Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Elder 1 Contracting LLC

Roofing, Windows, Siding,

About us

Financing available. Family owned & locally operated.

Business highlights

19 years of trusted experience
Emergency Services Offered

Services we offer

Roofing, siding, soffit & fascia, windows, gutters, gutter protection, decks, room additions, concrete, repairs.

Services we don't offer

Ask for details.

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Senior Discount

5%

Emergency Services
Yes


Accepted payment methods

American Express
Check
Discover
Financing Available
MasterCard
Visa

Photos of past projects

Reviews

3.416 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
31%
4
25%
3
6%
2
13%
1
25%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.7
value
4.0
professionalism
3.9
responsiveness
3.7
punctuality
3.8
Showing 1-16 of 16 reviews

Melissa H.
04/2015
1.0
concrete driveways, remodeling, gutter repair, siding, replacement windows
  + 3 more
Owner was arrogant/rude, did not care about customer satisfaction. 30 day project took 6 months. Works was unskilled & sporadic. Interior doors were scratched. J channels on siding were supposed to be white and were not. Mudding & taping of drywall ,sloppy and unprofessional. We were threatened by the owner for final payment less than 24 hours after the job was complete.
Description of Work: Home addition- 2 car garage, mudroom/laundry room; new siding &gutters on entire house, driveway & walkway, removal of 2 trees.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
4.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$44,000

Tim O.
12/2014
2.0
roofing
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: I bought a maintenance package because I knew I had a vent leak. The guy went on the roof, said I had hail damage and needed to talk to insurance about. Said he didn't see any leaks. I convinced him to look in the rafters, where I showed him where it was leaking. Found to be a leak inside the vent, not the roof, so it's not covered by the maintenance packagage I bought. I asked for him to email me the pictures of the roof and leak problems, but he never sent them. Never gave me any estimate or offered any of the cost of the maintenance package to fix the leak.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
2.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
4.0

$59

Leila S.
12/2014
4.0
roofing
  + -1 more
unknown
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
$59

Gary B.
06/2014
5.0
roofing
  + -1 more
They seemed fine. They were there promptly. There was two of them, one gentleman was a supervisor. We spoke and discussed any issues that would thought on my head about the roof. Another gentleman, actually the roofing guy, set the job close by and arranged it that way, he came over within 5 minutes while we were talking up on the roof and took care of the problems and got the explanation of what was wrong. So, it worked out fine. We got them in January but we setted up towards the end of April. There is no reason I have somebody come during the rainy season and not be able to get on the roof anyway because it is too slippery. There was no charge. They came out and look the roof over and did some catching at the same time.
Description of Work: I used Elder 1 Contracting L.L.C. for roofing service.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$59

Amber B.
06/2014
3.0
roofing
  + -1 more
The provider showed up on time and professional. However, once inside our house he commenced to tell us he could get on a flat roof. He said his office would call Monday to rearange someone who could. I never heard from them so a couple weeeks later I called them. They were kind but had no information for me. I explained the situation and they said they could call me back. They called the next day to let me know that no one would be coming back. They said the job is not really in there scope of work. I thought this was interesting seeing the package purchased did not specify.
Description of Work: We purchased a big deal, which was later cancelled by the provider. They said they dont like to work on flat roofs, I wish this was known before purchasing the big deal.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
2.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
2.0

$59

James P.
05/2014
4.0
roofing
  + -1 more
unknown

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$99

Hillary M.
04/2014
1.0
roofing
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: When I spoke with Elder 1 I had been told that the person coming out would be a salesman. And I was told that the person would be up on the roof so he/she could also make any needed small repairs. When Elder 1 came out, he visually checked my roof from the ground, didn't get up on my roof at all. He did give me an assessment of the condition of my roof, but it's unclear how reliable it was since he wasn't on the roof. At the time, he discussed repairs that could be done that might be covered by insurance. I declined this. Since then I have received at least 4-5 calls selling these same repairs which I find annoying.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
2.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
4.0

$59

Jerome F.
04/2014
4.0
roofing
  + -1 more
My wife rearranged her Saturday plans to be home during the Saturday repair. Elder 1 was supposed to arrive in the afternoon but by late afternoon nobody had arrived or called. I called the office but it was closed, and I also emailed the Elder 1 representative who had inspected the roof. I was stressing because we had a pretty good rain Sunday night but apparently the attic insulation held the water since I did not see any leakage on the bedroom ceilings underneath the open shingles. Elder 1 called Monday, apologizing for the repair personnel not calling on Saturday when their early repair work overran their schedule. They called Tuesday afternoon to complete the repairs Wednesday, which they did complete. Elder 1 called me when the work was completed. When I arrived home I was pleased to see the new shingle colors matched the remainder of the roof pretty well.
Description of Work: I purchased the $59 Roof Maintenance Package and Elder 1 came out, inspected the roof, taking pictures of the specific problem areas. The almost 10-year old roof had one section that was poorly installed and had started losing shingles with the recent high winds. Elder 1 said the whole section needed to be removed and new shingles installed. The repair was scheduled for the next Saturday.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
3.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,298

Christopher A.
04/2014
2.0
remodeling
  + -1 more
Placed call to vendor to setup appointment. They didn't show up for appointment. I called back and they had no record of my deal purchase or appointment. Setup new appointment and found out my work, one shingle replacement, was not covered in deal.
Description of Work: .
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
$49

Dave S.
04/2014
4.0
roofing
  + -1 more
Two employees from Elder 1 contracting inspected the roof for damage and maintenance needs. (We purchased this service as an Angie's Big Deal). They found the roof to be in good shape overall, but one shingle was missing. Another employee came out the following week to replace the shingle. The employees were all very professional and friendly and did a good job explaining what they saw. My only issue is that I assumed a roof inspection would be done by actually getting on the roof; however, the two employees inspected the roof from the ground which seems a little odd to me.
Description of Work: Roof Inspection.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$59

Carrie H.
03/2014
1.0
roofing
  + -1 more
I hired Elder 1 to replace my roof after Angie?s list sent out a deal for them to do an inspection. Dave (who has been fired I understand) came out and did an inspection and said I had hail damage to my roof and I needed to get in touch with my insurance company. My insurance company came out and told me what was wrong with roof and issued a complete write up on it. Elder 1 was to do the roof as outlined by insurance company and I was to pay deductible. After my roof had been finished and I had not heard back from anyone at Elder 1 about the final bill I called to ask them to send me a bill. I spoke with Tonya (who in my opinion is the only saving grace of this company) and she asked if Dave could come out and meet me to pick up the money. I told her I work during the day could she send out a bill. I was also having problems with them not doing the work on the front door as they had promised and I was not comfortable having him come to my house. A week past and I received a bill in the middle of the following week. The bill said (in writing on the invoice) that the total might change, as they had not finished negotiating the supplements with the insurance company. Since the invoice stated that the price might change it was not, in my opinion a final bill. On the Monday morning, a few days after the bill came in the mail, I received a horrible (in my opinion) message from the owner Terry. He said if he did not hear from me that day he was going to file a lien on my house, that they are not a finance company, he said, I don't know what the problem is about getting paid but if I didn't call him his intentions were to file a lien. This is the first call I had ever received from Elder 1 regarding payment. I am the one who initiated getting the final bill and the call came at 9:43 on a Monday 5 days after I received the bill that said the final amount may change based on insurance supplements. I called him right away and the phone call did not go well. I was very upset but it was decided that Terry would come the next day to collect payment. The next day I received a call from Tonya (who was really trying to smooth things over) and it was agreed that she would come to get the payment instead of Terry. I was grateful that she was willing to come instead of Terry. Tonya was amazing when she came over but unfortunately her people skills do not make up for a company that in my opinion treats customers very bad. I have also learned a lesson about referrals. I am a realtor and referred two clients to them. They got both jobs and they still yelled and treated me poorly. Dave, from Elder 1, had also been asked to install a new front door. On April 21 I asked to get started on door. He said he would come out and sign a new contract for that. He came over April 22 to take measurements so he could get started on the door. We discussed price but since he wasn't sure of the exact cost he wanted to get the bid before signing the contract. We did have a verbal agreement of the top price range. I heard nothing from him and contacted him again on May 2nd he responded he would get back with me. By May 6th I still had not heard from them so I contacted Dave again...He said they were just waiting on a door jamb extension, May 13th I contacted him again and he said he needed to come by and measure again to 1/16th of an inch. He came on May 14th and measured again. May 15th I asked for an ETA on the door, May 16th he said 2 weeks is what it would take to get it done. May 22nd I reminded him he had promised to send me a picture and he replied he would have one sent over. That was the last I heard from them until Tonya (once again she was really nice) called to apologize and say nothing had been done with the door and they would not be doing it. They gave me a number of a door company to call. I wanted a simple wood door and after a month of trying to get them to follow through I find out that nothing had been done. I don't know why installing a front door is so hard for a company that claims to be able to do large or small projects. This is all my personal experience.
Description of Work: He replaced my roof and was suppose to put in a new front door and frame.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$4,000

Renee D.
03/2014
5.0
roofing
  + -1 more
Dave was the representative (owner) who showed up on time. Very personable. Answered all our questions. Asked if it would matter if he replaced the damaged shingle with one of a different color he had available in his truck. We said that it was fine. He replaced shingle and nailed down other shingle that were a little loose. We requested a quote which he proceeded to do. Also gave us information on other services available from his company.
Description of Work: Checked over entire roof. Replaced damaged shingle. Gave quote for new roof replacement.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
3.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$59

Response from Elder 1 Contracting LLC
Good Morning [member name removed]! Thank you for the review and for choosing Elder 1, LLC to do business with us. Our goal is to serve our customers with the best of our ability. Our job is to do everything we can to make things right. If you ever need any prior work to your home, we hope you keep Elder 1 in mind! Thank you again for selecting Elder 1, LLC. It is our privilege to work with you. Sincerely, Terry Elder Owner of Elder 1, LLC Production Manager Sara Humphreys Elder 1, LLC Office Manager 636.492.1414

Andrew W.
07/2013
5.0
replacement windows
  + -1 more
They have been fine so far.
Description of Work: I got an estimate from Elder 1 Contracting for replacement windows and I am going to use them on Monday.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

donyelle B.
07/2013
5.0
roofing
  + -1 more
It went well. They were very professional and done a very good job. I'm very satisfied & will call on them again.
Description of Work: Replaced a deck that was not built properly by another company!

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$4,500

Karen P.
06/2013
1.0
roofing
  + -1 more
I explained what happened above.
Description of Work: A gentlemen came to my door asking if I wanted someone from his company, Elder Roofing to check my roof. They came the next week and said I had some storm damage and should call my insurance co. He thought I could probably get a new roof because of the damage.. I did and the appraiser came the next week at the same time the man from Elder was here. The appraiser said there wasn't much damage at all. The man from Elder left before explaining to me what had transpired. The appraiser told me that the man from Elder told him that he tried to tell me I didn't have any damage. I was furious. I never would have filed a claim if it wasn't for Elder Roofing. I would never recommend them to anyone.
Rating CategoryRating out of 5

Response from Elder 1 Contracting LLC
We at Elder 1 take pride in our ability to satisfy the expectations of all customers. Unfortunately, some instances do occur. In this instance a person that was an employee of Elder 1 did not follow Elder 1’s procedures. This person was acting irresponsibly and on his own. Shortly after this situation, the employee was terminated. He was not acting on the best interest of Elder 1 and their customers. Since that time, we have made contact with customer in mention. We have apologized and made every effort to meet customers’ expectations. We will do everything possible to make sure Elder 1 is never represented in this way again.

cheri G.
11/2012
5.0
gutter repair, roofing, siding
  + 1 more
It was good. The price was very fair for the amount of work he did. I would highly recommend him. He does a great job!
Description of Work: He did a couple of roofs, awnings and repaired some siding. He also took care of some gutter replacement.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

    Contact information

    30 Fox Valley Center ., Arnold, MO 63010

    www.elder1contracting.com

    Service hours

    Sunday:
    8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
    Monday:
    7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
    Tuesday:
    7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
    Wednesday:
    7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
    Thursday:
    7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
    Friday:
    7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
    Saturday:
    8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    Licensing

    Bonded

    Insured

    Eco-friendly Accreditations

    LEED Accredited Professional
    No
    Energy Star Partner
    Yes
    EPA Lead-Safe Certified
    No
    Use Green Products or Work Practices
    No
    State Contractor License Requirements

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

    *Contact business to see additional licenses.


    Service Categories

    Roofing,
    Windows,
    Siding,
    General Remodeling,
    Gutters,
    Concrete Driveways,
    Basement Remodeling,
    Sunrooms and Patio Enclosures,
    Asphalt Driveways,
    Kitchen and Bath Remodeling,
    Skylights,
    Decks and Porches

    FAQ

    Elder 1 Contracting LLC is currently rated 3.4 overall out of 5.

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    Elder 1 Contracting LLC accepts the following forms of payment: American Express,Check,Discover,Financing Available,MasterCard,Visa
    Yes, Elder 1 Contracting LLC offers free project estimates.
    Yes, Elder 1 Contracting LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.
    No, Elder 1 Contracting LLC does not offer a senior discount.
    Yes, Elder 1 Contracting LLC offers emergency services.
    No, Elder 1 Contracting LLC does not offer warranties.
    Elder 1 Contracting LLC offers the following services: Roofing, siding, soffit & fascia, windows, gutters, gutter protection, decks, room additions, concrete, repairs.
    Ask for details.

    Contact information

    30 Fox Valley Center ., Arnold, MO 63010

    www.elder1contracting.com

    Service hours

    Sunday:
    8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
    Monday:
    7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
    Tuesday:
    7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
    Wednesday:
    7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
    Thursday:
    7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
    Friday:
    7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
    Saturday:
    8:00 AM - 12:00 PM