Excellent work, nice repairman, explained what was necessary, cleaned up after job was finished.
Description of Work: Fixed water leak in toilet Flush valve.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$100
Cheri S.
04/2013
5.0
plumbing
+ -1 more
I was painting a spare bedroom and had gotten to the area where the radiators were. I could see they would have to be moved so I could paint behind them. So the guys moved them (each weighs about 80-100 lbs) so I could continue the work before asking them to replace them when I finish. The same day, I had them replace the faulty drain in the upstairs shower which had left a hole in the downstairs bath ceiling, They removed the bad wallboard from the ceiling and repaired the drain via that route. The two jobs took most of the day. They arrived on time and did not leave until I had a functioning heating system and bath. I left the hole in the bath roof for repair when I have them back to replace the radiators. They always do a great job for me, using the highest quality materials, so what they fix stays fixed for years. They have a person on call at all times for emergencies. They are just a customer-oriented business and I appreciate their professionalism immensely.
Description of Work: They removed old radiators from a bedroom so I could repairer the walls behind, replaced a leaking drain in the upstairs bathroom from the ceiling of the downstairs bathroom, discovered bird damage to the vent pipe. Radiators were not just removed, but temporary copper bypass pipes were welded in so my heating system could continue to function. They are the only plumbers I hire because they do such a thorough job. When it is done, it is done right.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$400
Jason R.
12/2012
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing
+ 0 more
It went great, he was punctual and got the job done quickly. He even gave advice in regards to keeping the line clear for the future, in hopes that things won't close as much as before.
Description of Work: The plumber helped clear our drain to the street, which every now and then gets backed up.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$150
Angela B.
08/2012
3.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
I went over and actually sat in their office and talked with the guy. We had a nice conversation. When we bought the house we didn’t know if the furnace had ever been inspected and so we had wanted the routine work done on it. He sent his son out to do the work, and his son did a really good job. When the son was leaving, I asked him whether I had to pay him right then and he told me that they always send a bill. I then asked him how much it was going to be. He said it would cost $80 for a service call, which is routine, plus I had to put a new thermostat in and he said that it was a $4 part. So, I felt the price was pretty good. I got the bill and it was $80 for the service call and $21 for the thermostat. I thought they made a mistake as the son had told me that it was only a $4 part, so I went on the internet and looked up the part to see how much it would cost me to go to a supply store and get it and it was $4 like the son had said, but they charged me $21 for it. I felt that they had made a mistake and I called up the old man and talked to him. I told him it was a $4 part and that his son also had told me it was a $4 part, but that he had charged me $21 for it. He got upset and he didn’t like me saying that he was charging me 5 times more than what the part cost. Finally, he said to me that the next time I wanted something done that I go buy the part, so this rubbed me the wrong way, about being charged $21 for a $4 part. The quality of the work was good and the furnace is working like a champ. The son seemed to have done a real conscientious job and he was also on-time, but I don’t think the father’s attitude was very professional.
Description of Work: I used the services of Geo W. Strevig & Sons Inc. to do a routine maintenance on the furnace and to have a new thermostat put in.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
1.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
$101
Response from Geo W Strevig & Sons Inc
I would like to start by thanking your for your business on August 6th, 2009 and the kind words concerning Scotty's work ethiic. Also glad to hear that your unit is running like a champ. However, all my techs do not discuss pricing because they do not deal with that aspect of our trade and are not up to date on this area. So if my son quoted $4.00 was wrong in doing so. Mark up on materials is a common business practice and our cost is more than 2 times of what she claims it it. We gaurantee the part for a year. I meant no disrespect when I told her she could buy the next one. A lot of customers prefer to supply there own parts. I regret she felt I got upset, however that is not the case. This situation happened 3 years prior to the post. Again I am truely sorry.
LeeAnn I.
06/2012
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
It seems that Angie's List needs to clarify this to avoid having a quality provider receive a bad review due to a misunderstanding - particularly since it was the positive reviews that we saw here that led to our contacting this provider. We are new members of Angies List, and this situation happened on another unrelated service we requested - no word from the provider As in this case, the providers had good reviews, I visited their web sites, and decided to request a quote through Angie's List. It seems it would be fair to this provider for both of our reviews to be removed, and hope that Angies List will do this.
Description of Work: This is not a full review but seeks to clarify the previous one. We appreciate the provider responding to clarify their position.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro
LeeAnn I.
06/2012
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Provider did not respond to our inquiry via Angie's List. We gave them 3 business days to respond by telephone, which we thought was more than fair. We found another provider that we recognized from positive Angie's List reviews and postcard mailings, telephoned them, and have scheduled the service we requested. Quality and Affordable HVAC services in Adams County seems to be an opportunity for companies that want to establish themselves in this area and industry.
Description of Work: Disappointed to have received no response to my inquiry on June 10, 2012. Found another provider.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
responsiveness
1.0
Response from Geo W Strevig & Sons Inc
We never received a request from Angie's List in regards to this work. We didn't know that we could get request for work through Angie's List. If we would of received anything we would of responded. Customer Service is #1 for us. I know we are listed on Angie's List, but we are not even a member. We have been contacted several times to be a member, but the member rates are to high.
Janis G.
12/2011
3.0
excavators, plumbing, drain pipe
+ 1 more
I would not recommend them. I needed to have it done within seven days and the company that I had been using was booked for the time that I needed to have the work done and was unavailable. Because of the time constraints I chose them because they were local. I think they knew I had a deadline so they charged higher. My company would have only charged $1,200 if they had been able to come out and do the job. The job stuck but their work ethic was horrible. I would not use them again. They had to stick a plow underground to get to the pipes so they had to move the soil. I thought they would put it back. They told me that I shouldn't put it back and that I should let the soil settle but it didn't settle. I had to put in at least $1,700 worth of topsoil and work into having my yard re-landscaped. It was just to have it leveled so I could mow it. They were wrong plus I couldn't be home when they were here. They broke a lamp and they came in and out with mud all over themselves so my entire foyer and steps going down to the plumbing had mud all over the walls and the carpet. I couldn't believe the lack of professionalism.
Description of Work: I used Strevig & Sons to do a plumbing service in my front yard for something underground that had gone wrong and they came out and repaired it. I had a pipe in the front yard that was leaking. They had to replace and repair the piping from the house to the public service unit.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
2.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0
$2,000
Response from Geo W Strevig & Sons Inc
To Whom it may concern in regards to the member: I wish I would have received a phone call regarding this matter, so I could have corrected any problems. Our records show this work was performed in November of 2009 not January 2011. It was a quoted job and the bill did not exceed the quoted price. The water main we replaced had leaked for several weeks. We had 2 days of rain prior to excavation. Raking and seeding and finish grading of lawn was listed as "by others" Customer satisfaction is #1 with us. However, I must know there was a problem in order to correct any issues.
Suanna M.
12/2011
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
They were very nice and seemed very knowledgeable. They answered all our questions. They have been in business for a very long time. They were very helpful, but also very pricey. The estimate was for $30,000. We did not use them.
Description of Work: We got an estimate from Geo W Strevig & Sons Inc. to install a cooling system in our sanctuary.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Janet L.
09/2010
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Do make sure you go over all the contracted items, so they and you understand everything that was agreed to. Have only one contact person for the communication. That makes it easier on them and on you. If something is important to you, talk to them. They are the experts and sometimes they were not forceful enough with their suggestions and reasons behind them. But overall, the company was professional, pleasant, and worked very well with us and our budget. They seemed very good at thinking "outside the box" to come up with cheaper solutions to complex and expensive problems. All houses are different, and they know that and work with you. I would definitely use them again.
Description of Work: This company gave us the low estimate of three, and helped us trouble shoot several problems to get to a lower price. They had good ideas on improving our central AC, without replacing the fairly new system that was poorly installed by someone else (5 years). They came up with good ideas on increasing our attic ventilation. They suggested and installed a new gas boiler for our furnace, which is also a tankless hot water heater. They were clean, professional workers. We had a few contracting issues, which were misunderstandings on both sides. When one of the attic fans they installed was making noise, they came out quickly after the call from us, and fixed the problem.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
5.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$7,000
George K.
11/2008
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Our furnaces pilot light would not turn on and it got really cold in our home. My wife called this company the next day and the owner called me at 7am morning and asked if we needed someone to come out right away. The technician was here within one hour and looked at my problem. The service person was neat and polite and the price was right. The service was excellent I would recommend them to anybody.
Description of Work: I had this company come out and fix my furnace because we were not getting heat.
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.
*Contact business to see additional licenses.
Service Categories
Heating and Air Conditioning,
Plumbing,
Drain Pipe Installation,
Excavating,
Wells and Pumps
FAQ
Geo W Strevig & Sons Inc is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.
Sunday: Closed
Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday: Closed
Geo W Strevig & Sons Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check,Discover,MasterCard,Visa
Yes, Geo W Strevig & Sons Inc offers free project estimates.
No, Geo W Strevig & Sons Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
No, Geo W Strevig & Sons Inc does not offer a senior discount.
Yes, Geo W Strevig & Sons Inc offers emergency services.
No, Geo W Strevig & Sons Inc does not offer warranties.
Geo W Strevig & Sons Inc offers the following services: Heating, air conditioning, and radiant heat, equipment, plumbing & pumps.