Four Locations - Doylestown, Pa. -- Whitehall, Pa. --- Churchville, Pa. --- Southampton, Pa. -- Since 1955, Tom Adams has replaced and installed windows, doors, siding, patio doors, retractable awnings, decking and roofing, as well as enlarged openings, so small window areas can now be patio sliding doors. We also sell and install all types of flooring: residential and commercial - carpet, hardwood, ceramic tile, vinyl, laminate, cork and sheet vinyl. Our knowledgeable sales representatives and expert installers will help you beautify your home. Call us today for a free in-home estimate and remember...Nobody beats our Price.
I purchased replacement window from their warehouse. Their salesman told me the windows had a 10 warranty on the windows. However, when one of the window had a crack on the inside of the window they refused to honor the sash replacement with out be paid a service charge to replace what is clearly a manufacturer defect. I purchased the window year ago clearly with the ten year warranty. I have installed windows for 35+ years would not recommend this company.
Description of Work: Replacement window
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
3.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
2.0
Stephen B.
12/2018
5.0
replacement windows
 + -1 more
We have used Ton Adams twice to install windows. Our interactions leading up to installation were positive. Expect to wait for an installation date though. It did take a while to get dates on the calendar both times. The crew lead by Jay is awesome, and we requested them multiple times. They are professional, friendly and personable. They took the time to do the installation correctly, and they also took the time to talk to us about issues or info about the windows. There were a couple minor issues. One involved a delivered screen that was not the right size. The other involved a broken piece of one window. Both issues were addressed professionally and fixed in a reasonable amount of time. As mentioned it can take some time to get things scheduled.
Description of Work: Windows for entire house
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$14,000
Response from TOM ADAMS Windows and Carpets
Thank you for your review- These past months have been a challenge in scheduling installations, because of the rainy days (more than normal) and early snow. We lost 11 working days in which our many crews had to work during the weekends to catch up. Thank you for your patience and please accept our apology, we are working hard to make changes in our system, in order to communicate faster and more efficiently with our customers. I am delighted that we have met you expectations in the high quality of workmanship that our customers have grown to expect from Tom Adams Windows and Carpets, in our 60 years of business. Your lifetime labor warranty and manufacturer's lifetime window and glass breakage is an excellent peace of mind warranty against any future incidents or accidents. If we can help you in any way or be of any further service... please call us. Thank you again Robert Barufkin, Sales Manager Tom Adams Windows and Carpets
Bill F.
08/2017
3.0
replacement windows, doors
 + 0 more
many problems........... Still having issues with both windows & patio door after 6 service calls. When purchased thought we were buying the top of the line "PARK AVE" model from Thermal Ind. The sales person seemed very professional & liked the fact Tom Adams has a physical showroom & longtime business. In the past found they were high priced, but then they had a sale on this brand & were able to get what was believed top of the line features. But many of the issues seem to be with poor installation as follows: - Day after install found a gap so big on window sash weatherstripping that I could see daylight thru it. Got service person out in a few days who said it wasn't installed correctly, needed a part he didn't have to correct. IT TOOK THEM 6 WEEKS TO RETURN & CORRECT! - Then found sliding glass door had a rubbing noise when open & closing. Put in another service call. But, that tech only put on lubricant that only had a temporary fix. _So complained again about noise + now had another window issue with locking latch. When that service tech came out found he needed to order a latch part + noticed that sash was warped & would order that also. Tried to fix patio door, said he understood problem, but had to return another time with 2nd tech to fix. - When they returned , 2 men spent a lot of time here, but only got the window latch replaced. The rest of their 2 hours was wasted. The new sash brought was worse that the first. The patio door doesn't make the noise anymore but their adjustment causes the screen to scape away at the door frame. - Still waiting for them to return to make fixes & now including new issue with the special patio door deadbolt lock feature.
Description of Work: Ordered (6) windows & (1) patio door in Fall of 2016.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
5.0
Dale C.
06/2017
5.0
garage doors, doors
 + 0 more
Work was done in a timely fashion, was excellent in quality and at a fair price.
Description of Work: Sliding door replaced and garage doors and garage frame repaired.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
03/2017
1.0
replacement windows
 + -1 more
They did a terrible job. They installed windows without putting any insulation in the opening between the window and opening. They caulk the inside but it cracked after one year. They came out and said it was the wrong caulk. The put straps of vinyl on but windows still leak a of air. They also did a terrible job on the trim on out but they did fix the outside looks OK. Do your self a favor and DON'T USE TOM ADAMS FOR WINDOWS
Description of Work: Replace windows
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
3.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
1.0
$300
Response from TOM ADAMS Windows and Carpets
I tried to look you up in our system. But without a name, it was challenging. We looked up the house and found where we did an installation in Nov. 2011 - We came out a couple of months later and recapped the outside of 3 windows because they were not aesthetically pleasing. But we never received a service call from this home since our original installation, in regards to air leaking. If you have air leaking from our windows, please call the service department. If you are the original owner, you have a lifetime labor warranty and we would like the opportunity to make sure you windows operate properly.
Dale C.
12/2016
5.0
doors
 + -1 more
I already have the door. I would use them in the future.
Description of Work: They also replaced the sliding door and a glass in one of my windows for me.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$200
Gary G.
06/2016
2.0
doors
 + -1 more
They do not have their own installers. A sub contractor shows up about 10 am. A late start in my opinion. The contractor was not aware that the kick plates and threshold wood was to be replaced. He was trying to use old busted up particle board as filler material which is where the door was to be screwed into. He disappeared for 2 hours "to get materials" so they said. Tom Adams is more like Don Adams on Get Smart. Good price is not always to go. We learned that on this job
Description of Work: Installed two entry doors,one with screen door.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
4.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
2.0
$5,000
Stephanie R.
04/2016
5.0
glass repair, replacement windows, doors
 + 1 more
No problems. Courteous, on time, Ken Lange was great to work with, and he sent the same crew.
Description of Work: Install 2 dining room windows at townhouse before sale, and installed custom storm door and build-out for new home. In November, (price not in above costs) new sliding glass door purchased and installed as a rush before home went on Market. Ken Lange was fabulous to deal with and "made it happen" under our short time constraints.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$5,000
Response from TOM ADAMS Windows and Carpets
[Member Name Removed], Thank you very much for your compliments about your project and our sales associate Ken. I am delighted that we were able to meet all time constraints and meet all expectations to the job. We are very proud of Ken Lange, he is experienced in our industry and quickly understands the needs of his customers, while suggesting products and work needed to match their vision for their project. If we can be of any further help, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Let me start off by saying all was great up until the time of install. Spent almost $4000 on carpet and vinyl floors that were priced higher than competition thinking I would receive better service. In actuality here is what I received: 1) Scratched vinyl flooring. Not a few scratches - over 40. 2) Marks all over my freshly painted walls and ceilings when carrying in product. 3) Workers walking up and down my brand new carpeted stairs with dirty boots. 4) Replacement of scratched planks after 10 day wait and on reinstall left areas of spacing and flooring color that now lacks cohesiveness. 5) No extra flooring that was leftover in the boxes that I paid for. 6) A really dirty vinyl floor that has scuff marks from dirty boots. 7) An apology after I had to ask for one. Key Takeway: I overpaid and was underserved. Overall not a great experience and would not use again.
Description of Work: Installed carpeting and vinyl flooring.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
4.0
$4,000
Response from TOM ADAMS Windows and Carpets
[Member Name Removed], [Member Name Removed], First of all, we sold all products and installations of your job to your builder... not to you directly. I do not know what price was given to you, because we sold the builder, but I do know that builder is very competitive in regards to pricing and does excellent work. Please see the answer to your questions below. 1) When we were informed of the scratches that were in the floor, we inspected your floor and agreed and ordered more of your vinyl tile material from the factory (which is the reason it took 10 days) at no cost 2) We replaced all damaged material and cleaned up any scuff marks on the wall and floor that were created when the large boxes of material touched the walls - we also had your builder paint and touch up any marks that we could not clean off that did not meet your approval. 3) In regards to the carpet or vinyl, if the carpet or vinyl needs cleaning because of a worker, then we will send a professional carpet cleaning company out to clean those issues, if we caused them. 4) In regards to the statement of spacing and flooring color lacks cohesiveness, please let my service specialist inspect and fix that area to make it better for you- The last time you signed off that everything looked good, but if it doesn't, then let us make it correct. 5) We installed all your material that was ordered, there was none left over, which is one of the reasons we had to order all new material to replace the scratched boards. We never order extra material for a job, unless the customer asks for it. Most customers to not want to pay for material not being installed. You were charged for only the material to complete the job, there was none left over. So when you say " No extra flooring leftover in boxes that you paid for" that's a good thing 6)In regards to the carpet or vinyl, if the carpet or vinyl needs cleaning because of a worker, the we will send a professional carpet cleaning company out to clean those issues, if we caused them. Our service teams carry booties for their feet to eliminate this mishap of dirty shoes, so I do not know why it happened, As you can tell, we do not underserve or overprice our clients. Sometimes things happen or expectations are not met. We are always willing to do what is possible, if we missed you expectations on the job. Tom Adams Windows and Carpets also have a " No One Beats Our Price Guarantee", so I know that we are very competitive to other retailers. My name is Robert Barufkin and please e-mail me at salesmanager@tomadamswc.com or call my office number at 215-357-7000 ext. #138- so I can make arrangements for these issues that you want to have rectified. Thank you
Kristine B.
03/2016
4.0
replacement windows, doors
 + 0 more
Aside from some hiccups in the scheduling the overall installation was great.
Description of Work: Installed new double doors & sidelights on front pf home
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$10,000
William L.
03/2016
5.0
flooring contractor, roofing, siding, replacement windows
 + 2 more
Contractor properly diagnosed the problem and corrective action. Price was 40% lower than the next lowest bidder. Some cost reductions were due to reduced scope in comparison of the bids. The higher bidders proposed to replace more of the vinyl siding then proved to be unnecessary. Another bidder was only interested in upselling high-grade windows for the whole house. Tom Adams Windows and Carpets performed this work better and smarter than their competition. It's always tough to take on a $6,000 repair, but I am so glad we found them because the next guy was charging a lot more and doing work we didn't need. It took longer than initially planned between contracting and completion of the work due to a long lead time from the supplier to manufacture the custom-sized 6 ft semi-circle window. The office contacted me early in the process to let me know that the work would likely take place in February instead of January as earlier planned; disappointing of course, but good communication. When it came time to do the work, Wayne and John were on schedule, extremely professional and highly competent. The job was estimated to take two days and was completed in a day and a half. Cleanup was thorough at the end of the job, and no issues on that end working inside the house. Highly recommend.
Description of Work: Replaced five (5) windows and repaired exterior leaks, repaired flashing, water-damaged boards, aluminum covers, and vinyl siding as needed. Two windows were lower level, two windows upper level, plus a 6' semi-circle window above the upper windows. As part of the repair/replacement they also recommended an improved design element to prevent future problems.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$6,000
Response from TOM ADAMS Windows and Carpets
Dear Mr. [Member Name Removed], Tom Adams works hard to communicate with our customers the scope of work and time frames. I am delighted, but not surprised that we met our obligations with superior workmanship and good communication. Our 61 years in the home improvement industry and taught us to be honest, upfront and caring to our customers and their homes. We are not here to sell you products that do not upgrade the value of your home or sell services that do make your home more superior than when we started. Please pass this message to all of your neighbors and friends. If we can be of any further service, just call us. Thank you for your business and trust.
JUDY M.
10/2015
5.0
flooring contractor, hardwood floor, replacement windows
 + 1 more
I had started with another flooring company, but was not comfortable with them doing the job. I then went to Tom Adams, because they had done other work in my home, I forgot they did flooring too! They were not only less expensive, they were willing to work with me on the moulding I wanted to install, (I had a section under my cabinets that required flexible moulding) I ordered it, and stained it, and they installed it for me as part of the job. The guys who came out were careful in moving my appliances not to damage my hardwood floors, and were efficient and meticulous in their work. I'd definitely recommend them.
Description of Work: New Kitchen floor and underlayment
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$850
Response from TOM ADAMS Windows and Carpets
Judye- Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted everything worked out especially the special molding that you and I discussed when you were at the showroom. If we can be of any help in future projects- please do not hesitate to contact us. Robert Barufkin, Sales Manager
Gary G.
10/2015
5.0
doors, glass repair, replacement windows
 + 1 more
Shopped at Home Depot, Lowe's, Champion and some local dealers. While the price was good the reviews and complaints were horrible. I only want to pay for this once. Consumer Reports rated the Provia door the best. Yes it's expensive but quality doesn't come cheap. My contact person at Tom Adams was Rick Schmidt. Very knowledgeable he offered suggestions that made this an easy buying experience. All of this means nothing unless the installers know what they're doing.. It took them 6 hours in the heat to install the new door. This included the removal and the reinstall of the Provia storm door. Overall I was very happy with the service provided by Tom Adams. Three months later I had an issue with the storm door (that they reinstalled) and a minor problem with the new front door. I called the store and they promptly scheduled to have it fixed. This is good service after the sale. I'm a satisfied customer and would recommend them.
Description of Work: Install a new Provia fiberglass front door
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,500
Earl M.
09/2015
5.0
replacement windows
 + -1 more
The planning , ordering, and installation were excellent. While waiting for the windows to come in, we were kept up to date with the status of our order which was appreciated. The installers showed up on time, were very neat in their work, and seemed to progress very efficiently. Towards the end of the installation day, our salesman stopped in and answered any questions we had. We do have an issue with our picture window which is not the fault of Tom Adams but rather a factory issue. As this is getting resolved, Tom Adams has been very supportive and we are sure it will be taken care of in the near future.
Description of Work: replaced all windows in home with energex elite double hung windows
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$10,000
Michael D.
08/2015
5.0
doors, replacement windows
 + 0 more
The installer came on-time and had our old door out in less than an hour. The new door install was a little longer, with the trim portion lasting the longest. They don't finish paint the trim, but they explained that to us when we ordered the door. Everything from ordering to install went very smooth. The one thing I wasn't fond of is that you have to negotiate the best price. This seems consistent within the industry, but took several phone calls back and forth between several providers to come to something that worked out for all. Don't let that be a damper though, it was a great experience with Tom Adams!
Description of Work: Furnished and installed a new rear door slider for our back deck
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$2,700
Response from TOM ADAMS Windows and Carpets
Thank you for your kind words- I am glad we met your expectations and my sales team was up front in explaining that we do not paint or stain ( Our installation team are not painters- they are certified and trained for new construction or replacement installation only) In reference to pricing we always strife to be the most competitive in pricing but many homeowners believe all windows and doors are the same - that is furthest from the truth along with all installation is the same- Again that is incorrect. You pay for what you get - Our installers are all trained and factory certified to give us a beautiful and efficient installation that last a lifetime along with our exclusive labor warranty- We always have a No ONE BEATS OUR PRICE GUARANTEE - which keeps everyone honest in installing the same products. I am delighted you are happy with the final product installed
Matthew E.
07/2015
2.0
replacement windows
 + -1 more
The entire process up until the point of sale was promising. The sales associate communicated promptly and did not "hard sell" us on the product. The reason that the rating is so slow is because throughout the process we continued to reinforce the importance of lifetime warranty on parts and labor (the norm for replacement windows). We were assured that this was exactly what Tom Adams offered and we would also be provided documentation at the time of contract signing. Our sales associated referenced throughout the duration of our inquiries that he had been working for Tom Adams for 10+ years and 20+ years in the business however upon further review of the contract the lifetime warranty on labor is not something offered by Tom Adams. In fact compared to every other window replacement company we contacted for quotes they are the only one that did not offer such a warranty. The struggle only continued as I questioned what the sales associate had been communicating to us for 4 months vs. what was contained in the paperwork and was brushed aside with a response that there could be no confusion since it is documented. I was concerned in the beginning based on the unusually lower rating on AL and this deceptive sales approach reinforced why. There are many replacement window manufacturers I would shop elsewhere.
Description of Work: Tom Adams quoted a price for a whole home installation of replacement windows.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Angela P.
05/2015
4.0
doors, replacement windows
 + 0 more
From the time that I received a quote until the door was installed, the service was pleasant and my new front door looks great. My sales rep was Joe and Chris did the installation. I would recommend this company. As a matter of fact, I'm ordering another door next week!
Description of Work: Installed new front door.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
3.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,400
Response from TOM ADAMS Windows and Carpets
[Member name removed], thank you for your kind words- I am glad to hear of your satisfaction. I see you rated us an "A" in all categories but a "C" in pricing. As you know we are very competitively priced with a NO ONE BEATS OUR PRICE GUARANTEE - Our Provia Doors cost more than big box doors, but the quality, value, benefit, appearance and warranties are so much superior than the competitions- that the lifecycle cost of our doors are less then big box doors- this is surely the last door purchase for that opening in your home. Thank you again for being a customer if we can be of any further assistance-please call Joe or myself. Robert Barufkin, Sales Manager Tom Adams windows and Carpets -
Joseph O.
04/2015
5.0
flooring contractor
 + -1 more
He is very good. Top notch. They were on time and kept to their commitments. Workers were very efficient and very clean and neat. When they left, they took away all the junk out. They did a first class job with the installation and met their deadline and the floor looks great.
Description of Work: They put in a new vinyl floor in the kitchen.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Response from TOM ADAMS Windows and Carpets
(member name removed), Thank you for your statement. Tom Adams Company works very hard in training our staff and installers. Our job is your satisfaction. Thank you again for the nice words you expressed about us. If I can be of any help or answer any questions- please call Robert Barufkin, Sales Manager Tom Adams Windows and Carpets
Linda M.
03/2015
5.0
carpet installation, flooring contractor, replacement windows
 + 1 more
We asked if the carpet could be installed before Christmas. Salesman said they would try but he wasn't sure which was ok with us. The carpet actually Did come in before Christmas which made us happy. installers arrived promptly on the designated day. They moved all of our furniture and put it back when done without any problems. Did a good job cleaning up when done, So far, we are very happy with the carpets and the work done by the installers.
Description of Work: Sold and installed carpeting for stairs, upstairs hall and two bedrooms. Salesman helped us choose carpet to fit our needs which we ordered the weekend of Thanksgiving. .
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$2,500
Richard B.
03/2015
5.0
replacement windows
 + -1 more
Went to their show room and found what we were looking for. Ordered it and they called us to arrange installation once it was ready. Did the whole job in a couple of hours. It's just what we wanted.
Description of Work: Replaced a window in the basement.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$350
Response from TOM ADAMS Windows and Carpets
Thank you for your kind words. Tom Adams works hard to ensure that our knowledgeable sales people educate our customers in order for them to make the best decision for their home. I will pass your comments to our store manager, Paul, who I am sure will appreciate them. Thank you again.
Dave J.
02/2015
1.0
replacement windows
 + -1 more
Everything appeared to be great until about a year and a half ago when we noticed wood rotting on one of the windows. I dug out the dead wood myself on this window and filled it. Then we notice another window had the same issue. We had a contractor come out and he informed us the windows had been improperly installed. Wherever there was a double window, there is a plate that snaps between the two windows. However the Tom Adams installer didn?t caulk between the plates. This caused water to penetrate the window, thus causing the rotting. I called Tom Adams about these issues but it has been a process to try and get proper resolution. The first representative for Tom Adams came out and took photos so the company could access any damage. Eventually they had to send a second representative to again take photos because they lost the original photos from the first visit. Tom Adams said they were going to charge me somewhere around $300 to caulk the windows they improperly installed. I held firm that I shouldn?t have to pay anything and also stated we would call the local television company and other outlets to get the word out about how Tom Adams charges to fix improper work they completed. It was only after we said this that Tom Adams waived the roughly $300 charge and came out to caulk the windows. They caulked the windows but not all the way, so I have fresh caulk in some areas and older, darker caulk in others which doesn?t look aesthetically pleasing. The workers also made negative comments during the caulking, which my wife and I didn?t appreciate. Tom Adams also said a couple months ago that they would come back and replace the rotted window sills. They have yet to replace the window sills. To be fair, we did have some issues with our voicemail a little while back so Tom Adams may have tried to call. However, I?ve called a couple times since the voicemail issue has been fixed. I receive the voicemail machine for Tom Adams, leave a message, but have yet to hear back from them. At this time, I simply want Tom Adams to pay for another contractor to come out and replace the window sills. It?s been very frustrating to work with Tom Adams and I want others to know of my experience. Again, I don?t have a problem with the windows or the screens we were sold. This is just an issue with the installation and subsequent follow up practices of Tom Adams. A separate issue we encountered a few years after install was that some of the windows started fogging over. Tom Adams did let me swap out the fogged over windows at no cost. Again, Tom Adams seems to do some things well but overall it has been frustrating. After contacting Angies List I received a call from Bob a Tom Adams employee and he was upset about my report on Angies List for bashing them online.We discussed the misunderstanding as to who was to call who after the calking was done. The result of the call that Bob would call me after he reviewed the report with Mr Adams. On Wednesday, the next day, I received a call from Bob who said that Mr Adams would repair the window sills in question only after I removed my report from Angies List. I have no intention of removing this report until the window sills are repaired/replaced to our satisfaction. Todays date is August 24 and I have not received any response from Tom Adams. I will not remove this complaint until all the sills have been repired/replaced.
Description of Work: They installed 16 new windows in my home.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
4.0
$5,000
Response from TOM ADAMS Windows and Carpets
I'm sorry you have sought out the help of a third party in this matter since we have been trying to work this out with you directly. Your windows were installed on March 15, 2002, which came with a (1) year labor warranty - which is clearly stated on your contract. In the first 12 years you windows were installed, there were no complaints filed about leaking windows. When we inspected the windows on 1/20/14, there was noticeable cracking of the exterior caulk. It is the responsibility of the homeowners, after the labor warranty has expired, to keep up with the maintenance of the windows. They could choose to do it themselves or contract us to do it at a reasonable price. Obviously after 12 years of no maintenance, the windows need to be re-caulked to prevent any future leaking. We originally offered to re-caulk the exterior of the 14 windows we installed as well as add some additional weatherstripping to prevent air infiltration for a price of $395.00. In a conversation shortly after that we offered to reduce the price to hopefully resolve the situation, but you wanted no part of it. You said you would rather pay someone else to do it. After some time, you called again on October of 2014 to revisit the situation. On 10/10/14, we called you and offered to re-caulk the windows at no charge as a one-time customer accommodation. Unfortunately, you declined the offer. On 10/27/14, you and your wife came into our showroom and discussed the situation with myself and Glenn Adams. At that point, we took our accommodating offer even further. We offered to re-caulk the interior and exterior of the windows as needed, add extra weatherstripping, and replace the interior sills that showed wood rot. Remember, the windows at this point are 11 and a half years out of warranty. This offer was more than fair and way past what we are contractually obligated to do. Our plan was to do all of the caulking and weatherstripping on the first trip and return to do the sills on a future trip. The customer was to monitor the windows after the re-caulking to confirm there was no leaks, then give us a call to let us know it was good for us to replace the sills. On 11/19/14, I had two techs complete the re-caulking and installation of the weatherstripping. We were now waiting for the call to return and replace the interior sills. We did not hear anything from you until their claim was posted on Angie's List. Here we are, waiting for you to contact us to complete the service work and then we find that you bashed us online. We called and spoke to you on 2/24/15 to find out why this happened. You explained it must have been a misunderstanding on who was to contact who. On 2/25/15, we contacted you stating that if you didn't agree to complete our initial agreement, we will not schedule the appointment to replace the sills. This basically comes down to the fact that the windows are 12 years out of warranty and we have made every attempt to resolve the situation. When you bought these windows you had a chance to upgrade the labor warranty to 5 years, which you turned down. Even with that, these windows were installed in 2002- wood rot is a maintenance issue, not an installation or manufacture issue.
Carol S.
02/2015
1.0
carpet installation, flooring contractor, replacement windows
 + 1 more
They didn't do a good job with seaming and provided poor quality carpet with bad side match and numerous pulls. The installers never looked at the installation to see that it was a bad match and left without saying anything. We called up and complained about how bad it looked and they sent out an inspector a few days later. He agreed that they should have caught the deficiency and filled a claim with mfgr. Due to this we could not entertain in our finished basement until the carpet was replaced since it was embarrassing to us.. The replacement wasn't completed until after the Holidays, January 28th which was over 2 months from our original install. So much for a Holiday project. In addition to that, the floating floor was installed around our existing sump pump and the installers didn't allow enough clearance for the sump to work. This resulted in moderate flooding in our basement which we fortunately caught thanks to a water alarm sitting nest to the sump. This was a bad experience all the way around. Tom Adams will never do another job in my house or my families houses. I chose them because they had good ratings by Angie's List.
Description of Work: Removed old basement carpet and installed new. Installed a floating vinyl floor over concrete in basement storage area.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
3.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
3.0
$4,000
Response from TOM ADAMS Windows and Carpets
We received your call and quickly re-acted to fixing the vinyl that was cut tight to your sump pump. In regards to the carpet defect, a side match cannot normally been seen during time of installation. A side match problem is when the color from one side gradually changes to be lighter or darker to the other side. Not until you seam one side to another side does the variance show, and that still depends on very much on lighting. Our hands are tied in regards to speed for replacement. No carpet manufacturer lets us or any retailer replace carpet until an inspector determines if it a manufacturer defect. After that we need to order the replacement with the claim number and then we are able to schedule replacement, based on available inventory. I am sorry for the delays, but this is the world we live in, when all manufacturer's wants the ability to inspect and enforce their own warranties. I am glad the replacement is completed to your satisfaction. We sent our service department out quickly to handle the problem, but again we can only be a s quick as the manufacturers let us. Please accept my apology, and I hope this explanation may show you that we did not deliberate or intentional delay your job. Prior to installation, if we saw the manufacturer's defect side match, we would not have installed your carpet. My name is Robert and I am the sales manager and you can contact me at 215-357-7000 ext. 138 if you want to discuss further. thank you
Doreen B.
02/2015
5.0
carpet installation, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, replacement windows
 + 2 more
brought new carpet samples to house showed me the carpet for my house and laid the pieces down carefully and moved huge furnitures
Description of Work: laid new carpet for wooden floor
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$720
J Thomas T.
02/2015
5.0
ceramic tile, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, replacement windows
 + 2 more
Salesman was great. Very helpful and patient. The project was supposed to take 2 days: one day for the tiling and one day for the hardwood flooring. The tile was installed first. The tiler was OK. He did a nice job but his cleanup wasn't very good (e.g., left dirty trowel in our utility sink). Plumber who removed and then reseated a toilet in the powder room after the tile had been installed also didn't clean up after himself very well. The second day the hardwood flooring was installed. I was astonished when the "crew" came to do the hardwood flooring and it was just one guy. He had to move all of our furniture including a piano by himself. Then he removed all of the carpeting by himself and sanded, smoothed and leveled the concrete to prep it for the hardwood. He was a dynamo who worked very hard and did an excellent job but there was no way he could finish in one day. The second day he brought a helper with him and they completed the work. Overall we were very satisfied with the finished job. My only criticism is that there wasn't really anyone overseeing the work. Once the sale of the flooring materials was completed and the job scheduled there was little contact from Tom Adams except when we initiated it. I think that a month or so after the job was completed they sent out a survey card asking for our input. But it would have been more professional if someone from Tom Adams had come to check on the installers to ensure they were completing the project as contracted.
Description of Work: Sold and installed 3 rooms of hard wood flooring on a concrete slab and tiled an entry way and powder room.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$8,300
Response from TOM ADAMS Windows and Carpets
[member name removed], Thank you for your kind words. I am sorry for the trowel in the sink, I will address that with our installation manager. In regards to the plumber, again I apologize, they are not employed by us, they are a separate company that as a courtesy we use to help facilitate the job. We will call the owner and mention to him that clean up is an important part of the job. In regards to the installation, our workers have be trained as specialist for their specific product. That is why there are different installers for tile and hardwood for your job. Your job is reviewed prior to installation, with our installation manager and the installer, all possible questions are answered at that time and if any problem arises the installer is instructed to call the installation manager and get with me, as sales manager if he cannot answer the question. That is why our sales team reviews and writes out all information on your contract, so we leave nothing to guess at time of installation. I've been told his helper was out sick the first day of the job, but we committed to start on that day and could not get another helper out there, so he started the job by himself. This does happen on rare occasions. Our goal is to focus on quality workmanship and sometimes it may take longer due to delays or in this case a sick helper. Because of our pre-install reviews and the amount of installations we do in a day, it is not needed or possible to have a project manager go to every job. I am disappointed that your sales representative did not call you after your installation, it is something we ask of all of our sales representatives. Again, your satisfaction is the most important part of the project. I will discuss the items that you wrote about to our sales team and installers. We strive for "A's" in all categories. But I am delighted the overall completed project met all your visual expectations. I am confident the selections that you made were the difference along with our workmanship and a good sales person recommendation for selections of the correct products for your home environment. If I can be of any service, please do not hesitate to call me ... Thank you for your business - 215-357-7000 ext. #138 - Robert
Barbara P.
01/2015
5.0
carpet installation, flooring contractor, replacement windows
 + 1 more
It went extremely well as I was on a very tight schedule to complete this task The salesman Ken was wonderful with helping me select a carpet in my price range The installation was on time, clean, and professional . I am so pleased and received many compliments!!
Description of Work: installed carpet in guest room
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$500
Response from TOM ADAMS Windows and Carpets
[removed member name] - Thank you very much for your kind words - Tom Adams Windows and Carpet works hard to meet the needs of our customers- Also, our salesperson Ken, is a great asset to our company and our customers, his knowledge and personal attention to our customers needs... guarantee their satisfaction. I am delighted we met all your requirements, if we can be of further service, please call us -- thank you
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.
*Contact business to see additional licenses.
Service Categories
Windows,
Doors,
Flooring Sales and Installation,
Carpet Sales and Installation,
Hardwood Flooring Sales and Installation,
Garage Doors,
Glass and Mirrors,
Siding,
Ceramic Tile,
Roofing,
Floor Cleaning and Waxing,
Sunrooms and Patio Enclosures
FAQ
TOM ADAMS Windows and Carpets is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.
Sunday: 10:00 AM - 3:30 PM
Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Thursday: 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday: 9:00 AM - 3:30 PM
TOM ADAMS Windows and Carpets accepts the following forms of payment: American Express,Check,MasterCard,Visa
Yes, TOM ADAMS Windows and Carpets offers free project estimates.
Yes, TOM ADAMS Windows and Carpets offers eco-friendly accreditations.
Yes, TOM ADAMS Windows and Carpets offers a 10% senior discount.
Yes, TOM ADAMS Windows and Carpets offers emergency services.
Yes, TOM ADAMS Windows and Carpets offers warranties.
TOM ADAMS Windows and Carpets offers the following services: Windows - Doors - Bows - Bays - Vinyl Siding - Storm Doors - Patio Doors - Phantom Screen - Garage and Patio Doors - Roofing - Carpets - Vinyl - Flooring - Tile Flooring - Laminate Flooring - Hardwood Flooring - Retractable Awnings & Decking