Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

North Town Home Services

Appliance Repair, Heating and Air Conditioning, Appliance Repair - Small

About us

Since 1927, we have been providing expert appliance repair service, as well as HVAC repair and replacement services. From our highly skilled technicians to our professional sales and support staff, it is our hope that you will be absolutely satisfied with this one-of-a-kind, world-class experience. Uniformed Technicians. Background checked and Drug Tested employees. No Subcontractors. Additional email - mpaxton@nthomeservice.com. We accept all major credit cards and checks.

Business highlights

95 years of trusted experience

Services we offer

Appliance repair of ovens, ranges, microwaves, refrigerators, dishwashers, washers/dryers & high-end grills. All major brands including Sub-Zero, Thermador, Bosch, Viking, Dacor,Scotsman, U-line, Frigidaire, GE, Kitchen-Aid, Whirlpool, Maytag, Amana. Installation of heating & air conditioning systems, humidifiers, Thermostats.

Services we don't offer

Hot water heaters.

Amenities

Warranties
Yes


Accepted payment methods

American Express
Check
Discover
MasterCard
Visa

Photos of past projects

Reviews

4.489 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
71%
4
10%
3
3%
2
6%
1
10%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.6
value
4.1
professionalism
4.5
responsiveness
4.6
punctuality
4.7
Showing 1-25 of 89 reviews

John L.
01/2019
2.0
appliance repair
  + -1 more
I placed an service inquiry online and North Town Home Services responded within 10 minutes. The caller was gracious and professional. Because they are not in Chicago the trip charge and assessment was quoted at $142 with any subsequent labor to be billed at $180/hour. It's the highest cost I found online. Let's face it... between the initial charge and a couple of hours of labor, the $500 gets you most of the way to a new washing machine with a multi-year warranty. No, thank you!
Description of Work: The repair of a washing machine

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
value
1.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0


Viswanath K.
09/2017
2.0
appliance repair
  + -1 more
I called on a Saturday- person on the phone wanted information but then said we can get someone out Monday (labor day) when I said can you confirm for sure they said no Tuesday. when people call on weekends you need to be clear on what the customer needs. unprofessional
Description of Work: dishwasher was pooling water

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
responsiveness
1.0


Response from North Town Home Services
Hello. My apologies for your experience on Saturday. You actually reached our after hours answering service. Our office hours are Mon-Fri 8am-4:30pm, and we are closed major Holidays. I will personally address this issue with our answering service. I'm hoping you can contact me directly to discuss your review. Please contact me at 800-533-0030, Mon-Fri. Thank you. Matt Paxton VP of Operations

JANET T.
08/2017
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
  + -1 more
We have used them for about 10 years and they provide a twice a year maintenance on both the AC and furnace units. They do a wonderful job and the technicians are always pleasant. a
Description of Work: AC Tune-up

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from North Town Home Services
Hello, Thank you for the kind review. We look forward to servicing you again. Please keep us in mind for your appliance repair needs as well. Matt

ADENA P S.
10/2016
5.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
  + -1 more
It was easy to contact and to schedule an appointment at a time convenient for me. Northtown gave me a reminder call the day before (always helpful). On the scheduled day the HVAC technician arrived promptly and checked over my heating system thoroughly and competently. He gave me information about the condition of the boiler, telling me what was in great shape and what might need a replacement in years to come. A very good experience.
Description of Work: I hired Northtown Services to do a pre-winter checkup on the boiler of my gas hot water home heating system. I have used their services for several years.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$70

Nancy S.
07/2015
1.0
appliance repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac
  + 0 more
After sending 2 repair techs on 3 separate visits, North Town was unable to repair the refrigerator. Both repair techs checked the condenser and fan but were unwilling to look elsewhere for a problem, i.e. open the back of the refrigerator to look at the thermostat and cooling coils. The initial tech (who returned twice even after I had requested that they send someone else) was belligerent and uncooperative. As no service was performed, I requested a refund for the service call which I did receive. I would not recommend this company ever.
Description of Work: Emergency repair of 22 year old Subzero refrigerator

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0


Response from North Town Home Services
We do apologize that we were unable to complete the repairs on your unit. We do strive to make sure that all of our customers are satisfied with their service. Unfortunately there were some issues that arrived during the service calls that were not foreseen. The Vice President of Operations did address the issues accordingly after the last service call. Again, please accept North Town Home Service's apology for your unacceptable experience with your service.

alfred D.
07/2015
5.0
appliance repair, small appliance repair
  + 0 more
They are all very knowledgeable and experienced. I would reccommend them, and use them again myself. It was a great experience.
Description of Work: They repaired multiple appliances in my home.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from North Town Home Services
Thank you for your kind comments. Were looking forward to servicing you again.

Gregory S.
02/2015
5.0
appliance repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac
  + 0 more
Another excellent experience with North Town Home Services. Technician Josh, during a furnace maintenance visit, had already correctly diagnosed a failing motor bearing and an important, but missing, filter guard. The result had been a rumbling when the furnace ran. "Rumble" is one of those complaints that always worries because it can be difficult to diagnose. But Josh got it right, and once parts arrived, he made the repair - fabricating the missing filter guard on-site and removing an old piece of filter stuck in the motor housing. (The missing guard had permitted damage to filters.) Like his colleague Mike, Josh knows his way around what he works on. (Mike is the expert on our old, but capable, Sub Zero refrigerator.) Very satisfied.
Description of Work: Warranty motor replacement for our Carrier furnace. Installation of filter guard that was omitted when furnace was installed by prior owner in 2012.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$425

Response from North Town Home Services
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you had a great experience with our company. We're looking forward to servicing you again. Thanks!

alfred D.
12/2014
5.0
appliance repair
  + -1 more
it went very well they gave me an estimate before starting. he had part on truck.also look at my furnace for any obvious problems since he was there at no extra charge.this is a good company they do all appliances heating and air conditioning one stop service company very good and professional
Description of Work: they came out same day because my dishwasher was leaking

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$324

Response from North Town Home Services
Thank you for your comments. It's great to hear that you had a wonderful experience with North Town Home Services. We look forward to servicing you again in the future.

JANET T.
11/2014
5.0
appliance repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac
  + 0 more
Dan arrived right when he said he would, and quickly diagnosed the broken igniter on our gas range. He not only had the part in the truck, but also the new burner tube that was required. He was pleasant, helpful and got the job done fast. He was even nice to our cat who wanted to help supervise the work. All good things when your oven quits working the weekend before Thanksgiving! We contract with North Town for our twice annual HVAC maintenance and this is the second time we've had a technician out to take a look at an appliance. Without exception, the service we have received from North Town has been top notch.
Description of Work: After scheduling a service visit on Thursday, in response to our phone message Wednesday night, we saw the technician on Friday. He called in the morning to let us know that our scheduled time would be between 3pm & 5pm. I let him know that since both my husband and I would be home, if he took any cancellations, he could come earlier. He called at 11:15am and asked if he could come early and we said, "Sure!"

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$385

Response from North Town Home Services
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It's great to hear you had an exceptional experience with our company. Were looking forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you again!

Carol L.
11/2014
5.0
appliance repair
  + -1 more
Arrived on time to diagnose the problem. Needed a part, which they arranged to have Fed Ex'd to their office THE SAME DAY! Superb service and friendly people!!
Description of Work: Repaired a major appliance.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$160

Response from North Town Home Services
Thank you for your kind comments. Its our goal to provide 100% customer satisfaction. We look forward to servicing you again. Thank you!

Meaghan W.
10/2014
5.0
appliance repair
  + -1 more
It want great. They called me to tell me when they were coming, and were in and out very fast.
Description of Work: We had 2 refrigerators that needed service. A GE Monogram and a ULine under cabinet. They replaced a fan motor the ULine and a mother board on the GE.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$500

Response from North Town Home Services
Thank you very much for your comments. Were glad to hear you had a great experience with us. Were looking forward to servicing you again. Thank you for your continued business.

Ann W.
10/2014
5.0
appliance repair
  + -1 more
The repairman, Al, arrived at the scheduled time. Everything went well. He fixed the clogged drain pipe without any problems and had the parts in his truck so it was same day service. I was extremely satisfied with the whole process.
Description of Work: My washer wasn't working properly so I called North Town and Al came to my home at the scheduled time. He fixed my clogged drain pipe and had his parts readily available on his truck and it was a great price. $109 for everything. He did a great job and I would recommend him to anyone. A++ service.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$109

Response from North Town Home Services
Thank you for your comments. It's great to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us. Please keep us in mind for your future Appliance and Heating/Cooling needs. Thank you.

alfred D.
09/2014
4.0
appliance repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac
  + 0 more
Very good same day new the problem quoted before had part on truck very good
Description of Work: AC not working

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
3.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$525

Response from North Town Home Services
Thank you for your comments. It's our goal at North Town Home Services to provide outstanding service. Thank you for your continued business.

sybil M.
08/2014
5.0
appliance repair
  + -1 more
Al was very prompt in meeting the appointment time. He made sure that the area was clean during and after the service. He was very efficient in the repair and replacement of the parts needed. My refrigerator now works like it should. I don't have to turn it up to the coolest level to just keep the food refrigerated.
Description of Work: Cleaned and replaced coil evaporator system in my Sub Zero refrigerator.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$895

Response from North Town Home Services
Thank you for your comments and continued business. We look forward to serving you again.

Ann W.
07/2014
5.0
appliance repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac
  + 0 more
My refrigerator was not cooling. I call North Town Home services. The office staff made sure that I had same day service and Al came that same day as promised. He replaced the thermostat and had the part in his truck which was great that it was fixed the same day. They are a great company, had very efficient service. Price was great for labor and parts. I will be calling them again if I have any other issues and will recommend them as well. Thanks North Town for the great job!!
Description of Work: Replaced a new thermostat

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$395

Response from North Town Home Services
Thank you for your comments. Our goal at North Town Home Services is 100% customer satisfaction. I'm glad to hear you had a great experience. Thank you for your continued business.

alfred D.
07/2014
5.0
appliance repair
  + -1 more
very good on time had parts on truck. al the best
Description of Work: repair my dryer

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$286

Response from North Town Home Services
Thank you for you comments and continued business. We look forward to serving you again.

KAREN K.
02/2014
2.0
appliance repair
  + -1 more
I will begin this by saying that as a consumer, I should have been much more diligent in following up on what was necessary on my system. But I thought I was hiring professionals who would give me professional service and advice. That being said, the service went very poorly. Josh was the one who came to our home. Because of work, my son Jeff was there (age 29) so that there was someone to discuss issues or get in touch with me. When Josh was done, he gave Jeff a form that listed what was supposed to be done, but was very unclear. He said that the humidifier would not work because it needed a new filter. Josh did not provide the filter, and did not say that there was any necessary charge. He just left. I was brought the form. The report--and the issues with it are below. 1. "I didn't see any high current draws on the motors." 2. Humidifier is leaking water if running. *Change humidifier pad. 3. the igniter is getting warn out. I recommend replacing igniter.. 4. Keep up on Heppa Maintenance. I got a call later in the day stating that the reason that the humidifier pad was not changed is that there was no one there to pay for it! As to #2 and #4 above, I was told that getting the appropriate filters would be $646, plus the cost of a humidifier pad and igniter. I decided to ask for other recommendations and called another company. Note that North Town has been working on my system since about 2007. In the beginning, no one charged me separately for the UV bulb required for my furnace and Heppa filter. In 2012 was the first time I was charged for that. I was told that the HEPPA filter needed to be changed and that it "hadn't been done since they had worked on the system." Their own notes show that they changed it, but have not said or done anything since. The recommendation is that it needs changing every 2-3 years. Also, there is a unique system of filters required for the HEPPA. There is the huge HEPPA changed every 2-3 years (not done in over 5 years). There are 2 box filters that are supposed to be changed every 6 months, that have not been commented on or supplied in at least 2 years. There are carbon filters that are to be changed every month that were supplied for the first time in 2012, and at that time, I was sent 2 boxes of those, but no other filters. Another company came out, and immediately changed the humidifier pad, and HURRAY--the humidifier is instantly working! They also told me about the filters that were necessary as listed above, and gave me the information to find them online. I have ordered them, and the total cost was UNDER $475! That includes the HEPPA! But the most disturbing issue is #1 above. The new company told me that the system was constantly "turning over"--in other words, getting to a point where it needed to shut down to cool down. They were there for a while because they not only checked the gas controls and the temperature, but called Carrier to find out if there was something strange. They found that someone (I can't say that it was definitely North Town) had adjusted all the settings outside of recommended amounts. My furnace, which should reset at 175 degrees had been readjusted to 225 degrees! We are very lucky that we had not had any serious issues. Again, I cannot state that North Town is the one that did the resetting. HOWEVER, if they are professional, they would have noted the settings that were out of range, and would have had them reset accordingly sometime during the LAST 7 YEARS! Besides writing this review, which I hope will get someone to realistically evaluate their system before calling North Town, I will not have them back in my home. The maintenance agreement amount I paid should more than cover the lack of service I received, and they will not be back.
Description of Work: came for annual check up of furnace and humidifier

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
2.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0

$189

Response from North Town Home Services
I do apologize that [Member name removed] is not satisfied with our services. It is correct that the reason why the humidifier pad wasn’t replaced is because there was no form of payment left for any additional service. Per North Town policy no additional work is to be performed without authorization or a form of payment being present. The technician listed replacing the pad, replacing the igniter & performing heppa maintenance under the recommendations of service that is needed-which all of our technicians do when there is additional work needed. Our office contacted [Member name removed] with 2 quotes, 1 to change the UV bulb & the heppa filters which was $595.65 with her preferred customer discount for parts and labor & 1 to change the ignitor & humidifier pad which was $163.48 parts & labor with her discount. Maintaining the Heppa system & UV bulbs are not covered under [Member name removed] service agreement therefore it must be requested by the customer in order to perform maintenance. After looking through her history we did find that during the August 2011 maintenance call-which is the last time we looked at her heppa system- the technician did change the heppa filter & didn’t charge the customer for parts or labor-which was an error on the technicians part. The service calls previous to that in 2010 show that she was not charged for replacing the UV bulb because it was replaced under warranty but she was charged for replacing the Heppa pack ($260.00). We found no issues with the customer’s furnace besides it needing a new ignitor-which we quoted her on. We also have not received any calls from [Member name removed] that there was an issue with the furnace shutting down. We have performed maintenance on the customers furnace annually since 2007 with the only year that service wasn’t done being 2013. Nothing was ever found during the maintenance showing that there was a problem with the settings of the unit or with it shutting down.

Cynthia M.
07/2013
1.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
  + -1 more
They do heating cooling, appliances, everything. I had a contract with them. I think they went totally corporate. The problem I had with them as I said I was a customer for a long time and I have a roof top air conditioner. You need 40' ladders to get up there. For years it was fine. They decided they did not want to do roof ones anymore because of insurance. But they didn't inform their customers that they had stopped the service even though I had a contract for air conditioning. I had a problem and they just said we can't. I said can you just recommend somebody and they no we can't find anybody on line. Well that's crazy. They just abandoned the customer. I used them for forty years.
Description of Work: North Town Home Services they did several things for me. The last time they came out and did the clean up and inspection.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
4.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

$250

shana L.
04/2013
1.0
appliance repair
  + -1 more
Could not recommend. We used the company to fix our stove, the thermometer broke. Paid a lot to have an evaluation. Paid a lot for them to order the part and install it. The service person was average not particularly thorough or helpful. The part they installed failed 6 weeks later. I called and they want us to pay to have the same service person come out to evaluate and would have to pay again for labor. Apparently they only warranty their labor for 30 days. But the oven company (not North Town) will warranty the part for 90 days. NO Thank YOu. I will call one of the Diamond repair in Chicagoland area (we have used both companies as we did not realize they are 2 different companies with a silmilar name until recently) But both were good and reasonbly priced.
Description of Work: Could not recommend. We used the company to fix our stove, the thermometer broke. Paid a lot to have an evaluation. Paid a lot for them to order the part and install it. The service person was average not particularly thorough or helpful. The part they installed failed 6 weeks later. I called and they want us to pay to have the same service person come out to evaluate and would have to pay again for labor. Apparently they only warranty their labor for 30 days. But the oven company (not North Town) will warranty the part for 90 days. NO Thank YOu. I will call one of the Diamond repair in Chicagoland area (we have used both companies as we did not realize they are 2 different companies with a silmilar name until recently) But both were good and reasonbly priced.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
5.0

$620

RICHARD G.
04/2013
5.0
appliance repair
  + -1 more
had to order a part and then return to complete the repair. Price seemed high overall but the repair was well done. They are a relatively expensive option but will do it right.
Description of Work: Repaired light in hood of viking range

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$500

Scott M.
01/2013
5.0
appliance repair
  + -1 more
Timely, honest, and good service
Description of Work: Fixed my Bosch dish washer which had a broken valve and was leaking

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
3.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$450

chris K.
10/2012
4.0
heating & air conditioning/hvac
  + -1 more
I believe the work is good, but the customer service aspect is getting flaky. I've used them for years. Recently someone came over for a check without a ladder -all the units in my condominium are on the roof, and they've been servicing these units for years. Again, the work itself has always been really good. I will use them while I have this furnace but I probably will move forward with another company when I purchase a new furnace. Their bid for new hvac systems were very non-competitive.
Description of Work: I have a heating and cooling service contract with them. I had them come out for a call.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
3.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$189

kevin L.
03/2011
4.0
small appliance repair
  + -1 more
The person was nice, efficient but wouldn't comment on what was wrong with the Best Hood.. Told me the office would call the next day with quote on how much it would cost to fix it. The next day they called and said it would be $1243.00. I asked them to break it down and she said they quote parts and labor all in one and she couldn't do that. So then I asked specifically what was wrong and she said she would have to talk to the technician and call me back. Which she did the next day but would still not price out what the transformers would cost apiece. I called a different service company who came right away and fixed the problem for $124.00. It wasn't the transformers but simply a fuse. I sure am glad I called for a second quote!
Description of Work: I called to have them look at the lights in my Best Hood which were not working and cleaning my Sub Zero Refrig vent and fan.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

$187

Response from North Town Home Services
We at North town really appreciate all of your feedback. I would like to explain a couple things that I was possibly not clear about during our phone conversation. I am sorry that I could not answer your questions regarding the transformers for your hood. However I am not a technician and had to give Dan a call to find the answers for you. Which I did and called you back immediately. As for the break down we do not have a break down between parts and labor. We have flat rate pricing which is based on a national average for both time and material. This price also includes your warranty on the repair. I would also like to add that the estimate we supplied for you contained additional parts that you had requested. If our diagnosis was not correct, North Town stands behind all of its work. We have been in business over 75 years and feel very strongly about our reputation. Please fax over a copy of the invoice from the other company and I will be more than happy to refund the cost of the diagnosis for the hood. Everyone can make a mistake and I would like to show this to my technician so he can learn from it. Our fax # is 847-593-2570 and please make it to the attention of Lynda. We would very much like to remedy this situation for you. If you have any further service needs please do not hesitate to call North Town and ask for me, Lynda. I am the Service/Office manager. We will extend a free service call to you in appreciation for your business. Thank you, Lynda

MATTHEW P.
08/2010
1.0
appliance repair
  + -1 more
The technician came to evaluate the problem with a Bosch dishwasher that wasn't draining properly. He took the drain hose off the dishwasher, put it in the bucket, and ran a cycle. Since the water drained out of the dishwasher, he said that it problem was a clogged stand pipe, which needed to be routed. We got a plumber to come out and do that work, at a cost of $315 -- but the plumber didn't find any blockage in the pipe. The plumber also showed me that the draining flow from the dishwasher was very slow, and that the dishwasher didn't drain properly with the drain hose disconnected from the stand pipe, if the drain hose was held up from the floor at the level it would be if it were connected to the pipe. I called North Town again, and they sent somebody out, although it took two weeks to find a time when somebody would be home -- North Town has very limited service hours, and they were not willing to be more accommodating than usual, despite the difficulties they had charged. Although they didn't charge for this second evaluation, the person doing the service call told me that we needed a new drain pump (which I already knew), and claimed that the routing of the pipe had been necessary -- something he couldn't possibly have known, since he didn't look into the pump himself, and something that isn't true. North Town called back later with a quote of over $500 to replace the drain pump and drain hose. (I don't think there's anything wrong with the hose, and the pump costs about $70.) When I explained the situation to them, they offered only a 10% discount (which is available to anybody on Angie's List, or anybody who gets their coupons in the mail), and did nothing to compensate for the fact that I had wasted many hours and over $300 fixing a problem that didn't exist. Update: The response from North Town seems to miss the point. The stand pipe was not blocked. I try telling them this, and I get a bunch of B.S. -- from the technician, on the phone, and now in this response. There was no drainage issue, no faulty plumbing, no blocked stand pipe. The test the technician did was wrong -- with the host disconnected from the stand pipe, the dishwasher didn't drain properly. I saw this for myself. I understand that people make mistakes. But when they do, a professional company responds with an apology and an attempt to make things better, not by pretending they did everything right and implying that I don't know what I'm talking about. Also, when I told the CSR on the phone that a 10% discount was the same thing that I could get already from Angie's List, she didn't say anything about it being an additional discount. I hope people read this message in order to get an idea of the level of honesty they can expect from this company.
Description of Work: Evaluation of a dishwasher that wasn't draining properly.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
2.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$119

Response from North Town Home Services
I am very sorry you did not have a good experience with our company. I checked with the technician who was at your home. He said that he drained the dishwasher several times and the unit drained completely. This would indicate an issue with the stand pipe. We are careful not to replace parts unless we are sure they are needed. This is why our tech recommended calling a plumber as we do not work on plumbing pipes themselves. Unfortunately drainage issues can cause problems to the machine itself. Our tech feels the strain to the motor from the blocked stand pipe may have caused the drain pump motor to then fail. As for the hose, food particles can back into it from the faulty plumbing. Replacing this is a precautionary measure. As for the quote, we always call with quotes when the repair becomes costly. This gives the customer an educated choice on whether to repair or replace the unit. I was not in the office when your call came in, but I have spoken to the CSR who took the call. The 10% discount for your troubles would have been in addition to the Angie's List discount. I sincerely hope you will reconsider and should the need arise call us for service. Lynda

Scott K.
07/2010
5.0
appliance repair
  + -1 more
Excellent repair, however dishwasher motor needed replacement. Company gave a large quote for the dishwasher (~$ 500) that included parts that were double what they were on internet (according to them is industry standard). In their defense, they guarantee the part and offer a **much** longer warranty than the internet (12 months vs 1 month). Obviously one has to weigh the guarantee vs the cost. I still think that perhaps the cost was not fully reasonable.
Description of Work: Company contacted to repair dishwasher. Asked while on site to repair ice maker as well. Repair of Ice maker and Analysis of dishwasher was about $175.00

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
2.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

$175

Response from North Town Home Services
I am sorry you did not have a good experience with our company. Prices found on the internet are not the same as our suppliers. We order from reputable companies that buy the parts directly from the manufactures. This insures your appliance has the correct manufactures part. Unfortunately I can not compete with all the parts companies on line selling discounted parts from unknown sources. Our prices do include a full 1 year warranty on the part and 30 days on the labor. Also with your Angies List discount the price would be 10% lower. As I informed you on the phone, you may choose to purchase the part yourself and we can install it. However we can not offer a warranty with that type of repair. If you find you need assistance in the future please reconsider and give us a call. Ask for me directly, Lynda

Contact information

5420 Newport Dr, ROLLING MEADOWS, IL 60008

http://www.nthomeservice.com

Service hours

Monday:
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday:
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday:
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday:
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday:
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Licensing

Insured

No License Required for Trade
State Contractor License Requirements

All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

*Contact business to see additional licenses.


Service Categories

Appliance Repair,
Heating and Air Conditioning,
Appliance Repair - Small

FAQ

North Town Home Services is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

North Town Home Services accepts the following forms of payment: American Express,Check,Discover,MasterCard,Visa
No, North Town Home Services does not offer free project estimates.
No, North Town Home Services does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
No, North Town Home Services does not offer a senior discount.
No, North Town Home Services does not offer emergency services.
Yes, North Town Home Services offers warranties.
North Town Home Services offers the following services: Appliance repair of ovens, ranges, microwaves, refrigerators, dishwashers, washers/dryers & high-end grills. All major brands including Sub-Zero, Thermador, Bosch, Viking, Dacor,Scotsman, U-line, Frigidaire, GE, Kitchen-Aid, Whirlpool, Maytag, Amana. Installation of heating & air conditioning systems, humidifiers, Thermostats.
Hot water heaters.

Contact information

5420 Newport Dr, ROLLING MEADOWS, IL 60008

http://www.nthomeservice.com

Service hours

Monday:
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday:
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday:
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday:
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday:
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM