When we started in 2006 from the spare room in our home, we knew we wanted to address the challenges of Central Texas soil and weather by treating employees like family and each lawn like our own. Now, with three branches across Central Texas, our growing team is still dedicated to helping ensure that folks from San Antonio to Waco have a green & weed-free lawn, healthy trees & shrubs, and fewer outdoor pests.
Business highlights
19 years of trusted experience
Se Habla Español
Eco Friendly
Services we offer
Soil & Turf Health
Replenish soil for a gorgeous & weed-free lawn you’ll love.
Weed Control
Bio-nutritional Fertilization
Liquid Aeration
Organic Topdressing
Grub Control
Disease Control
Tree & Shrub Health: More than curb appeal, we’ll fight for your beautiful hammock holders.
Deep Root Fertilization
Mulch & Rock Landscaping
Insect & Disease Control
Pest Management: Kick back on your patio and play in your lawn without Texas-sized pests.
Mosquito Control
Fly Reduction
Flea & Tick Control
When I moved into our new home over two years ago, the yard had not been properly maintained (understatement). There were what seemed like two dozen different types of weeds, bald patches and packed/concrete dirt. I don’t recall having any grass at all. I thought it would surely take 3-5 years before I would have a healthy lawn and definitely thought I would need to plant new grass. Luke, the owner, is big on education (if you’re like me and have tons of questions). He told me that my existing lawn would turn around within a year. I didn’t believe him – no way – there wasn’t any grass – only a field of weeds. To my pleasant surprise, within a few months I began seeing grass! They educated me that there would be a period where my yard would be yellow and look dead – the weeds were dying and then the grass would grow. They were right – I gave it time – watched the yard turn yellow and look dead – but then – a miracle happened – healthy grass began to take hold and grow! A full year later, my lawn is healthy, green grass and no fire ants. I love going into the back yard barefoot feeling the soft grass on my feet! This is my second year to use Emerald Lawns. I didn’t hesitate renewing my second annual services. For two years in a row, Emerald Lawns has provided these services: aeration, top dressing, aqua smart application, weed control, fertilizer, and fire ant control – also checked my sprinkler system and educated me on the proper watering cycle. The first year, Emerald Lawns came out more than the services I paid for – no extra charge – to apply what needed to be applied to make my yard healthy. Their fire ant services are amazing – guaranteed for a year! When I see a fire ant pop up, I email Luke and they are out to rid the yard of fire ants. I’m so happy to have found a wonderful company that provides exceptional customer service. I don’t know any other company where the owner helps guide the best solutions for my yard. I highly recommend Emerald Lawns! Thank you, Luke and the Emerald Lawns team, for a healthy lawn!
Description of Work: aeration, top dressing, aqua smart application, weed control, fertilizer, fire ant control, checked sprinkler system and provided education on the proper watering cycle
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$500
Jonathan J.
02/2016
3.0
lawn service, lawn treatment
+ 0 more
I contacted provided via Angie's list and was contacted within a reasonable time. Was not made aware of any times or days techs would perform work. After lawn treatment and waiting the prescribed days my lawn has patchy results. This says that they were not very thorough in the application. Called them to tell them my concerns and spoke with the manager who said I would be receiving another visit to resolve the spotty results. No second visit or if they did no improvement. For the 55 dollars I would have been better off buying the weed killer/fertilizer and doing it myself as I had done the year prior with better results. Bottom line I do not recommend them for lawn treatments. The aeration was also unannounced but I was home for this service. Tech was really friendly, fast and thorough. I would recommend them for this service. Overall a somewhat disappointing result given the reviews on Angie's list. Either the techs coming up to Killeen aren't on par with the others that service other areas or I've just had a bad experience.
Description of Work: Lawn treatment and aeration
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0
$165
Response from Emerald Lawns
Hello [Member Name Removed]. We only did one application early this February. It sounds like your sales person did not give you proper expectations as there is not going to be a whole lot happening that time of year especially only coming out once. Also if you were told someone would be coming out again to address your concerns than we dropped the ball on that as well. I'm very sorry this has happened. I'm having your Resolution Manager Aaron Carter give you a call and see what we need to do to rectify the situation until you're 100% satisfied. Luke Hawthorne
On appointment day, there was much initial confusion on whether they were able to flag sprinkler heads prior to aeration. It is their policy, I've learned, that the customer is to flag on sprinkler heads and covers. I think that a comprehensive lawncare company should have that capability. [They have a glossy four page brochure.] They did not. But then they said they would go get some flags and do it. That did little for my confidence level. So, we cancelled the service. Big sales pitch up front. Called consistently for a few days after providing us the free estimate. Also called to arrive four hours early, which I had not planned for.
Description of Work: We hired them to aerate and compost our very large lawn.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
$500
Mario C.
11/2015
1.0
lamp repair, lawn treatment
+ 0 more
After a few months of Emerald Lawns servicing my lawn, I did not notice any improvement in my grass, so I called them to get more information on what was being performed. They told me they would send a technician over to check it out. The next day I received a note on my door stating that weed killer was sprayed on my grass and that "it [my grass] will look worse before it gets better." This was done without my consent as I did not authorize use of the weed killer. A few days later I had considerably large areas of my grass turn yellow and brown. I called them to let them know about the damaged areas, and they did nothing about it. An Emerald Lawns customer retention specialist came to my home twice and agreed that not much was done to my lawn but persisted that I needed to pay $150 (despite my dissatisfaction with the service and damage to grass) for the work that was previously done in order to avoid collection notices. I was then told that after I pay my bill that they could then offer me discount services to improve my lawn. Really?! I reluctantly paid the $150 bill so my credit would not be ruined. I would not recommend their lawn services.
Description of Work: Emerald Lawns sprayed weed killer on areas of my lawn, without permission, and killed my grass.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$150
Response from Emerald Lawns
Hello [removed member name]. I am sorry for the trouble you are having with your lawn. When we started working on your lawn it consisted of a grassy weed called Bluestem. This is a thick and very difficult to control weed but given time we can get rid of it. You have enough Native Bermuda in your lawn that would fill in the areas occupied by the Bluestem but it would take some time as the Bluestem is very thick. We also communicated how important consistent and deep watering was in order to facilitate the filling in of Bermuda by both your technician and Chris the service manager who met you on the lawn. Even so every time we came out to check on your lawn this past Summer is was extremely dry. Grass will not grow(spread) without water and our products are not nearly effective either. I believe you have done the best you could considering you have no irrigation system but your lawn needed more than it was getting. Fertilization and weed control are the foundations of our service. If you had let us know at point of contact that you did not want us to use weed control on your lawn we would have told you without getting rid of the Bluestem there wasn't much we would be able to do to give you a nice lawn. I don't know what more we could have done for you, and I don't believe we did anything wrong. This being said I don't want you to think we are leaving you to figure out your lawn on your own. Chris's offer of continuing to service your lawn at a greatly reduced amount still stands. If you would like to call me personally here at the office I would be very happy to discuss with you and available options we offer to speed up the process of giving you a lawn such as sodding or seeding next Spring. 512-990-2199 Thank you, Luke Hawthorne- Owner
Pamela F.
11/2015
5.0
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, mulch
+ 2 more
I do my own lawn care and soil amendments on our one-acre lot using organic products and much research, but wanted to try top-dressing just once and to fill in some holes. Also, I had spread elemental sulfur on the yard in an attempt to reduce its alkalinity and thought aeration might help the sulfur penetrate more deeply. Initially, the team did not know aeration was scheduled. The team lead was very polite and called the salesperson to verify. They used multiple machines. The number of crew members was more than I expected but welcomed. Team was polite and thorough. Top-dressing was as I had hoped. Quality of the soil looked good. We'll see if any of the disadvantages of top-dressing arise this spring.
Description of Work: Aeration and top-dressing on approximately 28,000 square feet of lawn.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$2,800
Geoff W.
11/2015
5.0
lawn service, irrigation systems, lawn treatment
+ 1 more
I think the price ended up being higher than the deal price due to my yard being a bit larger -which is understandable I suppose. The crew did a good job though. In particular, I ended up not having time to mark my sprinkler heads and I told the crew. They said they would be extra careful and they were - no broken heads, so that was a success which would have been my fault if it had gone bad. 4.5/5 stars.
Description of Work: Aerated lawn
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$80
Krystal H.
10/2015
4.0
lawn service, lawn treatment
+ 0 more
I think they are fairly reasonable and some of the price doesn’t seem for the kind of care they give. The workers were fine.
Description of Work: I used Emerald Lawns for lawn maintenance and fungus prevention.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$50
William H.
10/2015
5.0
lawn service, lawn treatment
+ 0 more
Very pleased with their service. Grass now growing in previously bare areas.
Description of Work: Pre-emergent week control and fall fertilization.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$54.8
Ravindra G.
09/2015
1.0
lawn service, lawn treatment
+ 0 more
They were supposed to work on my lawn for 5 treatments in a year, the person who comes over to put fertilizer, tried to skip treating my backyard , i noticed and complained to Emerald Lawns, they said he is their best employee he won't do that, my mother who Is 60 year old , she noticed other time same guy was slipping away in his truck without treating the back yard, she had to run outside and asked him to treat the back yard, by the time my mother went inside the house and into back yard, this guy came sprayed and left in his truck. This company boast about being the best around and never accepts they have done mistake. They keep sending me bills to pay for the work they have never done.
Description of Work: They were supposed to work on my lawn for 5 treatments in a year, the person who comes over to put fertilizer, tried to skip treating my backyard , i noticed and complained to Emerald Lawns, they said he is their best employee he won't do that, my mother who Is 60 year old , she noticed other time same guy was slipping away in his truck without treating the back yard, she had to run outside and asked him to treat the back yard, by the time my mother went inside the house and into back yard, this guy came sprayed and left in his truck. This company boast about being the best around and never accepts they have done mistake. They keep sending me bills to pay for the work they have never done.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
3.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Response from Emerald Lawns
(Removed member name), I am very sorry you feel like we did not do the backyard. We use mostly granular applications so it would have been very easy for us to show you the proof of application not to mention any weeds that were present would have been wilted from the spot treat of the weeds. We guarantee all of our work so we offered to retreat the backyard and do your next application at no charge even with proof application was done. I would be happy to credit this application in question but you still have not paid for the application that was done before this one. How would you suggest I could have handled this more fairly? Luke Hawthorne- Owner
Pat U.
08/2015
3.0
lawn service, lawn treatment
+ 0 more
I bought a coupon off of Angies List for the lawn aeration service which was apparently a means for them to schedule a full work up of a client's yard. When I let them know I would only like the lawn aeration as purchased it seemed a bit more difficult to schedule the provider especially since they wanted me to only talk to the sales person that came out to my house. When they did come out, they did not tell me to prep my lawn w/ watering the night before like others have done. They also did a fairly shotty job overall. Normally I see the cores all over the place but I had to dig in the grass and really look for them. I don't think they did a good job and all.
Description of Work: Lawn aeration
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
5.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0
$65
Response from Emerald Lawns
Hello (Removed member name). I've been in contact with Angie's List but we do not service the Houston/Sugarland Market. Also I don't have a [member name removed] listed as a customer. Is it possible you might have gotten us confused with one of your local lawn care companies? Luke
Dan S.
08/2015
3.0
lawn service, lawn treatment
+ 0 more
My review is not really based on this particular treatment but the service over the past two years. Although my yard has shown improvement over the summer, it is still not looking like it should for the amount of money I'm spending. The winter weeds that I was told would be gone with the hotter summer weather are still showing up and the bermuda grass is not looking nearly as full and green as it did last year (and we used Emerald Lawns last year too and my lawn was in much worse shape to start last year versus this year). They have been responsive and have had managers come out to review the situation. Both times I was given a bunch of excuses about it either not being warm enough to kill the weeds or the wet weather is making it tough to control the situation. Granted both situations were true to a certain degree but this is their business and they need to adapt and possibly change their products or service with the changing weather conditions. I would probably give them a B overall for the past two years of service but get downgraded due to their lack of communication between customer service and accounting departments. I was told by a Service Manager that I would not have to pay my past due balance until the weeds were under control but accounting would not let the techs come out to treat the lawn until I paid off the balance. Once payment was received, they have been regularly treating the lawn again so I don't feel burned by them just frustrated by the lack of communication and excuses.
Description of Work: Applied a liquid fertilizer and spray treated weeds.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
3.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$53.58
Response from Emerald Lawns
Hello. I enjoyed talking to you this morning and I think we have your concerns taken care of both now and in the future. Let me know anytime you have a concern and I'll make sure you are taken care of. Luke Hawthorne- Owner
Brian P.
08/2015
5.0
lawn service, lawn treatment
+ 0 more
I have been using Emerald Lawns since March of 2014. I have had nothing but positive experiences with them, Buster who has been treating my lawn since day 1 does a excellent job. The company's lawn care products actually work to unlike other companies I have hired in the past. My grass has no weeds and is very green. They show up immediately as well when I call them to retreat certain areas of my lawn that require special attention. They are also very reasonably priced. I highly recommend Emerald Lawns!
Description of Work: Lawn Application every other month
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$38.97
C E B.
07/2015
4.0
lawn treatment
+ -1 more
We have a contract with them. They do it every two weeks. They do an excellent job.
Description of Work: Lawn Fertilization & Treatment. He did the mowing and edging of our back yard.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$25
Jeremy A.
07/2015
5.0
lawn treatment
+ -1 more
I've been using them for over a year and a half now since purchasing their coupon and they have taken great care of my lawn.
Description of Work: I bought the lawn aeration coupon and have had Emerald Lawns perform regular service on my lawn every since. No complaints.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$55
Kelly A.
07/2015
5.0
lawn treatment
+ -1 more
Oh my goodness, they were the nicest people ever! Definite superb customer service skills! The gentlemen that aerated my yard was so courteous, polite and educated about lawn care! I will definitely use their services again!
Description of Work: Emerald Lawns aerated my lawn as well as fertilizing and providing weed control .
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$75
John S.
07/2015
1.0
pest control, lawn service, lawn treatment, mulch
+ 2 more
I'm very unhappy with them. They have done fairly well on the grubs. I don't see them as much and I don't see the ants. So, that's a good thing. But, the weeds are still there, probably 80% of what they were when we started. The last time he was here, he put something on to address the weeds that is killing the grass. Scheduling has probably been the biggest issue and getting the monies worth.
Description of Work: The last time he was here, we mainly wanted him to work on weeds because the association was on our backs about replanting and resodding. I spoke about the trees as the trees are the problem. The roots are thick and the grass doesn't grow in the front. So that's what we got them for and also for the grubs.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
$160
Response from Emerald Lawns
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your concerns. We are and have been working on the weeds but you have requested that we only come out if we verbally speak to you. If we call the night before and we don't speak to you and you don't call us back we have to reschedule until the next time we are in the area. This means the free follow up service calls for weeds we set up for ourselves are not getting done in a timely fashion. Is it possible we could change your account to where it is ok to leave you a message and you can call us back if that day is not convenient for you? I feel like this would solve the weed and scheduling problem. As far as the weed control killing the grass our weed control will temporarily discolor the grass but it only lasts a week or 2 and unfortunately is a necessary evil in getting rid of the weeds. I'm happy to have a manager meet you on the lawn if you would like to discuss these issues in person. By the way the tech was scheduled to come out today to follow up on the weeds but was unable to reach you last night. He is trying to call you again right now. Luke Hawthorne
Jennifer S.
07/2015
5.0
lawn treatment
+ -1 more
Treatment took about 10-15 minutes. They did a good job, and we hired them to come quarterly to continue to treat our yard. There have been difficulties in scheduling, as we were left off the schedule once, and they would not call before they came which we said we required because of our dog. However, weeds are gone and our yard looks better.
Description of Work: Fertilized yard and treated for weeds.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0
$25
Troy G.
07/2015
5.0
lawn treatment
+ -1 more
Very prompt, arrived within 30 minutes of scheduled start time...was careful not to run over sprinklers.
Description of Work: Yard aeration.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$65
Jennifer G.
07/2015
5.0
lawn service, lawn treatment
+ 0 more
They arrived on time and did what they agreed to. No problems.
Description of Work: Aerated lawn
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$55
Joseph A.
06/2015
5.0
lawn service, lawn treatment
+ 0 more
Service was performed as expected
Description of Work: Lawn Aeration
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$75
Kay B.
06/2015
5.0
lawn service, lawn treatment
+ 0 more
We were pleased with the results! After a few days the grass started greening and looking better and the few weeds that we had were drying up. We were pleased with the service and would use them again. My only concern was that they did not inform me that they were coming. I looked out and saw a stranger in my front yard spraying the grass. I was concerned because rain was predicted, but he assured me that was not a problem with this type of application.
Description of Work: Applied fertilizer and spot treated for weeds and disease as needed.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$25
Paula C.
06/2015
5.0
lawn treatment
+ -1 more
In May, we called Emerald Lawn to come out and give us a quote to fertilize and treat our lawn. The technician was extremely knowledgeable and we signed up for their service. About a week later we received our first treatment and we were pleased. Then we arranged for them to aerate and top dress our lawn, we were told to flag our sprinkler heads, since the service people would be out to do the job on Monday, June 8th, between mid-morning and mid-afternoon. By 3pm, we decided to call the office to see if they were running late and we were informed that we had been left off the schedule and they wouldn't be coming. However, we were contacted by Ryean and he made arrangements to get a crew out to take care of us immediately. They did a great job and we would not hesitate to recommend them.
Description of Work: Made an appointment for lawn aeration and top dressing, then failed to show up. However, we were contacted by the provider and they rescheduled, offered to do whatever they could to make us happy customers and sent their service people right out to do the job.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$300
Response from Emerald Lawns
Hello (removed member name). I do not blame you for being upset. I'm having Ryean my topdressing manager call you this morning to take care of you and compensate you for your inconvenience. He should also be able to let you know when we can be out. Luke
Dawn R.
05/2015
5.0
lawn service, lawn treatment
+ 0 more
I called to make an appointment with them and they were courteous, professional, and efficient. They scheduled the Technician to measure my yard, diagnose create a treatment plan the next day. Shortly afterwards, a scheduler called me to arrange Service. I was able to get the date I needed and every detail discussed in my consultation was competed with the accuracy and professionalism.
Description of Work: Emerald Green Lawn provided lawn fertilization and weed control for both my front and back yards.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$25
Rebecca C.
05/2015
5.0
pest control, lawn service, irrigation systems
+ 1 more
We have a contract with them. They do really well and it shows when they are done.
Description of Work: Lawn and yard work. They fertilize and spray for pest and weeds.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$550
James C.
05/2015
5.0
lawn service, lawn treatment
+ 0 more
Very easy to deal with. Great feedback on what the lawn needs
Description of Work: Aeration and yearlong lawn care services
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.
*Contact business to see additional licenses.
Service Categories
Lawn Fertilization & Treatment,
Lawn and Yard Work,
Mulch and Topsoil,
Landscaping,
Lawn Irrigation,
Pest Control,
Lamp Repair
FAQ
Emerald Lawns is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.
Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Emerald Lawns accepts the following forms of payment: American Express,Check,Discover,MasterCard,Visa
No, Emerald Lawns does not offer emergency services.
No, Emerald Lawns does not offer warranties.
Emerald Lawns offers the following services: Soil & Turf Health
Replenish soil for a gorgeous & weed-free lawn you’ll love.
Weed Control
Bio-nutritional Fertilization
Liquid Aeration
Organic Topdressing
Grub Control
Disease Control
Tree & Shrub Health: More than curb appeal, we’ll fight for your beautiful hammock holders.
Deep Root Fertilization
Mulch & Rock Landscaping
Insect & Disease Control
Pest Management: Kick back on your patio and play in your lawn without Texas-sized pests.
Mosquito Control
Fly Reduction
Flea & Tick Control