Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Homeplace Inspections Incorporated

Home inspection

About us

I am the #1 home inspector in not only Miinnesota, but the United States. I have highest credentials in the nation, being a certified and licensed home inspector since 1990 and also a licenced custom builder in Minnesota since 1970.

Business highlights

55 years of trusted experience

Services we offer

Inspections for any type of home transaction for both prospective buyers and seller (homeowners putting their home on the market). I have served as a consultant and expert investigator for the Metroplitian Council. I do consultations on homeowner's concerns regarding current or past construction work by contractors.Radon testing available for any home, whether being put on the market or the homeowner has concerns.

Services we don't offer

Do not do mold, lead or asbestos testing.


Accepted payment methods

Check

Reviews

1.05 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
0%
4
0%
3
0%
2
0%
1
100%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.2
punctuality
1.0
Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

Luke B.
04/2015
1.0
home inspection
  + -1 more
Don Doty did a home inspection and missed a handful of things that we now have to pay for. He missed checking the main floor tub drain because if he had checked he he would have immediately seen that the tub does not drain and actually leaks into the basement. There are also several outlets that don't work -apparently he only checked a few of the outlets. I contacted him shortly after closing on the house and he was insulting on the phone and takes no responsibility for these issues. He actually put the blame on me and our realtor!
Description of Work: Residential home inspection

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$375

Joshua L.
07/2012
1.0
home inspection
  + -1 more
We were not at all impressed with Don Doty of Homeplace Inspections. His professionalism was poor and frankly he didn't seem very knowledgeable. We are not experts, but it didn't take more than a few seconds to figure out that we in fact DO NOT have a gas stove like Don said we did. He lacks customer service and did not at all make this experience pleasant. We wish we had never even hired him.
Description of Work: To be honest, we were not at all impressed with Don Doty. Don came highly recommended by our realtor for doing our Truth in Sale of Housing. We were quite disappointed in his initial inspection. He made an error that could have cost us $100+ had we had a licensed plumber come out and look at our gas line. One of his inspection items was that there was a kink in the gas line running to our gas stove that needed to be fixed. However, we don't have a gas stove and the location of the line in the basement is not even close to where the stove is. Once we did a little more work, we found out this was just a loose line that was tucked up into the ventilation in the floor joists. All we had to do was remove the line at the shutoff valve and place a $2 cap over it. Had we had a plumber come out and look at this it would have easily been $100+. When we tried to express our concerns he was pretty quick to get off the phone, saying "Gotta run" and hung up. The only other fixes we had on his report were 2 backflow adapters for laundry tub and outside faucet and a smoke alam in our basement. We emailed pictures of these super simple fixes and he would not certify his report. He insisted that he needed to come back to our house for a whopping $75. We called the City of Minneapolis to discuss our concerns with them. Thankfully we spoke to someone who had us send pictures and a supervisor certified the report. Needless to say this ended well and we saved a lot of money!

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
2.0

$175

Christina S.
03/2012
1.0
home inspection
  + -1 more
We chose Don Doty based on his touted credentials, his website and the fact that he's been on HGTV. MISTAKE. BIG MISTAKE. There are so many things we have found since acquiring the home that were NOT noted on the inspection report. Such as, when we lifted up one of the windows the bottom of it was so rotted from water damage that it actually fell off! When asked during the inspection what these brown stains were on the ceiling and wall he stated he thought it was "glue seeping through". What?! Yes, we have water damage. Plus, he stated in the report that he took pictures and no pictures were ever presented to us. There was snow on the ground and we could clearly see that he hadn't even walked around the property. We trusted him and paid him to be an advocate on our behalf and he failed to do so! I'm sure the ladder never came off his truck. WE WOULD NEVER...EVER...RECOMMEND HIM TO ANYONE!!! RESPONSE: Did you really just say that you noticed this property was a foreclosure??? IT WAS NOT A FORECLOSURE, I REPEAT, NOT A FORECLOSURE! In fact, it wasn't even a short sale! How could it be...the sellers had no loan on it and the taxes/assessments were paid up and current. We read the report (word used lightly), thank you. The stains I was referring to above were NOT in the attic, they are in a first floor room. Remember when I asked you about them and you stated that you thought it was "glue seeping through"??? Also, what about not walking around the property and what about our pictures you supposedly took??? We would like those, please. AGAIN, WE WOULD NEVER....EVER....RECOMMEND HIM TO ANYONE!!! Please learn from our mistake.
Description of Work: Home inspection on house we were purchasing.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$350

Response from Homeplace Inspections Incorporated
You must not have read the report.Please see page 4 windows I marked Marginal/Broken sash cords/Weathered wood/seals broken/some windows painted shut/Lacks Paint and are screwed shut.also see attic page it says ''STAINS''.YOU MUST READ THIS REPORT BEFORE PURCHASE WHY DIDN'T YOU?I also noticed it was a foreclosure I listed 20 pages filled with problems again review this report you will learn more

Judith M.
02/2009
1.0
home inspection
  + -1 more
Don came in touting his incredible credentials - he had been on HGTV, Fox News, he's been doing this forever, etc. His inspection of our 3200 square foot home took approximately an hour and the walk-through was even faster than that. Don failed to notice multiple items during the inspection and those items that were critical were not brought to our attention during the walk-through. Since moving in, we have had to replace a water softener, washer, dryer, a corroded, leaking pipe and we had to reroute the dryer vent that was not actually vented outside and as such, created a very real fire hazard. We also found other issues with the home that were brought to our attention by the various professionals we've had to bring in to correct all of these issues (the dishwasher was not installed to code, our garage door lacks sensors that should have been installed over a decade ago). On top of this poor inspection, he left the house in such a state that the seller's Realtor asked if a bomb had gone off in the property and our Realtor had to come back to clean up after him. I am amazed he was able to make such a mess while not *actually* doing anything. To top it off, we contacted Mr. Doty directly to let him know of the overlooked items. His response was sarcastic, rude and unprofessional. Bottom line, I will do everything in my power to make sure no one is subject to his "services" again. Please don't make the same mistake we did - find another inspector.
Description of Work: Very little, in fact. His inspection was incredibly quick and he did not discover many problems with the property that have since resulted in us spending thousands of dollars.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$420

Response from Homeplace Inspections Incorporated
I can not understand your unhappiness I showed up on time as per your time that we agreed on.My fee was set when you called me.I found Items that needed attention.I do beleive that was a forclosed Home with utilitys off it is sometime hard to find all things under those condition,Also I never got a phone call of unhappiness

NANCY V.
07/2003
1.0
home inspection
  + -1 more
I WROTE A LETTER WITH DETAILS OF THINGS THAT WHERE WRONG. HE SAID ONLY THINGS NEEDED WERE PAINT AND CARPET. DAY OF INSPECTION NEVER MENTIONED SEEING ANY WATER STAINS IN BASEMENT AND THEN WHEN I RECEIVED THE WRITTEN REPORT, HE INDICATED THERE WERE WATER STAINS ON CEILING, WALLS AND FLOOR. I ASKED ABOUT EVIDENCE OF FLOODING OF BASEMENT. HE SAID NO AS WELL. I CONTACTED A WRITTEN LETTER AND IN COMMENTS FIELDS ON WRITTEN REPORT HE CHECKED COMMENTS AND LEFT NO RESPONSE. 8/28/02 WAS A TWO DAY INSPECTION I DID NOT RECEIVE REPORT ON 8/30/03 IN MAIL BOX. BY THEN MY INSPECTION CONTINGENCY HAD EXPIRED, SO I CALLED 8/31/03 TO ASK ABOUT REPORT AND FOUND HE WAS OUT OF TOWN UNTIL SEPT.!NEVER MENTIONED LEAVING TOWN. SO I ASKED THERE RECEPTIONIST TO HAVE ANOTHER INSPECTOR TO CONTACT ME AND I RECEIVED NO CALL. AT THAT POINT I FELT I HAD TO HIRE ANOTHER COMPANY TO INSPECT. $310 WAS COST OF THE SECOND INSPECTION. SECOND INSPECTOR GAVE ME MUCH MORE DETAILED REPORT AND MORE DEFENSES AS WELL.
Description of Work: HOME INSPECTION FOR TOWN HOUSE 8/28/02. GUY WAS ONLY THERE FOR AN HOUR AND I ENDED UP SPENDING $585.00 FOR INSPECTIONS.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$275

Response from Homeplace Inspections Incorporated
This is 10 years later I will start by saying you paid 275.00 as agreed apon by you.I also sent you a copy the next day,as well as your agent,And yes there were comments made on your report.Also I can say I have never ever been gone an any vacation for what say is months.Still to thay day my 21st year in business.I have not taken more than 4 days off,I don't understand if your time ran out as you say how did you get another inspector,And why when my report stated all these items

    Contact information

    2842 Mayfield Rd, Wayzata, MN 55391

    www.homeplaceinspections.com

    Service hours

    Sunday:
    7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Monday:
    7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Tuesday:
    7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Wednesday:
    7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Thursday:
    7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Friday:
    7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Saturday:
    7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Licensing

    Insured
    State Contractor License Requirements

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

    *Contact business to see additional licenses.


    Service Categories

    Home inspection

    FAQ

    Homeplace Inspections Incorporated is currently rated 1 overall out of 5.

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Homeplace Inspections Incorporated accepts the following forms of payment: Check
    No, Homeplace Inspections Incorporated does not offer free project estimates.
    No, Homeplace Inspections Incorporated does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
    No, Homeplace Inspections Incorporated does not offer a senior discount.
    No, Homeplace Inspections Incorporated does not offer emergency services.
    No, Homeplace Inspections Incorporated does not offer warranties.
    Homeplace Inspections Incorporated offers the following services: Inspections for any type of home transaction for both prospective buyers and seller (homeowners putting their home on the market). I have served as a consultant and expert investigator for the Metroplitian Council. I do consultations on homeowner's concerns regarding current or past construction work by contractors.Radon testing available for any home, whether being put on the market or the homeowner has concerns.
    Do not do mold, lead or asbestos testing.

    Contact information

    2842 Mayfield Rd, Wayzata, MN 55391

    www.homeplaceinspections.com

    Service hours

    Sunday:
    7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Monday:
    7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Tuesday:
    7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Wednesday:
    7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Thursday:
    7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Friday:
    7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Saturday:
    7:00 AM - 7:00 PM