Heating, cooling & geothermal installation, service & repair. 25 years in business serving the Main Line, Delco, Montgo. and Chester counties. Better Business Bureau A + rating.
Business highlights
35 years of trusted experience
Emergency Services Offered
Services we offer
Geothermal heating, a/c installation ,Oil to gas conversions, boiler & warm air systems, high velocity air conditioning installation, mini split systems, indoor air quality systems,humidifiers & air cleaners,service & repair, maintenance agreements.
It went great. They were on time, kept everything clean, and finished on time. It’s been a couple years and we’re still very happy. I recommend Matt and his crew.
Description of Work: Matt replaced our HVAC system
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Judith R.
01/2018
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
I think Borden Heating and Cooling is the greatest! I bought an old house, with an ancient system, and when it began to fail, I was referred to Matt. Got an efficient, reliable heater and AC, well priced, installed by knowledgeable and profession techs. I highly recommend them!
Description of Work: Ancient heater (26 yo) in a newly purchased home began to fail over the holiday freeze. Borden's got the heater through the holidays, and then installed a new heater and AC in January.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Taiba A.
01/2018
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair
+ 0 more
Borden not only gave us a better price than anyone else, their customer service was top of the line. The installers were polite, professional, and efficient. The owner, Matt, made sure that all of our questions were answered, and that we were completely satisfied with the job! I will definitely have service from them in the future and recommend them to anyone else who is looking for the kind of services they offer.
Description of Work: In the beginning of June, just as the weather was starting to feel like summer, our 18 year old central air conditioning unit died. After determining that it wasn’t worth the costly repairs to a system that old, we began getting estimates for a new one.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Terence H.
01/2018
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Terrible workmanship and makes up excuses to get out of contracts. Probably have to take him to court. DON'T HIRE THIS GUY!
Description of Work: Fix a boiler He installed and sold me a warranty for and then failed to honor his guarantee. Boiler is junk!
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
2.0
Response from Matthew R. Borden Heating & Cooling Inc.
Unfortunately the customers has left out the fact that they have not paid an outstanding bill from three years ago for a non warranty related service call. The customer requested service recently despite not paying for their outstanding balance. After refusing service to this customer due to their outstanding balance they felt compelled to right this review. How unfortunate. Please see our real reviews at : https://www.bordenco.com/reviews/
Terence H.
01/2018
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Terrible ,complete ripoff and then lies to you
Description of Work: Heating system
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
2.0
$850
Chris M.
01/2018
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Excellent. They were reliable, responsible, professional and efficient. Good work all around.
Description of Work: Replace Heater and AC Units
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$10,000
02/2017
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
I've been using them for 7 years. They do a very careful and intelligent job with installing our AC. They also gave us a high efficiency furnace.
Description of Work: I used a company called Matthew Borden Heating & Cooling. To check the furnace for the yearly checkup. They do one in the spring and one in the fall. They service the heating in the fall and the air conditioner in the spring.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$170
Michael L.
02/2017
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
.
Description of Work: .
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro
Response from Matthew R. Borden Heating & Cooling Inc.
Thank You for the review and we are glad that you are happy with our services.
02/2017
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
.
Description of Work: They installed the furnace.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro
Carol B.
10/2016
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: .
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro
Response from Matthew R. Borden Heating & Cooling Inc.
Thank You [Member Name Removed] ! We greatly appreciate your continued business with us.
Nancy B.
03/2016
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: Installed new AC unit in my home and also performs cleanings & tune-ups for heating and AC units. He did an excellent job! He also installed another AC unit at another property after I saw what an amazing job he did. Would give him an A+++ if Angie's List would let me!
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro
Response from Matthew R. Borden Heating & Cooling Inc.
Thank you for your trust in my company !
Pieter R.
12/2014
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Very professional, he was right on time, didn't waste any time and started checking the system. Did find an issue and fixed it temporarily, so we would have time after the holidays to get it repaired. Happy customer.
Description of Work: Checked heating system
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$79
Response from Matthew R. Borden Heating & Cooling Inc.
Thank you for posting a review and we are happy to be able to get you out of a jam.
Christopher W.
02/2014
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Service went very well. They were on time and professional. They provided an accurate estimate and came out the next day.
Description of Work: Replaced a circuit board and sensor in our air conditioning and heat pump unit.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$645
Response from Matthew R. Borden Heating & Cooling Inc.
Thanks [member name removed], I am glad we could help you out of a bind.
JAMIE K.
11/2012
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Great experience overall; would recommend them.
Description of Work: Replacement of HVAC & routine maintenance.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Allison K.
11/2012
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Excellent professional from start to finish.
Description of Work: Excellent high velocity air conditioning.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$16,000
Barry S.
10/2012
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Technician arrived promptly, performed service( extremily professionally); provided deturls about service. We highly recommend Borden Heating and Cooling.
Description of Work: Heating Maintenance today, but have used borden since 1997. We have alwasys been extremely pleased with the level of service and professionalism.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$225
Shirlee H.
10/2012
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Juan has serviced our unit for the 7 years we have had it. He is prompt, professional & friendly.
Description of Work: Full maintenance of heating A/C system.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$775
William B.
10/2012
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Everything went very well. Matthew Borden has been our service provider for many years and he has always given excellent service!!!
Description of Work: Bi annual service of heating and A-C system.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Joanne F.
10/2012
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Juan from Matthew R Borden Heating and Cooling is the service professional that often comes to our house. He is always friendly, professional and courteous. I have never had a problem with any service professional not being on time. I am very happy with the service and would highly recommend this company.
Description of Work: Matthew R. Borden Heating & Cooling provide the annual service and maintenance of our heating and air conditioning systems.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$150
Anthony & Linda B.
10/2012
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Always on time, polite, clean & thorough. We've stayed with them for several years now. Extremely honest & reliable.
Description of Work: Reviewed entire heating & air conditioning system. Have used Matthew Bordon for years. They replaced out heating unit when it grew old & died.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Nancy S.
04/2012
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
I hired Borden in August to install what he said would be a whisper-quiet geothermal system in my basement by the end of September that would heat and cool my entire house. Unfortunately, it isn't whisper quiet, it runs all the time to heat just one zone to 68 degrees with the other two zones set at 60 and 66, respectively, and it wasn't hooked up until December 10th, nearly six weeks late, and then only after I took matters into my own hands and called a different driller to drill the wells needed. Besides these basic problems, there were many snags along the way. The subcontractor he hired to remove the oil tank spilled oil in my basement, which made the whole house reek. Instead of taking care of the spill right away, I had to call him that night to have it rectified. In addition, they installed the water heater directly on the basement floor, even though I told him I sometimes get water where they installed it. He had his workers lift it, but they raised it just an inch or two. The pad the geothermal unit sits on is only about two inches high, as well, and the piping lays directly on the floor, where, again, I told him I get water. I pointed it out to him but he merely shrugged it off and did nothing to rectify it. Borden kept telling me his driller was on "a big job" and couldn't do my job yet. After getting excuses, week after week, for why the driller wasn't showing up, I finally called another driller in December and asked him to call Borden and make arrangements to finish the job so I could get my heat on before Christmas. A miracle: the driller showed up within a day or two! Borden told me that both the driller and the oil-tank remover said they'd give HIM credit next time he used them to make the snafus up to him, but Borden didn't see fit to pass any such credits on to me, the one who was inconvenienced. It gets worse. After all of this hassle, when it was finally hooked up, it was anything but whisper quiet. He disputed this, so I purchased a decibel meter and together we tested it and found it was almost as loud as a lawn mower. There was also a loud electrical buzz coming from one of the zone modules at times. Although he was there when it was buzzing and pointed out the module that was buzzing, he never offered to correct it. He also insisted the compressor was quiet -- compared to an oil or gas heater, he now tells me. He finally called me a few days later to say that I could buy a compressor cover from the manufacturer to suppress the noise. I told him I didn't think I should pay for that since he sold me a whisper quiet system, but he refused to pay. The manufacturer finally ended up having to give him the cover for free. Unfortunately, as his technician said after installing it, it didn't do anything to quiet the unit. When Borden's technician installed the cover, he also had to replace the sun room vents, because Borden had selected vent covers that threw air behind the entertainment center, wasting it. Believe it or not, when the technician was done, he gave me a bill for hundreds of dollars more for labor to install the compressor cover and replace the vents! This after I had already paid him nearly $34,000. My mistake was paying the last half before I was satisfied with the system, but he bugged me so much for final payment, I relented. When I disputed paying the additional labor charges for the corrective work, his tech got him on the phone. I told him I would agree to pay for the new vent covers but I didn't think I should pay for his guy to correct the problems, and that sent him into a tirade, screaming and yelling at me about how much work he had already done on my job, as though this was now somehow my fault. All of the problems he left me with still exist. I've been told by another HVAC company that, among other things, the unit should be sitting on a thick rubber pad to absorb noise, the compressor inside the unit should be sitting on a rubber pad to absorb noise, the inside of the unit should have rubber applied to the walls to absorb the noise, and the fluid lines should be stabilized and have flexible areas to help prevent the noise of vibrations from traveling through the ducts into the house, and that the first step in eliminating the buzzing from the zone module is to replace it to see if it's just a bad module. And to top it all off, I've been told that other geothermal compressors are much quieter than the one he chose to install in my house. Despite my complaints, he's never offered to stand by his work. I guess his screaming fit worked, since I am very reluctant to do business with a person who treats customers the way he's treated me. The icing on the cake is that the heat pump he sold me comes with a 10-year warranty on parts -- and on labor! A big selling point before installation. I big zero after he got his money. Borden's web site says: "Complete customer satisfaction is not a motto, but every day business practice for us. We want the same quality in your home that we demand for our own homes and families - it?s that simple." Except, apparently, in my case. I do not recommend doing business with this guy under any circumstances.
Description of Work: I hired him to install a three-zone geothermal heating and air conditioning system in a house I had just purchased, as well as remove the existing oil tank and heater, and install new ducts to the second floor and to a sun room addition.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$34,000
Response from Matthew R. Borden Heating & Cooling Inc.
.We are sorry that you were not pleased with our service but we did everything possible to remedy your complaints. We continue to work tirelessly to ensure complete customer satisfaction. Minimizing mechanical noise in the home is obviously very important. While all machines generate some level of normal operating noise, geothermal systems are quieter than conventional oil or gas systems. The installation in your home was no different. You state that the noise emanating from the geothermal unit we installed in your home was excessive. Although the acceptability of noise levels is subjective, your statement that the unit was “as loud a lawn mower” is simply false. You did purchase a decibel meter to measure the noise from the unit. Upon testing the unit, we discovered that the decibels where less than the manufacturer’s specifications and much less than a lawnmower. In an effort to further reduce any noise, we purchased an additional noise cover from the manufacturer and did not charge you for the part. The geothermal equipment was located in your basement utility room. Neither the utility room or the stairs leading to it from the kitchen had a door to block the sound coming from the unit. The sound traveled, unobstructed, up to the kitchen. We always suggest that our customers install a simple interior door where any equipment is located to block equipment noise. When we made that suggestion to you, you refused. Installation of such a door would further reduce the equipment noise. You state that the subcontractor removing your oil tank spilled oil on the basement floor. The contractor did spill approximately one cup of oil on the cement floor in the basement without noticing it. When you called us that evening to report the spill, we had a crew out the next day to clean it up. The crew cut out the damaged piece of cement and poured a fresh piece at no charge to you. The completion time for the project was unacceptable to you. Unfortunately, the driller we use to drill the geothermal wells was delayed due to persistent wet weather. When the ground is wet, driving the heavy machinery necessary for drilling across a yard will cause serious damage to the property. It is particularly dangerous to drive such machinery over in-ground septic tanks, like the one on your property, because of the risk of collapsing the tank. We understand that construction on one’s home can be disruptive and always try to ensure completion on schedule. In this instance, you were not living at the home during the majority of the time renovations were in progress. When you were living in the home, we hooked up the new geothermal system to operate on the incorporated electric heat component. This allowed the system to run at full capacity, supplying ample heat to the home. Since use of the electric heat is more expensive than the geothermal system, we paid your heating bill to cover the added expense. Proper positioning of the equipment is critical to ensure noise reduction and to keep the system from sitting in water. Although you never mentioned any basement water problem, it is our practice to install all new equipment on the manufacturer recommended base pads which had been done for all of your equipment. Selection of appropriate vents to distribute heated or cooled air is critical to an efficient system. Your statement regarding the vents we selected and the fact that they “threw air behind the entertainment center, wasting it” is extremely misleading. When we initially designed your system, the patio room you are referring to did not have an entertainment center. After we completed the system, you installed an entertainment system. More than a year after we completed the system, you had us back to your home to replace the vent covers, which were now throwing air behind the newly installed entertainment center. When we design a system, we cannot anticipate future changes to the layout of a room that would require changes to vent covers. If the design of the room changes, the customer may have to bear the cost of the new covers. Although you initially agreed to pay for the costs of the new vent covers and the labor to replace them as specified in a change order, you have since refused, keeping the vent covers without paying for them. In regards to your statement about the warranty, the unit you purchased comes with a 10-year manufacturer’s warranty that covers both parts and labor. This warranty is still in force and, subject to manufacturer’s terms, the warranty will cover unit failure. In order to receive warranty work, you must make a claim under that warranty and, to the best of our knowledge, you have not done so. We are happy to discuss any addition concerns you have with the system and suggest ways to address them. Matthew Borden – owner.
Corinna B.
11/2009
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
When I was trying to call back to remind him to give us the estimate it took a day until he got back to me. His estimate was higher than the service we used but the suggestions he made were right on. I think this is a good company and he has good work ethics, however more pricey than equivalent work can be.
Description of Work: Matt Borden gave us an estimate for HVAC installation in our house. He did a great job explaining our options and the difficulties in our borough.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
3.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$26,000
Liz F.
10/2008
4.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
I was a bit disappointed in this service call. We had used Matt Borden to install a new gas furnace in our old home. Three years later the furnace in our new home (which he hadn't installed) stopped working one cold Sunday winter morning. I called him to see about emergency service. He was honest and said the visit would be about $200 just to walk in the door. His employee was prompt and showed up soon thereafter. However, he took over an hour to diagnose a problem that even I would have looked into first: our analog thermostat was not transmitting information to the furnace. We agreed to have him replace the thermostat with a digital one for $150. I told him about how we had one in our old house that was programmable and was so convenient. Imagine my surprise when he finished the work and the thermostat he had installed was not programmable! It only allows you to punch the temperature up and down - no timer, no days of the week settings, etc. He then told me that that kind of thermostat would cost me $350 and he could come back during the week to install it. These are Honeywell thermostats and are about $50-60 even for the programmable ones. I feel ripped off. My electrician won't replace this for me because he insists that an HVAC expert should be in charge of it because of, well, exactly the problem I started with. So we had a lot of nights last winter where we forgot to turn the heat down before bedtime, and a lot of very cold mornings. Matt Borden - waaaay too expensive, especially for a customer who gave you a $6,000 job a few years ago. (We were very pleased with the $6,000 furnace job, by the way).
Description of Work: Fixed gas furnace that stopped on a Sunday in winter and also installed a digital thermostat.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
3.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
$350
Response from Matthew R. Borden Heating & Cooling Inc.
We are sorry that you are unhappy with our fees, the $ 200.00 fee is the drive up & up to one hour of labor time which is within industry standards and lower than most for weekend emergency response. As far as the thermostat is concerned you agreed to the standard thermostat,in which we had on the truck that day. Days afterwards you decided that you wanted the programmable model. Which requires a seperate trip & additional labor. This factors into the cost. You also forgot to mention the five year warranty we give on the component - which includes labor and the full refund that was given on the first thermostat that you decided later that you wanted didn't want.. Customers often forget that businesses have overhead and costs which all factor into the cost of services !
jack M.
08/2008
2.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Heater was performing well we had recently had regular maintenance by another company. Wanted our mother-in-law room zoned for eventual use as a bedroom. At the same time we had equipment upgraded new valves, pressure relief, expansion tank, etc.Contractor made a mess of our basement, damaged a newly painted floor used our table as a work space, filled house, walked around house without protecting work boots. Heater provided inadequate heat to our second floor, a week later heater would not light made emergency call and contractor refused to respond to our calls. It took 5 months of letters, intervention of County office of Consumer affairs and township code enforcement to get them to respond. Upon inspection of the manufacturers representative from the zone valve company determined that new equipment was not appropriate for our house and required upgrade . Also determined by the township that contractor had not secured required permits , and was unlicensed for work in our area. After six months of aggravation new equipment installed.
Description of Work: Zoned our heating system and updated the equipment.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
3.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0
$5,500
Response from Matthew R. Borden Heating & Cooling Inc.
In response: After installing central air and all associated duct work for seven days in the home ( with no complaints and great satisfaction ) we were then contracted to zone a sun room for better heating performance in which the work was performed and did function, upon colder weather it was found that there was a problem with inadequate heating within the sun room. The Members call was not an emergency and was returned in the early AM of the following day as it was only one small room with insufficient heating. Upon returning to the Members to address the problem my tech. was 10 minutes late, when the member answered the door my tech. was verbally abused and the had the door slammed in his face. Member please keep your personal problems personal. The problem was resolved when we replaced the zone valves in the system with circulators at no additional cost to the homeowner. We are licensed,insured & certified with a proven track record for 21 years & Better Business Bureau A rated.
ERIN D.
10/2005
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
THEY CALL TO REMIND YOU THAT IT IS TIME FOR THE SERVICE VISIT. TECHNICIANS HAVE BEEN PROMPT AND THOROUGH. WE HAVE NEVER HAD TO CALL THEM BECAUSE OF A PROBLEM. PRICE SEEMS TO KEEP GOING UP THOUGH.
Description of Work: ANNUAL SERVICE CONTRACT FOR HEATING AND COOLING. INCLUDES FALL CHECK OF HEATING SYSTEM AND SPRING CHECK OF AC.
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.
*Contact business to see additional licenses.
Service Categories
Heating and Air Conditioning,
Water Heaters,
Generator,
Air Duct Cleaning
FAQ
Matthew R. Borden Heating & Cooling Inc. is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.
Sunday: 8:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Matthew R. Borden Heating & Cooling Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Check,Discover,Financing Available,MasterCard,Visa
Yes, Matthew R. Borden Heating & Cooling Inc. offers free project estimates.
Yes, Matthew R. Borden Heating & Cooling Inc. offers eco-friendly accreditations.
Yes, Matthew R. Borden Heating & Cooling Inc. offers a 10% senior discount.
Yes, Matthew R. Borden Heating & Cooling Inc. offers emergency services.
Yes, Matthew R. Borden Heating & Cooling Inc. offers warranties.
Matthew R. Borden Heating & Cooling Inc. offers the following services: Geothermal heating, a/c installation ,Oil to gas conversions, boiler & warm air systems, high velocity air conditioning installation, mini split systems, indoor air quality systems,humidifiers & air cleaners,service & repair, maintenance agreements.
window a/c unit repairs.
Contact information
416 Lyndhurst Drive/501 Abbott Dr,, Broomall, PA 19008