Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor

Landscaping, Drain Pipe Installation, Pavers and Hardscaping,

About us

TJB-INC is a local family owned, Professional Landscape & Drainage Contractor since 1976. We specialize in Custom Water Features, Synthetic Putting Greens, All Hardscaping - Traditional & Permeable (walks, patios, pool decks, driveways & retaining walls), Landscape Plantings (Trees, Shrubs, Flowers, Bulbs & Ground Covers), Storm Water & Drainage Issues, Seasonal Property Maintenance, On-Site Consultations with our expert who can answer all your questions. TJB-INC holds many licenses, certifications, & registrations: * CT Home Improvement Contractor Registration #507853 * CT DEP Business Registration # B-652 * CT DEP Turf & Ornamental Supervisor #S-1710 *CT DEP Arborist # S-1710 * Interlocking Concrete Pavement Institute (ICPI) Level 1 Installer * NCMA Certified Segmental Retaining Wall Installer * National Pond Society - "Master Pond Gardener" * International Professional Pond Contractors Association # 7173 * Certified Master Aquascape Contractor (1st in New England) *Nicolock Hardscape Pro * Techo-Block Hardscape Pro * Manufacturer's Installer Certifications from Ideal, Uni-Lock, Grinnell, Belgard, Versa-Lock, & many more. You can contact us at the following telephone numbers: 203-287-0636 Customer Service 203-288-3711 24-Hour Answering Service 203-288-3213 Fax Machine 800-926-2119 Toll Free Or at any of the E-Mail addresses below tjb@TJB-INC.com Info@TJB-INC.com Ted@Pond.Expert Ted@Drainage.Expert Social Media Sites: 1. Facebook = TJB-Inc-Landscape-Drainage-Contractors 2. Instagram = tjbinc_landscape_and_drainage 3. YouTube = TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor Take a virtual tour of our Display Gardens & Ponds at http://www.tjb-inc.com/about/#virtualtour See a drone fly through video of our Displays: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YYCtozHoquI See thousands of photos of our work at http://www.houzz.com/pro/tjbinc/__public See our customer reviews on Angie, Yelp, BBB, Houzz, Google, & Facebook!

Business highlights

49 years of trusted experience
LGBTQ+ Friendly
Family Owned & Operated
Emergency Services Offered
Eco Friendly

Services we offer

Custom Water Garden & Natural Pond Installation, Synthetic & Natural Golf & Putting Green Turf installation, Interlocking Paver Patios, Walkways, Driveways and pool decks, Segmental & Timber Retaining Walls & Steps, Waterfalls & Streams, Lawn Treatment Programs, Lawn Renovation & Installation, Drainage Problems, Rain Water Harvesting & Storm Water Solutions, On-Site Consultations.

Services we don't offer

Asphalt, Poured Concrete, Stamped Concrete, Snow Removal Outside of Hamden & New Haven, Property & Lawn Maintenance > 10 miles From Hamden, Wood Decking, House Washing, Junk Removal, Brick Chimneys, Gutter Cleaning, Weekly Doggy Poo Clean-up, Tree Care, Electrical, Interior Masonry, Plumbing, Dump runs, Gutter cleaning, Roofing, Debris hauling, Driveway sealing, Bi-weekly lawn mowing, Painting, Leaf clean-up, yard cleanup, cleanup, clean-up, clean up, sticks, limbs, branches, pressure washing, deck cleaning, deck building, shrub pruning, tree pruning, flower beds, gardens, rototilling,

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Emergency Services
Yes


Accepted payment methods

Check
CreditCard
Financing Available
PayPal
Venmo
Zelle

Photos of past projects

Reviews

4.653 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
81%
4
9%
3
2%
2
2%
1
6%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.7
value
4.6
professionalism
4.7
responsiveness
4.6
punctuality
4.6
Showing 26-50 of 53 reviews

Rich B.
09/2020
5.0
landscaping, drain pipe
  + 0 more
TJB did an overall excellent job
Description of Work: Put in wood steps on a hill

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,400

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
This client had a set of stone stairs that were failing. TJB-INC removed the existing stair system and replaced it with pressure treated timber supports capped with bluestone treads salvaged from the demolition of the original system. The void spaces were filled with 1/2 clean stone to allow for proper drainage and limit soil contact with the timbers. This will ensure the longevity of the new stair system for many years to come.

Donna K.
06/2014
5.0
landscaping, pavers, gravel
  + 0 more
unknown
Description of Work: Revigorated our 1 acre lawn, spread 3/4" stone on our 350' driveway. Went great. |

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$4,500

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
Thank you for the kind review. Enjoy the new house! ... TED

Pete D.
06/2014
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
unknown

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
Thank you for the kind review. If we can be of any further service, please call us @ 203-287-0636. ... TED

Varadarajan R.
06/2014
5.0
landscaping, lawn treatment
  + 0 more
He did all the lawn fertilizer work correctly
Description of Work: Did fertilizer

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

$66

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
Thank you for the kind review. If we can be of any further service, please call us @ 203-287-0636. ... TED

Michael P.
02/2014
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
.
Description of Work: LAWN RENOVATION,CONSISTING OF DELIVERING 18 YARDS OF TOPSOIL, SPREADING AND GRADING THE TOPSOIL AND THEN SEEDING THE ENTIRE LAWN.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$2,600

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
Thank you for your review. I am glad you are happy with the service & I received notice from your wife that you are renewing for 2013. Thank you again. ... TED

Jennifer O.
01/2014
3.0
snow removal
  + -1 more
Snow removal
Description of Work: .

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
1.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0

$185

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
We are a professional Snow Removal company with 15 plow trucks, 3 loaders, 46 snow blowers. We stockpile 40+ cuyds of sand/salt mix and Magic Salt at our 5600 sqft building on 1 acre of land we own in Hamden. We have on hand, pallets of 50 lb CMA Ice-Melter for icy sidewalks. We have been in business since 1976 and most of our customers have been with us for 20+ years. Our minimum charge for snow removal is $65.00 with 10% residential and 90% commercial customers. Customers hire TJB-INC because we have a reputation of providing excellent, reliable, on-time snow removal services for many years. They do not hire us because we are cheap. We charge a fair price for our services. When a new customer calls us, we provide a written contract detailing how we charge for Snow Removal services and must be signed before we start service. We hire a third party source, The Connecticut Weather Center (climatic data collection center for the National Weather Center) to determine snowfall depth. No surprises. Just because Mother Nature drops copious amounts of snow and we charge to clear it, does not make us the bad guy. This customer, [member name removed] is complaining about a massive snowfall in February 2013. Our area received the second largest recorded single snowfall in Connecticut history. 40" of snow which resulted in drifts that were 4' - 6' high, Due to the impassible conditions, the National Guard was called in to assist our local town plows. Roads took up to 5 days to get plowed open. People were stuck in their homes for up to a week. As far as [member name removed] property, the town road was not cleared for several days. Once the road was open, we had to use a front-end loader to clear the property. 1 car garage with driveway, corner lot with over 200' of sidewalk. Our charge of $184.00 was below market value and was fair based upon the equipment needed and time spent. It was also exactly what our contract said we would charge based upon the depth of snowfall, 40". Our customer's are always welcome save money and clear their own property before we show up. This customer waited for us and paid the bills when sent. We continued to service the property for the remainder of the season. The customer did not renew for the next season.

Julian B.
01/2014
4.0
snow removal
  + -1 more
The original estimate was meant for two services (approximate costs) The amount has been adjusted for one service. In my opinion the way the number of inches of snow is determined differs from the number of inches on my driveway. TJB has always been very reliable and does good work, but they are expensive. He did not inform me that he has increased his prices for new customers and that I am getting the reduced charge
Description of Work: Plowed my driveway after a snow storm.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
Actual bill to customer was $70.20 + CT tax to clear his double wide driveway of 6" - 9" of snow, not $150.00 as stated by customer. Snow depth as stated on all of our contracts is determined by a 3rd party source, The Connecticut Weather Center not TJB-INC. Our pricing has been the same for the past 10 years that this customer has been a client. He has been one of the first to renew year after year with no price increase. I do not understand the low score of this review and will contact the customer to see what is really going on.

Karen D.
08/2013
1.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
Disappointment from start to finish. This is the first contractor used from this list that did not meet expectations in terms of customer care, professionalism, quality of work. It is unfortunate that I will have to spend more time and money to complete what was promised by the company. The sales pitch - terrific.
Description of Work: Landscape Cleanup

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
2.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$1,000

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
As always, there are two sides to every story. The customer called me and said she was an Angie's Member and wanted an estimate for some yard work. I explained that for basic yard work, she was out of my service area. She said she really needed my help so I agreed to go give her an on-site estimate. Since the property was over 1 hr away, I blocked out a 3 hr window for this estimate. I arrived on site and the customer and I walked around the small property. The job consisted of basic shrub pruning, edging a garden bed, pulling weeds, & hauling the debris. I wrote up the estimate detailing what shrubs were to be pruned and what weeds to pull. I explained to the customer that I had to add a travel charge due the extra travel time to and from the job. The customer reviewed the estimate and agreed that what was written was what she wanted done. Customer signed the estimate and gave me a deposit. The next week, I met with my foreman and went over exactly what was to be done. He took 2 additional workers and went to complete the job. When the crew arrived on site, they met with the customer and the problems started. The estimate was explicit on what was to be done. After the crew was working for an hour, the customer came out and changed the entire scope of the work to be done. The crew wanting to please the customer said ok to the extras that the customer was asking for. (Bad Mistake) Unfortunately, I was out of the country on vacation so I was not reachable by phone. After the first set of extra work was done, the customer continued to add additional scopes of work. What was estimated as a 6 man hr job turned into an 18 man hr adventure plus additional drive time. There was not enough time in the day to complete the new scope of work that the crew had to redrive back out the next day. They completed all the work and the customer paid the balance on the original estimate but has not paid for the additional work that was completed at her request. Customer was happy enough with the work that she bought the crew lunch. Now I receive a review from this customer stating how terrible we were. This is not a fair evaluation. The customer took advantage of the crew and changed the scope of work without paying for the additional crew time. Ted J Greiner President & CEO

Stephen M.
08/2013
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
Ted was extremely responsive to my inquires, even though he was traveling. Unfortunately, we needed help right away, but Ted's professionalism and responsiveness were excellent. Highly recommended.
Description of Work: Spoke to me about a landscaping job.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,000

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
Customer called while TJB-INC was closed for vacation shutdown and needed to have some work done rightway. Ted called back (from out of state) and explained we were closed so another local contractor would be a better fit in the customer quick timeline.

Chris K.
07/2013
5.0
landscaping, pavers, gravel
  + 0 more
He was very knowledgeable and helpful
Description of Work: Gave estimate on walk

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
[Member Name Removed] was open to Ted's suggestions on different ways to design the current walkway replacement to be more functional than what was there. [Member Name Removed] did not hire TJB-INC but was thankful for the input on how to best build the walkway.

Anastasia and Edward P.
06/2013
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
TJB-INC Landscape Contractor are very nice people, very professional, and came on time. The man was very polite, very nice, and had the estimate.
Description of Work: We got a quote of $3,000 from TJB-INC Landscape Contractor for landscaping.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
Thank You for the review!

Brendan S.
05/2013
5.0
snow removal
  + -1 more
Ted graciously agreed to add me to his customers despite the fact that he was already facing a huge challenge with the blizzard coming. He did a preliminary pass early in the storm, removing about 6 inches. After 40 inches fell in our town, breaking all records, Ted's trucks were breaking down from the strain. He actually hired a contractor from Michigan with a V-Plow to come out and help clear his customers out once the roads were passable. After four days of being trapped in my home, I had managed to snow blow the bulk of my driveway, so that once the road was clear I could get out for a well-deserved vacation. When I came home, the driveway had been pushed back to make it more passable. I got a bill from Ted based on clearing the entire 40 inches, but when I called Ted to explain, he graciously agreed to drop the bill to a more acceptable level, no questions asked.
Description of Work: TJB agreed to add me to their list of customers just a few days before the big blizzard of 2013.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$250

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
That storm was the single largest snowfall in recorded history for our area. Many of the secondary roads took up to 7 days to open so our trucks could get to our customer's houses. We also had many of our drivers & shovelers that got snowed in and could not report to work to help clear. Out of town contractors came to our area to help and make quick money. TJB-INC hired a couple of these trucks and drivers to help service our accounts because of our lack of available support help. Working around closed roads made it very tricky to get to our customers but in the end, everybody got cleared. Some customers to pass the time, decided to start clearing their own property. When their roads opened up, TJB-INC was able to clear the remaining snow. For these customers, we reduced their bill because some of the work had already been completed. We and the customer's felt this was the fairest outcome to all. Thank you for your feedback [member name removed].

pete B.
02/2013
5.0
snow removal
  + -1 more
Excellent. Tjb cleaned up our driveway before we expected it due to the extreme snow conditions
Description of Work: Tjb did a remarkable job the conditions withstanding. Ted called to let us know that due to the Blizzard and expected snow amounts he might be delayed in cleaning our driveway.. The fact that he cleaned our drive way so quickly and kept us informed is why we rate him so high. I highly recommend his company!!!

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$10,000

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
Thank you for your continued patronage.

RICHARD G.
12/2012
5.0
drain pipe, landscaping
  + 0 more
Well, he seemed to understand the town code drainage problem and how to correct it better than other contractors quoting the job and came up with a reasonably priced solution to correct the problem, his workers came and did the required work, It passed The required inspection and my CO was issued by the town. Quite happy with Ted.
Description of Work: Dig trench to Install ground drain and pipe up rear driveway from basement door, install new gutter drain pipe, grade and level ground near door with crushed stone.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$447

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
Thank you member for the review. Too many contractors over sell a job when a simple solution is available. I like to treat my customers like I want to be treated. Give me the simple solution that solves my problem. I am glad I was able to do the same for you. Enjoy your new dry basement! ... Ted

John O.
11/2012
4.0
landscaping, lawn treatment
  + 0 more
Overall I was very pleased with the knowledge that the company representative had and the work that was performed.
Description of Work: TJB Landscaing advised me to get a soil annalysis for my lawn which I did. He looked at the results and knew exactly what my lawn needed. He came out to my house and looked at the lawn and was very knowledgable about the lawn and its needs. They dethatch the lawn, applied lime and slice seeded the lawn. He also gave me a price for applying fertilizer to my entire yard which I thought was very reasonabe as it was very close to the price I pay to buy and apply it myself. The one thing that I have never heard any company state before was that I guarentee you will have a lawn as long as we are taking care of it. If for any reason you are not happy let us know and we will remedy the problem. Right now the lawn is looking pretty good but I am eager to see how it comes up in the SPRING.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$800

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
Thank you for the review. Since grass needs warm weather and around 3 months to fully grow in and you are happy now, just wait until spring! The lawn will only get thicker and better. As far as our seeding warranty: If we seed a lawn, we guaranty that anywhere we seed will germinate or we will come back at no charge and re-seed the bare area(s). If we have control of the products applied to the lawn and you provide the water, TJB-INC will extend the warranty for as long as we treat the lawn.

Pamela C.
06/2012
4.0
lawn service
  + -1 more
They were nice and definitely got the job done within the time constraints.
Description of Work: DB-INC Landscape planted flowers and replanted the grass.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
4.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
Hi Member, Thank you for your feedback but we do not do flower planting in New York, only Connecticut. I think you have us confused with another contractor but thank youanyhow for the nice report.

maritza V.
06/2012
5.0
excavators, lakefront landscaping
  + 0 more
The experience was perfect I would not have done this project if it was not for Ted giving me detailed answers to my questions. He is extremely knowledgeable.
Description of Work: My husband and I have been doing some outside work and started to talk about getting a pond. I did not know anything about ponds so how wonderful it was to speak to Ted who was happy to answer all my questions and I had lots of them. He was very friendly and answer each and everyone with detail and a smile. He walked me step by step through the process. I am the type of person that know exactly what I want but I was concern that he would not be able to take my vision and make it a reality so you can imagine my surprise when he EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS ( that is not easy). Ted and his crew were extremely professional and kept my grounds neat for the next days work. Ted went above and beyond...always doing that extra touch that made my pond looked natural and my friends and family can't stop telling me how beautiful it came out. I LOVE MY POND . Thank you Ted for creating my serenity pond which will give me a lifetime of happiness.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$8,000

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
We enjoyed creating your one of a kind water feature. Thank you for your review!

anita W.
05/2012
5.0
landscaping, hardscaping
  + 0 more
They were fabulous on terms of working with me. People stop and say it's beautiful. Reasonable price and the design was fabulous.
Description of Work: Put in walk way and garden around it. Designed my lawn.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$8,000

pete B.
11/2011
5.0
landscaping, outdoor lighting
  + 0 more
Finally a contractor I can trust.
Description of Work: We had a good experience with TJB regarding renavating our front yard. TJB provided us with nightscaping this time. Now our yard looks great whether it be day or night. I have more projects lined up for TJB to complete.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$875

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
Thank you for putting your trust in TJB-INC. The crews & I enjoy working on your projects. Thanks again to your wife for all of the great snacks & drinks. We really appreciated them while we were were working.

pete B.
11/2011
5.0
hardscaping
  + -1 more
Awesome job!
Description of Work: We were so impressed with TJB's services during the year, that we contracted them to install 2 walkways and a patio. Tjb arrived when they said they would, they had a minor delay due to a early snowstorm. They kept us aware of all details involving the storm. they even plowed our driveway as a freebie to us. the walks and patio came out beautifully. we are the talk of the neighborhood with how fast the job was done and more importantly how it looks like TJB was never here.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$15,000

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
With the great lawn & gardens, it was nice to be able to install functional walkways & a patio space for your house. Now, think how well a natural looking water garden with the relaxing sounds of splashing water next to your patio would help you unwind after a hard day at the office!. Just planting the seed ... Thank you again for the nice reviews!

michael H.
11/2011
4.0
drain pipe, lawn service
  + 0 more
I haven't received the bill yet from the work they just did. They did some other work this past summer and they did a good job; there were just some cleanup issues. The first time they were putting in some drainage in the yard and they left some of the old drainage pipe on the ground and didn't take it. The quality of the work was really good; it was just the cleanup issues. They were very professional. I would use them again because it was just that one time that I had a problem.
Description of Work: I used TJB for fall cleanup. They also mowed my lawn because my lawnmower broke.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
Thank you for your review. I will be doing invoices shortly. The "old drainage pipes" that were left after the drainage was installed, were the plastic downspout extensions that belonged to you. They were in perfect condition and we did not want to take them from you in case you ever needed them again in the future on any of the remaining downspouts. When we were hired to do the fall clean-up, you mentioned the extensions to the crew and we did take them off site back to our shop. Thanks again and please remember TJB-INC if you need work in the future. ... TED

glenn C.
06/2011
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
Excellent overall experience with meeting Ted.
Description of Work: Didnt have service performed, had an estimate of potential work. Ted talked with us about our options with full disclosure. He even quizzed us on how to spot the various plants of poisonous variety. He spent 2.5 hours with us with no compensation for his time, just to give as much information as we could handle. Very knowledgeable, honest and forthcoming. We will be using his services when the time comes.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
I have a soft spot for young couples starting out. I wish someone had shared their knowledge when I purchased my first house that could have saved me lots of time & money. I know you will remember TJB-INC when you start getting into projects that are outside of your capabilities (or time). We will be happy to help you anyway we can in the future. Congratulations on your new home! ... TED

Kevin R.
05/2011
1.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
It didn't, I never heard from or met with anyone from TJB Inc. to discuss my project and or receive an estimate for the work to be performed.
Description of Work: I initially called TJB Inc on 5/17/2011 to schedule an onsite meeting/quote for some landscaping I needed to have done on an investment property, I never received a return phone call. I tried again on 5/21/2011 by filling out their "get a quote" form on their website an have not received a reply from that form of contact either. As a fellow business owner I find it disturbing that I am reaching out to contractors to schedule work and I am not getting any response, I'm not sure how they stay in business when they do not return customers phone calls Would not recommend, and if they come out to speak to you beware of what's to follow.....

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0


Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
Hi, Sorry about the lack of contact. I received 78 new calls for work that week and have been unable to respond to every one in a timely manner as I normally do. As you know we, had lots of rain this month, so when the weather cleared, everyone has been working long days to complete the work that has already been contracted for. I had to make a choice between completing jobs already signed up or getting additional work. I choose to keep my current clients happy and fulfill my promises to them to finish their projects on time (or as weather allows). I think this is the same with most contractors this month who work outdoors. All of the good contractors like TJB-INC have lots of work signed up this year and need to make the same choices. I apologize that you fell into this situation. I was able to make all of my promised deadlines of Memorial Day weekend . If you would still like to meet, I can make time for you in the next week. Call me direct @ 203-287-0636 or send me an e-mail to tjb@TJB-INC.com and we can find a time that is good for both of us. ... TED J GREINER (President & CEO)

nurys C.
06/2010
1.0
landscaping, lawn service
  + 0 more
Came out to my home very personable friendly guy gave me lots of information yet never again called me back. Tried contacting him through e-mail and phone calls several times yet no call. My husband got a hold of him on a Sunday and he promised to do work if we send an e-mail. nothing as of yet this was in March now in June I have no landscaping done. I called this morning 6/21/10 and Patty asked me to have a wonderful day when I requested a call today as to when the work would be done. I paid for the estimate and thats all I got. Patty is terribly unprofessional and has no business answering the phone which is why TJB has no business with me. Thank you-Nurys Cooley
Description of Work: Came out to my home very personable friendly guy gave me lots of information yet never again called me back. Tried contacting him through e-mail and phone calls several times yet no call. My husband got a hold of him on a Sunday and he promised to do work if we send an e-mail. nothing as of yet this was in March now in June I have no landscaping done. I called this morning 6/21/10 and Patty asked me to have a wonderful day when I requested a call today as to when the work would be done. I paid for the estimate and thats all I got. Patty is terribly unprofessional and has no business answering the phone which is why TJB has no business with me. Thank you-Nurys Cooley

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
5.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0

$165

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
I was hired to give an on-site consultation for $65.00 to a home owner who wanted to improve the overall look of her property. We made an appointment and went over many different ideas to improve the property. I left the customer with drawings with the understanding that they were going to do the work themselves or maybe hire an outside contractor. The customer was to disscuss the job with her husband and decide if they wanted to hire TJB-INC to do some of the work. I gave the customer my direct phone # if she wanted to contact me so she would not have to go through the answering service. I was paid $65.00 for my consultation and left. I received a call from the husband several weeks later asking me to contact his wife because they wanted some of the work to be done by TJB-INC. I explained to the husband that I needed a copy of the drawings in order to price out the items they want completed. I told him that his wife has the only copy of the drawings. The husband said he would forward over a copy by either email or USPS along with his deposit check to cover the materials cost but I never received it. I assumed that they had used my drawings and either done the work themselves or hired another landscape contractor to do the work. This happens all the time in my industry which is why I charge a fee for my consultations & drawings. As far as talking to "Patty", she is an unknown person at the answering service that I do not know. Unfortunately, the customer did not call my direct phone # but instead called the main phone # which goes to an answering service 24/7. During the spring, because of the addition of my on-line store, TJB-INC & www.ShopTJB.com receives hundreds of calls each week. I assume that if the customer called, her message unfortunately fell through the cracks. This is why I gave her my direct phone number (203-287-0636) so her call would not get redirected to the ansering service. TJB-INC would have been happy to do the work of the customer but I assume each party thought the other was going to do the communication and nothing ever gone done. If the customer still has the drawings and has not completed the work, TJB-INC would be more than happy to to complete the jobs at the rates discused with the customer. We will hold our pricing for this customer until the end of 2010 if they decide to move foreward. All we require is the 50% deposit to cover materials and a written signature to start the job. We currently have a wait list of around 3.5 weeks before we can start. This wait time will increase after the summer ends and more signed estimates come back to TJB-INC. (We complete the jobs in the order they were returned to us). Thank You Ted J Greiner President & CEO TJB-INC 203-288-3711 (main) 203-287-0636 (direct to office) tjb@TJB-INC.com (Ted's e-mail) www.TJB-INC.com www.ShopTJB.com My direct # is 203-287-0636

CARRIE E.
10/2008
5.0
landscaping, lawn service
  + 0 more
They were fantastic. I initially called in desperation for somebody to weed the garden for us, because I couldn't tell the weeds from the plants. The woman on the phone, the owner's wife I believe, suggested instead we have Ted, their master gardener, come out first for a consultation(costing a lot less money). Ted spent nearly 1.5 hours with us, walked all around the garden and the house, educating us on the different plants and what to do with the garden and even our lawn care. He seemed very knowledgeable. I would definitely use them again for any of our lawn care/garden needs.
Description of Work: The owner, Ted Grenier, came out to give us a consultation on what to do with the overgrown perennial garden we inherited with our house.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$65

Response from TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor
Thank you Member for your favorable review. I enjoyed talking with you and giving you update and suggestions on your property.
    • 1
    • 2(current)
    • 3

Contact information

12 Crest Way *** Display Gardens & Ponds Open 24/7/365 ***, Hamden, CT 06514

http://www.tjb-inc.com

Service hours

Sunday:
Closed
Monday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday:
Closed

Licensing

Bonded

Insured

Licensed*

Trade License Number
HIC.0507853
Trade License Locale
CT
Trade License Authority
Connecticut
Trade License Expiration
03/31/2026

Eco-friendly Accreditations

LEED Accredited Professional
No
Energy Star Partner
No
EPA Lead-Safe Certified
No
Use Green Products or Work Practices
Yes
State Contractor License Requirements

All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

*Contact business to see additional licenses.

All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to: https://www.elicense.ct.gov/

Service Categories

Landscaping,
Drain Pipe Installation,
Pavers and Hardscaping,
Stone and Gravel,
Lawn and Yard Work,
Excavating,
Lawn Fertilization & Treatment,
Snow Removal,
Landscaping - Lighting,
Patios,
Fountains,
Landscaping - Lakefront

FAQ

TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor accepts the following forms of payment: Check,CreditCard,Financing Available,PayPal,Venmo,Zelle
Yes, TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor offers free project estimates.
Yes, TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor offers eco-friendly accreditations.
No, TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor does not offer a senior discount.
Yes, TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor offers emergency services.
Yes, TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor offers warranties.
TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor offers the following services: Custom Water Garden & Natural Pond Installation, Synthetic & Natural Golf & Putting Green Turf installation, Interlocking Paver Patios, Walkways, Driveways and pool decks, Segmental & Timber Retaining Walls & Steps, Waterfalls & Streams, Lawn Treatment Programs, Lawn Renovation & Installation, Drainage Problems, Rain Water Harvesting & Storm Water Solutions, On-Site Consultations.
Asphalt, Poured Concrete, Stamped Concrete, Snow Removal Outside of Hamden & New Haven, Property & Lawn Maintenance > 10 miles From Hamden, Wood Decking, House Washing, Junk Removal, Brick Chimneys, Gutter Cleaning, Weekly Doggy Poo Clean-up, Tree Care, Electrical, Interior Masonry, Plumbing, Dump runs, Gutter cleaning, Roofing, Debris hauling, Driveway sealing, Bi-weekly lawn mowing, Painting, Leaf clean-up, yard cleanup, cleanup, clean-up, clean up, sticks, limbs, branches, pressure washing, deck cleaning, deck building, shrub pruning, tree pruning, flower beds, gardens, rototilling,

Contact information

12 Crest Way *** Display Gardens & Ponds Open 24/7/365 ***, Hamden, CT 06514

http://www.tjb-inc.com

Service hours

Sunday:
Closed
Monday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday:
Closed