Owner Pedro Yanez has a formal education in the field of horticulture, and more than 20 years experience providing the best of service. He takes pride in his work and Supervises on site while your landscaping dreams become reality. Our team specializes in the design and installation of landscape environments that will provide years of enjoyment - at a surprisingly Low price! We offer Free estimates, and we even cater to Limited Budgets! Please Call very limited access to email during the day.
Based on how the ad was worded and highlighted, it was confusing. I didn't realize how much I was actually spending on this whole thing. The way it was worded, it sounded like you got a number of hours of landscaping for a certain price. I didn't know that was per landscaper. I thought it was by the project. So I was a little taken back when I found out how much I owed this person. When I reached my 20 hours, they should have notified me at that point and then told me what it would cost to finish, if I wanted to.
Description of Work: I bought a Big Deal to get some landscaping done. I paid more than the price of the Big Deal.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
1.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,500
Response from A Passion For Gardening
My first communication with the client was an e-mail response to the notification that she had purchased the Big Deal for the 20 hrs. of labor. In that e-mail, I attached a clarification of terms explaining the terms of the Big Deal. It clearly states that the 20 hrs. of labor means 20 man hours of labor. It seems unreasonable to believe that if we show up with 1 worker for 20 hrs. of labor that it would be the same charge as if we show up with 4 workers for 20 hrs. of labor.
glenda W.
12/2015
3.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
They came out very promptly and we decided to have the work done after Thanksgivng. Again he contacted me promptly after TG and came the next day. He had about 40 plants to choose from and planted them and left. I had more of an expectation of more landscape design even if I would have to pay more for it. Some ideas on hard scape etc. would have been helpful. The price was high for what we received and it as supposed to be nearly half off the regular price.
Pedro and his helpers were on time professional and did an excellent job and cleaned up well after. Pedro explained things for me to watch for because of the water pressure including the solution if it were to happen.
Description of Work: removed several plants, trimmed bushes removed weeds put in a drip system using existing sprinkler system, leveled and prepared soil, planted new plants, covered ground with weed prevention tarp and covered area with mulch. Additionally planted several succulents on 3 large planters with a dedicated drip hose. Installed several wood pieces to replaced the rotted wood holding together the brick flooring and placed 3 bags of rocks I had purchased in designated areas.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$924
Will M.
11/2015
5.0
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems
+ 1 more
Pedro and his crew were prompt, professional, very capable, and efficient. Highly recommended, he was very knowledgeable and helpful for all my lawn care needs, very responsive via email as the job was being scoped/established. Highly recommended!
Description of Work: Completely redid most of my sprinkler system, enriched and prepared back yard for sod installation (approximately 510 sq. ft.) graded yard, installed aloha sod.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$800
Renee B.
11/2015
5.0
landscaping, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel
+ 1 more
Pedro and crew started the job 3 days after I accepted his bid. They were punctual, polite, and knowledgeable. They did an amazing amount of work in less than 4 days. Pedro had great recommendations for plants for both the sunny and shady sides of our yard--brought samples for me to choose from and also picked out some specific ones I wanted from a list I gave him. Yes, people, the 1-gallon plants are small--but guess what--it's less than a month later and they are already noticeably larger, healthy and blooming! That's what proper irrigation and sunshine will do. Thank you, Pedro, it was a pleasure doing business with you.
Description of Work: Tore out 2300 sq ft of old sod, leveled bumps and graded for drainage, covered entire area with landscaping cloth and stapled it into the ground, had 15 cu yds of river rock pebbles delivered and distributed, designed and created 8 raised planting beds, converted irrigation to drip, reprogrammed irrigation timer.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$8,000
BARBARA S.
11/2015
5.0
landscaping, mulch
+ 0 more
This provider showed up when promised with all the materials and plants needed to complete the job. He even provided a special tree that I asked for to block an unsatisfactory view. Fortunately the heavens smiled and the rain came for the new plants just as his crew finished. Not only is my front yard water wise but looks like it belongs here in So. California.
Description of Work: Pedro provided all the plants and mulch beyond what the original order called for a nominal price. On request a tree was included to block views of a neighbor's house and he cleared all weeds before starting.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$419
Patricia C.
11/2015
1.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
The provider, Mr. Yanez, never returned. He never suggested a time that he could come back. His only comments were limited to the fact that I needed a drip system in the backyard. He never said anything about where we could start and what kind of improvements I could make.
Description of Work: The provider came to my home and looked at my backyard. I asked him what he thought we could do with the barren backyard and all he could tell me was that I would need a drip system. He didn't offer any other ideas. I was really put off by his attitude. I never had him come back.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
1.0
professionalism
1.0
responsiveness
1.0
punctuality
1.0
$1,349
Response from A Passion For Gardening
At the time of the first visit the client mentioned several projects that she was interested in. She wanted plants and trees as well as some cement work. The catch was, she wanted everything to be done within the 40 hrs.of labor that she had purchased on the Big Deal. I told her she also need a drip system. I mentioned to her that there was no way we could do all those projects within the 40 hrs. of labor. She told me to leave and not come back. After that I did not contact her again. Also I don't understand why it took her more than a year to write this review. I suspect she knows, deep inside, that she was being unreasonable. This was just a way to get back at us, because she didn't get her way.
Chris T.
10/2015
3.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
The internet price was for $300, but when all said and done it was $800. The plants were not healthy, looked like they were dug up from someones yard, they were very small. Nice guy, but wouldn't use them again. No real design, just planting capabilities.
Description of Work: landscape
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
2.0
value
4.0
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
2.0
punctuality
2.0
$800
Response from A Passion For Gardening
What the client failed to mention is that the $800 was not only for the succulent plants he purchased at the $299 price, but also for trees we planted at his request to improve privacy. I resent the suggestion that we dug up the plants from somebody's yard to place on his property. He was asked to select the plants. We then proceeded to purchase them and installed them. The size of the plants was stated on the Big Deal as being 1 gal. size. We never tried to deceive the client about the size of the plants. The plants were healthy and in good condition. We recommended that he install a drip system to service the plants, but he refused. I suspect the plants took a turn for the worse because of improper watering. Because of recent experiences with some unreasonable clients, we will implement a new policy. Clients will be asked to sign a paper, at completion of project stating their satisfaction with the work. They also will be asked to document, in writing, their refusal to proceed with recommended work to insure the proper maintenance of the landscaping project
Doris A.
10/2015
5.0
landscaping, irrigation systems, mulch
+ 1 more
Pedro was great!! We met a few weeks ago and I told him what I had in mind. We set today as the date and he was here with plants and soil. He showed me the succulents (much nicer than I expected!) and set to work. I am so pleased with this project!! He did a fabulous job and I highly recommend him to everyone!
Description of Work: removed existing plants, tilled soil and planted absolutely beautiful succulents!! Also had to run drip irrigation from an existing main line.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$360
Hans L.
09/2015
2.0
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems
+ 1 more
He did a horrible job. He screwed up our sprinkling system He is very hard to understand. This was the biggest disaster I have had with Angies list
Description of Work: put in plants and a drip system. He screwed up our sprinkling system and now we have to bring in a sprinkler maintenance person
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
1.0
value
2.0
professionalism
2.0
responsiveness
3.0
punctuality
3.0
$500
Response from A Passion For Gardening
It started with the client missing the first 2 appointments for the first meeting. We finally met on a Saturday. He had purchased 20 succulent plants through an Angies List Big Deal. He wanted me to install a drip system for the new plants. I told him that his present set up on his sprinkler system was incorrect. It had too many sprinklers on several of the stations. I told him that the water pressure was too low to support a drip system with the present set up. He told me to go ahead and install the drip system and that he will deal with the problems afterwards, if a problem arose. Last Saturday he called me to tell me there was a problem with the sprinkler system. I reminded him that I had told him that there was a problem with his present sprinkler set up. I said I would fix the problem, provided he pay for the repairs. He refused and said he would get someone else to look at it. He has also failed to pay for the installation of extra plants, general clean up of weeds and removal of debris.
Randy S.
08/2015
5.0
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems
+ 1 more
Things went very well! Pedro made several suggestions on updating my sprinkler system and how to enhance better growth of lawn and plants. I really felt he understood how to better improve the landscape in my back yard as well as ongoing maintenance. I am having him come back to do some additional work on my lawn watering system. He and his crew are very hard workers and do many things besides just planting. Very pleased!
Description of Work: First I purchased a deal for $300 dollars that included planning meeting, 20 succulent plants, and planting of plants. I decided after the planning meeting to have him modify existing sprinkler system to a drip watering system. He also replaced three sprinkler valves that were leaking. In addition he replaced my watering timer. This was an additional $850 worth of work that I felt was badly needed.
They were very punctual in their arrival times. ?He wanted to make sure I was happy with the plants and keep me informed of the progress. ?I was able to inspect all the plants and agree with them being in my yard. ?We will definitely use him again for our landscaping needs.
Description of Work: Our front yard was all ivy. He ripped the ivy out, installed drip irrigation, planted 45 drought tolerant plants, laid weed cloth and mulch.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$2,700
Matt S.
07/2015
4.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
They were fine and they gave us some ideas on how to do things and the guy was professional and easy going. They were good to work with and the only bad part was the scheduling.
Description of Work: .
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
jim C.
07/2015
5.0
landscaping, tree service
+ 0 more
They were very knowledgeable. I wanted a variety of succulents without the hassle of educating myself. The representative was very helpful on that. He set the containers up how he thought it was best, and I had a couple suggestions. I'm satisfied with the service.
Description of Work: Planted 5 gallon tree, 20 succulents (1 gallon each). Additional consultation on succulents. Gave additional tips on maintenance and fertilization.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$390
lorri Y.
07/2015
5.0
landscaping, irrigation systems, mulch, greenhouses, tree service
+ 3 more
Pedro and Marco arrived right on time. They brought several boxes of plants from which to select. Again, he told me about flower color and size. We discussed my irrigation system and I upgraded to a drip irrigation system. There was no pressure whatsoever to add services to my original order. And, he graciously agreed to install the drip irrigation the same day. We agreed upon the plants and then he and Marco went to work. After all the plants, irrigation, dirt and mulch were in, Pedro took the time to explain how to keep my plants healthy. They even placed my decorator rocks and tree stumps into the garden for me. They cleaned up all the plastic bags from the mulch as well as removed the dirt and mulch that drifted onto the sidewalk. I am extremely pleased with the end result of the garden and I would use them again.
Description of Work: Pedro Yanez came to my home for a consult. He made recommendations for water saving plants and informed me of color and size choices. He patiently answered a number of questions. We set an appointment for him to return with plants for me to choose and he would plant.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$900
Fernando B.
07/2015
5.0
landscaping, hardscaping, irrigation systems, tree service
+ 2 more
Pedro and his crew did an excellent job with all aspects of our project. Whenever I had a question or concern, it was answered and addressed. His crew cleaned well after every day on the job. The work with pavers in the patio is very hight quality and the crew was very detailed oriented. Pedro brought some nice plants for the front and gave advice on how to take care of them. I am very pleased and happy with the final project and our house looks great.
Description of Work: Ripped out front and back lawns, installed drip irrigation system in front and back lawns, covered front with rocks and drought resistant plants and succulents in the front of the house, installed weed protection fabric, built out patio with pavers and rocks in the back of the house, provided plant and tree care information and advice.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$9,000
Rosana L.
07/2015
3.0
landscaping, greenhouses, tree service
+ 1 more
We contracted with A Passion for Gardening to take care of the lawn at a home we own out of state. When I came to check up on the house, the lawn was nothing but dirt and knee-high dandelions, as well as other weeds. The roses and other trees and plants were either dead or completely overgrown. We trusted this company to keep up the lawn, but they obviously did nothing except collect payment. Also, they do not return my calls and they misinform me about the time and date of scheduled services, saying they will come in next week on Thursday, then suddenly appear on the next day. The condition of the "lawn" was shameful! Update as of July 27th, 2015 : Since we've been communicating through email, they have been doing a much better job. I think before hand they thought that all we wanted was the lawn mowed. Now they understand that we want the shrubs and trees trimmed, weeds pulls and edging of the lawn. Basically more detailing care for the property rather then just mowing. I will update my review again in 30 days.
Description of Work: A Passion for Gardening was hired to take care of the lawn at a home we own out of state.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$60
Response from A Passion For Gardening
The statement that we did nothing except collect the monthly charges is not true. As a matter of fact no payments were received for the first 2 months of services. Later the charges were taken care of. I have always taken this client's calls. In the last 2 weeks she contacted me about putting in extra hours in the pulling of the weeds in her yard. She initially contracted for us to service the property only once per month. Obviously this was not enough to maintain the property in good standing. I am sorry you are not satisfied, but I feel we delivered the services that were paid for.
MARY ANN H.
06/2015
3.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
Pedro stated that his service area does not cover all of North County, only "Escondido, San Marcos, Oceanside, Vista and Carlsbad." The Angie's List info should be updated to reflect that.
Description of Work: I requested landscape maintenance in Poway.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
professionalism
3.0
responsiveness
4.0
Response from A Passion For Gardening
Thank you for letting us know about the misinformation. We have corrected the listing on Angie's List. Sorry for the inconvenience. Pedro Yanez
Donna C.
06/2015
4.0
landscaping, pavers, gravel
+ 0 more
The project went well. I appreciate Mr. Yanez going with me to purchase the rock/pebbles; the company made a mistake on the amount of rock that I had purchased. Mr. Yanez said the truck felt too light , doubled back around and resolved the matter right away. I was suppose to get 11 scoops of rock and the worker only gave us 5 scoops. What a difference!
Description of Work: Removed 1,800 sqft of turf, hauled it all away. Delivered pebbles/rocks, installed landscaping fabric, then added the rocks, made an island of bender boards for plants to both sides of the house, capped off old sprinkler system and added a new drip line irrigation, planted several plants among the rocks.....
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
4.0
value
4.0
professionalism
4.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$3,000
Emela L.
04/2015
5.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
It went very well. Everyone very pleasant and were real professional hard-working crew. I am very pleased with them and yes, I would use them in the future. I give them an A+
Description of Work: new patio area, approximately 250 sq ft, plus one inch all across back of house and around corner west side of house I'd say approximately 250 tp 275 sq ft. There was three large cracks included on west side of house. They poured new cement in the above mentioned areas and touched paint along bottom of house in patio area.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$4,627
Henry E.
03/2015
5.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
Perfect. Mr. Yanez is a skilled professional and can be depended upon.
Description of Work: Provided and planted about 20 succulents, plus one young (5-gallon) tree
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$300
RICHARD K.
03/2015
5.0
landscaping, hardscaping
+ 0 more
Pedro and his crew were fast, courteous and efficient. They planned for a few days but finished in just two. We could not be happier with the results.
Description of Work: Provider put in new entryway with pavers to our 20+ year old home. Looks great!
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
4.0
punctuality
4.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$2,100
Ricardo V.
01/2015
5.0
landscaping
+ -1 more
He was great very friendly and u could tell he really has a passion for gardening. He gives great tips on how to manage all plants and makes u feel very comfortable the whole time.
Description of Work: Pedro the Gardner provided some great plants for my home that completely changed the view for the best. Also gave us many ideas on what could be done on other areas of the home to further improve.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
Marilynne S.
01/2015
5.0
fencing, landscaping, hardscaping
+ 1 more
All construction has its rocky times and this job was no exception. Workers broke a water line while moving it to a new location and Pedro had it fixed in a short time at his expense. When I saw the steps, built as we had agreed on, I wanted a big change. Pedro made sure he understood my problem with it before he made the changes. The change is seamless. When the crew took out some existing concrete we discovered that some of it was very thick and it caused a lot of extra debris for removal. I don't see this as anyone's fault. You can't see it until you get there. We had a few down days with hard rain. The rain verified that the new patio was draining correctly. Both my family and Pedro didn't want to work over the holidays, so he came back after New Years to finish the cleanup. All in all I have a professional job. I am pleased with it.
Description of Work: We wanted a patio remodel including fixing drainage, adding new steps and hand rails, and adding a short path. We were unable to find an iron worker we could afford and Pedro found one to work with us. He built/remodeled two stairs made of pavers, installed three handrails, fixed the drain problem, and enlarged the patio area. The new area is paved with pavers of my choice. The pavers blend well with existing tile and were suggested by Pedro as a lower-cost solution.
Rating Category
Rating out of 5
quality
5.0
value
5.0
professionalism
5.0
responsiveness
5.0
punctuality
5.0
Yes, I recommend this pro
$6,000
Jarrett W.
01/2015
4.0
lawn service
+ -1 more
It was ok. They did a lot of clean up in the yard. I could barely understand him over the phone, so sometimes it was tough to communicate. I wanted them to come out and look at the work before I purchased the deal, but they wouldn't do that. They wanted me to buy the deal and then they would see what the work was when they came out. It just happened to work out that the work fell within the scope of the coupon.
Description of Work: I purchased a deal for $699 for 20 hours of landscaping and outdoor projects.
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our State Contractor License Requirements page.
*Contact business to see additional licenses.
Service Categories
Landscaping,
Tree Service,
Lawn and Yard Work,
Lawn Irrigation,
Mulch and Topsoil,
Pavers and Hardscaping,
Stone and Gravel,
Hauling,
Concrete Pouring and Repair,
Greenhouses/Nurseries,
Lawn Fertilization & Treatment,
Fencing
FAQ
A Passion For Gardening is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.
Monday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Thursday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Friday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
A Passion For Gardening accepts the following forms of payment: Check
Yes, A Passion For Gardening offers free project estimates.
No, A Passion For Gardening does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.
No, A Passion For Gardening does not offer a senior discount.
No, A Passion For Gardening does not offer emergency services.
Yes, A Passion For Gardening offers warranties.
A Passion For Gardening offers the following services: Landscaping maintenance, cement work, patio covers, retaining walls, pavers, BBQ islands, sprinkler systems, drip lines & turf installation.