Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Weston Nurseries Inc

Landscaping, Greenhouses/Nurseries, Pavers and Hardscaping,

About us

Weston Nurseries has two locations - one in Hopkinton and one in Chelmsford, Massachusetts. The Chelmsford address is 160 Pine Hill Road, Chelmsford, MA 01824. Now in our 95th year, homeowners and trade professionals know us for our selection of larger size plants, as well as our own introductions of azaleas and rhododendrons. You'll find acres of premium quality trees, shrubs, perennials, annuals, fountains, pottery, and garden décor. Everything you need to create your backyard paradise. Come visit us at our Garden Centers and let us help you create beautiful landscapes and gardens. Additional contact name - Peter Mezitt.

Business highlights

102 years of trusted experience

Services we offer

In-store consultations, in-store design, at-home design, planting service. We we encourage you to visit our garden centers to select from a wide range and huge selection of trees, shrubs and perennials. We sell landscape size plant material and we will be happy to install plants you select.

Services we don't offer

At-home design-install landscape construction work. If you hire us to do the landscape design work at your house, we will contact up to eight landscape companies to contact you and provide a quotation to do the installation work. Because we have a large landscape company customer base, we can do a very good job matching up your job requirements with the most appropriate landscape companies.

Amenities

Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount

10%



Accepted payment methods

Check
Discover
MasterCard
Visa

Reviews

4.5101 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
62%
4
23%
3
7%
2
5%
1
3%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.5
value
4.2
professionalism
4.7
responsiveness
4.4
punctuality
4.6
Showing 51-75 of 101 reviews

Janet K.
01/2017
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: .....
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro

Jan B.
05/2016
5.0
greenhouses
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: .
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro

Elizabeth M.
05/2015
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
.
Description of Work: .
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro
$149

Response from Weston Nurseries Inc
Dear (removed member name) - thank you for the positive feedback!

Patricia R.
09/2013
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
Hasn't completed it yet. But am optimistic given the expertise of the designer
Description of Work: Drafting a redesign plan for a fairly large shady garden

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$49

Jennifer S.
09/2013
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
It was a beautiful design. He was on time for his appointment.
Description of Work: Sold Out! $149 for Professional Landscape Design with Plans Included. Big Deal!

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$149

Michael B.
09/2013
5.0
landscaping, irrigation systems
  + 0 more
They were responsive, professional & provided details of what work will need to be done to make the lawn look better
Description of Work: give me an estimate of the work

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$149

Martin F.
09/2013
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
The representative from Weston was very professional and thorough in her analysis. The plans were delivered to us on time and were very detailed. We're not considering the actual work until Spring 2014 but will likely use Weston for the work that we end up having done.
Description of Work: Landscape design and planning

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$150

ELISSA P.
09/2013
4.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
I purchased an Angie's List Big Deal for this service. I was really excited about it because it is such a beautiful place out there and they have such a good reputation, but the estimate that came back was really expensive. It was out of the ballpark of what we can do right now. I bought the deal for my boyfriend and he met with the fellow who did the walk around. I think the estimate was over $6,000, $3000 of that was labor. We did not do any actual work with them. They were pretty good about scheduling and were able to come out pretty soon after we called them. It took about a week for the estimate to come.
Description of Work: Weston Nurseries of Hopkinton provided a design and estimated putting plants around the foundation of my condo.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$149

Claudia T.
08/2013
5.0
mulch, greenhouses
  + 0 more
They are fantastic. We have been there for a several times. We are actually thinking of using them to do landscaping for our yard. People have advice us on it. They have a fantastic selection of very healthy, high end shrubs, plants, and trees. I think their prices are very reasonable. They delivered some mulch for us and they were great.
Description of Work: We bought shrubs from Weston Nurseries of Hopkinton.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$800

Response from Weston Nurseries Inc
Thank you for your nice review . We are happy that you are pleased with our plant quality and selectiion. We really pride ourselves on having a great selection of plants to choose from spring through fall. Please let us know if we can help you with your landscape. Peter

Marc F.
08/2013
4.0
greenhouses
  + -1 more
They were on time, friendly, and responsive. They were very professional and detailed. The quote was very organized and straightforward.
Description of Work: I've got an estimate from Weston Nurseries of Hopkinton.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,000

Response from Weston Nurseries Inc
(removed member name). - Thank you for rating us. We appreciate all your nice comments. I was curious if there was anything we could have done better since you gave us an overall rating of a B. Thank you, Peter Mezitt

Joe S.
06/2013
4.0
greenhouses
  + -1 more
I like Weston Nurseries of Hopkinton's location to me and they have a good selection of plants.
Description of Work: I buy trees, plants, and shrubs at Weston Nurseries of Hopkinton.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Christopher L.
05/2013
5.0
landscaping, hardscaping, lawn service
  + 1 more
Extremely well. Henry's ideas were great and he spent time to get to know us and our tastes and what our objectives were. He made sure we understood what plants he was suggesting and why, and then took us out to look at the specific plants. We were very pleased with the resulting plan and the selection of plants (which we will get at Weston Nurseries).
Description of Work: One of the designers worked with us to design part of our yard, selecting plant materials and and hardscape elements and drawing up a detailed plan of which went where.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$200

Charles K.
11/2012
4.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
Overall it went well, but it was not without issues. The real test of course will be in the spring when we see how these items survived and how they start to fill in. Issues / areas of improvement I would look for in the future with other projects: 1) I brought to scale computer plots of the areas, however they hand drew the landscape plan. This caused a few issues. When we changed the plan slightly it was not re-draw, so the team doing the installation wasn't sure how to proceed I don't have any accurate records of the project to go forward with Being hand draw resulted in an accidental scale mistake. I caught this before planting, but it caused some challenges none the less 2) Expectations on the beds There was no detail about how the planting area would be prepped or finished. The area that was all new planting was a bit overgrown, and would have benefited from a tilling and raking. The install team did a reasonable job with the installation, but I would have gladly paid for an extra hour of labor to till/clear the area thoroughly before starting. I will now have to manually do this in the spring, taking care not to damage anything. Given that they had lots of color pictures at hand when we planned this out, they should have either asked me to get that work done or done it themselves.
Description of Work: I had Weston Nurseries design two areas to landscape around my house, and I then purchased the plants from them and had them do the installation. This was a big job in my eyes. (6) pine trees ~6' tall each, (2) specimen trees, 6+ of each rhododendron, azaleas, hydrangea, and lots of microbiota ground cover. I had taken lots of pictures and measurements and drawn it out on the computer when I first went in to meet with their designers. The work on the front of the house was straight forward as it was largely all replacement landscaping of items that had become over grown. The work on the back of the house however was all new. This was an area previously filled by two very large oak trees that were damaged in the Oct 2011 storm. The trees and stumps were gone, but there was no planting bed, just cut down wild over growth. This was in my eyes a bit of a challenging area.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$9,200

Richard L.
09/2012
5.0
landscaping, greenhouses
  + 0 more
We used Weston Nurseries' design service to design plantings for a large area in our yard. Very impressed with their knowledge - even suggested a plant that blooms in md-winter. Good price. Very cooperative when we wanted a new iteration of the original design. The team that delivered and installed the plants was impressively experienced and knowledgeable; helped move existing plants to better spots. Best deal is to put down a deposit in early spring; gets you a credit of the design fee towards the plants you buy and a discount on the plants.
Description of Work: Design plantings for a large area in our yard.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,500

Response from Weston Nurseries Inc
Member- Thank you for your comments. We do take pride in selecting plants that provides year round interest. How your landscape looks in the colder months is very important in New England. There are a bunch of plants that have distinguishing features during the winter months that will make your gardens jump. Good luck!

Alexis G.
09/2012
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
They were very good. Very good to work with. They were responsive. Their price was reasonable. And they provided very good follow up as well.
Description of Work: They did a design and planting of a landscape job.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$5,000

Response from Weston Nurseries Inc
Member - thank you for the positive feedback and for your business!

Mai B.
09/2012
5.0
landscaping, greenhouses
  + 0 more
In both cases they were prompt, courteous, delivered what they said they would, stock was in good condition, installed very professionally, they cleaned up after themselves. They listened to my desires about the design and swapped out plants that I didn't like in the original design. Most of the plants have been thriving - when one of the plants failed completely, they came out promptly and replaced it (however if it fails again they won't replace it again - you only get one guarantee). If you design from photos and bring them to Hopkinton be sure you know how much sun the site gets in ALL seasons (I went from what the site looked like in fall and it turned out to be very different in spring!) There were no surprises from their end and I am pleased with the work. On the other hand you do pay for what you get - they aren't cheap.
Description of Work: Had them design and install two areas at two different times, both during off seasons when they have deals (one bare newly dug rectangular plot in fall and one design and install visual barrier from neighbor in spring after construction had removed most of our trees). The rectangular plot was designed from photos and info I provided and done in Hopkinton and involved a few small bushes and large perennials. The visual barrier was done by an onsite inspection and involved several large bushes and a tree.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$5,000

Response from Weston Nurseries Inc
Member - thank you for your positive feedback. I am happy you had a good experience with our designers and our crews!

Nancy N.
09/2012
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
I like them a lot; they have a design service where they waive fees for design if you buy your plants there. That works out well for me because I just brought them pictures of my house and then they walk around their facility to show you the plants they suggest. Then they put the plants in for me.
Description of Work: I used Weston Nurseries of Hopkinton for landscape services.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$2,000

Response from Weston Nurseries Inc
Member - Thank you for the nice words. Our staff prides themselves on their knowledge of being able to pick the right plants for any particular location. It really helps when our customers bring in pictures and infromation on sun exposure so that the best choices are made. Our main goal is to do the right things to make your landscape successful and look the way you intend it to look in the years to come.

Joerg H.
06/2012
1.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
Weston Nurseries came highly recommended but did not at all live up to their reputation. Problems started with getting someone to call me back (this took several phone calls and having to ask for their manager). I finally managed to get one of their guys come for a consultation and a quote. The consultation was fine, he seemed knowledgeable and professionable. It took a few days to get a quote but then he took several days for each question I had accompanied by excuses that he wasa working on a job in an area w/o internet coverage. After several attempts to get him to either commit to the job or to tell me that he is simply booked or isn't interested inn the job I just gave up. This was at least 4 weeks after my initial phone call to Weston Nurseries. So needless to say I'd not recommend their services unless time is not a factor :-)
Description of Work: We had planned several things including work on a large flower bed and planting a hedge and several msicellaeous items around the yard. We never made it past the quote due to extreme lack of responsiveness. Bad service!!!

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0


Response from Weston Nurseries Inc
Member - I am very sorry for the lack of response you received from us. We acted as if your business was not important to us and I can assure you that it is. We recently restructured our landscape division (new location, new management, many new staff members, and new IT systems/support structure). In retrospect, we may have made too many changes at once and basic principles may have suffered a bit. Calling someone back is fundemental and everybody's time is important. I am not proud of the service we provided to you. If you are still looking for assistance with you landscape, or If there is anything I can do to help you with your landscape, I would be happy to talk to you in person. Please email me at peterm@westonnurseries.com if I can be of any assistance to you. Sincerely, Peter

Jennifer L.
05/2012
2.0
landscaping, hardscaping
  + 0 more
We had a winter design special done. You pay $395 in the winter for the design and get your design fee back if you have them do the work in the spring. The designer did a great job and we tentatively booked for the 3rd week in April - depending on the weather. We paid our deposit. I called them in early April to get a date and they told me the dates. I took the two days off. Since I hadn't heard from them in a couple of weeks, I called to confirm that they were coming. They weren't and they never called to reschedule. On the first day they did show up, they did a great job preparing the yard and placing the shrubs. The maple tree and paving stones were not delivered that day. The crew worked late and my only complaint is that they left a big piece of plywood on the lawn and their Dunkin Donuts trash in my yard. They didn't come back the next day because the maple and stones still weren't available. However, they also didn't come back to actually plant the shrubs, take their trash, or that piece of plywood that was going to kill the grass underneath it. I called them and they came back to plant and mulch and remove the trash and plywood. The paving stones came in and those looked good as well as the ground cover around them, but still no maple tree and 3 other bushes were still missing. When they came back about a week later to plant the maple tree and 3 other bushes, they rolled their equipment over the paving stones and ground cover. The stones were askew and above ground and about a quarter of the ground cover was smashed. The 3 bushes were planted but not mulched. I took some pictures and sent them to Weston. They apologized and promised to come fix them the next day. Two days later a two man crew came out. When I spoke to the foreman, he said the paving stones weren't flush with the ground in the first place. I thought, "You knew they were not installed correctly, so you ran over them and made them worse. And then you left them that way!" No, I didn't confront him at that time because he was fixing them the "right way." So as far as quality of the plants, the shrubs were great. The quality and professionalism of the labor, horrible. On another note, the billing was a nightmare also. I had to reconcile the bill 3 times because 1) plants that were swapped out were still charged, 2) the design fee was never deducted, and 3 ) the sales tax wasn't calculated correctly. The one good point was working with the woman to reconcile the bill. She was pleasant to deal with.
Description of Work: We had Weston Nursery do an onsite landscaping design and had them install the design.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
3.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
3.0

$7,800

Response from Weston Nurseries Inc
Member - We apologize for the difficult experience you had in working with us. Although we will always do the right thing in the end, your job was not handled properly and caused you aggrevation from the get go. I will tell you that we have learned from the experience and have now improved our scheduling and better aligned our crew skills to the type of work being done so that these kind of performances no longer occur. We were aggressive in making a lot of changes to our landscaping division this spring (new manager, new staff, new equipment, etc.) and I firmly believe that the new manager will run the division in a manner that provides all of our customers the experience and results they expect from us. I hope you new landscape is doing well and please contact me at peterm@westonnurseries.com if there is anything I can help you with. Sincerely, Peter

Janet G.
07/2011
5.0
lawn service, tree service
  + 0 more
He came and looked at the yard and I asked him some questions. He said he would send me an estimate and he did. I would go back to him again. He was very prompt and very friendly.
Description of Work: Weston Nurseries Of Hopkinton gave us an estimate to replace a tree and replant some things.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Megan M.
02/2011
5.0
greenhouses, tree service
  + 0 more
I think they may end up being a little more expensive than other nurseries, but I found them to be very professional. They are really, really great. When we had questions about what types of shrubs and plants in different areas they were fine.
Description of Work: We bought shrubbery from Western Nurseries of Hopkinton.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$200

Mary Anne W.
02/2011
5.0
landscaping, lawn service, tree service
  + 1 more
They did a superb job. They were very knowledgeable for their field and not to mention they are very professional and caring for the trees. They did a fair assesment and had great follow through. They were reasonable priced.
Description of Work: They pruned my trees and planted some as well.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Cris M.
10/2009
4.0
greenhouses
  + -1 more
The person who came was very knowledgeable, attentive and good in follow ups. He was also punctual and I was satisfied with his service.
Description of Work: We called them for some consultation for landscaping.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0

$200

David H.
08/2009
2.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
I contacted Weston to prune two shrubs in the front of my house . They were having a 50% off sale on pruning and I had never done this type of large shrub before. It took two weeks and I talked to three people before a nice woman agreed to drive by and give me a quote. She called with a price of 150.00 and told me I needed to leave a credit card number on her machine before the work could be done (I didn't have the card on me when she called). I called in the number and the work was done on the day proposed. I assumed the woman who called would be doing the work, I was wrong. They sent a crew of guys who had no idea what they were doing and asked an elderly house guest who spoke very little english what to do. I was at work as I had told them I would be. The job was horrible, just horrible. The shrubs are uneven and not rounded at all, I could have done better myself. They left behind clippings and trampled the cosmos planted near the shrubs. I call and complained and thought of it as a good lesson learned and was relieved I hadn't paid the full 300.00 if there had not been a 50%off sale. Today, over a month later I received a terse letter demanding payment and a threat to go to collection!!! What they did with my CC number I do not know. This is no way to run a business in this economy. Communication has seemed to have broken down at Weston Nurseries. I have been driving long miles to shop there for years but I think I may have to take my business elsewhere.
Description of Work: Pruning two shrubs in the front of my home

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
2.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
4.0

$150

Eileen C.
01/2009
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
I am very happy with the work that was done by Weston. They are responsive. The quality of work that was performed was excellent. The crew that did the work was great. I was able to buy insurance on the work that was done also. I would use them again in the future if needed.
Description of Work: I had Weston Nurseries come out and design a new landscape for my backyard. We discussed the design and then they installed it.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$6,000

Contact information

93 E Main St, Hopkinton, MA 01748

http://westonnurseries.com

Service hours

Sunday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Licensing

Insured
State Contractor License Requirements

All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

*Contact business to see additional licenses.


Service Categories

Landscaping,
Greenhouses/Nurseries,
Pavers and Hardscaping,
Tree Service,
Lawn and Yard Work,
Mulch and Topsoil,
Masonry,
Lawn Irrigation,
Patios,
Fountains,
Landscaping - Lakefront,
Lawn Fertilization & Treatment

FAQ

Weston Nurseries Inc is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

Sunday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Weston Nurseries Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check,Discover,MasterCard,Visa
No, Weston Nurseries Inc does not offer free project estimates.
No, Weston Nurseries Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
No, Weston Nurseries Inc does not offer a senior discount.
No, Weston Nurseries Inc does not offer emergency services.
Yes, Weston Nurseries Inc offers warranties.
Weston Nurseries Inc offers the following services: In-store consultations, in-store design, at-home design, planting service. We we encourage you to visit our garden centers to select from a wide range and huge selection of trees, shrubs and perennials. We sell landscape size plant material and we will be happy to install plants you select.
At-home design-install landscape construction work. If you hire us to do the landscape design work at your house, we will contact up to eight landscape companies to contact you and provide a quotation to do the installation work. Because we have a large landscape company customer base, we can do a very good job matching up your job requirements with the most appropriate landscape companies.

Contact information

93 E Main St, Hopkinton, MA 01748

http://westonnurseries.com

Service hours

Sunday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM