You and your family deserve to receive the best care and the best service. Not every heating & A/C company gives you the quality people and care that Presidential does. We offer 40 Years of Award-Winning Quality People, Quality Installation, and Quality Service. Delivering this quality service and care for your home is our commitment to you! Family-owned and operated, Presidential specializes in residential and light commercial service and installation throughout MD, VA & DC. Ask us about our system replacement specials and The Advantage Maintenance Plan for preferred VIP service. Presidential has been awarded the Carrier Factory Authorized Dealer Award and is a member of the ACCA (Air Conditioning Contractors of America) and the Quality One service network.
Business highlights
43 years of trusted experience
LGBTQ+ Friendly
Family Owned & Operated
Emergency Services Offered
Eco Friendly
Services we offer
1. Installation of Heating and Air Conditioning Systems.
2. Repair and Maintenance of all Heating and Air conditioning Equipment.
3. Annual Service Plans.
4. Residential and Light Commercial Installations.
PRODUCTS
Gas & Oil & Electric Furnaces, Heat Pumps, Air Conditioning, Roof Top Units, Ductless Mini Splits, Geothermal, Sheet Metal Work, Custom Duct Work, Fabrication, Installation and Design, Humidifiers, Filters, Air Cleaners, Ventilators, Ultra Violet Air Purifiers, Whole House Dehumidifiers.
DEALERSHIP
We are a Carrier® Factory Authorized Dealer.
Services we don't offer
n/a
Amenities
Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
10% off up to $250 - cannot be combined with other offers (call for full details)
I can not express how glad I am to have Presidential Heating and AC to repair my external heat pump; I highly, and again, HIGHLY, recommend anyone who has HVAC issues to have them come repair your system. The people at the Presidential were professional and courteous, upheld highest standard in every ways of running business to satisfy their customers, and, I must say, I am one of the very very satisfied customers. My external heat pump failed one day. I used Angie's list and called the Presidential because it had the highest customer satisfaction. Initially diagnosed w possible inner core leak by a technician who by the way no longer works there; but subsequent $328 nitrogen leak check found a leaking TXV with a repair estimate of about $1500 including a new TXV, dryer, vacuuming and charging the system with refrigerant. When the valve was replaced and the system charged, the compressor was found to be non-functional. I have a RUUD heat pump which was still under a warranty but since it was installed by another company to an internal core made by a different manufacture, the warranty was voided and became a huge issue. However, the Presidential went hundreds of miles beyond any other company would have gone through to get the compressor replaced under the warranty and, due to under circumstance of the initial incomplete diagnostic being made by the technician who no longer work at Presidential, they did not charge me for the labor on top of it. Now that's called highly upheld professionalism, following their motto "customer satisfaction" to the letter !!! This is a rare and respectful business trait not found these days in any other companies I dealt before. But the story did not end there. The replaced compressor was found to be a bad compressor... And they had to get it replaced with another new compressor....This has been a nightmare for me and for them too. But after all I was so glad to have the Presidential on my side. Gena was very friendly (and non-condescending) secretary who coordinated all the visits and returned my calls and emails promptly throughout this saga of repairing my heater. The repair was done by Craig and Lucas (I highly recommend) who were very pleasant and patient. They did a wonderful job at repairing the valve and replacing the compressor and charging the system in the cold winter climate. Tommy is the manager of the company who called the shot to have the compressor replaced for free, which I never expected. He was VERY professional and prompt. He told me he takes his business approach with "customer comes first seriously". Seriously indeed, he took the responsibility of the initial incomplete diagnosis made by a technician who no longer works there. That to me says it all. I never met Tommy in person but I have a complete respect for his professionalism and the way he carries his business. I thank him for making this experience least painful if not pleasant. I can not thank enough Tommy and his crew of great people at the Presidential. The great rating of their company on Angie's list truly reflected on their work performed. I hope this story will inspire you to call the Presidential Heating and AC for your repair.
Description of Work: Initial diagnostic through Angie's list. Subsequent nitrogen leak test. TX valve replacement. Replacement of the heat pump compressor x2. Recharging refrigerant. New dryer installation.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,828
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
We are overjoyed to hear your satisfaction. There were a couple issues that came up but we were about to work through them and get everything operating properly. We are happy to hear you chose Presidential based on our reputation and are glad we could surpass your expectations. Thank you again for your business and look forward to working with you again.
Angela R.
02/2016
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
I don't know what happened. I had filled out my review back in August of last year but apparently did not get saved. All I really remember is that I was happy with the service that was performed. The man that came over was punctual, professional and respectful. He also wore the plastic shoe covering even though I told him he didn't need to. I bought the $79.95 coupon and also bought the service agreement which they applied to the total amount. I will most definitely contact this provider again, especially since I have a service agreement still active.
Description of Work: Took care of maintenance. Wall panel was showing need for maintenance, also replaced air filter.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$310
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
Great to heat you had a excellent experience with our service technician. We would also like to welcome you to the Presidential Family with the purchase of your service agreement.
Paul W.
02/2016
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Presidential has always been prompt, courteous, and professional when inspecting or repairing our HVAC system. After years of unreliable service with other providers, I am relieved we found them. Recently, they repaired a wiring problem with our thermostat and conducted an annual heat inspection in our new (to us) house. While the technician found and carefully explained flaws in our HVAC system that the previous owners and home inspector had missed, the technician also explained which fixes were optional and which ones could safely be postponed or avoided.
Description of Work: Conducted annual inspection of furnace, fixed wiring problem with thermostat.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
We would like to thank you for the review. Your feedback is very helpful. We are glad to have you as a Presidential customer from here on out.
Xiaofang J.
02/2016
4.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
They are ok like they are polite and the service on time, it's just that they didn't see the big problem and they tried to fix a small problem and then they don't if it's really that problem or not.
Description of Work: .
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
$167
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
Thank you for responding to us. In this case we were dealing with an intermittent issue. These are never easy to diagnose, especially if it's working while we are there. After making some adjustments, everything appeared to be operating properly. This is the reason we had to make more than one visit. Thank you again for your business.
Ljubisa V.
02/2016
3.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
At each biannual service, the provider found something to be done that was not covered by the agreement. E.G. "contract diagnostic fee" was $40 to $70 in addition to the service agreement fee of $225.
Description of Work: I had a service agreement for five years costing $225 per year. However, there were additional charges every year that made the service under the agreement useless. Thus, I discontinued the service agreement because it was not good value.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
3.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0
$422
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
We thank you for the last 5 years of service at your home. There were a few things that were done that were not covered under the general maintenance agreement. We replaced your humidifier pad each fall inspection. We performed a condensate drain line cleaning to prevent back-ups and water leaks. We also charged a diagnostic fee to come out when your system was not working properly. This unfortunately is not covered under the maintenance contract. This is common for most HVAC companies. With the contract you do get a reduced rate to show up and get a discount on all labor & parts installed. We do this to keep the cost of the contract lower and also so our customers don't have to pay upfront for services they may not necessarily need or use. We would love to have you back as a customer if you have the need or if it does not work out with another company. We pride our self in quality service for a fair price. Thank you again for your past service with Presidential
myron T.
01/2016
4.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
I would maybe use them again. I do not think I got along real good with the salesman, but I have not met him person-to-person. I think the pricing could have been a little better, but we had to get it in. They had a good reputation and they did good work.
Description of Work: We used Presidential Heating to put in a new heat pump at my daughter’s home.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
3.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$9,056
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
We thank you for your review. After deciding to go with us for the installation we are glad you were happy with the final product. Please give us a call to discuss anything we can improve on for next time. Thank you again.
Jin H.
01/2016
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
24yr old furnace died during a cold spell. Presidential came out to inspect and recommended replacement of furnace and AC since it'll be cheaper to do them both (AC was also old). After getting other quotes, went with Presidential (they weren't the cheapest, but offered the most detailed actions to be taken, as well as better reputation on the equipment [Carrier]). 3 men job - polite, smooth, thorough, and cleaned up afterwards. $7000 later, house is warmer (new furnace has more powerful blower), and Presidential will come out in spring to fully charge the AC (too cold right now). I thought they did a great job, and I'm happy with the purchase and service.
Description of Work: Replaced old furnace and AC with new.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$7,000
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
It was a pleasure working with you from start to finish on your new system install. Thank you for the opportunity to show you what Presidential is all about. We value your point of view.
Maria A.
01/2016
3.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
They were really terrible. Basically we had a gas leak and they didn't want to cover that on the deal that I got because they knew the problem but didn't solve it. In those two hours they just only diagnosed the problem and so then I phased to another company to come and solve the problem and they solved the problem in one hour. So at the end of the day I ended up paying twice for the same service and they gave us all sorts of different explanations and I wasn't very pleased but at the same time. He wasn't great. It was like very expensive and it didn't end up being like a deal. I don't think I would be using them in the future. They came within the week and they were very fast. They just didn't strike as good value for money basically.
Description of Work: .
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
value
2.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
$79.95
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
We would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts on our service visit. First let me explain some details on the deal we have to purchase. The deal is a discounted price on our standard diagnostic fee. It strictly covers our time to show up and find the problem. It does not cover any labor or materials to make repairs. What we found was your system was almost completely out of refrigerant. The reason the cost was more expensive was because of the price of the older style R-22 refrigerant. Any time a repair is needed with R-22 it is going to be more costly because of the fact that they are phasing it out of the industry, making it more expensive. We are sorry you feel you didn't get your money's worth for the deal you paid for but in reality you received over a $46 discount off our normal diagnostic that includes the same thing that our Angie's deal includes. We are always here to discuss any questions or comments on any work we perform and try to work with all our customers to earn their satisfaction. Thank you again for choosing Presidential
Nathan P.
01/2016
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, air duct cleaning
+ 1 more
Glenn and his team at Presidential did an outstanding job. We bought our home in July of last year knowing that the 28 year old oil furnace would need to be replaced. We wanted to switch to gas and add whole home AC, so got quotes from Presidential and two other companies in the fall of 2014. After finding it would take 3 to 5 months to run the gas line from the street (Washington Gas timeline) we chose to hold off until the spring of 2015 and tried to make it through the winter on oil. I had liked Presidential the best during the quote process, but they were the most expensive, so I decided to take a cheaper quote from Cyprus Air. Unfortunately our oil furnace died during the first cold spell, right after Christmas. I called Cyprus, letting them know we were planning on spending at least $10,000 with them in the spring and that I needed the old furnace serviced. Long and very unfortunate story short, they told me that either I should have the furnace fixed for $1475 or use space heaters. I took the third option and fixed the it myself for $85. Cyprus continued to give terrible service so after a few months, I fired them, thankfully before I had signed a contract. At this point, I made the right decision to go with Presidential. I called their office on a Friday afternoon in March and had an 8am appointment scheduled 5 minutes later. Glenn showed up exactly on time and we signed a contract a few hours later. THAT WEEK he had the ball rolling to get the gas line dug and the new AC unit in. Glenn and his team worked very quickly, very efficiently and installed an excellent high efficiency Carrier gas furnace and AC unit. They pulled old ductwork that wasn't up to snuff and ran a good deal of new ducts through our basement, taking care to keep everything as non-invasive as possible. After getting the AC up and running, they took a break on our place until the gas line was in and they had time to connect the furnace, but I didn't mind this at all. The project was completed in August 2015. Right now I'm sitting in a comfortable home with a heating system that is much quieter, much cheaper and more efficient than the old one and in the summer we'll be comfortable again in the heat with whole home AC. Presidential is more expensive than the competition, but there is a reason for that. As I found, quality work has a higher price tag, but is soooooo worth it. I'd repeat working with them again in a heartbeat. My only small complaint is that I haven't yet received all of our $500 rebate. Beyond that, I can't say enough about the company and their work!!
Description of Work: Installed New furnace, New whole house AC, Ran ductwork and completed oil-to-natural gas conversion
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
4.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$13,000
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
We are thrilled you are so satisfied with everything we've done. It really makes everything we do worth while when we get feedback like this. It means a lot that our reputation, workmanship and customer service are the main deciding factors aside from price when choosing your HVAC provider. We have followed up about the rebate and you should be receiving it within the next couple days. Thank you again for your business.
Myrna T.
01/2016
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
I love Presidential. I'm planning to buy their contract every year to service my HVAC system in the spring and in the fall. They are very thorough and knowledgeable and are willing to go up on our condo roof to inspect the airconditioner unit. I highly recommend this company. They are professional, their prices are reasonable, and they are pleasant to work with.
Description of Work: Presidential checked my heating unit and replaced the insulation on my airconditioner.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$120
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
This is great to hear. We thank you very much for the kind words. We look forward to working with you in the future. Thanks again.
Amy B.
01/2016
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
We had the system installed during the summer, so scheduling was a bit difficult. The salesperson was very clear on what we were purchasing, and very helpful in answering questions. He may have slightly over-promised on the benefits of a two-stage system. When the installers came they were very quick and clean. The system is working very well. They guarantee their work and provide some maintenance with the system.
Description of Work: Replaced an aging HVAC system
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$10,000
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
Congratulations on the purchase of your new HVAC system. We hope all is well and encourage you to give us a call if you have any questions regarding the operation of your new system. Thanks again
Lu S.
12/2015
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
knowledgable, providing accurate assessment of the HVAC system
Description of Work: evaluate HVAC system
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$79
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
We appreciate your business & thank you for choosing Presidential. We look forward to working with you in the future.
Stephen P.
11/2015
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
John was prompt, courteous, and professional. He answered all questions asked in detail and provided a thorough written summary of the work performed. He also offered recommendations to include cleaning the condenser coils and adding traps with safety switches. Gina was very helpful in arranging service of our second system after we purchased a coupon for the first system on Angie's List. She also followed up to ensure that the appointment time was convenient and that the service went smoothly.
Description of Work: Performed two-system A/C inspection and tune-up, including filter change; cleaning condensation pan, traps, and liners; checking voltages and amperage, refrigerant, and thermostats.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$279.9
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
Thank you again for the review. It means a lot to know we are doing a great job for our customers.
Stephen P.
11/2015
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
John was prompt, courteous, and professional. He answered all questions asked in detail and provided a thorough written summary of the work performed. Gina was very helpful in arranging follow-up service after our initial A/C inspection.
Description of Work: Cleaned evaporator coils and installed traps with safety valves on two systems.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$806.64
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
Thank you for calling on Presidential for your HVAC maintenance & cleaning. We look forward to working with you in the future.
Deborah B.
11/2015
3.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
not much info on diagnostic--more push on purchasing a new AC system.
Description of Work: diagnostic on central air conditioner system
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
2.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0
$80
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
We spoke to the customer regarding the service at their home. We were called out AC not working. After performing our diagnostics, we found the compressor in the outdoor unit had failed. This is fairly simple problem to detect. Once we determined the issue, we gave a quote to replace the compressor or replace the entire unit. The existing unit was on the older side using the older type of refrigerant. Because of this the repair price was not too far from the cost of a brand new unit. It was our recommendation to replace the outdoor unit instead of sinking a lot of money into a unit over 10 years old. We always give both options so the customer can make the decision that they feel is best for them. We document all our findings on our service ticket. There may have been some confusion on what the diagnosis was because this was a rental property and the homeowner was not present at the time we were there.
Stephanie C.
11/2015
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
I was very pleased with the services. The technician was very professional. He periodically provided updates and educated me on the service and how I can take care of the units to enhance longevity. I believe the price of services was fair. Arrival time was reasonable and duration of service seemed reasonable. Scheduling service appointments seemed effortless. Each time I call for service I am met with courteous and thoughtful treatment by the receptionists.
Description of Work: The service provider conducted a tune up HVAC units.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$150
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
Thank you very much for the compliments. We try to educate homeowners on how the system works and things you can do to extend the life of your system. Thanks again for the review.
Yannick C.
11/2015
2.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Ever since Presidential Air Conditioning installed a brand new air-conditioning system (a Space Pak) on March 28, 2013, at a cost of $8,323.00, Angie's List has been asking us for comments on our "experience" with the company. Although we had had several problems with the company before, during and after the installation we gave Presidential the benefit of the doubt, attempting to correct those problems by dealing directly with the company. We were reluctant to report on those problems because we feared it would complicate our relationship with the company, with which we still have a 5-year contract (parts and labor) and a 10-year contract (manufacturer warranty on the compressor, parts only). However, our "experience" with Presidential has now turned into an ordeal that, we feel, Angie's List and other potential customers must be made aware of. We are baffled by the high ratings that Presidential seems to still be getting. We even wonder if those ratings relate to the same company at all. What follows is a chronological summary of our interactions with Presidential from the time we chose the company, because of its high ratings on Angie's List, until today. Our first contacts with the company were encouraging: they came to our apartment three times before they felt comfortable enough to give us an estimate. We also decided to subscribe to a maintenance contract, which includes a check-up once a year, usually in late spring in preparation for the summer. The installation went smoothly but problems soon followed, which prompted the following self-explanatory exchange of emails with Presidential on August 13, 2013. My email: ?Dear George, I am writing in reference to the air-conditioning system that was installed by Presidential in our apartment on March 28, 2013. First of all, let me say that we were very pleased with the technicians' courtesy and professionalism. They did a great job (although the new unit and the ducts attached to it ended up taking up much more space inside the closet than I had been led to believe). However, since the new unit was installed a technician has had to come back THREE times: once because there was a lot of air leakage from the new unit inside the closet (I was told that this happens frequently after a new installation); a second time because the dedicated circuit-breaker kept tripping; and a third time to replace the, as it turned out, inappropriate circuit-breaker, and to make adjustments because the unit had been overcharged. And I am not counting the first normal post-installation visit, when a technician came to make final adjustments once the outdoor temperature permitted. We were particularly disappointed and irritated with all those visits that should have been unnecessary. You will remember that it took three visits from Presidential before you felt you could give us an estimate (one visit by you and two by Vance Hershelman, with the people who would perform the installation). I remember very distinctly that each time the circuit-breaker was on the check list. But it turns out that the existing dedicated circuit-breaker for the new compressor on the roof was 15-amp while the new compressor's rating was 25. It is hard to believe that anyone at Presidential missed this crucial detail, including the person who came for the first post-installation visit. To make a long story short, each time a technician had to come back, I had to take time off from work. In addition, during the second visit (by Owen), because he couldn't find parking anywhere I told him to park illegally in front of the building and he got a $30 fine, which I offered to pay. THE VERY NEXT DAY I received a bill from Presidential for $30! I am not disputing the charge but I find this eagerness to get paid rather discourteous considering all the time I have wasted because of a simple but potentially dangerous oversight on Presidential's part. I should also mention that I paid $55 for a parking permit for the third visit -- so that Presidential could correct a problem that should not have occurred in the first place. I am sending you this message because I think you, as my first contact with Presidential, should be aware of what happened so that it doesn't happen to another one of your customers. Best, Yannick Chevalier? Presidential?s response: ?Mr. Chevalier, George Stillman is no longer with Presidential, I do apologize for all the problems you have had , I will look into all of the issue?s to see why we had so many problems. Thanks for your email. Wendell Nixon President? [Clarification: The $30 charge for the fine was subsequently canceled.) On the last maintenance visit (in June 2015), the technician proceeded to puncture holes in several location on the system conduits in order to insert his thermometer (something which previous technicians had never done and didn't seem like a good idea, especially since some leakage from the same conduits had to be fixed shortly after the installation and because previous technicians had simply measured the temperature from the nearest vents, a few inches away). The technician also failed to add freon to the compressor on the roof; he declared it was not really necessary (although on previous visits the technicians had systematically added freon) but we suspect the reason was that he had forgotten his equipment in his truck and he didn't feel like going down seven floors and coming back to the roof. The last straw occurred this summer upon our return after a 3-week absence. We had set the thermostat to "vacation mode" so that the system would not cool the apartment in our absence but would start working only one day before our return. We had used this feature in the past and it worked fine. This time, however, it did not work. We called Presidential on Sunday, July 12, 2015. The person on the phone told us he couldn?t find our contract in his records and we?d be subject to a special charge for service on a weekend. We had the service contract in hand but he insisted we weren?t in the system (It took several days before someone at Presidential figured out that whoever had put in our information had mistyped our address?we never got an apology, and it seems absurd that the person we spoke to couldn?t find our contract by searching by our name.) The technician who arrived that Sunday afternoon (John Smith) was so rude to our building receptionist that he was asked to leave. We had to intervene in order to allow John to stay. John stayed at the apartment for two hours and finally diagnosed the problem as a malfunctioning relay, which was under warranty. He did not have that part with him and would have to order it. We were told the part would be in 24 hours later when we followed up on Monday. We waited around at home during the time band given us by the company. No one ever showed up. When we called Presidential to find out what the source of the delay was, we were told that John entered the building and realized he had the wrong part. Why he did not let us know that, and why that part hadn?t been inspected when it arrived, was never explained to us, though we asked. We were out of town the following week and the part could not be ordered in time to fix the problem before we left. Therefore, we arranged to have John come back to install the relay upon our return, on a Saturday afternoon. That service call took over two hours. John couldn?t figure out how to make the system work . He eventually discovered there was a problem with a part on the roof (though he had checked the compressor on the roof on his first visit and found nothing). He had to be coached by phone on how to bypass the relay, which meant we were no longer covered by the warranty, to their admission. They promised to order a new part immediately and get it back under warranty. Well, it took over a month for the company to get the part. We had to call twice to remind them to place the order. Finally, it was installed quickly and efficiently by Earl on October 1, 2015, i.e., almost 12 weeks after our initial call to report the problem. Overall, we?ve received poor service from Presidential, and on more than one occasion have been treated rudely by their employees.
Description of Work: Install a new Space Pak air-conditioning system in an apartment.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
3.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
3.0
$8,323
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
We have reached out and spoken to the customer regarding the issues they experienced. Unfortunately, we did drop the ball on a couple things and we understand the homeowners frustration. We can say the people involved with our shortcomings are no longer with the company. This does not excuse that anything happened in the first place as we are a product of our employees but we are confident we have alleviated the source of the prior issues. This is not how we normally operate, as stated in our other reviews. Again, we spoke to the customer, had a pleasant conversation. They are still a current contract holder and wish to keep it with us.
Mark L.
10/2015
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Arrived on schedule. Assessed situation, described necessary fix, performed fix as described. Would hire again.
Description of Work: Provided a fix to our short-cycling furnace.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$80
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
Thank you very much for the review. We are glad you had a great experience with our company & hope to work with you again. Thanks again
myron T.
10/2015
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Since not everyone is trained on geothermal heat pumps we started by asking the manufacturer, Waterfurnace, for recommendations. We were not happy with the last company we used. Since Presidential had an overall "A" on Angies List we decided to try them. I insisted they send a technician who was factory trained on my system. They sent a technician and the service manager who had attended the manufacturers school. After showing my home layout they serviced both units. I was convinced enough they knew our system so signed a one year service contract for both units. I did not get a contract on the zoning control by Honeywell.
Description of Work: Inspected two Waterfurnace geothermal systems and provided a one year maintenance agreement
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$379
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
We are happy you chose us after doing some research on other companies. It's great to hear you were happy with our service. Welcome to the Presidential family.
Eliott P.
10/2015
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
A three man crew removed my old boiler and replaced it with a 4-pt weil mclain. Work took about 8 hours. They showed me how the boiler works.
Description of Work: Installed new boiler
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$5,360
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
We thank you for your business. Glad to hear all went as planned and to your satisfaction.
Joseph H.
10/2015
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Arrived on time, performed very thorough inspection, performed tests, and provided options to prevent future problems.
Description of Work: Inspect system to determine the cause of condensation build up that leaked from the attic system thru the ceiling.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$150
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
We are very appreciative of your business & the opportunity to install your 2 systems. Thanks again for the business. We look forward to working with you from here on out.
Oluchi T.
09/2015
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
The company did a great job.
Description of Work: Replaced the blower in my air conditioner
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$885
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
Great to hear everything is working great & you are satisfied. Thank you again
Mike R.
09/2015
3.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Two years ago we were dissatisfied with our HVAC service provider and began looking for a new one. After talking to several, we signed up with Presidential. The service they provided was fine and we were fairly happy with them, with a few minor exceptions (e.g., improper installation of a humidifier filter caused a minor flood, soaking carpet in an adjacent room). More recently, we began seeing the signs that we'd need to replace our AC unit, which was running constantly (and running up our electric bill). We plan to sell our house in the next year and assume that a functioning, efficient AC would be a selling point. When we asked Presidential for an opinion and estimate, we made it clear that we would be selling in the coming year, and while we wanted a quality replacement system, we didn't want to spend an arm and a leg to do so. They came right out, assessed the situation, and provided us with several really expensive, high-end options to replace the AC/furnace combination and install programmable thermostats. No matter what we said to them about saving money, they kept trying to upsell us, through a barrage of impersonal email reminders. Frustrated, we reached back to our previous service provider and asked for an estimate. They came out, LISTENED to our concerns, and offered an option that provided us with quality and savings (AND programmable thermostats to boot!). We went with the second company, informed Presidential of our decision... and continued to receive the robo-emails. I finally requested that they be turned off and haven't received one since. I was initially satisfied with Presidential. They sold themselves as a small company that emphasized personalized service. In the two years that we worked with them, that image seemed to fade. Let me clarify that last sentence. The first technician who came to our house assured us that we would see him every time; we never saw him again, and had a different tech every time, including the one who erroneously installed the filter. They were unfailingly courteous and professional. It was really the high-pressure sales tactics that they employed when it came time to perform major service that was the final straw. I use Angie's List often to select service providers, and Presidential was the first disappointment based on an AL recommendation.
Description of Work: Gave an estimate to replace the air conditioning unit and furnace.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
2.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
Thank you very much for the review. We are sorry to have come up short on giving you the best possible experience. Our policy is to give multiple options on system replacements to our customers and let them choose their preference on what works best for their home comfort & budget. We also quoted and outdoor unit & coil only instead of the entire system as more of a lower cost option. We always encourage our customers to gives us a call if they have any issues with anything we do and we can talk about it to come up with a solution that best suits the customer. If necessary we could send out another comfort advisor so you will be satisfied when we are done. We appreciate your business the last few years and are here if you need anything or have any other questions about your system.
Victor K.
09/2015
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Checked it out; found some problems; made the repairs. Was not cheap, but the work was done right and the technician was polite and professional.
Description of Work: HVAC Check
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$100
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
Thank you for the great review. We are very happy you are satisfied with your recent service with us. Please give us a call if you need anything further.
Bill B.
08/2015
3.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Fair. Contractor would not provide breakdown of material and labor costs for service. Appeared expensive for what they did.
Description of Work: Diagnostic service on one trip and replace compressor motor and capacitor.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
3.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
4.0
$870
Response from Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning
Our pricing is done by a Flat Rate pricing structure. This means you get a total price to complete the job. This price includes everything needed to complete the quoted repair. Our prices are upfront & transparent so there are no surprises. This is how the majority of companies now price jobs. This was all explained to the customer. We had gotten prior approval to order the necessary parts & completed the work as promised without any issues. I think they may had an issue only because they were used to the better known time & material pricing structure. The work was completed the same and their system is operating as normal. We would be more than happy to explain this in more detail if needed.
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.
*Contact business to see additional licenses.
Service Categories
Heating and Air Conditioning,
Water Heaters,
Wells and Pumps,
Air Duct Cleaning,
Metal Fabrication & Restoration,
Heating Oil,
Energy Efficiency Auditing,
Mold Testing & Remediation
FAQ
Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.
Sunday: Closed
Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning accepts the following forms of payment: American Express,Check,Discover,Financing Available,MasterCard,Visa
Yes, Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning offers free project estimates.
Yes, Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning offers eco-friendly accreditations.
No, Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning does not offer a senior discount.
Yes, Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning offers emergency services.
Yes, Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning offers warranties.
Presidential Heating & Air Conditioning offers the following services: 1. Installation of Heating and Air Conditioning Systems.
2. Repair and Maintenance of all Heating and Air conditioning Equipment.
3. Annual Service Plans.
4. Residential and Light Commercial Installations.
PRODUCTS
Gas & Oil & Electric Furnaces, Heat Pumps, Air Conditioning, Roof Top Units, Ductless Mini Splits, Geothermal, Sheet Metal Work, Custom Duct Work, Fabrication, Installation and Design, Humidifiers, Filters, Air Cleaners, Ventilators, Ultra Violet Air Purifiers, Whole House Dehumidifiers.
DEALERSHIP
We are a Carrier® Factory Authorized Dealer.