Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Swanson's Home Leisure Products

Pool and Spa Service

About us

Retail sales and service of spas, hot tubs, whirlpool baths & saunas. Award winning.

Business highlights

47 years of trusted experience
Emergency Services Offered

Services we offer

Sales, installations of new and used spas, hot tubs, saunas, repairs to all makes, including whirlpool baths.

Services we don't offer

Pool installations.

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Emergency Services
Yes


Accepted payment methods

Check

Reviews

4.613 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
77%
4
8%
3
0%
2
0%
1
8%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.6
value
4.3
professionalism
4.4
responsiveness
4.6
punctuality
4.6
Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews

David C.
08/2013
5.0
pool cleaners
  + -1 more
Very responsive, clean and friendly. The work performed went well, and was done efficiently.
Description of Work: I hired this company to come to my home and work on my hot tub. It was receiving no power.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$85

Response from Swanson's Home Leisure Products
Thank You [removed member name] ! We sure appreciate your business.

Richards L.
01/2013
5.0
pool cleaners
  + -1 more
it was during the Holidays so I didn't expect a rapid appointment. He came out in about a week and fixed the leak. it was a loose fitting so no parts were involved and he was here less than an hour. He charged me the minimum hourly rate. I'm sure with travel time he spent more than an hour on my call, but he only charged for the time at my house. After I filled the spa and turned it on (remember it sat idle for three months) I discovered the heater didn't work. I called Eric. Again he was back within a week and he diagnosed the problem as a bad heater element. He had the right part on the truck and replace the heating element quickly. The spa is up and running and working properly. Eric was knowledgeable, prompt, and reasonable. I will use him again if my spa needs more work.
Description of Work: My spa had a leak. I turned it off and let it sit for about three months. With the weather getting colder I wanted to get it fixed before it froze and did some real damage. I found Eric through Angies list and gave him a call. He came out in about a week and fixed the leak. About two weeks later I called him back to fix the heater.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$285

John T.
10/2012
1.0
pool cleaners
  + -1 more
He replaced a broken pipe and epoxied a jet. He told me he was quite confident that what he did would solve the problem. I asked him and quot;How can you guarantee that it's not going to leak?and quot; and he said that I had to let the epoxy dry and that could take up to 2 days. Then he said he wants his money now. I didn't know if I wanted to pay him because I didn't know if the problem was solved or if it would continue to leak and his response was, and quot;trust me, its solved, its fixed.and quot; I took him on his word and paid him because he let me know that if I didn't pay him he would not have come back out to check on the hot tub if I had any additional problems. He said if I didn't pay I would have to pay another service call and he got very aggressive with me and acted very unprofessionally. The whole time he was here he behaved extremely unprofessional and he acted liked he was doing me a favor by coming out and looking at the hot tub even though he was charging me $85/an hour. I waited a week for everything to settle and dry and then tried filling the tub full with water and 300 gallons of water leaked back out, so it was clear he didn't fix the problem. At that point I called him back and did all of the preliminary work for him. I prepped the area and filled it up again and noticed leaking in 2 more places. He said he would come out when he had another job in the area. I patiently waited and he waited two weeks and came out today. When he walked in he said, and quot;I will look at it, but you have to pay me.and quot; I was upset, because I already paid him $572 and he didn't fix the problem. He didn't say anything and went over and started looking at the hot tub. I asked him how much it was going to cost and he didn't respond and continued looking at the hot tub. He finally said that I needed new jets. He said there were broken jets that he didn't notice before and he could fix the problem. When I asked him how much it would be he said, and quot;I have no ideaand quot;. He wouldn't look me in the eye and tell me what he could do or how much it could cost. He then walked off of my property and said and quot;Good luck with your next hot tuband quot; and then drove away. He was the most unprofessional contractor I have ever worked with and he was very belligerent towards me. I am now $600 in the whole and still have a broken hot tub.
Description of Work: I called Swanson's Home Leisure Products in for a hotub that has not been in use for over a year and was leaking when I filled it. Eric Swanson came out and told me his rates and that he should be able to evaluate it and get it working.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$572.5

Response from Swanson's Home Leisure Products
This person told me that he had not used his spa for a couple of years and I asked if it had been winterized.He said no. It obviously had frozen up. This spa model/type is completely "foamed" in underneath for heat retention and structual support. This feature makes it very difficult to repair leaks because nothing can be seen leaking. I told him that I could remove the spa for $400.00 or I can repair it at $85.00 per hour. After 6 hours of chipping away at the foam I found 2 cracked pipes, and replaced those 2 18" sections. They were totaly spiraled cracked and at the lowest spot on the spa. I also found 1 jet with a hairline crack, so I epoxyed it. When I asked to be paid, he laughed at me. I said I would comeback the next day to fill & test the spa, but he would have to pay for my labor to do this. He said no. I told him that if any of the repairs I just did leaked, it would be on me. If more leaks occured in other places, it would be more money. I went back and checked my work at no charge and my repairs were holding. This guy was getting madder and madder at me and I felt like I had to end this relationship. Bottom line is this: he froze up his spa and he shouldn't be angry with me, but himself. After 34 years, this makes about 3 people that we and no one else with ever satisfy.

Christine M.
09/2012
4.0
pool cleaners
  + -1 more
several visits needed.
Description of Work: Eric responded promptly by phone, gave me prices in advance, replaced a pump and rewired a heater in my spa. Prices a bit steep, but dependable and knowledgeable service.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
3.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$880

Response from Swanson's Home Leisure Products
Member, Thank you for the nice review. Please keep in mind that we use high quality parts and take the time to order the correct parts. If it takes an extra service call, we always advise and ask for permission to continue so that our customers are aware of costs involved and can then make their own educated decisions. We appreciate happy customers ! Thank you for calling and trusting us with your spa !

Junu K.
07/2012
5.0
pool cleaners
  + -1 more
Eric has very good knowledge of these older Jacuzzi spas. He was able to tell us where the potential problems were and was honest about the fact that while he could check for all the leaks he could find that day, the spa may continue to have problems with leaks, and asked if we still wanted to do the repairs. We decided to go ahead to see if repair would work, because we are not in position to have bathroom remodeled. Lowest estimate for replacing spa and fixing surrounding bath is $30K. The original homeowner who had installed the spa inexplicably installed it in the upstairs master bathroom (spa is indoor or outdoor spa, but majority of people install it outside). It is at least 30 or 35 years old. We decided that Eric's pricing and knowledge was a reasonable way to determine if we could ever get use out of the old spa, instead of just looking at it every day. Eric spent over 2 hours at the house and working in the access panel, had everything he needed with him and knew exactly what we were dealing with and what to look for. He gave detailed instructions on how to care for the water when spa was filled and showed how to use the chemicals and answered other questions. Spa was filled and working when he left the house. Unfortunately, by the next day, another leak had sprung up in another part of the spa plumbing. We decided that even if we had Eric back to repair new leak, it was too risky to our home to keep this ancient spa filled and running while we were out (this is not the kind of spa you fill only when you use). Overall, we felt that the money spent was worth knowing if we could ever use this thing. Now we can move forward confidently with a decision about what to do with house/master bathroom. Eric is very straightforward, so you know what the realities are, which we appreciated. He does charge a fee for travel/estimate, which is part of the total cost we noted above.
Description of Work: Very old Jacuzzi spa that had been unused for years due to various leaks. It was checked for leaks/leaks repaired. We were instructed in how to use the spa, including filling spa properly, using filter and spa chemicals.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$277

Sharon S.
08/2011
5.0
pool cleaners
  + -1 more
He figured out the problem even though he wasn't sure he would be able to, and then he fixed it.
Description of Work: Swanson's Home Leisure Products came and fixed my spa.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$250

Response from Swanson's Home Leisure Products
Thank You, Member. We're glad you are a happy customer.

LIZ U.
03/2011
5.0
pool cleaners
  + -1 more
Eric kept us informed of repairs needed and the timeline to get the work done. First diagnosis appointment went smoothly. He was right on time and offered alternatives if we did not want to invest in the full repair. He came in, completed repair and relaced cover boards leaving no mess, just a working tub. Great work. Honesty was apparent.
Description of Work: Control panel, auxillary pump and blower repair on Maxxus 800

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,800

Response from Swanson's Home Leisure Products
Thank you, Member. It is a pleasure to work with you !

Betty M.
01/2011
5.0
pool cleaners
  + -1 more
Eric Swanson came out on the Saturday after Thanksgiving to identify and repair a leak in the tub. His diagnosis was quick, but he said the tub needed to be drained to do the work. He brought in a pump that emptied the tub in 20-30 minutes. He had appropriate parts on his truck, and repaired the leak in about one hour. The charge was $170. After several days I refilled the tub, and within days had more water leaking. I phoned Eric and made a date for him to come back in a week or so. Again he diagnosed the leak fairly quickly. It was a second leak - not a repeat of the one he had fixed. He again pumped the water out of the tub, got the needed parts from his truck and fixed the leak. The charge was $180. I waited three or four days, refilled the tub, and again within a few days had water leaking. I phoned Eric who agreed to return on an upcoming vacation day I had planned. This was a third leak and not a repeat of the two noted above. This one took some time to find, but Eric knows what he is doing and went through the process of identifying the location of the leak. Again, he drained the tub and repaired this difficult to reach leak. The charge was $340. He was honest enough to explain to me that the leaks were happening because of the way the PVC unions were made by the manufacturer of the tub. The tub was built in 1997 and perhaps at that time they did not use a primer on connections like they do today. He advised me to not put any more money into the tub if further leaks develop. I agree with his advice. I would recommend Swanson's to anyone needing repair service for their spa. Eric has been doing this work for 30 years and does a good job.
Description of Work: Repair of three separate leaks in my indoor hot tub

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$690

Response from Swanson's Home Leisure Products
As with a lot of spa made in the 90's, glue is a problem, not enough, no primer or just plain bad glue. It's hard to explain to customers what the problem really is, but this customer listened very well to our explanation and understood the problem very well. Sadly, this is a chronic problem, no matter who the manufacturer is/was. Hopefully in this case there will be no more leaks and this customer can enjoy their spa without further costly repairs. Thank You for the great comments ! Jeri Swanson

MARIE G.
04/2010
5.0
pool cleaners
  + -1 more
Went great. Problem solved.
Description of Work: We had a recurring problem with the hot tub shutting down and blinking for heat but not heating. We tried to figure it out but couldn't seem to solve it ourselves. We called Swansons and he came out right away and repaired it. This is the third time we'd had him out for different issues and each time he has been able to repair the problem on the spot. We recommened him to our neighbors and they were pleased. He's a knowledgeable guy.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$75

Response from Swanson's Home Leisure Products
Thank you for this positive report. Once again, we believe in giving our customers good service. By referring your neighbors it keeps us working close to home, nice these days with the price of gas ! Local work is best, we can get to our customers quickly in time of need.

Abby P.
06/2007
5.0
pool cleaners
  + -1 more
HE FOLLOWED UP WITH US IN THE SPRING. I WAS REALLY HAPPY WITH THE SERVICE.
Description of Work: THEY WINTERIZED OUR HOT TUB AND DIAGNOSED A PROBLEM WITH THE PUMPS ON THE HOT TUB AND WE FOUND OUT THAT ONE PUMP NEEDED REPLACEMENT.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from Swanson's Home Leisure Products
THANK YOU! IT'S A PLEASURE DOING BUSINESS WITH YOU AND GLAD YOUR HUSBAND WAS ABLE TO ADDRESS THE 2ND PROBLEM, SAVING YOU AN ADDITIONAL SERVICE CALL. JERI SWANSON

EVE N.
04/2007
5.0
pool cleaners
  + -1 more
It is such a relief to have had the jacuzzi repaired by someone who was familiar with the product and gave a fair price. Plumbers on the Northshore of Chicago are very expensive and not necessarily competent. Without Angie's List, I never would have found this resource. Use this contractor without worry regarding professionalism and common sense. Small business with spouse handling calls - easy to communicate with. Very down to earth and easy to talk to. Keep up the good work.
Description of Work: Eric repaired four different leaks in the Jacuzzi in the master bath that was leaking down into the living room ceiling. Finding someone who was not only familiar with the brand, but also would come out on a Saturday morning was such a relief! He ordered parts and came back again the following week to finalize the repair. He was competent, pleasant, knowledgeable and fair priced. I was asked to sign a waiver in case the fiberglass skirting cracked during removal to get at the plumbing, since the unit is ten years old. I did so, but the skirting was removed with great care and no mishaps occurred. I felt it was fair and professional of him to warn me.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$400

Response from Swanson's Home Leisure Products
THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR YOUR POSITIVE RESPONSE. TRUTH IS...ALL SERVICE SHOULD WORK JUST LIKE THIS. WE TRY TO BE AS THOROUGH AS POSSIBLE TO ELIMINATE CALL BACKS, AND KEEP THE CUSTOMER AWARE OF ALL POSSIBLE THINGS THAT COULD GO WRONG. THERE JUST SIMPLY ISN'T ANYTHING BETTER THAN A HAPPY CUSTOMER.

MARIE G.
09/2006
5.0
pool cleaners
  + -1 more
I was very impressed! We called on a Friday at 4pm and he was able to come out 8am the next morning. I'd called various places and all had told me it would take weeks to get someone out. The workman was very knowledgeable about spas and had worked on them for 20 years. He was pleasant and helpful. I would definitely give him a call for my hot tub needs in the future!
Description of Work: We called regarding a slow drip in our hot tub.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$105

    Contact information

    21400 W Sylvan Dr S, Mundelein, IL 60060

    www.swansonsspaandsauna.com

    Service hours

    Sunday:
    12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
    Monday:
    10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
    Tuesday:
    10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
    Wednesday:
    10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
    Thursday:
    10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
    Friday:
    10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
    Saturday:
    12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

    Licensing

    Insured

    Eco-friendly Accreditations

    LEED Accredited Professional
    No
    Energy Star Partner
    No
    EPA Lead-Safe Certified
    No
    Use Green Products or Work Practices
    Yes
    State Contractor License Requirements

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

    *Contact business to see additional licenses.


    Service Categories

    Pool and Spa Service

    FAQ

    Swanson's Home Leisure Products is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    Sunday: 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Saturday: 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM

    Swanson's Home Leisure Products accepts the following forms of payment: Check
    Yes, Swanson's Home Leisure Products offers free project estimates.
    Yes, Swanson's Home Leisure Products offers eco-friendly accreditations.
    No, Swanson's Home Leisure Products does not offer a senior discount.
    Yes, Swanson's Home Leisure Products offers emergency services.
    No, Swanson's Home Leisure Products does not offer warranties.
    Swanson's Home Leisure Products offers the following services: Sales, installations of new and used spas, hot tubs, saunas, repairs to all makes, including whirlpool baths.
    Pool installations.

    Contact information

    21400 W Sylvan Dr S, Mundelein, IL 60060

    www.swansonsspaandsauna.com

    Service hours

    Sunday:
    12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
    Monday:
    10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
    Tuesday:
    10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
    Wednesday:
    10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
    Thursday:
    10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
    Friday:
    10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
    Saturday:
    12:00 PM - 5:00 PM