Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Insight Pest Solutions

Pest Control, Lawn and Yard Work, Home inspection

About us

Insight is a pest control company focusing on residential and commercial pest services. We provide good-paying jobs to a dozen Columbus locals. We find safe, effective, and simple solutions to any pest control need. The products we use are both odorless and colorless, manufactured by the best companies in the industry. We survive by treating our customers right. We stand behind our work by offering both a satisfaction and money back guarantee.

Business highlights

13 years of trusted experience

Services we offer

Pest control, Termite Control, Crawlspace Moisture Control and Remediation

Services we don't offer

Lions, Tigers, or Bears :)

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes


Accepted payment methods

American Express
Check
Discover
MasterCard
Visa

Reviews

4.5179 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
76%
4
6%
3
7%
2
2%
1
10%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.5
value
4.4
professionalism
4.6
responsiveness
4.5
punctuality
4.6
Showing 51-75 of 179 reviews

JEFF G.
04/2016
1.0
pest control
  + -1 more
Numerous applications, especially for ants, have been ineffective to exterior of home. Currently having issues with same area of home which Insight has treated four times for ants and carpenter ants. When we saw dozens of ants in same area and apparent nest, our call to Insight was greeted with a 40 minute wait time. We were told no one was available to treat our home again for over two weeks but we were advised to wait and not treat ourselves. We were also told that they would not guarantee their work or be liable to damages from pests such as carpenter ants that they supposedly exterminated seven months ago. We called again (again long wait) and demanded better service. We were told area manager would call us. We never heard from area manager. We received a message the following day that they could treat home again in four days if we would return the call and confirm that appointment. We tried numerous times to return the call and confirm but their line appears to be disconnected and goes straight to a busy tone. They were quick to charge our credit card for services but have failed in their customer service as well as failed in service for pest control which we had contracted with them.
Description of Work: Applied insecticides around exterior of home. Several previous visits dating back to August 2015, inspected, applied insecticides, treated interior and exterior for insects.,

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$117.18

Jon & Dana W.
04/2016
5.0
pest control
  + -1 more
The treatment was very enlightening. I happened to be outside washing windows when Justin Von Metz arrived. He has treated our home several times in the past and is always very friendly & professional. Today I received a lesson on all the different treatments used, as we walked the perimeter of my home. He explained what he was using and what it was going to do. This man knows what he is doing! Felt like I was back in school! You can tell he takes his job seriously & he enjoys what he is doing. Highly recommend!! :)
Description of Work: Sprayed exterior for insects, smoked the facia boards at roof top, spread granuals along the flower beds and sidewalks

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from Insight Pest Solutions
Hi [Removed Member Name], Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear that you are pleased with your service provided by one of our amazing technician Justin. We will inform our management team on your feedback. Between quarterly services, feel free to give us a call at (888) 234-2847 if you are ever experiencing any unusual pest activity, and we will be happy to retreat for you.

Sara F.
01/2016
5.0
pest control
  + -1 more
I was contacted by the office letting me know that the technician was on his way to the house. The technician was very knowledgeable and thorough about the application of the material.
Description of Work: Outside: Sprayed all the base of the house and the contour of the roof, remove spider webs and wasp hives. Inside: Sprayed the garage, basement and door frames.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$99

Response from Insight Pest Solutions
Hi, thank you for your positive feedback. Good to know we're meeting your expectations. Our technicians the key to the relationship between Insight and the customer. If you have any questions or concerns about how we could continue to improve or any pest concerns, please call us at 888.234.2847.

Jean-Marc P.
01/2016
1.0
pest control
  + -1 more
The treatment itself was effective in removing most of the ants - not all unfortunately-. Sales person was very pushy and pressured us into making a decision that same day as they were "in the neighborhood" doing treatments (turns out the salesperson is not at all the one doing treatments anyway). First service was initially going to cost $125 but they offered it for $1 as a one-time special. The saleperson emphasized the money-back guarantee and the fact we could cancel at any time. No mention of early termination fees. But the contract - that we eventually get through email, nothing like signing a real piece of paper and getting a printed copy before signing for your reference - ties you to 4 treatments of $150 or pay a $194 cancellation fee (refund of alleged discount on initial treatment) upon 30-day written notice. Very deceptive, high-pressure sales tactics. Very unfriendly customer service. I'd rather deal with upfront pest control company in the future.
Description of Work: Treated the inside and outside of house for ants and other pests.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
3.0

$150

Response from Insight Pest Solutions
Hello, thank you for taking the time to inform us regarding your concerns. We sincerely apologize for the frustration. It seems there was some miscommunication regarding services with us. We are sadden that we didn't fully explain everything to you. You deserve better than that! We dropped the ball and we take full responsibility. We provided further training to ensure this never happens again. We corrected your account and you should no longer receive any further calls from us. Although we are sadden to have lost you as a customer, we are happy to hear that you were happy with the service you received from your technician. If in the future you decided to give Insight another chance we would like to offer your next quarterly treatment in a program at no charge. We wish you the best.

Carrie R.
12/2015
1.0
pest control
  + -1 more
In 2014 I signed up with Insight Pest Solutions, they were running a special at $109 per quarter. The salesperson was polite, the first service was completed, my credit card information was taken, I signed for the credit card auth. There was no contract and no obligation to continue with service, but they like customers to try them for a year. The salesperson indicated that my card would be billed quarterly and if we needed service in between, to just call. I received a bill in the mail a few months later, to which I responded with payment and an indication that my card is on file and should be billed. No response from the company. I received another bill months later indicating that they were charging me a $100 promotional fee and cancelling my service. I contacted the company via email - Tara - I believe. She was very rude and what I thought had been the credit card authorization had in fact been an agreement for one year of service. About a month later a gentleman showed up, indicating he was in the neighborhood for only this one day for $109 a quarter and you can't get that discount any other time. I explained to him that I was not interested because of my previous experience. He tried calling his manager, but couldn't reach him. Said he'd come back the next day after he had a chance to talk to his manager. The next day he showed up. He apologized for the experience I had previously, said the company was under new management, had gotten better at their book-keeping. Because of our terrible experience he was authorized to provide the first service at $1.00 and the quarterly service at $89. We had carpenter ants, so we thought that wasn't a terrible deal. He had me sign for my credit card auth, indicated that yes, he would be sure it would be auto billed, and that unfortunately, the company did want us to sign a yearly agreement. They were also closing the previous account and would not be charging us the $100 promotional fee. Great! We signed up again. In the last week, I received two bills from Insight. One for the $1 plus first quarterly charge. The second was for a $100 promotional fee from earlier this year. I called the company and spoke to someone who said there was nothing on file regarding my credit card. I explained the complete history of my experiences with Insight. Then she went offline and came back to say she had found my credit card information in the new customer account, but that the $100 had not been billed to the card. I explained that I was aware of that because it was supposed to be waived. She said she couldn't do anything further without management approval and would call me back. I have yet to hear from the company. I also completed a customer survey and have not heard further. I would never recommend this company to anyone. I'd rather pay more for a company that will respond to my concerns and will keep track of my private information.
Description of Work: Insight provides pest control services, but they do so in a manner that is pushy. The company can't seem to find my private credit card information and does not have an organized billing/customer filing system.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
3.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
3.0

$89

Arlene M.
10/2015
1.0
pest control
  + -1 more
Agreed to service after the salesman promised me that I could cancel at any time (and I asked him multiple times). After the first quarterly service I called to cancel, and they said I could cancel, for a $250 fee. Complete scam. Don't do business with this company.
Description of Work: They lied.
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
$117

JEFF G.
10/2015
1.0
pest control
  + -1 more
Changed grade from A to F. After period of time, pests were not controlled, service poor, and contact with provider frequently difficult to impossible.
Description of Work: Applied pesticides to control ants, carpenter ants, spiders, and other insects both indoors and outdoors. Guaranteed results. Some insects still evident two weeks after initial application so technician returned for additional treatments. Also cover mice and inspect for termites.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$117

Tom J.
07/2015
5.0
pest control
  + -1 more
The technician arrived at the agreed upon time. Austin was very professional and knowledgeable about his profession. All of my questions and concerns were answered. He performed the work very well and was very courteous and polite.
Description of Work: The service provider performed a pest solution application to the inside and outside of my residents.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$115

Richard D. E.
07/2015
3.0
pest control
  + -1 more
At 5:30 pm a representative from this company approached me in my driveway and said this company would be on my street the next day and if I wanted to take advantage of special pricing of $109,I could have my home treated for bugs. They had three openings for the next day and if I wanted one of these, I had to make a decision on the spot. He was dressed with a shirt that had the name of the company on it, but he did not have a business card. He did give me his cell phone number and said I could call him by 7:00 pm that night to act on this offer. He did give me names of neighbors who were going to get this treatment. He said I had to sign up for a complete year of quarterly applications. I was put off my this approach and told him "no". I did not appreciated being approached in this manner, without any time to check out this company to confer with the neighbors whom he said had signed up with company!!!
Description of Work: Nothing

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
3.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0


Response from Insight Pest Solutions
we sincerely apologize for the frustrating experience you had. Often times we run special promotions that only last for a limited time, but it is in no way our intent to make anyone feel like they are being pressured or pushed into something they’re unsure of. A year-long commitment is significant and it’s completely understandable that you’d want to look into our credibility, which we would encourage you to do! We have addressed these specific concerns with our sales representatives and necessary corrections will be made. If there’s any way we could still earn your business, we’d love to offer you the first service of our quarterly program at no cost. It would be our pleasure to promptly and professionally assist with any of your pest control needs.

Kathy D.
07/2015
5.0
pest control
  + -1 more
Austin was polite and knowledgable. I am looking forward to using this company
Description of Work: inspection and application

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1

Guy J.
07/2015
5.0
pest control
  + -1 more
The technician arrived at the beginning of the appointment window. He was very professional, knowledgeable, polite and friendly (and got along great with our dog as well!). He answered all our questions, and then very efficiently treated our interior and exterior. We had a carpenter ant infestation in an outer wall of a screened porch, and he gave it a very thorough treatment - even doing some extra spraying through access holes i had drilled through the outer wall between the floor joists just above the foundation. We were extremely pleased with his service, and look forward to having Insight perform the subsequent quarterly treatments to assure complete solution to our problem. I was also very pleased with my initial phone contact with Insight, and even the billing person who set up our account. We would highly recommend Insight Pest Solutions to anyone looking for insect extermination services!
Description of Work: The technician treated our interior and exterior to remove insects - and specifically treated a carpenter ant infestation.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$521

Richard B.
07/2015
5.0
pest control
  + -1 more
Sprayed pesticide ,applied granular product outside our home,spayed garage as well. Even took down all cobwebs completely around the entire house..nice touch of service.
Description of Work: Professional young man, told me what he was going to do and then did it ,promptly. Very polite and hard working! He was in a uniform that was clean and had a nice appearance which was a pleasant change from other folks that show up to work at our house these days. Very happy with service.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$119

Theresa C.
07/2015
5.0
pest control
  + -1 more
The technician was on time, dressed in uniform, introduced himself and was professional. He showed me a video of the company and the services I would receive. He was courteous in my home. Covered his shoes when coming inside. He asked if I had any questions and answered any that I had.
Description of Work: The technician treated my interior and exterior home with pest control.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$106

NED M.
07/2015
5.0
pest control
  + -1 more
He was very professional and let me know everything he was doing. He did a great job!
Description of Work: Inside and outside pest control

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

DOLORES & BRUCE R.
07/2015
1.0
pest control
  + -1 more
He originally talked with my husband and convinced him to use their service. I was not comfortable ordering a service from someone who just showed up at my door. He was very pushy and kept asking me questions. I told him I wanted to discuss with my husband alone. He then added he would come back in 10 minutes.I finally told him I wasn't interested. He still came back later to make sure we didn't change our mind. It was a holiday and I should have been relaxing with my family, instead I am having to deal with unwanted solicitor. I like to research the people we do business with and get several bids. I think it is very unprofessional to disturb people on a holiday. I found the whole experience unsettling.
Description of Work: He came unannounced on the 4th of July trying to get us to use his service.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0


Response from Insight Pest Solutions
Hi [Member name] & [Member name], Thank you for reaching out and writing a review. We sincerely apologize for the frustration. I completely understand how you would feel! Our representative should have respected the fact that you wanted to do research and speak with your husband. We have addressed this issue with the representative and he is no longer with the company. We want all of our customers to feel comfortable with the decision to start receiving treatments. It’s a significant commitment and every person should have the right to take time to understand what we’re all about. We would most definitely encourage that! We’re so sorry that our representative interrupted time with your family on a holiday. If you are ever considering pest control in the future, we would at least love to offer you your first treatment on us. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

Emmet W.
07/2015
5.0
pest control
  + -1 more
technician arrived as scheduled. he was courteous, professional, and efficient. work completed in about 20 minutes and he worked around someone mowing the lawn.
Description of Work: treated external area of house for bugs

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$110

Mary D.
06/2015
5.0
pest control
  + -1 more
Tyler Campbell came to my home at the expected time.He was very nice, courteous and professional. He was neatly dressed and groomed. He put on shoe covers while in the house. He gave me a video on his tablet to review so that I would know exactly what he was going to do and to explain the program services that I could expect for future visits. Overall it went very well.
Description of Work: Treated indoor areas- kitchen, bathrooms and laundry room as well as outside areas

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$109

Jamie D.
06/2015
5.0
pest control
  + -1 more
All went well. Treated all affected areas. Should be remedied in a couple days.
Description of Work: Came to do a spot treatment for ants in between our normal 3-month treatments

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
1.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Jeri P.
06/2015
5.0
pest control
  + -1 more
The technician was very polite and explained all of his procedures for the inspection, liquid exterior application, exterior de-webbing.
Description of Work: Sprayed all the areas in the perimeter of the house and took care of a progressive ant hill away from the house as well. Cleaned all the overhang and screened porch area for cobwebs.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$85

amy H.
06/2015
5.0
pest control
  + -1 more
They were on time, professional and explained everything .
Description of Work: We have had a problem with ants. The technician went to each bathroom and sprayed under the sink , in the basement and laundry room. He also worked outside around the house and even the kids tree house.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$90

Carol G.
06/2015
1.0
pest control
  + -1 more
All of that was done in less than 6 MINUTES!! It really took him 6 minutes to fill out the door tag, put it on my door and leave. We had been using this company for over a year. The first year was we had good service. They were very detailed on their reports. However when they came in December it was less than 10 minutes but there were 2 of them. This time I was home and it was the same service person, Justin van meter, who did absolutely nothing. I was on the phone immediately and was told the manager from this district would call me. I waited 3 weeks, called up to cancel and asked for a refund which I received.
Description of Work: Spring treatment -- exterior liquid application, exterior perimeter granules, exterior de webbing, exterior spot treatment

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
2.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

PAMELA S.
06/2015
5.0
pest control
  + -1 more
I had received an email notice from Insight that they were going to treat my house on May 22, but no one showed up. I thought they would come the following Tuesday (Monday was Memorial Day), but no one came. I called when no one came the whole week, and was told they ran out of time on the 22nd. I asked if they were going to come, and the person I spoke to said I could schedule a cal if I wanted them to come out and treat my house. I was supposed to be on a schedule for treatment quarterly. When I called, I got the impression that if I hadn't called, they weren't going to come at all. It was a very strange experience. Mike came out as schedules the second time, and did a fine job.
Description of Work: Michael Melcher treated the outside of my house and an ant hill in my garden and took down any spider webs.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
3.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$99

JILL B.
05/2015
2.0
pest control
  + -1 more
I was planning to have quarterly ant/insect treatments to my home and scheduled my initial appointment for a specific time window of 7am - 9am during which they would come out to my house and also come inside. The day before that appointment I received an e-mail reminder for that appointment that included a totally different time (3pm-5pm). I called the company to verify the actual time and they could not find my information anywhere. Several hours later they called me back to say they found my information and that my appointment was indeed for the originally agreed upon time of 7am and that I was first on their list and would probably actually show up right at 7am. The next day no one showed up. I called the company and they again had much difficulty "finding me in their system". After a long hold, they found me again and stated that my appointment was indeed 7am - 9am for that morning and did not know why no one showed up. I was told I would receive a phone call from a "sales agent" to figure out what went wrong. Instead of the sales agent calling, that original woman called me again later to say that my appointment was supposed to be 3pm-5pm. I reminded her that she had just verified with me on the phone the 7am time and she acknowledged that was true but stated there was also a 3pm time??? So I called the original sales 800-number (not local) and I spoke to someone who notified me that there are "more than one system" so things get very confusing. I cancelled my contract because I don't have time for this nonsense. If I schedule an appointment, I just need the company to show up. I will say every person that I spoke to from this company was extremely professional, pleasant, and kind, and I appreciate that.
Description of Work: I was planning to have quarterly treatments and scheduled my initial appointment for a specific time window. They have major scheduling issues and never showed up and I cancelled my contract before anything was ever done.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0


jan C.
05/2015
5.0
pest control
  + -1 more
Very well done. Provider was friendly and efficient. Joy is attentive to our needs and always has a smile.
Description of Work: Treated inside and outside for pests

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$99

Steven H.
05/2015
5.0
pest control
  + -1 more
After signing up for their service on Friday, they came by the next day to perform the first treatment to stop the ants, beetles and Bees. I was a bit late to let them into the house, but the two techs, (Abraham & Austin) were still professional, and answered all my questions and took time to answer mine. Hopefully, this will solve the problems we have with insects, but only time will tell.
Description of Work: Treated the outside and inside of the house, along with the Gazebo, deck, patio and swingset.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$119

Contact information

720-A Lakeview Plaza Blvd, Columbus, OH 43085

http://insightpest.com/chicago/

Service hours

Monday:
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday:
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday:
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday:
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday:
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday:
8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Licensing

Insured

Licensed*

Eco-friendly Accreditations

LEED Accredited Professional
No
Energy Star Partner
No
EPA Lead-Safe Certified
No
Use Green Products or Work Practices
Yes
State Contractor License Requirements

All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

*Contact business to see additional licenses.


Service Categories

Pest Control,
Lawn and Yard Work,
Home inspection

FAQ

Insight Pest Solutions is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

Monday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Insight Pest Solutions accepts the following forms of payment: American Express,Check,Discover,MasterCard,Visa
Yes, Insight Pest Solutions offers free project estimates.
Yes, Insight Pest Solutions offers eco-friendly accreditations.
No, Insight Pest Solutions does not offer a senior discount.
No, Insight Pest Solutions does not offer emergency services.
Yes, Insight Pest Solutions offers warranties.
Insight Pest Solutions offers the following services: Pest control, Termite Control, Crawlspace Moisture Control and Remediation
Lions, Tigers, or Bears :)

Contact information

720-A Lakeview Plaza Blvd, Columbus, OH 43085

http://insightpest.com/chicago/

Service hours

Monday:
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday:
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday:
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday:
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday:
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday:
8:00 AM - 3:00 PM