Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Professional Pool Care Of Brevard County Inc

Pool and Spa Service

Reviews

2.02 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
0%
4
0%
3
50%
2
0%
1
50%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.5
value
2.5
professionalism
1.5
responsiveness
1.5
punctuality
2.0
Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

Kyle G.
05/2013
3.0
pool cleaners
  + -1 more
Not well....
Description of Work: On April 30th, i used the services of Professional Pool Care of brevard county inc. I told Bill's brother who was workin behind the counter that i could use assistance in learning my pool system as this is our first pool and the previous owners who we bought from in december didnt give us much info on it except it was built by blue marlin pools. They said they could easily come by and check it out that day for $35, blue marlin wanted $180. i agreed and paid in advance, Bill came by promptly and seemed to know exactly what he was talking about, i had just had a water analysis done that day they said that my chemicals were perfect. i was using their chemicals for my pool and was trying to find out if my filter cartridge needed to be changed. He came by checked out the pool and system realigned some valves to get the solar heater working recommended another company to fix the heater and checked the filter cartridge and determined it needed to be changed but wouldnt get a new one til the next morning they had just sold their last two. He shut off the system to check this all and reset it to turn on the next day saying it didnt need to run for the rest of the day to save electricity and that he would have a new filter in and he would call us so we would know exactly when to come get it. Our pool pump is automatic and turns on at 10am, im military i work at 7am. I came home the next day at 12:15 in the afternoon and still hadnt heard from Bill. I get out of my car and i hear water coming from the side of my house, which is not usual. i walk through my gate to find the pump pumping and water spewing out of the vent for the filter cartridge he had left open from the day before, i shut it all off, and examined my pool to see that in the 2 hours it was running it pumped out about 1-2 feet of water from my pool. Understanding that this was an accident we had been asking a lot of questions while he was here, we called and politely asked if we could be compensated for the water that we were going to have to replace plus the chlorine and acid and electricity that it wasted since it wasnt our fault. we left 2 messages, no call back. finally i called the store and bill answered and said that he made a stop by the house to see what we were talking about (we were gone shopping) and he said to just refill it that it would only be about 30 dollars in water....i said well it wasnt our fault that this happened why do we need to pay? what about the chemicals i just bought and had used in it? he said he would give me 1 entire bag of shock treatment... thats like 2 dollars. needless to say there was no remorse for what he did, there was no effort to try to make it better and i will not be using their company anymore. Its sad cause i would rather support local businesses then using other companies but maybe thats why they charge more cause they will stand behind their work and fix their mistakes. i guess well see...i would look for another place before using them.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
4.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
3.0

$35

Jim B.
02/2012
1.0
pool cleaners
  + -1 more
Bill & Carol Mahan are the owners of Professional Pool Care. Bill was called to repair my electronic Goldline chloronator as he installed a new mother board in the unit a couple of months ago (11/02/2011). I (naturally) called Bill again who refused service to me (!) stating "call Pinch a Penny (a local competitor) for any warranty work". In disbelief of Bill's callousness I called the manufacturer who sent another firm out from Winter Park, an hour away. After careful examination, it was determined Bill installed the mother board incorrectly and the damage to the motherboard and the cell would not be covered by warranty. When informed of this by the warranty department, Bill came over to inspect my chloronator and saw the damage caused by electrical arcing inside the unit. Bill said he'd see what he could do and left. I went by Bill's retail establishment in northern Port St John on Grissom next to the Shell station the next day-- Bill had the audacity to suggest I vandalized my own chloronator (!) and essentially told me I was "on my own". Now I have a new chloronator cell installed in November ($350) that has a damaged plug to the motherboard due to electrical arcing-- it's burnt (I've been told I can't buy the plug or wire only-- I have to buy an entirely new cell), I have a damaged motherboard-- the socket for the cell is burnt from electrical arcing ($419), I paid another firm to come out ($85) and I'll have to pay yet again for an additional service call ($85) --all because of ignorance. I feel Bill is an incompetent fool who really doesn't know what he's doing. I've since learned he is not a certified service provider for Goldline or Hayward. Bill's retail establishment is fine for buying chemicals-- but folks, my advise would be to avoid this guy for any kind of repair or installation. I would charactarize Bill's behavior throughout this incident as Despicable. Feb 2nd, 2013-- Mr. Mahan's response below further solidifies his reputation as an unsavory, deceitful character. 1.)The "friend" who replaced my pool pump was one of Bill's licensed competitors, much to Bill's chagrin. This company had no need to even touch the chlorinator and would not unless I paid them. I observed their activities and the installation as they replaced the pump. Mr. Mahan seems to confuse his timelines (that undoubtedly help his story) concerning the installation of the new pool pump and the trouble with the chlorinator. 2.) Goldline Pool chlorinator cells plug into the main control panel just inside an access door on the box, where all operational aspects of the panel are displayed. There are no user servicable items inside the heart of the box, behind the display, and absolutely no reason for anyone to take the box apart. It was also three months into the 1-yr warranty period, providing no incentive for me or anyone else to get into the box. The design of the system allows and encourages the ability to plug and unplug the cell to facilitate cell cleaning and replacement by homeowners. 3.) When Bill returned to view the incorrect installation and damage, the "other contractor" was his nephew who apparently aided Bill in this installation as well as others with him. So, I guess if you count the nephew and Bill, that's how he comes up with "2 swimming pool contractors" making an additional service call. Bill-- you came of your own volition after Hayward told you the warranty work would not be covered due to the faulty installation you performed. And you know this. 4.) Bill Mahan and Professional Pool Care of Brevard are not Hayward or Goldline certified technicians. These companies will sell parts to basically anyone including those with a contractors license. Mr. Mahan may have been licensed since 1973, but the bulk of his career was in south Florida. One wonders why he would chuck a long and successful career 150-200 miles away to come to Brevard-- perhaps he is running from faulty and incompetent work down there as well. 5.) I retain documentation from Hayward (Goldline's parent company) declining to cover the damage under warranty due to faulty installation. The regional Hayward rep felt so bad for my situation he personally came over and installed a new motherboard and cell. He gave me a deep discount on the parts, far below what Hayward charges wholesale to people like Bill. Professional Pool Care of Brevard and Bill Mahan's reputation has likely been sullied beyond repair with scathing, derogatory reports filed with the Better Business Bureau, Brevard County Licensing Regulation and Angie's List. The BBB, Brevard County and Angie's List have all tried mediating a resolution, but Bill has stubbornly refused to cooperate in acknowledging the damage his mistake has caused despite overwhelming evidence. I've been assured by members of the Brevard County Licensing Regulation that Bill's activities will now be monitored for additional complaints-- he is now "on their radar". Exasperated, I personally offered to retract all complaints and absorb the additional $85 service charge if he would just cover the deeply discounted charge from Hayward. But apparently Bill's pride is worth more than his reputation because he hasn't responded. After all that I've been through, somehow I'm not surprised... Pridefull, delusory half-truths in defending ignorant mistakes further illustrates just how contemptible Bill apparently holds his customers and community. I implore all-- folks, avoid this guy at all costs for any kind of repair or installation.
Description of Work: Repair of Goldline chloronator for in-ground swimming pool.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$419.5

Response from Professional Pool Care Of Brevard County Inc
On 11-2-2011, as per Mr. (Member) request, Professional Pool Care of Brevard County, Inc. did install a “mother board” For his (Mr. (Member)) salt system. On or about 02-02-2012, Mr. (Member) called and said he was having a problem with his system. I (Bill Mahan) informed Mr. (Member) He should call Hayward warranty department of Hayward Goldline products, and at that time they could sent a warrantee personnel to verify if it was a warranty liability. Mr. (Member) then responded to Mr. Mahan “DON’T GIVE ME A HARD TIME BILL, I WILL SUE YOU!!!!! Professional Pool Care of Brevard County, Inc. Is a licensed certified swimming pool contractor since 1973. We here at Professional Pool Care, choose not to be a warrantee company for Hayward. We are fully capable and licensed to install all Hayward parts, as among every other product line in the swimming pool business. What Mr. (Member) refrained to tell you, (MONTHS AFTER WE INSTALLED THE MOTHER BOARD) he (Mr. (Member)) told us he purchased a new pump and motor on line and “had a friend” install it for him. The next day he (Mr. (Member)) called us and told us he was having problems with his salt system mother board. At that time threaten us with a lawsuit. Professional Pool Care of Brevard, Inc. did return to Mr. (Member)'s Pool, accompanied by another Certified Swimming Pool Contractor (by the way, Bill and this other contractor put the “mother board” in. They saw it was not the way they left it, and ask Mr. (Member) if he tried to replace the salt cell himself. We here at Professional Pool Care Inc. are shocked at the wording Mr. (Member) used. Wording such as CALLOUSNESS, AUDACITY, DESPICABLE. This wording is uncalled for. The question I ask myself is what is my desired resolution? With two(2) Certified swimming pool contractors, doing a service call on a repair to something we did not break, but install it in early November ..and has been working fine since until we saw it that day and had to repair it, and it was working fine when we left the pool. I would like to get paid for my services $75.00 also an apology for the threats, and names I was called over the phone and in the letter to the Better Business Bureau, and to Angie’s List. The Fault does not lie with Professional Pool Care Inc. The fault must lie with the inexperience Mr. (Member), when he had his pump and motor installed. Sincerely, William E. Mahan

    Contact information

    7490 Grissom Pkwy, Cocoa, FL 32927


    Licensing

    State Contractor License Requirements

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

    *Contact business to see additional licenses.


    Service Categories

    Pool and Spa Service

    FAQ

    Professional Pool Care Of Brevard County Inc is currently rated 2 overall out of 5.
    No, Professional Pool Care Of Brevard County Inc does not offer free project estimates.
    No, Professional Pool Care Of Brevard County Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
    No, Professional Pool Care Of Brevard County Inc does not offer a senior discount.
    No, Professional Pool Care Of Brevard County Inc does not offer emergency services.
    No, Professional Pool Care Of Brevard County Inc does not offer warranties.

    Contact information

    7490 Grissom Pkwy, Cocoa, FL 32927