Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Expert Pool Restoration & Repair

Plaster, Pool Sales Construction and Installation, Pool and Spa Service,

About us

Family business of 15 years. Excellent provided. Billing also includes cash or money order. Senior discount up to 30% depending on the job.

Business highlights

26 years of trusted experience
Emergency Services Offered

Services we offer

Pool plastering, retile, decking, motors pumps, filters, heaters, pool maintenance weekly or one time, pool installation with design waterfalls, lights, etc

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount

10%

Emergency Services
Yes


Accepted payment methods

Check
PayPal

Reviews

3.86 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
67%
4
0%
3
0%
2
17%
1
17%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.8
value
4.8
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.2
punctuality
4.2
Showing 1-6 of 6 reviews

Jon E.
11/2018
1.0
decks, plastering, pool cleaners, swimming pools
  + 2 more
Joe does not stand behind his work or his word. Basically, he is not an honest guy. He promises the world and is short to deliver. Once he gets his money you will never hear back from him. I had a pool installed last year (2017) and have had multiple problems where I had to have other folks come out to fix his team’s poor work. When I text or call him, he says he will come out but never shows up. Joe came highly recommended from a person who I kind of knew. But when I start to research his company I should have listened to my gut. There is very little on the web for Joe and his company. When I went to submit my pool design to my HOA he gave my wife a pencil drawing of two circles and the materials being used. There was no 3D rendering like many of the professional companies. He said that was to save money. Right there I should have stopped and walked away. Unfortunately, I went with him and now must spend more money getting things fixed because he refuses to warranty his workmanship. I had to pay $510 to get all the leaks on the pumps fixed. His team never installed a backflow to the heat pump for the hot tub, so it is possible the chlorine has caused significant damage to it. I now have massive drainage issues because he did not install any tubes to allow for water to drain from the rain. He should have installed tubes or re-graded the area to allow for any water to flow away from the house. Now I have a huge lake that forms against the pool and the side of my house every time it rains. I must put a sump pump out every time it rains to prevent my house from getting flooded. The SOB says it was my builders fault. There was no issue until Joe installed the pool. Anytime I had a concern or complaint he would just dismiss the topic. The walk way around the pool is cracking because he did not use any steel to re-enforce the structure. Just put dirt in the hole and poured the concrete. I asked what about the steel and he said we didn't need it. The pool is now just a year old and there are all sorts of settling cracks forming on the walk way. There is so much stuff that I could say bad about Joe and his company, but I don't want to waste any more time with this individual. Avoid this company. Big promises and poor delivery
Description of Work: Installed a Pool

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
4.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0


Response from Expert Pool Restoration & Repair
This man is crazy everything was done to spec he has a beautiful pool he gets drunk at night and calls and text me because I think he never really wanted a pool but now has one he cannot post a bad picture of the beautiful pool we built him

Gina C.
08/2017
5.0
plastering
  + -1 more
Joe did an awesome job like always. Affordable and very helpful.
Description of Work: Changed poop pump

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Gina C.
08/2017
5.0
plastering
  + -1 more
Joe is an extremely trustworthy professional who charges the most reasonable price for the work involved. We only trust Joe and his company to work on our pool.
Description of Work: Joe and his crew have worked on our pool several times. He has replastered our pool, plugged a leak, fixed our pump, and cleaned our pool. He plastered our pool for about $3200.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,200

Tom W.
05/2017
2.0
plastering
  + -1 more
We purchased and provided the pool tile. They were concerned that it would not work too well on the curves of the pool, even though it was a swimming pool tile. After some debating, they came back and told us it would be an additional $400 for an "expert" tile installer to come and install this specific tile - bringing the cost per square foot of tile to about $11 - which is a lot for tile installation, since the tile installation cost was already figured into the original quote. This tile had hollow aluminum tiles combined with glass tiles. After installation, there were some of the glass tiles that were cracked and looked shattered from being cut. I would have imagined that an "Expert" installer would have stopped at the first damaged glass tile and figured out what he was doing wrong, and replaced the damaged glass tile before moving forward. This was not the case. In addition, some of the tiles next to each other - on the straight edge of the pool - were not flush with each other. Another issue was around the skimmer entrance. The tile was left with the edge of the cut tile exposed and filled with grout as you looked at it straight on. It looked like crap. When my wife confronted them with these issues, they were very condescending towards her and acted like she didn't know what she was talking about when she said that the skimmer area looked like crap, there were broken glass tiles installed and grouted over and the edges of the tiles next to each other were not flush with the pool edge. When I then came outside and asked them if THEY were happy with the way it looked, they asked me if I was happy. I again asked if THEY were happy with the way it looked. Would THEY be proud to show this job off and put their name on it? I then showed them a video on YOUTUBE showing our exact tile being cut with a wet saw. They laughed and actually said "Look how slow they are cutting those tiles, ha ha, it would take forever doing it that way." We paid for the tile to be cut correctly, not shattered - even if it took FOREVER. When the tiles were being installed, he used a hand-held circular saw and used the same blade to cut the aluminum tiles and the glass tiles. I suggested that he should have used 2 separate blades for the different tiles. I was told that the same expensive "diamond" blade is used to cut both tiles. I could not get them to understand that I meant that they should use 2 blades - even if they are the same type of blade - but not to use the blade that you just cut aluminum with to cut the glass. Use one blade to cut the glass and the other blade to cut the aluminum only. They then retiled the opening to the skimmer and regrouted it. About the tiles that were not flush, my wife suggested that they should have taped them down flat when they grouted them and to keep them taped flush until the grout dried. They looked at her like she was crazy and acted like they had never heard of taping tiles and, again, laughed at the idea. She then pulled up pictures from the internet of tiles being taped flush during grouting. They acted all perplexed at the pics. It turns out that the "Expert" tile installer that we paid an extra $400 for has over 20 years experience laying tile. I would say that that makes him an "experienced" tile installer, NOT AN EXPERT! I do not believe that an "Expert" tile installer would do the things that we saw this installer doing. I also believe an "Expert" would've stopped at the first glass tile shattering and would've figured out how to cut them without them shattering. Experience does not equal Expert. But wait, there's more: I told them that the only device I owned to clean my pool was a Dolphin pool vacuum. I was told not to use the Dolphin for 30 days, or it would leave path marks throughout the pool. They told me they would come the next day and hand vacuum the pool. They did not come the next day - which was a Thursday. I contacted them and was told they would come on Friday. NOT. Then I was told Monday. NOT. They texted Monday morning and said they would be here Tuesday. Again, NOT! The pool is filthy - there are leaves, debris from the regrouting and it looks horrible. The Pool does not look like we just had it refinished. It looks like crap. Another issue: When they removed the underwater light fixture during the replastering, they replaced it with a different screw. Now there is rust coming from the screw they used and it has stained the newly replastered area above the light. Seriously? Seriously! Please do not hire these dipshits! I warned you!
Description of Work: Pool needed replastered and new tile installed.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
5.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

$5,466

Response from Expert Pool Restoration & Repair
We informed this customer that the tile they order was not for a curved pool but they insisted that the company they purchased the tile from said it would work we did not want to install the tile but did at the customer's insistence we did the best we could and when we left they were happy okay we will no longer let the customers purchase the tile from outside sources we will only let them purchase from our brochures

CHARLOTTE H.
05/2017
5.0
plastering, pool cleaners
  + 0 more
Okay all you single ladies with pools needing repair (and maybe some of you good ole boys, too): We don’t need another “Little lady, have I got a deal for you” kind of pool repair company. We don’t need price gouging and we don’t need our pool reconstructed, we just need it fixed! I think this is who you are looking for: Expert Pool Restoration and Repair. Owner, Joe Villareal, is the real deal! He is smart and knows pools. He looked at my pool, knew exactly what needed to be done and gave me a price (VERY reasonable and lower than a couple of others) right off the bat. While other companies still had me on their “To Call List,” Joe had scheduled me for repairs and even started earlier than originally planned. All of his employees are top notch professionals, do wonderful work and are very polite —my dogs liked them, so I knew they had to be good. I was gone when a portion of the tile was replaced and just didn’t like the look of the new tile. Joe actually agreed with me and ordered new tile and was back to replace what I didn’t like with a smile on his face and the promised guarantee that I would be happy with all of my repairs. My pool looks gorgeous and we are ready for a fun summer of BBQ and pool parties. Joe Villareal and Expert Pool Restoration and Repair are the REAL deal! If you need anything for your pool, CALL Joe, the EXPERT, TODAY!
Description of Work: Pool resurfaced, water feature repair/replace.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Sebastian A.
06/2014
5.0
swimming pools
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: Resurface in ground plaster/concrete pool.. Very hard working, professional service ..

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,950

    Contact information

    356 Red Fern, San Antonio, TX 78264


    Service hours

    Sunday:
    Open All Day
    Monday:
    Open All Day
    Tuesday:
    Open All Day
    Wednesday:
    Open All Day
    Thursday:
    Open All Day
    Friday:
    Open All Day
    Saturday:
    Open All Day

    Licensing

    Bonded

    Insured
    State Contractor License Requirements

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

    *Contact business to see additional licenses.


    Service Categories

    Plaster,
    Pool Sales Construction and Installation,
    Pool and Spa Service,
    Decks and Porches,
    Fountains

    FAQ

    Expert Pool Restoration & Repair is currently rated 3.8 overall out of 5.

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    Expert Pool Restoration & Repair accepts the following forms of payment: Check,PayPal
    Yes, Expert Pool Restoration & Repair offers free project estimates.
    No, Expert Pool Restoration & Repair does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
    No, Expert Pool Restoration & Repair does not offer a senior discount.
    Yes, Expert Pool Restoration & Repair offers emergency services.
    Yes, Expert Pool Restoration & Repair offers warranties.
    Expert Pool Restoration & Repair offers the following services: Pool plastering, retile, decking, motors pumps, filters, heaters, pool maintenance weekly or one time, pool installation with design waterfalls, lights, etc

    Contact information

    356 Red Fern, San Antonio, TX 78264


    Service hours

    Sunday:
    Open All Day
    Monday:
    Open All Day
    Tuesday:
    Open All Day
    Wednesday:
    Open All Day
    Thursday:
    Open All Day
    Friday:
    Open All Day
    Saturday:
    Open All Day