Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Oakland Nursery

Landscaping, Greenhouses/Nurseries, Lawn and Yard Work,

About us

325 employees. Uses subs. Cost is determined by the job. Travel charges and service charges may apply. May contact through e-mail. Additional address - 4261 W Dublin-Granville Rd, Dublin, OH 43017. Award winning. Additional fax numbers - (614) 874-2420, (614) 784-7700. Additional DBAs - Acorn Farms, Oakland Irrigation, Oakland Design, Oakland Design & Construction, Oakland Interiorscapes, Oakland Nursery Inc. Additional web link - www.oaklandnursery.com. See website for additional hours.

Business highlights

85 years of trusted experience

Services we offer

Retail garden center & nursery Please contact us directly for: Landscape design & installation, paver patio installation, plant installation & maintenance (614) 268-3834 Please contact us directly for: Irrigation system installation & maintenance, low voltage landscape lighting, outdoor holiday lighting (614) 268-3444 Please contact us directly for: Interiorscapes (interior tropicals), Streetscapes (exterior containers), Holiday decor (custom trees & more) (614) 268-9466

Services we don't offer

Lawn care & wood construction. Masonry work. Fencing installation.

Amenities

Warranties
Yes


Accepted payment methods

American Express
Check
Discover
MasterCard
Visa

Reviews

4.6327 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
80%
4
4%
3
3%
2
4%
1
9%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.7
value
4.5
professionalism
4.6
responsiveness
4.6
punctuality
4.6
Showing 26-50 of 327 reviews

BRYAN E.
10/2014
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
We purchase most of our outdoor plants at Oakland Nursery, as well as our Christmas trees. The quality has always been good.
Description of Work: Sold live plants and outdoor decor.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$100

James W.
10/2014
3.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
We only tried them one time based on Angie's list and we thought the work was very average almost inferior and the did it quickly, it was a quick in quick out. It was incomplete and it was sort of a test before we went to another landscaper for a much bigger project, I would give them a rating of below average.
Description of Work: They did landscaping.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
3.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

$300

SUE E.
10/2014
4.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
I did not use their landscaping services for my yard. I did not do so because they put in a lot more than I wanted, especially in the back yard, and because it was very expensive.
Description of Work: Two men came out from the nursery to give me a lawnscape plan for my front and back yard. After they drew up the plan, they sent it to me with drawings, cost, etc. They charged me two hundred dollars to draw up the plan.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$200

William F.
10/2014
5.0
landscaping, tree service
  + 0 more
The crew were quick and efficient, kept our yard clean and cleaned up the drive when they were done.
Description of Work: Planted 12 giant arborvitae with planting beds

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,467

Janet D.
09/2014
2.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
Started out okay in June of 2013 although we were unable to pick out the exact trees we wanted, which was frustrating. We spent hours trying to find what we wanted on the main Oakland lot, as they would not "allow" me to pick the one I really liked at the 161 location. We had to replace 3 Norway Spruce, 1 Blue Spruce, and a beloved 4-5 inch diameter Japanese Maple that had been a "specimen"/ major focal point. (The biggest I could find to replace it on their lot was about 2 inches.) The workers had to leave for about 2 hours to go to the wholesale nursery to get the Blue Spruce. (It was not as large as I had hoped.) The last tree planted was the Japanese Maple. I expected them to know what to do, but I had to prompt them to tease out encircling roots, and I was surprised the hole wasn't bigger. They "amended" the soil with Posey Power, which was agreed upon for all the trees ahead of time, but the landscaper should have known that you should not do that with J** Maples. (We learned that later.) Also, I had to keep telling the worker to get it higher in the ground to allow for adequate drainage. The trees all came out fine in the spring of 2014, including the J** Maple. After the many spring rains, the J** Maple promptly wilted and died in early June. We had an arborist look at it, and he said it was probably "verticullum wilt" most likely introduced by planting. The arborist specifically said not to plant another maple of any kind in the same location for at least 10 years, but to select a v. wilt-resistant variety instead. We were in communication with the Oakland landscaper over the loss, and they said they would replace it. Landscaper said we could pick out something on their lot and they would plant it. But since we couldn't use another J** maple or any other maple, we considered certain crabapples. Oakland did not carry the varieties that stay red in color that would be good substitutes for a J** Maple. So, we investigated ourselves and found a beautiful "Royal Raindrops" crab at our local Andersons. We asked Oakland if we could get a 2" Royal Raindrops. "We don't carry those." I investigated and found several available at central Ohio nurseries, which I know they order from. They finally agreed to order the 2" crab (not happily, I might add), but I could not look at it first or pick it out, and it could not be dug until late fall, then delivered and planted. Since the J** Maple died in June, we didn't want to go the entire summer and fall without our specimen tree. (We had already lost 2 years from the previous death). They didn't offer a smaller container grown Royal Raindrops. We finally decided to take matters into our own hands--bought the pretty 1" diameter Raindrops at Andersons. We did our own ?post mortem? on the dead J** Maple planted by Oakland, and found stinky, sludge encased, drowning roots. We reported the find to the Landscaper. No comment from him. At least we have been able to enjoy fall color on our specimen tree, but Oakland simply keeps telling us of their ?policies? and will offer up only a replacement J** Maple or to dig the Royal Raindrops ordered from another nursery. They absolutely refuse to offer any ?credit? instead, which would be much more helpful to us at this point. We have tried many times to contact the owner of the nursery, but he is evidently in cahoots with the Landscaper and refuses to return our calls. The Landscaper continues to be short, flippant, and argumentative with us and we really aren?t interested in talking to this person anymore. I have been a frequent shopper at Oakland Nurseries over the years, but I would never again work with them on any large project, especially using anyone from the Oakland road location due to absolutely terrible customer service.
Description of Work: Removed and replaced 5 trees lost due to herbicide contamination.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
3.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
3.0

$3,500

Response from Oakland Nursery
Per our company policy, we agreed to replace the dead Japanese maple for the customer. While our policy is to replace like with like, we agreed to replace the maple with the crab apple per the client's request. Since we do not carry the specific variety and size requested, we had to special order the tree from a different supplier, which prohibited us from allowing the customer to pick out the exact specimen. While we were waiting for the tree to be dug and delivered (to maintain tree health, trees are usually dug at certain times of the year), the customer informed us that they had found a smaller, alternative tree and were going to plant it themselves. We are still willing to provide the customer with a replacement Japanese maple (to be planted anywhere in the yard they would like), and after bringing the customer's concerns to the owners, they have confirmed that we will not issue a credit. We have been growing, planting, and installing trees for over 70 years and regret that the client finds our knowledge or expertise to be lacking, but hope that the client will allow us to "make her whole" by providing the replacement Japanese maple. Thank you.

Jennifer S.
09/2014
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
Oakland Nursery is so awesome! I would highly recommend using Bryan Joyce for landscape design. The do great work!
Description of Work: Oakland provided landscaping around a new generator that we added to our home.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$916

Jennifer S.
09/2014
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
We are so happy we invested in this landscaping. Everytime we look out the window it looks great. The crew is very professional.
Description of Work: Bryan Joyce from Oakland designed a new bed to provide screening in our backyard. He also added a new tree in our front yard.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
4.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,028

Response from Oakland Nursery
We are thrilled to hear that you are pleased with our services. Thank you for shopping with Oakland, and enjoy the rest of this lovely autumn!

Kim S.
08/2014
5.0
landscaping, lawn service, mulch
  + 1 more
I asked that the mulch be delivered first thing in the morning. I had hired another company to do some yard work for me and if there was enough time they would lay the mulch. So mulch arrived on time and everything went like clockwork. Thank you Oakland
Description of Work: Delivered 114 bags of mulch first thing in the morning.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$425

DIANE R.
08/2014
2.0
landscaping, lawn service, mulch
  + 1 more
There were some problems. They have been trying to intimidate me by saying I owe money. They pulled out numerous plants I talked to them about. They transplanted the wrong plants. They made a mess with power washing and they broke a lawn ornament. Supposed to trim shrubs and trimmed the tiniet shrubs. The put the stepping stones back in the wrong place, removed some and put some on the top of the mulch. Patio has poly-sand in between the pavers. The power washing washed it out and the agreement was they would replace poly-sand and did not do it all. I do not want them to come to my house again.
Description of Work: They did some mulching, clean-up, planting, and transplanting.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$1,601.47

Briana S.
06/2014
5.0
landscaping, lawn service
  + 0 more
They did a great job. We hope to have them do our side and backyards also!
Description of Work: Planned and planted shrubs and flowers in front bed

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,500

Jeri C.
06/2014
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
Show up on time. Professional. Timely. Perfect clean up
Description of Work: Spring cleanup. Mulch.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,000

Kenneth P.
06/2014
2.0
greenhouses
  + -1 more
When we got to the register the clerk said we would have to pay the 49.95. When I showed him the picture he called for the manager. When he came he said that the placard was for a different size plant. I told him that there were not two rows of different sized plants, only the one that I picked up. He restated that the pots were a different size and pointed to a number three in part of the label and said that the ones I had were in number 5 pots. The difference on two plants was $20. I have spent over $7,500 at Oakland Nurseries in the last few years, but I will not darken their door again. He was very rude in the way he handled it and while I can certainly afford the $20 his attitude left me very cold.
Description of Work: I bought two plants that were marked 39.95 on a placard at the head of the row. Inn line for checkout we noticed that the label on the plant was marked 49.95, so to try to keep from having to run back out once we were in line my wife went back and took a picture of the placard.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
2.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0

$100

Michele N.
06/2014
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
All went as well as can be expected.
Description of Work: Plants, lawn fertilization, mulching, etc.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$100

Michael B.
06/2014
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
Very pleased with the quality of the plants and shrubs - they still look great today!
Description of Work: Ordered several plants and shrubs and they still look great today. Always competitive on pricing and a great variety.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

$200

Charles M.
05/2014
5.0
greenhouses
  + -1 more
Everything is fine, Ive been dealing with them on lawn care products, nursery, pots, and they've been great. Very knowledgeable.
Description of Work: I have bought fertilizer and plants from them.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Debe W.
04/2014
5.0
landscaping, greenhouses
  + 0 more
They had everything I was looking for. Heirloom tomatoes and beautiful roses.
Description of Work: I actually went to the nursery to get supplies

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$150

Janet B.
04/2014
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
My experience went very well. The staff are very professional and knowledgeable in their field. The pricing was reasonable for the quality of service. They are easy to schedule with and very friendly. I would highly recommend this company to others.
Description of Work: They advised me how to care for my plants and completely reconstructed everything for me.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$200

Lorraine D.
03/2014
5.0
florists, landscaping, holiday decorators, greenhouses
  + 2 more
They are close by to us. Their customer service are great. Their plants are always in good shape. Their selection is local - they choose varieties that can cope with our weather here. We are considering them for a future project - tearing out bush roots. I've never gotten a plant here that I'm unhappy with. They also have a good replacement policy. Their prices are normal for other nurseries. Their sales people on the floor are quite knowledgeable.
Description of Work: We buy a few plants from them each year.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Jeanne C.
10/2013
5.0
mulch, greenhouses
  + 0 more
They did a nice job. We picked everything out and about a month later they did the planting. They showed up on time and did a great job. They brought mulch and got everything planted. They then gave me care instructions before they left.
Description of Work: They put in a few shrubs for us. They installed a Japanese maple, Rosebush and three other pyramid evergreen shrubs.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$900

Susan C.
10/2013
5.0
landscaping, greenhouses
  + 0 more
I am NOT a gardener, will never be a gardener, but that doesn't mean I don't like looking at beautiful plantings. I threw myself on the mercy of the experts who helped me pick out wrought iron planters and their coconut husk liners and then proceeded to show me through the nursery to pick out plant materials, depending on sun exposure and my personal color palette. I left the "project" in their capable hands and went back a week later to collect my bounty. I've been the envy of the entire apartment complex all summer for my gorgeous baskets of coral geraniums, blue lobelia, trailing white Superbells, and chartreuse sweet potato vine. I can't wait to do it again for next summer.
Description of Work: Prepared to baskets to hang on wooden fence of patio.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$350

James T.
09/2013
4.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
It was a decent experience. They were a little slow to come out to treat one of the trees which had blight within the warranty period. Overall though, not too bad.
Description of Work: Plant trees

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
4.0

$225

SYLVIA D.
08/2013
5.0
landscaping, lawn service
  + 0 more
very good. they directed us to items we were inquiring about and made suggestions on item that might work out better for the area we had in mind
Description of Work: helped up find the garden plants that would work best for our flower garden

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$45

Rachel A.
08/2013
5.0
landscaping, lawn service
  + 0 more
I've been shopping here for years and I love there selection and Christmas ornaments
Description of Work: We bought plants from here I love this place

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$276.22

Lynn H.
07/2013
5.0
landscaping, lawn service
  + 0 more
great inventory, great service
Description of Work: great looking landscaping

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$125

CAROL T.
07/2013
5.0
greenhouses
  + -1 more
I like them. They are very knowledgeable. I can even take a picture into them and they are really nice about telling me what type of plant is going to grow there. They do special order plants that they are carrying that you want to put in. I like that they kind of insure the plants so that if things don’t go well, you bring it back and they will replace that for you in a certain amount of time. I just didn’t like that it took a couple of weeks to get in. They admitted it to me that it was their fault. They are very nice about telling me when certain plants have had a problem which I think is a kind of a nice thing. Their plants are usually really healthy. I think they have the best selection of shrubs and trees. Sometimes they treat their shrubs and trees like their babies that they are sending out for adoption. Sometimes they are talking above my head but at least they are knowledgeable. Sometimes they know too much so I always have to remind them that I don’t know everything.
Description of Work: I buy my plants from Oakland Nursery.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$55

Contact information

1156 Oakland Park Ave, Columbus, OH 43224

www.oaklandnursery.com

Service hours

Sunday:
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday:
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday:
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday:
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday:
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday:
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday:
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Licensing

Bonded

Insured
State Contractor License Requirements

All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

*Contact business to see additional licenses.


Service Categories

Landscaping,
Greenhouses/Nurseries,
Lawn and Yard Work,
Tree Service,
Pavers and Hardscaping,
Mulch and Topsoil,
Lawn Irrigation,
Lawn Fertilization & Treatment,
Firewood,
Landscaping - Lakefront,
Stone and Gravel,
Drain Pipe Installation

FAQ

Oakland Nursery is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

Sunday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Oakland Nursery accepts the following forms of payment: American Express,Check,Discover,MasterCard,Visa
No, Oakland Nursery does not offer free project estimates.
No, Oakland Nursery does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
No, Oakland Nursery does not offer a senior discount.
No, Oakland Nursery does not offer emergency services.
Yes, Oakland Nursery offers warranties.
Oakland Nursery offers the following services: Retail garden center & nursery Please contact us directly for: Landscape design & installation, paver patio installation, plant installation & maintenance (614) 268-3834 Please contact us directly for: Irrigation system installation & maintenance, low voltage landscape lighting, outdoor holiday lighting (614) 268-3444 Please contact us directly for: Interiorscapes (interior tropicals), Streetscapes (exterior containers), Holiday decor (custom trees & more) (614) 268-9466
Lawn care & wood construction. Masonry work. Fencing installation.

Contact information

1156 Oakland Park Ave, Columbus, OH 43224

www.oaklandnursery.com

Service hours

Sunday:
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday:
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday:
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday:
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday:
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday:
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday:
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM