Jerome and two helpers showed up when promised. They went to work immediately. After three solid days, Jerome said he had finished doing a "quality paint job, not a basic paint job"-his words. He did correct the missed spots that I pointed out to him. After he left, I spent days cleaning up paint drips on the woodwork; I could not get the paint spots out of the rug or off the couch. There is paint on the floor that I am cleaning. Today I will go to the paint store and buy more paint to complete the painting behind the bathroom door and other spots that he did not complete. I will also paint over the accidental painting of the ceiling that he did. I will have to paint extensively along the baseboard to cover the previous paint color that he did not do. He charged extra for painting the interior of the front and side door. Further, I consider his "discounted paint price" was excessive-over $50/gal. DO NOT USE THIS GUY!
Description of Work: Jerome was hired to paint the interior (including ceilings) of a 1400 square foot house. All furniture was to be covered and drop cloths used everywhere.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
4.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0
$2,400
SAMUEL & MARIANNE R.
05/2009
5.0
house painters
 + -1 more
He is a wonderful person to deal with.
Description of Work: They painted our home last year and this year came out and did some touch ups and made sure everything was the way it was supposed to be.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$495
Angelena W.
05/2009
5.0
house painters
 + -1 more
Jerry put a lot of thought into the project throughout the duration of the project. We went back and forth over many different ideas and plans. He worked with me on colors and mixing colors to come up with just the right blends. Jerry came up with his own strategies to find ways to bring my vague ideas to fruition. The project's final product is beautiful.
Description of Work: Stained playset, sanded and stained hot tub, stained/painted deck and replaced old handrails with new ones, installed privacy lattice around deck
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,750
TOM P.
05/2009
5.0
house painters
 + -1 more
JERRY ARRIVED ON MAY 18 AT AROUND 10:00 A M AND MOVED THE DECK FURNITURE OFF OF THE DECK. HE THEN CHECKED THE CONDITION OF THE SURFACE AND THEN SANDED SOME SPOTS AND APPLIED THE 2 ND COAT. THE $65 CHARGE WAS FOR SOME EXTRA LANDSCAPING THAT HE DID WHILE HERE. WE ARE VERY PLEASED WITH THE SERVICE HE GIVES.
Description of Work: JERRY PAINTED OUR DECK LAST FALL. THE WEATHER PREVENTED HIM FROM PUTTING ON THE 2 ND COAT, SO HE SAID, I WILL RETURN IN THE SPRING WHEN WE SHOULD HAVE A FEW DRY DAYS IN A ROW AND FINISH THE JOB. HE CALLED US ON MAY 16 TO SCHEDULE THE WORK
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$65
MARY R.
04/2009
1.0
house painters
 + -1 more
He advised us the deck did not need to be stripped and he could just paint over it. He painted over the deck in August/September. Now, the paint is pealing and the joints are not matching and the rails are not level. He used poor quality wood for repairs and it is not holding up, along with the bad paint job. I have called him twice to have him address this, but I have never heard from him. He claims he was here looking at the job and there was just one board to address. I have also asked him to return the $200.00 for the floor of the deck and he responded by laughing and hanging up.
Description of Work: We had a painted deck and questioned how we were going to take of this. We were advised by others the deck needed to be stripped.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$750
MARY R.
04/2009
1.0
house painters
 + -1 more
He advised us the deck did not need to be stripped and he could just paint over it. He painted over the deck in August/September. Now, the paint is pealing and the joints are not matching and the rails are not level. He used poor quality wood for repairs and it is not holding up, along with the bad paint job. I have called him twice to have him address this, but I have never heard from him. He claims he was here looking at the job and there was just one board to address. I have also asked him to return the $200.00 for the floor of the deck and he responded by laughing and hanging up.
Description of Work: We had a painted deck and questioned how we were going to take of this. We were advised by others the deck needed to be stripped.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
Response from FINISHED BY JEROME
She expressed concerns about the condition of her deck while I was on site painting her house, and justly so as it was one of the worst I had seen in my twenty yrs. of finishing. After long conversations of options, I agreed to chemically clean, power wash, scrape loose stain, and give it 2 coats of Porter's best acrylic solid stain. I charged $200 (deck is approx. 10ft. by 12ft.). For the time and effort needed to accomplish this, I would normally charge twice that amount. After completing the task, I left a gallon of matched stain with her explaining that due to the poor condition of her deck boards, they would require an additional coat the following year. She called me in April saying that her deck was peeling. I agreed to check it out a.s.a.p. Within a week I do so. As I expected, the worst of the decking had allowed moisture in and there was some peeling. I resolved to correct this as soon as the weather allowed. A week later she called me again wondering why I had not corrected the problem. I explained that the deck needed to be completely dry first, but I was willing to recoat it at no cost. Her response was, "No, I want a full refund". I told her no. I feel that an offer to recoat the deck for free is sufficient. The problem on the railing and privacy wall I built cannot be adequately responded to as I was unaware that there were concerns until I was contacted by Angie's List. I can respond that as to the quality of the wood that was used, all materials were paid separately from the labor and reimbursed from receipts. I have no reason to use inferior products since they are at the homeowner's expense and I have no hidden mark ups. The restoration of the baluster and building of the privacy wall was no small project. It also involved lengthy discussions. It included the demolition of existing structure and its disposal, the purchase of replacement material and its transport to the site, construction of new handrail and spindles, and building of the privacy wall. The spindles changed form basic wood to aluminum rods that required brackets precisely installed under the handrail and above the bottom rail to trap rods between. All new wood received a prime and two coats of finish paint. I estimate I had at least thirty hours of time involved in this project. At the going rate of $50 per hour, I could have justified a $1500 billing. I only charged $550. I have responded to her concerns in a professional manner with a spirit of cooperation. This is the first complaint I have ever received that I was unable to resolve. Jerome Fleming-Sole Proprietor
TOM P.
05/2008
5.0
landscaping, tree service, pressure washing, woodworking, house painters
 + 3 more
THERE WAS NOTHING THAT WE ASKED FOR THAT WAS NOT DONE VERY PROFESSIONALLY. THIS IS THE BEST "ONE STOP SHOP" I HAVE EVER SEEN.
Description of Work: THE EXTERIOR OF THE HOUSE WAS PREPARED BY POWER WASHING, REMOVING THE OLD CAULK, RE-CAULKING, REPAIRING OR REPLACING ANY DAMAGED WOOD. THEN THEY APPLIED THE BEST PORTER PAINT TO THE NEW APPEARING Surface. ON TOP OF THE PAINTING THEY ARE ABLE TO DO WOODWORKING, CARPENTRY, TREE REMOVAL, LANDSCAPING, ETC. NOT ONLY DO THEY DO A GREAT JOB, THEY ARE TREATING YOU LIKE YOU SHOULD BE TREATED AS A CUSTOMER.
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.
*Contact business to see additional licenses.
Service Categories
Exterior Painting,
Tree Service,
Finished Carpentry and Woodworking,
Pressure Washing,
Landscaping,
Interior Painting
FAQ
FINISHED BY JEROME is currently rated 3.3 overall out of 5.
Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
FINISHED BY JEROME accepts the following forms of payment: Check
Yes, FINISHED BY JEROME offers free project estimates.
No, FINISHED BY JEROME does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
No, FINISHED BY JEROME does not offer a senior discount.
No, FINISHED BY JEROME does not offer emergency services.
Yes, FINISHED BY JEROME offers warranties.
FINISHED BY JEROME offers the following services: PAINTING, DRYWALL REPAIR, LANDSCAPING, STAINING & DECK CLEANING.