Keyed In provides everything from commercial to residential locksmith services – such as re-keying, lock installation, and replacing locks and keys – to access control systems, security cameras, entry doors. security storm doors, garage doors, window bars and comprehensive security packages. Our professional technicians aspire to stay on the cutting edge of security innovation, enabling them to effectively upgrade security systems and create customized designs. DCJS License # 11-8123.
It was okay. They could improve on their pricing. The workers are fine. The pricing is like really high compared to other companies.
Description of Work: I purchased a Big Deal coupon from them for locksmith services.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
andrew S.
08/2016
5.0
tree service
+ -1 more
Romeo's large crew did the work quickly and efficiently. One tree was challenging because it overhung the roof, so a worker ascended the tree to remove some branches before it could be cut down. I asked them to rake away mulch and then replace it afterwards.
Description of Work: Cut down and remove three mature birch trees in the front yard.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
5.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,500
Sherrie S.
08/2016
1.0
locksmith
+ -1 more
It didn't. I scheduled the service, and the day before they were scheduled to come, they called to say they didn't realize how far away I was, and that they would have to reschedule. I went to the yellow pages, found another locksmith who came out the same day. The problem was fixed in 15 minutes.
Description of Work: Fix a lock on the front door.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
Jennifer W.
08/2016
3.0
locksmith, doors
+ 0 more
service was prompt; attitude good with technician but he took a very long time for work that seemed pretty straight forward - no odd doors or angles, just regular take out and rekey in that we bought a new house. That said, the locks all stick in the house, front door does not close easily with the lock.
Description of Work: rekey locks
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
3.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Michon O.
07/2016
1.0
locksmith
+ -1 more
Not good, they did not honor Angie's list coupon as it was written. The offer said it includes a lock and it did not.
Description of Work: Lock opened and replaced.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
$45
Carolyn P.
05/2016
2.0
garage doors
+ -1 more
This was a $99 big deal and there was a little bit of a problem there. It was supposed to include the price of the rollers and so on, but when he came he said it didn't. I ended up paying a lot more. They came out right about a week after I purchased the big deal. As soon as they left the light went off on the garage door opener so I had to replace it. The man who came was very nice, but it was not what I expected. What was positive about the experience was that it was a prompt response and he was efficient. Either Angie's List has to someway talk to these people so that they know what is included and that they don't question the person who bought it. He was very fast getting the work done.
Description of Work: I used them for a garage door tune up and roller replacement on one garage door.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
2.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
$175
Marvin H.
05/2016
4.0
locksmith
+ -1 more
They kept changing their prices. They could have a set price and not give you three different prices.
Description of Work: I have used Keyed In LLC. They did locks for me.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Michael H.
04/2016
4.0
garage doors
+ -1 more
I wasn't there but by the time I got there, it was finished. It didn't take them that much time because literally, from my job to my house is about 10 minutes drive. By the time I got here, it was finished. I had somebody here that let him in. He called me when I was on the way but by the time I got here, he was done. I asked her what he did. It turned out fine. I don't have any issues with it. I gave them a B only because it took them a couple of weeks. The service itself was fine. For quality, I can't complain.
Description of Work: I purchased a big deal for $59 Garage Door Tune-Up.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
4.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$59
Matthew M.
04/2016
3.0
auto repair, garage doors, locksmith
+ 1 more
I didn't feel like the guy knew very well what he was doing. I asked him why my remote was having issues controlling the garage door, and he made simplistic suggestions like "have you changed the batteries in the remote?" He really had no idea. Finally I called the manufacturer of the garage door opener, and they asked "do you have LED light bulbs in the garage door opener?" Well, yes, I did, and it turns out that LEDs emit a frequency that interferes with remote signals. Seems like he should have asked that. Now that I switched to CFBs, the door has been opening fine. I expect a garage door professional to know basic stuff like this. The $99 tune up wasn't worth the money. He replaced the rollers (which are very cheap) and sprayed WD40 around. Not worthy of $99!
Description of Work: This was a garage door tune up.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
3.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$99
Hallet B.
04/2016
5.0
garage doors, locksmith
+ 0 more
Keyed In were prompt, professional, and did excellent work. No reservations about using them again.
Description of Work: Fixed my garage door.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$59
Melvin H.
04/2016
4.0
locksmith
+ -1 more
The locksmith returned the following business day. He made minor changes to the lock and replaced the plates on the drams. In my opinion, that made all the difference in the stability of the lock and all is well. Thank you Keyed In for hearing my concerns and acting quickly to resolve them.
Description of Work: I requested a re-do for the lock installed on my door to garage.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Anne D.
04/2016
5.0
garage doors, locksmith
+ 0 more
I was very pleased with the service. He called when he was on his way to our house, arrived on time, was very personable, and explained what he was doing. The garage door works very smoothly now.
Description of Work: Arthur, the technician, lubricated and adjusted a garage door that had started making a lot of noise.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$59
Felix M.
04/2016
5.0
He performed in an excellent manner, he is knowledgeable, honest kind & most it all he made me feel safe so yes, Mr. San Touch is the bomb!
Description of Work: Mr. San Touch represented his company in such an excellent manner that not only should other companies should be fighting to have him represent their company, keyed in should also reward this gentlemen on a regular basis.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$164.17
Rolanda R.
04/2016
1.0
doors, handyman service
+ 0 more
This contractor is absolutely horrible when it comes to customer service, competency and professionalism. They came out to install my doors in February. The front door and the storm installation and framing was fine. However when they went to install the storm door for the back of the house, they told me that it does not fit the existing framing and that they had to install (or retrofit) framing that would hold the storm door. Yet the framing work they did has gaps all around it. It is also uneven and not flush with any of the interior framing. I paid them for storm doors and installation to reduce exposure to outside air, not to create gaps and easy access for external air to get in. It is my impression that they did not properly measure the existing framing for the back door, otherwise they would have ordered and installed a storm door that fits the existing framing. Nonetheless, if they were a competent door company, they should know how to create a frame that not only fits the back storm door they sold me, but also can be properly installed onto the front of an existing door frame. The framing they built for the back storm door had to be installed on top of the existing framing so they did that and they built framing around it but it looks really bad and it has numerous gaps. There is a large gap between the current threshold and the storm door. It is so large that I can stick my hand through it and touch the back porch. There are also gaps around the caulking of the storm door where I can see outside. What is even worse than that is the fact that they keep sending workers out to fix it that are not trained on how to do framing. It looks really bad and it looks like an amateur has done the work. It has been two months that they have been trying to fix THEIR bad framing job and they have been to my house at least 5 times. What is even worse is the fact that they owners do not seem to care. They keep giving me the run around and sending untrained craftspersons to fix the door framing and gap for the threshold. I even had one of the owners come to my house, after I called to complain about the work. When the owner (Shay) came to my house, he told me that the framing was not their responsibility because it was framing for the existing back door. However they were supposed to be installing and repairing the storm door framing, not the existing door framing. AND he should have told me when I initially ordered and paid for the doors, that they either couldn't install storm door framing on top of, or in front of, an existing door frame. OR he should have told me that they had to rip out all of the existing door framing and install framing to fit both my existing back door and the new storm door. In either case, the owner never told me that the existing door framing would create issues. Nonetheless, I do believe it is THEIR responsibility to install the necessary framing needed for the back storm door when I paid them for both the storm door and installation of the storm door. Why in the h*** would I not expect them to be responsible for, and competently trained on how to install door framing of the storm door when I paid them for both the storm door and for installation of the storm door?! Less than two weeks ago, I had an appointment for someone to come out, yet again, to fix the framing yet no one showed up. This was for Sat, April 9, 2016. I called their office, their receptionist apologized and then made an appointment for today, April 19 for their worker to come between 10-12pm. Yet this morning when I called the office, Shay answered and said that their worker would be here instead between 12-2pm. Again I had to call myself to learn about this change, no one called me. He never even apologized for the no-show from April 9th. The problem is that they keep sending untrained workers AND no one from this company calls me to tell me what's going on. I have to keep calling them myself to try and figure out if and when they might come back out to finish the work and fix the bad storm door framing and threshold gap problems THEY created. What is MOST appalling is that their other owner told me over the phone this afternoon that they've spent $200 or so on materials to try and fix the framing and threshold. Well first of all, I didn't cause this problem, THEY DID! Second of all, I gave them more than $5,000 to pay for all three doors and the required framing. So he should not have the audacity to tell me how much money they spent to try to fix the problem THEY created! Today was my last straw! They sent a locksmith to my house, who is not trained on how to do framing. They locksmith told me that the part that the company provided to fix the threshold gap was the wrong size and he also was not trained on how to fix the door framing. He said the owners would come back out in the near future to fix the door framing and the threshold gap. I am DONE! I can't keep taking off of work for them to keep coming out and pretending like they know what they're doing. I NOW HAVE TO FIND AND PAY A NEW CONTRACTOR TO FIX THEIR BAD DOOR FRAMING JOB! I will never use this company for anything ever again. If anyone wants to see pictures of their bad framing work, I am more than happy to share them. -Rolanda Rascoe
Description of Work: They installed a new front door and a new front storm door along with new framing for both. They also installed a storm door in front of my back door along with framing for the back storm door. I paid for all three doors and framing and installation for them.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
2.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$5,100
Melvin H.
04/2016
3.0
garage doors, locksmith, doors
+ 1 more
We have used their service before in our garage with no complaints but I was very disappointed this time. I had asked in writing to have 2 commercial deadbolts. My husband who was working intermittently at home and requested adding a commercial locking door knob to the front door. The front door locks are sturdy and seem secure. I wasn't pleased but I could have lived with the garage door knob lock replacement; however, it is worse than the previous standard builder's lock. It appears to go no more than 1/8 inch into the plate. Also none of the plates on the doorframes were replaced/upgraded. This was suppose to include a security check. He should have noticed that his work there did not appear very secure. Hoping for a re-do.
Description of Work: He installed 1 commercial grade deadbolts and 2 commercial grade locking door knobs
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$400
Response from Keyed In LLC
Dear Member, Thank you for your valuable feedback. Your feedback is important to us. As the technician discussed with you during the follow-up to your property, all your locks were replaced with commercial grade locks. We do not use builder grade locks in this company since we want to ensure our customers' safety and happiness in knowing the locks we install are strong with long life. He also discussed with you at the follow-up visit that your door framing needs to be realigned since the previous installer did not install it properly leaving a 1/4" gap instead of a 1/8" gap. On the day of the initial visit, he explained to your husband in a consultation, that your previous locks were being held by cardboard to fill the gap and that this was not very professional nor very safe. Unfortunately, you were not present with your husband when the technician explained these issues. Our company has a standard that we stick to and would never compromise any of our products nor the safety of a customer. We thank you again for your feedback and for allowing us a follow-up visit to directly explain to you and help you understand the situation. Best Regards, The Keyed In Team
Marie T.
04/2016
1.0
home security systems
+ -1 more
He didn't install the cable correctly, he should of went under the floor but he didn't have enough cable so he just left if across my living room floor. He was also suppose to install security cameras through the Ethernet that I can view through computer and he did not. The real problem is that I did not get a hard copy of the invoice for the original estimate of the job. They told me the total job was going to cost $4700, however it came out to be $5100. I attempted to get the original invoice from the SP, but they never cooperated with that request but finally sent out an invoice but it was for the $5100 not $4700. I then contacted them again to get the make and model information of the items listed on the invoice, in which they refused to provide. I ended up taking apart DVR to get the serial number and found that the company that makes them only charges 179.00 however the he charged me 585.00 for the exact same one. This was the one item I am sure I was in the right ball park regarding the price. Additionally they didn't leave me any manual or information on the equipment or how to use the. I have asked them over ten times to send me the information, and they continue to give me the run around. A quick start to the DVR is not helpful when I also have a monitor, and multiple new installations as well.
Description of Work: Installed security products in my home.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
4.0
$5,100
Response from Keyed In LLC
Dear Member, We are sorry to hear of this complaint but are a little surprised since you had expressed over the phone that you were pleased with the overall installation and operation of your products. Regarding the cable that was not installed properly, when we spoke with you recently, we suggested that we come out, free of charge, to move the cable to a better spot for you at which time you had explained to our Office Manager that you were not ready to move the cable because you had other components to be installed in your basement and you were not sure where you would like the cable moved to in connection with the other components. We are more than happy to accommodate your wish regarding the cable. Your security camera was not installed through the Ethernet so that you can view through the computer because you chose to view your DVR on a monitor instead and stated that you did not want to look at it on the computer. This is why our technician interrupted the installation, and had gone to pick up a monitor, which was at your request. We apologize if the technician was not clear in communicating that only the monitor would be installed. Also, we can assure you that the $179 DVR is not the exact same one as our product. Our DVRs come directly from the manufacturer and not from a third party online store; includes a special order, a manufacturer's warranty and a company warranty. We do not use third party products. We also do not refuse to provide makes and models of products. Our technician provided you with a paper manual and a CD of your Camera and DVR. If you are unable to locate them, please give us a call and we can certainly help you obtain another copy. Finally, the technician has thoroughly checked the invoice for any discrepancies and did not find any, however, we will have a second set of eyes re-check once again. If we find any, we will be certain to contact you. Thank you! Best Regards, The Keyed In Team
Don D A.
04/2016
5.0
locksmith
+ -1 more
Technician was on time and explained all options to us. Once we selected on option it was installed within a half hour. It was reasonably proceed. Technician was very informative.
Description of Work: Replaced lock.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$400
Michael H.
04/2016
5.0
locksmith
+ -1 more
Great! Very professional & knowledgeable
Description of Work: Change locks.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,400
Perina G.
04/2016
5.0
locksmith
+ -1 more
San the tech. was very professional and explained the entire procedure, he was detailed and completed the job. Very please.
Description of Work: Repair patio door lock (strike plate).
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$120
Kristen S.
04/2016
4.0
doors, garage doors
+ 0 more
Actual service took less than ten minutes (was supposed to be $150 value). Spent more time working up further repair needs up to full replacement, though they said were probably not immediately neccessary. Couldn't help believe discounted service was just way to try to get further work. However, they were very professional about it. Never did receive hard copy estimates as promised.
Description of Work: Lubricated garage door rollers and spring. Adjusted position of safety beam. Worked up estimate to replace door and opener.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
3.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
4.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$75
John & Debbie C.
04/2016
5.0
locksmith
+ -1 more
I would highly recommend them. They were very professional and kind. They got the job done quickly.
Description of Work: $241 for a High Security Deadbolt with Installation and Security Inspection
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$241
Lorraine M.
04/2016
1.0
locksmith
+ -1 more
I scheduled the appointment for 10am on Monday, April 11. At 1007am I called to confirm that the appointment was still on. The young lady that answered said she would call the salesman to get an estimated time of arrival. I explained I would like to have had a phone call to tell me he was running late. That's when she said the person that booked the appointment would have told you there was a 2 hour window. I told her "you booked the appointment and nothing was said about a 2 hour window." She said "oh." She said she would call me back with an estimated arrival time. The salesman called minutes later wanting to confirm if I would be home for the appointment. I told him to cancel. All that I require is either prompt service or a phone call telling me you're running late. To spend up to a couple thousand dollars for 2 security storm doors, (estimates from previous companies) I expected prompt service or a notification that they were running late.
Description of Work: Nothing
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
Response from Keyed In LLC
Dear Member, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry that you did not use our service due to a misunderstanding of our scheduling policy; however, we do not give exact times that a technician will arrive to a location. It is our policy and customary, that after a scheduling, the schedulers inform all customers of this policy by reading the following statement, "We have a two hour window. The technician will give you a call 30 minutes before he arrives. You must answer the phone for him to come to the location. If you don't answer, he will not come." The scheduling calls are monitored and the two hour window statement is mandatory. We sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding and hope you will try us once again. Best Regards, The Keyed In Team
Michael G.
04/2016
5.0
locksmith
+ -1 more
San was prompt, courteous, professional, knowledgeable, and efficient. He explained the options available and provided estimates for them. He cleaned up well when the job was complete.
Description of Work: Supplied and installed two (2) dead bolts, including drilling holes in doors and re-keying locks.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$500
Jose S.
03/2016
1.0
garage doors
+ -1 more
We had him come out to do a garage door service. We wanted him to work on the motor, the door and when we told him that's what we wanted, he said if we wanted him to cover the motor, then we'd have to pay more. We had just moved in and we wanted the whole thing checked and they were going to charge us another 200 dollars to do the two motors on the two bay garage and we said no. They said we only paid for them to put grease on the door and tighten the screws. We sent them away. We didn't have them do anything. We ended up calling them just to get a refund on that. They are not clear so it can be deceiving. I think they were late.
Description of Work: They didn't do anything.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$300
Response from Keyed In LLC
Dear Member, Thank you for your valuable feedback. According to our records, you purchased a $59 Garage door tune up deal, which only covers greasing/lubing all moving parts of a garage door, tightening, fastening etc. You wanted a garage door motor and door repair. The $59 deal does not cover repairs to motors and doors as stated in the terms when you purchased the deal. Unfortunately, a customer cannot purchase a $59 deal and use it to cover the cost of an upgraded service. We are sorry you did not use our service and we apologize for any miscommunication. Since we did not perform a service, please contact Angie’s List for a full refund of $59. Sincerely, The Keyed In Team
Crystal H.
03/2016
5.0
locksmith
+ -1 more
Excellent –sag explained everything-costs, process, best products etc. I would request him again-very animated!
Description of Work: San changed the locks & explained the whole process prior to doing it.
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.
*Contact business to see additional licenses.
Service Categories
Locksmiths,
Garage Doors,
Doors,
Home Security Systems,
Wrought Iron,
Mailbox Repair,
Home Automation,
Windows - Safety & Security Film,
Welding
FAQ
Keyed In LLC is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.
Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Keyed In LLC accepts the following forms of payment: American Express,Check,Discover,Financing Available,MasterCard,Visa
Yes, Keyed In LLC offers free project estimates.
Yes, Keyed In LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.
Yes, Keyed In LLC offers a 15% senior discount.
Yes, Keyed In LLC offers emergency services.
Yes, Keyed In LLC offers warranties.
Keyed In LLC offers the following services: Locksmiths, Security Cameras, Entry Doors, Security Storm Doors, Window Bars, Welding, & Windows - Safety & Security Film, Access Control, Intercom Systems, Garage Doors.
Contact information
4401 Connecticut Ave NW Ste 257, Washington, DC 20008