Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Midtown Home Improvements

Kitchen and Bath Remodeling, Windows, Decks and Porches,

About us

Award-Winning Full Line Residential Remodeler. Since 1990, Midtown Home Improvements has been your local, family-owned and -operated home remodeling company, offering everything from roof replacement to window installation to kitchen and bathroom remodeling services. We are proud to service customers throughout the greater St. Louis area. As an industry leader in home improvement projects, we have received numerous recognitions for our work. We know that our customers are the reason that we’re in business, and we strive to exceed customer expectations every time.

Business highlights

35 years of trusted experience
Veteran Owned & Operated
Family Owned & Operated
Eco Friendly

Services we offer

Energy efficient lifetime warrantied replacement windows, entry doors, permanent vinyl siding, maintenance free vinyl fences, low maintenance PVC cellular decks, kitchen & bath remodel, roofing, soffit, fascia & gutters.

Services we don't offer

Repairs.

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount

10%



Accepted payment methods

Check
Discover
Financing Available
MasterCard
Visa

Photos of past projects

Reviews

4.3214 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
67%
4
10%
3
4%
2
4%
1
15%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.6
value
4.1
professionalism
4.4
responsiveness
4.4
punctuality
4.5
Showing 151-175 of 214 reviews

Robert H.
06/2013
1.0
fencing
  + -1 more
The sales representative didn't show for our first appointment; however, they called 15 minutes before the appointment and let us know he wouldn't be able to make it. The second appointment the sales representative showed up and after 1.5 hours of him asking questions, degrading the competition, and preparing me for a high price I asked him to leave my home. I never got his bottom line price. He started out with a price that was good for 1 year (highest), then another that was good for 30 days (mid-price), and then he was preparing me for another 10 minutes of questioning before he gave me his final number (lowest) for the work. His 30 day price was 2.5 times higher than the other two bids I received from very reputable companies. I found his line of questioning insulting, his bashing of the competition unprofessional, and the overall experience very high pressure. I would not let them into my home again based on this experience.
Description of Work: Provided an estimate for a fence

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
1.0


Troy H.
05/2013
4.0
basement remodeling
  + -1 more
We got a quote for a basement remodel, but chose to go with another provider
Description of Work: We got a quote for a basement remodel, but chose to go with another provider

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Christina W.
05/2013
1.0
home remodeling
  + -1 more
It was supposed to be a three day project. Immediately after the departure of the installer on the third day one of the ceramic tiles fell off the wall and when I attempted to use my sink it was leaking. I called them immediately and they said someone would be back out the following Monday. Monday came and no one showed up. When I called they said there was a scheduling conflict. When they did show up they fixed the tile and re-glued the plumbing under the sink. He said to wait a few hours and try again. When I tried again I still had a major leak under my sink. They sent the same man out an additional two times and was still unsuccessful in fixing the leak. I spoke to Midtown and they agreed to send out a licensed plumber (the man who installed the plumbing the first time was not). They told me the plumber would be over the next day. I waited for the plumber for four hours and he didn't show up. When I spoke with Midtown the just said "oh i must have forgotten to call you, he is coming tomorrow". When the plumber showed up he took one look at the plumbing and said that he could stop the leak, but that the plumbing had been redone completely incorrectly and would never work. When Midtwon called me to discuss the issue the said "they would be will to fix MY plumbing for ME". Their technician incorrectly installed the plumbing and they tried to say it was a pre-existing issue. The plumber then came back and attempted to fix the issue. It seemed to be working until I ran the dishwasher. When the dishwasher drained water poured out under my sink and ran into the basement. I decided to go on my own and have someone else look at the problem. When they investigated they found that someone had burned a hole in the dishwasher drain tubing and had tried to fix it with glue. I replaced the dishwasher tubing on my own because anyone who thinks you can fix a tube that has hot water running through it with glue should not be working on plumbing. When I took my complaints to Midtown I was treated with rudeness and they refused to make any monetary refunds. I had 15 different scheduled appointments (I was stood up for two of them) and was without use of my kitchen sink for a month.
Description of Work: Midtown home improvements installed granite counter tops in my kitchen with a ceramic tile back splash and a new kitchen sink.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
3.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$6,000

Dennis D.
03/2013
2.0
home remodeling
  + -1 more
We purchased all of the appliances and materials and had them install and remodel our kitchen. The process was going alright, however it was not quite what we expected. They sub contracted most of their work out and the job took longer then we thought it would. The biggest problem occurred when we noticed deep scratches in the stainless steel sink they installed. When we first contacted them about it they sent someone out to polish the sink. It looked good for a day and then the scratches were very apparent again. Since then when we have tried to contact them they have kind of given us the runaround. They never address the issue and always place the blame on somebody else. They have told us it is the fault of the sub contractor, which doesn't matter to us but they were the ones who hired the sub contractor and we just expect them to make it right. We have purchased the same sink and just want them to pay for the cost of the sink and I will have it installed by someone else. I have given them plenty of chances to contact us and make this right and they seem reluctant to do so. I finally told him if they didn't that I would be contacting Angie's List to leave a review.
Description of Work: They did a complete kitchen remodel with the exception of changing out our cabinets. They also built a floor to ground fireplace.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
3.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
3.0

$19,251

Response from Midtown Home Improvements
This was a complicated kitchen remodel made harder by the customer who provided his own items. The customer said there were scratches in the sink. We sent someone at our expense to remedy this. When the task was completed Customer's wife was present along with a Midtown representative and the company that made the corrections. All looked fine and the customer's wife was happy and paid us for the project cost. Pictures were taken and NO Scratches were visible. Later Customer wrote to say there were now scratches. He demanded that we pay him for a new sink and gave us a very short deadline to respond. We got in contact with him right away. We said we were surprised since the photos showed NO scratches when we left. We even emailed the photos to him. He got angry and said since we were taking so long he was filing a complaint with Angie's List and the BBB. We then told him that since he was acting in a vindictive manner we would have no choice but to mediate or arbitrate the matter with the BBB since we are members in good standing and were happy to do so in order to show we did nothing wrong. Resolving this with a neutral will work out best in light of his very angry and threatening manner.

Sharon O.
01/2013
5.0
siding
  + -1 more
Midtown had a large crew and worked quickly, completing the project in only a few days. We were very pleased with the product they used and the finish work. They were responsive to our requests when we wanted to change the vent style and did a few extras for us. They did a great job cleaning up and were careful not to damage our lawn during the project. We are very pleased so far with everything about this project from estimate to completion.
Description of Work: Installed new siding, soffets and fascia for our two-story with walkout home.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$29,000

Response from Midtown Home Improvements
Thanks again for the kind words. Positive remarks like this make our day! We enjoy pleasing our customers.

Kimberly F.
12/2012
3.0
siding
  + -1 more
Came earlier than scheduled to install siding because most of product arrived. However, then had to wait to finish for rest of product to arrive. Actually still waiting to finish trim on chimney. After calling project manager twice in December 2011 and Jan.2012, he finally told me he was sorry and they would finish it as soon as they could. I will finish it this spring because it looks very bad. The team they used did not seem to speak English well, therefore it was difficult to ask questions when they were on the job. We still don"t know if they actually made soffit vents or if they are just for looks, we cannot tell from the attic.
Description of Work: This company put siding and trim on our house as well as new soffits and gutters.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0

$12,000

Ron P.
12/2012
3.0
replacement windows
  + -1 more
Overall, it was an average to poor experience. The salesman was knowledgeable, but became very push when we said we wanted to wait and think about the purchase. He kept coming down on the price until we agreed to sign on the dotted line. The windows seem ok, they were what we wanted. However, the salesman did promise that they would significantly reduce the noise level in our house, and my wife and I don't notice much of a difference. Also, service after the sale was extremely lacking. The company does not seem interested in following up. We payed enough to buy a decent car, and not even a phone call from them asking how everything went. Also, the installers were subcontractors. Not a big deal, but it was definitely not addressed up front. All in all, I probably would not use Midtown again. There are many other companies out there, and for the price we paid, we should be blown away on every aspect of the project.
Description of Work: My wife and I contracted with Midtown to replace 21 windows in our 20 year old two story house. They were to be energy efficient, double-hung windows, some with tempered glass.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
3.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0

$19,000

Response from Midtown Home Improvements
Thanks for the feedback. It seems your issue with us is the lack of post sale follow up. I don't know if you realize that we do follow up with a personal letter to each customer from the President of Midtown. We offer our thanks and then try to confirm that the experience with Midtown was positive. You were sent such a letter and we had no response other than this review. I apologize if you wanted a phone call and we sent a letter instead. We have had good luck with the letters since customers can read it at their convenience and respond if they desire. The bulk of the responses are very positive. We appreciate that a lot. Rest assured that Midtown is here six days a week in the event you have any service related issues. Most people find that to be a great value. Helping our customers improve their homes since 1990 is very satisfying. I am glad that our price estimate was spot on without any hidden charges. We do not have hidden charges and our price estimate is the amount you will pay. We also work had to schedule your installation at a time that works for your family. We work hard to please all of our customers and regret that we cannot always achieve that goal.

john G.
08/2012
4.0
replacement windows
  + -1 more
Installed everything as promised. Quality windows and door. Showed up on time cleaned up well. We have an older home so it took a little longer than projected . Had to contact the owner about an issue however he it was resolved in a timely manner.
Description of Work: 18 windows and rear storm door.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
3.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$19,000

Response from Midtown Home Improvements
Thank you Member. We at Midtown really enjoy working with home owners that are serious about maintaining their home, which is after all usually your largest investment. Also, since we are family owned we can be very responsive to our customers' needs and do so in a timely manner and have been doing so since 1990. Thanks for your continued trust in Midtown.

Michael B.
06/2012
3.0
fencing
  + -1 more
We were not happy with their service. My husband had to watch them the whole time. We paid them to use a jack hammer and they did not want to use it. They were not on time. They actually showed up on a different day. They were going to be building the fence 10 ft. over the property line as they gave my husband a map of where they were going to build. They had a property line sheet beforehand so there should not have been a mistake. The job took twice as long as they told us. They did eventually fix the work. They were very messy and a part of the fence did break. They did come to fix the work but we would not recommend them.
Description of Work: They put in a vinyl fence.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
5.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
2.0

$12,000

Response from Midtown Home Improvements
This project was completed in March 2011. We do not know why the customer would file a negative report at this late date. In fact, after the project was completed the customer had a service issue. The repair was completed within days of it being called in. The last contact with the customer was in December 2011 and there has been no contact or complaints since then. Looking at the issues raised, our records and the contract signed show that we DID NOT charge for a jack hammer which ordinarily we would have based on the location of this project. If the job took longer than expected it was because we hit a lot of rocky soil at the location. We cannot always tell what is below the surface but the delay did not result in any extra charges to the customer. The extra time was on us. Of the more than 12,000 customers over the 22 years we have been in business we know we have not been able to please everyone but our record of treating folks right greatly out weighs the low percentage of those that are not satisfied. Unfortunately those that are negative speak up and those that are happy with the products and services of Midtown keep smiling and enjoying the work we performed for them. We listen to the complaints and try to learn something from each project. We are so glad that of the hundreds of fences that we install each year that there are only a few negative reports that come in. Thanks to all our great Midtown customers out there. We appreciate you.

Jeff C.
05/2012
5.0
replacement windows
  + -1 more
had great estimate & options- crew showed up right on time very efficient
Description of Work: replaced 11 windows

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$12,000

Response from Midtown Home Improvements
For the past 22 years this is the type of response we have from our customers. We work very hard to please our customers because we realize how crucial they are to our success and longevity. Thanks for sending along this very nice message.

john G.
03/2012
5.0
replacement windows, doors
  + 0 more
They have been good about being responsive. There was an issue with one window, and they called back on that. They have been here on time, and we have had no problems with them. We are going to use them for installing the windows and the storm door.
Description of Work: We just started the process of having 27 windows and a back door access storm door measured and so forth with Midtown Home Improvements. They have given us the quote for that.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from Midtown Home Improvements
Thank you. These are the type of customers that we have been enjoying doing work for since 1990.

REBECCA S.
03/2012
1.0
fencing
  + -1 more
The presentation was WAY too long, the price was WAY too high, and the salesman was rude.
Description of Work: Someone from Midtown came to our door passing out brochures about their company. Since we were looking to put in a fence, we told them we'd be interested in an estimate. They called to set up a time for the salesman to come by. However, they have a policy that they won't give out estimates unless both the husband and wife are available to meet with the salesman. My husband is busy, but agreed to take one of his evenings to meet the gentleman. However, he ended up needing to work late, so he wasn't home when the salesman arrived. I sat and listed to his presentation about the company. He didn't want to start his presentation about the actual fence, until my husband got home. He said something to the effect of , "How can he make a decision on something if he hasn't even seen the product to be able to compare to the other companies?" I responded that he hadn't been home when the other fence companies gave us estimates so he wouldn't be able to compare anyway. He then said, "How is he going to make the decision?" I responded that my husband trusted my opinion and trusted me to made a good decision. In a VERY condescending and offensive tone, the salesman said, "Really?" He obviously couldn't believe that I was capable of making any kind of decision. I knew right then we weren't going to use Midtown for our fence, regardless of the price. My husband arrived home and 45 minutes later, we were finally given a price, which was nearly double the estimates we received from other companies. We thanked him for his time, but he wasn't leaving. He kept talking about additional discounts he could give us. Come on! Just give us your best price right from the start! My husband finally had to tell him to leave. I wouldn't call this company for any services in the future.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
punctuality
5.0


Response from Midtown Home Improvements
We regret that this homeowner did not have a positive experience with Midtown. We have been helping homeowners since 1990 and have over 12,000 customers that are happy and have invested wisely in their homes. Sounds like this was was that got off to a rocky start and continued along that way. This is not a typical account of a Midtown experience.

Nancy K.
03/2012
5.0
decks
  + -1 more
We had a few issues but they took care of them and they were very professional about it. We had no trouble with them at all. The quality of work was good. If there was a mistake they came and checked it as well as fixed them. They addressed all the questions and they did what they needed to do. They were very professional.
Description of Work: I used Midtown Home Improvements in May 2011 to put on a deck.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$20,000

Response from Midtown Home Improvements
Thanks for doing business with Midtown. We value your positive words. We find it a great value to our customers to be there "after the sale" as well as before. Sure some time things aren't perfect, but we always do what is needed to take care of our customers. We know that is how we have been able to remain in business and prosper for the past 22 years.

John D.
03/2012
5.0
ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, plumbing, home remodeling
  + 4 more
We signed the contract on October 6th 2011. Upon signing the contract, a detailed plan was drawn and the project coordinator came to the house and remeasured to insure accuracy. Cabinets were received around thanksgiving and work commenced on November 28, 2011. In conjunction with the kitchen remodel, after the demolition of the existing cabinets a new vinyl tile floor was installed (separate report on flooring contractor). New cabinets were installed and appliances were reinstalled. In the late stages of the project, the installer became ill and could not continue. There was a four day delay until another installer could be scheduled to complete the project. This delay was not an inconvenience as we were out of town during that time for the holidays. The project was essentially complete in early January and only some finish work remained. In the sale process, the kitchen designer made us feel very comfortable through his professionalism. He recommended some significant changes to the rough design we had developed and these changes greatly improved the functionality of the final design. The installers were both competent and easy to work with. The project coordinator kept the job moving well and dealt with the inevitable problems that arise when doing a significant project in a 40 year old home. We are delighted with the result
Description of Work: This was a kitchen remodel project in a 40 year old home. The work included wrecking out the existing cabinets and countertops, removing and storing the existing appliances, rewiring and adding circuits to meet code practice. New cabinetsand countertops were provided and installed, increasing cabinet and work space by more than 50%. Appliances and new can lighting were installed. A tile backsplash was installed.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$25,000

Response from Midtown Home Improvements
Thank you to the family. A new kitchen is something they can enjoy every day and what an added value to their home. Midtown is always available for the complex project like this one as well as the partial remodel of the kitchen or bathroom. We have designers on staff as well as project coordinators and craftsmen who all work together to make your project flow. Midtown has been improving the inside and outside of homes for over 21 years. We take great pride in helping our customers and appreciate the kind words they send our way. To see more customer comments visit our website.

Shirley C.
02/2012
4.0
siding
  + -1 more
After having three estimates we selected Midtown Home Improvements to replace the siding back in December and they indicated they would do the work in early January. I thought the price was a little high but we really liked the quality of the siding. We told them there was no rush but the salesman/project manager indicated they would do it in early January. However, we didn't hear further from them so we had to contact them. They said our siding had just come in and they quickly set up a time to come out on the following Friday (two days later). I scheduled a day off to be here when they were to arrive but they didn't show up. This irritated me. I called to complain, they apologized for the misunderstanding, assuming I knew that if the weather was cold they wouldn't show up. They showed up promptly the following Monday morning and quickly installed the siding over two days. It actually worked out well because the weather was exceptionally warm those days. Once they began work they did a great job. The siding looks wonderful and well-installed. They cleaned up after themselves well. They were professional and friendly. The end result was worth the price and the minor irritations. I would use them again.
Description of Work: Replaced the siding on our brick and vinly sided home, replaced one gable vent and added two more gable vents. There are a lot of odd angles and strips.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$4,400

Response from Midtown Home Improvements
We appreciate the fact that you looked for quality and lasting value over price. With our very extended warranty you will be happy year after year. Thanks for doing business with Midtown Home Improvements.

Deb J.
01/2012
5.0
decks
  + -1 more
The sales people were very good. The salesmen they sent out was very fair. We told him we weren't going to make a decision that day, but we would get back to him if he held that price, and he did. We really appreciated that. The work was done in a very timely fashion. Very pleased with that. The workers they sent out were very nice, very considerate. They cleaned up after themselves. The only issue was with the payment, normally its payed after the job was done. The timing was bad, the job was being done around Christams time and the workers wanted to get the rest of the payment. My husband had called the company and every thing was resolved. They were very pleasant to work with, the workers were a joy to work with.
Description of Work: They put a new deck on for us. Went very well.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$26,000

Response from Midtown Home Improvements
Thanks for the kind words. We thrive on good feedback. That is what keeps us going for the past 21 years. We love helping our customers. That deck will be ready for you to use as soon as the first warm day of spring arrives.

Carol S.
12/2011
5.0
ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, plumbing, home remodeling
  + 4 more
I am pretty happy with what they have done. I have had a lot of contracting experience because I have owned about 7 houses in my lifetime. I have converted a few attics into bedrooms and done a lot of projects. I am patient and I am very willing to work with the circumstances. I liked their salesman, which is their job to be likable. He was really good and he was not a trouble shooter on the job. There were various things that didn’t work well. Brad is the guy who came out to do the job. He put in two bathroom mirrors and one was lower than the other. Before I paid Midtown when they came out to get the check, I told them that there was too much difference. So, they said that they would fix it. I told the guy that I would give him the bulk of the payment because it was all pretty much done. I told him that I would with hold the last $2000 until he came back and adjusted the mirrors so that they were level. I wanted to make sure that there was some kind of an incentive for him to come and finish up the cabinets and do it promptly. He told me that I don’t even have to pay the first $10000. That was great because it was a $12000 project. I told him that I was fine with it and told him to make sure that Brad came back to do it. Brad did come back and do it. In fact, they withheld the whole amount from him. They lied to him and he thought that it was going to be a check for $12000 when he came to get the money from me. I told him that I gave Midtown $10000, but they told him that I hadn’t paid. I withheld the last $2000 just to make sure that it was done timely. There was nothing against Brad. They have two guys who come in and do the bathrooms and kitchens. Brad had a 5 day trip in the middle of the job. He was gone on Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday and Monday and he was back either on Tuesday or Wednesday. We were short of one bathroom during Thanksgiving. I am ready to move into the bathroom to get my tooth brush in that room and to see how the tiles look. They did a beautiful job and they complied with my request to fix things that weren’t perfect. They gave me a painter who was actually painting at the salesman’s home. We have so much water pressure in our sink now and I have to be careful how I turn it on. Our shower is now an actual shower instead of me having to count the drops and stand under them very carefully because our shower was very frustrating. We now have a wonderful shower. All of it was done by Brad who is the person that Midtown worked with among others. He did a beautiful job on the tile. The glass shower doors were hung by a shower door company and they were excellent. They hung the doors and discovered that there was something wrong with the finish on the edge of the glass. I never would have noticed it, but they said that they had to get another set of doors. There was another company which put in the skylight and it’s great. We converted the bathtub and made a double shower with clear glass doors. Midtown didn’t do the finish work on the ceilings; so another company did that. Everything is beautiful. I agreed with $14800 for remodeling the bathroom. Brad is the contractor who did the actual labor. Tom Levinson was the sales person who came out and showed me the tiles when I changed the tiles. I thought that the tiles didn’t match and Brad took down what he had put up. I didn’t expect him to do that. Then Tom came out and showed me that the tile was actually what I had wanted. He was very nice. He told Brad that I was willing to go with what they had picked and not that I had been wrong. Brad should have stopped and waited till he got the feedback. I apologized for that and he was fine. I have never had a bathroom redone and I thought it was pricier. I had redone on my own for much less. Brad needs to measure better. He had to fix the medicine cabinets since they weren’t even. After he fixed them, he put the lights in and they weren’t even. That should have been done when he framed it in. So, it wasn’t perfect. My husband adjusted it. I would have asked Brad to do it if my husband couldn’t have adjusted it. I was tired asking him to fix things and we were ready to move on. Their responsiveness was excellent and their punctuality was good. Brad didn’t show up early in the morning and I am not an early person. So, I was kind of relieved not to be out of my bed and that was fine.
Description of Work: Midtown Home Improvements remodeled my bathroom probably on November 15th. They did the electrical work because we had to completely redo the wiring. There was aluminum wiring that had to be replaced. They did the plumbing as well because we had no water pressure in the bathroom. They did the drywall work and put in the tile. They also put in a double sink countertop.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$14,800

Response from Midtown Home Improvements
We will always go the extra mile to help our customers. Whether it involves scheduling or clean up we are there to help during the project. Thanks for doing business with Midtown.

Sarah D.
11/2011
4.0
plumbing, home remodeling
  + 0 more
It was a positive experience with them. There were some problems with the representative that came out originally to quote me the price and they were really good to work with me. They got it figured out. That was the only issue but we got it resolved. They went out of their way to make it work for me. The actual work they did was good. The quality of their work was really good. I will use their services again in the future.
Description of Work: I used Midtown Home Improvements. I last used their services in early 2010. They did a bathroom remodel.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$10,000

Response from Midtown Home Improvements
Thanks for your kind words. We enjoy knowing that our services are appreciated. We always strive to do our best. We know if there is an issue the best way to resolve it is to fix it right away. We have been growing our company for the past 21 years and this is one of the ways we make it happen.

Jennifer H.
11/2011
4.0
replacement windows
  + -1 more
We had just replaced the first half of our windows using another company the previous year. Midtown came in with a superior window at a comparable price. Looking back, I wish that the salesman was more knowledgeable about the tax credit before he pitched it as an incentive. We got bit because we had used it the year before. Not sure if it was a false promise or the sales man actually did not realize that we were not eligible. Most impressive to us were the installers. They were polite & professional. They went above & beyond to make sure the job was done well. The following summer, we did notice that our shutters were bowing out, likely due to the temperature fluctuation from winter to summer. While I did have to make a little more effort to nail them down on fixing the problem, they did take care of it no questions asked.
Description of Work: 1/2+ house window replacement. Shutter replacement.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$11,000

Response from Midtown Home Improvements
Thanks for the feedback. Midtown provides quality in service and products on all our projects. Sorry for any confusion about the tax credit. You are right, taxes are complicated for everyone but a CPA! We appreciate your business and great review.

Roger P.
08/2011
2.0
home remodeling
  + -1 more
I was not happy with them because I feel like we were quoted a very reasonable price and then any little change that we made just resulted in enormous price change. We had problems with getting the cabinets because of problems with their original manufacturer. There was not enough communication at the crucial times that I needed communication to help plan the kitchen. I think the ball kind of got dropped and I personally was not happy. I was happy with the installers they used but as far as the company I feel we were overcharged for not a large kitchen. They finally started paying attention to me at the very end but not before I started getting really ugly with them. I will not use them again in the future.
Description of Work: I used Midtown Home Improvements to do my kitchen.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
3.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
3.0

$50,000

Response from Midtown Home Improvements
We always regret that a customer is unhappy with our service. In this instance we did experience some issues with manufacturers of the cabinets. When this happens delay seems to follow because cabinets are custom made. It can take at least 4 weeks for the manufacturer to make and ship the cabinet. In this particular job, it was a very big remodel project that was going to take a long time due to size and scope of the project. The issue the homeowner had with changes resulting in additional expense is understandable but everyone must realize that if you change/add to the project price changes could result. This is a difficult issue for both remodeler and customer. Our staff indicated that they communicated almost exclusively with the members wife and for that reason it could explain why the member felt that he did not have enough communication. Again, we regret that there was unhappiness and we strive not to have that happen but at times it can happen. By way of update, very recently we were called out for a service call and the wife was very happy with our service after the sale and we hope to show them that Midtown is a stable company that has been helping customers for the past 21 years by providing very nice products and extensive customer service.

Dawn L.
08/2011
5.0
ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, plumbing, home remodeling, basement remodeling
  + 4 more
From start to finish an A+++. Staff keep me informed proir to start and the primary installer could not have been more of a professional. Site was kept clean and neat.
Description of Work: Midtown just complete phase one of my lower level project. I COULD NOT BE MORE HAPPY. The salesman was fantastic. He gave me ideas that no one else even bothered to bring up or suggest. He was informative and available for any question. A true professional. He would come out whenever I called (and I called a lot). I was a worry wart. I am so glad I choose him and Midtown to do the job.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$21,500

Response from Midtown Home Improvements
Thanks!

John T.
07/2011
5.0
gutter repair
  + -1 more
Overall the process was ok. I saw their display at Pride Fest and spoke with the person there and requested an estimate. I wasn't part of Angie's at the time but did research them through BBB and was satisfied. Their sales rep Sean stopped by and explained their company history, etc. I felt the pricing was high and this is the only bid I could obtain (recent storms perhaps?) but was comfortable to accept it. The wait from initial visit to work was just over a week. The team that came out were friendly and did a great job keep the site clean as promised. The work took about 3-4 hours and the foreman kept me informed of what was being done and their progress. The gutter replacement took about an additional week to order the supplies and heat delays. That team did a great job as well and took about 2 hours to complete overall.
Description of Work: My fascia boards were old rotted particle boards. Midtown replaced the entire fascia and covered the fascia and soffits. I was hoping to use the original gutters to save money but those were damaged when removed. Midtown replaced the gutters at no additional cost. I also had gutter guards installed. The only negative is lack of communication. The fascia team showed up unexpectedly (luckily I was home) on 07/15/2011. I was also told that the gutters were to be replaced on 07/22/2011. At 4pm I called Midtown for an update. I was then told that due to the heat they wouldn't be able to make it until Monday 07/25/2011. I understand the difficulties with the heat, but if a delay is known, please call your customer and advise them. I know you don't require somebody to be home for outside work but as an owner, I personally like to be there when work is being done.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
4.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$5,000

Response from Midtown Home Improvements
This customer experience is the type we like to hear about. We provide prompt service and continually aim to please our customers. This is what has helped us to stay in business for the past 21 years. Thanks for providing the good comments.

Allen N.
07/2011
2.0
decks
  + -1 more
High Pressure sales. Spent 4 hour trying to make a sale. Started out with a real high price, then after three adjustments for, discounts and other items the price was half of the original estimate, this included a call to his boss (?). There price was still twice the price it should be if not more
Description of Work: Estimated on a deck

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
value
1.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0


Response from Midtown Home Improvements
It is difficult to respond to a person that does not do business with us yet gives us a poor grade for trying. In this instance the person that had us out to their home spent 4 hours learning all about our company and our construction methods. Then he had us design a deck, explain how it is built, set out the materials to be used and then complains. In checking into this the situation it was a bit different than explained online but that is fine. Midtown has been in business for 21 years. We have over 12,000 customers. It is those opinions that should count the most and those are the opinions we value. We never like to have someone unhappy with our company but it is inevitable that there will always be someone unhappy especially if we cannot suit their particular pricing requirements. We would be happy to share the thousands of happy, satisfied customer reviews with anyone. Give us a call or see our web site.

Sarah C.
06/2011
2.0
fencing
  + -1 more
We took the offer for a free estimate for our fence from a rep who was just knocking on doors. To this point, we had not priced out a fence, had no idea how much it would cost, and were not sure if we wanted wood or PVC. We just knew that our current fence was falling down. There was no expectation set for how long the estimate process would take. We assumed 30 minutes to an hour. After arriving 15 minutes early and cutting our dinner short, we had the sales rep in our house for 2.5 hours. First we measured the fence and then headed inside. He covered the history of the company, showed samples of their product, showed us how they were insured, etc. That part was good. Then we actually got to price. We were both taken aback by how expensive the fence was going to be because we had no bar to measure it against. We were not going to make a $10k decision after talking to one company, without talking to each other about the investment first. Then we were drug through an array of high pressure selling strategies. We spent the next 1.5 hours telling him we were not ready to make a decision, no matter what kind of discount he was going to give us. He would not leave. Even if I did think I wanted a PVC fence and thought they were the best company, I'm not sure I could work with that sales rep any further. He didn't respect our time or our sincerest reasoning of why we couldn't make a decision on it right then, and it was clear he worked on commission.
Description of Work: Free estimate

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
2.0
punctuality
4.0


Response from Midtown Home Improvements
Just to be clear, Midtown does not knock on doors and provide random estimates for our services and products. We schedule set appointment times in advance that are convenient for the home owners. We respect our customers’ time by meeting with those involved and we provide all of the details that are needed to make an intelligent decision. We use written contracts that set forth in detail the work to be performed, the products to be used and most importantly the price of the project. We also offer a “price lock” which means that the price agreed to in the written agreement is the price. We do not quote a low price and then raise the price once the project starts. We have been in business for more than 21 years and have satisfied thousands of home owners in St. Charles County and all adjoining counties in Missouri. We welcome your inquiries by phone or visit us online at www.MidtownStl.com

Bethany B.
05/2011
4.0
basement remodeling
  + -1 more
Something that I liked about this Company is that after we closed the deal and scheduled the work to be done, work was done on time, very quickly and very professionally and the guy who did the work was actually outstanding. The quality of the work was fabulous. One thing that I did not like about the Company is that they only gave us an estimate or any information if they can have a sit down meeting with both the home owners. I have to make sure that my husband and I are both available for an hour and half meeting just to give us an estimate. Then I have to make sure that both my husband and I are both available again for second hour and half meeting to review the details with the senior sales person or whatever. I found that the sales guy was a little pushier than I would have preferred. They have two different departments like the one that does the interior and the other that does the interior. I am satisfied with the work that they did. Probably I may not use them in the future. Actually they came by as we wanted to do the fencing also. We set up an appointment time and some unforeseeable thing happened that the guy was not able to come for the meeting to do the fence. They eventually called us. They would have given us a discount for being late and having the communication mix-up. But it is a bit awkward to get both of us at a place for an hour and half for an estimate. So we decided not to go with them because my husband’s time is pretty valuable. Other companies can give me an estimate directly and it does not take any of my time. So if you have the time to invest in the two hour and half long meeting to get the ball rolling then it is excellent. Then depending on the time of the year you want your project they have real good deals. You can keep the coupon that you get in the mail or from the kids that distributes it door to door, if you keep the coupons it is like a $300 to $500 coupons, when you are doing a $5000 project that is a pretty good size coupon to have. Time is valuable to both of us and that is the main reason why we do not want to go with this company in the future.
Description of Work: Midtown Builders LLC built a room in our unfinished basement.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

$5,000

Response from Midtown Home Improvements
We appreciate that this customer felt the added value in the way Midtown completed the work on time and professionally. We feel that our workers are all fabulous and this satisfied customer confirms that. As noted this was this project involved remodeling the entire basement of the home. The planning meetings would necessarily take a lot longer than most projects due to the complexity of the project. We do know that the customer realized that they got a quality project at a great value. We are happy to help our customers experience that feeling on each project we do. Thanks for doing business with Midtown.

Contact information

120 Resource Dr, Wentzville, MO 63385

http://www.midtownhomeimprovements.com

Service hours

Sunday:
1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Monday:
9:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Tuesday:
9:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Wednesday:
9:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Thursday:
9:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Friday:
9:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Saturday:
9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Licensing

Bonded

Insured

Licensed*

Eco-friendly Accreditations

LEED Accredited Professional
No
Energy Star Partner
No
EPA Lead-Safe Certified
Yes
Use Green Products or Work Practices
Yes
State Contractor License Requirements

All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

*Contact business to see additional licenses.


Service Categories

Kitchen and Bath Remodeling,
Windows,
Decks and Porches,
Fencing,
Siding,
Roofing,
Handyman Services

FAQ

Midtown Home Improvements is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

Sunday: 1:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Monday: 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Midtown Home Improvements accepts the following forms of payment: Check,Discover,Financing Available,MasterCard,Visa
Yes, Midtown Home Improvements offers free project estimates.
Yes, Midtown Home Improvements offers eco-friendly accreditations.
Yes, Midtown Home Improvements offers a 10% senior discount.
No, Midtown Home Improvements does not offer emergency services.
Yes, Midtown Home Improvements offers warranties.
Midtown Home Improvements offers the following services: Energy efficient lifetime warrantied replacement windows, entry doors, permanent vinyl siding, maintenance free vinyl fences, low maintenance PVC cellular decks, kitchen & bath remodel, roofing, soffit, fascia & gutters.
Repairs.

Contact information

120 Resource Dr, Wentzville, MO 63385

http://www.midtownhomeimprovements.com

Service hours

Sunday:
1:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Monday:
9:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Tuesday:
9:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Wednesday:
9:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Thursday:
9:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Friday:
9:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Saturday:
9:00 AM - 1:00 PM