Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Big Jerry's Fencing LLC

Fencing, Decks and Porches, Pavers and Hardscaping

About us

Locally owned & operated.

Business highlights

17 years of trusted experience
Emergency Services Offered

Services we offer

Residential & commercial fencing, decks & arbor installation

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Emergency Services
Yes


Accepted payment methods

American Express
Check
Discover
MasterCard
PayPal
Visa

Reviews

3.213 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
38%
4
0%
3
8%
2
8%
1
46%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.6
value
3.7
professionalism
3.4
responsiveness
3.3
punctuality
3.2
Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews

Craig H.
04/2024
1.0
fencing
  + -1 more
CUSTOMERS BEWARE: We own a self storage facility in Parkton, NC and we paid Jay Aguilar a $15k deposit to increase the fencing around our property. Well he delayed us for months saying that he couldn't get the material (which we know was a lie because we own nearly two dozen facilities and were doing fence work at other properties without a "material delay"). Then after around 3 months of waiting for "material" he eventually just stopped taking our calls or responding to our emails altogether and basically "ran off" with our $15k. Yesterday when we threatened to have him arrested, not surprisingly he finally decided to speak to us.... well when my business partner talked to him yesterday, offering one last attempt to get our money back, Jay told my business partner "I don't have it"...meaning he spent our money on who knows what and can't give us our money back. Our attorney advised us to contact the Sheriff (as this dollar amount means it's a felony theft) and to have him arrested for theft, so that's what we're doing today. Customers beware... do not give Jay your money as it'll disappear and you'll lose it just like we did. Jay... I hope you enjoy getting charged with a felony!
Description of Work: Expand our fence and fix our gate system

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$15,500

Eryn C.
11/2022
1.0
decks, fencing
  + 0 more
I requested a quote in August and immediately received a phone call and quote, which was fantastic. I went ahead and paid my deposit and scheduled the earliest time available, which was over a month out and I was fine with that. The week of installation came and went, no call, no email, no fence. I called and was told it would be the next week, again no call, no email, no fence. I called again and was told it would be the next week, again no call, no email, no fence. I called again only to be told they would call me back by the end of the day with a date for the following week, yet again no call, no email, no fence. I've tried calling again only to be sent to a voice-mail that is full. At this rate, I just want my deposit back, but I can't get ahold of anyone to let them know to cancel. I guess I will have to call my credit card company and file on BBB.
Description of Work: Fence installation

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
value
3.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$850

Valerie W.
09/2017
5.0
fencing
  + -1 more
They were very detailed oriented and did a great job.
Description of Work: They installed a fence.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,500

Amy J.
09/2014
2.0
fencing
  + -1 more
I really wanted to love this company. It was referred to me by several friends and Julia was a sweetheart to deal with (I've been told she is no longer there). However, the experience turned out to be nothing but a big hassle, leaving me wishing I had went with someone else. The date of installation was pushed back several times. For some of those incidents, it was due to weather and this was understandable. However, there was a serious lack of communication - sometimes receiving an email 1 hour before the crew was supposed to show to let me know they would not make it and every other communication was initiated by me to confirm they were coming the next day - only to be told they were not. When the fence was finally installed, I was told that it would be a two day job due to the need to let the concrete set. Surprisingly, the work was completed in one day. It looked good initially, I was happy to have it completed, and I promptly paid in full. The great look of the fence did not last. The and quot;planksand quot; began to separate from one another and the gate started dragging on the concrete. I contacted the company because one of the main reasons I went with them was their warranty on workmanship and it states and quot;LIFETIME guarantee of construction to be free of defects in workmanship...in the event that your fence is in need of repair, all repairs will be made within 30 days of notification.and quot; Unfortunately, much like my experience with the installation being pushed back over and over and over, the same happened with my repairs. It took well over the 30 days guaranteed to get the repairs done. When the crew came, they confirmed that the problem was that the job should have taken 2 days. While working, they also broke the cap on the top of the gate. I let the owner know and was told that this would be fixed. Weeks later it was not fixed. In fact, I was unable to get this fixed until I complained to the BBB, requesting a refund for the cap so I could get this taken care of by another company. Upon learning that the cap was inexpensive, I just went to purchase my own. Oddly, after I purchased my own cap, someone with this company must have come with the correct cap and replaced it while no one was home. However, even the new cap was not put on properly and has fallen off. We have obtained the appropriate glue supply after talking with another fence company and I am happy to say it is fixed. Unfortunately, the and quot;planksand quot; are starting to pull apart again. Fortunately, the crew that came to repair this once already showed us how to fix this on our own. I do not wish to deal with this company or the owner again in the future despite the warranty. When the fence isn't showing gaps, it is a beautiful fence. It is sturdy, in that our son has accidentally thrown basketballs up against it and it holds up well. However, the hassle of dealing with this company was certainly not worth the money spent.
Description of Work: Vinyl privacy fence in backyard

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
4.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$4,000

Response from Big Jerry's Fencing LLC
The BBB closed this complaint because it was unfounded. I have attempted to satisfy this customer numerous times, however as she mentioned she does not choose to work directly with me. I am very sorry she had a poor experience with us and for the extended time it took to get to her repair and original install. She was looking for financial compensation and realized that was not going to happen. For further information please read her BBB complaint.

Warren S.
06/2014
1.0
fencing
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: After giving supplier a deposit they scheduled the installation a few weeks later. Then they rescheduled again days before installation. This happened again and I finally asked for my deposit back which took time but I did get it.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
value
5.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
1.0

$6,000

Response from Big Jerry's Fencing LLC
The customers comments appear to be true, however I personally feel the grade is a little harsh. A formal office manager of mine was working with [member name removed] and did not handle this customer to my satisfaction as well. Needless to say this employee is no longer with the company. Should [member name removed] need any further assistance, i would be more than happy to personally assist him.

Terressa M.
05/2014
1.0
fencing
  + -1 more
Apparently Big Jerry's does not need the work.
Description of Work: We called Big Jerry's to come out and give us an estimate on putting up an aluminum fence on a house we have just purchased. We never received a call back from the first message we left. I left a second message and my husband did receive a call back and scheduled the estimate for 11:00 on May 12. At 11:30 they had not shown up yet. My husband called to find out if they were on their way. He left a message and we still have not been contacted.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0


Response from Big Jerry's Fencing LLC
Hello [removed member name], I am sorry you had that experience with us. I did have an office manager during this time frame that should have handled this, that is no longer with me. I just saw your review. I would have contacted you directly, however I can not find anything with your contact information. If you still need any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly info@bigjerrysfencing.com

rebecca B.
04/2014
1.0
fencing
  + -1 more
Big Jerry is charismatic and charming and Julia is as sweet as pie, so it was especially disappointing how poor the communication, materials, communication, craftsmanship, and communication were. Lesson learned: likeability does not a good fence make. OUR TIMELINE: If you read the review prior to ours (from Mar 25) you will see that they came out 3 days early for that client, well, dear Angie's List Members, please note that you can just as easily be on the other side of that coin. We were scheduled to begin Mar 3, but the weather was bad for a week so we decided to start the following Monday (3/10) but they did not show because someone was and quot;illand quot;. They would also not be able to come Tuesday. Wednesday did not work for us, but instead of coming Thursday or Friday they said they'd start the following Monday (3/17). They did start that Monday, but they did not come again on Tuesday. And the weather again was bad. They told us they’d come on Saturday (3/22), and when I asked at 2:30p Saturday if they were still planning on coming I did not get a response. It turns out that had an easier vinyl job that they wanted to get to 3 days early (see previous Angie's List Reviewer). Big Jerry did apologize the following Monday (3/24) saying that he forgot about us. They did not come Tuesday (3/25) because of weather. They worked the following Wednesday (3/26), but they went home early because we asked them to stop when we saw that they were not putting the pickets up to our agreed-upon specs. My husband sent an email with questions that evening, and Big Jerry said he’d address the email, but never did. He also said that his crew leader asked for the day off so they would not be coming Thursday (3/27), but he'd let us know when they'd come back... although we never heard from him again. **UPDATE: We heard from them again after posting the review. THE FENCE: Many posts are not plumb -- although plumb posts were not explicitly in the contract, we believed that plumb was implied (see photographic evidence). Many posts (possibly all) are not buried 24and quot; deep as per the contract (photo). The spacing between pickets should have been more even (we believe that had the posts distance been set correctly in the first place that this would have been a non-issue). Big Jerry assured me that the crew would eye-ball the spaces and it would be a very small variance. This was not the case. We have spaces that range between 2.74and quot; and 0.45and quot; -- when the spaces should have been 1.5and quot; give or take. (photo) The pickets were supposed to end at the bottom rail (we asked for a top and bottom rail) and they were attached all the way to the ground... like they might on a standard front picket dog-eared fence. (photo) I was very clear that I wanted the pickets set symmetrically (mirror image) beside the front gate, and a half-hour later I found the pickets were put up wrong. (photo) *We are upset, but we don't feel that we are giving an unfair review. We have taken photos of everything so that you can see for yourself if this level of craftsmanship is good-enough for your money (it wasn't for ours). We feel the price was way too high($17.50/ft) for the work performed and materials provided. We were very understanding about the weather, but we finally did have to specifically ask them to tell us when they were coming and when they weren't because we felt left in the dark (to be fair they did acknowledge that they were being slack about that and they said sorry, although it kept happening). And they certainly get an and quot;Fand quot; for professionalism since it's been over a week since we've heard from them... I assume they quit. *Will have photos up shortly. (this is a new computer and I'm still figuring it out)
Description of Work: We hired Big Jerry's Fencing to install a semi-private in-line (the pickets go between the posts and not in front of the posts) wooden fence with a top and bottom rail and with alternating 6" and 4" pickets. What they actually did: They set un-plumb posts to a shallow-depth in concrete. They attached the stringers (2x4s) although they forgot a few before they proceeded to the next step. They delivered pickets and began putting them up (wrong). And we told them it was wrong, they stopped working for the day. My husband sent questions via email that were never addressed, they bailed out on coming again the next day, and we never heard from them again.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$3,390

Response from Big Jerry's Fencing LLC
(member name), Big Jerry's Fencing has not quit your project. Per your email on the 28th, you asked us if we had ordered your custom wire and if not, then to cancel the order. We followed up with an email to you several hours later and advised you that it had been ordered and was scheduled to come in the following week, which was earlier this week. We wanted to wait to finish your installation once the materials arrived so we were no longer making numerous trips to your home to complete your installation. We are guilty of not following up with you earlier this week once your materials arrived Tuesday,. For that I take full responsibility. We are prepared to complete your project and asked that you be present to assure you are getting the exact final product that you are looking for, as there has been numerous changes made on your end. That is not a big deal, we just want you to be satisfied with your decision and final product. To the best of my knowledge, we have not received any further emails or phone calls from you once we responded to your request to the possibility of putting off the order for your special designed wire. We did not know if you were deciding on another design change or not. This easily could have been answered if I were to have called you this week to make you aware it had arrived. Again, that was poor communication on my part. This is the first I am hearing of any posts not being set plumb. If this is true, you can be assured this will be addressed when we arrive to complete your installation. I gave already emailed you and called and texted you today with no response. I completely understand that it is not always possible to respond promptly so at your convenience, please let me know when we can schedule the completion of your installation and address any further issues or concerns you might have. I am sure you will be pleased with the final product and look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Jerry Davis

Yolanda R.
03/2014
5.0
fencing
  + -1 more
I contacted Jerry after asking my neighbor who installed his fence and I am so glad I did. After scheduling an appointment with Julia in the office, both she and Jerry came out as scheduled and provided us with an estimate, which was by far the lowest of four (4) estimates I received. Prior to them coming, I read the reviews on Angie's List (which I rely on heavily because I'm from out-of-state and a new homeowner) It was a no brainer to go with Big Jerry's Fencing (BJF), a decision I do not regret. Installation was delayed due to the rainy weather, which I totally understood. BJF gave me a discount in the price because of this...not expected, but greatly appreciated. Installation was scheduled for a Tuesday, BJF came out 3 days earlier and installed my fence in 1 day. I hope my neighbors ask, because I will happily recommend and quot;Big Jerry's Fencingand quot;
Description of Work: Supply and install a vinyl privacy fence

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,225

Rafael M.
10/2013
5.0
fencing
  + -1 more
It was excellent. Courteous and very punctual service to get back to me. Big Jerry came in person, as scheduled a day before, and the nickname is well deserved. A very nice fellow that was very honest about what he knew and could do: Unlike most contractors that always say yes when you ask if they can do something. Anyways, he had his stuff together: he walked the backyard area's perimeter, identified the issues w the stumps (I had to get them removed as they were pretty large stumps) and made all the right questions, had a contract all set, reassured me of all the proper issues and steps that would follow, having received my full reassurance by phone he had already called the utilities to mark the property, had me send all the documents for permitting by email to his staff(Julia); who acknowledged instantaneously. I had already seen a preliminary contract emailed to me at that point; and they send an updated on immediately. Since then, I already received the drawing of the fence on the survey and all the updates one could wish for. The work started the day before it was originally schedule w a courteous call announcing it... The crew was obvious competent, and on the task. They quickly realized there were some large, hard rocks inches under some areas that would require a jackhammer: I'm a field architect so I knew it was a correct assessment. But they continued working on the other post and getting things done. The jackhammer was a item noted in the contract as potential extra cost for this area, and it cost $350 for the 6 postholes that required it (these were big rocks that could not be avoided by shifting post positions. These were extremely time consuming hard minerals! But the work went on. We got rained out a couple of days, but 3 days of actual labor did the trick; even w extra heavy posts, board on board picketing, 3 sandwiching rails, 2 gates in a sloped area (1 double), and the need for hammering hard rocks 3and quot; under the surface to a 2' depth! It was some serious achievement. At all steps, their office staff(Julia) contacted us to give us advanced notice of what was happening. That is the kind of professionalism you don't usually expect from a fence company, but Big Jerry provided! I recommend Big Jerry without reservations.
Description of Work: 254' of Privacy Costume Wood Fence with 6X6 exposed posts, 6" board on board pickets sandwiched by 2x4 rails top/bottom and extra rail in the middle. A really nice looking fence.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$5,000

William W.
05/2013
1.0
fencing
  + -1 more
I am unable to give a rating at this time as I have been unable to receive a call back.
Description of Work: No call back
Rating CategoryRating out of 5

Response from Big Jerry's Fencing LLC
Good afternoon Mr. [removed member name], I apologize that we were not able to get back in contact with you last year. I am not sure where exactly the communication break down occurred on our end but assure you it is not the norm for us. I understand you were trying to reach us last year, however did not know if there was something we could still help you with at this time. As you can tell by our other reviews, we strive for excellence and ask that you would consider to change your personal rating for Big Jerry's Fencing accordingly. Please let me know if there is anything I can personally do to help you in the future. Sincerely, Jerry Davis Owner: Big Jerry's Fencing

Robert E.
05/2013
5.0
fencing
  + -1 more
Overall I would definitely recommend this company to my friends. I had a great experience with them and they were very professional.
Description of Work: I had Big Jerry's install a 5ft Vynle Privacy fence that met my HOA requirements. This was about 300ft of fence with one Double Gate and one Single gate. They did a fantastic job. The person that came to do the estimate did was very knowledgeable and asked questions that made sense. He helped me plan out the project and make sure it would work. They scheduled the fence and these guys came on time. Installation took about 1 and 1/2 days. The crew nocked it out very fast and met my expectations. They even buried my gutter extension under the fence so it would drain out properly which I did not even ask them to do but that made my day!

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$6,638

Christine F.
05/2013
5.0
fencing
  + -1 more
Everything went very smooth except for the few days it rained and they couldn't work. It was done when they said it would be and we where absolutely pleased with the results.
Description of Work: Big Jerry came out and quoted the job himself and was about the only company quoting it that actually followed up after giving us the quote. They provided us with thicker wood for less then the competitive bids and we sensed they would provide quality work -- which they delivered. People describe our home in the neighborhood as the home with the nice fence.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$2,400

Janiece R.
08/2012
3.0
fencing
  + -1 more
I was pleased with the installation of the fence. I was not pleased with the process of ordering the fencing materials. They actually had not ordered the correct one. I had three different delays because of the fencing material not being in or not being the right. The work of installing the fence was very good. It was the lack of attention to order caused the delays.
Description of Work: Big Jerry's Fencing LLC installed a new fence.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
3.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
3.0


    Contact information

    108 Thomas Mill Rd Ste 204, Holly Springs, NC 27539

    www.bigjerrysfencing.com

    Service hours

    Sunday:
    Closed
    Monday:
    9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
    Tuesday:
    9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
    Wednesday:
    9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
    Thursday:
    9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
    Friday:
    9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
    Saturday:
    Closed

    Licensing

    Insured
    State Contractor License Requirements

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

    *Contact business to see additional licenses.


    Service Categories

    Fencing,
    Decks and Porches,
    Pavers and Hardscaping

    FAQ

    Big Jerry's Fencing LLC is currently rated 3.2 overall out of 5.

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    Big Jerry's Fencing LLC accepts the following forms of payment: American Express,Check,Discover,MasterCard,PayPal,Visa
    Yes, Big Jerry's Fencing LLC offers free project estimates.
    No, Big Jerry's Fencing LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
    No, Big Jerry's Fencing LLC does not offer a senior discount.
    Yes, Big Jerry's Fencing LLC offers emergency services.
    No, Big Jerry's Fencing LLC does not offer warranties.
    Big Jerry's Fencing LLC offers the following services: Residential & commercial fencing, decks & arbor installation

    Contact information

    108 Thomas Mill Rd Ste 204, Holly Springs, NC 27539

    www.bigjerrysfencing.com

    Service hours

    Sunday:
    Closed
    Monday:
    9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
    Tuesday:
    9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
    Wednesday:
    9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
    Thursday:
    9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
    Friday:
    9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
    Saturday:
    Closed