Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A Passion For Gardening

Landscaping, Tree Service, Lawn and Yard Work,

About us

Owner Pedro Yanez has a formal education in the field of horticulture, and more than 20 years experience providing the best of service. He takes pride in his work and Supervises on site while your landscaping dreams become reality. Our team specializes in the design and installation of landscape environments that will provide years of enjoyment - at a surprisingly Low price! We offer Free estimates, and we even cater to Limited Budgets! Please Call very limited access to email during the day.

Business highlights

25 years of trusted experience

Services we offer

Landscaping maintenance, cement work, patio covers, retaining walls, pavers, BBQ islands, sprinkler systems, drip lines & turf installation.

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount

10%



Accepted payment methods

Check

Photos of past projects

Reviews

4.4276 Reviews
Number of StarsImage of DistributionNumber of Ratings
5
67%
4
14%
3
8%
2
4%
1
8%


Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.5
value
4.4
professionalism
4.5
responsiveness
4.4
punctuality
4.6
Showing 226-250 of 276 reviews

Pam F.
03/2016
5.0
landscaping, mulch
  + 0 more
unknown
Description of Work: Planting, drippers and mulch

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$700

Maria-Pia D.
03/2016
5.0
fountains, landscaping, tree service
  + 1 more
unknown
Description of Work: I contracted A Passion for Gardening for 20 hours of landscaping. They trimmed all the trees in my backyard and did an excellent job. The crew cleaned up after themselves and went above and beyond to made sure my patio and my yard looked better than it did before they started. They were on time, courteous, clean, efficient - in general very professional. I would use them again.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$900

MELISSA R.
02/2016
4.0
landscaping, irrigation systems
  + 0 more
unknown
Description of Work: Updated patio features and landscape. A sprinkler pipe was broken while on repair and it took 12 days to resolve repairs

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
5.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
5.0

$1,200

JUSTIN W.
02/2016
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
unknown

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,000

Caren L.
02/2016
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: Excellent service. Lots of land with lots of weeds. Now looks beautiful with roses/plants and bark.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,720

Mehdi D.
02/2016
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
unknown

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,900

Katherine P.
01/2016
5.0
fencing, landscaping, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel
  + 2 more
.
Description of Work: Worked on drainage issues along side yard. Added vines along long stretch of fence. Finished off block planter wall. Removed two dying citros and replanted area with native shrubs. Redid front yard irrigation and added irrigation to side yard. Added gravel along length of side yard. Pedro Yanez was fair, knowledgeable, communicative and did all work on time and under budget. I am so glad I had the work done before the rains started. As funds allow, I will ask him back to work on my backyard.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$4,000

Linda A.
01/2016
4.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
unknown

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

$300

matt F.
12/2015
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
unknown

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Bobbi M.
12/2015
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: I increased the number of plants I had placed in my yard, and he gave me a good price on the extras. Also did an excellent job of deciding where to place the plants for best showing. Pedro and his workers were very efficient and professional, I was very pleased with the experience.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Daniel H.
12/2015
5.0
landscaping, irrigation systems
  + 0 more
unknown
Description of Work: Provided and installed plants. Also did irrigation work. All went well, no problems.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
4.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$780

Devon M.
12/2015
4.0
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems
  + 1 more
unknown
Description of Work: He did good work and the yard looks great. The problem was that he really wanted to upsell me. He wanted to re-do my sprinklers for $200, I said no thanks. Then I had purchased additional succulents (to add to the amount included in the special deal), and he tried to charge me $200 for planting them. Overall he did good work and was a nice guy. Just be wary of the 'extra work'.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0

$300

Jolene P.
12/2015
5.0
landscaping, tree service
  + 0 more
Smooth.
Description of Work: Debris and stump removal along with tree trimming.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$600

Wes J.
12/2015
2.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: I felt I was scammed. The Angies List Price only included the owner. I had to pay for additional services from his two associates. I rely on Angies list to provide me quality services at a listed price, without paying for |additional hourly rates for two co workers. I would not refer this company and feel the quality of Angies list is also tarnished by referring this company. They provided poor quality plants and acted like they did not understand what I was asking for.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
1.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
2.0

$299

Response from A Passion For Gardening
Frankly I was quite surprised by your review. You paid $299 for the succulent plants and their installation. Unfortunately the area was in poor condition and needed to be cleaned and cleared. If you look at the Big Deal you bought, any extra work necessary to make the area suitable for planting, is provided at an extra cost. We provided top soil for the plants from the Big Deal and other plants you already had, at no extra cost. I adjusted your timer and mentioned to you that you needed to provide a drip system to water the newly installed plants. We trimmed a tree and several shrubs. We planted several extra plants you provided. You didn't mention any of this on your review. I guess you thought all that work should have been covered by the $299 Big Deal for 20 succulent plants and 1 gal. tree. you bought. I am extremely offended by your accusation that we cheated you. The last time we talked, I asked you if you wanted to set up a drip system for your plants. You said you did. After reading your review I assume you no longer wish to do that project and frankly I am no longer interested in doing it.

Michael W.
11/2015
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: Pedro Ynez is a true professional. He and his crew always arrived promptly and worked tirelessly. They cleaned up after each day's work. Pedro's knowledge of plants is amazing - a real horticulturist! I definitely recommend Pedro and A Passion For Gardening.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Deborah L.
11/2015
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
unknown

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$250

Daniel A.
10/2015
4.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
unknown

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

$1,000

Julie B.
10/2015
2.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: The plants that were planted were not living and were the poorest quality imaginable. This provider only wanted to up sell for more services and did a crappy job on the actual deal. It was terrible value and I would never use them again.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0

$2,500

Response from A Passion For Gardening
The client purchased the $299 Big Deal for succulent plants. She also added several other projects. Once the plants were installed, I returned a month latter to install some sod. At that time I checked on the plants and the plants were doing well. However, I did notice, that some other plants that have been in the back yard had been transplanted to the front. These were not the plants that we installed for this project. Those plants were not doing well. A month after installing the new sod, I returned to cut the grass and check on the plants. Once again everything was doing well except for the plants that have been transplanted. The transplanted plants were dying. The times that we were there, no one mentioned that there were any problems with the work we did. Several weeks latter a realtor that was involved with the client contacted us about the dying plants. We explained that those plants were not the ones we planted. Last week the realtor contacted us about a broken sprinkler. I went to check it out. The sprinkler was one that was next to the driveway. Evidently some one had run over the sprinkler with their car. I contacted the realtor and told him that I would replace it for the cost of the part and my gas cost to get there. I did not charge anything for labor. I have yet to receive payment for replacing the sprinkler. I didn't charge the client for the service of cutting the grass. Furthermore I installed a new timer for the sprinkler system at no charge. What do I get in return, this lousy review.

Jeramiah J.
10/2015
5.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
unknown

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro

Bernard W.
09/2015
2.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: The job was way underbid ... 3 people worked on it....but 2 of them spent most of their time over packing the truck so they would only make one trip to dump the truck... this wasted much time and manpower. I also think it was trimmed way too much... very bad and unprofessional provider.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
3.0
value
1.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0

$1,400

Response from A Passion For Gardening
I question his dissatisfaction with the job we did, when it took him almost a year to write his review. The client purchased 20 hrs. of labor for $699. The job required about twice as long to complete. I charged the same per hour rate as the rate in the Big Deal for the extra hours. I did not have to do that. His statement that we only made one trip to the dump is not true. We had to make 2 trips to the dump in order to remove the debris. One trip with the trimmings of the trees and another for the debris from the cleaning of the palms. The debris from the palms can not be mixed with the debris from the other trees according to the dump's rules. I did not charge him for the cleaning of the palms or the disposing of their debris. As far as the trimming of the trees, I informed him, prior to doing it, that the trees on the slope needed to be trimmed more severely because of the danger of the trees being knocked down by the wind if their canopies were to large. He agreed for me to go ahead with the trimming. The limbs that were trimmed off the trees need to be cut into smaller sections in order to be able to dump them at the dump. This is a job that takes time. We filled a large commercial truck with the debris from the tree trimmings. By doing so, we avoided an extra trip to the dump which saved the client money from the expense for the hauling & dumping fees of the debris. The dump was a good distance away from the client's home. The price we charged for the work that was done was a bargain. Any landscaper will charge $2000 or more to do the work we did for the client.

Christine A.
09/2015
3.0
landscaping
  + -1 more
unknown
Description of Work: Pedro came for the consultation and was very vague. He would not give me a defined price for preparing/leveling site. he would only commit to $35 an hour. what he failed to tell me was that he would charge $35 an hour per person he had with him and the job ended up costing $750. Succulents were not planted with any sort of basin for water in the soil and many were planted with the root ball above the ground.
Rating CategoryRating out of 5

Response from A Passion For Gardening
I am sorry if a misunderstanding took place as to the price of the labor. I believe I told the client that the rate for the labor would be $35 per man hour.

WAYNE G.
08/2015
5.0
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems
  + 1 more
unknown
Description of Work: Crew completely revamped my small back yard in one day (after prior consultation), including 15 new plants, bender board, Sprinkler system rework.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$1,700

Randall E.
08/2015
5.0
landscaping, greenhouses
  + 0 more
.
Description of Work: Designed and installed garden with PASSION

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$300

Scot R.
08/2015
5.0
landscaping, irrigation systems, mulch
  + 1 more
unknown
Description of Work: Removed 1900 sqft of turf, replaced with mulch and succulents, and modified irrigation system for the new plants. Pedro explained all my options clearly, provided itemized estimates for all the proposed work, and completed the job on time, under budget, and even gave me tips on maintaining my existing plants (in addition to the ones he installed). I will definitely use them again for all my landscaping needs.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$2,000

Karen G.
06/2015
5.0
concrete repair, landscaping, hardscaping, irrigation systems, tree service
  + 3 more
unknown
Description of Work: Ripped out front lawn, removed old concrete walkway, removed tree and overgrown shrubbery, built retaining wall, put in paver walkway, planted drought tolerant succulents, installed drip sprinkler system.

Rating CategoryRating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0

Yes, I recommend this pro
$10,000

Contact information

10424 Burned Oak Ln, Escondido, CA 92026

http://apassionforgardening.com

Service hours

Monday:
7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Tuesday:
7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday:
7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Thursday:
7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Friday:
7:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Licensing

Bonded

Insured
State Contractor License Requirements

All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.

*Contact business to see additional licenses.


Service Categories

Landscaping,
Tree Service,
Lawn and Yard Work,
Lawn Irrigation,
Mulch and Topsoil,
Pavers and Hardscaping,
Stone and Gravel,
Hauling,
Concrete Pouring and Repair,
Greenhouses/Nurseries,
Lawn Fertilization & Treatment,
Fencing

FAQ

A Passion For Gardening is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

Monday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM

A Passion For Gardening accepts the following forms of payment: Check
Yes, A Passion For Gardening offers free project estimates.
No, A Passion For Gardening does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
No, A Passion For Gardening does not offer a senior discount.
No, A Passion For Gardening does not offer emergency services.
Yes, A Passion For Gardening offers warranties.
A Passion For Gardening offers the following services: Landscaping maintenance, cement work, patio covers, retaining walls, pavers, BBQ islands, sprinkler systems, drip lines & turf installation.

Contact information

10424 Burned Oak Ln, Escondido, CA 92026

http://apassionforgardening.com

Service hours

Monday:
7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Tuesday:
7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday:
7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Thursday:
7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Friday:
7:00 AM - 3:00 PM