Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Devil Dog Affordable Lawn Care

Basement Remodeling, Patios, Landscaping - Lighting,

About us

Family operated. Closed and out of business

Business highlights

18 years of trusted experience

Services we offer

Hardscapes, drainage control, mulching, decks and patios, sheds, site prep, barn restoration, fencing, select remodeling, yard restoration

Services we don't offer

mowing, snow removal

Reviews

1.04 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
0%
4
0%
3
0%
2
0%
1
100%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.5
value
2.5
professionalism
1.3
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
1.8
Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

Alexa B.
07/2013
1.0
basement remodeling
  + -1 more
Terrible contractors. They start a project and don't finish it ever. They were replacing our interior doors. Removed all the doors including bathroom and didn't put back on for 3 months. They were putting floor in the bathroom and left toilet in the bathtub for 3 weeks. Calling them is pointless because they don't answer the phone, they call you back when they feel like it. Don't let them do any painting your 5 years old will do a batter job. Bottom line they will quote you one thing but charge you another. Besides all they are racist.
Description of Work: Painting, flooring, railing on the deck , doors

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$6,500

Response from Devil Dog Affordable Lawn Care
Client denied us access to her home on multiple occassions making it impossible to complete the project on time. She demanded we only work at night on random days. Her home was absolutely filthy requiring crews to clean before they could do anything. She did not want any prep work before painting and was then upset that the same flaws that were there before we painted, were still there. She was verbally abusive to crews and was very difficult to understand due to English being her second language--this lead to multiple misunderstandings and the client thought we were racist because we just couldn't understand her screaming at us in another language. She called our home at all hours of the day and night--even once after midnight. She constantly added work to the original order then couldn't understand why it cost more even when she was clearly informed of the change. Her husband apologized for her behavior on multiple occassions and even stated that he "knows she is crazy". The client paid the bill in full then went to great lengths to trash our company online and with services such as Angies list and the bbb. The client was not charged for any services not rendered and was treated fairly throughout our association. The client had more than one bathroom in her house to use and was not inconvienced due to remodeling services. We ended our association with this client and want nothing further to do with her.

Holly S.
06/2013
1.0
remodeling, home remodeling, outdoor lighting
  + 1 more
It was a horrible experience. It was terrible. I would never recommend anybody calling them for anything unless you completely don't care. The sad part is I could have done what they did, I just didn't have the time, the energy. When you shake hands with someone and you give them a job. And they don't show up to do the work and he never shows up until the last day just to get it done and get out of the house and then my Dad had to come back and redo half of it. It was very frustrating. they left all the crap here that they used. Which was okay if it was something that was reusable but it wasn't. It was pieces of drywall that I can't throw away. I have to go take it to the dump, every six hours, wasting my time. His name was Ben Shaw. It started in January and it wasn't over until March. Plenty of times you get like a rough idea of what they were supposed to be doing. Basically what it was, was the bathroom that we had existing was fine but we put in a new shower because the shower broke and we said okay, we'll have to remodel it. And the hallways that you use to get to the bathroom I wanted to close it off and have an entrance from the bedroom into the bathroom instead. Install a hall closet, instead of our walkway, just have a closet and then change the closet that we have behind that wall into a walk in closet. So basically we just re-utilized the spacing. And they had to move a doorway over, they didn't frame it in correctly, the Spackle look horrible. I even had them paint the bedroom the bathroom so that everything looks updated and shiny and new. I have a 100 year old house so given that, that's okay, but when you put brand new drywall up you should see anything. And you could see Spackle marks, drip marks from the paint, they left crap on the floor, they ordered the wrong flooring when I very specifically gave them what we wanted, they had to rip that up and put new down. I asked them to make in the corner of my bathroom, he made to quote unquote fit and it was two inches shorter on each side and he had to cut the bottom off to get it in because he didn't plan for that. So it wasn't even what I wanted. He showed up with these ugly baskets that didn't even fit in the cabinet properly. It was horrible. He would argue with my father who has done remodeling his entire life especially of older homes that you have to do it up to code and when you are remodeling a home that is old there is no code unless you tear out the entire building and gut it you can't make the house up to code. It doesn't happen. And he argued with stuff with my Dad about it and he never finished the baseboard, he never finished the caulking, he never finished, when he painted the walls I told him to take all the fixtures off the light switches and everything and fix the plaster all the way up so you wouldn't see it when you put the light switches back on a couple of them we put in ourselves originally because we added a fan in the bathroom. They said that would all be considered when we do the wall and stuff, when we are patching the walls, well they didn't do that. They didn't paint the walls before they put in the medicine cabinet so when you open up the medicine cabinet you see the old paint that they didn't paint all the way to the edge. It's horrible. It's livable, it works. And then the last day they changed the price. You can't do that. They hired someone who came in and was sanding, they never taped off any of the doors in the rooms that they were sanding. I literally had a half of an inch of sand everywhere. On top of that I had had surgery which I didn't realize was going to be a debilitating as it was. I couldn't even sleep in my own bed because it was so disgusting and I had no physical energy to wash all the sheets and covers and everything to sleep. I was sleeping in my den. It was horrible. They told us it would take two or three weeks and they started on the 18th of January I think, they didn't get here until the 21st because something happened with them, having back problems, but it wasn't over until the first week in March. It was horrible. They did more work with his crew with him being here than they did in the five or six weeks that they were here.
Description of Work: Devil Dog Affordable Lawn Care were supposed to remodel a bathroom and hallway.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
3.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
4.0

$3,500

Response from Devil Dog Affordable Lawn Care
The client was clearly advised that multiple changes to the original work order would cost more money. She constantly interfered with work, allowed her young children to run wild through the work site, her home was filthy and littered with dirty clothes, and she was verbally abusive to crews. She was clearly told not to shower in the bathroom being remodeled but she did anyway and prevented the drywall mud from curing properly. Her father insisted on doing the rough plumbing and it was clearly not done to code which slowed our work down even more. The client had constant unrealistic requests regarding the work and was constantly complaining, yet she paid the bill in full and waited four months to complain about it. She chose not to level the bathroom floor and was clearly advised of how the new flooring would look on the unlevel floor, but complained about it anyway. One of our crew members, who was immediately fired, did fill her home with dust from sanding, but her home was throughly cleaned within 24 hours of the incident. The client was constantly indecisive and unclear about what she wanted and allowed crews to move a several hundred pound custom cabinet up a flight of stairs and get it in place before she complained that it was not what she wanted. The client was refunded the cost of the cabinet since she was not happy with it and it was left in place as per her request. I strongly recommend no other contractors do work for this client. She is unreasonable and demanding and very unclear about what she wants. And the interference from her father who clearly is unaware of the building code and proper remodeling procedures, made this job nothing but a set up for failure. Crews also witnessed the client being very verbally abusive to her young children and were uncomfotable being in the house when she was home. The client told us extensive details of her hemeroid surgery and her use of painkillers--none of which needed to be shared with us. We deeply regret doing business with this client and want nothing further to do with her or her father ever again.

christopher S.
04/2013
1.0
basement remodeling, patios
  + 0 more
Horrible!!....
Description of Work: Patio Reverse Gable Roof

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
3.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$7,000

Response from Devil Dog Affordable Lawn Care
[member name removed] voluntarily and without prompting paid his bill before work was completed then cancelled his check (illegal to do in the state of PA for services rendered) and proceeded to complain at length about work he was previously satisfied with. After involving a lawer we were paid and work was completed as written in his contract. [member name removed] stated he had sued other contractors in the past and that appears to be how he attempts to not pay his bills--by threatening to sue and cancelling checks. We do not recommend doing work for this individual.

Kathy-jo A.
01/2013
1.0
basement remodeling
  + -1 more
It appears I overpaid first of all, whether on purpose or due to their math errors. When they put the toilet back in, they cracked it and they did not cut the bolts off on it during installation. There are also screw holes in different spots in the wall that they left unfilled. There are by the banister that they installed and were not there previously, as they claim. They also broke an outside landscape light in the same area where they were working, which they also denied. They never put the bathroom door back up that they took down. I made 3 attempts for them to come out to do this. The first two attempts never happened due to running late, etc. The third attempt, the worker couldn't get in the door I'd left unlocked (because, again, they were running late and I had to get to work), so he just left the pins for the door on the back step. I ended up having to put the door back up myself only to learn that I can't close the door because it needs planed after the tile flooring was installed. When I called to check in about this, Ben was verbally abusive to me on the phone. In the same phone call, Ben called me a liar, too. When we first started making arrangements on 10/24, Ben asked me if I could put up the baseboard and chairrail myself to save me some money, which I had no means of doing. He told me that if I picked up the trim, he would put it up for me. Later, he denied having this conversation with me, but he went ahead and put the trim up as if that's what we'd arranged. I had them extra trim (that I purchased) left over that was lying around, but when I got home all of it was gone. When they gave me the final bill, they came uninvited and unannounced about 15 seconds after I pulled in the driveway. I had just painted the walls about a week before they came and I asked them to be careful so that I didn't have to go back through and repaint. This was after I noticed mastic from the tile on the wall. What they did, instead, was just wipe the mastic all over the wall rather than cleaning it off properly. They never cleaned up after themselves, left the driveway full of dirt, and never shut the door to the basement (so the dust was everywhere upstairs, too). He ended up putting a charge on my bill of $50 to deliver trim that I picked up. He said he had to pick up 3 pieces of trim for my closet and that was the reason for the charge, but when we discussed trim prior to the work being started, he knew he would have to pick up those three pieces and agreed not to charge me. He told me prior to that that if I picked up all of the trim myself, I could save about $50. He went back on that and ended up charging me the $50 anyways for 3 pieces. This, too, after he told me he wouldn't when I asked about the charge beforehand. There is also a piece of quarterrail that he did not get put up. He never came at a set time. When I would ask them to be here at certain times because I had to get to work and had things I wanted to go over with them, he was never, ever on time. He would send me a text first thing in the morning telling me he was running late at 8 am.
Description of Work: I hired them to redo my basement after it flooded. It took place over the course of a few months.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
3.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
1.0

$2,587.09

Response from Devil Dog Affordable Lawn Care
The member walked thru and examined all work with us upon completion. She had no complaints and then refused to pay her bill on time. All further communications and negotiations with her are thru our lawyer. We use the recognized national standard for pricing. The member was fairly treated in all aspects of our association.

    Contact information

    Out of Business, York, PA 17402


    Service hours

    Sunday:
    Closed
    Monday:
    Closed
    Tuesday:
    Closed
    Wednesday:
    Closed
    Thursday:
    Closed
    Friday:
    Closed
    Saturday:
    Closed

    Licensing

    Insured
    State Contractor License Requirements

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

    *Contact business to see additional licenses.


    Service Categories

    Basement Remodeling,
    Patios,
    Landscaping - Lighting,
    Kitchen and Bath Remodeling,
    General Remodeling,
    Pavers and Hardscaping,
    Drain Pipe Installation,
    Garage and Shed Building,
    Stone and Gravel,
    Mulch and Topsoil,
    Lighting,
    Leaf Removal

    FAQ

    Devil Dog Affordable Lawn Care is currently rated 1 overall out of 5.

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: Closed

    Tuesday: Closed

    Wednesday: Closed

    Thursday: Closed

    Friday: Closed

    Saturday: Closed

    No, Devil Dog Affordable Lawn Care does not offer free project estimates.
    No, Devil Dog Affordable Lawn Care does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
    No, Devil Dog Affordable Lawn Care does not offer a senior discount.
    No, Devil Dog Affordable Lawn Care does not offer emergency services.
    No, Devil Dog Affordable Lawn Care does not offer warranties.
    Devil Dog Affordable Lawn Care offers the following services: Hardscapes, drainage control, mulching, decks and patios, sheds, site prep, barn restoration, fencing, select remodeling, yard restoration
    mowing, snow removal

    Contact information

    Out of Business, York, PA 17402


    Service hours

    Sunday:
    Closed
    Monday:
    Closed
    Tuesday:
    Closed
    Wednesday:
    Closed
    Thursday:
    Closed
    Friday:
    Closed
    Saturday:
    Closed