We provide turf-grass, natural stone, seasoned oak firewood, mulch, gravel, decorative river rock, plus other landscaping
items. Delivery to the greater Fort Worth area is $45.00 per trip. We can also special order exotic grasses.
We were treated very nicely from start to end of our multiple transactions. We talked to the gal in the office on Thursday about some pricing on the dirt and grass for delivery. She explained everything in detail. We went in on Thursday evening to confirm the pricing and order the deliveries for the next week. We received the dirt and grass early in the day as requested. We liked the products so well we went back and bought more grass 2 days after delivery. The yard guy was great at helping and the gal in the office communicated well with him and us. We have recommended Ft. worth grass & stone to several neighbors. They are very friendly and treat home owners very well.
Description of Work: Provided 6 yards of dirt and 3 pallets of st. Augustine grass.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$750
Justin R.
06/2015
2.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
I have purchased the 600 sq ft pallets of grass on 2 seperate occassions. I am trying to sod about a half of an acre in parts. I am doing all the work myself and purchase pallets one at a time. I called in on a Monday and asked about paying ahead of time and reserving a pallet for Thursday pickup. Based on all the rain I was told to wait until Wednesday and call back. Gentleman that answered the phone is very short, rude and unprofessional. When I called back on Wednesday (as instructed), I was told that they would not have grass for a thursday pickup, as they had sold all of the grass for Thursday. I was told that they were trying to play catch up and that someone needed the sod. I assumed that the order was old and they were trying to fill it for good customer service. It was to my surprise when they told me that the order came in the day before. I explained my situation and the only answer I got was "Sorry". I may only buy 1 pallet at a time but I am needing 19 and my neighbor is needing any additional 20. I will not go back and will pay extra somewhere else to avoid the bad customer service and unprofessional nature of this company.
Description of Work: Provided bad customer service and is very unprofessional.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0
Chad H.
08/2014
3.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
Nice product, decent price. My only issue was that the online price showed the mossy boulders I bought to cost $150 a ton. Upon purchase, it was $175 a ton. The guy at the counter just said they had changed their prices and haven't been updated... Seemed like false advertisement to me. He didn't care at all not to honor the online price. His attitude was a bit sour to top it off. My project ended up costing an extra $100 due to their ignorance.
Description of Work: Purchased stone for river bed
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
3.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0
$800
Robert Z.
11/2013
5.0
landscaping, pavers, gravel
+ 0 more
Provided sod and stone. Delivered on time at a good price. Grass came in beautifully. After two weeks you couldn't tell it was a new lawn.
Description of Work: FORT WORTH GRASS AND STONE
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Barry P.
05/2013
1.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
I recently bought a pallet of grass from Fort Worth Grass and Stone. It arrived covered in snow mold (a fungus) and promptly turned brown and dried up withing 24 hours of putting it on the ground. I called to get it replaced or my money refunded. Phone calls weren't returned until I threatened to file on my card to dispute the transaction. The owner finally called back, told me that I was stupid, should get a clue, that he had too many problems to deal with one measly pallet of grass but would not pick up the faulty grass and would not refund my money. Do not ever use them for your yard. It was one of the worst customer service experiences I've ever had.
Description of Work: Provided St. Augustine sod for back yard.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$400
Response from FORT WORTH GRASS & STONE
To Whom It May Concern: In regards to the customer’s complaint, the mold that was on the pallet of St. Augustine we delivered was due to the rain at the farm the day before it was cut and the heat the next day. Snow mold happens just after a snowfall. We haven’t had snow in South Texas in a while. We told the customer that if he left the grass down and watered it properly the grass would grow. The customer did not follow our directions and only left it down one night and picked it up and placed it back on the pallet the next day. The grass turned brown and dried up. We recommend you only put fertilizer down after the second mowing. The customer even said when we delivered the grass it was very green in color. Right now we are short staffed. The owner, Jeff has to make all the deliveries due to the fact that this is our busy season, and also it was a holiday weekend. We were closed Monday. Jeff cannot always call the customer back right away but, he will call as soon as he gets a chance. However, Jeff did not call the customer stupid or that he needed to get a clue. Jeff explained to him that if he had in fact followed our directions the grass would have grown. He also indicated that he is making all the deliveries and this was the soonest he could get back to him. Jeff tried to educate the customer about fertilizing the grass and that sod can “shock” when you first lay it down, it will turn a bit brown and then green back up. When grass is brown it doesn’t mean it is dead. The customer failed to realize that. The customer stated that he was done with the conversation and Jeff said okay thank you have a great day. We tried to help the customer when we first heard of the mold on the pallet. If he would have left the sod down and still did not grow things might have been different. We try our hardest to please all of our customers and help them in any way we can. Some customers are very understanding and will follow our easy instructions, some people do not. If you need further assistance in this matter please call. Thank you, Carolyn Yates Fort Worth Grass & Stone P.817-232-0002
Heather W.
05/2013
3.0
landscaping, pavers, gravel
+ 0 more
The price of the sod was higher then what i was quoted and after a discussion, they did honor price, but did not seem pleased. When I returned the next day to bring back required pallet for return deposit, no one was available for instructions on where it needed placed. The owner pulled up, asked what I needed and took the pallet and tossed it on the ground. The professionalism needs improved.
Description of Work: I purchase sod from them.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
3.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$150
DALE C.
07/2006
5.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
The staff at Fort Worth Grass and Stone were extremely helpful. They loaded the pieces of sod in my car and helped explain how to get the sod to grow and the watering techniques. I would recommend this company to anyone looking for sod.
Description of Work: Called several Nurseries and Sod companies in the Fort Worth area for 18 pieces of sod. Fort Worth Grass and Stone was the only company in the metroplex that had available pieces of sod at very reasonable prices.
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.
*Contact business to see additional licenses.
Service Categories
Landscaping,
Stone and Gravel
FAQ
FORT WORTH GRASS & STONE is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.
Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
No, FORT WORTH GRASS & STONE does not offer free project estimates.
No, FORT WORTH GRASS & STONE does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
No, FORT WORTH GRASS & STONE does not offer a senior discount.
No, FORT WORTH GRASS & STONE does not offer emergency services.
No, FORT WORTH GRASS & STONE does not offer warranties.