Bill’s Scenic Landscaping was established in 1984 as a leading provider of innovative and exquisite outdoor living spaces. We offer a high standard of quality and precision for all of our design, construction, and maintenance projects.
Business highlights
41 years of trusted experience
Services we offer
Lawn maintenance. Lawn & shrub trimming. Spring & fall clean ups. Foundation planting. Hardscaping. Patios. Driveways. Sidewalks. Outdoor kitchens & fireplaces. Pergolas & drainage systems. . Snow removal.
Left a message to Bill.We talked the next day.He's personable and friendly.His crew was here the following day.They did a beautiful job in a timely manner.Price was reasonable too.I would hire again and recommend this company.
Description of Work: Spring cleanup.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Jinny J.
09/2018
5.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
They did an excellent job. They clean my lakefront property every Spring. Very fair price, show up on time, and clean up
Description of Work: Lot clearing, trimming shrubs
Bill did a bunch of landscape work for us over 2 years. In 2016 his crew cleared out old over grown old landscape all around the house. In spring of 2017 his crew created a 500 sf paver patio, re-graded yard, added drainage pipes and river stones area in one corner of yard. All work was excellent.
Description of Work: Old landscape removal, new paver patio, added underground drainage, re-graded some parts of yard, added river stone area.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Eugene L.
07/2016
5.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
Perfectly! The work was completed so quickly and my yard was left in great shape.
Description of Work: In May 2014, I hired Bill's Scenic Landscaping LLC too cleanup my yard; which included removal of debris (5 yards); cut down a small tree.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$401.25
Meghan K.
08/2014
5.0
landscaping, hardscaping
+ 0 more
The team shows up every Thursday afternoon to cut our lawn, weed whack, and blow off all the hardscapes. They do a great job and listen to our requests. Bill himself even came out to look and address a sprinkler head that had been damaged.
Description of Work: Weed Whack and Cut Lawn
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$40
Brad C.
07/2014
5.0
drain pipe, landscaping, hardscaping
+ 1 more
Bill's estimate came in significantly lower than another bid we received, so I was skeptical, but he had great reviews on here and with an acquaintance of mine, so we hired him. Getting the initial estimate and a confirmed start date took a little longer than I'd like, but quality work takes quality time. When his crew showed up, I was out of the country and my wife was home with our two young kids. When Bill's crew found a draining pipe that was in the way (from our central A/C system), one of his men went to our local hardware store, bought new PVC pipe and plumbed it himself. They didn't charge us for this, other than just asking my wife for some cash to get the pipe. Their flexibility was much appreciated. In the end, their work was excellent - the wall looks great, a huge improvement over the previous one. There was one issue with some dust on the wall that wouldn't come off. Bill came back personally to take care of it without a problem.
Description of Work: Replaced a retaining wall.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
3.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$2,400
glenn R.
06/2014
5.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
Took about a month to get on his calendar, once deposit made. Then when 18th rolled around, two of the hardest workers I've ever seen, commenced the project. They also moved about 25 yards of "river rock" from the front, to the swale in the back. Took two days to complete and completely satisfied.
Description of Work: Remove a dead pine tree; removed a bunch of weeds and 3 unwanted plants, installed 3 new plants, and installed a truck load of black dyed mulch.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,900
Gudrun L.
06/2014
5.0
lawn service
+ -1 more
They were excellent. They were prompt. They said they'd come and they came. They're a good company.
Description of Work: They cleaned up the yard.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$300
Mel B.
06/2014
5.0
hardscaping, pavers, gravel
+ 0 more
They did a good job. I would recommend them. They have friendly staff and the price was high but it had to get done.
Description of Work: I did use Bill's Scenic Landscaping.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$2,500
Response from Bill's Scenic Landscaping LLC
Thank you. We're happy to hear you are pleased with the results. We appreciate your recommendation.
Christopher B.
05/2014
3.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
The initial contact with Bill was fine; he showed up on-time, was friendly, and gave sound advice. Scheduling the work to proceed took longer than expected, but as it was late spring, the delays were acceptable. The employees that performed the work were friendly and performed quality work. The major complaints with this landscaper is the follow-through. My wife and I initially watered the lawn via two garden hoses (approx. 1 hour per night) before we paid to have a sprinkler system installed (different contractor). The grass was not growing in well for 80% of the yard, but the weeds were rampant. Several neighbors indicated that they have never seen new grass seed grow in with that density of weeds. A call to the landscaper was of no help either; they indicated that it was our fault for not watering enough. That was the only explanation they could give us (without coming out to look at the yard). We asked that they reseed (the contract said that they would reseed any bare spots), but the soonest that they indicated that they would come out was September (>1 month away). My wife and I took it upon ourselves to re-mediate our lawn ourselves and from our own pocket. We have pulled approximately 500+ lbs. of weeds over the course of 1 month, and have reseeded the lawn using seed we bought at Home Depot. The lawn is finally starting to look acceptable, but with no thanks to Bill's. For the amount we spent on our landscaping, we would have liked to have seen better customer service and support. With how quickly the weeds have taken over our lawn, waiting over a month to reseed would be ludicrous. By the time the reseeding would take place, the lawn would likely be overrun by weeds again. Conclusion: Bill's offers very reasonably priced lawn cuts, but I would avoid them for landscape design work. There are bound to be other landscapers out there that offer better customer service after the work is complete.
Description of Work: Took landscaping down to dirt, added topsoil and seed, and replaced the plants along the walkway to the front entrance of the house.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
2.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
4.0
$7,000
Response from Bill's Scenic Landscaping LLC
We installed this lawn on July 10, 2013. On 8/2 we were informed that the customer was getting a sprinkler system. On 8/5, the customer called to question the progress of the lawn growth. I looked at the lawn on 8/7. I have no way of knowing if the lawn was watered efficiently in the interim, but it did not appear to be the case. On 8/20, the customer called again, this time concerned about the amount of weeds in the lawn. We informed the customer that the lawn would need to be cut because the weeds that grew in the lawn were never cut down and allowed to turn to seed, causing more weeds to grow. We instructed the homeowner to set the sprinklers to 30 minutes per zone and offered to reseed in September because September offers the highest germination rate. We did the reseeding in the last week of September and did not hear back from the homeowner about the lawn until we read their review. Bill
Troy B.
05/2014
2.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
Bill's Scenic Landscaping LLC came to my property and provided me a quote to install 12 yards of double ground cedar mulch at $70 per yard ($875 in total), a very fair price. I called in mid April, 2014 to request the service and timeframe for completion. The backlog was estimated at two weeks, which would imply approximately May 1st for the job date. Having not heard from Bill's after about 3 weeks, I called for a service date, which was now going to be May 13th, and made sure that Bill's Scenic Landscaping understood that I was unhappy with the delay and wanted to meet with his crew to show them the property (given that Bill wasn't planning to be present for my job and the crew had no knowledge of my property). I made clear that I would have to miss work for this meeting and asked the time of day I should expect for the crew's arrival. Mine was to be the first job of the day, and typical arrival time was stated 8:30 to 9:00am. On the morning of May 12th I called Bill's to confirm my May 13th service, left a message reiterating that I would be missing work to greet the crew and discuss the job. Just before 5:00 on the 12th, I got a call from Bill's letting me know that the service date would have to be moved out to May 21st, now six weeks after my initial two week estimate. All that rain had taken them by complete surprise. Recognizing that I would have little ability to quickly locate another landscaping crew during the spring rush, I offered my complaint and reluctantly acknowledged the new May 21st service date. Bill's office then kindly called me on May 20th to confirm the next day appointment, recallilng that I would be taking off from work to meet with them before the job started. Again the timeframe of 8:30 to 9:00 am was confirmed. At 9:25 am on May 21st, I called Bill's to see if everything was still a go. No one answered, so I left a message. At 9:45 I left another message stating that if someone didn't call me promptly, I was going to leave for work and cancel the job. I then got an immediate call back from a Bill's employee stating that the crew chief was not picking up their call. At 10:00 am Bill's called again, letting me in on the problem. Apparently they needed mulch for a mulch job. Hmmm. I guess they hadn't factored that variable into the equation. The crew was in another town about 17 minutes away (according to Google Maps) with the mulch. Fuming at that point, I estimated 30 minutes (until 10:30) that I could wait. When they still didn't arrive, I decided to give them another 30 minutes at the 10:30 mark. At 11:00 I finally called Bill's (had to leave a message again) and told them I had to leave and would therefore be canceling the job. They left me a message at 11:08am that their truck was in the general area. While the woman I spoke with (Jenifer) was quite cordial and professional on the phone, my sense is that Bill does the estimates and has other people actually run his business. I never heard from Bill himself throughout this process. Maybe they do quality work. They just aren't reliable enough for me to ever find out. For me, it was a complete waste of time and opportunity.
Description of Work: Wasted my time and cost me the opportunity to get mulch job done before summer. The job was never done.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
value
4.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
1.0
$875
Response from Bill's Scenic Landscaping LLC
In response to this members comments, we'd first like to offer our apologies that we could not accommodate his needs within his desired timeframe. However, in an industry that is dependent on factors such as weather and unforeseen job delays, we can not always be accurate with our schedules. Rain does not take us by surprise as mentioned by this member, but there is no way to predict in advance how many days it is going to rain during any given timeframe. We mistakenly assumed that such delays would be understood. On the morning of the installation, we stayed in constant contact with this member between his first phone call and his last phone call. While he may have had to leave messages on the voicemail due to heavy call volume, the receptionist returned all of his calls promptly. Although the crew was ESTIMATED to arrive between 8:30 and 9:00 am, we were once again forced to deal with situations such as traffic and delays at the mulch yard. In this particular case, we also had to deal with a road closure that did not allow access to this member's street, causing our crew to have to find another way there and resulting in the final delay. Our receptionist made 2 final phone calls explaining that the crew was only minutes away, but this member canceled the job and refused to answer any more of our calls. Further, while it is true that I am not always on the job site while the work is being performed, I do take great measures to make sure my employees have verbal and written instructions of the job specs, as well as drawings when necessary. The crew does not show up to any job without knowing what to do, and I feel confident with the employees I hire to complete the job. If an issue does arise, I make myself available to re-visit the job site with the crew supervisor. If this member had 10 more minutes to spare, he would have had his mulch installed on May 21st and I am confident he would have been pleased with the results. Bill
Eugene L.
05/2014
5.0
landscaping, lawn service
+ 0 more
Bill's did an awesome job on my property, and very quickly!! I'll absolutely use Bills again! Thanks!!
Description of Work: Spring cleanup
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$401.25
Response from Bill's Scenic Landscaping LLC
You're welcome! We're glad you are satisfied with our service!
Thomas K.
04/2014
5.0
landscaping, lawn service
+ 0 more
no issues with Bills scenic landscaping. Highly recommend.
Description of Work: fall cleanup in yard and cut grass.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$300
Response from Bill's Scenic Landscaping LLC
Thank you for the recommendation!
Carl S.
03/2014
5.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
Very professional from start to finish. Did a thorough and complete job was a bit pricey but I don't mind paying a bit more for excellent service. Would certainly hire them again in the future.
Description of Work: I hired Bill's Scenic to do leaf cleanup for the fall.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$321
Response from Bill's Scenic Landscaping LLC
Thank you. We look forward to working with you again.
Marta D.
11/2013
5.0
lawn service
+ -1 more
They met me at the home more than once to go over the property and make sure all was being accomplished as per my expectations. The office personnel is also very polite and professional. I am also happy with their prices. No hidden fees, they gave me an estimate, and my biggest problem was they don't bill immediately. In addition to fixing what a previous landscaper damaged, they have been caring for the property landscaping now for one month. My neighbors gave me thumbs up! I look forward to a long relationship.
Description of Work: My home has mature trees throughout, along with many other perennials. Bill's Scenic Landscaping met with me at the house to go over my concerns. There were many, and they took care of everything. I still have to do more, but they were professional, and did a great job.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$2,150
Lynne Z.
10/2013
5.0
lawn treatment
+ -1 more
They have done an excellent job there are no weeds in the lawn. My yard has never looked better and even into October the grass is still green when it has typically been brown in the past. Whenever I call them they are very professional and responsive on the phone. I would highly recommend using this company.
Description of Work: They came out and treated my lawn.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$100
Subhashish T.
09/2013
1.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
They would always pickup the phone. However they kept changing dates which is OK but not when coupled with my actual review below about the quality of service. They spent 2 days doing the cleanup and the mulch but I had to call them to ask why it was not completely mulched. So they sent a person another day. The person mulched and then we went on vacation for 7 days. When we came back there was weed growing through the mulch so we asked them to come again. This time the owner came and they conducted some more services. Its been two weeks and the weeds are back through the mulch, so I am not sure what work he did here. We have been very disappointed with them. There is another local guy here who does our grass cutting and had done the spring cleanup for our neighbours. He has done a fantastic job and I had not hired him only because he was asking for 3000 instead of the 2200 that I paid Bill. I think I was penny wise pound foolish in this instance.
Description of Work: They provided spring cleanup and mulched the trees and the shrubs
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
3.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
3.0
$2,250
Response from Bill's Scenic Landscaping LLC
Unfortunately, we did have to reschedule this job twice due to rain delays. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused; however, weather delays are very common in our industry and cannot be controlled. After we completed the work on the contract, a technician walked the property with one of the homeowners who brought the re-growth of weeds to our attention. We returned to spray round-up on the weeds free of charge. If we had known prior to this review that the weeds had returned again, we would have suggested a weed maintenance program. When weeds are as heavily established as they were at this property, they can return even with a layer of mulch because it is near impossible to remove the entire root system of every weed. Customer satisfaction is very important to us and we always strive to resolve any issues as they arise. We feel this job was no exception.
Joanna D.
08/2013
5.0
landscaping, hardscaping
+ 0 more
Wonderful experience. Communication with the office was great. When any times needed to be changed due to weather or conflicts they were prompt to call and reschedule. Started construction on the day that was promised and completed in the estimated time frame All for all, from the office to the field workers - Wonderful
Description of Work: Needed to have 2 retaining walls removed and replaced
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,000
Mel B.
05/2013
5.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
They are very good. I have no problems with them. They did beautiful work. They are a little high priced but it's great.
Description of Work: I used the services of Bill's Scenic Landscaping.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Peter A L.
05/2013
5.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
I contacted Bill's Scenic Landscaping to preform a spring cleanup. Two men came to my home to do the work. I must say that they did a wonderful job. My yard looks wonderful. As for the price, I am not sure if it was a fair price or not as I did not get any other estimates. They did do a great job though. I will call them for the fall cleanup. This week I also have them coming over to give me an estimate on some landscaping repairs that need to be done.
Description of Work: Removal of all leaves, sticks, and branches that came down over the winter.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$300
David C.
03/2013
5.0
lawn service, lawn treatment
+ 0 more
He is a local guy. His prices are not great, he is a little bit more than other companies but his work is phenomenal. He does very good work and his customer service is great too. If I have issues with making a payment, he will work with me. It is a good company.
Description of Work: I use Bill's Scenic Landscaping for lawn work. They installed the lawn for me 6 years ago. They maintain it every month; they come and fertilize the lawn. They also do the leaves twice a year.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$69
Barbara L.
02/2013
5.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
We asked him to work on our yard and our yard looked the best as it ever looked. He is very thorough with his work. Our yard is immaculate. He does a remarkable job.
Description of Work: I use the landscaping services of Bill's Scenic Landscaping. He provides grass cutting, lawn work and weeds pick up. He also did some gutter cleaning.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$50
Kaarel P.
11/2012
5.0
landscaping, hardscaping, lawn service
+ 1 more
Owner showed up on time, provided written estimate (via e-mail) next day. Work was done and finished as agreed. No complaints at all.
Description of Work: Renovate part of garden. Turn overgrown flowerbed to lawn. Remove weeds and shrubs. New topsoil.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,400
raymond F.
08/2012
5.0
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment
+ 1 more
They do a great job. We have always been happy with their service.
Description of Work: They do our lawn service.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
RYAN W.
08/2012
5.0
landscaping, lawn service
+ 0 more
I moved into my house about 18 months ago and had completely ignored the landscaping up until this point. It had gotten out of control with over growth, weeds, and dead plants. I hired Bill to clean up everything, and he did a great job. Bill knows his stuff, and the best part is he's quick to schedule appointments, provide quotes, and get the work started. He did a fantastic job, and I've already called him to see about getting a quote for some new plants and a patio. He will be my landscaper for all projects going forward.
Description of Work: Bill did a major clean up of my yard. He weeded all the garden beds, trimmed the trees as needed, pruned the bushes and shrubs, and reshaped the garden beds.
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.
*Contact business to see additional licenses.
Service Categories
Landscaping,
Lawn and Yard Work,
Pavers and Hardscaping,
Lawn Fertilization & Treatment,
Drain Pipe Installation,
Stone and Gravel,
Excavating,
Leaf Removal,
Outdoor Kitchens,
Patios,
Snow Removal,
Fireplaces
FAQ
Bill's Scenic Landscaping LLC is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.
Sunday: Closed
Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 AM
Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 AM
Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 AM
Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 AM
Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 AM
Saturday: Closed
Bill's Scenic Landscaping LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check,Discover,MasterCard,Visa