Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc

Plumbing, Water Heaters, Drain Cleaning,

This pro has maintained an average of 4.5+ stars throughout their time with Angi.

About us

Valley Plumbing Home Center is a licensed, insured and bonded company that has been servicing the Tri-Valley area for over 30 years. Established in 1982, we have grown from a family-owned business to a corporation with the same family feeling. Our company's motto "Integrity Before Profit", leads us in hiring people that care about their work and finished work performance. We service the complete Tri-Valley area for homeowners, property managers, insurance adjusters and commercial businesses. Our Plumbing technicians, showroom & office personnel has a total of 17+ employees. Additional email-showroom@valleyplumbinginc.com Award winning.

Business highlights

43 years of trusted experience
Emergency Services Offered

Services we offer

Residential & commercial plumbing, bathroom remodels & re-piping, water, gas & sewer, instantaneous & tank water heaters, cultured & natural marble, onyx & granite.

Services we don't offer

Odor Control or Dental exams. If you're not sure call us.

Amenities

Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount

$10

Emergency Services
Yes


Accepted payment methods

Check
Financing Available
MasterCard
PayPal
Visa

Photos of past projects

Reviews

4.7251 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
85%
4
6%
3
3%
2
2%
1
4%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.8
value
4.3
professionalism
4.8
responsiveness
4.8
punctuality
4.8

Filter reviews by category

Showing 51-75 of 251 reviews

Tom N.
08/2014
5.0
plumbing, drain cleaning
  + 0 more
1: Arrived on time 2: Quickly cleared the stoppage and checked to confirm that the pipe was clear and flowing from the back to front of house 3: Provided good advice on how to avoid stoppage in the future. 4: Friendly Service
Description of Work: Cleared drain stoppage, fast, effective, friendly

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$200

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
Sounds Great! Thank you for telling us how we performed. If we can do anything better please let us know. Thank You For Your Patronage. Mike Cheney President. 925-462-1639 info@valleyplumbinginc.com

Hung T.
07/2014
1.0
ceramic tile, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling
  + 2 more
Pro: The estimator showed up on time. Con: Overpriced. I received 4 bids and to make sure that I compare apples to apples, I will state only the labor part. The 4 bids are $5500, $6700, $7800 and $11200. The $11200 is the labor part of Valley Plumbing. Valley Plumbing's bid does not include painting the wall, while the other bids do include painting the wall. All 4 bids include necessary building materials such as copper pipe, studs, cement board, sheet rock, ventilation, etc. As an example of how overpriced Valley Plumbing is, let's look at the labor cost of tiling the tub wall. Valley Plumbing charges $3722.60 to tile approximately 72 sq ft. This comes to $51.70 to put one tile on the wall!!!! Here is another way that I understand this. Let's say it takes approximately 10 hours to tile 72 sq ft... Then the labor Valley Plumbing charges is $372.26 an hour!!!!! I am also disappointed about wall painting. First, I find it strange that Valley Plumbing charges such a high price for bathroom remodeling and yet for some reason does not do such a simple thing as painting the wall. Secondly, on the day of the estimate, the estimator did not reveal the fact that Valley Plumbing does not paint the wall. He only let me know several days later when I called to ask. UPDATE (7/23/2014) I have updated my rating based on the following: 1. You are unresponsive. I sent your store an email on June 26. One of the employees (Sharon) forwarded my email to you. You decided to not respond directly to my email. Instead, you waited until I posted a negative review on Angie's list and decided to post a response. 2. Much of your response is sales pitch rant. In fact, in your rush to rant your sales pitch, you "forgot" to respond to several issues I raised. For example: a. You "forgot" to acknowledge that on the day of the estimate, your estimator failed to disclose the fact that your company does not paint walls. b. You "forgot" to explain why unlike other companies, your company does not paint walls. c. You "forgot" to explain why you have to hire a sub instead of having your own employees paint walls. A few weeks ago, your estimator told me the opposite, that your company does not use subs. d. You "forgot" to explain why your labor cost for tiling is so high (approximately $51.70 to put one tile on the wall or $372.26 an hour). I found the following on your website: "With our licenses in plumbing and general contracting, we can perform all the services needed to coordinate your project." I am wondering why it doesn't read: "With our licenses in plumbing and general contracting, we can perform all the services needed to coordinate your project, EXCEPT PAINTING." Now, let me respond to some of your questions. You asked why I did not post the most expensive bid in the review. The answer is the most expensive bid is an informal oral quote and I never received a written detailed estimate from that company, so I cannot figure out the labor cost for that company. In the interest of comparing apples to apples, I decided not to use that company in the review. The 3 bids I used to compare to your bid in the review, came with detailed written estimates. I assure you that I am comparing apples to apples and the other 3 companies are every bit as good and sometimes better than your company. For example, one of them has been in business for 35 years and even manufactures quality bathroom products. That company certainly has a store that I can walk into any time. Another company also has a beautiful showroom next to a major freeway and displays major bathroom products such as RonBow, Toto, Duravitz, Grohe, Roln, etc. And yes, that company has trucks with the name of the company on it and they all have the proper insurance. I want to challenge you on two things. First, you say you "are standing behind what you do for years to come and if there is a problem your customers can walk through your door and tell you all about it." My challenge is: Can you stand behind what you said and GUARANTEE YOUR SERVICE "FOR YEARS TO COME?" That is, can you guarantee that if there is something wrong with your service for YEARS after, then you will fix the problems with NO ADDITIONAL CHARGE? And if you cannot guarantee your service for years to come, then what does your statement mean? Does it mean your customers can walk through your door and tell you about the problems, THEN PAY YOU MORE TO FIX THE PROBLEMS? Now my second challenge. You seem to say that your price for my bathroom remodel is high because there are hidden material costs that add up quickly. This is very vague. So let me make it more precise by looking at just one item: tiling the tub wall. You charge $4442 including a material allowance of $719.40 for the tiles. So I subtract $4442 - $719.40 = $3722.60. This is the labor part. There are approximately 72 sq ft to be tiled (your estimate shows 90 square feet and I understand that we need to buy more than 72 square feet of tiles, but the labor is only for 72 square feet). This comes to $3722.60/72 = $51.70 to put one tile on the wall (just the labor). If I assume that it takes approximately 10 hours to tile 72 sq ft, then the labor you charge is $372.26 an hour. My challenge to you is can you tell me precisely what materials other than tiles and grout you need to tile the tub wall? Feel free to subtract the cost of these materials from the $4442 total, then divide by 72 square feet or 10 hours AND PLEASE JUSTIFY YOUR UNREASONABLE HIGH PRICE. If you care to discuss any of thi in person, please feel free to give me a call. My phone number is on your estimate paper.
Description of Work: Remodel of hall bathroom.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
5.0

$15,400

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
I'm very interested in how you compared our proposal to the others you had. I remember your email to our estimator about this and he had described to you at that time the allowance does not cover the total of the materials needed. The allowances are for the materials you need to decide on for what styles, colors and such. By no means does that allowance cover the total materials needed to do your job. You talked about "Quality of Workmanship" and that this was most important to you. You talked about price. You stated that " a low price is most likely an indication of poor workmanship" and that you wanted to stay away from that. I would agree on both of these points. You said we were not the most expensive in your email but in this review it looks like we are. Why is that? First let's compare the other companies to ours. We are Licenced with the State of California for both B and C-36 contracting. Are the others? Yes or No? Our techs are of the highest caliber and most of them have been with us for over ten years. How long have the others been working with their one company? How long have they been doing this type of work? Our techs have well stocked company owned vehicles that are well labelled for advertising purposes and insured by us. Do the others or do they drive their personal truck/van with no labeling on it or insurance? (By state law this is illegal for labeling and insurance.) We carry a high limit coverage insurance protection to cover you for any possible problem that could occur. $2,000,000.00 in GL. Do the others or do they just get by with the minimum, if they have any at all. If their sub contracted "I.E., employee" is injured will they be coming back to your insurance for their personal injury or sueing your insurance for the money for the doctor bills? It does happen!! We provide the ability to come meet our staff and walk into our brick and mortar store 6 days a week for anything you may need us for. We will be here when you need us and have been for more than 30 years in beautiful downtown Pleasanton. Here you can get the information and learn about all the things you may need to know to make the right choice in picking out the products for your project from our showroom or out of catalogs on site. We have a well informed showroom staff to help you through this process. Do the others provide this for you? Can you walk through their door or do they have a P.O. Box for an address and they work out of a storage locker or their own home? Do they send you to get products from the Big Box Stores and then they will install it. We are a company that provides quality work at a reasonable price. I didn't say lowest price or say at the top end of the cost scale. We are very good at what we do and should be paid aquardling for that. I have lots of references of happy customers that I can provide for you. Now if we are still comparing Apples to Apples then the materials that we use for the things not listed in your proposal are for a quality job. We know we are standing behind what we do for years to come and if there is a problem you can walk through our door and tell us all about it. The cost of those materials are in our contract and it is not broke out for your material allowances. The figures you are using for our labor have these materials in it. You may think these thing are small costs but they do add up quite quick. I'm sorry if you feel we are not priced low enough for your project and if painting is an issue than I have a sub I can recommend to you for that if needed. If we can do anything more to help ease the pain of the cost of your proposal please let me know. We will contact you directly to help answer further your concerns. Mike Cheney 925-462-1639 info@valleyplumbinginc.com

Trevor T.
06/2014
5.0
plumbing
  + -1 more
They arrived on time, and while he was still in the hallway the technician put covered his footwear with disposable covers. He proceeded with the installation, and did it within the hour. I had already removed the original toilet. The technician was very personable and efficient. That is all I ask for.
Description of Work: Install new toilet

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$130

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
I'm glad we were all that you wanted us to be. I would always like to know how we could do or be more to you though. By more I mean how can we provide you with better service. This could be as simple as asking us to call you when we are on our way to giving you a simple walk through the job when we have it completed. If you have any input I would love to hear it. Thank you for your Patronage. Thanks to people like you we are a proud winner of the Angie's List Super Service Award for the past 8 YEARS!! Thank You! Mike Cheney President 925-462-1639 info@valleyplumbinginc.com

Jon T.
06/2014
5.0
plumbing
  + -1 more
Excellent quality, fast work (less than 1 hour) resulted in only a 1 hour service charge. Perfect results.
Description of Work: Valley Plumbing responded in two hours to our request for a kitchen sink faucet replacement. They were prompt and fast and the quick response made our day. Great service, fair pricing, expert work.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$160

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
Thank for taking the time to tell others about your superior experience with our business. We work hard to make it look easy and make you happy. Thank You Again! Mike Cheney President 925-462-1639 info@valleyplumbinginc.com

Lisa P.
06/2014
1.0
plumbing
  + -1 more
This is the second time I have used Valley Plumbing. The first time I had a gas line installed for a dryer and a new faucet installed in the kitchen. The charge for that service was 198.00. Shortly after I had to call them back as the kitchen faucet was completely loose. The plumber fixed it without charge. I called them again for a valve on a Bar-B-Que gas line. Some adjustments to bathroom faucets, and a toilet that was making noise. They suggested that I change parts inside the toilet. The toilet is 4 years old and Toto brand. I authorized the repair, they changed two parts on the toilet. The toilet since the repair did not fill well and was not emptying well. I called them back out on 06/11/2014 to check the work. The plumber said it was clogged and used the plunger. Afterwards, I flushed the toilet in his presence. The plumber said I was not holding the handle down long enough. I did not use a different technique of holding the handle than I did down prior to the repair on 06/06/2014. He was in my home for 10 minutes and wanted to charge me $154.00 for using the plunger. I refused to pay as it was a recall on their work and the toilet worked better before they repaired it. I would never use this company again and cannot recommend them.
Description of Work: Repaired toilet, bathroom faucet, valve on gas line. 06/06/2014 Installed faucet, and gas line on dryer. 01/24/2014 $198.00

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
3.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

$271

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
I wanted to respond as soon as I saw this but I needed to get all the info on it before I did. On 1-24-14 we were called out to install a owner supplied kitchen faucet and a new gas valve for the dryer. Everything went well and the total was $198.05 for materials and labor to perform this work. On 4-15-14 you called and had explained that the kitchen faucet was loose that we had installed at the kitchen sink. Upon our arrival we found the owner supplied faucet was not loose at the sink but the faucet itself had loosened from the main frame of the fixture. This unit was not supplied by us but we did not charge for repairing the O.S. faucet. We were called out for a new call on 6-6-14 for checking the gas line at the BBQ and found that the gas valve was very hard to turn on and off and was in need of replacement. You also had us work on the upstairs MB Kohler lavie faucet due to a bad cartridge. After performing this change out you requested the handle be repositioned which our tech performed for you. The next request was to look at the HB toilet due to it being noisy and running. We found it to be leaking from the flapper upon our die testing of the unit. We replaced the flapper and the fill valve to repair this unit and die tested it to be sure it was repaired. This call was about $263.00 We received a call for the HB toilet not flushing well on 6-11-14. When the tech arrived he found toilet paper in the toilet and explained that if the toilet has a stoppage that he could clear it but this was not part of the original call from 6-6-14. He unplugged the toilet and tested the unit several times to see if there was something stuck in the toilet that could cause this to re-occur. After testing was done it was noted that when you were asked to flushed the toilet that you were not fully depressing the trip lever causing the toilet to not flush completely. The tech explained this but this did not make you happy. By our warrantee this did not fall under any of the work we had performed prior so that meant this was a new call. The tech explained that and you disagreed so it moved up to the supervisor. She talk with the tech and you and said we would cover the call as a "Customer Service" and you would not be charged. For some reason this still did not make you happy. Now we have this review of the problem and I believe we have done all we can. If you have more info for me and would like to talk it over I would love to hear what you have to say. I respect that you have a feeling that we should cover this from the start but based on what I have seen and have the understanding of all that happened I would not have change the way it went. My tech and his supervisors did what they should have in my opinion. Please tell me if I have missed something or how you would have liked to seen it handled from the start. Thank you, Mike Cheney President 925-462-1639 info@valleyplumbinginc.com

Timothy B.
06/2014
5.0
plumbing
  + -1 more
Valley Plumbing arrived when they said they would and did quality work.
Description of Work: Replaced some pipes in a bathroom and moved the toilet.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,500

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is very important to get feedback on how we are performing. If we can do anything better please let me know. Thank you for your patronage. Mike Cheney President 925-462-1639 info@valleyplumbinginc.com

JON D.
04/2014
5.0
plumbing, drain cleaning
  + 0 more
Took two visits, both prompt, courteous, and professional. (Ryan & Jason) Diagnosed the problem, started with the simplest remedy, moved on to the next remedy, which fixed the problem. Price was totally fair, including parts to repair leaky toilet valve. Super honest accounting of time and great work resulted in my being happy to pay the bill. Thanks Valley Plumbing!
Description of Work: Diagnosed and flushed out blockage in cold water line.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$270

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on how your job went. If we can do anything more please don't hesitate to call or email me. Please repeat this info on any other social media sites you belong too. Thank you, Mike Cheney President 925-462-1639 info@valleyplumbinginc.com

Dan W.
03/2014
5.0
plumbing
  + -1 more
The guys were punctual. Immediately identified the problem and completed the needed repair in a timely fashion. I would definitely use Valley Plumbing again.
Description of Work: Replace a cracked clean-out under the house below the kitchen sink.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$220

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience in using us for you plumbing or remodeling needs. Please don't hesitate to call or email me for any reason. We are only here to serve your needs and if we don't perform our job properly then we won't be in business long. After 32 plus years I think we know what we are doing. Mike Cheney President 925-462-1639 info@valleyplumbinginc.com

Juliana H.
02/2014
5.0
water heater repair
  + -1 more
They sent someone to look at the leak the same day I called and had the water heater replaced the next day.
Description of Work: Replace water heater.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,500

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
Thank for taking the time to tell others about your experience in having us provide and install your water heater for you. If we can do anything better for you at anytime please call or email me. By taking the time to talk to us we can be a better provider of service to you. Thank You, Mike Cheney President info@valleyplumbinginc.com 925-462-1639

LOREN R.
02/2014
5.0
plumbing
  + -1 more
It went very well. Seemed expensive for the time and effort.
Description of Work: Installed a new pea trap and sink stopper for our bathroom sink.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$204

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
I'm glad it was a quick fix and things went well. The cost is always an hour minimum for us to get the tech to you with all of his tools and materials ready to take care of your needs. If he finishes quickly ask them to do something more for you while he is there. You're paying for the hr so think of other things he can do for you to make best use of your time and money. That's what we are here for. Do make your life easier and do the things you don't want or can't do on your own. Thank you for your patronage. Mike Cheney President 925-462-1639 info@valleyplumbinginc.com

Aryn O.
02/2014
5.0
plumbing
  + -1 more
This was my second opinion. Glad I asked. First quote was over $2000. This quote was half of that to do the same work. Ended up repairing the pipe with help of neighbor since I had already dug up most of the pipe. But Valley Plumbing came highly recommended and now I know why - they are honest, fair and knowledgeable. You can typically get two out of three, but they were the trifecta!
Description of Work: Provided estimate to replace water main. Water main was leaking.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,000

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
I'm so glad to hear that you were able to fix it yourself. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to give you a cost to do it for you. Thank you for the compliments also. We work very hard to do all we can to help our community be a safe place to live and raise our families. Mike Cheney President 925-462-1639 info@valleyplumbinginc.com

Lisa S.
02/2014
5.0
plumbing, water heater repair
  + 0 more
We called Valley Plumbing after discovering a leak in our water heater. We phoned in the morning and the technician was out with a new water heater within a couple of hours. Unfortunately for us it was a Saturday, so extra labor charges, but we were informed of that when we called. The technician was polite and kept the mess to a minimum. Not a fun item to spend money on, but happy with the service!
Description of Work: Installed new water heater

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,500

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
Very glad we were able to take care of this for you. Thank you for giving us the oppertunity to provide you with our service. If you ever need anything please call. If we can't take care of it we likely know someone that can. Thank you for your patronage. Mike Cheney President 925-462-1639 info@valleyplumbinginc.com

Chris B.
02/2014
5.0
plumbing, home remodeling
  + 0 more
They fixed water damage in my kitchen and laid new linoleum.
Description of Work: Valley plumbing was amazing I will always you them.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
Thank you for your review. I always like to hear about how we rate and if everything is going as you would have liked. Tell others by going to other locations if you would be so kind. I have such great reviews by Angie's List followers but when it comes to other locations with star ratings it seams like we are the average joe. I respond to all complaints and work hard to make sure everyone is happy but there are some that I just can't reach. It would be very helpful to get the general public up to speed the way Angie's List members are with who we are and the great work we do. Thank you for your patronage. Mike Cheney 925-462-1639 info@valleyplumbinginc.com

Micki G.
02/2014
5.0
plumbing, drain cleaning
  + 0 more
We're glad that we haven't had anymore leaks, but if we did we would not hesitate to call Valley Plumbing.
Description of Work: Our kitchen sink faucet had a leak we could not locate. We contacted Valley Plumbing and they were out quickly, located the problem and fixed it.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$125

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It is very much appreciated. If we can do anything better please don't hesitate to say so and I will work to make the change happen. This benefits you as well as us. If we are better then you get better service. It's that simple. Thank you for your patronage. Mike Cheney President 925-462-1639 info@valleyplumbinginc.com

Mark R.
01/2014
3.0
plumbing
  + -1 more
Scheduled appointment for new commode installation and yesterday, when I called to confirm the appointment, the lady on line said " oh and by the way, there is a $70 charge to haul away the old commode. ". I promptly cancelled the appointment based strictly on principle. This would have been the third time I used Valley in last year or so, and it struck me wrong that they would do this. I think it had more to do that I had purchased my own Kohler commode, which did not allow them to over charge me for the fixture, thus, decreasing their profit. Really disappointing that I now have to find another reliable area plumber.
Description of Work: I scheduled an appointment to have a new commode I purchased installed in downstairs bathroom. The commode had been running for some time and I wanted a chair height commode anyway, rather than just replacing the tank "innards". Anyway had previously had Valley plumber out to diagnose a loud vibration in the pipes triggered by the commode running, but we're unable to recreate the vibration during that service call. By process of elimination and by turning the commode water supply valve off, the vibration stopped.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
3.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

$135

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
Thank you for your input. I am always happy to hear about the good and the bad that our customers have to say about what we are doing. I'm sorry to hear that we Struck a Bad cord with you on the haul away and disposal fee for your toilet and carton materials. This is a cost that we incur to have the tech haul off your materials and provide proper disposal of and/or recycling of the products. You are right, when you talk about the cost of doing this against if you purchased the products from us, we do the haul off at no extra cost. There are many advantages by purchasing products from us. One is that if we install something and you have a problem with it we come back at no cost to you to fix or replace it within our warranty period. If when we go to install a product that we supply and there is a part broken or missing then we stop our time and we take care of the problem. If you supply the product then you would have too while we stand by or set a time to come back. All of which would be charged to you at our labor rates. We see this happen a lot with products bought from other stores where parts are broken or just missing and the job comes to a stand still. Our prices are better than the standard. Our products are sold off our showroom floor for less than you may find at another Larger Big Box location. It is likely that there you would get little to no help in getting good information and help in making an educated decision on a product. There is a Value in that. I would hope that this is not enough of a problem that you can't see the value in our relationship to continue using us as your plumber? I am sorry that you had an issue and if you would like to talk further about it please call or email me. Thank you for your past patronage and I hope we can continue to be your go-to plumber in your times of need. Sincerely, Mike Cheney President 925-462-1639 info@valleyplumbinginc.com

Diana W.
01/2014
5.0
plumbing
  + -1 more
Great company. They are helpful and professional.
Description of Work: They did a great job when I had a leaking toilet. They also repaired a shower head that was dripping water. They were prompt and knowledgeable. I would definitely use them again .

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
Thank you for your review. If we can do anything better please let me know. Call or email me anytime. Thank you for telling anyone, that you have the opportunity too, about the great work we do. If and when you are ready to update a kitchen or bathroom please give us a call and let us give you a free estimate. Thank you again, Mike Cheney President Valley Plumbing 925-462-1639 info@valleyplumbinginc.com

Kim P.
12/2013
2.0
plumbing, drain cleaning
  + 0 more
We will never use this company again. Four days after we paid a hefty $135/hour (during normal business hours, not overnight emergency hours), our drains were backed up yet again. We naturally called the company back to try to get somebody to come back out and re-diagnose the problem. We were told we would be charged at the regular rate for additional work, and that the invoice clearly states there are no warranties on blockages. This was obviously very disappointing treatment. To be charged top dollar only to be told that they would not guarantee their work AT ALL, even four days later, seems like terrible business. We would not expect them to guarantee work that had been done a week or a month after the fact, but after barely 72 hours, I would hope they would come back out at no charge. What's worse is that we were never told ahead of time that there would be no guarantee on the work they did on our drains. I would have liked to have known this before hiring this company at all and certainly before allowing the work to proceed. The technician did stop prior to performing some of the repair work and let me know that it was going to be expensive and to make sure I knew how much they were billing per hour. It seems like if he wanted to caution me before proceeding, he ought to have let me know the work would not be guaranteed. In retrospect, it is clear this company only cares about getting paid--not about providing great service.
Description of Work: We had a leak in our front yard as well as a backed up drain. We were told that the two were unrelated. A technician was at our house for ~5 hours addressing both issues.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
3.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0

$700

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. When I first read this review I was appalled that we would have said and done what you had wrote. I had spoken to you on the phone several times gathering info and looking to see who was on the job. I looked into why you were told we did not guarantee stoppages, when we do. We guarantee stoppages when we can verify that the line was cleared of what cause the problem to begin with. This can be done visually or with our camera system. After looking into the two jobs we performed I found that the majority of the time was spent on the water line repair. From our conversation this was done correctly and you have had no problems with us or the work performed on that leak repair. Your grade does not reflect that part of the work done. Your recurring problem of a sewer back up is the issue. By talking with you, you stated that this has been a problem from when you moved into the home and occurs about once a year. My tech only cleared the line temporarily due to the lack of access to a clean out. The one you had inside the house, in the crawl space, under the house was not accessible with our large sewer machine. My tech failed to explain what he had done and that it needed further work to get it fixed. This was our mistake. After hearing and researching what had happened I repaid you for the charges of that work. I did not feel we performed our work properly and you should not have to pay for this due to that fact. I was notified of this review after the fact and I had hoped that after our extensive communication and looking further into this work we performed that you would adjust your review when you had a chance. Apparently I was wrong to expect this. If you just have not had the time to do so and you can that would be great. I am sorry we did not communicate with you so you could know what was still needing to be done to make the sewer problems not return. Thank you for the review because it helps us to become a better company by correcting any problems that arise. If we can do anything more please call or email me. Mike Cheney President 925-462-1639 info@valleyplumbinginc.com

Michelle S.
12/2013
5.0
plumbing
  + -1 more
After having a new furnace and heater installed I needed an automatic gas shutoff valve installed on the gas meter in order for the project to pass the Town of Danville inspection. I called 3 plumbers to quote the job and while Valley wasn't the least expensive they earned my business because: 1. They arrived on time 2. Their employee was knowledgeable and well spoken 3. Their motto is "Integrity before profits" and it is emblazoned on their truck 4. They left me with a Welcome Packet that provided information on their business and included a $10 coupon for future business The bids I received were $285.00, $332.00 and $400.00. I chose Valley and went with their $332.00 bid and used my $20 Angie's List coupon bringing the cost down to $312.00 The appointment was for today, between 6:30am and 9am. Kirk showed up at 7:15am and was polite and professional - even in the bitter cold this morning. He completed the work in about an hour, showed me how to use the new equipment and left me with the proper paperwork. I would not hesitate to use this company again in the future.
Description of Work: Installed an automatic gas shut-off valve

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$312

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
Very detailed review. I love it!! Thank you for taking the time to tell others about who and what we are all about. Mike Cheney President 925-462-1639 [removed hyperlink]

Jennifer H.
12/2013
5.0
plumbing
  + -1 more
Names arrived at 10:15 ( I had a 9-12 window). He was professional and friendly, and explained everything well. I was very satisfied with the work done.
Description of Work: Augured the toilet. Replaced the flapper and different toilet.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$150

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
Thank you for taking the time to tell us how we did. We appreciate any input given. Hope you have a great Holiday Season. Please do not hesitate to call if you need anything from us. Mike Cheney President 925-462-1639 info@valleyplumbinginc.com

Heesook C.
12/2013
4.0
plumbing
  + -1 more
We didn't use their service because the time was after work hour and we might be charged higher than the usual service. Instead we did try to fix by ourselves. We fixed it. But their customer service was kind and honest.
Description of Work: We had leaking sink and it was on Friday afternoon. This was the first time to call a plumming service. I asked some general question about the cost.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
3.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
3.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
I'm glad to hear you were able to fix this on your own. Thank you for the review and your honest answers to the questions. If you have the time I would like to know how you gauge your answers? Did you call other companies and they gave you better pricing or is this based off of your past experiences for the grades that you have given? You can contact me direct if you like at the contact info below. Thank you for your input and we appreciate all you have done to support our quest to give the best service possible. Mike Cheney President 925-462-1639 info@valleyplumbinginc.com

CHERYL K.
11/2013
5.0
drain cleaning
  + -1 more
No fuss, muss, or damage to the flower beds. I'll definitely call them for a plumbing need, and look into using them for other services they provide.
Description of Work: Drains we're running slow and I called to make an appointment. And got one that afternoon. Gave me a two hour window. The y called when in route and arrived at the earliest original appointment time. The service person was professional and polite. We both remembered his having out several years ago. He promptly got to work and was done in less than 45 minutes.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$135

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
I love to hear our tech was someone you have seen before. It's highly likely that you will see a tech again and again through the years due to the fact that we have a great retention rate. We have employees that have been with us for over 15 years. A good handful for over 10 years and about 5 of them under 5 years. Out of about 20 employees, we think that is very good and we are proud to be an employer that takes great thought in who we hire. It has to work for all three of us. You (the customer), them (the employee) and us (the business). Thank you for letting us serve your plumbing needs. If we can do anything better please email or call me to tell me how. Have a great holiday season and a Happy New Year!! Mike Cheney President 925-462-1639 info@valleyplumbinginc.com

Ted S.
11/2013
5.0
plumbing
  + -1 more
I have an old house in Livermore and needed a new kitchen sink and faucet. ( I don't use a garbage disposal) I hired Valley Plumbing after visiting their showroom. I am pleased with the work, fairly straightforward work and all was good.
Description of Work: Install replacement faucet.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$375

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
Thank you for visiting our showroom and giving us the opportunity to install your fixtures for you. Glad to hear that you were pleased with the work performed. If you have any constructive thoughts for us to help provide you with better service, please let me know. If you have any other needs from water heaters to kitchen remodels we are here to help. Please tell a friend about the good service we provide. Have a great holiday season and a Happy New Year! I hope all your future plumbing needs are planned ones. Thank You! Mike Cheney President info@valleyplumbinginc.com 925-462-1639

Laura D.
10/2013
5.0
plumbing
  + -1 more
Valley Plumbing was fantastic to deal with. They only carry the best water heater around and their techicians are very knowlegeble. Great local business!
Description of Work: Replaced water heater

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,800

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
THANK YOU!! I wish I could get the same response from the majority of my reviews on Yelp and Google+. I guess it has to do with the quality of the reviewers. Angie's List members ROCK!! Thank you for your review and if there is anything more we can do better please tell me. Have a great day!! You just made mine that much better. :) Thank you for your patronage. Mike Cheney President 925-462-1639 info@valleyplumbinginc.com

Charles M.
10/2013
5.0
plumbing, small appliance repair
  + 0 more
Mark diagnosed our kitchen faucet leak is caused by a crack in pullout handle. Advised us to call Grohe to find out if part has a lifetime warranty.
Description of Work: Mark replaced a cartridge in downstairs bath to stop dripping of faucet. He cleaned out hose connection to garbage disposal. He diagnosed kitchen faucet leak due to crack in pull out handle.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$150

Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
Sounds like things went well. Thank you for taking the time to tell us and others how we performed. If you are unable to get a new one from Grohe under warrantee tell us and we will see what we can do for getting a replacement head. We may have something in stock or we can order it for your unit. Thank you for your patronage. Mike Cheney President 925-462-1639 info@valleyplumbinginc.com

Esmeralda A.
10/2013
1.0
plumbing
  + -1 more
They gave me a 12-4 window. I let them know the only time I couldn't be there was a 15 minute window when I had to pick up my daughter. They told me the only time they could come was the time I couldn't be there. I waited almost for hours and they pushed me back until the bottom of the hour. I am so disappointed. The time I had to spent waiting for their service was unnecessary and now I have to do more research to find a plumber after I have already waited a week to have them come out. I am extremely dissatisfied. I had to take off of work and miss an entire day of pay to wait on these people and they just don't seem to realize what I had to deal with to accommodate a plumbing service.
Description of Work: They were supposed to come out today.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0


Response from Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc
I would first off like to say I'm sorry to hear things didn't work out and that we were unable to accommodate your time line that you required. Having children in school and other functions that you need to taxi them to and from can be very difficult. I just spoke to my dispatchers about what had occurred with us trying to get a tech to your home at a time that would work for you to let us perform the requested work needed while you were home. Time windows are not something we like to have to do but they are a must in our industry, do to the inability to know how long the job before yours is going to take and so on. The more work done prior to yours the more the time can change from one job to the next. I could go on and on with descriptions of what can change the time a tech does one job to get to the next but know one wants to read all that Bla, Bla, Bla. Simply put, unless we schedule you as the first call of the day the time that we can say the tech will be at your home has to be in a wider time frame to account for, travel times and jobs that take less or more time than was planed. We do thing like a call be for we come to help make things easier for customers to get home or to know when we are coming. We have techs that start at 6:30AM and others that start at 7:45AM. Those start of the day calls are in high demand and go quickly. A start time of 6:45 to 9 or an 8 to 9 can be a way to eliminate the problems with a busy schedule or making it so you are not having to take time off work. We are Lic. and Bonded and all of my techs are screened and very trust worthy. A large number of them have worked for us for more then 10 years. We have a large number of clients that we have access codes or keys to enter into homes with out anyone needing to be home to take care of their needs. This comes with time and seeing who are techs are before clients become comfortable with doing something like this, I know. We changed the time to try and be to your home when you wanted us too several times too no avail. I'm again, sorry to see that you wrote this review with no mention of all that we did to try to accommodate you but I'm sure that you likely wouldn't have noticed or known all of what was going on behind the scenes to know what it takes to do this. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I like to know how our customers perceive all that we do. This helps us to become a stronger company and a better company for everyone involved. If we can get the time line down to accommodate you we would love to help take care of your plumbing needs. Thank You, Mike Cheney President 925-462-1639 info@valleyplumbinginc.com


Contact information

272 Rose Ave, Pleasanton, CA 94566

http://www.valleyplumbinginc.com

Service hours

Sunday:
Closed
Monday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday:
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Licensing

Bonded

Insured

Licensed*

Trade License Number
437867
Trade License Locale
CA
Trade License Authority
California: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
03/31/2027

Eco-friendly Accreditations

LEED Accredited Professional
No
Energy Star Partner
No
EPA Lead-Safe Certified
Yes
Use Green Products or Work Practices
Yes
State Contractor License Requirements

All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

*Contact business to see additional licenses.


Service Categories

Plumbing,
Water Heaters,
Drain Cleaning,
Kitchen and Bath Remodeling,
Ceramic Tile,
Sewer Cleaning,
Natural Gas Lines,
Wells and Pumps,
Water Filtration and Softening,
Appliance Repair - Small,
General Remodeling,
Hardware & Home Improvement Stores,
Marble and Granite,
Drain Pipe Installation,
Gas Logs,
Home inspection,
Electrical,
Countertops and Backsplashes,
Remodeling - Modular & Mobile Home,
Lead Testing & Removal

FAQ

Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check,Financing Available,MasterCard,PayPal,Visa
No, Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc does not offer free project estimates.
Yes, Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.
No, Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc does not offer a senior discount.
Yes, Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc offers emergency services.
Yes, Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc offers warranties.
Valley Plumbing Home Center, Inc offers the following services: Residential & commercial plumbing, bathroom remodels & re-piping, water, gas & sewer, instantaneous & tank water heaters, cultured & natural marble, onyx & granite.
Odor Control or Dental exams. If you're not sure call us.

Contact information

272 Rose Ave, Pleasanton, CA 94566

http://www.valleyplumbinginc.com

Service hours

Sunday:
Closed
Monday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday:
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday:
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM