Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

DIRT DOCTORS CLEANING SERVICES

House Cleaning, Pressure Washing, Property Management

About us

The Dirt Doctors started in 1994 with the idea that quality cleaning doesn't have to be expensive. We have kept that same philosophy today and have hundreds of satisfied clients. We provide commercial and residential cleaning as well as floor maintenance and power washing, We use only W-2 employees, except on some floor work and large one-time larger projects . We except pay by bank, checks, and cash. We do run special promotions from time to time on house cleaning and power washing jobs.

Business highlights

31 years of trusted experience

Services we offer

Commercial and Residential cleaning, power washing of decks, fences, patios, etc. and floor maintenance

Services we don't offer

Carpet cleaning, window cleaning, restaurant cleaning, wall washing

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Senior Discount

10%



Accepted payment methods

Check

Reviews

3.45 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
40%
4
0%
3
20%
2
40%
1
0%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.6
value
4.2
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
3.6
punctuality
3.2
Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

Lora R.
09/2017
2.0
house cleaning
  + -1 more
Throughout the five years we used this company, there were some red flags regarding the business practice of this company: 1) There were 4 times when Tim (owner) contacted me weeks after a cleaning to ask if I had left a check for certain day because it had gone "missing". The check was always somehow found, but it was puzzling to me how this could happen more than once. 2) There were 3 times that I was contacted because someone had forgotten to bring the key to get in our house, and cleaning times had to be modified. Two additional times, cleanings had to be rescheduled completely. 3) Our thermostats automatically turn the AC off when we are out of the house. I got a request from Tim that the house was too hot for cleaning, and I told him that I would set the AC to stay on for days that they were there because I agree that cleaning a hot house is not fun. I kept it at 72 which is where we keep it for us. Despite doing this, the employees would turn the thermostat down even further (to 70) without asking on days they cleaned. We have a nest thermostat and can monitor the temperature settings when out of the house. Over the last 2 years, we saw a significant decline in the quality of cleaning services. I was sweeping large amounts of dirt, food, and hair off of the floors immediately after having them cleaned. When I very politely emailed Tim and expressed my concerns, he agreed that one of his long-time employees wasn't working as hard as she used to, but he said "she won't quit and I'm having a hard time letting her go after 17 years" (direct quote). I thought this was an odd and unprofessional response, but he assured me that the cleanings would improve, and they did slightly. The next month, a bucket full of dirty water was spilled on a wool rug into dining room. When I returned home, I was able to sop 2 towels worth of water out of the rug. Within a day, my entire house began to smell like mold from the spill. When I (again very politely) requested that they cover a professional cleaning of the rug, Tim arranged a steam cleaner to come out the next day, but seemed annoyed and defensive about the request. The following month, I received an email stating that they were rearranging the cleaning schedule, and "will no longer have a spot to put me in" (direct quote). So, basically, I was fired as a client for asking for improvements on poor cleaning services and requesting repair of property damaged by the company. When reviewing security camera footage to investigate what was going on with the thermostat changes, I overheard the cleaners venting about how Tim doesn't give a crap about his employees and that all he cared about was having bodies to do the work for him so that he doesn't need to clean houses himself. I was in the process of finding a new company anyway, so I'm not at all upset that I was "fired". I would rather give my money to someone who is honest, knows know to run a business, and treats their employees well. (Pictures are examples of the dirty floors immediately after recent cleanings and the rug damaged by Dirt Doctors)
Description of Work: We used Dirt Doctors for bi-weekly general house cleanings for almost 5 years, so I feel that I can give a thoroughly representative review as a long-time customer.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
4.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
3.0


Response from DIRT DOCTORS CLEANING SERVICES
The reason for our departure from this client was a business decision, but she has turned this into a personal vendetta against me and our company. I will say that much of what she says is true, it is her point of view that is not accurate though. I really was going to avoid responding to this rant, but I can't just leave it out there without giving our point of view. 1. There were times when we had a fill-in person working for a sick team member and during the hecticness of the morning, the key was left at the office. And yes there were issues with checks as well. The way this client chose to pay was by leaving a check at her home for the team to pick up. During the process of the team member getting the check to our manager, sometimes checks were misplaced. It did seem to happen too often for this client I would agree with that! It doesn't happen with most of our other clients ever. 2. Every summer I send out an email asking our client's permission for our team members to lower the air conditioning temp while they are working. Everyone handles heat differently and the 2 ladies who cleaned for this client did not handle heat well. Also, when one is working/cleaning the temperature feels a lot warmer compared to when one is not working. 3. The idea that I don't treat my employees well is absurd. The 2 woman who cleaned for this client were with us for over 10 years and 15 years respectively. (The average person who works for our company has been with us around 5 years.) Also, why would I send out an email asking clients if we could turn down the air conditioning if I didn't care about my employees? The 2 woman may have been complaining about me, but it was probably because it was a hot day outside and they were cranky. Like I said, they didn't handle the heat well. We have a staff of almost 30 people and I haven't cleaned in the field on a regular basis for years. Not sure why they would make those comments as it makes no sense. 4. Regarding the rug - it was a plain bucket of water that spilled and the "green" floor cleaner that we use wasn't even added to it yet. Our team member thought she sopped up the majority of the water and told the client to contact me if there was a problem. She did send me an email and the next day we had the rug steam cleaned by our commercial division manager. The rug was fine after that. If you are reading this review and would like to speak to one of our other 90 residential clients, I would be happy to give you any of their names to call. We have been doing business for over 23 years and we do know what we are doing. This client did have some unusual circumstances and I can see why she may feel jaded. It is just a shame to put us on blast like this though!

Deborah S.
04/2016
5.0
pressure washing
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: residential cleaning. Very responsive and punctual.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$75

Barbara W.
04/2013
5.0
house cleaning
  + -1 more
The girl that cleans for me is very good. I can leave her alone and she does a great job. She takes her time and knows exactly what to do. I feel very comfortable with her. I even feel safe leaving the house when she's there.
Description of Work: They come twice a month. I've been using them for over a year.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$90

Laurie C.
04/2011
3.0
house cleaning
  + -1 more
The initial cleaning that they did was phenomenal. They arrived on time and did a wonderful job. They even straightened up our clutter (inevitable with 2 dogs and and a child under 2). The maintenance cleanings following the initial began to deteriorate. They didn't clean behind the toilet and stopped doing the high dusting. The ceiling fans had visible debris on them. I complained to the owner who said he would talk to the cleaning crew. They did do a better job on the floor but then left some work to be desired on the toilet cleaning itself. I'm continuing to use them until I find a competitive bid on the work. Overall they're still a big help but I think for the money you could probably find someone better.
Description of Work: Housekeeping services: dusting, floors, bathroom, kitchen, vacuuming.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
3.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
2.0

$90

Geoff H.
10/2009
2.0
house cleaning
  + -1 more
We have used Dirt Doctors several times now. The quality of cleaning was acceptable during the first few visits, but deteriorated *significantly* since then. The cleaning ladies generally do a rush job cleaning the house, and seem more preoccupied with leaving as fast as possible, than doing a good job. In other words, they do a "surface" cleaning and often leave visible dust b**** under beds and do not dust under things. I have also repeatedly asked them to mop the wood floors. They prefer to rush around with a vacuum cleaner, in order to leave early. The reason I decided to stay with the service initially, is that they consistently show up on the days they are scheduled (albeit often late) and we needed help keeping the house clean with a new baby. We previously had problems with another service which did not show up. The attitude of the cleaning ladies and the owner, Tim Maloney, leaves A LOT to be desired. We have complained to Tim repeatedly about lateness and attitude and he never apologized and simply made excuses for them. Look, we just want a cleaning service which is prompt, cleans well, and doesn't scowl every time they show up. Is that too much to ask? Today, they showed up an hour and a half late! No phone call, nothing -- you're just supposed to wait around for them until they show up. We contacted Tim, to find out what had happened, and he was rude in reply. I strongly recommend you do not use this cleaning service. They are rude to their customers and Tim cannot take constructive criticism.
Description of Work: Cleaning of the first and second floors of a 4 bedroom 3.5 bath house. At each cleaning they generally work on 2-3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. In order to clean the entire house they charge additional ($110-$125 total).

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
4.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
1.0

$90

Response from DIRT DOCTORS CLEANING SERVICES
This is the first time that I have seen this review from 2009. I do remember this particular client being very difficult to deal with. I told this client repeatedly that we cannot guarantee an exact arrival time because there are too many factors involved such as traffic and the time required to clean other homes. They just didn't seem to understand this. I will agree that the service did go down hill from the initial cleaning and an employee was fired around the time of this post for not performing to standards. 95% of our reviews are positive and I am sorry that I could not make this client happy!

    Contact information

    3517 SIMEN AVE, Pittsburgh, PA 15212

    http://www.dirtdoctorscleaning.com

    Service hours

    Monday:
    8:30 AM - 9:00 PM
    Tuesday:
    8:30 AM - 9:00 PM
    Wednesday:
    8:30 AM - 9:00 PM
    Thursday:
    8:30 AM - 9:00 PM
    Friday:
    8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

    Licensing

    Bonded

    Insured

    Eco-friendly Accreditations

    LEED Accredited Professional
    No
    Energy Star Partner
    No
    EPA Lead-Safe Certified
    No
    Use Green Products or Work Practices
    Yes
    State Contractor License Requirements

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

    *Contact business to see additional licenses.


    Service Categories

    House Cleaning,
    Pressure Washing,
    Property Management

    FAQ

    DIRT DOCTORS CLEANING SERVICES is currently rated 3.4 overall out of 5.

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM

    DIRT DOCTORS CLEANING SERVICES accepts the following forms of payment: Check
    Yes, DIRT DOCTORS CLEANING SERVICES offers free project estimates.
    Yes, DIRT DOCTORS CLEANING SERVICES offers eco-friendly accreditations.
    No, DIRT DOCTORS CLEANING SERVICES does not offer a senior discount.
    No, DIRT DOCTORS CLEANING SERVICES does not offer emergency services.
    No, DIRT DOCTORS CLEANING SERVICES does not offer warranties.
    DIRT DOCTORS CLEANING SERVICES offers the following services: Commercial and Residential cleaning, power washing of decks, fences, patios, etc. and floor maintenance
    Carpet cleaning, window cleaning, restaurant cleaning, wall washing

    Contact information

    3517 SIMEN AVE, Pittsburgh, PA 15212

    http://www.dirtdoctorscleaning.com

    Service hours

    Monday:
    8:30 AM - 9:00 PM
    Tuesday:
    8:30 AM - 9:00 PM
    Wednesday:
    8:30 AM - 9:00 PM
    Thursday:
    8:30 AM - 9:00 PM
    Friday:
    8:30 AM - 9:00 PM