Selecting a fireplace, stove or log set for your home can be daunting. Often many hearth stores only have only a few model types of each unit on display and you may get very different opinions with sales people using different terminology that only confuses the situation. But please don't dismay and give up, visit Day or Night Home & Hearth. Our showroom is one of the largest hearth showrooms in the mid-Atlantic. Our friendly knowledgeable staff is here to help you, so don't be surprised when we ask lots of questions! Not only do we have the best selection, we also have the best guarantees and warranties of any Hearth Shop in the area, see what our goof proof warranty is all about.
From the original phone call from me to the installation everything was first rate. Dawn in the sales department worked with us on some complications and reconfiguring and did it all effortlessly. Everything arrived slightly early it was installed perfectly and in a short time. I am very pleased with this company.
Description of Work: We purchased a log set and fireplace mantel from them.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$6,000
Susan S.
05/2013
4.0
fireplaces
+ -1 more
My first experience with them was really good. They came out and cleaned my fireplace. It looked incredible. We actually got compliments from how high our flame was. It looked amazing! They told me that if there is any problem in the future, I just let them know. When the fireplace died, I called them back. It took weeks and weeks, but they did not come back. I have not called them back to pursue it, but I am kind of annoyed. I feel like they blew me off. The initial service was fabulous. But on the responsiveness on the company, I am not happy with.
Description of Work: I used Day or Night Home & Hearth Services for fireplace service.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$180
Robert M.
02/2013
3.0
gas logs
+ -1 more
Called and asked if they could help. Was asked if I purchased the insert from them, when I said no they said they could not help me. Am rating them only because I subsequently called several dealers and each at least gave me contacts for installers. Their response to my call for help was only "fair." Certainly not an "A" rated Angoe's List experience.
Description of Work: needed a gas fireplace insert installed
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
3.0
Catherine S.
02/2013
5.0
fireplaces
+ -1 more
They were very professional and on time. They are also very courteous.
Description of Work: They put in a fireplace surround door.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Steve F.
12/2012
1.0
fireplaces
+ -1 more
Overall the customer service was very bad. When the technician came out to measure our fireplace he said we would have a quote that next Tuesday. Still didn't have a full quote three weeks later, even after paying a 90.00 dollar fee for the door measurement!
Description of Work: Tried to get pricing on tile work, fireplace door and new bathroom, the sales woman was very rude and didn't get back to us for weeks and only with a partial price quote.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
Response from Day or Night Home & Hearth Services LLC
This client was given numerous door options and prices. When he was informed at the time of the site visit that only a custom door would fit his fireplace application he was very unhappy. Price seemed to be a big concern and although we certainly understand price is an issue, we prefer to use quality materials and do the project properly to assure a high level of client satisfaction and long lasting, trouble free products.
John S.
10/2012
5.0
fireplaces
+ -1 more
They thought about my particular size fireplace and suggested a nice solution which worked. The guys who did the estimating and installation were professional and cleaned up afterwards. Everything happened within the time frame they promised. They were almost $1,000 cheaper than another guy. The stove seems to be working, but we shall see after the weather turns cold.
Description of Work: They put in a fireplace insert stove.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$4,600
Richard J.
10/2012
1.0
drain cleaning
+ -1 more
I was shocked at the pricing schedule ($1180 for 3.5 hours work, more than $300 an hour) but was desperate as my other plumber bailed out on me. He restored water to one bath room although the toilet and the bath continued to leak. He fixed the broken kitchen pipe but another joint (not his) subsequently failed and he did not notice that the hotwater leaked. He attempted to connect the upstairs bath but after soaking the entrance hall three times I asked him to stop (and cleaned up the water myself.) The capped line was done right as well as the shut off to the hotwater heater (although he did not secure the pipe.) The plumbers last words were I am getting out of here before something else goes wrong. I subsequently called Day and Night Office to express my unhappiness. (I was prepared to pay a ridiculous rate if my plumbing was fixed, but not for a second rate job.) I was told that the owner would call me back. This never happened. I called back a week later about the leak and was told that since the joint was not done by the plumber it was not covered. (He made a good joint on a bad piece of plumbing.) I asked to speak to the owner again and was told she would call me. This never happened. My experience was horrible and outrageously expensive. Perhaps these guys are good for changing a washer if you can afford them, but I would not recommend using them for any difficult plumbing job.
Description of Work: This was a challenging plumbing job. The house had been empty for two years and there were undetermined leaks in the supply line. The technician repaired a broken supply to the kitchen sink (it did not hold); attempted to repair a supply line to one bathroom, when this failed he capped the line. He installed a shut off to a hot water heater. All together he spent 3 and one half hours.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
5.0
$1,180
David O.
06/2012
5.0
gas logs
+ -1 more
They did a good job, but their prices were a little high.
Description of Work: We used Day or Night Home & Hearth Services for gas logs.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Scott S.
06/2012
1.0
plumbing
+ -1 more
This was my absolute worst experience ever. The work was not good, they only sent one person out to perform the work, there worker complained about his co-worker not showing up on time. Both days, They marked up a price to have a pipe bored from the WSSC valve to my home by $3000 dollars. The job was overpriced and they knew it, one of the reps kept saying they are not making any money off this job, when they knew the entire time they were ripping me off. Your taking a huge risk if you hire this company....Beware. There are far better and more honest companies to hire. More review to come.
Description of Work: Day or Night Home & Hearth was hired to change out the main water line from WSSC valve to home.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$8,500
Response from Day or Night Home & Hearth Services LLC
I find this amazing that this customer is complaining, he has never satisfied his bill, gone to court 2 times and lost BOTH times and STILL has not paid his bill. He signed a contract and knew exactly what the price was BEFORE we began, watched as we worked VERY hard to provide him with water, late into the evening for over a week. We restored water to his home with no damage to his property and when he has water back to his home and the final payment was due his credit card was declined multiple times and then he stated the job was too much and he would not pay. Who is the direputable person here, NOT DAY or NIGHT but Member, if you own any type of business do not do work for this person, he will take advatage of you.
Charles O.
05/2012
3.0
chimney caps
+ -1 more
They came out on time and were efficient in their evaluation.
Description of Work: I called them to get an estimate on a repair for our fireplace cap.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
punctuality
5.0
Response from Day or Night Home & Hearth Services LLC
We never quoted just a chase top for this gentleman but an entire new Luxury Gas Fireplace and complete installaton and a new chase top as part of the installation. Our price for a custom made chase top was $284.00 installed. I am disappointed to hear he felt that is expensive for a custom made chase top, measured, which requires going to the home, setting up a ladder and climbing up on the roof and measuring the chimney, ordering it, having it shipped to us, returning to reinstall it.
Marjorie B.
04/2012
5.0
fireplaces
+ -1 more
probably my favorite representative. The installer (his brother) was all business and was persistent when he ran into trouble with an outcome that resulted in a really nice looking fireplace. I would recommend this business to folks who are really brand specific (Mendota). This company sells a well rated, safe product and are exellent when it comes to the install. I would recommend them to a friend or neighbor.
Description of Work: Day and Night sold and installed a Mendota Direct Vent Fireplace in our home. The fireplace was a package deal from this company. Our family received estimates from three different companies. We chose Day and Night because they had the best value for the product/install that was offered. By far they were not the cheapest but they had the most reliable communication and would return phone calls promptly with knowledgable representatives. Having said this I must comment that we delt with 5 different representatives of this company and not all of them are pleasant to deal with. To be honest, I did not want to spend $5000 on an insert for our fireplace and really wanted a more affordable brand then Mendota. One of the sales people from this firm could not understand why I would want a more affordable brand. But when you live in MD and only use the fireplace to warm one room and plan to not be in the house your putting it in until you die, well you have to at least try to understand where your consumer is coming from. Once, she understood where I was coming from she was a bit more understanding that I was having a hard time justifying the price for the amount of use we would actually receive from this product. The estimator came on time and was
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$5,000
Mark C.
01/2012
5.0
drain cleaning, plumbing
+ 0 more
We've used Day or Night for many plumbing issues and this is another in a series of satisfying results. Their plumbers have always been courteous, professional, and explained the work they are doing in layman-friendly terms. Pricing is reasonable and in this particular case, the plumber made an effort to get us the best price available for the service we needed. We will continue to use Day or Night for future plumbing needs.
Description of Work: Had an annual inspection of all plumbing in the house. Pointed out a drainage problem in our laundry room - water was coming up from the drain when we did our laundry. Plumber snaked out the drain, which fixed the problem.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$260
Geoffrey M.
01/2012
5.0
fireplaces, gas logs
+ 0 more
I was very pleased with the company. The lady in the sales department worked with me on finding a model an options that met both my heating requirements and my budget. She was very thorough and responsive. The folks who came to my house to measure and install were all very professional and patient with all my questions. I have now had the stove for almost two months and I have had no problems at all with the installation or the product.
Description of Work: Installation of direct vent gas stove in basement family room.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$4,000
Kelly F.
11/2011
1.0
fireplaces
+ -1 more
the fireplace is installed well, however it took many phone calls and the owner coming out to finish the job correctly. They are always late. They didn't show up for my scheduled service call because of "emergencies", and waited for us to call them to ask where they were. They didn't offer any compensation for wasting 2 hrs of our time. I found a cheaper (authorized) plumber to do the work, they were able to schedule the appointment quickly, and show up on time.
Description of Work: bought a fireplace insert from day or night ~ 2 years ago - and requested to have service performed on it this year. the service was not performed.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
2.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$5,000
Kevin M.
10/2011
3.0
fireplaces
+ -1 more
Got original quote in march 2011. Took a little longer than I would have liked from my first inquiry to final quote. Once we settled on scope of work and price (early April), I asked Rich to let me know when everything was ordered and expected to come in so that I'd have an idea of when the work would start. That never happened. 10 weeks later I was just about to call them to find out when the install would happen, when they called me. They said Rich needed to come out to the house again to make final measurements. Turns out they forgot to order the new mantel and didn't catch it till all the other stuff came in. No problem I'm thinking. Its summer. I don't need this done till winter. So we wait another 10 weeks for the mantel to come in. Install finally starts first of September. I'm told it will take 2 full days to do the install so I take two days off of work. A few days before, I'm told i have to travel for work and I won't get back to town until ~1030am on the first day of the install. I call up day or night to explain my issue and see if they can start with the outside work first. I'm told absolutely not. They need access to the inside of the house for 2 full days starting between 8-9am. So my wife ends up taking a day off (she only has 10 vacation days a year) so someone is at the house when they arrive. I get home from my trip right around 1030 as expected and still no one has shown up from Day or Night. Installation guy didn't show up till nearly 1130am first day and leaves around 4pm (boy was I steamed). Also, I had made a point to Rich that I wanted the cavity to be back-filled with insulation (its listed on the quote) but when I mention this to the install guy, he's unware that this is part of the job and has to go back to the office to pick up insulating batts. At the end of the first day I'm told he'll get there earlier tomorrow. He shows up at 1145 and ends up working till about 6pm trying to get everything done when he tries to install the custom made chimney cap only to find out it doesn fit. Its a full 1.5" too narrow in one dimension. So now we wait another 3 weeks for a new cap to be made with the inside install only 80 percent complete. Again, I ask Day or night to let me know how long it will take to get the new part in and finish the install and they never call me back till the part arrives and its time to finish the install (late September). They tell me it'll take the better part of a day to finish, so I take a 3rd day off work. This time the installer shows up at a reasonably decent 930am and completes the rest of the install in about 3 hours. Overall Pro's: Both Rich (the manager) and Jerry (the install guy) are really nice guys, I never had a problem with them personally. They were always pleaseant and professional in person and Jerry did a pretty good job on the install all other issue not withstanding. For the time he was actually there, he was pretty efficient. I'm satisfied with the final product. We've just had several cold days (into the 40's in early Oct. and I'm already noticing how big a difference the new install makes compared to the old drafty fireplace. So in that sense, mission accomplished. Overall Con's: I'm not the kind of person to complain about a job. If someone does good work, they will earn my continued business and customer loyalty. If they don't, I don't make a fuss, but they've lost me as a customer. Not sure if they were snake bit on this job, or if this is how they operate normally, but this whole install was like a comedy of errors. I don't expcect to have any fireplace needs moving forward. But I know they do plumbing as well, and I don't think I will be giving them a call for any of my plumbing problems.
Description of Work: I had Day or Night remove an existing wood burning fireplace (metal insert type) because we had been in the house for 5 years and never once used the fireplace, and it was a huge problem in the winter in terms of letting cold are into the house, even with the flu closed. They cut out the old unit, back-filled with some insulation, inserted a new cap blank onto the chimney stack, and installed a new electric fireplace insert (we don't have Nat Gas in our neighborhood so electric was only real option), and new mantel with stacked stone surround and hearth stones.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
2.0
$4,200
James R.
09/2011
5.0
fireplaces
+ -1 more
The service man came exactly on time and performed the job, checking everything and making sure the gas fireplace was clean and in good working order. The last time I had this done (by a different company) was two years ago the cost was only $110.00. Although that company also did a professional job, they were difficult to deal with, and the repair man made it sound as though they were doing me a huge favor by coming out to clean the system. Even though they are more expensive I'll stick with Day or Night in the future.
Description of Work: I had the gas fireplace cleaned and serviced for use this coming Fall and Winter.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
3.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$198
margaret B.
08/2011
5.0
fireplaces
+ -1 more
They are terrific. I didn’t know anything about pellet stoves so the guy took the time to show me how it works and how much space you need around the stove. They came and installed it and did a professional job, and the guy that sold it to me came to the house to make sure it was done correctly, safely, and the way that I wanted it. I don’t know if he was a manager or not, but he just wanted to make sure that it was done right. He gave us a good price. I don’t think it was an exceptional price for the stove, but the installation really got to me; I still can’t believe he came back to check on it. We continue to get pellets from them. With a wood stove you can’t really control how hot it gets, but with a pellet stove you can set a temperature. The only thing that would have made it better is if they were closer to my house. They had the stove to us within a week of purchasing it.
Description of Work: We purchased a pellet stove from Day or Night Home and Hearth.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
3.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$2,000
Lauri G.
08/2011
5.0
fireplaces
+ -1 more
They did a wonderful job and they were fabulous. I liked their services and will use the same in future.
Description of Work: I used the services of Day or Night Home & Hearth Services LLC for a fireplace, in January, 2011.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,200
SHARON L.
06/2011
2.0
plumbing
+ -1 more
They ended up putting a seal around it which did not work. They then told us we needed a whole new flooring and different kinds of repairs. We ended up not using them anymore and went with someone else.
Description of Work: We called them out for an estimate for a leaking toilet.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
2.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0
Deborah F.
05/2011
4.0
gas logs
+ -1 more
I will not use this company again. I have used them several years back. I thought they were overpriced. The work was fine. I don’t remember having any complaints about that. I would not use them in the future. At that time I did not know anybody else who could service a gas log fire place that was the only reason why I used them after the issue I had with them installing it.
Description of Work: I have used Day or Night Home & Hearth Services LLC to service my fire place.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
1.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0
$180
Response from Day or Night Home & Hearth Services LLC
This customer was informed of our price during our phone call to schedule the appointment. We are sorry she feels we are expensive but the technician is not only a Licensed Journeyman Gasfitter but holds National Fireplace Institute Certification (the highest available) in serving gas units. We do not take training and licensing and experience lightly as we are working with deadly components- gas, carbon monoxide and fire. We are priced competitively and we fixed the problem upon our initial visit.
Mary K.
01/2011
3.0
plumbing, water heater repair
+ 0 more
The first part of it we had pipes replaced and a new water heater installed which initially went well. Once it was installed, they didn't install a drain line so they needed to come back and do that again and actually install that properly. It was a little frustrating and we had to get in touch with them and say hey this isn't finished once the electrical work was done. We were really happy with them because they had done some work with us prior and we were very pleased. Then the guy that we used quit working there and the new guys that did the work didn't have the same attention to detail as the initial guy. We had to do a lot of follow up and checking things, we don't expect to use them again in the future.
Description of Work: They had to finish and properly install a water heater.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
4.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
4.0
$6,000
Stephen C.
10/2010
5.0
plumbing
+ -1 more
The comany and the plumber were very professional, clean, and did high quality work. The only downside was that the plumber was 30 minutes late the first vist, and 50 minutes late the second visit. An advance call would have been helpful.
Description of Work: General plumbing updating: Install shower fixture rough-in; install ball valves for water filter; replace saddle valves with angle stop valves, done in 2 separate visits, as I was having tile installed in a bathroom.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
3.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,755
Sheila G.
05/2010
5.0
fireplaces
+ -1 more
I paid $35,000 on the fire place. My son in-law recommended them to me and just because he worked there I decided to use them. I did not get any kind of discount or anything and it was a matter of going for the quality of the work. I had them do the basics and he was able to buy parts for me at costs like the blower and screens and things like that and was about $4200. I had it on yesterday and it is great, and it comes on, heats and when you turn it off the blowers continue to push the warm air that was generated. We have it on a switch and not a remote that could get lost and it automatically lights. We lived in this house for 27 years and basement has been cold down there and we have avoided it like the plague, but we can use the basement and be warm. It took a day to install it and they had a representative come a couple of days later and walk me through it and explain what I needed and did not need to be concerned about. The guy that came gave me his cell phone number and told me that I could call him if I ever had questions and wherever he is he would stop by or answer my questions. I thought that the price was good.
Description of Work: I used Day Or Night Home & Hearth Services LLC and they put in the gas fireplace.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$4,200
Melissa B.
03/2010
5.0
fireplaces, gas logs
+ 0 more
Richard at the store was great...patient and informative. Answered all my questions. Sheila worked with me to get a convenient installation date as soon as possible and the guys who installed were prompt, clean and professional. Very happy with the work.
Description of Work: Purchased a wood pellet stove and had it installed.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$5,000
Bradley F.
03/2009
1.0
appliance sales
+ -1 more
We placed an order 6/28/08 for a Harman Accentra Insert with the sales manager for approx. $5,100...we left a $1,700 deposit. There were a number of communications, most of which we initiated to follow-up and set an install date. We were repeatedly told "its on order at the manufacturer" "we'll call you once it leaves the factory" then it changed to "we have managed to find you one elsewhere, we'll let you know once it ships" and then apparently the sales manager incorrectly entered the order (the wrong installation kit parts were ordered) and the price needed to be adjusted higher to account for the errors. Finally on 8/11/08 we were informed by email from the sales manager that they "would no longer be able to honor the original quote" the stove price was now $538 higher and we could 'cancel' if we wished. There was no invitation to visit the showroom and select another stove. No explanation with regard to the story changing. After 5 weeks of what felt to us to be increasingly getting the brush-off by the sales manager and our increasing concern with regard to the credibility of future services that might be provided by Day or Night Home & Hearth Services we were relieved to be able to cancel the order. PS: The next week I was able to buy the exact stove from Finch Services Inc in Finksburg, MD. Finch did a great job installing & setting up the stove - it works beautifully.
Description of Work: We placed an order 6/28/08 for a Harman Accentra Insert with the sales manager...on 8/11/08 we were informed by email that they "would no longer be able to honor the original quote" and we 'cancel' if we wished...we canceled.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
value
3.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
Response from Day or Night Home & Hearth Services LLC
Member is correct in that we could not recieve stoves from our Vendor Harman Stove. There was a shortage due to heating oil being over $5 a gallon in New England so all of Harman's stoves were sold before our season even started. We were constantly told stoves were on their way, only to be cancelled. I am sorry this happened but consider this an isolated incident and the falt of our distributor for over commiting product to NE and no where else. This have not happened since then.
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.
*Contact business to see additional licenses.
Service Categories
Fireplaces,
Plumbing,
Gas Logs,
Chimney Sweep,
Drain Cleaning,
Natural Gas Lines,
Kitchen and Bath Remodeling,
Appliance Repair,
Wells and Pumps,
Chimney Caps,
General Remodeling,
Heating and Air Conditioning
FAQ
Day or Night Home & Hearth Services LLC is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.
Monday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Tuesday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Wednesday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Thursday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Friday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Saturday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Day or Night Home & Hearth Services LLC accepts the following forms of payment: American Express,Check,Discover,MasterCard,Visa
No, Day or Night Home & Hearth Services LLC does not offer free project estimates.
Yes, Day or Night Home & Hearth Services LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.
Yes, Day or Night Home & Hearth Services LLC offers a 5% senior discount.
Yes, Day or Night Home & Hearth Services LLC offers emergency services.
Yes, Day or Night Home & Hearth Services LLC offers warranties.
Day or Night Home & Hearth Services LLC offers the following services:
Gas, Wood, Pellet Fireplaces, Inserts, Mantels, Stone, Marble, Granite Hearths, Complete Fireplace Makeovers, Gas Conversions & Installation, Plumbing.