Mark came out on the same day that I called, which was great. He was nice and professional. The work was to patch 3 holes (3x4", 4x5", and 6x8") from some electrical work that I had done. I provided the textured drywall that was cut from the holes, so it would be easier to patch. For the work itself, you can't tell that there were holes there before, so that's good. However, the texturing job is very poorly done. I didn't expect a perfect match, but there are large sections where putty was applied to the wall and no texture was added. You can clearly see putty knife marks and drips that were not addressed properly during the texturing process. I'm not even sure why so much putty was added to patch small, pre-textured drywall. I wish I would have just done it myself and saved myself from the over-priced headache. I called and left a message that I wasn't thrilled with the work, but no response.
Description of Work: Drywall repair and knockdown texture
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
2.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
$150
Response from DUN RITE DRYWALL Repair and Remodeling service inc
We regret Mr. Garners view of work performed by our company. After asking our workers what issues they were met with by Mr. [Member Name Removed] they said he complained about having to pay for the work. He further mentioned that he should have done it himself and kept the money for other things. Understanding his position we have decided to ask him to pursue other contractors for any future work. Staff at Dun Rite Drywall inc.
Mark E.
06/2015
5.0
drywall
+ -1 more
Mark was great. He was able to schedule me within a week. Quality work for a very reasonable price. Would definitely use him again.
Description of Work: Drywall and ceiling repair with texture
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$500
Response from DUN RITE DRYWALL Repair and Remodeling service inc
[Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for writing this review on Dun Rite Drywall's behalf. It was a pleasure working with you and to get your ceiling back to normal. Customers like yourself that take time to write reviews shows how important it is to hire the right contractor. We are happy that you were happy with our work, plus if you need us again we will not forget this excellent review. Thank you again [Member Name Removed] DeFilippo owner Dun Rite Drywall inc.
Judith S.
01/2015
5.0
drywall, plastering, interior painters
+ 1 more
I believe most details are above, but I do find it ironic that the only bad scores on Dun-Rite's pages are those who did not use him at all! Isn't this site for those who HAVE used someone? I am a newcomer to Angie's list, so need to know. In reading the negative reviews, it is hard to believe we are speaking of the same person. We couldn't be happier.
Description of Work: We called someone else four days earlier who never called us back with an estimate. So when we called Mark, he was not only to come the following morning, but gave us the estimate before he left , which we truly appreciated. It wasn't rocket science to figure a quote as a very small space. We are renovating our kitchen and half the cabinets already installed, but the ceiling needed painting before the moulding went up. We tore down a wall, and we were able to do a lot of work ourselves. But when it came to a certain point, we realized we needed a 'professional'. Mark re-plastered the ceiling as a real craftsman. He did a knock-down texture , and segued it into the existing texture of adjoining room, then repainted both the kitchen and the dining area the following day. He was timely, courteous, and most cautious to protect everything. He left our home spotless.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
3.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Response from DUN RITE DRYWALL Repair and Remodeling service inc
[Member Name Removed] Thank you for taking time to write this review. You have a beautiful home with very detailed furnishings. Its means allot to me as a company owner to meet the needs of repair work for for all of our customers. I am glad you were happy with our work. To answer your comment of some that have written reviews that we have never worked for is a bit strange. But some people wish to cause us business troubles for many different reasons. 1) Some are flat out false 2) Some are people that are just mean spirited and no one will ever make them happy. 3) Not pointing fingers, but in some cases it may very well be our competitors. 4) Some are real complaints in which we regret. Everyone will not always be happy, tha'ts just the way it is.
Rica H.
11/2014
5.0
drywall, interior painters
+ 0 more
Mark was able to come to our home for an estimate within 24 hours of our phone call and provided a quote immediately. We explained the urgency of our request, given that new cabinets were going to be delivered within a couple of days and we needed to have the ceiling finished prior to install. Mark was able to make arrangements to have someone come out the following day! The workers showed up on time and did an excellent job. The following day, Joe came to paint, and also did great work. We were also so impressed with Nicole in the office - she was so friendly and helpful. Overall this was a great experience and we will likely call again for work in the future.
Description of Work: Refloated and reapplied knockdown to our kitchen ceiling.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,000
Response from DUN RITE DRYWALL Repair and Remodeling service inc
[Member Name Removed] When you called Dun Rite Drywall and explained your project it was understood that you were in a time crunch. I totally understand that! When I was in general contracting school there are full chapters in the books that are described as (time is of the essence) That phrase of itself falls in line with what is also called in construction terms as (the critical construction path) Small or large jobs must follow these guidelines to have all construction trades fall into place. Its specially important when trying to get your kitchen back into order. I am so glad we were able to help you do just that. Thank you for this nice review. Mark DeFilippo owner of Dun Rite Drywall State certified licensed general contractor, residential/commercial
James C.
07/2014
1.0
drywall
+ -1 more
Mark came out 2 times to review the work. On his second time, he wrote up a contract for the services, my son was un comfortable with the price and slightly uncertain with Mark, but he signed, relying on the Florida law which allows three day to rescind a signed agreement, if signed in your home. This was a Saturday, Mark said he normally does not work on Saturday or Sunday. My son called up and cancelled this contract with Mark on Sunday. I can also state here that no deposit was paid to bind the agreement. Sunday Mark attempted multiple times to speak to my son. Monday he called and threatened to sue for $3,000.00 if he was not allowed to do the work. His reasoning was, he placed orders for materials, (really on Late Saturday or early Sunday morning, and this is not cancelable?) I need to say here that no start date was agreed to for this work. Avoid this contractor, or you too can be in our position.
Description of Work: Quote drywall service, re do whole house.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
value
3.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0
$11,500
Response from DUN RITE DRYWALL Repair and Remodeling service inc
[Member Name Removed] Mr. [Member Name Removed] did in fact sign a legal contract for $11,500.00 This is a large amount of money for a fairly good sized job. After signing a contract of this nature, we as a professional general contracting company will move forward quickly in preparing for the project. This involves the quick purchasing of materials, in which we spent time and money in preparation for Mr. [Member Name Removed] work. Further, our scheduling was set up quickly to start the work, even though it was said in this review that no schedule was ever set. It was set for the following week verbally. Upon a confirmation call to start the work, Mr. [Member Name Removed] said he wanted to think about it. In the same phone conversation Mr. [Member Name Removed] said lets just forget it. This is after Dun Rites purchase of the materials and schedule set up. Mr. [Member Name Removed] seems to think our time and effort are just a game at our expense. It is not a game. Realizing he signed a legal contract with cancellation consequences he had his father call my office and demand we let him out of the contract. Father, further stating that Florida has a three day cancellation clause to cancel any contract. This cancellation of contract is only true when a customer is solicited. Per our legal team research. This clause does not hold true in construction contracts or any other if not solicited. Research by our legal team and proof on Google search if interested. Mr. [Member Name Removed] called our company for a service costing us over Three Thousand Dollars in materials. It was not our intention to sue Mr. [Member Name Removed] but only to be reimbursed for our material purchased. We had decided not to pursue Mr. [Member Name Removed] in a legal format which would have most certainly been to his disadvantage, but rather move onward and upward in our business serving serious customers with serious construction needs. We hope Mr. [Member Name Removed] will come to grip with the consequences of his actions so as to not take advantage of honest businesses such as Dun Rite Drywall inc. Mark DeFilippo Owner of Dun Rite Drywall inc. A state certified licensed general contractor CGC 1523493 since 1977
Michelle C.
06/2014
5.0
drywall
+ -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: I called Dunrite Drywall because I originally had another person working on my project that I had to fire. I wanted to have my enclosed patio more insulated by installing drywall, insulation and better doors. I had hired a person who assured me that they could do it and have it done in 5 days. Three weeks and $1000.00 later I was no where completed and the work that had been done look horrible. The guy had installed furring strips and all of them were split and coming off the wall. There was no way it was going to hold drywall up. So I had to fire him. I looked around and found Dunrite Drywall through Angie's List. I checked out there project pictures and decided to call them for a quote. The owner came out and we talked for about an hour on what needed to be done. We agreed on a price and about a week later he had 3 or 4 guys come and get started. There was a small delay due to another project running late, but the owner made it up by having his guys paint the drywall with primer for free. Overall the project took about 3 days and I couldn't be happier with the results. I really wish I had called them to begin with.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$2,000
Response from DUN RITE DRYWALL Repair and Remodeling service inc
[Member Name Removed] When I saw what the other contractor left you with my heart sank. All I could think to do was to get your home back in order after the mess left by the other contractor. I did push hard to complete the job we were currently working on so we could put you next on our list. It is not always easy to find the right contractor. But if you need us again we are a phone call away. Thank you for this kind review. Mark DeFilippo owner Dun Rite Drywall inc. State certified general contractor CGC 1523493
They were somewhat careful but did get paint on washer and dryer.
Description of Work: They framed in, and insulated the garage, painted the interior garage and replaced drywall in small bedroom, painted bedroom and hallway. They installed a ceiling fan but did not wire it correctly and have not returned to make that right. They painted the bedroom door, it was new, but did not install knob.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
5.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
3.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$4,500
Response from DUN RITE DRYWALL Repair and Remodeling service inc
[Member Name Removed] Thank you for hiring Dun Rite Drywall. We performed all that was in our contract agreement. I always try to do my very best to make our customers happy 100% Your washer and dryer that you brought up were suppose to be moved before my workers started the job because the laundry room was so small. The paint that i saw left on your washer was clean off but another color which we did not use would not come off. We tried to clean it even though it was not our doing. The ceiling fan install was at your request when I the owner of the business was not present. You asked one of my men to install it for you, and him wanting to make the customer happy did it for you. You were never charged for this. So to complain about it is your own fault. We did many other things for you at no extra charge that you haven't mentioned in your review. When asked to install the door knob on the new door, my worker called the office and said where do we draw the line doing all this extra work? I told him that it was to stop there and not install the knob. I believe in doing a good service for my customers but we are not a charity business. Doing our best to make our customers happy is very important always, and we will try to go above and beyond. But to take advantage and get things done for free then complain about it is in very poor taste. Please call someone else for your nest project. Staff at DRD
Glen H.
11/2013
5.0
drywall
+ -1 more
Work was done on a condo, that was a converted apartment complex, originally built in 1972. It had years of apartment wear and tear, on top of poor quality drywall work when built 40+ years ago. Then electricians cut out dozens of pieces of wall board, when rewiring unit. The result was a wreck. Every wall and ceiling in the unit had to be redone, but it now looks brand new. The quality of the work is top-notch The walls, ceilings, and seams are more smooth and even, that when they were originally built. Office staff, owner, and craftsmen who did the work were all nice and professional, and easy to communicate with.
Description of Work: Repaired many drywall cut outs, caused by electrical rewiring job. Retextured, repainted, and corrected seams and finish problems; caused by poor quality job, when originally built.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,500
Response from DUN RITE DRYWALL Repair and Remodeling service inc
[Member Name Removed] I don't want to go into a long description in response to your review but you were great to work for!!!! You made the job go like I wish they would all go! Thanks for the review, I won't forget it should you need our services again! Mark DeFilippo Owner Dun Rite Drywall inc. State certified general contractor CGC # 1523493 Residential/ Commercial
Rick L.
11/2013
1.0
drywall
+ -1 more
I scheduled an appointment last Monday(10/28/13) for the following day and when the time had passed I called to see where he was or if he was coming. Mark said for me to get my other estimates and then he'd talk to me I asked him how soon he could make it and he said he was on the other side of town and he had a new girl in the office. I told him I was wanting an in-person estimate and that based on his web site his company was at the top of my list so far. His reponse was- find someone else as he was not going to get in a battle over pricing and for me to take my business elsewhere. I found his whole attitude rude. I had given him no reason to be that way. He hung up. I thought about it for a bit and then tried to call another listed number for DunRite hoping to get a manager or owner because the original gentleman(before Mark) I had talked to was very pleasant. Mark answered again and when I recognized his voice I said never mind. He then called me back and tore into me on the phone again saying my appointment was for the next day and telling me he'd been in this business for so long etc etc etc and never to call back. PS. The receptionist who originally made my appointment was very pleasant. (I have tried to give the details of my experience the best as I recall)
Description of Work: I first called on a Sat a week or so before the date listed and asked a few questions and was referred to the office on a weekday to set an appointment. I first found this company and was impressed with their company website as I was looking for someone who's principal focus was on drywall and drywall texturing. Having done some of the house myself a few years back, I had decided I wanted a professional this time to do knockdown texturing on my 3 bedrooms. I used Angies List and the BBB to find and schedule a few estimates on any work that I have done which has included: tiling, house painting, AC work, textuing, outside stucco, a new roof and soffit work etc. I have hired everyone of these projects and did not always choose the lowest price but was seeking for quality work with an experienced contractor. See comments...
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
2.0
$1
Response from DUN RITE DRYWALL Repair and Remodeling service inc
This review is quite strange! As you can tell from my many good reviews Mr. [Member Name Removed] is someone I ,Mark have never spoken to or met. I have come to find that some reviews will at some time be malicious and fraudulent. This could be any number of people, from a disgruntled ex-employee or business competitor. Who knows?? Or a complete mistake. Please disregard this review. It has no truth or merit at all. I would never treat a potential customer this way. Ever! Mark DeFilippo Owner Dun Rite Drywall inc.
Todd S.
04/2013
5.0
drywall
+ -1 more
Marc worked with us on both price and schedule. He was a pleasure to work with, through, and to the point. They showed up on time, worked fast, and did a great job hanging and taping the dry wall. I'm giving them a B not an A in quality because they texture they applied in one area was a bit off and shows a little odd through the paint. I'd still use them again, but I would ask they give special care to that task in the future.
Description of Work: We remodeled an old kitchen to the studs (walls and ceiling) and removed an odd wet bar. Both areas need drywall and matching texture.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,500
Response from DUN RITE DRYWALL Repair and Remodeling service inc
[Member Name Removed] Thank you for taking time to write this review. I'm glad you mentioned that you would use us again. I would be happy to take care of any project you need done. Thanks again!! Mark DeFilippo Owner of Dun Rite Drywall State certified general contractor CGC #1523493
DOTTIE P.
07/2008
5.0
drywall, plastering
+ 0 more
Mark was professional. He gave me an estimate. He was on time and did the work quickly and efficiently. He did some additional work. He did a great job and everything was done to our satisfaction.
Description of Work: They did a plaster ceiling repair near my fireplace in the living room. There was a leak that the roofing guy did, but the stains were still there. They matched it to our sand texture finish. There were some holes along our sliding glass door.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$300
Response from DUN RITE DRYWALL Repair and Remodeling service inc
[Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for this review! I was happy to to repair those damaged drywall areas and match the texture. The little bit of extra work you asked me to do was no problem. I'm a phone call away if you need me. 407-467-0708 By the way you have a very nice home! Thank you Mark DeFilippo Owner Dun Rite Drywall inc. State certified general contractor CGC #1523493 Residential / Commercial
GLENDA W.
11/2005
3.0
drywall
+ -1 more
MY OVERALL EXPERIENCE WAS FAIR. A COUPLE OF THINGS WERE MESSED UP BECAUSE DIRECTIONS WERE NOT FOLLOWED AND QUALITY OF WORK WAS NOT UP TO MY EXPECTATIONS.
Description of Work: THEY REPAIRED, REPLACED AND INSULATED WATER DAMAGED DRYWALL ON SEVERAL WALLS AND TWO CEILINGS.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
3.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0
$4,000
PHILLIP R.
10/2005
4.0
drywall, plastering
+ 0 more
THE ESTIMATOR IS THE OWNER AND ALSO DID THE BULK OF THE WORK. HE USED ONE ASSISTANT. HE WAS PROFESSIONAL AND DID GOOD WORK, BUT SURPRISED ME WITH ADDITIONAL COST OF $200.00
Description of Work: THEY REMOVED LIVING ROOM, FAMILY ROOM, FORMAL DINING ROOM, AND FOYER CEILING POPCORN AND REPLACED WITH KNOCK DOWN.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
3.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$2,600
Response from DUN RITE DRYWALL Repair and Remodeling service inc
[Member Name Removed] Thank you for your time in writing this review. Its always important to my company when customers like yourself take time out of their day to write a review based on work we performed in their home. I'm happy everything turned out the way you wanted it. Please call us again. 407-467-0708 We are here when you need us Mark DeFilippo Owner of Dun Rite Drywall inc. State certified general contractor CGC # 1523493
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.
*Contact business to see additional licenses.
Service Categories
Drywall,
Interior Painting,
Plaster,
Ceiling Fans,
Unfinished Carpentry,
Roofing
FAQ
DUN RITE DRYWALL Repair and Remodeling service inc is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.
Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM
No, DUN RITE DRYWALL Repair and Remodeling service inc does not offer free project estimates.
No, DUN RITE DRYWALL Repair and Remodeling service inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
No, DUN RITE DRYWALL Repair and Remodeling service inc does not offer a senior discount.
No, DUN RITE DRYWALL Repair and Remodeling service inc does not offer emergency services.
No, DUN RITE DRYWALL Repair and Remodeling service inc does not offer warranties.
DUN RITE DRYWALL Repair and Remodeling service inc offers the following services: Drywall Ceiling and Wall repair-patching and replacement Wall and Ceiling Texture matching or complete resurfacing Remodeling work-wall partitions-arches-Room additions Repair Drywall Damage by- Water-Fire-Ceiling Step Through Repair Drywall Damage by-Service Companies- Plumbers-Electricians-A/C overflow-Roof Leaks