Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Upstairs Downstairs Cleaning

House Cleaning

About us

Residential & Executive Office Suite cleaning. Owner operated, family owned, established 1991. reasonable rates, free estimates. move in/move out. Cleaning tailored to your specific needs.

Business highlights

35 years of trusted experience

Services we offer

Weekly, Bi-Weekly or Monthly Cleaning Services

Services we don't offer

Ask for details

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes


Accepted payment methods

American Express
Check
Discover
MasterCard
Visa

Reviews

3.34 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
25%
4
25%
3
25%
2
0%
1
25%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.3
value
4.3
professionalism
3.5
responsiveness
4.3
punctuality
4.3
Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

Suzanna M.
12/2012
1.0
house cleaning
  + -1 more
While my home was cleaned as required the problem was the damage done to our property. I let the cleaning service finish out the job after I left my home and I came back to find two windows were broken and the printer had to be reassembled because it had been dropped on the floor and hastily put away. Our windows are Anderson windows so one must slide them down, or up, partway before opening the windows. I assume the two cleaning people did not know this and that is how they broke two of the windows. In addition, it appears, when one of the women was dusting the computer she must have bumped the printer and so it fell off the shelf. Don't use this service. By the way I tipped $20 to each cleaner for 4 hours of work.
Description of Work: While my home was cleaned as required the problem was the damage done to our property. I let the cleaning service finish out the job after I left my home and I came back to find two windows were broken and the printer had to be reassembled because it had been dropped on the floor and hastily put away. Our windows are Anderson windows so one must slide them down, or up, partway before opening the windows. I assume the two cleaning people did not know this and that is how they broke two of the windows. In addition, it appears, when one of the women was dusting the computer she must have bumped the printer and so it fell off the shelf. Don't use this service. By the way I tipped $20 to each cleaner for 4 hours of work.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
professionalism
1.0

$190

Response from Upstairs Downstairs Cleaning
With all do respect, we are a very professional and respected cleaning service in our community, our family has owned and operated this business since 1990. We are disappointed that you feel you had this quality of service done in your home, Is was brought to management’s attention the day your service was performed that certain windows were pointed out to our supervisor “not to do, they are broken” we wish you would have contacted us immediately after the service, by phone, understanding you left a review on Angie’s List which was not seen by management . Again we try to make sure each job and each customer is taken care of so that they are happy. If this matter needs to be discussed further please call us. Thank You

Jessey C.
11/2012
3.0
house cleaning
  + -1 more
I have them came every other week for the past several months. They are often vague about when during the day the cleaners would show up. So you have to wait around. The cleaners are not always the same persons. It bothers me a little bit (I know it may not be for others). Never mind the trust issue, I think frequent changes of personals affects the quality of their cleaning as instructions you gave are not always passed on. They did very "superficial" cleaning" ? they don't move furnitures, that is a given. But the cleaning is so superficial, often it looks as if they have never came. They are just not very thorough. They don't dust well, often miss a spot, or leaving a whole area (such as a night stand, the top of the TVs, top of the headboards, just to name a few) not dusted. They don't vacuum very thoroughly either. They wouldn't vacuum sofas or dining room chairs unless you asked them specifically. When they mopped the foyer floor they don't even shake out the floor mat and a small area rug. They just mop around them. It is very frustrating that you have to check their work before they leave and ask them to redo the places that they missed. Often they moved so fast out of the door before you got a chance to speak to them. I don't have a huge house, so the rushing and the lack of attention to details really bugs me. I would use them for now until I find a new cleaning company.
Description of Work: They dusted and vacuumed the general living area. They also washed down the showers, sinks, and floors in the bathroom. They shook the bath rugs, took out the trash, and put in new trash can liners. They cleaned the surface of kitchen appliances, countertop, and cook top, as well as moped the floors.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
4.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$90

Sue R.
01/2012
4.0
house cleaning
  + -1 more
As stated above, they start at the top of the house and dust, vacume, mop, etc. They shake out all my area rugs and bathroom rugs.If I have something extra that needs attention they cheerfully oblige. The house smells good after they are here!
Description of Work: I have used Upstairs Downstairs for several years. They are punctual and do a good job. they dusted, swept and vacumed. They wash down the showers, sinks and floors of the bathrooms. They do move the canisters etc n the kitchen counters and clean the tops and the cook top quite well.They do not "deep" clean, that is they do not move the furniture around or the books from the shelves, but for bi monthly cleaning they are fine. You can ask them to do additional work and they cheerfully oblige. I make sure that the house is straightened before they come so that they don't have to spend time moving things around.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$110

Will D.
08/2011
5.0
house cleaning
  + -1 more
It’s been an excellent experience working with this company. Ruth, the owner, she is very detailed about cleaning and she is very quick. She is insured. She is quick to set things right if there is ever a problem. She is also reasonably flexible with her schedule and appointments. I would highly recommend her.
Description of Work: They clean my house weekly. She also cleaned my office until we closed my office. She does residential and commercial work.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$110

    Contact information

    1607 S Olden Ave, Trenton, NJ 08610

    www.upstairsdownstairscleaningservice.com/

    Service hours

    Sunday:
    Closed
    Monday:
    7:30 AM - 5:30 AM
    Tuesday:
    7:30 AM - 5:30 AM
    Wednesday:
    7:30 AM - 5:30 AM
    Thursday:
    7:30 AM - 5:30 AM
    Friday:
    7:30 AM - 5:30 AM
    Saturday:
    Closed

    Licensing

    Bonded

    Insured
    State Contractor License Requirements

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

    *Contact business to see additional licenses.


    Service Categories

    House Cleaning

    FAQ

    Upstairs Downstairs Cleaning is currently rated 3.3 overall out of 5.

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 AM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 AM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 AM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 AM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 AM

    Saturday: Closed

    Upstairs Downstairs Cleaning accepts the following forms of payment: American Express,Check,Discover,MasterCard,Visa
    Yes, Upstairs Downstairs Cleaning offers free project estimates.
    No, Upstairs Downstairs Cleaning does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
    No, Upstairs Downstairs Cleaning does not offer a senior discount.
    No, Upstairs Downstairs Cleaning does not offer emergency services.
    No, Upstairs Downstairs Cleaning does not offer warranties.
    Upstairs Downstairs Cleaning offers the following services: Weekly, Bi-Weekly or Monthly Cleaning Services
    Ask for details

    Contact information

    1607 S Olden Ave, Trenton, NJ 08610

    www.upstairsdownstairscleaningservice.com/

    Service hours

    Sunday:
    Closed
    Monday:
    7:30 AM - 5:30 AM
    Tuesday:
    7:30 AM - 5:30 AM
    Wednesday:
    7:30 AM - 5:30 AM
    Thursday:
    7:30 AM - 5:30 AM
    Friday:
    7:30 AM - 5:30 AM
    Saturday:
    Closed