Family owned and operated for over 95 years, Kerivan-Lane has been providing excellent service in heating, cooling, and plumbing. The team is made up of experts in the fields of, heating oil, propane, natural gas, ductless systems, HVAC, and water heaters. We pride ourselves on service you can trust. Call us today to gain peace of mind, because you know that, your home is in our capable hands.
Business highlights
103 years of trusted experience
Emergency Services Offered
Services we offer
Water Heater. Home heating oil. Propane. Boiler installations. Oil & gas. Ductless air conditioners. Oil tanks. Faucets. Fixtures. Pipes. Gas fittings. Gas piping. Toilets. Bathtubs. Showers. Pumps. Drain clearing. Preventative maintenance & inspections.
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water softeners
+ 1 more
Very smoothly and very high quality. They encountered some unexpected such as corroded mains cutoff which they replaced. Everything was meticulously labeled. They arrived on time everyday and always kept me informed as to what was going on. Very experienced plumbers and high quality work.
Description of Work: Replaced all old piping in basement with copper pipes in 3 family home. They separated the water systems for each apartment (including furnaces) and installed 3 water submeters. They also installed new water cutoffs for each apartment, bathroom and kitchen. It took approx 2 days for two plumbers.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,890
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
"They arrived on time everyday and always kept me informed as to what was going on" those are the things we like to hear! I'm glad you are happy with the job and the work Peter and his helper did! Thank you for your business. Kerivan-Lane Service Team
Elizabeth N.
03/2015
5.0
plumbing
+ -1 more
Their guys are really good. They show up when they say they are going to show up, and they do what they say they are going to do. They charge $95 an hour. They are professional. We started using them because we had oil heat and we needed them as an oil provider. We discovered by accident that they had full plumbing services. We no longer have oil heat but we are still using them because their plumbing guys are really good.
Description of Work: We use Kerivan Lane for plumbing. They removed a section of baseboard the last time they were here and they will have to do more later on. There are some things that they need to do once the weather warms up.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$260
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
Thank you for the review and the loyal business! We look forward to helping you this summer on your other projects.
Larry W.
03/2015
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
6 mo. later after the first installation something stopped working. A tech came and jigged it, my husband is a 40 yr experienced electrician and knew it was incorrect. Called Kerivan and requested a new tech that could come out and 'properly' fix the heater. They sent out a new technician and fixed the problem. Now the burner is just over a year old and the main controller has malfunctioned! This was in February when temperatures where in 0's. The warranty states there is a 3 year warranty on the main controller, we spoke with the owner Chris and he said the main controller is only under 30 days warranty, and he said he would replace but still charge for parts and labor when I shouldn't have had to pay anything. The house now is at 50 degrees and my husband contacted the manufacturer 'Taco' they informed us indeed it is a 3 yr warranty and it was Kerivan's responsibility to honor it. So my husband contacted Chris once again, shared this information with him that he got from the manufacturer of the main controller and Chris refused to honor it. My husband found a local supplier of the Taco main controller and purchased it at cost of $270 and installed it himself. The local supplier also offered to return the malfunctioning main controller to 'Taco' for a full refund something Kerivan-Lane should have offered to do right from the get go. I called back Kerivan-Lane and Chris (the owner) was suddenly unavailable so Jack the co-owner spoke to me, I told him the outcome and Jack repeated that the part wasn't under warranty, that Kerivan-Lanes warranty is 30 days. I will never do business with Kerivan-Lane and advise you to be cautious! They walked away from their installation, ignored warranties, and refused to stand by their work. They were rude and short tempered (my husbands first interaction Chris was yelling and screaming)
Description of Work: I had a brand new heater installed by Kerivan. First problem was 7/28/14 and had tuned up 12/9/14.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
3.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
$8,500
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
Thank you for the opportunity to install your new heating system in November 2013. Joe our lead installer was very proud of his installation and you expressed gratitude for his attention to detail. As you noted there was no charge for the visits in June or the tune-up in December of 2014. We guarantee all parts and labor for one full year, even when the manufacturers warranty often expires before that. When you called in February 2015, 15 months after the installation.I informed you that we would be happy to come to your house and we scheduled your service call. However when you were informed there would be a charge for the visit and possibly the part if it was out of warranty you became very aggressive and agitated. I then asked you to send us an email that you understood that the service call would be billable and the parts may be billable if they are not under warranty. You agreed but the email was never received and you called back to cancel the service call. Kerivan-Lane was never allowed the opportunity to change the relay,possibly at no charge for the part, and charge for the labor. It is obvious that [member name removed] as an experienced electrician wanted to install the part himself. That is logical but that does not make Kerivan-Lane a bad company. Once again, Kerivan-Lane was not given the opportunity to replace the part because we were going to charge our standard labor rate to do so. Thank you for your business, Kerivan-Lane Service Team
Michael L.
01/2015
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, heating oil companies
+ 1 more
Great experience from beginning to end. We called several companies for initial quotes on boiler and cooling solutions for our older home. Kerivan-Lane came in with a middle-of-the-road price, but the products offered were superior. We installed a Buderus Oil Boiler to replace our old McClain and we could not be happier. We also installed a 40 gallon water tank as recommended, and have not run out of hot water since (two full bathroom home). Kerivan-Lane also replaced the oil tank. The heating part of the install took two days. The workers protected my floors with cardboard, and cleaned up after completion of the work. I felt comfortable leaving them alone in the house for part of the time, and felt that they were always happy to describe what they were working on. The Fujitsu were recommended to us as a cooling solution (more efficient than central cooling). We were initially skeptical about how these boxes would look on our walls, but we are so glad we got them! The install took two days with two workers, who were very professional. One then taught us how to use the units. An electrician recommended by Kerivan-Lane then hooked up the units and condensers to our electrical system. They cooled very well and efficiently. They also heat, which has saved us a lot of money on oil heating this winter! We usually heat to about 65 degrees with oil, and then use these units to heat certain areas further so that we are comfortable. We installed one for the living area and kitchen, and one in two of the four bedrooms; we like them so much that we are installing them in the other two bedrooms as well. Since the completion of the work, it became clear that one of the exhaust duct connected to the boiler was not the right duct. This was in place prior to the boiler installation, probably original to the house. When brought to Kerivan-Lane's attention, they apologized for not noticing it at the initial evaluation (it was hidden behind a wall that was later opened), and offered to replace it at no additional cost. We are in the process of doing this now. Overall, I felt that the company was accountable and responsive. Although they might have cost a little more than some of the other companies, I felt it was worth the peace of mind in their work. We use them as our oil provider, and they offered us extra time on our initial free service contract due to the install. This is our first house, and we have had a number of companies work on it (heating/cooling/roof/some repairs, etc.), and unlike most of our contractors, I would hire Kerivan-Lane again without reservation.
Description of Work: Installed new boiler and water tank, replaced oil tank, installed several Fujitsu minisplit heating/cooling units.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$25,000
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
thank you for the nice review. We are glad you are happy with the installation. Please call our service department with any plumbing needs you may have. Kerivan-Lane Service Team
Linda N.
01/2015
5.0
plumbing
+ -1 more
First repair didn't work--defective replacement valve. They were going to charge $420 for both calls, but when I explained to them what had happened, they reduced the charge.
Description of Work: Repaired leaking shower valve.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$210
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
Thank you for the review and the business! Kerivan-Lane Service Team
Allan M.
01/2015
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing
+ 0 more
the actual install went well and on time, there was a problem with something installed incorrectly that caused us to lose heat for 1/2 a day, but they came promptly and fixed the problem
Description of Work: Installed gas furnace
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$10,000
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
Im glad you were happy with the installation and things are working well now. Kerivan-Lane Service Team
Derek B.
01/2015
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, heating oil companies
+ 1 more
We are recent homeowners and this was our first fill with new servicer. They came highly recommended on Angie's list and with the items they were offering, we decided to move forward with them. Their pricing seems competitive and they offer discounts if you should put yourself on auto payment. They also deliver based on usage schedule so you never have to contact them or look at your levels. They came a second time six days later and we were charged $174.15 because it looks like they are trying to get an idea of what were going through for oil. They topped us off to get us back to a full tank. At the moment, pricing is outrageous but we bought an old house and we expected this much. We're still getting use to the heat and house and I'm hopeful we will learn to manage the heat/oil better as times moves on. When I spoke with the rep, he said they are a full service company so if we decide down the road to convert over to gas they can help us with the transition.
Description of Work: Filled oil tank.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
3.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$511.24
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
Thank you for the review! Kerivan-Lane Service Team
Alan L.
12/2014
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair, heating oil companies
+ 2 more
When we purchased our house, we had to replace our water boiler, water heater, and oil tank. We've found Kerivan based on all the positive reviews on Angielist. The general manager Chris Lane and other team members were very professional, punctual, and accommodating. They sent David (he is awesome) and 1 more technician to take care of everything in 2 business days. David is a professional and courteous plumber, and he knows his stuffs! Kerivan-lane also has the top-of-the-lines products! Another reason we chose Kerivan-Lane is because it's the official carrier for the Buderus Water Boiler and numerous kinds of Grandby oil tanks. Kerivan also has the best customer representatives in town! They are always customer-oriented. If you are looking for a reputable oil company, best heating products, reliable technicians, understanding customer representatives, good senior management, and reasonable price, I'll strongly suggest Kerivan-Lane without my hesitation. p.s. also special thanks to the female customer service representative who helped me over the phone today on Thursday, Dec 10th.
Description of Work: Replaced water boiler, water heater, oil tank. Also signed up for automatic regular oil delivery.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$10,000
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
Thank you for the review. David is a great technician and installer. We are glad you are happy with the installation. Kerivan-Lane Service Team
Bella S.
11/2014
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
They were very good. They came right away. I had called a number of people, and they came immediately, and fixed it on the spot. The interactions with them were good, and the work turned out good. The price was worth it. They told me it was a little nob and they fixed it, so I thought that they were honest.
Description of Work: I used Kerivan-Lane. I had them for a leak in the radiator.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$110
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
"they came out right away" now thats what we like to hear. Thank you for your business and call us whenever you need us! Kerivan-Lane Service Team
Ryan C.
11/2014
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair
+ 1 more
Overall the project went very well. I had asked for a quote the previous year for the MassSave Early Boiler Replacement program and was not able to go through with it due to personal reasons. The quote I received from Kerivan-Lane was in line with other quotes (a bit on the high side) and the gentleman from sales that came to view the house was personable and professional. I called again this year and my original quote was honored, which I appreciated. Their responsiveness to calls and emails was OK. They seemed a bit busy and I had to follow up a few times during the process to make sure everything got on track. The installation went well. The installers were very nice and quality seems to be high. There was an issue with their delivery truck which caused the new boiler to fall off the back and become dented. I told the installers that I was not comfortable putting into my home and they were very understanding and nice. They had no problem returning to the shop and getting a new one. This caused the guys to work into the early evening on the second day. They were able to finish 2 of the 3 zones, with the basement zone causing some issues with the new controls. I was told that they would be in touch to set up the final zone. I ended up calling after a couple weeks and set up the time. They came out promptly and finished the job. Received a bill within a couple weeks, but it had the wrong rebate information. Emailed the guys at the office, then called, and quickly received the right information. Overall, quality and service was great, communication could use some work. I would still highly recommend though.
Description of Work: Replaced Boiler and Hot Water Heater. Installed Outdoor Weather Control
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$9,800
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
Thank you for your nice words. We hope you enjoying the new system! Kerivan-Lane Service Team
Tina P.
10/2014
2.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
It has been a couple years since I have had the new system installed and it is defective and they are refusing to stand behind their work. The hot water storage tank they installed is defective and leaking. I have contacted them numerous times to see if they are willing to stand behind their work. They have refused to help and replace the hot water tank. They said the reason they won't is because I am not a "current customer".
Description of Work: The company put in a new heating system.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
3.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
1.0
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
Thank you for your review. We hope you are happy with the install of you new Buderus boiler. Kerivan-Lane Service Team
Deborah A.
10/2014
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair, heating oil companies
+ 2 more
They did a great job! They were neat in their work, and they completed the work when they said they would. We were so pleased with Kerivan-Lane that we have switched to them for our oil delivery and service.
Description of Work: They installed baseboard hot water heating in three rooms to supplement our hot air system installed by someone else.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$2,650
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
Thank you for your detailed review! Enjoy your new baseboard this winter! Kerivan-Lane Service Team
Michael Scott W.
08/2014
4.0
appliance repair, plumbing
+ 0 more
The day of service wasn't bad, but it didn't go great. However, their professionalism afterward was fantastic. We had a plumber come over to install a new dishwasher and disposal. He showed up on time and was nice, however he moved really slowly (took his time). The quality of the work was fine (not extraordinary but satisfactory), but when we got the bill it said he was at our place for 3.5 hours. He was actually only at our place for 2.5 hours though. I contacted Kerivan's office to let them know and they said they would look into it. They called me back and apologized and ended up charging me less than 2.5 hours of labor. I can't remember, but maybe it was 1.5 hours. I believe the billing rate was approximately $90/hr.
Description of Work: Installed new dishwasher and disposal.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$300
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
Thank you for choosing KL. That job was done a while ago thank you for remembering us and posting the review. Please call us again for your plumbing & AC work. Thank you The Kerivan-Lane Service Team
Kaaren P.
08/2014
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, heating oil companies
+ 1 more
I have used this company for years. 12 years to be exact. Every job they have ever done at my house has been done with the greatest degree of professionalism. This particular job was no different. Everything was done quickly, and done well. I use them for all plumbing concerns as well as oil delivery and boiler maintenance. They also installed 2 ductless air conditioners in my house. I especially like that the company has been family run for generations. Their technicians seem to stay with the company for years - this for me is a sign that they treat their employees well - Happy employees = a job well done.
Description of Work: Installed a bidet and new toilet.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$180
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
Thank you for your kind words and for being a loyal customer for 12 years! we will continue to provide you with the best service in the area! Kerivan-Lane Service Team
Michelle L.
07/2014
5.0
plumbing, water heater repair
+ 0 more
The job was tricky because I live in an old house, but the were professional and made sure the system was working 100% before they left. no problems since then.
Description of Work: Replaced a hot water heater.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,300
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
Thank you for using Kerivan-Lane for your water heater installation. I'm glad everything is working ok and you were happy with the install. Kerivan-Lane Service Team
Marie H.
06/2014
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac, heating oil companies
+ 0 more
The sales rep visited the house at a time that was convenient for me (after work so I didn't have to take time off!) and provided me with detailed options of the gas boiler choices, along with pro's and con's of each. All my questions were answered thoroughly and comprehensively. Once I made my selection, arrangements were made for the installation and the company kept me informed every step of the way. The technicians showed up on time and did a thoroughly professional job! They cleaned the area every day before they left and did a thorough cleaning of the area after they completed the job. This is the first time I have not had to clean up after work was done in my house! A unique feature of this company is they provide the home owner with the names and photos of their crew, which provides a level of comfort regarding who's working in your home! I whole heartedly recommend Kerivan-Lane for plumbing and HVAC services!
Description of Work: Kerivan-Lane installed a new gas boiler in my basement, replacing the oil burner that was there and handled all the associated paperwork, permits, etc. for the conversion.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$8,000
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
Thank you for the Page of Happiness we will add it to our Wall of Happiness in the shop. Our techs work hard and are out to please the customer completely. The Kerivan-Lane Service Team
Kirsten B.
06/2014
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair
+ 1 more
Very professional and knowledgeable about all of our options. Our new furnace took longer than I thought to get installed, but not sure if that was their issue. No real complaints!
Description of Work: They inspected our furnace and did some minor repairs, and we also used them to get a new furnace when the time came. Most recently, they replaced our hot water heater.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
Thank you for your business and the review. Professional and knowledgeable those are the words we like to hear. The Kerivan-Lane Service Team
Kathleen R.
06/2014
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Had a followup call from Chris Lane regarding a previous issue and I stated I had a problem with some previous work, and he scheduled one of his service men to come out as soon as possible to redo the work at no charge.
Description of Work: Tuned my furnance
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
Thank you for your business. I will stay on top of your account service. Christopher Lane
Michelle P.
06/2014
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair
+ 1 more
First let us start by apologizing to the Kerivan-Lane for not having shared our experience right away!!! Fantastic!!! Job was done on schedule very clean, very polite, professional and experienced staff we could not have had a better experience. We strongly recommend Kerivan-Lane not only for the great work but the "fantastic" customer service, they always respond in a impressive timely manner to simple question about any questions or other needed work even late in the evening. Very impressive!!!!! Well done !!! !we also really like and appreciate the little card with pictures and back ground of the person coming in your house starting from the owners to the entire staff you always know whom was in your house when you were busy at work " very nice touch" in these days trust is worth a lot!!! we are very pleased to be a customer of Kerivan-Lane Michelle, Christophe,
Description of Work: Last year Kerivan-Lane installed a new boiler a new hot water tank and 3 new Fujitsu AC/heat pump unit. Today "emergency" they installed a shut off valve for our new washer and dryer.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad you like the employee cards the technicians hand out. Thank you for your business! Kerivan-Lane Service Team
David G.
04/2014
5.0
plumbing
+ -1 more
They did excellent and very efficient work. They were very neat, professional, and also gave me some useful free advice about another plumbing problem.
Description of Work: I used Kerivan-Lane Inc. They installed a toilet.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$121
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
We appreciate your business.
SUSAN C.
04/2014
5.0
plumbing
+ -1 more
I had a 4 hour window for the plumber to arrive, and requested that they call me 20 minutes beforehand. I got a call from the plumber explaining that he was (GASP!) ahead of schedule, and would it be convenient if he got there 1.5 hours BEFORE the expected time frame. This was great news, and very considerate of him to phone. When he arrived, he politely introduced himself and immediately went up to diagnose the issue. The plumber agreed that the toilet was rocky, it was not enough just to tighten the bolts, so he advised removed the base unit and replacing the seal. It wasn't going to take more than an hour, and that was their minimum, so really, I'd just be paying the (minimum) cost of the seal. He did that, while putting down a mat and being very careful in our very small bathroom. The whole thing took less than an hour, and I felt like I had been given good advice. He was very courteous. I received the bill in the mail swiftly, which was a relief. Last time they had come, I didn't get billed for *weeks*.
Description of Work: Replace wax seal on rocky toilet.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$125
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
What a nice review we truly appreciate your business. The Kerivan-Lane Service Team
Juan L.
04/2014
5.0
appliance repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac, heating oil companies
+ 1 more
The cost is included in the service contract I have with them for the first 3 years. It has been great! I think this winter oil has been the type of heating that is more expensive than the usual. They are not the cheapest and they were honest about that which was good, but they offer reliable service and this is what I was looking for, I was willing to pay the premium. They were very friendly on the phone. They had questions and I was a new customer without any knowledge of my options. They were courteous, patient, and very different from who else I talked to. They answered a lot of my questions and they were really responsive in this case.
Description of Work: Kerivan-Lane provides my oil heating services. They came by last week to do maintenance on my furnace.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
3.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
Thank you the words friendly and honest are nice to hear to describe our service.
John K.
03/2014
5.0
plumbing
+ -1 more
They are responsive and very unique and clean.
Description of Work: They have done plumbing work for me.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
Thank you for your business. The Kerivan-Lane Service Team
Van C.
03/2014
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
From the time of my call, they came within a few hours. They successfully diagnosed the problem with the heater and also repaired a thermostat. I was pleasantly surprised by the price.
Description of Work: Replaced a thermal coupler on heating system, rewired and remounted a thermostat
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$132.03
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
We like to have our customers pleasantly surprised! Thank you for choosing Kerivan-Lane. The Kerivan-Lane Service Team
Steven L.
02/2014
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
+ -1 more
Let me start with this. I have oil burner service contract with them since 2012. Before I had called them to look at my power venter issue on 2/10/2014, I have noticed back in early 2013 that my power venter was occasionally making loud noises and have called them to look at my power venter noise issue specifically after I called them to performed the yearly routine maintenance (Note that I was told everything was working as it should at the routine maintenance which was performed in late 2012). When the tech came in to look at my power venter noise issue (this was now in the beginning of 2013), I was told again that the system is okay and that they did not see anything wrong with the power venter or the way it was installed and did not notice any loud noises. I was further told that the power venter is not covered by the service contract (not sure what that means at the time, it just seemed that power venters in general were hard to deal with, but since they said there was no issue with my venter, I did not think too much about it). At the time, there was no mention that the power venter may need to be replaced or if there is any issue or the way it was installed. Forwarding to the week of 2/10/14? One morning (I think it was Tuesday of that week), before I left for work, I noticed that my oil burner was not on when my thermostat was calling for heat. Call them and the tech came promptly and serviced my oil burner and inspected the system the same day. The tech called the office and the office contacted me and said that my power venter is really loud and that it will need to be replaced because it was not properly installed (should have 4 bolts anchoring the power venter and it only has one. Remember that they were called in early 2013 to inspect the power venter and none of these issues were disclosed to me at the time) and it is on its way out. I was also told that the power venter is probably the cause as to why my oil burner did not turn on when the thermostat was calling for heat (because the power venter was stuck based on my speculations and it shuts down the system). However, there is nothing wrong with my oil burner, so I was told? The tech was able to restart the system by pressing the reset button. Anyway, I was quoted over the phone by the office for $1500 to replace the power venter with the same model (SWG-4HD). I hesitated at the quote due to the price and had asked the quote to be e-mailed to me and that I wanted to know the manufacture warranty and their warranty before I proceed with it. The quote never came and I had to call the office two days later to find out what the manufacture warranty is (which I did get a call back the same day). I decided to proceed with the project because I essentially do not have any another choice (I called a few places and they all needed to look at my venter before they can do anything and will need to take another few days before the venter is fixed) because I can?t afford to have no heat in my house. I felt like that they did not disclose completely and honestly about the status of my venter back in 2013. If they had disclosed that my venter was not installed properly back in 2013 (not sure how they missed that in 2013?), I would have gotten a few quotes to have it done correctly or fixed during the time of the year when I don?t need heat and will probably save me a few hundred dollars. Further, I decided to do some research to see how much this venter costs me (if I were to replace it myself or have another contractor to install it), the SWG-4HDS (the stainless steel version which is the better version since it resists corrosion from the acid gas from the oil burner) cost around $350 and the straight SWGII-4DH is around $250, so lets say somehow to have the exact model (because I was not sure if SGWII-4DH is the same as SGW-4DH that is installed) is say around $500 (which I think is reasonable), the labor to install the whole thing (the tech was onsite for about four hours) is an astonishing $1000 or $250/hour, including the time to get new duct work in place (the material should not be more than $100 -200). Remember that I never got a quote?Man oh man, I am in the wrong business? On the plus side, the tech was prompt, professional and very neat (clean the area up really well and did a nice instillation job) and the people in the office were friendly on the phone?but you really will pay for it. Update... I wanted to wait until they really refund my $300 before I submit this update... So I received a call from KL Inc. last Friday (can?t remember the date now). The person I talked was the same person I had chatted with about my power venter instillation quote and my power venter warranty information request. He was very forth coming on telling me that it was his fault that he had failed to e-mail me the quote. I thought to myself, okay, that?s a good start and that e-mailing the quote can be something that could have been easily missed when one is busy? He then went on explaining that the $1500 quote that he had given me is an upper limit quote (time and material not to exceed) and that one of the clerks had gone ahead and invoiced me the whole $1500 in error and that there are many quotes like these, which even though he spot checks them, he can?t get to all of them (alarms in my head going off?) He further went on to break down the cost (SWG-4HD cost them whole sale at about $650 including mark up [hum, okay I can accept that even though the better stainless steel version, from what I have read on the SWG-4HDS reviews (I read the spec too, the same a SWG-4HD), costs less than $350 as I have stated before, but if it is their cost?I can accept that]; the 4 hours of labor at around $80 or so per hour for a total about $320 to $400 [sounds reasonable]; and miscellaneous parts, which I presume include the seal compounds and some new pipes for a grand total of $1200, which based on my other quotes is on the high side, but okay?) and then offers me the refund as the consolation prize (so that how I felt when he offered the refund, as if I did not complain, it would have cost me the whole $1500. Okay, so I may be a bit sensitive and the way I feel is a subjective?). Now, I started to think to myself. Wait a minute, the $300 is rightfully mine and if I did not look at bill closely or complained about the cost, they would have been happy to take my $1500. They did not do any favor by offering to refund my $300, which is, again, rightfully mine? With that said, I asked him about why the tech had not noticed the issues that the power venter has when we specifically called and ask them to look at it back in 2/1/13? I was told that he does not know who the tech was and that he will let all the techs know to let the office know if something like this happens again. So this made me curious to see who came and checked out my system last year. Based on the tag (picture attached) the same tech who performed the 2/1/13 check did a power vent motor/fan change on 5/23/12 (we moved in on August, when we bought the house, the power vent also had some noise related issue, but when we moved in, the issue was resolved, which I presume was due to the replacement of the motor/fan). So this tells me that KL Inc. should have a pretty good idea of the condition of the power venter, since they have been servicing it at least starting on 5/23/12!! By sampling calling me and charge me the right price, they thought that I will just be happy with the result and not complain further. May I say and they did not make an effort to amend and address any of my issues. Few issues I found with this company: 1. There does note appear to have good communication between the field tech and the office staff. It could be a relatively simple job (like swapping out a power venter with a new venter of the same model), which should be a fast and relatively easy job verses having to drill a new hole for a new power venter, which I am sure the quote will be much higher, but the quote did not accurately describe the job. 2. There is poor record keeping practice. The person I was talking to on the phone did not know who serviced my old venter. He kept on telling me that he does not know who checked the venter back in 2012 before we moved in, when our record says that the same person serviced our venter a few months later. 3.There is not a system to check if the actual work matches the quote. So they do spot check, this leaves me to wonder how many quotes are out where KL Inc. is incorrectly charging their customers because it did not get spot checked.
Description of Work: Install a replacement SWG-4HD power vent.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
1.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
5.0
$1,500
Response from Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
We always do our best to provide the best service we can for our customers. We did communicate our best and all the work was agreed upon before we proceeded. Thank you for your business. The Kerivan-Lane Service Team
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.
*Contact business to see additional licenses.
Service Categories
Heating and Air Conditioning,
Water Heaters,
Heating Oil,
Propane Sales Services,
Fireplaces
FAQ
Kerivan-Lane, Inc. is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.
Sunday: Closed
Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday: Closed
Kerivan-Lane, Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: American Express,Check,Discover,MasterCard,Visa
Yes, Kerivan-Lane, Inc. offers free project estimates.
No, Kerivan-Lane, Inc. does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
No, Kerivan-Lane, Inc. does not offer a senior discount.
Yes, Kerivan-Lane, Inc. offers emergency services.
Yes, Kerivan-Lane, Inc. offers warranties.
Kerivan-Lane, Inc. offers the following services: Water Heater. Home heating oil. Propane. Boiler installations. Oil & gas. Ductless air conditioners. Oil tanks. Faucets. Fixtures. Pipes. Gas fittings. Gas piping. Toilets. Bathtubs. Showers. Pumps. Drain clearing. Preventative maintenance & inspections.