Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

J R Home Improvement

Handyman Services, Interior Painting, Drywall,

About us

We are a home improvement company offering repair and improvement services to Central Florida homeowners. As a locally owned and operated company, we care about our community and always treat every home as if it's our own. We have a wide range of knowledge and experience on all types of home repairs. Give us a call today and we'll schedule a visit to start your next home improvement project or handyman service.

Business highlights

19 years of trusted experience
Family Owned & Operated
Eco Friendly

Services we offer

Home improvement, remodeling, tile installation, interior and exterior doors, handyman services, kitchen cabinets and countertops, carpenters, drywall installation, repair, & texture, custom trim and moldings, fencing including wood & custom, wood decks, pool bars, interior and exterior house painting, custom woodwork and much more.

Services we don't offer

We do not offer plumbing and electrical services at this time

Amenities

Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount

5%



Accepted payment methods

American Express
Discover
MasterCard
PayPal
Visa

Photos of past projects

Reviews

4.5178 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
70%
4
10%
3
6%
2
4%
1
10%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.5
value
4.6
professionalism
4.6
responsiveness
4.6
punctuality
4.7
Showing 51-75 of 178 reviews

Pamela F.
03/2014
5.0
pressure washing
  + -1 more
JR Home Improvement pressure washed our driveway and sidewalks quickly and professionally and looks great just in time for spring. He also cleaned under the window ledge and advised us on the hedge which was very nice.
Description of Work: Pressure washed our driveway and sidewalks.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$95

Response from J R Home Improvement
Thank you for your kind review. You were a pleasure to work for. Thanks J R

James M.
02/2014
5.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
He showed up on time and the work was professional.
Description of Work: Pressure wash driveway and sidewalk, nice guy and his son, job went smooth and looks good.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$99

Response from J R Home Improvement
Thank You for your kind review. It was a pleasure working for you. Please call us anytime. J R

KATHRYN D.
01/2014
4.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
This was an Angie's List special deal which I purchased on 11/25/13 but did not use until this year. I first contacted JR shortly after the New Year and he was supposed to come on 01/11 but had to cancel because of illness. We rescheduled for the 17th at 10 AM. Because it was very cold that morning he called and asked to make it an hour later. That was fine. At about 11 AM JR showed up with his son who was coughing and clearly did not want to be there, and measured the surfaces to be cleaned. the estimate was $55 more than the voucher I had purchased because I included the entry way and the side walks were longer than average because it was a corner property. They went to work with the typical pressure washer (a wand with a pointed nozzle) after washing down the surfaces with some sort of cleaning agent. The job took about 1 1/2 hours. There were several spots left on the driveway which he said was due to oil and very difficult to erase. He did manage to clean a particularly grimy area under a gutter downspout. There was a small area at the corner which was not included in the original measurements which he did not charge for -that was nice. Although the job was acceptable I did see small areas which were not as clean as the rest. I think if they had used one of those machines which look like a floor polisher, it might have done a more uniform job. My only other complaint was that when the son finished and was folding up the equipment he left the water running into the gutter until I pointed it out. Wasteful. I am being generous because they did show up on a very cold day while recovering from an illness so it was a valiant effort.
Description of Work: Pressure washed entry way, driveway and sidewalk.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
3.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

$150

Donald H.
12/2013
1.0
handyman service, pressure washing
  + 0 more
I saw your offer for a driveway and front sidewalk. JR said called and said it was based on so many square feet. I said before he started, I wanted an estimate . He came and estimated the driveway and front side walk. He said he wanted another $400, I said no way. He said, I had to call you to get my $95 back.
Description of Work: I purchased a Big Deal from J R Home Improvement.
Rating CategoryRating out of 5

Response from J R Home Improvement
We believe this is a great offer for Angie's members and have performed many of these services to date. This offer is limited to two car long and two car wide standard driveway and sidewalk walk up. It covers approx. 600 sq feet. We discussed this via phone conversation and by email with the member and he scheduled us for 10:00 this last Saturday. When I arrived, I found the property with a HUGE 10 car driveway and over 150 feet of sidewalk, as well, he wanted the front of his house washed. In all, the total square footage was a WHOPPING 2,571 square feet for which of course is over FOUR TIMES the average and WAY OVER the special for $ 95.00. I was disappointed we loaded up and drove there for a SCHEDULED APPOINTMENT but simply told the member "no hard feelings and you can call Angie's list and request a refund. I cant help but feel this review is UNFAIR as no work was performed and the member clearly was AWARE of his OVERSIZED LOT and Driveway. Sincerly. J R Naugle

Melissa B.
11/2013
5.0
pressure washing
  + -1 more
They were very dedicated to getting the job done, but they were unable to get up the entire oil stain
Description of Work: They pressure washed my driveway and sidewalk.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$95

Mitchell L.
09/2013
1.0
pressure washing
  + -1 more
We have been in contact, they just don't show up for appointments. They wanted to come out Saturday; that wasn't going to work for me so I said "Show up Monday morning, 10:00, I'll be there." He wrote me an email telling me to just forget it and call Angie's List for a refund.
Description of Work: I purchased a Big Deal for $95 to Pressure Wash Your Driveway & Sidewalk!

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$95

Response from J R Home Improvement
This member was contacted by email and phone and advised we were unable to perform the service on the scheduled day due to delays out of our control. He left a voicemail that cancelling was " no way to run a business and if we were not there monday at 10:00 am then he would write a bad review for us on Angie's List" he also stated that we now OWE HIM....We refuse to work for rude people members or not....Thanks J R

Manny V.
09/2013
3.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
Didn't clean up after himself, broke a sprinkler and never fixed it despite him saying he would.
Description of Work: Painted room and varnished doors

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
3.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
5.0

$750

Response from J R Home Improvement
This member advised us he was having the sprinkler head replaced and would send us the bill...We are still waiting for the bill ????

Jill L.
09/2013
5.0
interior painters
  + -1 more
This company was great What a pleasure to finally get a company that takes pride in their work and reputation. They were right on time and completed the job with perfection I am planning on doing more painting and will call them to do it. They set up a beautiful rosewood hunter ceiling fan for me and that too is perfect. They cleaned up after the job was done. This Is an A+ company. Good workers.
Description of Work: Painted kitchen and living room

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$99

Dan S.
08/2013
2.0
interior painters
  + -1 more
Good at providing a quote. Even came out on a Holiday to quote. Fell out of contact, and did not respond to phone calls or messages. Rushed me for payment of materials, lied about funds not clearing, and used that as an excuse for not starting on time. Performed an average paint job. Painted many outlets and light switches to the point where they no longer functioned. Would not pay for the damage, and lied about doing it. Left lots of paint around on the floors. Painted door hardware. Certainly would not choose to work with JR again.
Description of Work: Painted entire empty house

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
5.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
2.0

$3,700

Catherine O.
06/2013
3.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
Was really not happy, the drop clothes were so dirty, I had to ask him to shake them out before putting them on my carpets and furniture. He left tile unfinished in the kitchen and rather than have him come back I had a friend finish the job.
Description of Work: Painted main part of interior & Tiled kitchen

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
3.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0


Jean-Luc M.
05/2013
5.0
handyman service, heating & air conditioning/hvac
  + 0 more
They were good, came right on time and did their job. I thought something was wrong with the compressor but they did not rip me off. They just changed the battery in the thermostat and that was it. They came out to fix my problem immediately.
Description of Work: I used J R Home Improvement to change a battery in my thermostat.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$25

Edward M.
05/2013
5.0
handyman service, contractors
  + 0 more
Everything was as expected. I recommend highly.
Description of Work: Replaced some rotting wood trim in the front of my house and also repaired the soffit on a roof section. Excellent work.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$500

Anton Vintes and Chanda Ebo V.
04/2013
5.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
Called to confirm which we really liked... worked consistently and hard to get the projects done in a timely maner.
Description of Work: Very professional and considerate. We needed doors repaired, outside / summer kitchen area cabinets replaced and he did a great job. We have a long list of handy work that we want done. He came out, gave us an estimate and willing to do the projects in 3 separate jobs rather than one big job which is just what we wanted.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$300

Susan & Jason C.
04/2013
5.0
ceramic tile, doors, drywall, handyman service, interior painters, plumbing
  + 4 more
John responded promptly and the job went well. However, after the job was complete, the water heater that he re-installed began leaking. He had to come twice more to fix it. Several weeks later, our neighbor downstairs complained about water damage to her ceiling. When I contacted John about it, he took full responsibility and said he would take care of it. It took a few weeks to schedule, but he came back and repaired the neighbor's ceiling. All is well.
Description of Work: A) Repaired water damage to utility closet: 1) Removed water heater 2) removed damaged vinyl floor 3) Cemented hole in floor from water damage 4) Installed new ceramic tile floor - tiles supplied by us 5) Removed water damaged drywall and replaced with new, and painted 6) Installed two new thresholds 7) Install new bi-fold door hardware B) Kitchen repairs 1) Removed old garbage disposal and wiring and installed new one supplied by us 2) Removed kitchen faucet water supply lines and replaced 3) Replaced two GFI electrical receptacles C) Other Remove and replace two hard wired smoke detectors Hang curtain rod in bathroom .

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,894

Susan T.
03/2013
1.0
handyman service
  + -1 more
I wouldn't recommend buying the $99 per room coupon. With JR, you get what you pay for. As far as the painting, the contract said "Prep and paint" for every room. He did not prep anything. Kitchen -- Didn't prep nail holes. He left a gapping hole in the wall behind the otr microwave. If it wasn't included in the price to repair this, he should have asked me. Now i have to have someone come repair and paint again. There was a plant hanger hook left in the wall, and he just didn't paint anywhere near it. ?? The vinyl was a waste of my money. My daughter summed it up appropriately by saying "It looks like my five-year-old put it in." The perimeter is more than unsightly. There is one area where it's almost an inch from the wall. Nothing is cut straight. One area has about three torn up pieces partially stuck to the floor. The tiles have visible spaces between them. He did offer to come back and put 1/4 round trim to hide some of the mess, and took his $150 labor off the original quote of $975 (I guess he knew it looked bad, too). Laundry-- The coupon said two coats of paint. His helper painted this room. By the amount of white showing through, I would say it was more like barely one coat. She didnt' paint behind the water heater at all. Dont' know why, there was plenty of space to do that easily. Guest bath -- Painted over nails in wall. Master bath -- He had 'carved' a quarter size hole out of the master bath wall, and said he could match the paint with that. There were two light fixtures in the area that had been replaced. There were holes that had been repaired that needed to be sanded and prepped. He not only didn't prep those areas, he painted right over it all, including the hole he made. In the vanity area, the paint did not match at all. He painted behind the fixture (no prepping) and then touched up areas that weren't necessary with the paint that didn't match. So basically, I now have to repaint the whole area. I put N/A on a few of the items because he was punctual, it was a good price, and he did respond quickly. That said, I have to find someone to fix the floor, the hole in the wall, and repaint the master bath / vanity area. So if I'm back at square one, was the price, punctuality, and responsive worth anything. I can't show the property today as expected, so I would say no. Not to mention my AC blasting at 62 degrees all day, all of my patio windows left open in the rain (not painting near that area?), and beer bottle caps on the kitchen counter, with all the paint drippings I'm going to go clean now . . . . Listen to the advice you read, be there when you have people working on your property.
Description of Work: Painted kitchen, laundry room, walk-in closet, guest bathroom, install vinyl tiles in kitchen, replace about 24 ft. of shelving. Match and touch up paint behind two light fixtures in master bath area.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
professionalism
1.0

$825

Response from J R Home Improvement
We agreed to return to touch up any issues to satisfy the member and install trim at NO COST to finish out the floor installation. We removed the 150.00 labor from the floor installation in order to give her peace of mind until we returned but we havent been allowed a return visit and after reading this review. I guess she doesn't intend to pay us for our work.

IANNA A.
03/2013
5.0
drywall, interior painters
  + 0 more
They were very nice and very professional. They did not charge extra for the extra time needed to buy more supplies. I highly recommend him.
Description of Work: They painted my base boards and repaired some walls.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Ruby B.
03/2013
4.0
doors, drywall, handyman service, interior painters
  + 2 more
The work needed to be broken up into 3 phases from November to January so that we could have our furniture stored in rooms not under construction and to have another vendor install floor tile in the space as well. JR worked with us to schedule the 3 phases and was very flexible to do the work over a 2 1/2 month period. JR was very focused on ensuring that the work was done to our satisfaction. Even when I decided that I wanted heavier texture on the ceiling, after he had already painted it. He re-did the work and ensured that the remaining ceilings were completed with the same amount of texture. He also always showed up with a positive attitude and really seems to enjoy the work that he does. We did all of the prep work to ensur that the space was ready for the scope of his work. When there were issues that we didn't know how to resolve to patch wall corners, he just fixed them for us so that his end product would be a good one. The condo is almost 30 years old and we found several things through the work that the builder had taken shortcuts with. Especially the poor installation of the original front door. JR resolved these issues prior to installing the new door and frame. JR is a perfectionist and is very focused on ensuring that his client has 100% satisfaction. His son doesn't seem to be as interested in doing the work, or getting the work done right. Unfortunately JR had to go behind some of his son's work. He had another helper, a lady who assisted him with painting. She was awesome and thorough with the work. He should consider using her to assist more and letting his son find a job that he enjoys more. I would definitely recommend JR and will use him again in the future.
Description of Work: Knock down all popcorn ceiling Apply new textured ceiling and paint paint all walls replace front door and framing

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
4.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,395

Nellie F.
02/2013
1.0
ceramic tile
  + -1 more
He did not do a good job. The job is botched. He did not cut and form the tiles - he just slapped extra grout to secure the tile. It took him 3 days to complete the job. He had to come back to finish the shower. Everytime I mop the floor the grout comes up. He did not give me the receipt for the items he purchased for this job yet he charged me for these items.
Description of Work: I used him to tile a small bathroom.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$320

Response from J R Home Improvement
We never have spoken to this member or worked for her. Obviously, someone made a mistake here and we have asked Angie's List to remove this report. Thanks J R

Kirsten R.
02/2013
1.0
interior painters
  + -1 more
During this process JR had quite a bit of paint on the laminate, hard wood and tile. His girlfriend, who was painting in a red, only had one drop of paint on the floor. When she was done with the kitchen she started trying to clean up the spots. I asked JR if he was positive that he would be able to finish tomorrow (Wednesday) he said for sure, and I asked him what time he would be here. He said he could be here at 5 PM, and would call during the day on Wednesday to confirm the time. I still had not heard from him by 4:25 pm on 2/13. So I called and left him a voicemail at 4:28 pm advising that I had not heard from him and wanted to confirm that we were good for 5:00. At 5:28 pm, JR called to advise the job ran over and it was about an hour away. That he would have to drop off his girlfriend, Joselyn, first and then could be over. So it would have been about 6:45-7 pm before he got here. I stated that it would be too dark for him to see all the areas again that needed touch up. I said this job was dragging out way too long. He said because the red paint in the kitchen caused his painter to work 7 hours on it, he couldn’t finish. They weren’t even painting for 7 hours!! I was frustrated but he said he could come first thing in the morning at 8 am. I said ok. After getting off the phone with JR, I realized I had an appointment for the cleaning company to come in and clean the new house. I called JR back at 5:54 pm and left a voicemail to tell him about the cleaning company and that I couldn’t have wet paint when they’re trying to clean and we should call it quits and my boyfriend and I would finish what he did not finish. He did not return my call. I followed up my voicemail with a text at 6:21 pm on 2/13 stating: Hi JR, Just wanted to follow up my voicemail with a text. I’m going to go ahead and call it quits. So no need to come tomorrow. We will finish the rest. I will send you an email tonight when Augie [my boyfriend] gets here with a list of the discrepancies (and pictures) in the rooms so we can determine a final fair dollar amount. He responded: Hi Kirsten, that’s fine. I hope you understand what a great deal you received as well as working very hard all weekend to handle your additional work…The balance due is 400.00… I can send that invoice shortly. JR.” At this point, he clearly expected to be paid the remaining 100% even though he agreed that he would not actually be completing his contract. I had had enough for the night. I did not send my email as he had already decided that he should get full payment for the incomplete job. I saw the invoice in my email first thing this morning 2/14. 2/14 I received a text at 12:42 pm stating: Hi Kirsten, will u be paying our invoice today? I have to pay my labor…thanks JR.” I was working and did not have my phone handy and saw this message at 2:09 pm when I heard the alert for another text from JR that read “Hello, I can allow to 5pm. If it isn’t paid by then, we will be placing a lien on your new home first thing Friday morning……JR” I responded as follows: Sure thing! I will be filing a complaint with the state as well as with the BBB and Angie’s list! Also, your labor was paid in cash for the front room and kitchen for the $350.00. I am consulting with folks on the contract as the work on the contract was not completed. Therefore “good deal” in your opinon or not, the work was not finished. So it’s not reasonable for you to think you deserve full payment. I am sorry you have jumped to this as I am not one to bail on my monetary obligations. But if the work was not 100% completed as was arranged at the price on the contract, then 100% of the price cannot be paid.” His response followed with “That’s fine Kirsten, obviously you are ok with asking for the cheapest price possible but expect absolute perfection and then don’t pay your bills…my attorney as the court house anyway so he will file tonight…you can deal with him…I have to work all night to pay my help now….” I responded with “I did not say I was not paying JR. You said by 5 pm J” I was threatened by this contractor that he would place a lien on my house when I was trying to work out an agreeable amount as he did not deserve the 100% payment, therefore, I paid the $400.00. Due to the contract not being met, I may dispute with the credit card company to stop payment. I shortly after contacted Angie’s List to voice my concerns with this issue. The representative typed up a review, but it was not worded correctly in some areas. I am writing this to replace the one taken over the phone. At this point I do not want this contractor to finish the job. In order to rectify this issue, I will need to be returned at least $275.00. He was paid $1025 when all of the work was not completed on the contract, and he charged me for supplies when he used my rollers and did not prep the spaces. He painted the previous owners dog hair into the office and all along the base boards. He identified on 2/13 that prep meant cleaning off the surface so it’s well enough to paint. A broom would have done that – but he was in a hurry to leave on 2/12 so he did not do that in any rooms. The office was incomplete and the baseboards/trim was not completed. I have only very little paint for each room left – which is great – it went on the walls. The room I kept identifying to be streaky has 1 gallon and a half left – meaning it did not get the full 2 coats of paint required. There is paint on the hardwood, tile and laminate, that even after the cleaning company who was here all day, still could not get up. I was not not trying to pay JR. He was a cool person, when he was doing his flexible schedule and always wanting to come back tomorrow, but turned out to be threatening and very unprofessional. This was a guy we bought pizza for and gave full range to all the beverages in the refrigerator. He identified he did not complete the job 100% and still demanded full payment or immediate lien on my house. Angie’s List – I would not have written a book if I did not want to warn you of this contractor!! Beware! On a side note, Joselyn, his girlfriend who painted the kitchen – did an amazing job. She was very neat and maybe landed ONE drop on the floor. She had red paint, most of the laminate and hard wood was a neutral color which is all over the floors still.
Description of Work: Interior painting of all rooms and base board trim. All paint provided. I contacted JR Naugle on 2/5 which was my second pick off the website Angie's List. I described that I recently bought a house, and bought all the paint. I described the job, and that I needed it done by Wednesday 2/13 because I had the new carpet coming in. He said he could come out on 2/9 with his other painter to complete it. The job and contract was to paint 4 bedrooms: a master, office, and two additional bedrooms. He said he could do it for $650, and then I received an Angie's List discount for $50 and also he gave me a $50 military discount. This came out to a total of $550. I paid him his required half up front of $275.00. I was out of town the day he came to start. My boyfriend was with him all day. He did not have his painter helper because she was sick. I had previously advised JR that the carpeted rooms were going to be replaced and it was ok to get paint on the carpet, but that I wanted to ensure no paint ended up on the rest of the flooring: laminate, tile and hard wood. He assured me that he would not get any on these floors. I had my boyfriend ask him how much he would charge to do the back family room and hallway as well - if he would have time to do it on Saturday. He quoted an additional $150.00 I said that was good and had him do that. When I returned home, the jobs initially given were not complete. My boyfriend advised he would be back on Sunday to complete. We had also gotten a quote to finish the rest of the house for the front room and kitchen. On Sunday, I asked him if he could do those as well. He saw the paint in the kitchen and I had the new paint available and showed him. He said yes he could do it for another $400. I asked if he would take $350. He said if cash, he would. I said perfect. I went and got him the $350.00 cash and paid it. He did not have his helper on Sunday either. He did not complete a single room entirely by the time he left Sunday. Most of the rooms had been painted (except kitchen – it was not started, but it was paid for in the $350.00) but needed touch ups or a second coat and all needed trim to be painted. He said he would come back on Monday afternoon after his tile job via text Sunday night. I responded and said that was good. I texted him Monday afternoon at 3:38 pm asking if he knew when he'd be there. He responded: Hi Kirsten, we are running late. Can we come first thing in the am? I said: Yep! No problem :) At 9:15 am on Tuesday, 2/12, I called him to see where he was, and he was pulling into my community. Upon their arrival, I walked them through the house to show all of the noticeable touch up areas. He said not a problem and he and his painter (girlfriend, Joselyn), started painting. Joselyn painted the kitchen. They left for lunch at noon and by 1:50 pm he still was not back. About 30-45 minutes later they returned saying that they had gotten stuck at the paint store ordering paint for a job the next day. Him being the professional, I had faith that he knew what all was needed to finish the job today after all the "we'll come tomorrow's." Around 5:30 pm, JR advised it was getting to be his beer time and I advised that the carpet was being put in the next day and none of the rooms were finished. I then said all the rooms with carpet must be finished. He had done the trim in the rest of the house minus the office and two bedrooms. He stopped at the office and said he will do the carpeted rooms first and could come back again tomorrow to finish all the touch ups we discussed. Along with the red in the kitchen where it met the other color - he said he'd have to take a brush to trim up the bleeding color. By this time it was dark and it was harder to see the areas I had pointed out first thing in the morning. He hastily touched up as I could tell he was rushing and wanted to leave.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$1,025

Response from J R Home Improvement
I dont have the time to write a book as our customer did. Bottom line, we gave this member our cheapest price ever on a paint job due to her being in the military and a member of Angie's List. We performed all the work with the exception of painting the base trim in one bedroom which she was never charged for in the first place.

Bill W.
01/2013
2.0
doors, house painters, handyman service
  + 1 more
Contracted them to to refinish and Reseal double entrance doors to my home (with an emphasis on sealing the doors) primarily the bottom threshold seal. when JR came to my house to give an estimate I told him that the most important thing to me was to properly reseal the treshold of the doors. He assured me that that would not be a problem. as it turns out he had no idea of how to repair a threshold. In fact the seal at the bottom of the door was worse after he was finshed. I have made several attempts to have him fix the problem and he has done nothing. Furthermore, the refinishing of the doors was terrible and I had to have him return, re-sand and refinish the doors a second time. In the end I have doors with a so so refinishing job and I must find someone else to help with the proper sealing of these doors. I was duped and wasted my money.
Description of Work: incomplete job
Rating CategoryRating out of 5
$1,000

Arlene L.
01/2013
2.0
woodworking
  + -1 more
I have used him several times before, and he is always on time, knows what he is doing, explains everything, and did a great job this time. He charges a fair price and gives a good discount to Angie's List members. An update from the job he did back in January. The lattice is still not installed correctly. My lattice is not buckled and it actually separated from the planks that go down. So, what I have is one half is perfect but the other half has buckled so bad that the post that goes down is not on. I have dark brown lattice he said they had to dry and he wanted to come out and paint over them. He came out last week on the 15th and was going to paint over it and I had to have to stop because of the buckling on the other side. I told him that it would not work and he tried to push the lattice with his hands and I told him not to. He just kept trying to support a broken lattice. I can't believe I paid him in full. The 17th (a Sunday) he was going to come back out and fix the problem and he never called or anything and here it is Friday. The job looks disgusting.
Description of Work: He put up a lattice for the length of my carport.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Bert G.
01/2013
4.0
house painters, gutter repair
  + 0 more
It took J R much longer to completed the project than was necessary because of constantly being late
Description of Work: Replaced and painted facing, Intalled gutters and down spouts

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
2.0

$950

Gary W.
01/2013
1.0
interior painters
  + -1 more
Emailed promptly after initial contact was made through email. We set up an appointment on Jan 17 at 9am. The painter never showed at theagreed upon time and he never called. I waited home all day and never heard from him. I recheckd my email and he confirmed the appointment for Jan 17th. When someone is unreliable as this, I would not ever use their services. It is a shame that some businesses are so unreliable. He lost potential income as we have a 4,000 square foot home that we were looking to have painted from top to bottom. The number one thing is dependability and this business just does ntot cut it. We went with a different company.
Description of Work: Unreliable, cannot be depended on to keep appointments
Rating CategoryRating out of 5

Traci N.
01/2013
5.0
drywall, handyman service, interior painters, plumbing
  + 2 more
The process overall was very fast and efficient and the work was detailed and very professionally done. We were very pleased with the quick response to our request for a quote along with the price quoted for the work. JR was very responsive to our needs and was focused on our complete satisfaction with the work. We would highly recommend his work and will definitely use his company again in the future.
Description of Work: JR Improvements painted a spare bedroom and also helped with an improvement in the spare bathroom. The bathroom work involved removing a very rough, textured surface from the walls of the bathroom; removing and replacing the vanity and toilet and painting the walls and ceiling. Additionally, removal of the mounted towel rack and toilet roll holder involved dry wall work which was completed before painting.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,000

Arlene L.
12/2012
5.0
contractors, woodworking
  + 0 more
He did not give me an itemized price. When I called him up last week, I told him he did not give me a full estimate. I told him my computer was not working well and that I wanted him to actually hand me something. He said he would mail me. He was so sweet. I got it two days ago in the mail. This guy is excellent. He gave me a $52.95 Angie's List discount if I allow him to do my lattice in my driveway. I told him that I still needed to wait on two more estimates. On January 2, I called him and since he was the cheapest I told him I wanted to give him the job. He was happy about this, but because he was so backed up with big jobs, he would not be able to do the lattice until the end of the month. I did not know what to say to him. He then said he would come down on January 19 to redo the measurements to make sure everything was accurate. On the January 3 I left a message and told him I did not know what to do since I needed the lattice put up sooner. I never said that I would not give him the job. He never called me back. I think he may have mistook me for saying I would not wait for him.
Description of Work: I have had him here about three or four times. I called him again and he came down, did some measuring for me because I want to put a lattice up in my carport for privacy from one house to another.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Contact information

4970 Volusia Avenue, Titusville, FL 32780

http://www.jrhomeimprovement.biz

Service hours

Sunday:
Closed
Monday:
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday:
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday:
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday:
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday:
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday:
7:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Licensing

Bonded

Insured

No License Required for Trade

Eco-friendly Accreditations

LEED Accredited Professional
No
Energy Star Partner
No
EPA Lead-Safe Certified
No
Use Green Products or Work Practices
Yes
State Contractor License Requirements

All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

*Contact business to see additional licenses.


Service Categories

Handyman Services,
Interior Painting,
Drywall,
Finished Carpentry and Woodworking,
Doors,
Plumbing,
Exterior Painting,
Pressure Washing,
General Remodeling,
Unfinished Carpentry,
Electrical,
Ceramic Tile

FAQ

J R Home Improvement is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 12:00 PM

J R Home Improvement accepts the following forms of payment: American Express,Discover,MasterCard,PayPal,Visa
No, J R Home Improvement does not offer free project estimates.
Yes, J R Home Improvement offers eco-friendly accreditations.
Yes, J R Home Improvement offers a 5% senior discount.
No, J R Home Improvement does not offer emergency services.
Yes, J R Home Improvement offers warranties.
J R Home Improvement offers the following services: Home improvement, remodeling, tile installation, interior and exterior doors, handyman services, kitchen cabinets and countertops, carpenters, drywall installation, repair, & texture, custom trim and moldings, fencing including wood & custom, wood decks, pool bars, interior and exterior house painting, custom woodwork and much more.
We do not offer plumbing and electrical services at this time

Contact information

4970 Volusia Avenue, Titusville, FL 32780

http://www.jrhomeimprovement.biz

Service hours

Sunday:
Closed
Monday:
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday:
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday:
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday:
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday:
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday:
7:00 AM - 12:00 PM