Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Mustard Seed Landscapes and Garden Center

Pavers and Hardscaping, Landscaping, Lawn and Yard Work,

About us

In business since 2004, Mustard Seed Landscapes offers both residential and commercial landscaping services to Central Indiana. Our english speaking field supervisors take great pride in providing outstanding service, superior knowledge and a "Can Do Attitude". With business ethics and morals at the forefront, we strive in everyway possible to exceed the customer's expectations.

Business highlights

21 years of trusted experience

Services we offer

Lawn Care: mowing, fertilization, weed control, spring and fall clean-up, tree trimming and removal, shrub pruning, mulching, insect control, irrigation maintenance and installation, etc. Hardscapes: patios, pergolas, retaining walls, water and fire features Landscaping: Designs (free 3 year plans), Installation of new landscaping, theme gardens, etc.

Services we don't offer

Ask for details.

Amenities

Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount

10%



Accepted payment methods

Check
Financing Available
MasterCard
PayPal
Visa

Reviews

4.317 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
65%
4
0%
3
6%
2
0%
1
29%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.9
value
4.5
professionalism
4.4
responsiveness
4.1
punctuality
4.2
Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews

JANE H.
12/2015
5.0
lawn service, hardscaping
  + 0 more
unknown

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

CINDY C.
02/2015
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
Ryan & brother were on time did job efficiently time very satisfied.
Description of Work: Christmas lights.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,200

Richard D.
12/2014
5.0
landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping
  + 1 more
unknown
Description of Work: Put up X-mass lights at my house. Very tall 2 story. Great job, will use them in the future. They are also going to do the snow removal for me this winter.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$399

Jerald H.
12/2014
5.0
hardscaping
  + -1 more
Arrived at scheduled time. Did an excellent job. Took care and pride in work. The lights look great. Very pleasant people to work with. This is the third year I have used them and will continue to do so.
Description of Work: Installed Christmas lights on a 2 story house and in a large tree in front yard.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$255

DONNA R.
05/2013
5.0
lawn treatment, hardscaping
  + 0 more
Please see above. It was a very positive experience.
Description of Work: I initially met with Mark and Justin Skipper and worked from then on with Justin. I had a new lawn so wanted to change the builder landscape and add to it. After our conversation, Justin drew a plan for my review and concurrence. Once the weather allowed, he and one other man moved the builder-placed yews to the side of the house and replaced them with roses and a magnolia bush. In the back, they placed several bushes around the deck, a lilac tree and then built a raised garden bed. It is beautiful. Due to rainy weather, the first planting was a week or so before the second but all is now complete and I am thrilled. I am also working with Ryan Skipper to bring my drought-stricken lawn to what is should be. The pre-emergent and fertilizer treatments are complete and he's mowed the lawn twice. I have found all three Skippers to be very responsive. Mustard Seed was recommended to me by a neighbor and I have referred them to several neighbors.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,500

Mike S.
04/2013
1.0
hardscaping
  + -1 more
After Mark Skipper came out on 11/29, I did not hear back from him. I sent a few e-mails; then I finally received an e- mail from him saying all of my messages had gone to Mustard Seed's junk mailbox and that he had fixed it so this would not happen again. On 2/18/2013 I received a quote for the work I wanted done, broken into 3 separate projects. I called Mark and we set up a date 3/13 that he would come over to go over the quote and the ideas. On the morning of 3/13 I received an e- mail from Mark that he had injured his back and would not be making out appointed time and that he would reach me in a couple of weeks once his back was better. This is the last contact I had with Mark or anyone at Mustard Seed. I called Mustard Seed on 4/1 and when I received no call back ( and still have not) I e- mailed the address on their website (4/21). I have received no response to that either. So as of today I still have a grill that needs to be retro fitted, lighting on my pergola and in my backyard that needs modification, a fountain that needs to be started back up and light bulbs still burned out around my patio. I have made arrangements with other landscape designers and maintenance/repair professionals to help me so I'm not sitting around waiting on Mustard Seed any longer. I don't know why this has gone like it has but I do know that I will not use them again.
Description of Work: When we moved into our home I contacted Mustard Seed to do fall clean up on my yard. They had installed a beautiful outdoor living space here for the previous owner and she highly recommended them. We were very pleased with the fall clean up work they did (trimming back bushes, general clean up and winterizing our fountain). Several bulbs were burned out around the patio and I was told replacement bulbs would be ordered. Mark Skipper came out to my house two weeks after that (11/29) to go over modification ideas to the patio. My grill needs to be retro fitted into grill space on the patio; I want different lighting on the pergola; and we discussed the lights that were burned out. He said those had been ordered and when they came in they would be replaced. We also talked about improvements that could be made to our backyard lighting.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
3.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$250

Jerald H.
04/2013
5.0
holiday decorators
  + -1 more
Mustard Seed is the only company that returned my phone call when I called at that time. They did an excellent job. They are very good people and very responsive. Their price is just what I expected because they also did some additional things for me. It's a positive experience for me and they're really helpful. They got suggestions and things as well to help you with your projects. They are very easy to work with. I appreciated them because they've been very responsive, they came when they said they would come. I'm a big fan of them and I would use them again next year.
Description of Work: I had Mustard Seed Landscaping put up Christmas lights in the house. They also did some additional things, they hung some stuff as well as strong lights on the roof for me.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$275

Wayne C.
03/2013
5.0
hardscaping
  + -1 more
TERRIFIC SERVICE!!!
Description of Work: They do an awesome job of snow plowing!

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$50

Beth T.
03/2013
1.0
hardscaping
  + -1 more
Called and asked for estimate to remove snow from driveway and sidewalks. Was told they only did that for customers who had other yard work done, so I asked for someone to give me an estimate also for some more major landscaping as well. Said they would come in next few days to give me an estimate; never did. Someone recommended this company to me for yard work several weeks later and I told them what had happened. Apparently they told the company and someone emailed me with apologies and said they would be happy to meet me to give me an estimate for landscaping. I emailed back times I could meet with them and have heard nothing for a week.
Description of Work: Called and asked for estimate to remove snow from driveway and sidewalks.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0


Response from Mustard Seed Landscapes and Garden Center
My name is Mark and I am the owner at Mustard Seed Landscapes. I made 2 visits to Member's house to give her estimates on landscaping and both times no one was home. Member asked for an estimate to plow her driveway in February, after the season had already started but as I personally told her, we don't plow residential driveways as our equipment isn't set up for smaller driveways. Member and I talked on 2 occasions and both times she didn't understand that we wouldnt be able to plow her driveway. I would love to help her with her landscaping needs but she was quiet upset when we couldn't help her with snow. We love taking care of our customers and future customers but in this case, our season had started, we were maxed out with snow removal and her driveway was too small, I wish there was a solution for Member.

DIANE R.
12/2012
5.0
holiday decorators
  + -1 more
Ryan came and did both jobs very well. He was organized and did a super job on both.
Description of Work: Hung Christmas lights on 20 foot tree in front yard. Repair caulking on tile in walk-in shower.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$400

Wayne C.
06/2012
5.0
landscaping, lawn service, leaf removal, mulch, snow removal, holiday decorators, hardscaping
  + 5 more
The overall experience over these many years has been excellent. I have referred them to several of my neighbors. They also put up and store my Holiday Lighting, and recommended changing to LED lighting last year. We did that and everything looked fantastic!
Description of Work: I have now been a client of Mustard Seed for over six years. My lawn, absolutely, is the best looking lawn in my subdivision, year in and year out. These guys are not only reasonable priced, their service is fantastic. They are always fair, punctual, and then call the following day after a job to check on the job and my satisfaction. Terrific!

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,000

Christy O.
07/2011
1.0
hardscaping
  + -1 more
Very negative experience with this company. I got the impression that my project did not involve enough work and/or money for this company.
Description of Work: My original contact to this company was made end of March. Owner seemed nice competent, nice, and competent. He stated he would draw a plan of my project and "get back to me." After three f/u telephone calls, conversations, and numerous excuses owner stated he would have a plan to me by 6/30. I received no call and/or plan for any landscaping. On initial meeting I informed owner I had money to complete this project and wanted to landscape my yard. Very disappointed in the excuses/apologies; not enough help, very busy, weather, etc... Attitude of the owner was that I was bothering by requesting he work for me!!

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0


Barbara L.
07/2011
5.0
landscaping, lawn service, mulch, pavers, gravel, hardscaping
  + 3 more
The service, concern and detail were phenomenal; it felt like family to me. Each of the people that I dealt with from the owner down to the "kids" that did the work, were respectful, clean (down to detail within my home) and kept me posted with every portion of the project. There was a lot of rain, but they kept appraised on the delay; it was the weather, not them. I'm very delighted with the result and I can't say enough nice things about these people.
Description of Work: They tore out some existing landscaping (and salvaged it) and put in a 10x10 patio; design and all. They also put in a gated fence, repaired the landscaping outside the fence as well so it "married" the rest of the complex. They also gave me the grassy patch on the inside for my dog. After they were done, they even helped me put the patio furniture back out and helped arrange it as well. He did a good job to explaining to me how to maintain the shrubs and grass the was put in. They did so many extra little things that really helped me out so I didn't have to hire other people to do it for me.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$60,000

Matthew R.
05/2011
1.0
decks, landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping
  + 2 more
TERRIBLE COMMUNICATION. Irresponsible business practices at best, outright lies and deception at worst. I engaged Mark Skipper, owner of Mustard Seed Landscaping, for a quote on some patio work -- some columns, sitting wall, and a fire pit -- in early April. A relatively small 3-4 day job that augmented an existing patio. It took weeks of me following up with him to get the design, then weeks more to get the quote. The price was pretty good, as was the design -- which made us want to go with Mustard Seed. As such, I told the other contractors we had been talking to I wasn't interested so they could move on to other clients. Wow, was that a mistake. I only wish Mark had shown me the same courtesy. We have a deadline for this work and Mark screwed us. Every. Single. Time. we needed to connect about something, it was a chore to get in touch with Mark. He would promise to call or email by a certain time and never did, save for one occasion. Finally, by the third week of May (6-7 weeks after we initially contacted him), we had a "final" quote. I said, "Great, let's go, we need this done by mid June." He said absolutely, we can get it done. He promised to have a contract to me by the next Monday. One never appeared. When following up with him the following Wednesday, he promised to have the contract to me later that day. When I followed up with him AGAIN later that day, he finally said that actually, the price was 25% higher than he had estimated due to the radius on our patio, and declined to do our project. So he spent 7 weeks stringing us along, failing to communicate at almost every step of the way, breaking promise after promise, and then ditches us RIGHT AFTER promising to send the contract to get started. HE FAILED TO DO HIS HOMEWORK UP FRONT. He knew the size of the patio, yet somehow the radius made it all get magically more expensive at crunch time. The patio certainly didn't change sizes in the 7 weeks we were waiting on him. We're now three weeks away from our big party that this work was supposed to be done for, that I started requesting quotes for 7 weeks ago, and we're basically nowhere thanks to Mark. He blamed everyone else -- suppliers, his office staff, his family problems -- for his failings, made a big speech at one point about wanting to make it right, and never improved his terrible customer service. I was more than patient and understanding for the better part of two months. DO NOT hire Mustard Seed.
Description of Work: Mustard Seed provided a quote and design for an upgrade to our patio, and then failed to start the work as promised.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
value
4.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0


Response from Mustard Seed Landscapes and Garden Center
In response to the member's complaints: He is correct, his patio did not change sizes, however, it is a poured concrete patio and his radius did not match the radius of the wall block he chose to use. This means we have to cut every block to match this radius which takes more time. This is why there was a price change, on only the retaining wall. It did take a while to get back with the member as we were waiting to here from the manufacture on a wall block that would work in this project as not to increase the projects cost. We strive to make everyone happy but unfortunately we did not in the member's case. We tried to let him know of the price change before he signed the contract because we don't like to surprise our clients with extra costs after the project has started. After explaining this to the member, and talking about the project in our weekly project meetings, we felt that we would have problems if any other issues were to arise during the project. So we regretfully declined his project. We are sorry for any inconvience.

PHILIP AND TONDA W.
01/2009
5.0
decks, hardscaping
  + 0 more
The quality of the work itself was wonderful. The patio looks great, and they got it done without any trouble. The finishing touches, however, have taken quite awhile to wrap up. There are a few minor details that we are still waiting to be completed. They began the work last April, and as of January, there are still a few things left to do. Overall, however, we have been happy with their work.
Description of Work: They built a patio for us.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
2.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

CHRIS B.
07/2008
3.0
hardscaping
  + -1 more
Their work was great. Everything turned out really good. The communication and follow up was bad. They were to do a few final things and I haven't heard from them in three weeks. The workers were good. They were friendly and did everything we asked them to do. I think they may have gotten in a little bit over their head as far as their volume of business and scheduling things.
Description of Work: Mustard Seed Nursery hardscaped a patio for us. It is a 700 square foot patio with a fire pit and sit wall around it.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
4.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$13,000

Jim S.
09/2006
1.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
They did not return calls well. They claimed they were really busy, which made me feel like they were too busy for me. They gave me a rough price, he never got back with me on the written estimate. I did the work myself and that was just a huge inconvenience because I could never reach him. I don't feel he is trustworthy.
Description of Work: I contacted them to do some landscaping in some of my beds.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0


    Contact information

    77 Metsker Lane, Noblesville, IN 46062

    www.mustardseedlandscapes.com

    Service hours

    Sunday:
    Closed
    Monday:
    8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Tuesday:
    8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Wednesday:
    8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Thursday:
    8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Friday:
    8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Saturday:
    8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Licensing

    Bonded

    Insured

    Eco-friendly Accreditations

    LEED Accredited Professional
    No
    Energy Star Partner
    No
    EPA Lead-Safe Certified
    No
    Use Green Products or Work Practices
    Yes
    State Contractor License Requirements

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

    *Contact business to see additional licenses.


    Service Categories

    Pavers and Hardscaping,
    Landscaping,
    Lawn and Yard Work,
    Holiday Decorating,
    Mulch and Topsoil,
    Decks and Porches,
    Snow Removal,
    Stone and Gravel,
    Leaf Removal,
    Lawn Fertilization & Treatment,
    Patios,
    Landscaping - Lighting

    FAQ

    Mustard Seed Landscapes and Garden Center is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Mustard Seed Landscapes and Garden Center accepts the following forms of payment: Check,Financing Available,MasterCard,PayPal,Visa
    No, Mustard Seed Landscapes and Garden Center does not offer free project estimates.
    Yes, Mustard Seed Landscapes and Garden Center offers eco-friendly accreditations.
    No, Mustard Seed Landscapes and Garden Center does not offer a senior discount.
    No, Mustard Seed Landscapes and Garden Center does not offer emergency services.
    Yes, Mustard Seed Landscapes and Garden Center offers warranties.
    Mustard Seed Landscapes and Garden Center offers the following services: Lawn Care: mowing, fertilization, weed control, spring and fall clean-up, tree trimming and removal, shrub pruning, mulching, insect control, irrigation maintenance and installation, etc. Hardscapes: patios, pergolas, retaining walls, water and fire features Landscaping: Designs (free 3 year plans), Installation of new landscaping, theme gardens, etc.
    Ask for details.

    Contact information

    77 Metsker Lane, Noblesville, IN 46062

    www.mustardseedlandscapes.com

    Service hours

    Sunday:
    Closed
    Monday:
    8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Tuesday:
    8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Wednesday:
    8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Thursday:
    8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Friday:
    8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Saturday:
    8:00 AM - 6:00 PM