Culligan is the world’s leading water treatment company. For over 75 years, Culligan has led the way in water treatment technology, providing the most advanced products and solutions for the world’s water problems. Your local Culligan Man is your local water expert. He is dedicated to delivering high-quality water solutions that will improve the lives of his customers. Simply stated, Culligan believes that better water will make life better for you and your family. Today we offer the most technologically advanced products and services available, combined with the personal service of your local Culligan organization. Our entire line of water softeners, water filtration systems, drinking water systems, and whole-house filtration systems set the standard in the water treatment industry.
Business highlights
85 years of trusted experience
Emergency Services Offered
Services we offer
Water softener, bottled water, water filter, water filtration, drinking water, soft water, hard water, softener salt, water cooler, water delivery, softener repair, reverse osmosis, water service, & in-line filter
They do an excellent job! They come when you call. I will definitely recommend them and absolutely use them, again.
Description of Work: Whole Home Water Softener Maintenance
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
George & Connie Z.
03/2018
5.0
water softeners
+ -1 more
The gentleman came by and adjusted a competitors water softener for no charge . Also quoted me a price for a new water softener for my business. The people I bought the water softener from which is right around the corner from me and who I recommended to numerous friends wanted $99. Who do you think I am going to recommend the next time someone ask where to go for a water softener, Culligan !!
Description of Work: Our water softness has declined.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
FRANCES H.
10/2017
5.0
water softeners
+ -1 more
It went very well. Installer was efficient and knowledgeable about the new system. It is quite, and takes up a minimum of space. It was reasonably priced.
Description of Work: Replaced Kinetico water softener. t
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
MARGARET E M.
05/2017
4.0
water softeners
+ -1 more
One small problem. Called for appointment and scheduler gave me a date and asked if i wanted morning or afternoon. i picked PM. Day before appt. tech called and said he would be there in the AM. I queried time and he said they did not schedule in time segments. I had to cancel another appt. When he did come ... in the AM ... he quickly diagnose the problem, replaced a failing part, found my unit was still under warranty so i was not charged for part, only labor and coming at all charges. The work was fast and good. the sheduling not so much.
Description of Work: water softener had stopped softening.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Stacy T.
04/2017
5.0
water softeners
+ -1 more
Just fine. They gave me a rental unit to use while they were fixing mine.
Description of Work: They put new resin in my softener under the lifetime warranty.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Joe H.
04/2016
4.0
water softeners
+ -1 more
It's a monthly cost. Three months for $99 and after that there's a monthly cost. I've had a lot of problems with leaking and them having to come out and redo and that type of thing.
Description of Work: I've used Culligan for the water softener and also reverse osmosis.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
3.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Carolyn W.
07/2015
1.0
plumbing, water softeners
+ 0 more
The Sales person was fine, sold me a unit, scheduled to install a couple days later. Service showed up on time, pulled out refrigerator without protecting floor marking up brand new wood floors. Told both him and called Culligan to let them know. Had to leave a voicemail and call was never returned. Other than that, to my knowledge, install went fine. Although, I was concerned about the water pressure since the tank was installed in the basement but serviceman said "it seemed OK". I quickly found that not to be true. The system was hooked to my refrigerator and the water supply was nonexistent other than a trickle. the sink was mediocre at best. A couple days later, I found that my refrigerator (brand new only a couple weeks old) stopped cooling and I lost all the food in my freezer. Ice tray was filled with water and food was completely thawed. I pulled out the refrigerator (covering the floor before doing so) to make sure there weren't any leaks under the refrigerator. At that time, I unhooked the R/O and replaced the original hose to the water line. After doing so (and cleaning up the mess) I let the refrigerator sit (empty since everything had to be moved to the garage refrigerator). After several hours, the refrigerator recovered and has been working great ever since. I called Culligan and once again had to leave a voicemail. Yet again, I was never called back. I had to call them again and could not talk with the service manager since he was on the phone. I talked with the salesman and a couple hours later got a call from the service manager. He was very courteous and when I explained to him what happened, he concluded that I was sold the wrong size tank for the location the tank was installed since the pressure in the tank needed to be greater and I would need a larger tank to accommodate that. The refrigerator issue was because the water pressure from the tank was insufficient. I was told that I would have a resolution soon. It's been two days and no word. I will once again have to call them to follow up. I told him I want to return the system and be refunded my money. I shut the system off and haven't used it since I replaced the refrigerator hose. Seriously, let down and disappointed. I thought using Culligan I'd get better service. I've been a Culligan customer as long as I have owned a home (25 years) and am shocked that this is how they are operating now.
Description of Work: Sold and installed R/O drinking water system
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
4.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
5.0
$900
Response from Culligan Water Conditioning of Indianapolis
Culligan is very sorry we have lost (Removed members personal information) as a long time customer due to how the installation of her equipment was handled. She is correct that things were not handled very well by Culligan from her installation of equipment & forward. We should have made sure everything was to her expectations before we left her home at the time of installation. This alone could have alleviated any issues on the spot. Not returning calls is not the way to do business & is not Culligan's normal practice. As agreed upon when she spoke with Mark our Sales Manager on June 7th, her unit is scheduled for removal on 7-10 & her money will be refunded. We have also turned her damages over to our insurance company who should be following up with her regarding the kitchen floor. We thank her for her past business with Culligan & again want to state we are sorry to lose her as a long time customer. Kathy
John & Stephanie H.
06/2015
5.0
water softeners
+ -1 more
Great service! The technician was friendly and carefully explained the softener's workings in detail. He replaced a small part and suggested a service we might need in a few months. My only issue was the first appointment available when we called was 3-4 weeks out.
Description of Work: Repaired water softener
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Michael H.
04/2015
1.0
plumbing, water softeners
+ 0 more
I have been with culligan since 2001. Recently the softner was not working. Called for service ...after trying all their Technicians suggestions he agreed a service call would be required....I agreed. Unfortunately for me they are so backed up I would have to wait 30 days until mid May! I called Cooper Water they came the next day and will install a new system next week...all within a week,of my call!!
Description of Work: Nothing!
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
Marie L.
04/2015
5.0
water softeners
+ -1 more
Paul came out to check our water softener, explained why all the settings were as they were set for, ran the system to verify it was working properly. He came as promised and called ahead to confirm appointment. Kathy Goetz worked with me at the office on Saturday to work out the warranty renewal details, amazing for someone to work on Saturday, which both Paul and Kathy did on my behalf.
Description of Work: The charge was to renew my water softener warranty. They came out and inspected the softener per the yearly warranty for it.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$160
Jon H.
03/2015
3.0
plumbing, water softeners
+ 0 more
Bought the top of the line water softener system 8 years ago. Recently had a leak in the brine tank (nevermind the hours it took to clean up the salt all over the basement) and called them for a replacement. They said it was covered under warranty and that we would only have to pay for the labor time. I figured labor should be included in their warranty but didn't argue. I told them the brine tank had a leak and please make sure the technician had a new brine tank on his/her truck so we could get this done in one visit. The person I spoke with reassured me that they would have EVERYTHING they would need to fix it. Technician arrived. Diagnosed a brine tank leak and then said they would be back to install a new tank in a week or so. Came back and installed a new brine tank. Overall, we were charged for 3 hours of labor!! 3 hours for a brine tank leak I told them was the problem. So much for having a warranty.
Description of Work: Replaced brine tank
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
1.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
5.0
$180
Elaine L.
12/2014
5.0
water softeners
+ -1 more
We had a new faucet installed by a local plumbing company three days and and our Culligan under-sink water purification stopped working (this involved a pure water faucet, ice maker and water dispenser in refrigerator on #3. Our plumber came out and said it was the purification system that apparently needed new filters. While he was here I called Culligan for service. The next available date for service is January 13, 2015; the call was placed before 9:30 a.m. on December 23, 2014. THREE WEEKS for service is POOR SERVICE.
Description of Work: The provider did nothing.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Maria B.
11/2014
1.0
water softeners
+ -1 more
not well, not worth our money when the rental unit didn't work right at all. They told us to keep the salt low as to the water level low. I've never heard that and always seen salt barrels filled at least half full.
Description of Work: Installed the system a little over a year and half, we kept it filled with salt. The system was always off or not working, and not using the salt inside the barrel. When we contacted Culligan, they scheduled their check visits two or three weeks out. The system was not working and it meant we would not have the service we paid rental for.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
2.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$30
Jim C.
10/2014
5.0
plumbing, water delivery, water softeners
+ 1 more
Much better experience. Fixed issue and honored a warranty on some equipment that had gone bad.
Description of Work: change out on warrantied equipment
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
Yes, I recommend this pro
$30
Shirley B.
07/2014
4.0
water softeners
+ -1 more
Fine, resin returned with refurbished part when promised. However, upon leaving for vacation we noticed a part that wasn't put back in place. We are going to try and fix it.
Description of Work: Serviced with replacement of resin.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$250
Response from Culligan Water Conditioning of Indianapolis
Mrs. [removed member name], we would like to reschedule another service call in order to see what part was left off at time of previous repair . I show we replaced the seal pak & I am not sure if the service man might have left the old one we replaced. I am happy to see you were happy with your service otherwise. thank you Kathy
Rachelle H.
07/2014
5.0
plumbing, water softeners
+ 0 more
On july 4th, our water softener was giving us an error message and draining water- we called Culligan for advice on how to handle the issue. The on-call person called returned our call promptly and gave us a couple of suggestions for resetting the computer chip in the equipment. When these didn't work - we called again. He again promptly returned our call and talked my husband through the process of by-passing the softener and shutting it off. We really appreciated that because we really did not want the added expense of an emergency weekend- call. On Monday the 7th, we recieved a call from Culligan asking if we still needed the softener fixed and were able to schedule a repair.
Description of Work: We had a problem with our water softener over the holiday weekend.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Response from Culligan Water Conditioning of Indianapolis
Mrs. [removed member name], Thank you for taking the time to rate our service. All feed back helps us to maintain good service for all our customer & is greatly appreciated. Thank you again Kathy
Elizabeth S.
07/2014
5.0
water softeners
+ -1 more
It was a new product. We had a problem but they came out and solved it. As a matter of fact, solving the problem now led to them being able to not have that problem with anybody else because they corrected it as soon as they got there. It was an installation problem. It is not a problem any longer for anybody and it really wasn't much of a problem for us. I am okay with it. They were all professional, from the technician, to the salesman and the people I spoke to at the office
Description of Work: I used Culligan Water Conditioning of Indianapolis to put in a new water softener for us.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,000
Response from Culligan Water Conditioning of Indianapolis
Ms. (member name removed), Thank you for your feedback, I am happy we could resolve the installation problem. we are very happy you had a good experience with our company. Thanks Kathy
Jenny P.
06/2014
2.0
water softeners
+ -1 more
We are finally looking to replace Culligan. After so many attempts to get them to actually bring the salt at a similar time every delivery and to actually do it when someone is here so they can load it is just not possible. For what we have paid monthly over the years we can replace this with something better and with a better company. Last time I actually called was back in Dec. of 2013. Supervisor assured me she would call me back. Guess what.........its June 30th. Still waiting. But in hind sight we should have written this sooner and will certainly know what we are looking for as a replacement for this product but mostly the service.
Description of Work: We pay a monthly charge to keep the conditioner under coverage and to have the salt delivered and installed.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
2.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
2.0
$26.95
GARY B.
06/2014
2.0
water softeners
+ -1 more
On June 5, 2013 I was moving from my address at 5730 east 16th street. I had called Culligan Water Conditioning 6901 East 38th street, Indianapolis, Indiana 46226, 317-591-9999.to have them remove their water softener that I had been renting since at least 2007. A technician arrived to do the uninstall of the water softener on that same day. I noticed the water lines to the water heater were not reinstalled. When I first had the water softener installed, I only wanted the makeup water for the hot water heater softened. The makeup , city water, was not reinstalled to the water heater nor was the distribution from the hot water heater. A friend of mine and her family decided to rent the house from me. The first thing that had to be done was reestablish water to the makeup and discharge to the water heater. I had my renter take some pictures illustrating that the water lines had not been connected by the Culligan’s service man and I sent these by email to John Cox at Culligan. I have yet to receive a reply.
Description of Work: FAILED TO REESTABLISH WATER SERVICE
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
4.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
3.0
$561
Nichole B.
06/2014
1.0
water softeners
+ -1 more
They seem not to have enough staff to actually support their customers. The wait time is horrible to get your equipment fixed, mean while your are paying the full rental rate. I had to call several times and was able to speak with the office manager to get some help. One lady answering the phone was really rude. Only when I complained and told them we had skin issues and we needed our water fixed did they send out a technician After renting for years this experience made us to decide to have them pull their unit out and we bought a softener from another business. Oh - and they don't pro-rate... so we paid for month for unit. Don't get any of our money back. Customer service and phone manners are still important!
Description of Work: Fix / take out our softener
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
1.0
Response from Culligan Water Conditioning of Indianapolis
{removed member name}, I am very sorry Culligan has lost you as a valued customer. We are having some staffing problems which has thrown are service to be out. We do not like to be scheduling so far out due to the hardship on our customers. As I explained when I had spoken to you we are trying to take each customer on a one on one basis. I also want to apologize if your were spoken to rudely when you called I for the service. I will look into who you spoke with so we can address that issue. We value all our customers & want our customer to reflect this. Your account has been credited the June rent that was on the account. I again apologize for the experience you had with Culligan & more importantly I am sorry we have lost you as a customer. Sincerely, Kathy Goetz Office Manager
Frank T D.
05/2014
4.0
plumbing, water softeners
+ 0 more
Called for service and they set up an appointment about two weeks out. The service tech (Bill) arrived on time and was very professional. He noted that the water conditioner needed a part replaced and informed me of the cost. He had the part on the service truck, so I approved the replacement and he did the replacement and adjusted the softner's settings without any problems. Replacing the filters on the RO under-sink water filter was a different story. The tech could not stop it from leaking (he stated that he did not have the correct parts in the truck). So he took the entire filter assembly back to the shp for repair. I ended up having to call the shop for a status after a week and was told that it was being worked on. After another week, I called and was told that they would schedule it to be re-installed the following week. A total of about three weeks from start to finish. Anyway, the tech came out and re-installed the filters. I waited for 24 hours to allow time for the tanks/lines to refill and still no water! The bright spot is that Bill called me and said that he had realized that the lines were hooked up incorrectly and would be out the next morning (Saturday) to fix. He came out, redid the lines and all worked fine. There was no service call charge to re-install the RO filter mechanism for which I was grateful. Good things about this company: Professionalism and courtesy of the staff and technician. Punctuality of the technician and his ability to service the water softner. They honored a 10% discount coupon I had without any hesitation. Not so good things about this company: They must be busy because it takes a couple of weeks to get someone out. They could have communicated the status of my RO filter repair better. Overall, I would use them again. I gave them a "B" due to the time lag and spotty communication.
Description of Work: Service water softner and replaced Reverse Osmosis filters for the under sink water filter.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$198
Marie L.
04/2014
5.0
water softeners
+ -1 more
Called to tell me when they would be at my home with my salt delivery. Carried 12 bags of salt down to the basement in the pouring rain and were careful to make sure their feet we clean and dry. Made sure the water softener had a full tank of salt and stacked the rest neatly for me.
Description of Work: delivered 12 bags of salt
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$110
Wilma F.
03/2014
5.0
water softeners
+ -1 more
He explained a lot to me about the reverse osmosis system. I did have a problem with it a couple of days after installation, but he came and solved it very quickly. I was pleased with the service I received.
Description of Work: Bill, the man who installed the softener and ROS was very nice.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$2,500
Ron & Patricia C.
02/2014
2.0
water softeners, plumbing
+ 0 more
Customer service (phone) was uncooperative with information to help solve a water softner problem.
Description of Work: Called for help with a water softner problem. Customer service was uncooperative and unhelpful.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
2.0
Todd C.
02/2014
5.0
water softeners
+ -1 more
Paul called 10 minutes ahead of arrival during appointment tiem frame. Price was a s promised. Did not try to sell anything that wasn't needed very pleased with call.
Description of Work: 1. Service all to check overall perfomance of system. 2. Check quality of drinking water AC-30 system.
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.
*Contact business to see additional licenses.
Service Categories
Water Filtration and Softening,
Plumbing,
Water Coolers,
Water Heaters
FAQ
Culligan Water Conditioning of Indianapolis is currently rated 4 overall out of 5.
Sunday: Closed
Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday: Closed
Culligan Water Conditioning of Indianapolis accepts the following forms of payment: American Express,Check,Discover,Financing Available,MasterCard,Visa
Yes, Culligan Water Conditioning of Indianapolis offers free project estimates.
No, Culligan Water Conditioning of Indianapolis does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
No, Culligan Water Conditioning of Indianapolis does not offer a senior discount.
Yes, Culligan Water Conditioning of Indianapolis offers emergency services.
Yes, Culligan Water Conditioning of Indianapolis offers warranties.
Culligan Water Conditioning of Indianapolis offers the following services: Water softener, bottled water, water filter, water filtration, drinking water, soft water, hard water, softener salt, water cooler, water delivery, softener repair, reverse osmosis, water service, & in-line filter