn't plan on spending. I feel they should refund me for the $105 I spent on rekeying my locks. I feel the company haven't been truthful and honest with me. I think a supervisor should recheck this work on the GFI box. I really didn't want to place a complaint on this company, but the ability to communicate with them had reached a point where I was too upset and it was affecting my recovery. Unless your company can rectify the situation as described in your two letters and phone conversation, please don't contact me. Prayers will continue to be said for a professional resolution. Update as of 8/19/2013: There was a handyman across the way today, so I called him over. He said he?d been here a year ago but was not an electrician. He briefly looked at the light and said, "I think that's the way it's supposed to be." I would still like someone official from Mr Handyman to come out and check the light, because it should not become discolored this soon. It should still be under warranty.
Description of Work: They purchased and installed a outdoor coach light, installed wireless doorbell, fixed and cleaned interior light fixture, used liquid electrical tape, installed GFI duplex outlet and GFI box.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
3.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$569

Response from Mr Handyman of Richmond
At the time of the service, the member was extremely pleased with the technician. She wrote comments on the invoice praising him, including: “Technician welcome to come back to my home.” And “Very courteous and did good work” and indicated she would recommend him to others. Right after he left, the member realized that the technician had inadvertently left with the key to her utility closet (a small lean-to attached to the back of her condo with no access to the main part of the home). The closet contained the electric box and water heater and our technician remembers seeing perhaps a couple of lawn chairs. The member called our office, and we apologized for the oversight and immediately sent the technician back. So, within 20 minutes of his departure, she had the key back and we thought the situation was fully resolved. She received verbal apologies from the operations manager, the technician and the company president. We did not realize she also wanted a fourth apology in writing and that would have been very easy for us to provide if we knew it was important to her. That night, the member decided to have ALL her locks rekeyed including her front and back door. That was her decision, but certainly not something we feel was reasonably required, and as such, it is not something that we would pay for. Our technician would not have had the time to make a copy of the key for later burglaries as she thinks he might have. He would have no reason to do so, just to get into her outdoor utility closet. Plus, he does not have any criminal background whatsoever and is not a drug user. The member explained to us that she has had “masked men” in her yard in the past and people “banging on” her door, causing her to call the police for assistance on several occasions and she explained that this was the cause of her concerns. We understand that she had some sort of difficulties with the locksmith, but we were not involved in that transaction. The member WAS given a receipt for the materials used on the day of service. She requested a more detailed itemization, which our office promptly sent her. We’re not sure what else we can do to please her here, as we have given her what she asked for already. Regarding her exterior outlet, we only knew it needed to be replaced because she TOLD us and she requested replacement. It appears she has forgotten about that. Covers for such outlets are a little difficult to open by design, as they need to snap shut against the outdoor elements when not in use. This is the first time we are hearing mention of any issue with “crookedness.” Any problems are promptly corrected, as we stand behind our work. (UPDATED NOTE: The member called us two days days after she wrote this report and said that her son was able to access the outlet and it is not in fact a problem.) The member requested that our technician supply a light fixture because she “hated” Lowes and Home Depot and outlined the numerous problems she had had with each store. He warned her that the brass fixture she wanted would be more expensive and offered a black one. She insisted on brass, which was fine with us, as we are just trying to please our clients. It is quite possible that she found the fixture cheaper on Amazon.com, as they often supply items at very discounted prices, but she did not choose to buy it from Amazon, and we did not have the option to wait for delivery, as she wanted the work done that day. Our clients are welcome to supply their own materials, or we can supply materials for them, whichever they prefer. We are easy to work with and flexible. We are not sure why she mentions her “ability to communicate” with us as a problem. To review: -She spoke with the operations manager on a Friday (the day of service). -She then left a message on Saturday night, saying she was upset and asking for a call back “asap.” -The company president made a special trip to the office on Sunday morning, called both the technician and the operations manager on their day off to get more information, and then called the member back at 11:04 am. The member was confused, saying “why are you calling me?” Apparently, she had forgotten she had called the night before. The member said she didn’t need to chat about the situation because the operations manager was already resolving her issue. - The member called back five minutes later and left a message demanding to know why someone had called her and woke her up at 11:04 am. - She then called back two minutes after that and was transferred to the company president’s private number, where she commenced yelling about “What kind of company calls people on Sunday?” (The answer: a company that cares so much about client satisfaction that they come in on Sunday, a day meant for rest, to respond.) The member also expressed annoyance that the operations manager didn’t work 7 days a week. - The member then spoke with the operations manager again on Tuesday (as the member had specified that was when she wanted a call, not Monday) - The member was sent a letter with all detailed information she wanted. - The next Saturday, the member called and left a message, - then called five minutes later and left another message, - then called back a half hour later and left another message, - and then called a fourth time an hour later, all with messages requesting a call on Monday morning. - As per her request, a message was left for her on Monday. She didn’t call back. - On Tuesday, she went on Angie’s List and wrote this report. - Due to the delay in reviews showing up, we weren’t made aware of the report until Wednesday evening. - On Wednesday night, she returned our Monday call by leaving a message at 9:45 pm - and then another at 10:12 pm. We will be sure to communicate further with the member in writing to prevent any additional confusion in resolving her concerns about the price of her light fixture and her locksmith charges. Update 8/26/13: One of our most senior technicians recently inspected the member’s light fixture at her request. She had just noticed that the metal on the fixture is soldered together, and she decided it was a defect. However, soldering is part of the factory manufacturing process for the light, so everything is as it should be. Additionally, because brass fixtures DO typically tarnish, tarnishing is not covered by any manufacturer's warranty.

Manuel R.
04/2013
2.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
I would have love to use Mr. Handyman services but unfortunately it did not happen. I called to inquire services for furniture assembly for my TV. stand with mount for my flat screen. The phone operator was courteous and professional informing me that they would assemble my furniture but would not mount my television due to liability issues. I thought that a company who is insured and bonded would have no problem tackling my service request. I will try my luck with another handymen suggested by Angie's list.
Description of Work: Furniture Assembly.
Rating CategoryRating out of 5

Response from Mr Handyman of Richmond
We are happy to hear that the member found our staff courteous and professional! Mr. Handyman strives to provide the highest level of service and quality to our clients. We invite the member to actually USE Mr. Handyman before writing a review, as we are certain that he would have a different opinion after such an experience. While Mr. Handyman performs many many services, we cannot guarantee that we are the best to perform EVERY job. Therefore, if a client has work that is beyond the scope of what we do, we must decline the work. We feel that it is unfair and mean spirited for a member to write a review like this. Just as it would be unreasonable to give your dermatologist a D for refusing to deliver your baby, we think it is unreasonable to give us a D just because we don't provide a particular service. No company can do everything. Our company president attempted to chat with the member about his concerns, and the member hung up on her.

Kathleen K.
03/2013
5.0
replacement windows
  + -1 more
They did a great job. Their price was reasonable.
Description of Work: I used Mr. Handyman of Richmond for installation of curtain rods and curtains.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$100

Response from Mr Handyman of Richmond
We're glad that you were pleased with Mr. Handyman and look forward to serving you again!

marc B.
03/2013
5.0
doors, drywall, handyman service
  + 1 more
Mr. Handyman was extremely responsive, punctual and professional. They did an excellent job on the screen door install and the small drywall repairs that were necessary in the house.
Description of Work: Install screen door and perform small drywall repairs.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$478

Response from Mr Handyman of Richmond
We're glad that you were pleased with Mr. Handyman and look forward to serving you again!

Angie K.
12/2012
5.0
handyman service, small appliance repair, wallpaper removal
  + 1 more
I've always been very very happy with the work they've done and their follow up. I always request Wes to come out. He's great as far giving me suggestions, too.
Description of Work: I've used them for about 3 or 4 year for various projects. He's repaired weather stripping on some doors, fixed towel bars, installed a garbage disposal, helped remove wallpaper, repaired sliders on shelves. Most recently he went around the house and checked (inside and out) for compromised spots where mice could get in and sealed and caulked them.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Justin K.
12/2012
5.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
They arrived on time and very professional both in the way they spoke to me and in the way they looked. They proceeded to do the work and left after showing me the completed product. A few days later, I looked at the vent they installed and noticed that dryer link was stuck on the inside of a screen that was part of the vent. After looking up online, I found they had installed an inlet vent rather than an exhaust vent. This caused link to get stuck on the inside and difficult, if not impossible, to remove. I contacted them and they were very happy to help and replaced the vent with a correct type at no additional charge. Their final price was expensive compared to other services, but they did a great job and were very professional.
Description of Work: Mr. Handyman ran metal duct from the existing downdraft vent port through my foundation.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
3.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$450

GARY K.
11/2012
5.0
gutter cleaning, handyman service, lighting
  + 1 more
Service and personnel were excellent from start to finish.
Description of Work: Gutters, yard waste, chandelier cleaning

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$150

Maria C.
10/2012
5.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
He showed up on time and did a wonderful job. He was very pleasant and professional. I would definitely use him again.
Description of Work: He put furniture together for me.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$80

Michelle S.
09/2012
5.0
electrician, gutter repair, handyman service, lighting, plumbing
  + 3 more
It turned out fine. It took 2-3 visits for them to finish the work but when they were here, they worked the entire time. I was happy with the work they did; they were very nice and efficient.
Description of Work: They replaced faucets in my home, installed lights, installed an access panel to my plumbing and they took care of a downspout that was causing the side of my wall to crumble.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Roger B.
06/2012
5.0
doors, handyman service
  + 0 more
Very well. Flexible in scheduling to meet our needs. Handyman arrived on time and spent about 4 hours to do the job. Finished project was of good quality. Work performed was done neatly with excellent clean up.
Description of Work: Removed four (4) old luan doors and installed 4 new solid six panel doors using existing door hardware

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$380

Contact information

4196B Innslake Dr, Glen Allen, VA 23060

http://www.mrhandyman.com

Service hours

Sunday:
Closed
Monday:
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday:
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday:
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday:
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday:
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday:
Closed

Licensing

Bonded

Insured

Licensed*

Trade License Number
2705184438

Eco-friendly Accreditations

LEED Accredited Professional
No
Energy Star Partner
No
EPA Lead-Safe Certified
Yes
Use Green Products or Work Practices
Yes
State Contractor License Requirements

All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

*Contact business to see additional licenses.


Service Categories

Handyman Services,
Doors,
Plumbing,
Drywall,
Finished Carpentry and Woodworking,
Electrical,
Lighting,
Unfinished Carpentry,
Interior Painting,
Decks and Porches,
Ceiling Fans,
Ceramic Tile

FAQ

Mr Handyman of Richmond is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM

Thursday: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM

Friday: 8:30 AM - 4:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

Mr Handyman of Richmond accepts the following forms of payment: Check,Discover,MasterCard,Visa
No, Mr Handyman of Richmond does not offer free project estimates.
Yes, Mr Handyman of Richmond offers eco-friendly accreditations.
No, Mr Handyman of Richmond does not offer a senior discount.
No, Mr Handyman of Richmond does not offer emergency services.
Yes, Mr Handyman of Richmond offers warranties.
Mr Handyman of Richmond offers the following services: Handyman, carpentry, windows, doors, wood rot, plumbing repairs & replacements, light fixture replacement, deck repairs, drywall, tile floor & backsplash, caulking, bathroom remodeling, masonry repairs, assembly, picture hanging, window treatment, fascia & soffit, flooring, cabinetry.
****IMPORTANT: Please contact by calling 804-270-7272 or by emailing Richmond@mrhandyman.com. Please do not attempt to contact through Angie's List messaging, as those emails sometimes do not actually arrive. If you do not hear from us within one business day, it is possible that your message was not received. In that event, please call us at 804-270-7272.

Contact information

4196B Innslake Dr, Glen Allen, VA 23060

http://www.mrhandyman.com

Service hours

Sunday:
Closed
Monday:
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday:
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday:
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday:
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday:
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday:
Closed