Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Metro Heating and A/C

Heating and Air Conditioning, Heating Oil, Energy Efficiency Auditing

About us

Honest, affordable heating and air conditioning in the Kansas City metro area. Over 18 years of experience. Locally owned and operated. We don't arrive at your house with the intention of selling you anything. Our goal is to make your equipment last, NOT replace it unless necessary.

Business highlights

9 years of trusted experience
Emergency Services Offered

Services we offer

Repair existing equipment, Furnace Air conditioning, evaporator coils, heat pumps, water heaters, humidifiers, thermostats. Maintenance programs to come out and clean and check systems on a routine basis. Replacement services - Remove existing equipment and install new equipment Upgrade systems from 80% efficiency equipment into 95-96% efficiency equipment

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Emergency Services
Yes


Accepted payment methods

American Express
Check
Discover
MasterCard
PayPal
Visa

Reviews

3.712 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
58%
4
0%
3
8%
2
0%
1
33%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.6
value
3.9
professionalism
3.6
responsiveness
3.6
punctuality
3.6
Showing 1-12 of 12 reviews

Selita J.
11/2024
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
  + -1 more
Here’s the new review : Beware !!!! DO NOT USE THIS company for your ac and heating system. They did not replace the line set when installing our new unit! Then had the audacity To bent the old line set and did not properly solder which caused multiple leaks of Freon so the unit never worked properly from day one! Now the drywall has to be torn out to have the line set repair.. We had an estimate from another ac and heating company who said that normally the line is checked when replacing a unit. The last unit we had was smaller so they did not adjust it fit the new bigger unit. We have been calling for two weeks by text , emails and calls, even my father called with no luck. They will not follow up with us to get this issue resolved. On top of that another company came out and said it’s standard for them to check those lines with a new install and gave us an estimate of nearly $2,000 to repair. Please save yourself the headache and do not use this company. They done nothing to resolve this issue so we will report this to BBB.
Description of Work: Replace new ac/furnace

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
4.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$6,200

Josh S.
10/2024
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
  + -1 more
They did show up, hence the 1 star. I needed service on my Mitsubishi Mini-split unit due to not cooling. The tech said it was just low on Freon and he topped it off and added a leak sealer. Unit cooled for a few days then stopped again. My home warranty company dispatched another company to come out this time. This tech told me that the compressor was bad and when he contacted Mitsubishi for compressor warranty Mitsubishi declined to cover it since this most recent tech found that leak sealer was added. I have contacted Metro Heating and AC about the issue multiple times telling them their tech should have known Mitsubishi’s policy on the mini-splits and gave them the opportunity to make it right. They no longer answer my calls nor have they called me back.
Description of Work: A/C repair

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0


Casey C.
09/2024
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
  + -1 more
A Disappointing Experience - Proceed with Caution We were really hoping for a smooth process when we had a new A/C unit installed, but unfortunately, that hasn't been our experience. It's been a frustrating journey, with multiple visits (five so far!) and the issue still unresolved. We understand that things don't always go perfectly, but the lack of progress and communication has made it very difficult. Customer service has been another challenge. It feels like instead of truly addressing the problem, we’re often met with dismissiveness or excuses, which only adds to the frustration. It’s disheartening when you just want to get your home back to normal. We understand that not every company will be a perfect fit for every customer, but this has been a really tough experience for us, and we wouldn’t want anyone else to go through the same ordeal. If you're in a similar situation, we would suggest exploring other options.
Description of Work: AC Replacement

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$5,000

Christopher M.
05/2024
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
  + -1 more
Completely ghosted us after 1 visit, have not returned phone messages or text messages, even refuses to even answer or return phone calls from my home warranty company, it's unprofessional and incompetent.
Description of Work: AC stopped working and my home warranty company hired them to do the repairs, came out once, saw it was a blown condenser and never returned or called to set up a return visit to repair

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0


Lula J.
06/2021
3.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
  + -1 more
Mike was the technician dispatched. He sent a text notifying me that he will be here at 12:45 so I was able to arrive at 12:40. He had already been at my home, and left without at least waiting until the time indicated he would be there. I have ring so it showed he knocked at 12:31, didn't get an answer and just left. He refused to come back. The dispatcher was able to set another appointment. What bothers me is don't give someone a time, arrive early without at least waiting to leave at the time you texted. When I set the appointment I said that it takes me 15 minutes to get home from work, and I require notification. If I had air I would of stayed in my house between the hours but since I don't it was practical to go to work. In addition I have clients I see and can't just cancel appointment. I'm quite sure his vehicle had air and he could have waited but since it was lunch hours most likely he took a break and refuse to return. I can't call another company due to the fact that my home warranty has already deducted the fee and getting someone else is a hassle because I would have to pay another fee and get reimbursed later. The dispatcher that takes the call was real helpful in trying to get another appointment ASAP. Edit: Poor customer service. I guess they disliked my review. I called to inquire about my rescheduled appointment and was informed to call my warranty company because they didn't like my review. I asked why didn't someone call and inform me that my appointment was canceled and a technician wasn't coming instead of having me wait. He proceeds to tell me about my review and infer I was lying. I informed him I have a ring system that recorded the technician arrival and departure. He blames me for missing the appointment which I explain the technician left before the noted time. He says I'm not going to argue. I respond I received poor customer service and receiving it now. He hangs up in my face. Let me reiterate "poor customer service".
Description of Work: Air conditioner
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
$100

Response from Metro Heating and A/C
I am so sorry for the miscommunication. We try our best to take care of all our customers. I want to try and help you better see how this happened. Just to reiterate your appointment time was from 11a-1p.m no one scheduled or promised an exact time of 12:45. That is an impossible guarantee in the service industry. Also you were NOT home at 12:40 because we arrived at 12:38. This is documented by GPS communication with our software. As later mentioned in my explanation below you did not call the office until after an hour later. For us to send texts and you have an estimated ETA of 12:45, we arrive by 12:38, get out and use your Ring doorbell and then wait 15 minutes before leaving and then you not calling the office until almost 2 p.m. reiterates that the timeline you are implying is just not accurate. I tried to include the actual details of the exact timeline but unfortunately their is a maximum capacity of text that our explanation exceeds. However, the above explanation and timeline does explain that we tried to communicate and even waited in hopes of being able to help facilitate your needs. Unfortunately you were not home during the time you agreed to set the time of the appointment.

Victoria O.
03/2020
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
  + -1 more
Went as planned. Have better air flow because of new vents
Description of Work: HVAC installed at business
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro

Jeff R.
01/2020
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
  + -1 more
Total cost - $10K (that’s $5K less than bids from the three other bids we received from the companies you’d recognize from their aggressive marketing program in our area). Work completed in Jan 2020 & review written in May. No complaints, Highly recommend! Home: 85 year old 2-story (3 BR, 2.5 bath, ~ 1900sqft) Tudor-style in mid-town (Armour Hills) KCMO; we’ve lived in this house for 27 years. Dec 2019 - sought estimate and information; highly responsive and provided the most complete information without high pressure sales pitch. Also was helpful and prompt with answers to several follow-up questions. Jan 2020 - installed 2-stage 95% efficiency York gas-fired furnace (TM9Y series; 120MBH) and York 3.5 ton A/C, with 2 dampers (1st floor/2nd floor), 2nd thermostat (Pro 1 T955wh; wireless) and whole-home humidifier (Aprilaire 600 series). This took 1-1/2 days. Kent (owner) and Mike (technician) both were on-site, courteous, and appropriate guests in our home. They cleaned up well after the work was completed and provided detailed instruction on how to control the system. Responded promptly to questions asked by text & email, before and after installation. Submitted refund coupon to Evergy on our behalf ($300). Feb 2020 - Technician (Mike) returned to replace (free of charge) a faulty solenoid valve supplying the humidifier; was vibrating loudly. April 2020 - Despite COVID-19, Mike returned to activate our A/C once the weather became warm enough to adjust the system properly. Promptly scheduled, maintained social distance, was friendly and helpful. May 2020 - everything seems to be working fine - Great experience! **** end of review ****
Description of Work: HVAC install

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,081

Becky H.
07/2019
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
  + -1 more
Excellent. They gave us a really good estimate. They were very professional. They did everything what I asked them to do. They cleaned up after themselves.
Description of Work: They replaced our furnace.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,600

Response from Metro Heating and A/C
Thank you [Member Name Removed]. We really appreciate [Member Information Removed] review and look forward to coming out and servicing your equipment this fall. Just give us a call! Thanks Kent

Bobbi C.
07/2019
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
  + -1 more
they were absolutely fantastic. I highly recommend them. They were very responsive.
Description of Work: Ac repair

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from Metro Heating and A/C
Thanks [Member Name Removed]. Glad we were able to help. Have a great rest of your week. Thanks Kent

Becky M.
07/2019
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
  + -1 more
Absolutely wonderful. They got online scheduling system. They let you know when they are coming. They communicated well. I've never been uncomfortable with them.
Description of Work: Air conditioning repair.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Corey W.
07/2019
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
  + -1 more
It was great. Professional. Always show up on time. Never had a problem with them.
Description of Work: Outdoor air conditioning unit repair.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from Metro Heating and A/C
Thank you for the kind words [Member Name Removed]. Thank you for the opportunity and we look forward to working with you in the near future. Thanks Kent

Jeff W.
07/2019
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
  + -1 more
Very good. Very professional and very knowledgeable. They were fairly priced.
Description of Work: They repaired an air conditioner

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$250

Response from Metro Heating and A/C
[Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for the review. We really appreciate the opportunity to continue to do work for you and your customers. Have an awesome weekend. Kent

    Contact information

    101 N Clayview Dr, Liberty, MO 64068

    http://www.kcmetroair.com

    Service hours

    Sunday:
    Open All Day
    Monday:
    Open All Day
    Tuesday:
    Open All Day
    Wednesday:
    Open All Day
    Thursday:
    Open All Day
    Friday:
    Open All Day
    Saturday:
    Open All Day

    Licensing

    Insured

    Licensed*

    Trade License Number
    L1523731200
    Trade License Locale
    Missouri
    State Contractor License Requirements

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

    *Contact business to see additional licenses.


    Service Categories

    Heating and Air Conditioning,
    Heating Oil,
    Energy Efficiency Auditing

    FAQ

    Metro Heating and A/C is currently rated 3.7 overall out of 5.

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    Metro Heating and A/C accepts the following forms of payment: American Express,Check,Discover,MasterCard,PayPal,Visa
    Yes, Metro Heating and A/C offers free project estimates.
    No, Metro Heating and A/C does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
    No, Metro Heating and A/C does not offer a senior discount.
    Yes, Metro Heating and A/C offers emergency services.
    Yes, Metro Heating and A/C offers warranties.
    Metro Heating and A/C offers the following services: Repair existing equipment, Furnace Air conditioning, evaporator coils, heat pumps, water heaters, humidifiers, thermostats. Maintenance programs to come out and clean and check systems on a routine basis. Replacement services - Remove existing equipment and install new equipment Upgrade systems from 80% efficiency equipment into 95-96% efficiency equipment

    Contact information

    101 N Clayview Dr, Liberty, MO 64068

    http://www.kcmetroair.com

    Service hours

    Sunday:
    Open All Day
    Monday:
    Open All Day
    Tuesday:
    Open All Day
    Wednesday:
    Open All Day
    Thursday:
    Open All Day
    Friday:
    Open All Day
    Saturday:
    Open All Day