Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Chadds Ford Fireside Shop

Fireplaces

About us

Sales, installation, and service of most gas and wood burning fireplace (Hearth) products; gas and wood inserts, gas and wood fireplaces, gas and wood stoves, mantels, glass doors, screens, tool sets, miscellaneous parts, vented gas logs, custom designs and construction for most Hearth needs.

Business highlights

30 years of trusted experience

Services we offer

Gas and Wood Burning Fireplace Products Sales, Installation & Service.

Services we don't offer

Chimney Cleaning & Repairs.

Amenities

Warranties
Yes


Accepted payment methods

American Express
Check
Discover
MasterCard
Visa

Reviews

4.014 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
64%
4
7%
3
7%
2
0%
1
21%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.4
value
4.2
professionalism
3.8
responsiveness
3.7
punctuality
4.7
Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews

Steven C.
05/2015
1.0
fireplaces
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: Mishaps in assessing access to our roof, took several trips to complete the job, had to rent equipment that got stuck on and destroyed our front lawn, owner was completely unresponsive and took no accountability, finger pointing among employees. Only recently settled with their insurance company (6 months after the fact!). Would not recommend using!

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0

$7,100

Fred T.
12/2014
5.0
fireplaces
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: They installed a gas fireplace. |There were some problems with the installation, but they were resolved promptly.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$8,000

Larry F.
12/2014
3.0
fireplaces
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: We had an old wood burning stove and Harth removed and a new gas fireplace installed. It was a pretty big job. In the end, we were happy, but the road was very bumpy. | |Make sure you have everything from the disposal of debris to what happens if you need something extra installed included in your quote, because everything is a la carte. We had things on the final invoice that we thought were included in the work that was presented, but were add ons. Check your invoice from start to finish. The guys who they subcontract with do good work, but will add on things that should be included in the job, for an additional fee. Also, the owner is very condescending and combative. In the end, I needed to put some final touches on the project myself because I was unsure of what I would have been charged if I let them finish the work.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
3.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0

$9,000

Response from Chadds Ford Fireside Shop
Mr [members name removed] has a habit of assuming that everything he assumed should be included in his contract, even though we qualified all exclusions clearly, IN WRITING. Basically, he extorted us by holding back payment until we relented. His complaints are unfounded, and untrue. Even his wife backed us at the negotiation table for our final payment. We have been in business since 1995, and unfortunately we cannot satisfy this type of customer unless we give our blood.

Owen M.
12/2014
5.0
fireplaces
  + -1 more
.
Description of Work: Provided estimate for natural gas insert for wood stove, interaction professional and educational. store is nicely done with numerous working models of the products sold so a good place to help one make a decision. if we decide to go ahead with the insert we will use Chadds Ford Fireside Shop.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Robert A.
11/2014
5.0
fireplaces
  + -1 more
The quality of the stove is excellent. Top of the line. Price was in line with what we expected to pay and turn around time was acceptable. Only draw back was the installer emailed us to say he wasn't coming due to weather instead of calling. We don't check email over the weekend, so we ended up waiting around. Spoke to Eric and explained our disappointment. He fixed the problem to our satisfaction. I would use them again and check email more often.
Description of Work: Supply and install woodstove insert in our fireplace

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$5,000

Tracy M.
11/2014
1.0
fireplaces
  + -1 more
Don't ever do business with Chadds Ford Fireside Shop. I called to schedule to have them come out for a consultation on getting a fireplace insert installed. They informed me that it was $100 for the consult, which could be credited toward a purchase from them. They took a credit card number. A few days later, and still a few days before the scheduled consult, I called to cancel as I no longer needed their services. I had seen that my card had already been charged, so I asked for confirmation that it would be refunded. Instead, I was told that it was non-refundable "as it says on the sheet". Note, my appointment was made over the phone. I had seen no sheet. I asked to speak to the owner. When the owner, Eric, called me back, his rudeness was unlike anything I have previously encountered in a business transaction. He claimed to have emailed me information stating that the charge was non-refundable. When I pointed out that I had received no such email (and yes, I checked my spam and deleted emails folders,) he got loud and insisted it was sent. When I pointed out that he was charging me for services he had not rendered, he talked about getting the police involved. It was bizarre and beyond unprofessional. He then hung up on me. Needless to say, the charge is being disputed, but I'm letting you all know about it so that you can avoid going through the same experience.
Description of Work: What he didn't do is more to the point. He charged me for services he did not render and then tried to bully me for disputing the charge.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0

$106

Response from Chadds Ford Fireside Shop
To all who are reading this response, please know that we take customer service very seriously at Chadds Ford Fireside Shop, and always try to give excellent service. Our store policy is that if an appointment is scheduled, you do have an opportunity within the first 24 hours to cancel without any charge. If you cancel outside that time frame, you have the opportunity to reschedule, or use the charge in the store. When the appointment is booked, you are made aware of this. We then followup with an email confirming the appointment, and explaining the store policy. We did send an email to the email address that the customer's wife provided to us. We attempted to resolve this with the customer, and requested that he contact the store on the following Monday, in order to resolve this. Since the customer elected not to respond, we simply refunded his $106.00, in the essence of good faith. To date, we have had no response from this customer.

Ginger B.
09/2014
5.0
fireplaces
  + -1 more
We had Eric, the owner, come out to measure and discuss options with us regarding installing a new gas insert. Eric was very helpful and accommodating to our schedules and even went out of his way to come over on a Saturday evening to answer questions. We ended up going a different route and installing a real fireplace, but I would definitely recommend and use them in the future. The customer service was outstanding
Description of Work: Gas fireplace insert

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$100

YOLANDA P.
12/2013
5.0
fireplaces
  + -1 more
After checking several dealers in the area this was the best choice. Salesman in store was very knowledgeable. Installer did a great job. He was on time and knew how to best install in an older home Price was consistent with most places, not on the high side. Would recommend to anyone wanting to purchase a gas fire place.
Description of Work: Purchased gas fire place and had it installed

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,700

Susan R.
11/2013
5.0
fireplaces
  + -1 more
Installers arrived on time (a little early in fact) and handled unexpected issues that arose due to an outside provider (electrician) who failed to live up to promised service. Were extraordinarily professional and helpful. Would definitely recommend.
Description of Work: Sold and installed a new gas fireplace insert.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$4,000

Kathryn W.
11/2013
4.0
fireplaces
  + -1 more
I visited the showroom on 9/10/13, and made an appointment for Eric, the owner, to measure for custom fireplace doors. The showroom had a large selection of products, and I had a good idea of what I wanted. The first set of doors came in a month later, and the frame did not fit the fireplace. I was willing to accept that this was a manufacturing error, however, I DO think that Chadds Ford Fireplace Shop should have checked the items before scheduling the installation. Also, no one contacted me to give me an idea when I could expect the replacement product. I was not contacted until they were ready to install the second set of doors. The second set of doors were installed on November 22, 2013. I knew that there would be large mortar joints, because of the irregular sides of the fireplace opening. I did become concerned when I saw the doors in place, and the installer encouraged me to call Chadds Ford Fireplace and speak to the owner. Basically, the owner did not want to listen to my concerns; "you knew there would be gaps". He charged me $595 for installation, which in retrospect was expensive; one man was here for about 5 hours. Now that the doors are in, they do look nice. The mortar joints have dried, and blend with the existing mortar, although the color is a little light. I would say that Chadds Ford Fireplace provided an "A" product , but lacks good customer service skills--no follow-up call from the owner, even though he knew I had concerns. No follow up on the lead-time for the replacement doors. No apology for the long wait for the proper doors-- 2-1/2 months. Because of the delay, they could have offered a discount for a future purchase, but they did not. I will shop elsewhere for my fireplace tools.
Description of Work: Provided and installed custom fireplace doors for a small fireplace. Doors were a good quality product, and the installer tried to do a good, clean job. I give low marks for poor customer service. B minus overall.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
4.0

$1,500

Response from Chadds Ford Fireside Shop
As we all know, Retailers cannot satisfy everyone. In this case, the customer's version is not only blown out of proportion, it is false, except for the delay. The manufacturer fouled up the order, and acknowledged same. We kept the customer informed throughout, in writing. The pen is mightier than the sword, and we can back up the truth. Can she?

P H.
07/2013
5.0
fireplaces
  + -1 more
My experience with them was fine. We thought we had a problem with out fireplace but it was just us not understanding how it was used but they were very responsive and walked us through it and there was no problem, so it was a very good follow-up. They're responsive and give personal service.
Description of Work: I used Chadds Ford Fireside Shop because we thought we have a problem with our fireplace.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Ivan B.
01/2013
5.0
fireplaces
  + -1 more
Purchasing the fireplace insert was a fairly simple process. Once Eric took the measurements of our fireplace and ordered the insert, the unit took less than 1 month to arrive at the shop.
Description of Work: My husband and I purchased a wood-burning fireplace insert from Chadds Ford Fireside. Specifically, we purchased a Regency Classic I1200. The staff at the shop were very helpful in terms of giving us our options, especially since we have an irregularly small- sized fireplace. Also, Eric from the shop came to our home and took the measurements of the fireplace to ensure that we choose the right product.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,000

P H.
12/2012
5.0
fireplaces
  + -1 more
They were extremely helpful in choosing the right fireplace. Furthermore, they were professional, knowledgeable, and very responsive. They also did an excellent job with the custom work that was necessary for the fireplace to be installed.
Description of Work: We purchased a gas fireplace from them.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$6,800

Susan P.
11/2012
1.0
fireplaces
  + -1 more
After the installation, I could never get any help. They told me to go online and research it. After spending that much money I think they could have given me more help and come out to look at the problem.
Description of Work: This fireplace insert has never worked correctly. once installed I could never get anyone to come out and look at it, it was always my fault, "I was using the wrong type of wood" tho I used the same wood my neighbor does who heats a much larger house. Then I needed to hire his friend to clean the chimney. Aftertelling me what a great product Jotul was they don't carry the brand I purchased anymore which leadsme to believe there is something wrong w/ it. There customer service is horrible DO NOT buy anything from this company i

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
3.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0

$3,500

Response from Chadds Ford Fireside Shop
If you notice, this woman has had, and has used this unit for over three years. She refuses to accept that the wood she continually uses is not properly split, dry, seasoned hardwood only. We have never refused to discuss this with her, and our installer/service person has gone to her house to help show her how to use this appliance properly. There is nothing wrong with the appliance, just the operator. Nothing on the face of this earth can satisfy her. This is a bogus complaint! Just look at our Supermedia comments to get a good feel for our customer service. Chadds Ford Fireside Shop

    Contact information

    364 Wilmington West Chester Pike, Glen Mills, PA 19342

    chaddsfordfiresideshop.com

    Service hours

    Sunday:
    Closed
    Monday:
    Closed
    Tuesday:
    11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Wednesday:
    11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Thursday:
    11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Friday:
    11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Saturday:
    10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Licensing

    Insured

    Eco-friendly Accreditations

    LEED Accredited Professional
    No
    Energy Star Partner
    No
    EPA Lead-Safe Certified
    No
    Use Green Products or Work Practices
    Yes
    State Contractor License Requirements

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

    *Contact business to see additional licenses.


    Service Categories

    Fireplaces

    FAQ

    Chadds Ford Fireside Shop is currently rated 4 overall out of 5.

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: Closed

    Tuesday: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Chadds Ford Fireside Shop accepts the following forms of payment: American Express,Check,Discover,MasterCard,Visa
    No, Chadds Ford Fireside Shop does not offer free project estimates.
    Yes, Chadds Ford Fireside Shop offers eco-friendly accreditations.
    No, Chadds Ford Fireside Shop does not offer a senior discount.
    No, Chadds Ford Fireside Shop does not offer emergency services.
    Yes, Chadds Ford Fireside Shop offers warranties.
    Chadds Ford Fireside Shop offers the following services: Gas and Wood Burning Fireplace Products Sales, Installation & Service.
    Chimney Cleaning & Repairs.

    Contact information

    364 Wilmington West Chester Pike, Glen Mills, PA 19342

    chaddsfordfiresideshop.com

    Service hours

    Sunday:
    Closed
    Monday:
    Closed
    Tuesday:
    11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Wednesday:
    11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Thursday:
    11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Friday:
    11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Saturday:
    10:00 AM - 5:00 PM