Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Spare Hands Cleaning LLC

House Cleaning, Floor Cleaning and Waxing, Window Cleaning,

About us

10 W2 employees. No sub contractors. Woman owned business. All employees are insured, bonded, and have worker's compensation. All employees have passed a criminal background check & drug screen test. Service cost is determined by the job, and not by the hour. SHC services both residential & commercial customers. High standard, quality cleanings at a reasonable rate. All employees must maintain a performance level of 7-10 on a performance scale of 1-10. 100% satisfaction guaranteed! SHC serves St. Mary's, Charles, & Calvert counties. We are a pet friendly service, with many great references. SHC uses mainly green cleaning products.

Business highlights

25 years of trusted experience
Emergency Services Offered

Services we offer

Residential & commercial cleaning, window cleaning, laundry service, fans & light fixture cleaning, cleaning interior/exterior of kitchen cabinets, baseboards, blinds, organizing, empty trash, move in/out cleaning, hoarder cleaning, garage cleaning, foreclosures & more! Full & partial house cleaning services that includes dusting furniture, vacuuming all hard floor surfaces, mopping all hard floor surfaces, vacuuming all carpeted areas, complete bathroom cleaning, wall hangings, change linens.

Services we don't offer

Services not provided, but not limited to pet care, cooking, stripping hard floor surfaces,waxing hard floor surfaces, buffing floors, lawn/yard care, errands. If there is a special cleaning service request, just ask, and if SHC does not provide that service, we will let you know. :o)

Amenities

Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount

15%

Emergency Services
Yes


Accepted payment methods

Check

Reviews

4.111 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
55%
4
9%
3
9%
2
0%
1
27%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.4
professionalism
4.1
responsiveness
4.1
punctuality
4.3
Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews

BAIBA H.
05/2015
5.0
house cleaning
  + -1 more
The Manager and the Owner Deborah, I think was her name, came out to evaluate what has to be done. They found time to do that immediately, even though that was the end of the work day. They both walked thru, made notes and were very symphatetic since I just had the horrible service from another company. The cleaning lady was scheduled on the very next day with a detailed description and a list of jobs have to be done. There were no misunderstandings what exactly I will get. And I got what I needed: THE CLEAN HOUSE! The cleaning lady arrived on time, she was in uniform, well equipped with all the cleaning materials and worked more then 4 hours, making my house shiny and spotless. I was so happy that I hugged her. Absolutely fantastic job she did!
Description of Work: First of all the provider relieved my anxiety created by another cleaning company I hired earlier. I was in tears when I called them. I needed house ready for sale on specific date and thanks to Spare Hands, the house was ready, shiny and bright, spotless and clean.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$130

Response from Spare Hands Cleaning LLC
Thank you for your positive feedback on Spare Hands Cleaning, LLC. We are very pleased that you were happy with the service that was provided to you. I'm sorry that you had a bad experience with the other cleaning company that had cleaned before you had contacted us. Thank you very much for all of your kind words. We would love to see you on our regular maintenance cleaning schedule. Give us a call if you would like {members name removed} & I to come by and give you another free estimate. Take care. And thank you for contacting Spare Hands Cleaning, LLC for your cleaning needs. :o)

Petra U.
04/2015
5.0
house cleaning
  + -1 more
The current girl is wonderful and the owners are extremely pleasant to work with.
Description of Work: I have hired them for housecleaning for several months now.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Terry G.
11/2014
3.0
house cleaning
  + -1 more
The cleaning service started out great! Karen was the first provider we had and she was awesome! We really enjoyed having Karen clean our home. We knew we could rely on her. She ended up leaving the company and that's when the service begin to go down hill. Leanne was constantly juggling providers to clean our home and none of them stuck because they quit the company or for whatever reason were no longer with the company. Needless to say Spare Hands has a lot of turnover and trouble keeping employees. Please note that this is my opinion and from my experience. I asked Leanne on several occasions to get an experienced provider and for someone that has tenure with the company, but she couldn't do that for us. I felt as though we deserved that because of what we went through. The last two providers we had completed just one cleaning each and they both quit the company. Again, for whatever reason they left the company, I don't know. I explained to Leanne that if this last provider didn't work out that this would be the last and we would no longer use Spare Hands. Well, we no longer use Spare Hands. I wouldn't recommend this company solely on the fact of the extremely high turnover rate. With the high turnover rate that we experienced it made it difficult to have continuity and it raised concern to have that many people in our home over a short amount of time. I think we went through five or six providers (including Karen) over the two plus years with Spare Hands. Unfortunately, it just never worked out from the time Karen left. Very disappointed and I cannot honestly recommend this company.
Description of Work: Provided cleaning for our home (including basement) on a bi-weekly basis.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
5.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0

$165

Response from Spare Hands Cleaning LLC
First of all, I would like to say that SPARE HANDS CLEANING, LLC always tries our best to work out any issues with our customer's. I'm sorry that things did not work out for this particular customer. Unfortunately, as much as we would like to please all of our customers all of the time, it does not always work out that way. As far as a high turnover, most cleaning services have it, unless you hire an individual cleaner. This is just a part of what comes with this type of industry. But it is also rewarding. SHC has HUNDREDS of satisfied customers. But yes, we too, every so often, get a customer that is not happy with the cleaning performance that has been provided to them. It is in NO WAY a management issue. The manager as well as myself have always gone above & beyond to make customers happy. In this particular case, the customer was not happy with the turnover of cleaners in their home. Understandable! However, we know the quality of cleanings that our customers expect, including this customer. After they had one of our employee's in their home for quite some time, we did not want to put just any employee in their home, because we had to be certain that they would get the same quality of service that their other cleaner provided to them. Unfortunately, none of those employees met the customer's standards, nor ours. That's when the customer terminated service. SHC can not control the cleaning performance level of an employee. We can only encourage them to provide higher standard cleanings. If they can't give 100% satisfactory cleanings to the customers, sometimes that will result in customer complaints, and the employee getting discouraged and quitting. This is common in many business. Customers have a right to complain, because they are paying for a service to get done at a satisfactory level. And we do try our best to provide that. SHC has an extensive training program for each new employee. We even do unannounced drop in visits on our employees to make sure that they are providing the quality of service that is expected of them. The reason for turnover is because SHC will NOT keep an employee who can not provided satisfactory cleanings. We expect quality service, not surface cleaning. We treat our employees with respect, and value the hard work that they provide to our customers. But SHC also has expectations of the cleaning service that the employees provide. We can not keep employees who can not satisfy our customers. The new employees often get discouraged when they get customer complaints on their schedule. We tell them to just use it as a learning tool to improve their cleaning performance. Sometimes that's not enough, and they get discouraged and leave their job position. It has nothing to do with management or how our employees are treated. They are ALL treated very well. SHC is one of the highest paying employers in the area. We also offer employee of the month with a bonus, as well as employee of the year with a bonus, with incentives in between. Our employees even receive referral bonuses. A big issue with any cleaning service is travel. Some new employees don't realize how much travelling is involved in this type of business, even though they are told at their interview. Once they start travelling to the customers home or business, that's when many realize that there is some extensive traveling involved, and some end up quitting their job position. SHC does pay travel time. It is much higher than what many employers pay for mileage. It's just the matter of finding employees who want to work, and those who can deliver the quality cleanings that is expected. We currently have a GREAT staff of employees who are all doing a wonderful job. We are very proud of how far that they have come. We have great expectations for SPARE HANDS CLEANING, LLC for 2015, and the many years to come. Again, I'm sorry that the service did not work out for this particular customer, and we wish them the best in finding a long term cleaner. Happy New Year! :o)

Elizabeth M.
08/2014
5.0
house cleaning
  + -1 more
The ladies showed up on time, and wasted no time getting to work! The did a terrific job! I am looking forward to an on going relationship!
Description of Work: All over cleaning of my house!

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,000

Response from Spare Hands Cleaning LLC
Thank you Mrs. [member name removed] for your kind words. We appreciate you as a new SHC customer, and we are looking forward to a long term business relationship with you. Thank you for choosing SPARE HANDS CLEANING, LLC for your cleaning service needs. We hope that you will be completely satisfied with the service. Welcome to our SHC family! We look forward to providing service to you. :)

Patricia V.
07/2013
5.0
house cleaning
  + -1 more
I have been using Spare Hands for a few months now. Leanne has been wonderful and accommodating. She has been a thoughtful Manager and very action oriented. She has been proactive to replace the first cleaner that didn't work out and put a more seasoned professional in place. I couldn't be more pleased.
Description of Work: We use Spare Hands for bi-weekly cleaning in our home.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$145

Response from Spare Hands Cleaning LLC
Hello [member name removed]. Thank you for your A rating on AL. Leanne & I appreciate that. I am very pleased that you are happy with the service and pleased with Leanne as the SHC manager. She is doing a great job, and she tries very hard to make sure that each SHC customer is treated as a valued and appreciated customer. We appreciate all of our customers. Thank you for your business. Take care. :o) Deborah

Sharon D.
05/2013
4.0
house cleaning
  + -1 more
Personnel was nice, friendly and prompt. They did a good job and cleaned exactly as was reviewed with Debra and her team during our initial meeting. They performed the work exactly as expected without any issues.
Description of Work: I contracted with Spare Hands to do basic cleaning of my home two times a month. Basic cleaning included dusting, wiping everything off except the TV's, vacuuming, sweeping and mopping floors and cleaning bathrooms upstairs and downstairs.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$130

Dawn W.
12/2012
1.0
house cleaning
  + -1 more
It didn't go anywhere...that's what the problem was.
Description of Work: The initial response time to my inquiry was acceptable. I provided the requested information and then Leanne Hicks suggested a day and time to come by for an estimate (Sunday, Dec. 9th at 2:00pm). I planned my day around this appt. and then 2:00 came and went with her not showing up and no phone call. To say the very least, I was extremely agitated by this. My time is precious and on weekends even more so and I basically wasted my afternoon for her and she didn't show up or have the professional courtesy to call. That evening I sent her an email that clearly outlined my displeasure at her lack of professionalism. Her response basically said that she was sorry and that she contacted another person on her calendar for that day and thought it was me to cancel the appt. She also stated that they are very professional and that she has never stood up an estimate in all her years of business (I just happen to be her lucky first I guess. Ms. Hicks also went on to say that she was canceling the appt. because she realized she had no one in my area of Calvert Co. to clean my house. I still say, not my problem and no excuse. It's your business and your responsibility to keep your potential clients straight and if you didn't have someone in this area, you shouldn't have ever made the appt. in the first place. What, you don't know who you have working where and you don't check that out before wasting peoples time with setting up appts. Really? I have found that a lot of people may do go work with these small companies but they don't know anything about running a business and that's what kills them.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0


Response from Spare Hands Cleaning LLC
First of all, I would like to extend my apologies to Member for not being able to accommodate her estimate appt. SHC and management have ALWAYS been as accommodating and professional as can be expected. When the manager Leanne Hicks made the appt for the estimate, we did have an employee to cover that area, but because the employee did not want the additional job in that area, the employee declined the job, therefore, we no longer had someone to cover that area. We apologize for wasting Member time, but there's nothing that could have been done. This was beyond our control. If there is no one available to cover the area, I can not make it mandatory for another employee to cover that specific area if the travel time is beyond what is normally travelled, or if the employee declines the extra work. Again, SHC is always as professional as we can be expected, and we try our very best to maintain a professional, trustworthy, dependable service! We have hundreds of VERY satisfied customers, and we will strive to do our very best to provide quality service to future customers as well. Sincerly, Deborah A. Yates-Owner of SHC, LLC.

Amanda H M.
05/2012
1.0
house cleaning
  + -1 more
It didn't go - I wasn't even able to speak with someone about an estimate.
Description of Work: I would have loved the opportunity to speak with this local business about residential cleaning, however, they seem to be difficult to get a hold of. I submitted a request for an estimate through their site, and I think they may have called while I was away from my phone - however, no message was left. This was two weeks ago. I decided to give one more try and left a message two days ago, and still haven't received a call back. This is very unprofessional - if they aren't taking new clients, are short staffed, etc., they really should at least leave a message to let potential customers know. I'll take my business elsewhere.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0


Response from Spare Hands Cleaning LLC
I called this person today to apologize and to make amends for not contacting her right away. I had let her know that we had a family emergency 2 weeks ago with my 11 month old grandson who was rushed to the ER for a seizure, and who was hospitalized for 4 days. We did not receive any web request emails from her as she had stated to me during our phone converstion. The manager & I both checked the previous emails, but nothing was there from this person. It is possible that she did send it, and it may have went into our spam mail. But we normally provide A+ customer service and give all potential customers a call back within at least 24-48 hours. But emergencies do happen, and in all fairness I feel that before anyone is able to post an F rating on AL, that they should at least hear an explanation or get all of the facts first from the business owner.

BECKIE C.
02/2012
5.0
house cleaning
  + -1 more
Deborah Yates was amazing. I would hire her again in a heartbeat. She was very professional, insightful and thorough. She is very personable and trustworthy. She makes a point to maintain client confidentiality. Deborah Yates showed up with her employees to help me sort through miscellaneous belongings, place them in boxes and do a general household cleaning. It had been a while since the lady that used to help me clean found a fulltime cleaning job (and no longer had time for me), so the house had become.. overdue for a good cleaning. Plus I needed to prepare for a move. Deborah Yates took on the challenge, provided the cleaning supplies and did a great job. This was a general cleaning, not a detailed cleaning. I plan to hire her again for a more detailed cleaning, routine cleaning and to perform our move-out cleaning. Spare Hands Cleaning is interested in larger more challenging jobs as well as routine jobs, so don't be shy about giving them a call!
Description of Work: Sort through (and place in boxes) belongings and do a general household cleaning.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,200

Response from Spare Hands Cleaning LLC
Thank you so much for the excellent rating. It was a pleasure to be able to do the cleaning job that you had hired us to do. You are a very nice person, and I hope that you continue to give SHC a great referral. It's customers such as yourself who will give SHC a wonderful business reputation. Thank you again. Take care. :o)

Cardell B.
02/2012
1.0
house cleaning
  + -1 more
The lady came, she was supposed to be there at 8am- 9am and she got there around 11 or 12pm. She then left around 2pm or 3pm. The cleaning was not done as I expected, when it was done I never got a follow up call. I was not here when it was completed and I had left them a list of things to do.
Description of Work: I had them come to clean my home.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$238

Response from Spare Hands Cleaning LLC
The rating that this customer gave was completely unfair, and could have been avoided if he would have responded to the several messages that were left for him by the SHC manager. The cleaner arrived late only because the "customer" had a doctors appt the day of his cleaning, and he told us that a later cleaning would work out better for him instead of the 8:00 am original cleaning time slot, so we accommodated "his" request. She was'nt late from her own accord.The manager even kept his text messages to prove that he was the one who changed the time slot. This was a move out cleaning for an extremely small apt. A total of 4 rooms to be cleaned. There were many tasks that the customer said "not" to do because the apt management did not request it to be done. He only wanted the "bare minimum" cleaning. Just a standard basic move out cleaning. My employee cleaned for approx 4 hours which is a lot more time cleaning than just a basic cleaning. She did all of the tasks that the customer had checked off on the task list. He even had interior windows cleaned. He did'nt want baseboards, or stove cleaned, and no detail work done at all. He left a message for the manager stating that he was not happy with the cleaning, so the SHC manager tried calling him right away and left messages, and then a few more times after that, but the customer never returned her calls. If he had, we would have rectified the issue immediately to satisfy the customer, and we would have sent the employee back to redo any areas that the customer was not happy with free of charge, then everyone would have walked away happy. SHC stands behind our 100% satisfaction guarantee, but if a customer does not respond to us and communicate with us, we will not know if they are satisfied with the service or not, and we can not rectify an issue that we are not aware of.

Leanne P S.
03/2011
5.0
house cleaning
  + -1 more
They've only come once. They'll come next week. The woman that came in, that runs the company said if I put sheets out on top of the bed they would strip them and remake them. They also said if I want the stove or refrigerator cleaned to tell them and they will do that and skip something else that time. They don't really have to do cobwebs on the ceiling or even the baseboards don't have to be done every time they come. I also asked them to do a complete cleaning on a one room assisted living facility unit that I manage. I would use them in the future.
Description of Work: I used the services of Spare Hands Cleaning LLC about two weeks ago. It was standard house cleaning.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$100

Response from Spare Hands Cleaning LLC
Thank you for your wonderful rating. You are a valued SHC customer and I hope that you will continue to be a happy & satisfied SHC customer. :o)

    Contact information

    St Marys County, California, MD 20619

    www.sparehandscleaning.com

    Service hours

    Sunday:
    Closed
    Monday:
    7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Tuesday:
    7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Wednesday:
    7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Thursday:
    7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Friday:
    7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Saturday:
    8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Licensing

    Bonded

    Insured

    Eco-friendly Accreditations

    LEED Accredited Professional
    No
    Energy Star Partner
    No
    EPA Lead-Safe Certified
    No
    Use Green Products or Work Practices
    Yes
    State Contractor License Requirements

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

    *Contact business to see additional licenses.


    Service Categories

    House Cleaning,
    Floor Cleaning and Waxing,
    Window Cleaning,
    Garbage Collection,
    Blind Cleaning

    FAQ

    Spare Hands Cleaning LLC is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Spare Hands Cleaning LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check
    No, Spare Hands Cleaning LLC does not offer free project estimates.
    Yes, Spare Hands Cleaning LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.
    No, Spare Hands Cleaning LLC does not offer a senior discount.
    Yes, Spare Hands Cleaning LLC offers emergency services.
    Yes, Spare Hands Cleaning LLC offers warranties.
    Spare Hands Cleaning LLC offers the following services: Residential & commercial cleaning, window cleaning, laundry service, fans & light fixture cleaning, cleaning interior/exterior of kitchen cabinets, baseboards, blinds, organizing, empty trash, move in/out cleaning, hoarder cleaning, garage cleaning, foreclosures & more! Full & partial house cleaning services that includes dusting furniture, vacuuming all hard floor surfaces, mopping all hard floor surfaces, vacuuming all carpeted areas, complete bathroom cleaning, wall hangings, change linens.
    Services not provided, but not limited to pet care, cooking, stripping hard floor surfaces,waxing hard floor surfaces, buffing floors, lawn/yard care, errands. If there is a special cleaning service request, just ask, and if SHC does not provide that service, we will let you know. :o)

    Contact information

    St Marys County, California, MD 20619

    www.sparehandscleaning.com

    Service hours

    Sunday:
    Closed
    Monday:
    7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Tuesday:
    7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Wednesday:
    7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Thursday:
    7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Friday:
    7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Saturday:
    8:00 AM - 5:00 PM